User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 417 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 21, 2014
    7
    Pretty decent game, has a strong opening sequence, and strong characters, each with their own seemingly unique personalities. Not, however, entirely memorable or anything deserving of extremely high scores such as 9's or 10's.

    The games swap and choose weapon customisation is well thought out and works pretty effectively, although the micro transactions get in the way, and this is a
    pretty large downfall of the game, despite not making a huge impact on the structure and gameplay itself.

    The story seems pretty cliche, but they worked with what they had, and in the end I found running around on the frozen planet, not to mention flying around in semi-open space environments, rather satisfying, even when it was, at times, rather difficult. The story ended in a cliffhanger, seemingly a setup for a fourth, which doesn't strictly make sense to me (trilogies are always so neat...), though this could merely be my own speculation.

    In the end, the gameplay was tricky, but only just fell short of the survival horror label that Dead Space deserves, but never seems to achieve. Yes, the game is riddled with quick time events, but these set pieces are merely to set the scene for the next big event.

    There are a few new mechanics, including being able to fly the ship through the rubble when landing on Tau Volantis (ignore my spelling, please), a couple new puzzle mechanics, and the simple "get to cover or you'll freeze to death" concept when finally on the planet.

    The game doesn't really offer the same scares that the originals did (in fact, far from it), but it still puts you in tense positions, dark corridors, and fatal situations. It works for me, but people deserve to point out that this is more of an action shooter than a survival horror, and I must agree; a lot of battling human enemies makes the horror aspect almost non existent, and I wished they'd focused more on genuine scares and panic situations, but there you go, I guess. EA at work. On the plus side, there is still plenty of hunter-hunted action, so people shouldn't get too down in that respect.

    There are a lot of upgrades, different weapon customisations, and various suits, which keep the game going for a while, and allow for multiple playthroughs, to collect all audio logs, complete all side missions, and upgrade all equipment whilst at the same time testing out a plethora of different weapons. This, at least, was executed perfectly.

    Overall, DS3 is a pretty solid game, once you get beyond it's deceiving outer shell and title. If they named it something else, I'm sure it would have been a far less bitter pill to swallow for all those die hard DS fans out there, but I thoroughly enjoyed it as it is anyway. Story ended up being actually worth something, horror aspects are not all gone, a lot of collectibles, tensions are still high, dark corridors are still there, creepy atmosphere has not gone at all, and co-op only really extends this experience. I can't disagree with what people are saying, but I still found this game wholly enjoyable, and I feel many others may also do so. Buy at your own discretion, but I personally found this to be a pretty worthwhile game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Great game. loooooooooooooooooooong game play. Big improvement over Dead Space 2. I still think original Dead Space is the best but DS3 is awesome nontheless. CO-Op is awesome as well. Overall money well spent. love this game.
  3. Feb 2, 2014
    8
    Dead Space 3 is an awesome game and a fantastic way to end the trilogy! There are so many things about this game that are great, so i'm gonna get the bad things out of the way first. The thing that bothered me the most was the lack of competitive multiplayer, now I'm not normally a multiplayer kinda guy but i really enjoyed it in Dead Space 2 and wish it had been included here. Second is the mission structure, now don't get me wrong the game is incredibly fun! However, the fetch quest type structure of the missions really started to get on my nerves after a while. Lastly, the lack of Isaacs dementia. I feel like the element of Isaac loosing his sanity was what made the story in the second game so compelling! Even though the story in three is very good i feel like that element could have made it as great as the story in the second. Now, with all that out of the way let me tell you why this game is so good! It has the same amazing combat that we know and love plus the addition of customizable weapons! Second, it has crazy set pieces that are just as if not more over the top that in Dead Space 2! Lastly is the characters. Isaac is better than ever and if you have a buddy to play John Carver you are in for a real treat! Carver is a fantastic character and when you put him and Isaac together it just makes it even better! Also, the games villain is not bad either, he ads a sense of urgency and hatred toward a human enemy that the previous games lacked. All in all its not quite as good as Dead Space 2, however that shouldn't keep you away because this is an awesome finale that needs to be experienced by all sci-fi and Dead Space fans! Expand
