User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 482 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    5
    Not one to simply ignore the conclusion to a series I enjoy, I sat down with low expectations for Dead Space 3. I saw the trailers, played the demo, and all I saw was an action game. I wasn't far off. DS3 in single player retains only the barest of horror elements from the first game. In there place is action sequences straight out of Gears of War. Gone are the days of paranoia and supplyNot one to simply ignore the conclusion to a series I enjoy, I sat down with low expectations for Dead Space 3. I saw the trailers, played the demo, and all I saw was an action game. I wasn't far off. DS3 in single player retains only the barest of horror elements from the first game. In there place is action sequences straight out of Gears of War. Gone are the days of paranoia and supply famine as the game literally throws ammo, now a single type used by all guns, and enemies die so easily to automatic fire that there is little to no chance of death. The most I saw my heath go down was during pre-programed sections. Co-Op brings in the worst of this as enemies simply can;t keep up with you and your partner and make you feel untouchable. All in all, I can;t say the game is a failure. Action fans will find a good fill of gore and excitment as Isaac, once scared engineer has become a one-liner spitting badass in Furcoat lined Space Armor. With zombies, human cultists, giant montrosities and chest high walls aplenty make Co-Op fun and rewarding for a sit down with buddies, offering plenty of oportunities to bro it up, but there in lies the problem. The whole game, from the guns to the atmosphere is not Dead Space. There's no horror, there's no fear, there's no soul of the once vibrant survival game. The world sorely need another space marine shooter yet an up and coming horror game was sacrificed for just that. To put it shortly: Dead Space=Alien, where you are alone, weak and a hair's width from death with every corner turned. Dead Space 2=Aliens, where you're armed, you're knowledgable about the threat, you have the can do spirit, and it's all meaningless as you look death in the face. Dead Space 3=Alien3, where every element that made the last two unique has been traded off in an attempt to out do them with a different audience. Time to let Isaac fall into the molten iron and lay it to rest. God help us if they make Dead Space: Resurrection. Expand
  2. Aug 23, 2013
    7
    This is where the Dead Space franchise begins it's descent into the action genre.
    This game can still be scary, but the stronger weapons, faster controls and co-op support take most of it away. The game's story is again great, better than the other two main games even, and there are more characters this time, though their backstories are limited. (Though some comics and books have been
    This is where the Dead Space franchise begins it's descent into the action genre.
    This game can still be scary, but the stronger weapons, faster controls and co-op support take most of it away. The game's story is again great, better than the other two main games even, and there are more characters this time, though their backstories are limited. (Though some comics and books have been made detailing some characters, including Carver) The major point that shows the action this has turned into is the inclusion of human enemies. Luckily, these fights don't happen too often.
    I think this is a great game, if you're a fan of Dead Space, get it, but it has ruined my hopes for Dead Space 4 to be fantastic.
    Expand
  3. Jul 20, 2014
    7
    Dead space 3 was an alright game, but it's definately better than what people rate it on metacritic. This being my first dead space game, I went in with an open mind wheras people seemed to complained mostly about the lack of horror element in this game, which I agree didn't really exist. The positives of this game was definately the crafting system, very fun and unique to test outDead space 3 was an alright game, but it's definately better than what people rate it on metacritic. This being my first dead space game, I went in with an open mind wheras people seemed to complained mostly about the lack of horror element in this game, which I agree didn't really exist. The positives of this game was definately the crafting system, very fun and unique to test out different weapon combo's, (although it is limited, so don't expect weapons like dead rising's crafting system). The gameplay itself is a third person shooter game with decent mechanics, there were some exciting moment's but also some boring moment's throughout the game. Now the story wasn't really that bad, but it also didn't suck me in, so there's that. Overall it's an borderline ok-good game, but I realized that this game doesn't really do anything extraordinary, they do some things ok-good but that's it, it never pushes the game to great heights. Expand
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    9
    I loved Dead Space 3 and still playing it, I thought it was a bit easy at first with the first 4 chapters done in like minutes, then came a lot of enemies in their hordes, got are they a pain, haha, but fun anyway I think a lot of these negative results are players being a bit too picky, I love the idea of climbing mountains as well. I think just cause it has altered slightly horror toI loved Dead Space 3 and still playing it, I thought it was a bit easy at first with the first 4 chapters done in like minutes, then came a lot of enemies in their hordes, got are they a pain, haha, but fun anyway I think a lot of these negative results are players being a bit too picky, I love the idea of climbing mountains as well. I think just cause it has altered slightly horror to more action, that some players feel that is wasn't up to scratch, but, I think it is a good game overall. Expand
  5. Jul 7, 2014
    7
    Dead Space 3, well, is a good enough game, although not as good as Dead Space 1&2. Due to the greedy EA's policy, the game has been split up on several DLCs. While many of those DLCs have just minor effect on the game play, the biggest one, the "Awakening", is a *direct sequel* to the main plot of the game. Got it? EA is trying to sell the part of the game that should have been included inDead Space 3, well, is a good enough game, although not as good as Dead Space 1&2. Due to the greedy EA's policy, the game has been split up on several DLCs. While many of those DLCs have just minor effect on the game play, the biggest one, the "Awakening", is a *direct sequel* to the main plot of the game. Got it? EA is trying to sell the part of the game that should have been included in the minimum package! Disgusting!
    Also, so named additional missions are almost identical from geometrical point of view. I mean, they are very, very similar to each one; the only difference is just enemies and loot. Meh.
    The giant spider boss is too enduring, and he is almost the only one boss in the game! Meh, once again.
    Bottom line: buy the game at your own risk. I'd recommend to buy a GOTY/DC/Gold/Platinum version (if they will ever appear) of the game, including at least the "Awakening" DLC. Otherwise, you'll just miss the final part of the game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2014
    7
    When compared to previous games, this experience may not be as satisfying, since missing horror elements, but it packs some intense action!

