Dead Space 3 PlayStation 3

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 520 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Great game, great graphics,great co op, large levels, rewarding secondary missions, weapon customizations, a must buy DONOT believe the haters.
    Great game co-op, also a long game which is unusual these days. I finished this game with my American friend, there were minor glitches still apparent from the previous games but nothing to great. I like the weapon building though few weapons
    Great game, great graphics,great co op, large levels, rewarding secondary missions, weapon customizations, a must buy DONOT believe the haters.
    Great game co-op, also a long game which is unusual these days. I finished this game with my American friend, there were minor glitches still apparent from the previous games but nothing to great. I like the weapon building though few weapons work exceptionally well. My custom Bola launcher and force rifle rocket launcher was what I ended the game with. I started with a machine gun shotgun combo that worked so well for so long. Don't really understand the low user score. Storyline gets a little different than the previous games attempting to explain a lot. It's not a bad deal.
    Expand
  2. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    For better or for worse, this is Dead Space. Less scary.....yes. But just as intense as DS2. They have packed this game with more epic moment that the first two iterations had as well. The availability of microtransactions is a little bit of a let down. But you do NOT have to purchase them. They are optional and can be earned through natural progression. IMHO, this is not the best DeadFor better or for worse, this is Dead Space. Less scary.....yes. But just as intense as DS2. They have packed this game with more epic moment that the first two iterations had as well. The availability of microtransactions is a little bit of a let down. But you do NOT have to purchase them. They are optional and can be earned through natural progression. IMHO, this is not the best Dead Space game. But it stands proud as a worthy entry into the Dead Space universe. I would compare it to the difference between Killzone 2 and 3. 3 was a really good game and technically superior. But 2 had that little extra magic and lore. At the same time, both earned there place on my book shelf and in my system for different reasons. Bottom line, if you loved DS1 and DS2, you won't be disappointed in 3. Expand
  3. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Fun fun fun fun fun, and awesome graphics. The plot is pretty much trash but that's okay if what you really want in this game is a bucketload of fun and to be able to sit back and get some serious eye candy going on.
  4. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Have played through this game twice now, I have some thoughts. The new emphasize on action is a good thing. I do miss the scares, but after 3 games, it would have been hard to achieve the same creepy feel. The action felt needed. Game play is great all around. Some cool space missions add a fun twist on the solid gunplay. The graphics were pretty good. At some points it looked great, otherHave played through this game twice now, I have some thoughts. The new emphasize on action is a good thing. I do miss the scares, but after 3 games, it would have been hard to achieve the same creepy feel. The action felt needed. Game play is great all around. Some cool space missions add a fun twist on the solid gunplay. The graphics were pretty good. At some points it looked great, other times it would look just good. A step up from DS2 graphically. Its story was not very good however. It wasn't bad, but it could have been much better, especially since this was the last in the trilogy. Has tons of replay value, so if you are worried about bang for your buck look no further. As far as micro-transactions go, they didn't effect me, positively or negatively. Hardly even noticed they were there. Overall, if you are a 3rd person shooter fan, this is a must buy. Just don't expect a ton of scares, but again, this is a good thing. Expand
  5. Mar 21, 2013
    8
    After 3 games the chills of not knowing what was coming for you around the next corridor no longer hold the same scares, but the great atmosphere and gameplay allow this one to hold its own with the last two. The gun crafting is interesting and the game does a good job of mixing some old school Dead Space (especially the first few hours before planet fall) with some nice setpiece moments.After 3 games the chills of not knowing what was coming for you around the next corridor no longer hold the same scares, but the great atmosphere and gameplay allow this one to hold its own with the last two. The gun crafting is interesting and the game does a good job of mixing some old school Dead Space (especially the first few hours before planet fall) with some nice setpiece moments. A solid 8.5 for me. Expand
  6. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Per other users' feedbacks, I had the impression the whole micro-transactions thing was more abusive and annoying. It's not. I mean, it's there, of course, and if you have the cash you can save the trouble of farming for resources. But it's a very discrete thing, meaning the core mechanics are not disrupted by this at all. Now, about the game itself. I don't think it deviates from itsPer other users' feedbacks, I had the impression the whole micro-transactions thing was more abusive and annoying. It's not. I mean, it's there, of course, and if you have the cash you can save the trouble of farming for resources. But it's a very discrete thing, meaning the core mechanics are not disrupted by this at all. Now, about the game itself. I don't think it deviates from its origins, by all means. The first acts, as a matter of fact, did remind me of the first entry and, as I traversed the narrow, dark corridors of the spaceship I got a (delicious) déjà vu. I do agree they added more action to this game which, unfortunately, cuts a bit of the thrills and scares (but it doesn't cripple the game pun not intended). Dead Space 3 is still a very compelling, scary game with a haunting atmosphere and a main character we learned to love through the course of the years. It suffers from the occasional... Uncharted-Lost Planet complex? Yes, it does. But after you get used to it, you realize the Necromorphs are there, they are thirsty, hungry, angry and scary as ever. So, by the end of the day, this is still a fantastic Dead Space game we are playing. Period. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2013
    8
    Quite simply stunning game.....
