User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 458 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    I really liked Dead Space 1 and 2. they are the best survivle horror games out there since Capcom turned Resident Evil in to a Lame Duck Shooter. DS3 i was very sketch on after seeing the 20 minutes of video It didn't look like a dead Space game It looked more like Lost planet After playing it all the way through i found that it wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. Now thats not to say there isnt some problems because there is alot to complain about in DS3 but first I'll start off with whats good about the game. Even though in the 20 minute demo they showed Issac in the snow all the time you are actaully very rarely outside in the snow. You spend more time in the ships or in bunkers or bases below the snow So the game still retains its tight chlostrophobic feel. Scares yes it still has some there was a few moments in the game when i jumped abit and yelled oh Shat! (note. it also helped that i was using a Sony HMZ-T1 while playing so it sucked me in to the game more) Guns and lots of them .You will have a bevy of wepons to pick from The story is also much improved One of my biggest gripes with DS1 and 2 was that the focus on more information on the marker was needed and DS3 does give you more but still leaves you wanting to know more yet. The game is longer and you move from a City to space ships to snow feilds to under ground bunkers to alien ruins so the game changes up nicely. Some new enimies and some good ones at that. Final boss looked pretty damn cool. Ok now on to the down side of DS3 First off the save feature It just SUCKS! instead of having places to save at you can just pause and hit save and quit Now unfortunitly it wont save you at that point unless its a check point. It will save all the stuff you found but when you load back up you could have to go back through 30-40 minutes of what you just did EVEN AFTER YOU SAVED WHEN YOU ALREADY DID IT!!! That just pissed me off. Remember in DS 1 and 2 when you could carry 4 wepons! now you only can have 2... WTF!? this made me not want to try out the new wepons because with only two wepon slots I didnt want to risk being stuck with some thing that was crap. Only 2 wepon slots... DUMB! remember in prevous DS games some times you would get mobbed by a ton of enimies? That was frightning because it didn't happen much and ammo was scarce (if you played it on the hard modes which is all i ever did) well in DS3 you are getting swarmed by tons of enimies every 2-3 minuites It seems clear out a room move 2 more rooms and and do it all again. You expect it now and the tension is gone. which brings us to ammo which you will never run out of because they made it so easy to carry a ton of it and make a ton of it and since all wepons use the same ammo worrying about item managment is pretty much gone... which sucks. Co-op... well its not forced on you atleast with a AI partner following you around which would have really sucked hard becase i have NO intrest in ever playing any DS game in CO-OP but EA is still taunting you with it by locking out missions with CO-OP only. Which really bugged me and should have been the other way around. If you enjoy CO-Op thats fine but for me it just Ruins DS I wasnt to be immersed in the world with out any one els bugging me. also way to much crap is locked away in the co-op certain wepons and alot of trophys can't be gotten with out playing in CO-OP... BS! Buggy and glitchy. ok i am on patch 1.02 and have had 2 freeze ups (which suck more with the crappy save system) and have had problems getting some doors to open. yes I have had to stand in front of a few doors for 2-5 minutes till it would open. Way to much rock climbing sessions which were not any fun and BUGGY! The final boss may have looked cool but man was he super EASY to beat. which has been a problem in all DS games they really need to make more of a harder final lboss fight. Also the ending pretty much sucks. In the end though DS3 is still a decent game It hasn't gone as far off the rails as what Resident Evil has to now its just a shambles DS3 still at its core is fun but they need to get it back on track to being a SURVIVLE HORROR GAME! Expand
  2. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Great game, great graphics,great co op, large levels, rewarding secondary missions, weapon customizations, a must buy DONOT believe the haters.
    Great game co-op, also a long game which is unusual these days. I finished this game with my American friend, there were minor glitches still apparent from the previous games but nothing to great. I like the weapon building though few weapons
    work exceptionally well. My custom Bola launcher and force rifle rocket launcher was what I ended the game with. I started with a machine gun shotgun combo that worked so well for so long. Don't really understand the low user score. Storyline gets a little different than the previous games attempting to explain a lot. It's not a bad deal. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    For better or for worse, this is Dead Space. Less scary.....yes. But just as intense as DS2. They have packed this game with more epic moment that the first two iterations had as well. The availability of microtransactions is a little bit of a let down. But you do NOT have to purchase them. They are optional and can be earned through natural progression. IMHO, this is not the best Dead Space game. But it stands proud as a worthy entry into the Dead Space universe. I would compare it to the difference between Killzone 2 and 3. 3 was a really good game and technically superior. But 2 had that little extra magic and lore. At the same time, both earned there place on my book shelf and in my system for different reasons. Bottom line, if you loved DS1 and DS2, you won't be disappointed in 3. Expand
  4. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Fun fun fun fun fun, and awesome graphics. The plot is pretty much trash but that's okay if what you really want in this game is a bucketload of fun and to be able to sit back and get some serious eye candy going on.