    New features are weapon crafting, and co-op. Crafting weapons is fun, because the number of options you have, when building your own weapons. Only downside with this is that you're able to create powerful guns, that eliminate the need of limb
    When compared to previous games, this experience may not be as satisfying, since missing horror elements, but it packs some intense action!

    New features are weapon crafting, and co-op.
    Crafting weapons is fun, because the number of options you have, when building your own weapons. Only downside with this is that you're able to create powerful guns, that eliminate the need of limb chopping, which was very important aspect for surviving in previous titles.
    Co-op is optional, and you can still play the game alone, wihtout AI-partner. Nice addtition would've been split-screen co-op for local multiplayer,just like in Resident evil 5 & 6.

    Biggest problem with this game is the increased action, and decreased horror. First half of the game is played at abandoned space station, and you feel isolated just like in Dead Space 1. But this changes when you start exploring frozen planet, and start encountering fights with soldiers etc. Third Dead Space tries to focus more on the story and the origin of your enemies, but I didn't experience the story that interesting, but more cliche-like, with the goal to save world etc.

    With less action, more horror and atmosphere, this game would've received a better welcome from the fans of Dead Space 1 & 2.

    If you're new with Dead Space, and like action, then this is a great game for you to play! If you're looking for horror games, you should play the previous titles.
    Expand
  7. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Have played through this game twice now, I have some thoughts. The new emphasize on action is a good thing. I do miss the scares, but after 3 games, it would have been hard to achieve the same creepy feel. The action felt needed. Game play is great all around. Some cool space missions add a fun twist on the solid gunplay. The graphics were pretty good. At some points it looked great, otherHave played through this game twice now, I have some thoughts. The new emphasize on action is a good thing. I do miss the scares, but after 3 games, it would have been hard to achieve the same creepy feel. The action felt needed. Game play is great all around. Some cool space missions add a fun twist on the solid gunplay. The graphics were pretty good. At some points it looked great, other times it would look just good. A step up from DS2 graphically. Its story was not very good however. It wasn't bad, but it could have been much better, especially since this was the last in the trilogy. Has tons of replay value, so if you are worried about bang for your buck look no further. As far as micro-transactions go, they didn't effect me, positively or negatively. Hardly even noticed they were there. Overall, if you are a 3rd person shooter fan, this is a must buy. Just don't expect a ton of scares, but again, this is a good thing. Expand
  8. Mar 18, 2013
    8
    EA following Capcom's steps, (Resident Evil), The terror has gone with planet's temperature, EA brings a solid Action Game, this is no more Survival Horror, if you want a great action game this is for you, if you want a Survival Horror better look in another place. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you will be a little disappointed, but is still great the Game. Hope they make a REALEA following Capcom's steps, (Resident Evil), The terror has gone with planet's temperature, EA brings a solid Action Game, this is no more Survival Horror, if you want a great action game this is for you, if you want a Survival Horror better look in another place. If you are a Dead Space fan like me, you will be a little disappointed, but is still great the Game. Hope they make a REAL survival horror Dead Space Soon Expand
  9. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Not really sure where all the negativity being leveled towards this game is coming from. Many fans and critics seem to be complaining about a straying from the roots of the series, what makes dead space a unique, original, series. After playing DS3 I can say that the new direction of the developers towards a more action oriented game was well thought out. DS1 was all about the unknown andNot really sure where all the negativity being leveled towards this game is coming from. Many fans and critics seem to be complaining about a straying from the roots of the series, what makes dead space a unique, original, series. After playing DS3 I can say that the new direction of the developers