User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 224

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    This game is awesome all the way through. This is without a doubt the best downloadable game I've ever played and also one of the best PSN titles to date. with 10 chapters all lasting around 20 minutes each. Plus an awesome leader board where you can see which country in the world has killed the most zombies along with how many people from your country (or a different country) has DeadThis game is awesome all the way through. This is without a doubt the best downloadable game I've ever played and also one of the best PSN titles to date. with 10 chapters all lasting around 20 minutes each. Plus an awesome leader board where you can see which country in the world has killed the most zombies along with how many people from your country (or a different country) has Dead Nation, and also who's the best player. + There is an Online mode that I can't wait to check out, and I have never experienced such satisfaction as when you mow down a massive horde of zombies with your SMG or decapitate them with the Blade gun, or why not blow em up. Don't listen to the average critics. Especially IGN's. This is a 10/10 no doubt about it. Expand
  2. Jun 26, 2011
    8
    Dead Nation mixes the old school gameplay of classic top down shooters Smash TV and Gauntlet with the atmosphere of Resident Evil. Graphics and sound are used well to create a sense of menace and things can get quite panicky when you're surrounded and low on health. However, it's definitely more action shooter then survival horror and offers something a bit different to other zombie games.Dead Nation mixes the old school gameplay of classic top down shooters Smash TV and Gauntlet with the atmosphere of Resident Evil. Graphics and sound are used well to create a sense of menace and things can get quite panicky when you're surrounded and low on health. However, it's definitely more action shooter then survival horror and offers something a bit different to other zombie games. I don't get people whining that it lacks originality or that it can be a bit repetitive. What exactly do you expect from a £10 down loadable game? An Uncharted 2 beater perhaps? The bottom line is the gameplays excellent; Once you get used to the twin stick controls mowing down the undead hordes is instinctive, challenging and rewarding plus it has some of the best multiplayer fun around. Well worth a look. Expand
  3. Jan 6, 2011
    8
    Best downloadable zombie game out there, especially for the cost. Good replay value and interesting feel to the whole game. All in all, if you love zombies, you will love this.
  4. Dec 12, 2010
    10
    Okay, yes, there are too many zombie-based properties out there (i say this as someone working on a zombie story). However, this game is AWESOME. Zombie Kill Blood Death (as my brother calls it) is an intense, challenging, dark, and moderately tactical top-down shooter. The graphics are GREAT, especially the lighting. Every light seems to have a different color temperature (cool, warm,Okay, yes, there are too many zombie-based properties out there (i say this as someone working on a zombie story). However, this game is AWESOME. Zombie Kill Blood Death (as my brother calls it) is an intense, challenging, dark, and moderately tactical top-down shooter. The graphics are GREAT, especially the lighting. Every light seems to have a different color temperature (cool, warm, etc.), everything casts a beautiful shadow (namely, chain-link fences), and the gore and character models and framerate and everything are executed (possibly a pun) perfectly. Gameplay is awesome. Shooting is fun, fast, and precise. The upgrades are probably my favorite part of the game. Please try this game out. The price is more than fair. Oh btw, the country ranking system and Black Ops-style stat counters are quite fun. Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2011
    9
    A game can make me entertain and this is all it should do. It can Make me frightening It can make me, it can make excitation etc... And this game has made all of it. Death Nation makes a cleverly job by combating, addictive zombie rush/killing mechanic with a story based game play. My only regret is it is little bit short and doesn't have originial on-line modes. (Only On-line modeA game can make me entertain and this is all it should do. It can Make me frightening It can make me, it can make excitation etc... And this game has made all of it. Death Nation makes a cleverly job by combating, addictive zombie rush/killing mechanic with a story based game play. My only regret is it is little bit short and doesn't have originial on-line modes. (Only On-line mode is Co-op and it's usually empty) But Since Single-Player experience enough to satisfy you, it's really no big deal. Expand
  6. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    Was a big fan of house marquee's title super stardust HD and also being an avid fan of zombie games so I decided to give Dead Nation a try. Definitely a fun and challenging zombie killing PSN title. Everything looks great, the only real problem I've had is getting used to the aiming but when you get used to it the game becomes much easier. Also Dead nation has cooperative play so you canWas a big fan of house marquee's title super stardust HD and also being an avid fan of zombie games so I decided to give Dead Nation a try. Definitely a fun and challenging zombie killing PSN title. Everything looks great, the only real problem I've had is getting used to the aiming but when you get used to it the game becomes much easier. Also Dead nation has cooperative play so you can team up with friends and play the story which is always a plus. This is definitely a great buy for the price. Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2010
    9
    Great zombie game. Attention to detail is incredible, and the lighting effects are amazing. Sure it's top-down, but it's very intense and involving. My wife loves playing this co-op. You don't get enough money to upgrade everything, so you have to choose. Best implementation and use of a flashlight mechanic I've ever seen.