    I adore the franchise and this has everything from a great single player to amazing co op play with stunning sound and graphics... Great stuff and hugely recommended ....
    Perhaps EA should offer VIsceral Games a chance to create a ALIENS game to show how to make a superb atmospheric horror space video game.... If you only buy one game this year get this
    Quite simply stunning game.....
    I adore the franchise and this has everything from a great single player to amazing co op play with stunning sound and graphics... Great stuff and hugely recommended ....
    Perhaps EA should offer VIsceral Games a chance to create a ALIENS game to show how to make a superb atmospheric horror space video game....
    If you only buy one game this year get this over colonial marines everyday....
    GENIUS...
    Expand
  8. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    One major positive aspect is the ability to disassemble and re-use weapon parts, meaning you never have to worry about consuming items in the crafting of a gun. It would have been easy for Visceral to inflict a penalty on players every time they built something, but instead you'll only lose resources by making objects from scratch, not from building guns out of components you already own.
  9. Feb 5, 2013
    8
    At first I didn't understand why this game got such a low score with fans, but now It's clear to me why this is probably the worst dead space game. They dropped one of my favorite modes in dead space 2 (multi-player) and replaced it with co-op instead of just doing both. It felt really slacked for me. 8/10
  10. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Great game. loooooooooooooooooooong game play. Big improvement over Dead Space 2. I still think original Dead Space is the best but DS3 is awesome nontheless. CO-Op is awesome as well. Overall money well spent. love this game.
  11. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Horrible reviews, the game is long, fun, interesting, and really keeps you in it until the end, yeah the fight's with unitologist feel stupid but they are short and not too many of them. And the crafting is extremely fun when you are in tau volantis because except of being obligated to have 4 weapons here i can have 2 weapons with 2 different ways of fire with an add on and make them wayHorrible reviews, the game is long, fun, interesting, and really keeps you in it until the end, yeah the fight's with unitologist feel stupid but they are short and not too many of them. And the crafting is extremely fun when you are in tau volantis because except of being obligated to have 4 weapons here i can have 2 weapons with 2 different ways of fire with an add on and make them way better. I started in hard from the beginning but also the game is hard and you will start to run out of stuff in the middle of the game forward because the qauntity of enemies increases incredibly. The game for me is a 9/10 or maybe even 9.5/10 contestant to game of the year. Expand
  12. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Dead Space 3 is a wonderful game and this is my favorite series. Even though I feel that Dead Space 2 is my personal favorite, this one is still amazing has has one of the deepest and most addicting weapon crafting systems I've ever experienced. The game itself is amazing and brilliantly polished. The gameplay is superb and the controls are perfect. The visuals are pretty and the story isDead Space 3 is a wonderful game and this is my favorite series. Even though I feel that Dead Space 2 is my personal favorite, this one is still amazing has has one of the deepest and most addicting weapon crafting systems I've ever experienced. The game itself is amazing and brilliantly polished. The gameplay is superb and the controls are perfect. The visuals are pretty and the story is amazing. The introduction of co op worried me but Visceral pulled it off. The one thing that held this game back, was its lack of scares. I still absolutely loved the game but the scares need to make a come back. The Awakened DLC was a nice addition wi the horror elements but that only lasts about an hour or two and its not included in the main game. Dead Space 3 is amazing and any true Dead Space fan will love it! Expand