  4. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    I'm a huge Dead Space fan. But before I sound bias, let me say how disappointed I was in this game. It starts out great; it has jumps and scares, but loses momentum throughout the game. The ending is key. Without spoiling anything, lets just say that in the final 1/3 of the game, Dead Space takes a bold leap into what it doesn't know; Sci-fi. The latter half of the game still has great core-gameplay, but the story makes you think whether or not you enjoy what you're doing, and that's bad. The story drops off into the almost ridiculous and tries to go after a new market. Sure, the game is about killing alien zombies, but when it takes a turn to the "bigger" game, it falls and doesn't quite make the "better" mark. I wish Dead Space would've stuck to what it knows best; scares. In all honesty, the last part isn't scary, just confusing. With great graphics and gun play, it's a shame they tried to focus on story. All in all, it's a good game, but not what I had come to expect from a Dead Space game. Expand
  5. Jan 19, 2014
    0
    Not much words about this game. I stopped playing and having hopes on chapter 6, so can't say how it was until ending. But it was not worth to try more. Seems EA ruin every game they touch. In DS3 they changed everything good in First 2 games. Atmosphere, weapon crafting and endless pointless unskipable cut scenes are major changes which was enough to ruin whole game. So, rather replay few more times DS1 and DS2 than even try to play that!!! Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    First of all I must admit as a Dead Space game this isn't as good as Dead Space 2. In Dead Space 2 there are many times where the game will scare the crap out of you. I remember in one session I was re-investigating the hangar where the Ishimura is docked but there is no light on. I was so scared that I had to grab a light in the environment and move on with it. Not only are scary stuff all over the place the enemy AI was exceptional too.
    In dead space 3 however, the game is much less thrilling. I'm not saying its not scary at all, but far less so than its prequel. Enemy AI can be frustratingly bad at times: I have seen necromorphs running toward a wall while its already at it and ramming its head on the wall that it seems to think is me. But the game is fully functional most of the time; in my playthru the said experience only happened once.

    But let's look at the bright side: Dead Space 3 contains much more action elements than Dead Space 2 just like how they were improved in Mass Effect 3. Mini games are a welcome addition, but the biggest improvement in Dead Space 3 has to be the weapon crafting system. With two tools and accessories there are infinite possible combinations for ur weapon, the only thing u can rely on in this dark universe. From regular assault rifle to chain lightning generator that slows enemy on impact, there are so many guns for u to explore! I must be honest: I had more fun with the variety of guns in Dead Space 3 then I did in Borderlands 2, which I played 500+ hours on Steam.
    Dead Space 3 is a third person shooter instead of a survival horror game. Enemies spawn in much larger hordes, forcing u to build better weapons to deal with them. The Dead Space trademark dissembling system does exist, but dissembling becomes less effective since the enemy number has gone up exponentially and the weapons more powerful.
    U will be disappointed if u were looking for a horror game, but if ur an action fan, Dead Space 3 is definitely the game to go for with its immersive universe, badass arsenal and an interesting enough story.
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Just this one time, I know it's tempting to just follow the crowd, but please ignore the internet. If you loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2 then Dead Space 3 will not disappoint. The change of pace is a welcome addition, the light RPG elements from the previous games have been refined and for some bizzare reason the open spaces are more terrifying than the enclosed spaces. The co-op is solid in execution but it does tend to take away 85% of the scare factor. But Dead Space 3 is awesome in a terrifying way, in the same respect that Dead Space 2 was terrifying in an awesome way. Expand
  8. Nov 11, 2013
    7
    One thing to make clear I only played single player, so the co-op experience might be different.