  8. Dec 3, 2010
    9
    Yet another 5 star title for PSN. The experience is pretty reminiscent of the Smash TV glory days (especially since similar top-down zombie games like Zombie Apocalypse and I MAED A GAM3 WITH Z0MB1ES have been pretty stale in the action department), and both the offline and online offer a great amount of content. Great lighting effects, dozens of on-screen zombies at any given time, anYet another 5 star title for PSN. The experience is pretty reminiscent of the Smash TV glory days (especially since similar top-down zombie games like Zombie Apocalypse and I MAED A GAM3 WITH Z0MB1ES have been pretty stale in the action department), and both the offline and online offer a great amount of content. Great lighting effects, dozens of on-screen zombies at any given time, an easy to understand shop/upgrade system, custom track support, leaderboards, and a robust online community make this one of the best titles currently available on PSN. Expand
  9. Mar 16, 2011
    9
    A 7.3 is a surprising score for me.... I am really not sure what isn't to like. Yes it's dark, but a good TV is the panacea for a lot of problems. Two things going on with our user reviewers here. One, we're probably seeing some anti-zombie tension here in the user scores. There have been too many zombie games recently. Two, it can get difficult, even on the normal setting, and theA 7.3 is a surprising score for me.... I am really not sure what isn't to like. Yes it's dark, but a good TV is the panacea for a lot of problems. Two things going on with our user reviewers here. One, we're probably seeing some anti-zombie tension here in the user scores. There have been too many zombie games recently. Two, it can get difficult, even on the normal setting, and the game challenges you to go on to the harder settings with it's leaderboards as well. In short if you like top down shooters, tough challenges and own a decent TV, this one is a no brainer. Expand
  10. Feb 23, 2011
    9
    probably the most fun dual stick games i have ever played...the music pounding in the background , zombies popping up and chasing you, i'm loving this, lara croft, and alien breed. hampered only by its lack of online voice chat
  11. Dec 9, 2010
    8
    Un juego divertido como pocos. Posibilidad de jugar online junto con un amigo. Y con la proxima actualizacion, se podrá conversar con el amigo. Matarás cientos por no decir miles de zombies, pero no te cansaras, y con nivel de dicultad acorde al jugador más novato al más experimentado.

    A fun game like few others. Online play with a
    Un juego divertido como pocos. Posibilidad de jugar online junto con un amigo. Y con la proxima actualizacion, se podrá conversar con el amigo. Matarás cientos por no decir miles de zombies, pero no te cansaras, y con nivel de dicultad acorde al jugador más novato al más experimentado.

    A fun game like few others. Online play with a friend. And with the next update, you can talk with the friend. Kill hundreds if not thousands of zombies, but not get tired, and dicultad level according to the most novice player to the most experienced.