  13. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Just beat the game tonight! And I have beaten part 1 and 2 as well! Honestly, if you enjoyed DS1 DS2, you should really, really enjoy part 3. Yes, the opening has action but after the very beginning you fall right back into how DS1 2 were. The entire game had me staring down openings where the aliens could enter in! The weapon crafting is wonderful, I loved the node system and was scaredJust beat the game tonight! And I have beaten part 1 and 2 as well! Honestly, if you enjoyed DS1 DS2, you should really, really enjoy part 3. Yes, the opening has action but after the very beginning you fall right back into how DS1 2 were. The entire game had me staring down openings where the aliens could enter in! The weapon crafting is wonderful, I loved the node system and was scared when I heard they changed it but after using it I'm so happy they mixed it up! Definitely a very, very great game! Expand
  14. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorphI loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorph outbreaks I naturally felt like a badass come Dead Space 3. More of an action game, I felt that it was a natural progression for the series. I like the customization this time around. I like the new suits, even though they literally are only aesthetics this time around. I have very little to complain about, aside from the plot which felt a little weak, and had some minor plot-holes. Expand
  15. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved Dead Space 1 and 2, but I never did manage to get my game buddy to try either of them out. I even bought it a copy of both and put them into his collection of games. He never did 'get around to them'.

    However, Dead Space 3 comes out and now we're playing together, on day-one release day. It's a miracle. It's got to be the biggest Co-Op game to date... I would have
    I absolutely loved Dead Space 1 and 2, but I never did manage to get my game buddy to try either of them out. I even bought it a copy of both and put them into his collection of games. He never did 'get around to them'.

    However, Dead Space 3 comes out and now we're playing together, on day-one release day. It's a miracle. It's got to be the biggest Co-Op game to date... I would have guessed Resident Evil 5 before this. And that game was all-in-all very weak. Most Co-Op games have big gaps in the story telling in places where there just aren't 2 players in the storyline. Dead Space 3 does a damn good job of making both players and the cutscenes intertwined. I was impressed how it just wan't "Hero in green pants" and "Hero in red pants". Both characters have a backstory and are actively engaging the plot of the story. It's a well-done touch. Lastly, Dead Space 3 is not the same exact terrifying romp the other two games were. But as an action adventure title it's still as good as or in most cases far better than anything else you'll play this year. The weapons are awesome and the big action scenes are Epic !!!

    I whole-heartedly RECOMMEND this game... it's light on the terror but heavy on the FUN. So what you gonna do... play a great game in the Dead Space universe. And dream about what all will be possible in Dead Space 4 now that the game is finally going to earn the sales it's always deserved !!!
    It's a stepping stone, and a lot of fun along the way. It rests on the heels of the absolutely amazing Dead Space 2, except now you can CO-Op with your friends. A new story, few new monsters, a new planet, Isaac, Elle, the plama cutter gun, and a very tight Co-Op experience.
