Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 381 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Island is a first-person shooter that pits you on an island full of zombies.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 41
  2. Negative: 2 out of 41
  1. May 21, 2012
    88
    Dead Island may lack that top level of polish, and even have its own awkward moments, but it's a game worth playing, and easily worth your money. The gameplay is deep, the visuals can be breathtaking (at times), and every bit of it is fun. This game earns itself a spot in the ranks of the best zombie games and RPGs around. There's still plenty of fun to be had with zombie games.
  2. Sep 6, 2011
    81
    Although a bit too ambitious if we compare the expectations and the final result, Dead Island is still a great game, with a lot of hours of fun, a great ambiance and a good combat system which provides a lot of little pleasures when killing zombies. Its cooperative mode and lenghtly story make it a recommended buy.
  3. Sep 6, 2011
    80
    It's completely different from what the teaser trailers suggested, the narrative is missing, the atmosphere is quite basic, characters are just silly. Yet, Dead Island is a funny action/adventure with small RPG influence, delivering fast paced and visceral combat, best served with friends. Consider it if you're looking for a not-so-compelling, light co-op fun.
  4. 72
    The RPG twist on the genre is fairly cool, and does result in an experience that is longer than you might expect, but the game's utter lack of story and reliance on pre-established genre conventions make it a pretty big missed opportunity.
  5. 70
    Technical issues and some repetitiveness keep it from being labeled as great.
  6. 70
    There's a lot to do on this zombie-infested island from hell. With some more varied missions and better melee combat, the final score would have been shimmering.
  7. Sep 20, 2011
    40
    Dead Island is described as a first person action-adventure game, whilst it is definitely first person, the latter two descriptions are misleading, it is action in as much as raising your arm is an action, it is adventure in as much finding toilet roll is an adventure. They should have called it a first person battle of tedium, because it would've been a lot more accurate.

See all 41 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 137
  2. Negative: 32 out of 137
  1. Sep 6, 2011
    10
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall + almost unlimited exploration area - cutscenes & poor
    + atmosphere
    + the way online Co-op works
    + great environments & graphic overall
    + almost unlimited exploration area
    - cutscenes & poor animation
    - bugs (textures, edges)

    But overall: I love it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    Dead island is a load of fun. I never though I would see an RPG style zombie game but it's here. This is not a true RPG but it does haveDead island is a load of fun. I never though I would see an RPG style zombie game but it's here. This is not a true RPG but it does have some great elements of the genre. The skill tree is huge and varied and really allows you to decide how you wish to level up your character. I enjoyed figuring out how I would use my skill points each level I gained & combining your skills with your characters basic proficiencies can make for some great combat. The graphics have a few minor issue such as textures taking a moment to load but to me this is not even a real issue. The game does an amazing job of conveying the sense of being trapped on an island infested with the walking dead. These are not your average zombies either. Sure some of them shamble along and appear to be aped right out of a Romero flick. However there are a ton that upon seeing you come running at you top speed, arms flailing and even throwing hand weapons at you!! This immediately conjured up memories the movie 28 Days Later which is a great thing IMO when it comes to a zombie game. The one thing this game does best is force you to think and act like it's really you trapped on the island. In the later stages of the game I found myself honestly considering at times if I wanted to take on a group of the undead I spotted at the end of the street or try and avoid them to continue on towards my objective. This was the best thing about the game for me in that you feel like a zombie apocalypse survivor, not like your sitting in your living room playing a zombie game. I have spent limited time with the online which appears to be quite good and a lot of fun. However, this game is worth the purchase price just for the campaign alone. Expand
  3. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    Dead Island is a good game, huge in length, lovely to look at, and satisfying to play. The subtleties make it great; there is an air ofDead Island is a good game, huge in length, lovely to look at, and satisfying to play. The subtleties make it great; there is an air of tragedy that many games miss, the body types are varied,the island in fun to explore, the survivors react in a variety of realistic ways to the horror they are living in, and not everyone can be or wants to be saved. I've played about 16 hours, and am only 20% through. It is definitely worth your $60 and your time. Expand
  4. Nov 10, 2011
    7
    To me, Dead Island was the perfect formula for a game. I'm a huge fan o zombie-themed games so I couldn't wait for this one to come out. EvenTo me, Dead Island was the perfect formula for a game. I'm a huge fan o zombie-themed games so I couldn't wait for this one to come out. Even though the game suffers from many bugs and the core mechanics seem too shallow, I had quite a lot of fun in exploring the island and pounding the zombies with my sledgehammer. Let's hope techland learnt a lesson in case they plan to release a sequel. Expand
  5. Apr 25, 2013
    6
    Combat is fun, but repetitive, lots of side missions. Nice detailed environments, but very bland characters and barely existent story. WayCombat is fun, but repetitive, lots of side missions. Nice detailed environments, but very bland characters and barely existent story. Way too many bugs that should have been fixed. Examples include getting stuck on thin air, health items like food not replenishing health, etc. Not recommended for a full price purchase. Expand
  6. Jul 3, 2013
    5
    Dead Island is a pile of wasted potential. The games lack of a decent narrative is forgivable, even after the brilliant trailer that wasDead Island is a pile of wasted potential. The games lack of a decent narrative is forgivable, even after the brilliant trailer that was looking to promise a brilliant story in the game, but it's still a minor annoyance. My first few hours with the game were fine, but then I realised that the game was only going to consist of scavenging quests and other things of the like, and it got really damn tedious, and the lack of variety in the gameplay is disappointing, but it can be satisfying at times. The game looks a bit lackluster, textures up close can be really bad, but water effects and zombies look great, which I would expect from a game of this type. Environments can look nice from a distance though. Another thing that's disappointing about the game is its lack of dread and terror throughout, it's just not scary at all. Boss Battles are also very frustrating and completely lackluster. By the final hours of Dead Island it felt like a chore to get through. Dead Island misses the mark completely and is certainly not a game I would recommend. Expand
  7. May 9, 2012
    0
    Incredibly bad game; Poor driving, poor combat and poor quests. It's basically a **** version of Borderlands. Don't buy! It has no redeemingIncredibly bad game; Poor driving, poor combat and poor quests. It's basically a **** version of Borderlands. Don't buy! It has no redeeming qualities whatsoever. Expand

See all 137 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.