  5. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Have played through this game twice now, I have some thoughts. The new emphasize on action is a good thing. I do miss the scares, but after 3 games, it would have been hard to achieve the same creepy feel. The action felt needed. Game play is great all around. Some cool space missions add a fun twist on the solid gunplay. The graphics were pretty good. At some points it looked great, other times it would look just good. A step up from DS2 graphically. Its story was not very good however. It wasn't bad, but it could have been much better, especially since this was the last in the trilogy. Has tons of replay value, so if you are worried about bang for your buck look no further. As far as micro-transactions go, they didn't effect me, positively or negatively. Hardly even noticed they were there. Overall, if you are a 3rd person shooter fan, this is a must buy. Just don't expect a ton of scares, but again, this is a good thing. Expand
  6. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    After 3 games the chills of not knowing what was coming for you around the next corridor no longer hold the same scares, but the great atmosphere and gameplay allow this one to hold its own with the last two. The gun crafting is interesting and the game does a good job of mixing some old school Dead Space (especially the first few hours before planet fall) with some nice setpiece moments. A solid 8.5 for me. Expand
  7. Aug 31, 2014
    1
    Auto-save doesn't work and I can't finish 5 chapter. This happens for the first time that I can't finish the game. From what i've seen in 4 chapters game doesn't offers much more.
  8. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Per other users' feedbacks, I had the impression the whole micro-transactions thing was more abusive and annoying. It's not. I mean, it's there, of course, and if you have the cash you can save the trouble of farming for resources. But it's a very discrete thing, meaning the core mechanics are not disrupted by this at all. Now, about the game itself. I don't think it deviates from its origins, by all means. The first acts, as a matter of fact, did remind me of the first entry and, as I traversed the narrow, dark corridors of the spaceship I got a (delicious) déjà vu. I do agree they added more action to this game which, unfortunately, cuts a bit of the thrills and scares (but it doesn't cripple the game pun not intended). Dead Space 3 is still a very compelling, scary game with a haunting atmosphere and a main character we learned to love through the course of the years. It suffers from the occasional... Uncharted-Lost Planet complex? Yes, it does. But after you get used to it, you realize the Necromorphs are there, they are thirsty, hungry, angry and scary as ever. So, by the end of the day, this is still a fantastic Dead Space game we are playing. Period. Expand
  9. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    Quite simply stunning game.....
    I adore the franchise and this has everything from a great single player to amazing co op play with stunning sound and graphics... Great stuff and hugely recommended ....
    Perhaps EA should offer VIsceral Games a chance to create a ALIENS game to show how to make a superb atmospheric horror space video game....
    If you only buy one game this year get this
    over colonial marines everyday....
    GENIUS...
    Expand
  10. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    One major positive aspect is the ability to disassemble and re-use weapon parts, meaning you never have to worry about consuming items in the crafting of a gun. It would have been easy for Visceral to inflict a penalty on players every time they built something, but instead you'll only lose resources by making objects from scratch, not from building guns out of components you already own.