    Expand
  12. Feb 22, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I thought this game was going to be just like Konami's Zombie Apocalypse, but I was wrong. This game really does require skill to complete the campaign. On "Normal" difficulty the game may often be a challenge to anyone, and that is the 2nd easiest difficulty setting in the game. Overall the gameplay experience is fun in this game especially when you're using the offline Co-op feature. Playing with a buddy is always more fun than by yourself and there is a trophy for beating the campaign in Co-Op mode either online or offline so get to it. I would recommend this game to someone who likes killing zombies, is tired of Call of Duty Zombies, and wants some good Co-Op action! Expand
  13. Jun 19, 2011
    10
    I like Dead Nation. The physics and textures of the game are awesome for a DL game. I mean, besides Trine and other good visual games, this can be compared to them. The story isn't the main thing in this game, it's about how many zombies you have killed, how much points you've gotten and what rank did you get. It's just a fun zombie killing game with great weapons and great AI system. I'veI like Dead Nation. The physics and textures of the game are awesome for a DL game. I mean, besides Trine and other good visual games, this can be compared to them. The story isn't the main thing in this game, it's about how many zombies you have killed, how much points you've gotten and what rank did you get. It's just a fun zombie killing game with great weapons and great AI system. I've been trying to get better ranks and get my country to a higher rank by contributing to more virus cycles. I don't bout Zombie Apocalypse, but this looks better than it. Don't know why.... Expand
  14. Jun 15, 2011
    8
    Dead Nation is a top down zombie shooter that can be played individually or co-op with a friend. Once again the world is in a zombie apocalypse due to some government blah, blah, blahâ
  15. Sep 28, 2011
    8
    I received Dead Nation for free as one of my two PSN games after the outages a few months back. I can assure you, however, even at $15, this game is a great bargain. Yesterday, I also purchased the Road of Devastation DLC for $4 which is also great content for the price. Dead Nation is a co-op zombie twin stick shooter very reminiscent of Left 4 Dead with an isometric camera. TheI received Dead Nation for free as one of my two PSN games after the outages a few months back. I can assure you, however, even at $15, this game is a great bargain. Yesterday, I also purchased the Road of Devastation DLC for $4 which is also great content for the price. Dead Nation is a co-op zombie twin stick shooter very reminiscent of Left 4 Dead with an isometric camera. The camera is fixed, but it is never obscured by terrain or buildings. You fight through hordes of brain dead zombies occasionally encountering special zombies which are obvious rip offs from Left 4 Dead. I can forgive them for this because the way the gameplay works I find myself having more fun than Left 4 Dead. What I really love about this game are the weapons and armor. The game rewards players for their exploration of all the level's nooks and crannies with additional upgraded armor components. At check points, players can select which pieces of armor they want to wear in arm, torso, and leg slots. Several types of armor each possess different characteristics in strength (melee damage), endurance (hit points), and agility (movement speed). Finding the right combination to suit your play style and favored weapons is a blast though it is often easiest to simply max endurance to ensure survivability. With a couple exceptions, all the weapons are well balanced and worth using. Each has a particular use or is perfect for taking down a certain type of zombie or special zombie. Players can upgrade weapons at checkpoints with cashed earned from exploration and slaughtering the undead hordes. Categories of improvement include rate of fire, power, max ammo capacity, magazine capacity, etc. A variety of gadgets like flares, grenades, land mines, and TNT supplement the arsenal and greatly contribute to the variety of tactics players can utilize. Level design is really well done with all the levels full of gorgeous detail and excellent lighting effects. While the game takes you to a variety of locations, the 10 mission campaign gets samey after a while with a haven't I been here before kind of feeling. The game is a blast solo but really shines in co-op which supports up to two players. Co-op can be played locally or online with strangers. The difficulty scales between solo and co-op ensuring a sufficient challenge. Several difficulty modes are also available. Online leader boards provide an incentive to keep playing the game and improve your global rank. The Road of Devastation DLC adds new weapons and gadgets, new levels, new zombies, and a new round based survival mode. What's unique about the survival mode is that each round you are forced to choose one of three paths to take. Each path then splits into two branches, each yielding a specific bonus in terms of weapons, gadgets, health, money, armor, or score multiplier. Players must carefully choose which path to take as it greatly impacts how your character levels and weigh these decisions with the ever increasing difficulty between rounds. Again, this mode can be played solo or online. For a total of $19, this game boasts a good 8 - 10 hours of content. That may not sound like a lot, but the replayability, especially with the new DLC, is immense. Highly recommended if you and your friends love co-op games or are looking for a challenging single player experience with good replayability. Expand
  16. Aug 10, 2011
    8
    Platinumed it. Had a good time with all playthroughs. Coop is a good feature. Do not see a reason to go back after platinuming it ( 4 playthroughs). Hardest difficulty is pretty hard.