    Out of the three main Dead Space games for me this is the worst one. Although it's not bad, I feel disappointed. This is mainly because the story and atmosphere are less interesting and do not build up tension as well as the second Dead Space did. Cutscenes in which the player didn't know if
    Isaac was going crazy or possessed were substituted with some trivial lovers quarrel. The second important thing is the gameplay resources in previous games were quite sparse, but in this entry you usually have more ammo and health packs laying about, than you can pick up. There is very little point in saving them for later or even avoiding damage much, just fire away (normal difficulty).
    One last thing besides co-op I didn't notice this game bringing in much new stuff except for the weapon crafting (which is alright, but nothing special).

    Still, it is a good game it just doesn't live up to its predecessors.
    Expand
  9. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorph outbreaks I naturally felt like a badass come Dead Space 3. More of an action game, I felt that it was a natural progression for the series. I like the customization this time around. I like the new suits, even though they literally are only aesthetics this time around. I have very little to complain about, aside from the plot which felt a little weak, and had some minor plot-holes. Expand
  10. Nov 3, 2013
    6
    Had some elements of the previous two games like the space exploration, really did capture an atmosphere at times, but unfortunately doesn't take it too long to turn into just another generic 3rd person shooter. covered by a AAA status
  11. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    As a die-hard fan of all things Dead Space, I can say that this is the best entry yet. It furthers the story of Isaac Clarke perfectly without drawn-out cut scenes to slow gameplay. Controls are solid and the new weapon system never leaves you bored. My suggestion though, is to spike up the difficulty when you play for that survival feel.
  12. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    This is where the Dead Space franchise begins it's descent into the action genre.
    This game can still be scary, but the stronger weapons, faster controls and co-op support take most of it away. The game's story is again great, better than the other two main games even, and there are more characters this time, though their backstories are limited. (Though some comics and books have been
    made detailing some characters, including Carver) The major point that shows the action this has turned into is the inclusion of human enemies. Luckily, these fights don't happen too often.
    I think this is a great game, if you're a fan of Dead Space, get it, but it has ruined my hopes for Dead Space 4 to be fantastic.
    Expand
  13. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    After playing through this game a 2nd time I really think it is a good game but doesn't hit the standard Dead Space 1 showed us. I feel that this game is really too cinematic and action packed. At times I really felt over powered and a bit frustrated considering the pace of the game but thats just how it played out. The story took an unusual turn but I wont spoil anything for anyone that hasn't played it yet. This game was very cinematic in my opinion as I always felt in horror games "dead" silence in corridors was always more tense than an orchestra in the background. To finish up I think there was definitely alot of effort put into this game and it is still fun but sadly the horror aspect of it just isn't there. 7/10 Expand
  14. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    This is a long departure from the original Dead Space. It is not a survival/horror type game. This is a third person shooter all the way. I played for an hour before I returned it to Gamefly. The characters are boring and the fighting is extremely clunky. The music of the game is dull and sound fx are nothing to remember. But I think I am jaded by the original game. A newer generation gamer who hasn't played the first one would like this game. Expand
  15. Jun 14, 2013
    6
    Co-op elements remove the fear factor in the game, put is still fun. Game is pretty short and story is uninteresting unless your a die hard dead space fan. Save your money folks.