  11. Mar 14, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I love the Dead Space franchise. The first game was something special. I enjoy films like Aliens, Event Horizon, The Thing etc. It was nice to see a developer be so inspired by those films and atmospheres. The second one took it a step further and was brilliant. The first game had horror. The second game had terror. The third game? Well lets just say its action. I understand how a developer can't do more of the same but why the hell can't they at least PUSH the envelope and make the action meld with more horror? A good example is the Awakened DLC. Now the enemies in that game were horror! throw those in 3 with the bloody necromorphs from the first two games and I really wouldn't have had any problem. The problem though is adding the crouching, shooting gallery mechanics and bum rushing enemies that block corridors. It really broke the game for me. Not to mention lack of exploration this time round. Sure we go through many environments but its mostly backtracking. I liked the space parts the most but the rest of it was pretty lacking. I was also annoyed *SPOILER* that you don't get to go to the moon..instead you fight the moon. Really? now whole moons are bosses? that was the stupidest part of the whole game. What is this Mass Effect 3? Death Star? The boss just looked laughable though I liked the chaotic environment. Story was weak this time round..instead of Isaac worrying about his missing girlfriend we got Carver who has to be the worst companion character right next to Aliens: Colonial Marines companion. Guy has tourettes. I didn't even bother with the co-op. Finally the last gripe was the weapon crafting system. I utterly hated this. I miss the old weapons. Should have kept those and just allowed upgrades instead of crafting new weapons. Don't see the point? other then giving us some hard work to do. Breaks up the pacing and obviously was put in to keep the player from noticing the short levels. On the plus side some of the enemy designs were great (The DLC Awakened being the best), graphics are always top notch, sound design was good (though I noticed on headphones it veers towards the left side...a bug?) ----------If your a fan of the series I recommend it and the DLC Awakened is brilliant up until the silly ending. I don't really know where else they can take it. I am so tired of those monsters attack the Earth plot lines.. 7/10 Expand
  12. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    At first I didn't understand why this game got such a low score with fans, but now It's clear to me why this is probably the worst dead space game. They dropped one of my favorite modes in dead space 2 (multi-player) and replaced it with co-op instead of just doing both. It felt really slacked for me. 8/10
  13. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Great game. loooooooooooooooooooong game play. Big improvement over Dead Space 2. I still think original Dead Space is the best but DS3 is awesome nontheless. CO-Op is awesome as well. Overall money well spent. love this game.
  14. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Horrible reviews, the game is long, fun, interesting, and really keeps you in it until the end, yeah the fight's with unitologist feel stupid but they are short and not too many of them. And the crafting is extremely fun when you are in tau volantis because except of being obligated to have 4 weapons here i can have 2 weapons with 2 different ways of fire with an add on and make them way better. I started in hard from the beginning but also the game is hard and you will start to run out of stuff in the middle of the game forward because the qauntity of enemies increases incredibly. The game for me is a 9/10 or maybe even 9.5/10 contestant to game of the year. Expand
  15. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Dead Space 3 is a wonderful game and this is my favorite series. Even though I feel that Dead Space 2 is my personal favorite, this one is still amazing has has one of the deepest and most addicting weapon crafting systems I've ever experienced. The game itself is amazing and brilliantly polished. The gameplay is superb and the controls are perfect. The visuals are pretty and the story is amazing. The introduction of co op worried me but Visceral pulled it off. The one thing that held this game back, was its lack of scares. I still absolutely loved the game but the scares need to make a come back. The Awakened DLC was a nice addition wi the horror elements but that only lasts about an hour or two and its not included in the main game. Dead Space 3 is amazing and any true Dead Space fan will love it! Expand
  16. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Just beat the game tonight! And I have beaten part 1 and 2 as well! Honestly, if you enjoyed DS1 DS2, you should really, really enjoy part 3. Yes, the opening has action but after the very beginning you fall right back into how DS1 2 were. The entire game had me staring down openings where the aliens could enter in! The weapon crafting is wonderful, I loved the node system and was scared when I heard they changed it but after using it I'm so happy they mixed it up! Definitely a very, very great game! Expand
  17. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorph outbreaks I naturally felt like a badass come Dead Space 3. More of an action game, I felt that it was a natural progression for the series. I like the customization this time around. I like the new suits, even though they literally are only aesthetics this time around. I have very little to complain about, aside from the plot which felt a little weak, and had some minor plot-holes. Expand
  18. Mar 4, 2013
    3
    Lacks everything that made the first two games so entertaining. Monsters are not scary at all and encounters are totally predictable. Action is technically good but is missing the feeling.
  19. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved Dead Space 1 and 2, but I never did manage to get my game buddy to try either of them out. I even bought it a copy of both and put them into his collection of games. He never did 'get around to them'.