  17. Oct 4, 2011
    10
    This is easily the best zombie shooter I have ever played. It's easy to get into and there's a level of instant gratification rarely seen in other games. Exploding zombies never felt this good!!
  18. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    I have to admit, I thought this game was a waste of time when I first played it single player. I disliked it so much I removed it from my PS3. But the key to having a blast with this game is to play it in a difficulty above Normal AND especially in CO OP!! This changes the game completely I have never tried it online but on offline co op couch it's an incredible experience. You can playI have to admit, I thought this game was a waste of time when I first played it single player. I disliked it so much I removed it from my PS3. But the key to having a blast with this game is to play it in a difficulty above Normal AND especially in CO OP!! This changes the game completely I have never tried it online but on offline co op couch it's an incredible experience. You can play it over and over for quite some time, I have 32 hours marked of gameplay and I'm still going at it.

    There is one phrase of the game I liked "Real men play Dead Nation in Undead difficulty". If you can beat the game in Undead, you are a true patriot to zombie killing. It will have you and your friend on the edge of the couch.

    Also, the add on content is quite impressive relating to the price of $4.00 this really tests your abilities as a zombie exterminator. It's a bit of a drag cause the starting point might be a bit slow but once you get to round 3 or 4 that's when it gets fun.

    No doubt this is one of my favorite zombie games
    Expand
  19. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the best co-op game I have ever played for PS3. The weapons, the shot em up zombie mode with a buddy, taking down the dead and becoming the dead. what a fantastic ending to an excellent game. I'n my opinion this game is under rated. Expand
  20. Dec 11, 2011
    8
    This game is sick, got it on sale for 10 bucks, not too shabby. A lot of fun weapons to play around with, and upgrade. Killing hordes of zombies with an insane arsenal of weapons, co-op, lengthy campaign with a decent scenario. Graphics are decent but nothing to write home about. Worth every penny, kinda pissed that a couple months later ps offered it for free.
  21. Jun 9, 2013
    9
    Kicking myself for not getting this game after the psn outage, but for what it is it's amazing; especially at 15 bucks. I was at the edge of my seat for most of the game, waiting for the next horde of zombies to come at me; and a lot of ways to kill hundreds of them at the same time. New weapons every level lets you experiment more ways to kill zombies, and this game was the perfectKicking myself for not getting this game after the psn outage, but for what it is it's amazing; especially at 15 bucks. I was at the edge of my seat for most of the game, waiting for the next horde of zombies to come at me; and a lot of ways to kill hundreds of them at the same time. New weapons every level lets you experiment more ways to kill zombies, and this game was the perfect length, too short and I'll wanted more, two more levels? probably would've got me bored by then.Depending on how you play there are 10 levels each are atleast 20min-50min each depending on how you play. two thumbs up. Expand
  22. Dec 1, 2010
    9
    Intense Zombie Shooter. It definitely stands well on its two feet as far as zombie shooters go. Graphics are great!! Lots of detail in the environments really add to the gameplay and feel of a devoid city. I'm enjoying the progression of levels so far. A couple niggling things like the view being to far away for some may be a problem or the difficulty level the game can bring, but itsIntense Zombie Shooter. It definitely stands well on its two feet as far as zombie shooters go. Graphics are great!! Lots of detail in the environments really add to the gameplay and feel of a devoid city. I'm enjoying the progression of levels so far. A couple niggling things like the view being to far away for some may be a problem or the difficulty level the game can bring, but its certainly not impossible by any stretch and every level can easily be gotten through with a little strategy and knowing all your weapons and what each weapon does. Overall, an extremely enjoyable game that I'm having a lot of fun with. Oh yeah and its extremely gory (which is most excellent for a zombie shooter). They did an excellent job with the sound also, especially if you have a surround sound setup (hearing the bones and organs crunching and smooshing under your feet as your walk over the dead bodies is priceless!!!). Expand