    Expand
  16. Mar 19, 2013
    8
    Dead space 3......i honestly dont know what to say. what was once a survival horror game is now another shooter.....dont get me wrong, the game has moments of horror but overall its an action shooter sprink(lightly) with horror elements so as usual I'll start with the good:its starts off 200 years in the past with some soldier(i forget his name) who gets one hell of an intro(running from aDead space 3......i honestly dont know what to say. what was once a survival horror game is now another shooter.....dont get me wrong, the game has moments of horror but overall its an action shooter sprink(lightly) with horror elements so as usual I'll start with the good:its starts off 200 years in the past with some soldier(i forget his name) who gets one hell of an intro(running from a burning space ship but is killed by his superior officer. 200 Years later we find clarke who's being told(via phone) his relationship with ella is over. after two guys bust in and force clarke to join them the game begins and for the most part its awesome. I also like the street area's and the graphics are some of the best this generation has to offer! But what i really love about dead space 3 is the crafting system. This is by far the best weapon customising system i have ever played as issac creates all his weapons whether its a plasma gun,a revolver, to heavy weapons with a secondary weapon!! If you want a shotgun with a rocket launcher go head....if you want a flamethrower with an electrified saw that also has acid to compensate the flame damage,you got it!! The sky's the limit here and i have about 10 different weapon combinations so far to decimate the necromorph threat. there's a love triangle in dead space 3 that wasnt bad but it kinda made a lot of parts extremely predictable like the eventual betrayal that happens but its cool.....he got what he deserved. The necromorph and origin of the makers are finally revealed which i thought made sense(this is a sci-fi story after all) but some people didnt like it but its fine....especially when you literally fights the end boss posing as a moon! this game is also long which i thoroughly enjoyed since games nowadays end in about 4-7 hours. Now the bad: lets get this out the way.....this game is too easy. While i want to say:why is this game easy..but i already know the answer!? The weapons you create are OP...PERIOD! This makes it too easy. i started the game on hard difficulty as i do all games and i say this in all honesty....I DIDNT DIE ONCE UNTIL I REACHED CHAPTER 10!! my machine gun/shotgun combo fully upgraded with acid combo along with my flamethrower/grenade launcher with full damage/reload/clip also with acid damage/stasis covered ammo made me an unstoppable killing mahine! Even on hard or impossible,the enemies are nothing but fodder at your feet. i have yet to play survival,classic,retro or hardcore mode but if hard and impossible are easy then you can beat normal r casual with your eyes closed which makes it sad because dead space 1 & 2 were hard on normal and a pain on higher difficulties! Also & probably the worst aspect of dead space 3 is the fact that the horror is ALL BUT GONE!! the creator of the series said that the horror element of dead space 3 is subjective to the player but i disagree, even if i never played dead space 1 or 2 i still would say this is an action thriller instead of a survival horror game! Gone are the constant voices you here when you walk down hallways!! The terror of running out of ammo or health packs have been removed because you can make both said items at the work bench!! there's no need to worry about upgrading your air because you wont be attacked long enough to suffocate in the vaccum of space! Gone are all the enemies fatalities i mean why was that removed? in dead space 1 & 2 issac was tone to shreds in a speical way by different enemies but not here!? He just falls on his back....smh. Isaac's dementia is gone because he recoverd from the hallucinating but since he no longer suffers from the marker's dementia dead space 3 loses its most compelling aspect:the horror....so naturally the horrors gone but it has a few scares but not nearly enough scares compared to dead space 1 & 2! The micro-transactions are not bad because it dosent effect gameplay so you are not forced to buy it! All in all i would give dead space 3 a 6 or 7/10 but the crafting system is amazing so i give it an 8/10 its a good solid action thriller but if you want a survival horror game that offers a challenge without unlocking the harder difficulty by beating it at least once....you might be disappointed!!! Expand
  17. May 26, 2013
    8