  16. Jun 5, 2013
    7
    I thoroughly enjoyed playing Dead Space 3 with a friend. The weapon customization system is well done and provides extra incentive for exploration and resource grinding. The combat is comfortable and entertaining, varied enemies and weapon choices keep it fresh throughout. How ever I found the survival horror promise lacking, I never found myself hanging on the edge of my seat so to speak. This could be an effect of playing with a friend, but the game lacked the tension of previous Dead Space games. I recommend this game to anyone looking for a fun co-op game to kick around with a friend. Expand
  17. Jun 5, 2013
    9
    first off this game has amazing graphics like pretty good graphics. now people say this game has lost its horror aspect no it has not when your playing on anthing normal or past that and a whole bunch of the aliens and you are out of ammo and heath packs and if you get with one shot and your running away you will freak out and start standing up and cheering your self on. now for the new weapon building i didnt like it at first but then i got more into it then ended up loving it. the suits are amazing i love the suits. now one tip i will give you if you dont do this you will hate the ending so watch until the credits are done like i did. evrything they did was peferct but the game does take a while to kick in about right when you get to the planet is when it gets intense and i couldnt stop playing. now i played on normal and it took 13 hours to beat it but i didnt do all the side quests so it might be like a 15 hour game. get this game if your a big fan of dead space i have played all of them and the 3rd and 2nd are tied to be the best even though i loved the first one see you on the next review Expand
  18. May 26, 2013
    8
    Dead space 3 was a big jump for the series i had low expectations at first thinking it could have been ruined by adding re designing it into a co op game. While i have to say i still prefer a solo story campaign and a totally separate multiplayer that i loved playing in dead space 2. DS3 co op actually plays great the game is good with benchmark graphics and sound work while co op has removed the scare factor the game i still challenging which is good. Enemies no longer respawn in areas you have visited which is why there are no more random scares. the main scenes are now more strictly scripted do to the constraints of co op but over-all i loved the 20 hours plus i put into my first play- thru wether i was sending the new resource bots on a seek and find mission or the hours spent at the workbench creating different weapons from blueprints or original ones there is always plenty too do. And while not a survival horror outing for dead space this time i still enjoyed the game greatly. the game deserves playing by anyone who loves a good action shooter with over the top action Expand
  19. May 25, 2013
    10
    Critics complaining about the game being action-packed and not being scary are idiots! This is the BEST Dead Space in the franchise! Its an outstanding game from beginning to end hands down!
  20. May 19, 2013
    0
    The game was okay till chapter 5. but the game save problem is a impudence. it even does not save the game when the auto save message occur. so i lost the desire to complete the game. the internet is full of complainments about this problem, but ea seems not to care about this...
  21. May 5, 2013
    10
    Ok this has to stop. The rating is unbelievable. Angry fans giving a low score because there's co-op and human enemies. I'll admit I don't like the human enemies with guns but they did it for the story. You don't encounter that much. Through chapters 2-9 u don't encounter them. Even some others chapter you hardly encounter them. At least you know they didn't focus on the humans with guns to much like another game(Aliens colonial marines & resident evil 6). The Co-op is cool. It changes the events when you play co-op. if you play single player you don't get a CPU partner your by yourself. Caver is a like able character. He's suppose to be a jerk & yet a funny guy and which they nailed that. There's still text logs logs and audio logs around, but added something new. There's artifacts lying around that you can pick up and read about it's story. There's even side missions and these are cool as well. There's co-op missions where carver has to face his past and which if play as carver you see what he sees because he's going crazy. When your Isaac when is happens you don't see it only carver can. Now the story is very well done. It was very interning about learning the truth about the markers and the aliens. Te weapon crafting has to be the best thing they brought into the dead space universe. You can creat awesome weapons and give them like support attachments. You can give your weapons fire damage,acid,electricity or support healing for you and partner, ect. They even added a scavenger bot that helps you find rescources. The environments are creepy and very well done. The graphics look really good. The voice acting is solid. The game took me 15 hours to be plus 5 more hours if you do the side missions. But since the co-op changes the events and gives more side missions. That's going to take 25 hours to complete. Let see here 20 hours plus 25 hours is 45 hours