  23. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    Do not pay attention to the critics reviews who are usually xbox fan boys and hate on Sony exclusive games. I like killing zombies. I bought Black Ops just for the zombies. Dead Nation is epic. The number of zombies coming from all directions is visceral. When they gnaw at your arms it is disturbing yet fun. Coop lacks a microphone support as of 12/2/10 but Sony and developers willDo not pay attention to the critics reviews who are usually xbox fan boys and hate on Sony exclusive games. I like killing zombies. I bought Black Ops just for the zombies. Dead Nation is epic. The number of zombies coming from all directions is visceral. When they gnaw at your arms it is disturbing yet fun. Coop lacks a microphone support as of 12/2/10 but Sony and developers will patch soon. Positives: graphics and lighting are effective to give you a sense you are there, even though it is a top down shooter like Black Ops Dead Ops version (much better than dead ops). The audio is the best I have heard since Resistance 1. Maybe better. IF you have 7.1 AVR Surround, make sure you uncheck all the 7.1 from the PS3 sound menu so the AVR matrix kicks in. Best bass and overall sound for game.

    Negative: the coop circle can get you killed if you have a different playing style from your buddy. The game sometimes would reset my upgrades which peased me off. I had to re-buy the cannon for example which is 100,000. Story line was okay. The ending is interesting in that a sequel is possible. The game is addicting. Maybe I am affected by the virus! ha.
    Expand
  24. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing for the genre it's in. The Zombie fad is getting very tedious we all know this ... but this one actually breathes some life into it. It's just FUN, what a game is supposed to be. Just plain FUN.
  25. Dec 1, 2010
    10
    Bargin! £9.99 for probably the best, definitely the most fun PSN game available to date. Graphic, lighting and settings are brilliantly done, Housemaque have produced another masterpiece of a game. The Zombie genre has probably been overdone, but that's manly down to the below average zombie games being released, I've probably killed about a Million zombie's over the last twoBargin! £9.99 for probably the best, definitely the most fun PSN game available to date. Graphic, lighting and settings are brilliantly done, Housemaque have produced another masterpiece of a game. The Zombie genre has probably been overdone, but that's manly down to the below average zombie games being released, I've probably killed about a Million zombie's over the last two years and thanks to this game it'll be a Million zombies more. Also this game Is a challenge, make sure you have your pro zombie killing buddies with you as you try to put a dent on the leaderboards. If this game was 40 quid i'd give it 8 outta 10 but as it's a tenner it's all tens baby. Expand
  26. Dec 4, 2010
    10
    This is the best Zombie game you can buy for the PlayStation 3. It's definitely no Left 4 Dead, but for a downloadable title and only £10 (£8 if you're a PlayStation Plus subscriber) it puts other zombie survival titles to shame.
  27. Dec 7, 2010
    9
    My roomate and I like to smoke and just chill out playing this game. Like Borderlands, Resistance or Halo it is a fun good local multiplayer game. It is simple, fun, and addictive. You start off against just a few zombies but work your way to huge crowds, blowing them away while listening to Billie Jean, Heven in my opinion.