    However, Dead Space 3 comes out and now we're playing together, on day-one release day. It's a miracle. It's got to be the biggest Co-Op game to date... I would have
    guessed Resident Evil 5 before this. And that game was all-in-all very weak. Most Co-Op games have big gaps in the story telling in places where there just aren't 2 players in the storyline. Dead Space 3 does a damn good job of making both players and the cutscenes intertwined. I was impressed how it just wan't "Hero in green pants" and "Hero in red pants". Both characters have a backstory and are actively engaging the plot of the story. It's a well-done touch. Lastly, Dead Space 3 is not the same exact terrifying romp the other two games were. But as an action adventure title it's still as good as or in most cases far better than anything else you'll play this year. The weapons are awesome and the big action scenes are Epic !!!

    I whole-heartedly RECOMMEND this game... it's light on the terror but heavy on the FUN. So what you gonna do... play a great game in the Dead Space universe. And dream about what all will be possible in Dead Space 4 now that the game is finally going to earn the sales it's always deserved !!!
    It's a stepping stone, and a lot of fun along the way. It rests on the heels of the absolutely amazing Dead Space 2, except now you can CO-Op with your friends. A new story, few new monsters, a new planet, Isaac, Elle, the plama cutter gun, and a very tight Co-Op experience.
    Expand
  20. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Dead space 3......i honestly dont know what to say. what was once a survival horror game is now another shooter.....dont get me wrong, the game has moments of horror but overall its an action shooter sprink(lightly) with horror elements so as usual I'll start with the good:its starts off 200 years in the past with some soldier(i forget his name) who gets one hell of an intro(running from a burning space ship but is killed by his superior officer. 200 Years later we find clarke who's being told(via phone) his relationship with ella is over. after two guys bust in and force clarke to join them the game begins and for the most part its awesome. I also like the street area's and the graphics are some of the best this generation has to offer! But what i really love about dead space 3 is the crafting system. This is by far the best weapon customising system i have ever played as issac creates all his weapons whether its a plasma gun,a revolver, to heavy weapons with a secondary weapon!! If you want a shotgun with a rocket launcher go head....if you want a flamethrower with an electrified saw that also has acid to compensate the flame damage,you got it!! The sky's the limit here and i have about 10 different weapon combinations so far to decimate the necromorph threat. there's a love triangle in dead space 3 that wasnt bad but it kinda made a lot of parts extremely predictable like the eventual betrayal that happens but its cool.....he got what he deserved. The necromorph and origin of the makers are finally revealed which i thought made sense(this is a sci-fi story after all) but some people didnt like it but its fine....especially when you literally fights the end boss posing as a moon! this game is also long which i thoroughly enjoyed since games nowadays end in about 4-7 hours. Now the bad: lets get this out the way.....this game is too easy. While i want to say:why is this game easy..but i already know the answer!? The weapons you create are OP...PERIOD! This makes it too easy. i started the game on hard difficulty as i do all games and i say this in all honesty....I DIDNT DIE ONCE UNTIL I REACHED CHAPTER 10!! my machine gun/shotgun combo fully upgraded with acid combo along with my flamethrower/grenade launcher with full damage/reload/clip also with acid damage/stasis covered ammo made me an unstoppable killing mahine! Even on hard or impossible,the enemies are nothing but fodder at your feet. i have yet to play survival,classic,retro or hardcore mode but if hard and impossible are easy then you can beat normal r casual with your eyes closed which makes it sad because dead space 1 & 2 were hard on normal and a pain on higher difficulties! Also & probably the worst aspect of dead space 3 is the fact that the horror is ALL BUT GONE!! the creator of the series said that the horror element of dead space 3 is subjective to the player but i disagree, even if i never played dead space 1 or 2 i still would say this is an action thriller instead of a survival horror game! Gone are the constant voices you here when you walk down hallways!! The terror of running out of ammo or health packs have been removed because you can make both said items at the work bench!! there's no need to worry about upgrading your air because you wont be attacked long enough to suffocate in the vaccum of space! Gone are all the enemies fatalities i mean why was that removed? in dead space 1 & 2 issac