of gameplay. I'll admit normal is a bit to easy, but I recommend you go on veteran. Probably what makes this game easy is the weapon crafting because you can create awesome weapons. They even added the classic weapons there. If you want to use those. There's also 2 new game modes. There's classic mode where co-op is disable & you can only make classic weapons with the classic laser pointer. There's also pure survival where enemies only drop rescources and they don't drop ammo or health packs. They want you to really think what you need craft. The ending was really epic to. There's also a Easter egg at the end of the credits just to let you know. There's also hardcore mode where you have to beat the game in one go there is no saving there. If you complete that mode you unlock the ultimate weapon. Now will say Ellie was a badd@ss in dead space 2 but in dead space 3 she's more a damsoul indistress. They did that for the story so it's ok I guess. The plot in the game was well done as well. There's also ton of suits as well for you to unlock and instead of putting power nodes into your suit. Now you have to use rescources to upgrade your suit. The suits look cools as well. Ok look at all of the positive things I said about this game. Fans are just letting the humans with guns and co-op ruin this masterpiece. I'll admit the game isn't as scary as the others but the horror is still in there. If they can keep the horror some what in there then it's ok for me. Just be glad it didn't turn into a full blown action game like resident evil 6. O ya there's also puzzles in the game and new mini hacking games. I also forgot to tell you about Norton but all I can tell you he's a character that your suppose to hate. There's also 2 other characters and their like able. Boss fights are also well done including the final boss. I forgot to mention in chapters 3 through 9 your going through a space ships and there's a huge free roaming zero gravity that you can explore in these chapters. My score for this game is a full 10 out of 10. Expand
  22. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    Dead Space 3 for me just didnt feel like the other two in the series. First, for most of the game you are with a group of people which took away the aloneness and scare factor that makes dead space. There were a few scary parts of the game but not like the first two games where the entire game was scary. Another big downfall was all the backtracking in the game ugh! Get three of this, three of that, go all the way back here to where you started. The graphics are awsome and set pieces are nice and the game itself and story are pretty good, i also didnt6 like the new weapon system but thats my opinion. If you played and like the other games than play this one its not bad i enjoyed it. Expand
  23. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I'm pretty disappointed by others reviews of this game. Dead space 3 is a great game and has endless reply-ability. If you're a fan of shooters...GOOD shooters then this is right up your alley. Weapons are fantastic andallow you to experiment with dozens of possibilties. The co-op works great and adds to the campain to make it uber-fun. It's scary like resident evil should be. Do not listen to the haters. ..this game rocks! Expand
  24. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I'm a huge Dead Space fan, and when I finished this last game I felt a sense of accomplishment. Its not as scary as the first two entries in the series and a lot of fans will be extremely upset about that. But you play this one for the story because it is as unforgettable as ever. And the graphics are the series highpoint and anyone can appreciate that.
  25. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay so here's the thing: Dead Space 3 was sort of damned from the outset. If you look at the Dead Space series it follows the same pattern as the Alien films: the first is survival horror and acclaimed because of the sense of paranoia and claustrophobia it inspires. The monsters are hideous, the graphics are excellent and the blood and viscera are, well visceral. Dead Space 2 had to widen its scope since Dead Space took place almost entirely on the Ishimura, Dead Space 2 had to up the ante by demonstrating a necromorph outbreak within a human colony (notice the Aliens parallel?). I actually thought DS2 was every bit the equal of DS but it had a more actionized, epic feel. DS3 then HAD to find a new tack...and like Alien 3 it opted more for characterization over action or the type of horror of the original. Alien 3 is coincidently...the least liked chapter of the Alien series (and no, like most self respecting humans I do not include the films which followed) because it tried to have its cake and eat it too. But here again is the thing....I like Alien 3, a lot. I also like Dead Space 3 a lot. Dead Space 3 turned the near silent protagonist of DS and the damaged psyche edition of Isaac featured in DS 2 and gave him depth. Here we get to see Isaac handle the difficult seperation from Ellie while being forced to work with not just her but her jealous, jerk ass new man Norton. Not only is this drama present but oh yeah, Isaac is also the key to saving the entire living galaxy (potentially). Dead Space 3 also introduces a motley cast to aid Isaac and