  28. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    It's the best zombie game on any downloadable games market. The whole package is perfect in so many levels (for the price!). Really hooking gameplay and overall atmosphere. The game gets very interesting when you are aiming for the scores - you really have to avoid dying and getting hit if you are aiming to get the best high score. This also adds tension and survivability. A game for aIt's the best zombie game on any downloadable games market. The whole package is perfect in so many levels (for the price!). Really hooking gameplay and overall atmosphere. The game gets very interesting when you are aiming for the scores - you really have to avoid dying and getting hit if you are aiming to get the best high score. This also adds tension and survivability. A game for a real gamers! Expand
  29. Jan 24, 2012
    5
    A top-down survival shooter game for the PS3. That pretty much explains why I'm not going to give it a high rating. I thought that, in modern times, we had transcended top-down games ever since the release of GTA 3. I guess not. Even still, this game adds nothing original whatsoever to the increasingly crowded zombie shooter market. The game itself is fairly long but the level design isA top-down survival shooter game for the PS3. That pretty much explains why I'm not going to give it a high rating. I thought that, in modern times, we had transcended top-down games ever since the release of GTA 3. I guess not. Even still, this game adds nothing original whatsoever to the increasingly crowded zombie shooter market. The game itself is fairly long but the level design is very unimaginative. There are 10 levels and all of them feel the same. That's because they ARE. The only difference is the number of zombies you face. The zombies themselves are mostly clones of Left 4 Dead and L4D2. There are a few weapons but, as you'd expect from this kind of game, the fun is not in the shooting. Having said that, the weapons are greatly varied and are as good as can be in a top-down game. Aside from the 3D-looking top-down view, the only difference between this and L4D is that once you reach a checkpoint or "safehouse" you can buy weapons and upgrades for you weapons, including throwable items such as mines, dynamite, grenades, molotovs and flares. There is co-op functionality and leaderboards including national rankings, and you can play each level individually and be given the recommended weapons for it instead of having nothing. So really, the game is thought through and the higher difficulties can feel insane at times, but it never feels intense or heart-pounding like in a first person shooter. Conclusively, Dead Nation is a great top-down shooter, but that's it. As a full game it doesn't have enough content to warrant a purchase. As an arcade title, it lacks addictivity and originality. It makes an effort, but is clearly restricted to the boundaries of ancient top-down perspective. The game is very repetitive, unoriginal and to be honest, quite boring. Expand
  30. Dec 2, 2010
    6
    Fun, but unoriginal game. This is a L4D clone meets Diablo clone meets Alien Breed clone. There is nothing new here for players who have played any of the above games that I just mentioned. There are Boomer clones and locales are copied as well, such as an Amusement park with, surprise clowns! The game is gorgeous and well detailed, the only problem? No Zoom Feature. Forget about clickingFun, but unoriginal game. This is a L4D clone meets Diablo clone meets Alien Breed clone. There is nothing new here for players who have played any of the above games that I just mentioned. There are Boomer clones and locales are copied as well, such as an Amusement park with, surprise clowns! The game is gorgeous and well detailed, the only problem? No Zoom Feature. Forget about clicking to zoom in and out, there is no way to do that! The Camera is fixed, and a little too high. There are times you will find yourself wanting to zoom in. Basically a fun game for those who enjoy the Zombie Genre, but totally unoriginal in all aspects. The price is way too steep in the USA at the moment, at $14.99 with no demo offering as of the time of this writing. 6/10â Expand
  31. Jun 17, 2011
    6
    This was a fun twist on a very, very saturated theme - Zombies. Although I did have fun, I did get bored with the game after a short amount of time, and it did feel like a chore to play. This game would have been great released in the arcades, or perhaps on the PS2. With other series in the genre setting the standard - like Left 4 Dead, Dead Space and F.E.A.R. - this game just felt boringThis was a fun twist on a very, very saturated theme - Zombies. Although I did have fun, I did get bored with the game after a short amount of time, and it did feel like a chore to play. This game would have been great released in the arcades, or perhaps on the PS2. With other series in the genre setting the standard - like Left 4 Dead, Dead Space and F.E.A.R. - this game just felt boring and aged after a short amount of time. Expand
  32. Aug 27, 2011
    4
    Dead nation intro and animations are ok but this is not a very interesting game. Love zombie and post apocalyptic games but this is just a silly retro game. Too childish for me. I was expecting more for adults.