was tone to shreds in a speical way by different enemies but not here!? He just falls on his back....smh. Isaac's dementia is gone because he recoverd from the hallucinating but since he no longer suffers from the marker's dementia dead space 3 loses its most compelling aspect:the horror....so naturally the horrors gone but it has a few scares but not nearly enough scares compared to dead space 1 & 2! The micro-transactions are not bad because it dosent effect gameplay so you are not forced to buy it! All in all i would give dead space 3 a 6 or 7/10 but the crafting system is amazing so i give it an 8/10 its a good solid action thriller but if you want a survival horror game that offers a challenge without unlocking the harder difficulty by beating it at least once....you might be disappointed!!! Expand
  21. May 26, 2013
    8
    Dead space 3 was a big jump for the series i had low expectations at first thinking it could have been ruined by adding re designing it into a co op game. While i have to say i still prefer a solo story campaign and a totally separate multiplayer that i loved playing in dead space 2. DS3 co op actually plays great the game is good with benchmark graphics and sound work while co op has removed the scare factor the game i still challenging which is good. Enemies no longer respawn in areas you have visited which is why there are no more random scares. the main scenes are now more strictly scripted do to the constraints of co op but over-all i loved the 20 hours plus i put into my first play- thru wether i was sending the new resource bots on a seek and find mission or the hours spent at the workbench creating different weapons from blueprints or original ones there is always plenty too do. And while not a survival horror outing for dead space this time i still enjoyed the game greatly. the game deserves playing by anyone who loves a good action shooter with over the top action Expand
  22. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    Saves load an hour before the point where you were, levels load if you are lucky. Just unacceptable. A game only the WHORES at EA would ask money for. Do NOT buy.
  23. Aug 24, 2014
    5
    Bought this game last year, played through it, exploring as much as possible and actually enjoying it. I was bored a few days ago and decided to blow the dust off this game and have another go. As I played, I noticed quite a few bad things and a few good things. Lets start with good: The story continues, it explains alot more about the markers, the origin of the markers, which I was curious about since Dead Space 1.
    This one could be good or bad: The weapons. New crafting, build what you want. Now, I tired this out a bit. Built around 5-6 new guns, some good, some were just plain trash. After I experimented with it a bit, I found that the new crafting was unnecessary to me. I found the pulse rifle blueprint and never touched the crafting again. Some people like it, some don't, its your choice.
    Another good thing: Locations. The wrecked hulls of ships, bunkers, blood stained hallways filled with corpses. The space floating was a welcome change. Flying among the wreckage, avoiding mines was interesting. The bunkers and hallways, same Dead Space touch.
    Now the bad: The enemies. Some people might disagree, but I felt that the enemies were bullet sponges. Dead Space 1 and 2, the enemies on Casual were pretty easy. Here, they felt like I was playing Impossible.
    Another bad: The spawn system: When I was playing, I noticed that the enemies would swarm me ALOT. Seemed like every 3rd room I entered, I would be swarmed by 20-30 enemies. It got to the point where the swarming was no longer making me cautious but was actually making me mad. "Kill 30 enemies, walk 20 feet, get swarmed and kill 30 more". After that happening 10 times in an hour, you start to lose interest in the game.
    The weapons: They feel very underpowered. Example: The pulse rifle in Dead Space 2, that was great. I could mow down enemies and still have some rounds left. Now, I unload 2 clips into a single enemy and he just laughs at me.
    One last bad thing then I will stop ranting: The game: I lost track of how many times toward the middle and end of the game that I went over the same spots I just went over. I remember one spot though. You meet up with Santo, she tells you about some way to find the signal, and you run out the door you just came in, go outside where you just were, only you turn a different direction..why couldn't she tell me to get this stuff when I was outside instead of running all the way inside -_-. In my opinion, the developers ran out of ideas and made us go over the same spots to make the game seem longer then it really is.
    Over all, the game is good, but the bad things I listed just make the game a grind to get to the next point. If your a hardcore Dead Space fan, buy it for the story. If your not a fan, skip it and move to something else.
