Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. Mar 29, 2011
    77
    Severed is not bad for a $6 DLC, but I can't shake the feeling that this (severed) piece is just to whet our appetite for bigger things to come.
  2. Mar 14, 2011
    75
    As it stands, Severed falls a little short of the DLC value proposition and doesn't have the depth of gameplay to boot.
  3. Mar 31, 2011
    70
    Severed is two more hours of typical Dead Space 2 gameplay served alongside a decent story that revolves around losing a loved one. It works, though due to a painful lack of surprises is definitely nothing you couldn't live without.
  4. Mar 6, 2011
    70
    I did enjoy Severed -- in fact I'm thrilled that Visceral is actually creating single-player DLC, since so few companies ever bother to do so. So, is it worth playing? Sure. But can Visceral do better? Absolutely.
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    70
    A focus on intense combat makes this brief return to the Sprawl a satisfying one.
  6. Mar 3, 2011
    70
    I think a lot of people will be let down if they go into it expecting to be engrossed the way they were with the main story.
  7. Mar 4, 2011
    69
    Dead Space has always found its strength in horror, puzzles and scary moments, but there are just none of these elements in Severed. Heavier on action and even lighter in horror than the sequel.
  8. Visceral chose to stay so close to what's gone before. [May 2011, p.112]
  9. Apr 11, 2011
    60
    Good atmosphere as expected, but old levels and only a few hours of gameplay brings this down a bit.
  10. Mar 10, 2011
    60
    For your seven bucks, you get an extra hour of content that adds a new layer of mystery to the Dead Space universe and a rather shocking ending that would've been compelling if the campaign had been long enough to build up any emotional ties.
  11. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    This DLC is like canned espresso: small, disposable, and absolutely forgettable.
  12. Mar 11, 2011
    50
    Considering that the adventure lasts for just one hour, only real fans of the franchise should consider the possibility of buying this DLC. If you're not among them, look elsewhere.
  13. Mar 16, 2011
    40
    Severed places an ungainly weight on the shoulders of dismemberment combat for this extension of Dead Space: Extraction's fiction, creating a dichotomy as uncomfortable as traipsing backwards through already tired levels.
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 4, 2011
    8
    Don't be expecting any major changes or gameplay innovations here but what there is matches the high standard of the main game. It does give us a separate story, though, and should satisfy those of you who have completed the main game but want a bit more. Full Review »
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    7
    Severed is a really good add-on but i just cant hope to think that this could have been Dead Space 3. The campaign is great, the graphics and gameplay are the same as the main game and the characters are interesting. Its just too bad that its only one hour long. Full Review »
  3. Sep 29, 2012
    6
    As much as I enjoyed playing Severed it is very short and considering its price tag I would only recommend it to fanatics of the franchise, I admit I expected more from it but it was nice to see Gabe Weller and Lexine Murdoch from Extraction again (the voice actors are the same also). Full Review »