  33. Feb 24, 2012
    6
    Dead Nation this game is all right but i really dont like it that much. i dont games that are in birds eye view which really makes me dislike it and it is really dark on almost every level and stage 7 gravedigger is so hard even on braindead mode. I would not recommend this game to any one... 6.3/10
  34. Aug 1, 2012
    6
    Zombies!!! Ahhhhh! Run for your lives! The most used idea in gaming is here, again and lives up to all expectations. Its tense, fun and even better with a friend. So why a 6, you ask me? Well because of presentation. The game occasionally looks like admiral Akbar's **** But its still an amazing game. The arcade style goes perfectly with the games zombie theme. Although the story is dullZombies!!! Ahhhhh! Run for your lives! The most used idea in gaming is here, again and lives up to all expectations. Its tense, fun and even better with a friend. So why a 6, you ask me? Well because of presentation. The game occasionally looks like admiral Akbar's **** But its still an amazing game. The arcade style goes perfectly with the games zombie theme. Although the story is dull and boring you'll find yourself jumping out of your seat when you have that single zombie that just won't leave it out. Gun designs could have been better but overall is a solid performance. Expand
  35. Sep 6, 2012
    10
    I have not enjoyed myself playing any game as much as i enjoyed this game in long time. this game is perfect. so much blood, so much gore, animations and light effects are really well done. sounds and animations are so fitting to this game. i had this game on my ps3 for a long time and i never had time to play it. blu ray died on my ps3 and this was only game i could play. i know thisI have not enjoyed myself playing any game as much as i enjoyed this game in long time. this game is perfect. so much blood, so much gore, animations and light effects are really well done. sounds and animations are so fitting to this game. i had this game on my ps3 for a long time and i never had time to play it. blu ray died on my ps3 and this was only game i could play. i know this sounds weird but i am almost glad blu ray has stopped working because i would never play this game. game is lots, lots of fun. many hours of gameplay.i am buying addon tonight Expand
  36. Dec 17, 2013
    8
    Standard gameplay but perfectly executed. Great graphics with lots of detail, lots of different kinds of zombies, a lot of tension and suvivability. Also a lot of upgradable weapons you can buy. The game is not short (10 chapters of 30 minutes) and is not expensive. I recommend playing this with a friend.
    Highly recommended and can't wait for Dead nation 2.
  37. Jan 3, 2014
    7
    Great moody atmospheric zombie apocalyptic survival game. One of the best zombie games ive played. Its a great top down arcade shooter that is a real challenge to survive. I didnt get to play co op but i bet it would be a lot of fun.
  38. Mar 11, 2013
    9
    This is definitely the best PSN game to download. The sheer amount of zombies attacking on screen is incredible. It's even better when played Co-op, forcing the players to make strategic moves before continuing in the level. A lot of weapons to choose from, a good variety in the levels as well. My only problem with this game is that the difficulty spikes are almost overwhelming. It's aThis is definitely the best PSN game to download. The sheer amount of zombies attacking on screen is incredible. It's even better when played Co-op, forcing the players to make strategic moves before continuing in the level. A lot of weapons to choose from, a good variety in the levels as well. My only problem with this game is that the difficulty spikes are almost overwhelming. It's a game that needs to be first played on the easiest difficulty, then gradually advance to a higher difficulty. If you're like me, you set the difficulty to the medium setting when you first play a game. That is not a good idea here. The difficulty of the game could turn you away if you don't gradually build up skill. Awesome game though, definitely one of the best zombie games I've played in a while. Well worth the money, plus it has a lot of trophies including a platinum. Expand
  39. Jul 25, 2013
    10
    Amazing game. There is 5 levels of difficult to keep me challenged (I hate games that are too easy). If you play on harder levels, the atmosphere gets amazing. It is impressive how the game engine can handle so many zombies on the screen on the same time with NO LAG.