    Expand
  24. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Wow... that is all that needs to be said. This game blows the previous two Dead Space titles out of the water. The bar has been raised to the ultimate. The additions of weapon editing, co-op, optional missions, and improved gameplay is a VERY welcomed addition. The soundtrack and story for the most part is excellent. The atmosphere and look of the world is amazing. There are so many big moments and set pieces that I had to go back just to play it again. It's a shame too, because the demo left a bad taste in my mouth, but after picking up the full game my mind was blown. This is one of the best games I've played in a long time and it's such a shame that it's sitting at a 78 metacritic rating, because it deserves a MUCH higher score. Thank you Visceral Games. Expand
  25. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    EA following Capcom's steps, (Resident Evil), The terror has gone with planet's temperature, EA brings a solid Action Game, this is no more Survival Horror, if you want a great action game this is for you, if you want a Survival Horror better look in another place. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you will be a little disappointed, but is still great the Game. Hope they make a REAL survival horror Dead Space Soon Expand
  26. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    I'm positive the bad reviews for this game is overflow from ME3 and microtransactions from EA. It's sad that people who haven't played the game are allowed to spam the user score with 0's. Anyway, don't listen to them! I was afraid that my favorite series was ruined and my expectations were not high...but this is classic Dead Space! The single player experience is still scary (especially on "Impossible")...and the co-op is just action icing on the cake. I just wish everyone wasn't so butt hurt over the micro's...you don't have to buy them. Expand
  27. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Not really sure where all the negativity being leveled towards this game is coming from. Many fans and critics seem to be complaining about a straying from the roots of the series, what makes dead space a unique, original, series. After playing DS3 I can say that the new direction of the developers towards a more action oriented game was well thought out. DS1 was all about the unknown and survival, DS2 strayed from this but still kept the feeling of creepy horror while combining it with heavier action elements. At this point, there was only one logical way to go with the series. The horror and survival aspects had been thoroughly explored, now it was time to see what Isaac could really do when faced with intense combat situations. I have to say, I found this to be the most difficult of the three games. When swarms of semi-humanoid necromorphs come screeching after you and surrounding you, it because very difficult to survive. The addition of customized weapons was great, as well as user-made blueprints. The story was well-paced and the layout of the game superb. The amount of content was large, the whole time I felt as though I was accomplishing much. The only gripe I have about this particular Dead Space was the lack of marker induced hallucinations. For me, those were the creepiest parts in the first and second game. Excluding that, remarkably well-done game, delivers well on the hype. Expand
  28. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    I've been a fan of Dead Space since the first installment. The ambiance in the first game can't be matched, the advancement of the story in 2 was a welcome addition to the improved game-play, but 3 just seems to be... lacking. In innovation, mostly. I've played through about half of this game and I can honestly say: if you're looking for a game that is all about scary creatures and psychological horrors, play 1 and 2. If you're a fan of the series and want to see where the plot goes and enjoy the aesthetics of the first 2 games, 3 is alright, too. The weapon upgrade system is very taxing and I was a little bit wary about the addition of co-op (but it actually seems alright), but honestly, you can get through most of this game without making some Frankenstein-esque gun from scrap metal. I wouldn't recommend buying this game new, but if you see it at a game shop used, by all means, give it a try. Expand
  29. Apr 24, 2013
    7
    Dead Space 3 for me just didnt feel like the other two in the series. First, for most of the game you are with a group of people which took away the aloneness and scare factor that makes dead space. There were a few scary parts of the game but not like the first two games where the entire game was scary. Another big downfall was all the backtracking in the game ugh! Get three of this, three of that, go all the way back here to where you started. The graphics are awsome and set pieces are nice and the game itself and story are pretty good, i also didnt6 like the new weapon system but thats my opinion. If you played and like the other games than play this one its not bad i enjoyed it. Expand
  30. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    Sure, the game has some nasty optional microtransactions, and its a bit sad you cant choose classic, hardcore or pure survival from the get go (http://imgur.com/ZF5C7nz) but its still a dead space game. If youre a fan of both DS and DS2, this is a no brainer in my opinion! Only completed it alone so far btw.
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Taken as a whole, Dead Space 3 is far more infuriating than it is bad.
  2. Do yourself a favour and play DS3 like a raving masochist, straight off the bat. It’s a slick, AAA sequel that’s worthy of its place in the franchise. but only if you take the initiative and crank the difficulty. We didn’t think it possible, but Visceral has engineered a sequel that will appease old fans and entice new ones, too. [March 2013, p72]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Misfires and all, it’s at least commendable that Dead Space 3 makes an effort to exhibit some fresh experimentation into what has become a truly bloated media franchise; plus the combat still shines for the most part. Sadly though, better elements like the crafting system are lamentably set against a mundane and lifeless backdrop that rarely excites, let alone spooks, on the grand level of previous games in the series.