towards a more action oriented game was well thought out. DS1 was all about the unknown and survival, DS2 strayed from this but still kept the feeling of creepy horror while combining it with heavier action elements. At this point, there was only one logical way to go with the series. The horror and survival aspects had been thoroughly explored, now it was time to see what Isaac could really do when faced with intense combat situations. I have to say, I found this to be the most difficult of the three games. When swarms of semi-humanoid necromorphs come screeching after you and surrounding you, it because very difficult to survive. The addition of customized weapons was great, as well as user-made blueprints. The story was well-paced and the layout of the game superb. The amount of content was large, the whole time I felt as though I was accomplishing much. The only gripe I have about this particular Dead Space was the lack of marker induced hallucinations. For me, those were the creepiest parts in the first and second game. Excluding that, remarkably well-done game, delivers well on the hype. Expand
  10. Feb 13, 2013
    6
    Ds3 is just average. It dosent leave you with any impressions after you beat it. Just meh. Its not action heavy but its shooter heavy. Prepare to get barraged by the same necros over and over and over. There is hardly any enemy variety in the entire game. They also left out brutes,infectors and dividers. Classic necromorphs. There are just so many little things that take away from aDs3 is just average. It dosent leave you with any impressions after you beat it. Just meh. Its not action heavy but its shooter heavy. Prepare to get barraged by the same necros over and over and over. There is hardly any enemy variety in the entire game. They also left out brutes,infectors and dividers. Classic necromorphs. There are just so many little things that take away from a potiential great game. You will have more frustrations than fun. If you must play ds3, rent it. Frankly, its not worth your 60$. Expand
  11. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I am a big fan of the Dead Space series and I thought that this was going to be a real let down, my god I was wrong. Visually, game-play, story, sound, enjoyable everything you want from a game. It probably isn't as scary as the previous two but if you are new to this game then you will find it scary.
  12. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. If you like the previous dead space games you'll love this one. Its has everything that made the other two great plus more. Its action oriented but just as frightening as the others. Dont listen to the haters this game is bleepin awesome. You never know whats around the next corner. Not as claustrophobic as the other two but they pull it off beautifully. Stop readingThis game is amazing. If you like the previous dead space games you'll love this one. Its has everything that made the other two great plus more. Its action oriented but just as frightening as the others. Dont listen to the haters this game is bleepin awesome. You never know whats around the next corner. Not as claustrophobic as the other two but they pull it off beautifully. Stop reading the reviews and go buy this game. Now! Expand
  13. Aug 17, 2013
    7
    After playing through this game a 2nd time I really think it is a good game but doesn't hit the standard Dead Space 1 showed us. I feel that this game is really too cinematic and action packed. At times I really felt over powered and a bit frustrated considering the pace of the game but thats just how it played out. The story took an unusual turn but I wont spoil anything for anyoneAfter playing through this game a 2nd time I really think it is a good game but doesn't hit the standard Dead Space 1 showed us. I feel that this game is really too cinematic and action packed. At times I really felt over powered and a bit frustrated considering the pace of the game but thats just how it played out. The story took an unusual turn but I wont spoil anything for anyone that hasn't played it yet. This game was very cinematic in my opinion as I always felt in horror games "dead" silence in corridors was always more tense than an orchestra in the background. To finish up I think there was definitely alot of effort put into this game and it is still fun but sadly the horror aspect of it just isn't there. 7/10 Expand
  14. Feb 12, 2013
    8
    I'm dumbfounded by all the negative reviews of this game. I played this game for about 24 hours, taking my time through all the optional missions and I played on Hard, not the super hard with one death it's over... but the one below that.