    I finished it on morbid level and I will replay it on UNDEAD again and I know it will be even more amazing.
  40. Nov 20, 2013
    5
    Un juego patetico si lo comparamos con los demas del catalogo que tiene Playstation 3, la verdad, me parece lamentable que estando en el siglo XI, aun hagan juegos tan malos y absurdos como este...solo sirve para estar en recreativas de bares o juegos, porque como juego jugable no vale, no te gastes el dinero, es aburrido, repetitivo desde el minuto 4 y te empieza a cansar a partir delUn juego patetico si lo comparamos con los demas del catalogo que tiene Playstation 3, la verdad, me parece lamentable que estando en el siglo XI, aun hagan juegos tan malos y absurdos como este...solo sirve para estar en recreativas de bares o juegos, porque como juego jugable no vale, no te gastes el dinero, es aburrido, repetitivo desde el minuto 4 y te empieza a cansar a partir del capitulo dos. Expand
  41. Sep 8, 2014
    7
    Running and gunning is how i spent my weekend, how about you? this game is exceptionally decent, but being a softy this game deserves a solid 7/10 .
  42. Oct 9, 2014
    7
    Enjoyable and challenging top down shooter. Comparable to the Alien Breed series, only with zombies instead of aliens, naturally. Most fun as a co-operative experience but single player is fine.
  43. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    This game is sensational, the more you play it the better it becomes, I've played it through on all difficulty levels and it just gets better. On first play thru it was a manic fight for survival just to make it to the next checkpoint, on later plays you relish discovering the hidden treasures and finding which weapons work best with each type of zombie.

    It doesn't stop there as when
    This game is sensational, the more you play it the better it becomes, I've played it through on all difficulty levels and it just gets better. On first play thru it was a manic fight for survival just to make it to the next checkpoint, on later plays you relish discovering the hidden treasures and finding which weapons work best with each type of zombie.

    It doesn't stop there as when the difficulty increases the effectiveness of the weapons changes, some which are brilliant on the easier difficulty settings become virtually useless on the morbid/undead settings. There is so much depth to the game, I'm currently re playing thru on morbid and have just scraped through the grieving towers level on almost no health. I thought there's no way I can do this but the game is so well designed it gives you just enough health/ammo to make it through.

    Some of the levels seem impossible, graveyard on first play seems impossible as does the arena in grieving towers but when you study and learn there is always a way, the difficulty level seems punitive but it rewards putting the time in. My first play thru on undead I was 3 weeks finishing the final checkpoint, now I completely clear the area it's just about discovering where all the treasure and ammo is.

    This is such a well thought out game, the developers are right there with you knowing that it is tough but also rewarding time spent.. I'm gonna play all the way through on morbid and start again on undead, it's that addictive. I was initially put off by the top down view, don't be it couldn't work any other way it makes it so suspenseful. The DLC Road of devastation is also brilliant, only criticism is if you play on the endless level you can find yourself putting in a couple of hours only to die with no checkpoints, man that is tough.

    Can't wait for the sequel which seems to be taking an age to arrive, I can only conclude it's being crafted with the same level of devotion as this gem. If you haven't played it yet lucky you, put some beers in the fridge, take the phone off the hook and order out for pizza and spend the weekend playing one of the best PS3 titles ever made.
    Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 49
  2. Negative: 1 out of 49
  1. There's a genuine feeling that the enemies can come from anywhere. [Jan 2011, p.115]
  2. Jan 24, 2011
    86
    Even the normal difficulty is so insanely hard it's likely to put many gamers off. [Issue#201, p.98]
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    82
    Some edge-of-your-seat gameplay. [Jan 2011, p.96]