    Dead space 3 was a big jump for the series i had low expectations at first thinking it could have been ruined by adding re designing it into a co op game. While i have to say i still prefer a solo story campaign and a totally separate multiplayer that i loved playing in dead space 2. DS3 co op actually plays great the game is good with benchmark graphics and sound work while co op hasDead space 3 was a big jump for the series i had low expectations at first thinking it could have been ruined by adding re designing it into a co op game. While i have to say i still prefer a solo story campaign and a totally separate multiplayer that i loved playing in dead space 2. DS3 co op actually plays great the game is good with benchmark graphics and sound work while co op has removed the scare factor the game i still challenging which is good. Enemies no longer respawn in areas you have visited which is why there are no more random scares. the main scenes are now more strictly scripted do to the constraints of co op but over-all i loved the 20 hours plus i put into my first play- thru wether i was sending the new resource bots on a seek and find mission or the hours spent at the workbench creating different weapons from blueprints or original ones there is always plenty too do. And while not a survival horror outing for dead space this time i still enjoyed the game greatly. the game deserves playing by anyone who loves a good action shooter with over the top action Expand
  18. May 27, 2015
    9
    Very good. I'm very late to play this series, but Dead Space 3 is a good follow on from Dead Space 1 and 2. The story is a logical progression, but personally I didn't like it quite as much as the previous games (especially the opening act). Graphics are again excellent, even by current standards, Controls are still logical and smooth - I can complete it on 'normal' difficulty and I'm noVery good. I'm very late to play this series, but Dead Space 3 is a good follow on from Dead Space 1 and 2. The story is a logical progression, but personally I didn't like it quite as much as the previous games (especially the opening act). Graphics are again excellent, even by current standards, Controls are still logical and smooth - I can complete it on 'normal' difficulty and I'm no shooter expert., but I did find it a bit tougher than 1 and 2. I didn't like the equipment upgrade mechanism as much as the one in the previous games, but that just personal preference. Gameplay is again well balanced from start to finish even though the monsters feel a bit faster and smarter than previous games. Expand
  19. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Wow... that is all that needs to be said. This game blows the previous two Dead Space titles out of the water. The bar has been raised to the ultimate. The additions of weapon editing, co-op, optional missions, and improved gameplay is a VERY welcomed addition. The soundtrack and story for the most part is excellent. The atmosphere and look of the world is amazing. There are so many bigWow... that is all that needs to be said. This game blows the previous two Dead Space titles out of the water. The bar has been raised to the ultimate. The additions of weapon editing, co-op, optional missions, and improved gameplay is a VERY welcomed addition. The soundtrack and story for the most part is excellent. The atmosphere and look of the world is amazing. There are so many big moments and set pieces that I had to go back just to play it again. It's a shame too, because the demo left a bad taste in my mouth, but after picking up the full game my mind was blown. This is one of the best games I've played in a long time and it's such a shame that it's sitting at a 78 metacritic rating, because it deserves a MUCH higher score. Thank you Visceral Games. Expand
  20. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    EA following Capcom's steps, (Resident Evil), The terror has gone with planet's temperature, EA brings a solid Action Game, this is no more Survival Horror, if you want a great action game this is for you, if you want a Survival Horror better look in another place. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you will be a little disappointed, but is still great the Game. Hope they make a REALEA following Capcom's steps, (Resident Evil), The terror has gone with planet's temperature, EA brings a solid Action Game, this is no more Survival Horror, if you want a great action game this is for you, if you want a Survival Horror better look in another place. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you will be a little disappointed, but is still great the Game. Hope they make a REAL survival horror Dead Space Soon Expand
  21. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    I'm positive the bad reviews for this game is overflow from ME3 and microtransactions from EA. It's sad that people who haven't played the game are allowed to spam the user score with 0's. Anyway, don't listen to them! I was afraid that my favorite series was ruined and my expectations were not high...but this is classic Dead Space! The single player experience is still scaryI'm positive the bad reviews for this game is overflow from ME3 and microtransactions from EA. It's sad that people who haven't played the game are allowed to spam the user score with 0's. Anyway, don't listen to them! I was afraid that my favorite series was ruined and my expectations were not high...but this is classic Dead Space! The single player experience is still scary (especially on "Impossible")...and the co-op is just action icing on the cake. I just wish everyone wasn't so butt hurt over the micro's...you don't have to buy them. Expand