    This being said, one guy complained he had 2000 ammo and blew through the game and it didn't make him conserve. Stop playing games on easy and then
    I'm dumbfounded by all the negative reviews of this game. I played this game for about 24 hours, taking my time through all the optional missions and I played on Hard, not the super hard with one death it's over... but the one below that.

    This being said, one guy complained he had 2000 ammo and blew through the game and it didn't make him conserve. Stop playing games on easy and then that it's easy. I played through and had just enough ammo, and towards the end I had to craft a little because the sheer number of mobs gets kinda ridiculous at some points.

    No the game wasn't perfect, but it was a solid game and quite enjoyable. The game wasn't boring by any means and if you look at the storylines for 1 and 2 there was virtually no story in deadspace 1. I mean seriously, they've reveled so much of the storyline in 3 that it's crazy. I was like what?! I didn't know that.

    Now for me beefs with the game.

    1) Kinesis is useless in DS3. I'm the others you could snap up a limb and blast and it was great fun. In this one the number of necromorphs coming at you is crazy and you never had time to pick up a limb and blast away with it to save ammo. 2) No suit buffs, seriously?! That was part of the fun of collecting them, not just because they look cool but you could get one that looked cool AND played towards your play style in game. Extra freeze duration, more damage etc. Give the suits their buffs back!

    3) Fire and Acid... ok completely useless IMHO. I saved up and built the cow whatever it was gun which was like a machine gun with acid. Yah I blew through ALL my ammo and I still didn't kill the necromorph attacking me. I thoroughly enjoyed the double bolas gun at the end of the game... that thing is awesome. I found a riffle with controlled bursts and a lower with a plasma burst to knock things back was perfect for the ENTIRE game. I just switched to bolas at the end because I had used the same gun the entire time and I crafted EVERY gun by the end of the game. I'd use a gun if I didn't like it I tore it down for parts and this drastically helps with making other guns. Don't save the guns if they suck.

    4) Some of the story line. So this takes place on a planet that we were at 200 years before and somehow ALL the still works and the fact it's covered in snow and ice and glaciers and it hasn't been destroyed by weather in 200 years?! I mean wow that's awesome.

    5) Not really scary, but definitely a 10 for anxiety. I mean seriously, does every single time I get 2 or 3 necros frontal onslaughting me... HAVE to 100% lead to the back assault at the same time every time? I mean it was like SHOOT SHOOT TURN SHOOT TURN SHOOT TURN! the entire time because it was literally like playing starcraft and the Zerg were swarming me.

    Complaints aside, I still enjoyed the game a lot. I remember finishing the first one and wondering more and more about WTF is really going on with the story and etc and begging for more info. They are definitely filling in some gaps.