for the first time creates a human villain (a nasty one at that) who is utterly seduced by the markers. Dead Space 3 is also a good deal larger and at least for me, longer than the other 2 entries. I loved the weapon creation and customization engine and the adorable lil' scavenger bots which bravely navigated necromorph infested zones to bring in needed supplies. DS3 also for the first time lets Isaac be an engineer- his weapons are improvised and the creation system is indeed deep. A real bonus is that you have many blueprints available but you're also quite free to BYO. By the way my favorite weapon was one I designed: an acid infused, hard popping pulse rifle with a tremendously damaging rocket launcher (I do love the classics). I also created a scoped auto rifle which fired stasis infused needles and had a huge contact beam underneath to finish enemies with. I loved the side missions which added other tragic characters and fully fleshed out the chaos which occurred long before the events of DS. The graphics are gorgeous and the environs varied- yes the ships do reuse sections and are interchangeable but that's actually pretty realistic- there isn't a good deal of variance amongst ships of similar type and many of those are like the Nostromo in Alien- resource haulers. This being said, DS 3 has its share of flaws. The ice planet is large but also easy to get lost within and maybe its just me but I found navigation a lot more difficult in this game. The game is not for everyone (fans of DS in particular will likely hate it) but if you enjoy a game which offers a much more nuanced and fleshed out approach to its characters, big set pieces, large environments, a lot more bang for your buck storywise and with many sidequests, DS 3 is for you. I haven't written about co-op because I didn't play it (sadly DS 3 was part of my acquisition of the superior Bioshock Infinite) but I do plan on re-purchasing the game at some point to walk a mile in Carver's shoes. The final question therefore is, if Dead Space follows the Alien series on an abstract level (oh it does in many, many ways...which makes Aliens: Colonial Marines all the more disappointing) is it as flawed as the third entry? Happily it is not. If you're expecting DS or DS 2 replay those, but if you want to finally have a story with more of a human element (particularly between Isaac and Ellie) along with all the goodies......DS 3 is a worthy conclusion to an excellent series. Expand
  26. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Dead Space 3 is a wonderful game and this is my favorite series. Even though I feel that Dead Space 2 is my personal favorite, this one is still amazing has has one of the deepest and most addicting weapon crafting systems I've ever experienced. The game itself is amazing and brilliantly polished. The gameplay is superb and the controls are perfect. The visuals are pretty and the story is amazing. The introduction of co op worried me but Visceral pulled it off. The one thing that held this game back, was its lack of scares. I still absolutely loved the game but the scares need to make a come back. The Awakened DLC was a nice addition wi the horror elements but that only lasts about an hour or two and its not included in the main game. Dead Space 3 is amazing and any true Dead Space fan will love it! Expand
  27. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    I really liked Dead Space 1 and 2. they are the best survivle horror games out there since Capcom turned Resident Evil in to a Lame Duck Shooter. DS3 i was very sketch on after seeing the 20 minutes of video It didn't look like a dead Space game It looked more like Lost planet After playing it all the way through i found that it wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. Now thats not to say there isnt some problems because there is alot to complain about in DS3 but first I'll start off with whats good about the game. Even though in the 20 minute demo they showed Issac in the snow all the time you are actaully very rarely outside in the snow. You spend more time in the ships or in bunkers or bases below the snow So the game still retains its tight chlostrophobic feel. Scares yes it still has some there was a few moments in the game when i jumped abit and yelled oh Shat! (note. it also helped that i was using a Sony HMZ-T1 while playing so it sucked me in to the game more) Guns and lots of them .You will have a bevy of wepons to pick from The story is also much improved One of my biggest gripes with DS1 and 2 was that the focus on more information on the marker was needed and DS3 does give you more but still leaves you wanting to know more yet. The game is longer and you move from a City to space ships to snow feilds to under ground bunkers to alien ruins so the game changes up nicely. Some new enimies and some good ones at that. Final boss looked pretty damn cool. Ok now on to the down side of DS3 First off the save feature It just SUCKS! instead of having places to save at you can just pause and hit save and quit Now unfortunitly it wont save you at that point unless its a check point. It will save all the stuff you found but when you load back up you could have to go back through 30-40 minutes of what you just did EVEN AFTER YOU SAVED WHEN YOU ALREADY DID IT!!! That just pissed me