  22. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Not really sure where all the negativity being leveled towards this game is coming from. Many fans and critics seem to be complaining about a straying from the roots of the series, what makes dead space a unique, original, series. After playing DS3 I can say that the new direction of the developers towards a more action oriented game was well thought out. DS1 was all about the unknown andNot really sure where all the negativity being leveled towards this game is coming from. Many fans and critics seem to be complaining about a straying from the roots of the series, what makes dead space a unique, original, series. After playing DS3 I can say that the new direction of the developers towards a more action oriented game was well thought out. DS1 was all about the unknown and survival, DS2 strayed from this but still kept the feeling of creepy horror while combining it with heavier action elements. At this point, there was only one logical way to go with the series. The horror and survival aspects had been thoroughly explored, now it was time to see what Isaac could really do when faced with intense combat situations. I have to say, I found this to be the most difficult of the three games. When swarms of semi-humanoid necromorphs come screeching after you and surrounding you, it because very difficult to survive. The addition of customized weapons was great, as well as user-made blueprints. The story was well-paced and the layout of the game superb. The amount of content was large, the whole time I felt as though I was accomplishing much. The only gripe I have about this particular Dead Space was the lack of marker induced hallucinations. For me, those were the creepiest parts in the first and second game. Excluding that, remarkably well-done game, delivers well on the hype. Expand
  23. Feb 7, 2013
    8
    Sure, the game has some nasty optional microtransactions, and its a bit sad you cant choose classic, hardcore or pure survival from the get go (http://imgur.com/ZF5C7nz) but its still a dead space game. If youre a fan of both DS and DS2, this is a no brainer in my opinion! Only completed it alone so far btw.
  24. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    The Dead Space series has now shown that’s willing to do what ever it takes to survive, in today’s market. A series known for survival horror has now turned into an action, Co-Op experience. Despite this, Dead Space 3 still manages to be a good game. It stumbles at times, but it’s various triumphs out way it’s failures. Taking place 2 months after the events of the last two games, withThe Dead Space series has now shown that’s willing to do what ever it takes to survive, in today’s market. A series known for survival horror has now turned into an action, Co-Op experience. Despite this, Dead Space 3 still manages to be a good game. It stumbles at times, but it’s various triumphs out way it’s failures. Taking place 2 months after the events of the last two games, with engineer Isaac Clack is tasked to destroy the last marker that creates a virus that turns people into monsters known as Nechromorphs. Dead Space 3’s more action focus story is easily the games lowest point. It does do a good job connecting the worlds and locations you visit together, but convoluted as all hell, thanks to some force love triangles, bad dialog, cliché space army caricatures, and a cartoonishly evil villain. Combat revolves around killing enemies by dismembering their limbs to do most damage. Enemies will run at you at such a quick pace, that you’ll need to use some strategy in order to stop them. But, just because an enemy lost a leg doesn’t mean they won’t stop. Of course, you can also do this with a pal in co-op, which is fun. An interesting idea that’s been implemented is that the game’s story will alter depending on how you play the campaign. This alone is worth playing again, but there are some other incentives.

    The biggest new edition to comes in the workbench. You can collect resources and plans to either create new weapons or create your own. This a welcome change as you can now customize your weapons and you’ll need to think about how you create each one, since with so many enemies, leads to different ways to take them out. But, Perhaps the dumbest decision to this is that you can now use real money to buy resources to craft weapons. It’s optional, but it’s something that didn’t need to be in the game.

    Dead Space 3 isn’t prefect. Its story could use editing, it has some repetitive and frustrating task, but even so, it’s still a good game. It may not be scary, but it’s one hell of a ride.