    Now to beat it in Classic mode.
    Expand
  15. Feb 19, 2013
    8
    This is Dead Space. I loved the first, liked the second and really enjoyed the third. All the setting is somehow back to first chapter (space ships, small rooms etc. etc.), with more dark and claustrophobic areas and less "go stright ahead" action. What I liked most is the little (yes, it is little, but there is!) sense of freedom some chapters gives you. Go around, explore a bit, gatherThis is Dead Space. I loved the first, liked the second and really enjoyed the third. All the setting is somehow back to first chapter (space ships, small rooms etc. etc.), with more dark and claustrophobic areas and less "go stright ahead" action. What I liked most is the little (yes, it is little, but there is!) sense of freedom some chapters gives you. Go around, explore a bit, gather stuff etc. etc. The game is not that scary or incredibly surprising like Dead Space 1, but, when played at hard or impossible, like I did, the tension is constant and force you to pay incredible attention to the environment in order to identify enemies access points and how to tactically confront a room. The "fear", in dead space 3, is not given by theatrical scenes or scripted events: it derives from the constant necromorph threat (but I repeat: play it at hard or impossible, or the resources at your disposal will be too high, and you' ll loose the "resources management" aspect of the game). The AI is not that great, but hey, they' re freaking Necromorph, not Space Marines Death Squadrons, after all: slashing things that run to you trying to chop your body into pieces! The "hiding" Necromorph type still use great hide&seek tactic which can make them nasty. Pity is that the human enemies have so low AI. Weapon creation/customization is a great innovation. It is fun to try different combinations and gives you a strong feeling of personalization, allowing you to find the exact weapon you like most to fight with. The story is interesting, if you like Dead Space setting, and well cadenced, with a nice peek on main characters personalities. Perhaps the game is, overall, a bit too long. The co-op action is great, especially if you have a headset for communication. Expand
  16. May 19, 2013
    0
    The game was okay till chapter 5. but the game save problem is a impudence. it even does not save the game when the auto save message occur. so i lost the desire to complete the game. the internet is full of complainments about this problem, but ea seems not to care about this...
  17. Mar 7, 2013
    2
    The original Dead Space was one of the greatest horror game experience i have ever played. But with Dead Space 3 its a hole different story. The horror is gone, and instead EA have put a lot of action in it. It does not fit the dead space universe and therefore it is a mixed experience, that you quickly forget again. No more Dead Space EA
  18. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Great game. loooooooooooooooooooong game play. Big improvement over Dead Space 2. I still think original Dead Space is the best but DS3 is awesome nontheless. CO-Op is awesome as well. Overall money well spent. love this game.
  19. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorphI loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorph outbreaks I naturally felt like a badass come Dead Space 3. More of an action game, I felt that it was a natural progression for the series. I like the customization this time around. I like the new suits, even though they literally are only aesthetics this time around. I have very little to complain about, aside from the plot which felt a little weak, and had some minor plot-holes. Expand
  20. Mar 4, 2013
    3
    Lacks everything that made the first two games so entertaining. Monsters are not scary at all and encounters are totally predictable. Action is technically good but is missing the feeling.
  21. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Wow... that is all that needs to be said. This game blows the previous two Dead Space titles out of the water. The bar has been raised to the ultimate. The additions of weapon editing, co-op, optional missions, and improved gameplay is a VERY welcomed addition. The soundtrack and story for the most part is excellent. The atmosphere and look of the world is amazing. There are so many bigWow... that is all that needs to be said. This game blows the previous two Dead Space titles out of the water. The bar has been raised to the ultimate. The additions of weapon editing, co-op, optional missions, and improved gameplay is a VERY welcomed addition. The soundtrack and story for the most part is excellent. The atmosphere and look of the world is amazing. There are so many big moments and set pieces that I had to go back just to play it again. It's a shame too, because the demo left a bad taste in my mouth, but after picking up the full game my mind was blown. This is one of the best games I've played in a long time and it's such a shame that it's sitting at a 78 metacritic rating, because it deserves a MUCH higher score. Thank you Visceral Games. Expand
  22. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I'm a huge Dead Space fan, and when I finished this last game I felt a sense of accomplishment. Its not as scary as the first two entries in the series and a lot of fans will be extremely upset about that. But you play this one for the story because it is as unforgettable as ever. And the graphics are the series highpoint and anyone can appreciate that.
  23. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    First of all I must admit as a Dead Space game this isn't as good as Dead Space 2. In Dead Space 2 there are many times where the game will scare the crap out of you. I remember in one session I was re-investigating the hangar where the Ishimura is docked but there is no light on. I was so scared that I had to grab a light in the environment and move on with it. Not only are scary stuffFirst of all I must admit as a Dead Space game this isn't as good as Dead Space 2. In Dead Space 2 there are many times where the game will scare the crap out of you. I remember in one session I was re-investigating the hangar where the Ishimura is docked but there is no light on. I was so scared that I had to grab a light in the environment and move on with it. Not only are scary stuff all over the place the enemy AI was exceptional too.
    In dead space 3 however, the game is much less thrilling. I'm not saying its not scary at all, but far less so than its prequel. Enemy AI can be frustratingly bad at times: I have seen necromorphs running toward a wall while its already at it and ramming its head on the wall that it seems to think is me. But the game is fully functional most of the time; in my playthru the said experience only happened once.