off. Remember in DS 1 and 2 when you could carry 4 wepons! now you only can have 2... WTF!? this made me not want to try out the new wepons because with only two wepon slots I didnt want to risk being stuck with some thing that was crap. Only 2 wepon slots... DUMB! remember in prevous DS games some times you would get mobbed by a ton of enimies? That was frightning because it didn't happen much and ammo was scarce (if you played it on the hard modes which is all i ever did) well in DS3 you are getting swarmed by tons of enimies every 2-3 minuites It seems clear out a room move 2 more rooms and and do it all again. You expect it now and the tension is gone. which brings us to ammo which you will never run out of because they made it so easy to carry a ton of it and make a ton of it and since all wepons use the same ammo worrying about item managment is pretty much gone... which sucks. Co-op... well its not forced on you atleast with a AI partner following you around which would have really sucked hard becase i have NO intrest in ever playing any DS game in CO-OP but EA is still taunting you with it by locking out missions with CO-OP only. Which really bugged me and should have been the other way around. If you enjoy CO-Op thats fine but for me it just Ruins DS I wasnt to be immersed in the world with out any one els bugging me. also way to much crap is locked away in the co-op certain wepons and alot of trophys can't be gotten with out playing in CO-OP... BS! Buggy and glitchy. ok i am on patch 1.02 and have had 2 freeze ups (which suck more with the crappy save system) and have had problems getting some doors to open. yes I have had to stand in front of a few doors for 2-5 minutes till it would open. Way to much rock climbing sessions which were not any fun and BUGGY! The final boss may have looked cool but man was he super EASY to beat. which has been a problem in all DS games they really need to make more of a harder final lboss fight. Also the ending pretty much sucks. In the end though DS3 is still a decent game It hasn't gone as far off the rails as what Resident Evil has to now its just a shambles DS3 still at its core is fun but they need to get it back on track to being a SURVIVLE HORROR GAME! Expand
  28. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Simply fantastic game. Truly Dead Space from end to end. I was worried seeing so many negative responses to the game from fans and reviewers and was afraid the co-op would really ruin the experience. But how relieved I was. The co-op is totally optional feeling like its a completely different game so the single player is untouched. The weapon crafting system is marvelous I spent so much time on the bench cooking up weapons although that is where my only gripe with the game comes, that you can craft and will craft so many weapons but can only carry 2. If they made at least 3 It would have been better but it just a minor complain that does not detriment from the game in general. The story is amazing, i loved it definitely did not see the twist almost at the end. Finally something else I loved is the diversity in scenarios. While the first 2 games each were pretty much in one type of scenario (DS1 on the Ishimura and DS2 on the Sprawl), DS3 has you in at least 3 totally different scenarios that drastically change the pace of the game. In conclusion Im really happy with how the game turned out. I do feel it surpasses its predecessors, and the horror I felt was intact since although I pretty much knew what to expect from the necromorphs I was still at the edge of my seat waiting for them to pop out of shafts just like I was in the previous games. Expand
  29. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    After 3 games the chills of not knowing what was coming for you around the next corridor no longer hold the same scares, but the great atmosphere and gameplay allow this one to hold its own with the last two. The gun crafting is interesting and the game does a good job of mixing some old school Dead Space (especially the first few hours before planet fall) with some nice setpiece moments. A solid 8.5 for me. Expand
  30. Mar 21, 2013
    2
    Forget it, they've lost what made Deadspace 1 and (mostly) 2 awesome. Turned into mass appeal FPS rubbish. What's worse, they've included pay-to-win features. Don't like the game, and I don't like where this is going.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Taken as a whole, Dead Space 3 is far more infuriating than it is bad.
  2. Do yourself a favour and play DS3 like a raving masochist, straight off the bat. It’s a slick, AAA sequel that’s worthy of its place in the franchise. but only if you take the initiative and crank the difficulty. We didn’t think it possible, but Visceral has engineered a sequel that will appease old fans and entice new ones, too. [March 2013, p72]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Misfires and all, it’s at least commendable that Dead Space 3 makes an effort to exhibit some fresh experimentation into what has become a truly bloated media franchise; plus the combat still shines for the most part. Sadly though, better elements like the crafting system are lamentably set against a mundane and lifeless backdrop that rarely excites, let alone spooks, on the grand level of previous games in the series.