    Expand
  25. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    How bad are the micro-transactions? They're totally inobtrusive, and purchaseable via an in-game currency (ration seals) that renders them pointless. It's there if you absolutely need better weapons right away, but the game is never so challenging that you're forced to buy anything out of desperation. Day-one DLC, bummer, right? All of the DLC available on day one is either superficial orHow bad are the micro-transactions? They're totally inobtrusive, and purchaseable via an in-game currency (ration seals) that renders them pointless. It's there if you absolutely need better weapons right away, but the game is never so challenging that you're forced to buy anything out of desperation. Day-one DLC, bummer, right? All of the DLC available on day one is either superficial or useless (all of the bot DLC is a complete waste). Again, completely avoidable, just an option. Co-op? It's not scary then? Visceral clearly crafted Dead Space 3 as a primarily single-player game; it's co-op option is just that, an option. It's a lot of fun taking on Necromorphs with a friend, but it does diminish the scare factor. However, the teamwork-based puzzles actually gain tension in cooperative play by requiring steel nerves under pressure. Single-player puzzles are dunce-cap worthy in comparison. Still, despite the lack of psychological terror as in previous entries, taking on a Necromorph onslaught alone is just as terrifying in DS3 as it was in DS1 and DS2. Human enemies? This is b*llsh*t!!! Calm down. Human enemies, a first for the franchise, are a necessary evil extending from the story. Without them, the Unitologist movement would have nary a presence in the game, which would have been crippling to the story. However, the AI is atrocious. Necromorphs are merciless and semi-intelligent. Unitologist soldiers are wandering body bags of brainless meat. It's still fun to sit back and watch a group of Necromorphs tear them apart. In the end, this entry has the same level of polish as previous entries, weapon crafting is intially clumsy and annoying but ultimately satisfying in its' depth, the story is better than DS1 but far less psychological and engaging than DS2; and, finally, all of the concerns of fans are understandable, but, thankfully, unfounded. Enjoy a great game, avoid the superfluous fodder of DLC. Expand
  26. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. If you like the previous dead space games you'll love this one. Its has everything that made the other two great plus more. Its action oriented but just as frightening as the others. Dont listen to the haters this game is bleepin awesome. You never know whats around the next corner. Not as claustrophobic as the other two but they pull it off beautifully. Stop readingThis game is amazing. If you like the previous dead space games you'll love this one. Its has everything that made the other two great plus more. Its action oriented but just as frightening as the others. Dont listen to the haters this game is bleepin awesome. You never know whats around the next corner. Not as claustrophobic as the other two but they pull it off beautifully. Stop reading the reviews and go buy this game. Now! Expand
  27. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Dead Space 1 but being very dissapointed by Dead Space 2 while also seeing the trailers of the third game seem to even stray more to an action oriented approach, I wasn't pumped for the franchise anymore. It seemed like the game was heading down the Resident Evil 6 path. i still had hope and really wanted it to blow me away like the original, but I had been badly burnedBeing a huge fan of Dead Space 1 but being very dissapointed by Dead Space 2 while also seeing the trailers of the third game seem to even stray more to an action oriented approach, I wasn't pumped for the franchise anymore. It seemed like the game was heading down the Resident Evil 6 path. i still had hope and really wanted it to blow me away like the original, but I had been badly burned before. Well I have good news. Really good news. REALLY REALLY good news. THE GAME IS AWESOME!!!!! I've been having a blast playing it so far. I have been playing it solo, and they have perfected the dead space formula. This is the best dead space yet. It combines the strengths of both the first and second games while adding fresh ideas, all of which are superbly executed. There are many awesome aspects of the game, but the one that stands out the most is the atmosphere of the game. From the very start of the game, Dead Space 3 engrosses you in its world, you feel like you are in this universe. The graphics have been improved, there's amazing lighting effects, amazing particle effects, enemies are more horrifying than ever before. Level Design is top notch, Sound Design is brilliant, Soundtrack is one of the best I've heard and fits the game like a glove, Narrative pushes the game forward more so than 1 and 2, amazing action set pieces all in real time, tight controls, the new weapon customization is awesome, the game brings back the mystery, uneasiness, horror, and scares of the first game but imo, even better this time. Everything about the game comes together so well, its just a blast to play this game. EA really nailed the Dead Space universe in this game. You get to see a bigger picture of the universe this time around. Also, the game has a very Blade Runner and Alien feel to it, so if you are fans of those movies, you should definitely