    But let's look at the bright side: Dead Space 3 contains much more action elements than Dead Space 2 just like how they were improved in Mass Effect 3. Mini games are a welcome addition, but the biggest improvement in Dead Space 3 has to be the weapon crafting system. With two tools and accessories there are infinite possible combinations for ur weapon, the only thing u can rely on in this dark universe. From regular assault rifle to chain lightning generator that slows enemy on impact, there are so many guns for u to explore! I must be honest: I had more fun with the variety of guns in Dead Space 3 then I did in Borderlands 2, which I played 500+ hours on Steam.
    Dead Space 3 is a third person shooter instead of a survival horror game. Enemies spawn in much larger hordes, forcing u to build better weapons to deal with them. The Dead Space trademark dissembling system does exist, but dissembling becomes less effective since the enemy number has gone up exponentially and the weapons more powerful.
    U will be disappointed if u were looking for a horror game, but if ur an action fan, Dead Space 3 is definitely the game to go for with its immersive universe, badass arsenal and an interesting enough story.
    Expand
  24. Jun 26, 2013
    4
    This is a long departure from the original Dead Space. It is not a survival/horror type game. This is a third person shooter all the way. I played for an hour before I returned it to Gamefly. The characters are boring and the fighting is extremely clunky. The music of the game is dull and sound fx are nothing to remember. But I think I am jaded by the original game. A newer generationThis is a long departure from the original Dead Space. It is not a survival/horror type game. This is a third person shooter all the way. I played for an hour before I returned it to Gamefly. The characters are boring and the fighting is extremely clunky. The music of the game is dull and sound fx are nothing to remember. But I think I am jaded by the original game. A newer generation gamer who hasn't played the first one would like this game. Expand
  25. Mar 19, 2013
    9
    Dead Space 3 is a master of a game. Full of scares, action sequences and great visuals. As someone who has only glimpsed looks at Dead Space 1 2, I didn't know what to expect. But I was welcomed to an amazing experience. You play as Isaac Clarke, who has been the protagonist in every Dead Space I believe, and you get well acquainted to him and his back story. This is the most visuallyDead Space 3 is a master of a game. Full of scares, action sequences and great visuals. As someone who has only glimpsed looks at Dead Space 1 2, I didn't know what to expect. But I was welcomed to an amazing experience. You play as Isaac Clarke, who has been the protagonist in every Dead Space I believe, and you get well acquainted to him and his back story. This is the most visually stunning game I've played this year by far, and that's an understatement. The sound effects displayed throughout the game are nothing short of horrifying, this is the biggest seller in my point. The areas and enemies are all unique and take certain strategies to take them down, which ever way you choose, limb by limb. Small side quests have small stories and give a lot in terms of rewards. If you haven't picked this game up yet, I'd advise you at least try it, just to witness Visceral Game's masterpiece at work Expand
  26. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    This game is great. I know I'm gonna get lots of replay value out of this. I love the single campaign and I'm going to try the co op next. All the games are great but I do hope they have a better story line next time.
  27. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I've beaten all of the Dead Space games and have seen the anime. The big reason people are turned off by DS3 is because it's not DS1. I feel that adding more story and action to the Dead Space series was an inevitable evolution. Dead Space 1 just could not be recreated. When a player first plays DS1, everything is fresh and more terrifying. The story is a mystery, the enemies andI've beaten all of the Dead Space games and have seen the anime. The big reason people are turned off by DS3 is because it's not DS1. I feel that adding more story and action to the Dead Space series was an inevitable evolution. Dead Space 1 just could not be recreated. When a player first plays DS1, everything is fresh and more terrifying. The story is a mystery, the enemies and their behaviors are a mystery, the weapons are a mystery, and thus DS1 could get away with a slow-as-nails pace because the entire atmosphere was fresh and new. But that singular approach couldn't be taken with the second game, because the novelty of the necromorphs and the marker mystery had passed. So DS2 introduced more action and more story to keep things interesting. And now we get to DS3, and we are at a point where action and story have to be relied on even more, so we ended up with what seems more like a blockbuster action game than a survival horror. Some elements were indeed sacrificed in DS3, such as the need to conserve ammo and resources, but otherwise the gameplay of DS3 is more refined than the previous two games and is very similar to what was presented in Dead Space 2.

    In summary, it's not a big deviation from Dead Space 2, it's fun as hell to play, but the story could have been executed better. A good game that is haunted by it's predecessors.
    Expand
  28. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    I’ll be brief. EA made some big mistakes on how this game was marketed. What was shown so early at E3 and a demo that was an extremely bad representation of the actual game. I can honestly say that this game stands tall with the other Dead Space titles. It may indeed have a more Sci-Fi action feel but the mechanics that make it a Dead Space game are all there. Some people may want toI’ll be brief. EA made some big mistakes on how this game was marketed. What was shown so early at E3 and a demo that was an extremely bad representation of the actual game. I can honestly say that this game stands tall with the other Dead Space titles. It may indeed have a more Sci-Fi action feel but the mechanics that make it a Dead Space game are all there. Some people may want to dispute this but I felt that the environments in many parts of the game were that of the first game. I can’t remember many times in Dead Space 2 where a necromorph snuck up behind me. I was pleased to see that this new game had many of those moments. Game has high re-play value as there are 4-5 more difficulty levels to play once you beat the game for the first time that are very unique. If you’re on the fence about getting this game because of all the negative reviews and enjoyed the other games, all I can say is don’t listen an get it. Expand
  29. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    Dead Space 3 had everyone worried that it was going to be another Resident Evil game with gun fights and coop. While the story in Dead Space 3 is bad, the gameplay easily makes up for it. Its still has the creepy moments of the last games, the violence is satisfying and the gun battles, while pointless, are few and far between. And for those of you who are confused or unsure about coop,Dead Space 3 had everyone worried that it was going to be another Resident Evil game with gun fights and coop. While the story in Dead Space 3 is bad, the gameplay easily makes up for it. Its still has the creepy moments of the last games, the violence is satisfying and the gun battles, while pointless, are few and far between. And for those of you who are confused or unsure about coop, don't worry, the singleplayer is Isaac ONLY. John Carver isn't an AI that follows you around. Go out and buy it, its a good time. Expand
  30. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay so here's the thing: Dead Space 3 was sort of damned from the outset. If you look at the Dead Space series it follows the same pattern as the Alien films: the first is survival horror and acclaimed because of the sense of paranoia and claustrophobia it inspires. The monsters are hideous, the graphics are excellent and the blood and viscera are, well visceral. Dead Space 2 had to widen its scope since Dead Space took place almost entirely on the Ishimura, Dead Space 2 had to up the ante by demonstrating a necromorph outbreak within a human colony (notice the Aliens parallel?). I actually thought DS2 was every bit the equal of DS but it had a more actionized, epic feel. DS3 then HAD to find a new tack...and like Alien 3 it opted more for characterization over action or the type of horror of the original. Alien 3 is coincidently...the least liked chapter of the Alien series (and no, like most self respecting humans I do not include the films which followed) because it tried to have its cake and eat it too. But here again is the thing....I like Alien 3, a lot. I also like Dead Space 3 a lot. Dead Space 3 turned the near silent protagonist of DS and the damaged psyche edition of Isaac featured in DS 2 and gave him depth. Here we get to see Isaac handle the difficult seperation from Ellie while being forced to work with not just her but her jealous, jerk ass new man Norton. Not only is this drama present but oh yeah, Isaac is also the key to saving the entire living galaxy (potentially). Dead Space 3 also introduces a motley cast to aid Isaac and for the first time creates a human villain (a nasty one at that) who is utterly seduced by the markers. Dead