pick this game up. I was a bit hesitant about picking this up reading the mixed reviews from critics and users on here, but the game does not disappoint. This game was made for the Dead Space fans out there. The way the game has masterfully intertwined survival horror, survival action, and narrative, I never want to go back to strictly survival horror again. The way they have implemented all of these aspects into the game have really helped the flow of the game. As much as I liked Dead Space 1, its overall structure became predictable and tedious. Dead Space 3 follows more of a narrative arc and the gameplay revolves around that narrative. It helps to keep gameplay fresh and unexpected. Bottom Line: This isn't simply one of the best Survival Horror games ever made, its one of the best sci fi games ever made. While DS1's main attraction was survival horror, DS2's main attraction being survival action, DS3's main attraction is its universe. So if you are a fan of Sci Fi or Horror or better yet Sci Fi/Horror, you'd be doing yourself a huge disservice passing this game up! Special Thanks to EA's Visceral Games for making one of the best games I've ever played and an amazing, 'visceral' experience :D Expand
  28. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    this is a great game, top notch graphics, improved gameplay, amazing game, better than most games released 4 sure, don't know why ppl don't like it, maybe cuz a lil more action but the game is really aaa title
  29. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    I am a serious dead space fan, having got the platinum trophy for the first two games, i would say that i have experienced everything dead space has to offer so far. After reading up on dead space 3, i got a bit twitchy with the addition of co op, the fact that there are now human enemies and that the demo seemed to portray that the game is based mostly outside, in wide open areas. HowI am a serious dead space fan, having got the platinum trophy for the first two games, i would say that i have experienced everything dead space has to offer so far. After reading up on dead space 3, i got a bit twitchy with the addition of co op, the fact that there are now human enemies and that the demo seemed to portray that the game is based mostly outside, in wide open areas. How wrong was i! i played the game on single player, and this is how you should play it as a dead space fan. You dont have a clunky AI partner tagging along, you have a classic dead space experience, which is just what i was looking for! the game resembles DS2 more than DS1, but all the classic elements are here, tight corridors, jumpy moments, and the feeling that a necro is about to jump out at you around every dark corner... THAT is what makes a DS game, and this is what the developers have accomplished. if you are a dead space fan, ignore the other comments on here and in reviews (which are wrong in some of their points) and buy it, you wont be disappointed! Expand
  30. Feb 20, 2013
    8
    Dead Space 3 has abandoned the concept of fear and survival and has turned into a fast paced action game. The game itself, however, is still brilliant, with enjoyable boss battles and an awesome crafting system. However, this is also what lets it down: at around halfway in the game, you will have weapons powerful enough to blow holes through a planet, and enough med-kits to open up aDead Space 3 has abandoned the concept of fear and survival and has turned into a fast paced action game. The game itself, however, is still brilliant, with enjoyable boss battles and an awesome crafting system. However, this is also what lets it down: at around halfway in the game, you will have weapons powerful enough to blow holes through a planet, and enough med-kits to open up a hospital. Because of this, the game feels very easy unless put on Impossible difficulty, which is definitely possible, as you are still showered in med-kits, ammo and resources, but are much easier to be defeated despite this. Another negative is the addition of micro transactions. Whilst this usually wouldn't bother me, I can only see it as a way for people to buy their way to victory, which is ironic for a game that is built upon scavenging for resources and surviving on what you find, rather than buying piles of resources using real money. Overall, still a very enjoyable game, with co-op providing extra hours of entertainment, just don't expect a masterpiece, and try your best to ignore EA's attempts at emptying your wallet. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Taken as a whole, Dead Space 3 is far more infuriating than it is bad.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 4, 2013
    80
    Do yourself a favour and play DS3 like a raving masochist, straight off the bat. It’s a slick, AAA sequel that’s worthy of its place in the franchise. but only if you take the initiative and crank the difficulty. We didn’t think it possible, but Visceral has engineered a sequel that will appease old fans and entice new ones, too. [March 2013, p72]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Misfires and all, it’s at least commendable that Dead Space 3 makes an effort to exhibit some fresh experimentation into what has become a truly bloated media franchise; plus the combat still shines for the most part. Sadly though, better elements like the crafting system are lamentably set against a mundane and lifeless backdrop that rarely excites, let alone spooks, on the grand level of previous games in the series.