Space 3 is also a good deal larger and at least for me, longer than the other 2 entries. I loved the weapon creation and customization engine and the adorable lil' scavenger bots which bravely navigated necromorph infested zones to bring in needed supplies. DS3 also for the first time lets Isaac be an engineer- his weapons are improvised and the creation system is indeed deep. A real bonus is that you have many blueprints available but you're also quite free to BYO. By the way my favorite weapon was one I designed: an acid infused, hard popping pulse rifle with a tremendously damaging rocket launcher (I do love the classics). I also created a scoped auto rifle which fired stasis infused needles and had a huge contact beam underneath to finish enemies with. I loved the side missions which added other tragic characters and fully fleshed out the chaos which occurred long before the events of DS. The graphics are gorgeous and the environs varied- yes the ships do reuse sections and are interchangeable but that's actually pretty realistic- there isn't a good deal of variance amongst ships of similar type and many of those are like the Nostromo in Alien- resource haulers. This being said, DS 3 has its share of flaws. The ice planet is large but also easy to get lost within and maybe its just me but I found navigation a lot more difficult in this game. The game is not for everyone (fans of DS in particular will likely hate it) but if you enjoy a game which offers a much more nuanced and fleshed out approach to its characters, big set pieces, large environments, a lot more bang for your buck storywise and with many sidequests, DS 3 is for you. I haven't written about co-op because I didn't play it (sadly DS 3 was part of my acquisition of the superior Bioshock Infinite) but I do plan on re-purchasing the game at some point to walk a mile in Carver's shoes. The final question therefore is, if Dead Space follows the Alien series on an abstract level (oh it does in many, many ways...which makes Aliens: Colonial Marines all the more disappointing) is it as flawed as the third entry? Happily it is not. If you're expecting DS or DS 2 replay those, but if you want to finally have a story with more of a human element (particularly between Isaac and Ellie) along with all the goodies......DS 3 is a worthy conclusion to an excellent series. Expand
  31. Feb 7, 2013
    0
    I'm positive the bad reviews for this game is overflow from ME3 and microtransactions from EA. It's sad that people who haven't played the game are allowed to spam the user score with 0's. Anyway, don't listen to them! I was afraid that my favorite series was ruined and my expectations were not high...but this is classic Dead Space! The single player experience is still scaryI'm positive the bad reviews for this game is overflow from ME3 and microtransactions from EA. It's sad that people who haven't played the game are allowed to spam the user score with 0's. Anyway, don't listen to them! I was afraid that my favorite series was ruined and my expectations were not high...but this is classic Dead Space! The single player experience is still scary (especially on "Impossible")...and the co-op is just action icing on the cake. I just wish everyone wasn't so butt hurt over the micro's...you don't have to buy them. Collapse
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Taken as a whole, Dead Space 3 is far more infuriating than it is bad.
  2. Do yourself a favour and play DS3 like a raving masochist, straight off the bat. It’s a slick, AAA sequel that’s worthy of its place in the franchise. but only if you take the initiative and crank the difficulty. We didn’t think it possible, but Visceral has engineered a sequel that will appease old fans and entice new ones, too. [March 2013, p72]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Misfires and all, it’s at least commendable that Dead Space 3 makes an effort to exhibit some fresh experimentation into what has become a truly bloated media franchise; plus the combat still shines for the most part. Sadly though, better elements like the crafting system are lamentably set against a mundane and lifeless backdrop that rarely excites, let alone spooks, on the grand level of previous games in the series.