User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 475 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    One major positive aspect is the ability to disassemble and re-use weapon parts, meaning you never have to worry about consuming items in the crafting of a gun. It would have been easy for Visceral to inflict a penalty on players every time they built something, but instead you'll only lose resources by making objects from scratch, not from building guns out of components you already own.
  2. Feb 2, 2014
    10
    Great game. loooooooooooooooooooong game play. Big improvement over Dead Space 2. I still think original Dead Space is the best but DS3 is awesome nontheless. CO-Op is awesome as well. Overall money well spent. love this game.
  3. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Horrible reviews, the game is long, fun, interesting, and really keeps you in it until the end, yeah the fight's with unitologist feel stupid but they are short and not too many of them. And the crafting is extremely fun when you are in tau volantis because except of being obligated to have 4 weapons here i can have 2 weapons with 2 different ways of fire with an add on and make them wayHorrible reviews, the game is long, fun, interesting, and really keeps you in it until the end, yeah the fight's with unitologist feel stupid but they are short and not too many of them. And the crafting is extremely fun when you are in tau volantis because except of being obligated to have 4 weapons here i can have 2 weapons with 2 different ways of fire with an add on and make them way better. I started in hard from the beginning but also the game is hard and you will start to run out of stuff in the middle of the game forward because the qauntity of enemies increases incredibly. The game for me is a 9/10 or maybe even 9.5/10 contestant to game of the year. Expand
  4. Mar 29, 2013
    10
    Dead Space 3 is a wonderful game and this is my favorite series. Even though I feel that Dead Space 2 is my personal favorite, this one is still amazing has has one of the deepest and most addicting weapon crafting systems I've ever experienced. The game itself is amazing and brilliantly polished. The gameplay is superb and the controls are perfect. The visuals are pretty and the story isDead Space 3 is a wonderful game and this is my favorite series. Even though I feel that Dead Space 2 is my personal favorite, this one is still amazing has has one of the deepest and most addicting weapon crafting systems I've ever experienced. The game itself is amazing and brilliantly polished. The gameplay is superb and the controls are perfect. The visuals are pretty and the story is amazing. The introduction of co op worried me but Visceral pulled it off. The one thing that held this game back, was its lack of scares. I still absolutely loved the game but the scares need to make a come back. The Awakened DLC was a nice addition wi the horror elements but that only lasts about an hour or two and its not included in the main game. Dead Space 3 is amazing and any true Dead Space fan will love it! Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    10
    Just beat the game tonight! And I have beaten part 1 and 2 as well! Honestly, if you enjoyed DS1 DS2, you should really, really enjoy part 3. Yes, the opening has action but after the very beginning you fall right back into how DS1 2 were. The entire game had me staring down openings where the aliens could enter in! The weapon crafting is wonderful, I loved the node system and was scaredJust beat the game tonight! And I have beaten part 1 and 2 as well! Honestly, if you enjoyed DS1 DS2, you should really, really enjoy part 3. Yes, the opening has action but after the very beginning you fall right back into how DS1 2 were. The entire game had me staring down openings where the aliens could enter in! The weapon crafting is wonderful, I loved the node system and was scared when I heard they changed it but after using it I'm so happy they mixed it up! Definitely a very, very great game! Expand
  6. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    I'm positive the bad reviews for this game is overflow from ME3 and microtransactions from EA. It's sad that people who haven't played the game are allowed to spam the user score with 0's. Anyway, don't listen to them! I was afraid that my favorite series was ruined and my expectations were not high...but this is classic Dead Space! The single player experience is still scaryI'm positive the bad reviews for this game is overflow from ME3 and microtransactions from EA. It's sad that people who haven't played the game are allowed to spam the user score with 0's. Anyway, don't listen to them! I was afraid that my favorite series was ruined and my expectations were not high...but this is classic Dead Space! The single player experience is still scary (especially on "Impossible")...and the co-op is just action icing on the cake. I just wish everyone wasn't so butt hurt over the micro's...you don't have to buy them. Expand
  7. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing. If you like the previous dead space games you'll love this one. Its has everything that made the other two great plus more. Its action oriented but just as frightening as the others. Dont listen to the haters this game is bleepin awesome. You never know whats around the next corner. Not as claustrophobic as the other two but they pull it off beautifully. Stop readingThis game is amazing. If you like the previous dead space games you'll love this one. Its has everything that made the other two great plus more. Its action oriented but just as frightening as the others. Dont listen to the haters this game is bleepin awesome. You never know whats around the next corner. Not as claustrophobic as the other two but they pull it off beautifully. Stop reading the reviews and go buy this game. Now! Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Being a huge fan of Dead Space 1 but being very dissapointed by Dead Space 2 while also seeing the trailers of the third game seem to even stray more to an action oriented approach, I wasn't pumped for the franchise anymore. It seemed like the game was heading down the Resident Evil 6 path. i still had hope and really wanted it to blow me away like the original, but I had been badly burnedBeing a huge fan of Dead Space 1 but being very dissapointed by Dead Space 2 while also seeing the trailers of the third game seem to even stray more to an action oriented approach, I wasn't pumped for the franchise anymore. It seemed like the game was heading down the Resident Evil 6 path. i still had hope and really wanted it to blow me away like the original, but I had been badly burned before. Well I have good news. Really good news. REALLY REALLY good news. THE GAME IS AWESOME!!!!! I've been having a blast playing it so far. I have been playing it solo, and they have perfected the dead space formula. This is the best dead space yet. It combines the strengths of both the first and second games while adding fresh ideas, all of which are superbly executed. There are many awesome aspects of the game, but the one that stands out the most is the atmosphere of the game. From the very start of the game, Dead Space 3 engrosses you in its world, you feel like you are in this universe. The graphics have been improved, there's amazing lighting effects, amazing particle effects, enemies are more horrifying than ever before. Level Design is top notch, Sound Design is brilliant, Soundtrack is one of the best I've heard and fits the game like a glove, Narrative pushes the game forward more so than 1 and 2, amazing action set pieces all in real time, tight controls, the new weapon customization is awesome, the game brings back the mystery, uneasiness, horror, and scares of the first game but imo, even better this time. Everything about the game comes together so well, its just a blast to play this game. EA really nailed the Dead Space universe in this game. You get to see a bigger picture of the universe this time around. Also, the game has a very Blade Runner and Alien feel to it, so if you are fans of those movies, you should definitely pick this game up. I was a bit hesitant about picking this up reading the mixed reviews from critics and users on here, but the game does not disappoint. This game was made for the Dead Space fans out there. The way the game has masterfully intertwined survival horror, survival action, and narrative, I never want to go back to strictly survival horror again. The way they have implemented all of these aspects into the game have really helped the flow of the game. As much as I liked Dead Space 1, its overall structure became predictable and tedious. Dead Space 3 follows more of a narrative arc and the gameplay revolves around that narrative. It helps to keep gameplay fresh and unexpected. Bottom Line: This isn't simply one of the best Survival Horror games ever made, its one of the best sci fi games ever made. While DS1's main attraction was survival horror, DS2's main attraction being survival action, DS3's main attraction is its universe. So if you are a fan of Sci Fi or Horror or better yet Sci Fi/Horror, you'd be doing yourself a huge disservice passing this game up! Special Thanks to EA's Visceral Games for making one of the best games I've ever played and an amazing, 'visceral' experience :D Expand
  9. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    this is a great game, top notch graphics, improved gameplay, amazing game, better than most games released 4 sure, don't know why ppl don't like it, maybe cuz a lil more action but the game is really aaa title
  10. Feb 8, 2013
    10
    I am a serious dead space fan, having got the platinum trophy for the first two games, i would say that i have experienced everything dead space has to offer so far. After reading up on dead space 3, i got a bit twitchy with the addition of co op, the fact that there are now human enemies and that the demo seemed to portray that the game is based mostly outside, in wide open areas. HowI am a serious dead space fan, having got the platinum trophy for the first two games, i would say that i have experienced everything dead space has to offer so far. After reading up on dead space 3, i got a bit twitchy with the addition of co op, the fact that there are now human enemies and that the demo seemed to portray that the game is based mostly outside, in wide open areas. How wrong was i! i played the game on single player, and this is how you should play it as a dead space fan. You dont have a clunky AI partner tagging along, you have a classic dead space experience, which is just what i was looking for! the game resembles DS2 more than DS1, but all the classic elements are here, tight corridors, jumpy moments, and the feeling that a necro is about to jump out at you around every dark corner... THAT is what makes a DS game, and this is what the developers have accomplished. if you are a dead space fan, ignore the other comments on here and in reviews (which are wrong in some of their points) and buy it, you wont be disappointed! Expand
  11. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I'm a huge Dead Space fan, and when I finished this last game I felt a sense of accomplishment. Its not as scary as the first two entries in the series and a lot of fans will be extremely upset about that. But you play this one for the story because it is as unforgettable as ever. And the graphics are the series highpoint and anyone can appreciate that.
  12. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    This game is great. I know I'm gonna get lots of replay value out of this. I love the single campaign and I'm going to try the co op next. All the games are great but I do hope they have a better story line next time.
  13. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    cry babys wont like this game gamers will bottom line some of the worst reviews ive ever seen go cry somwhere else im not even gunna review this game im so disgusted
  14. Feb 6, 2013
    10
    Just a word: amazing! Yeah, this is probably the right word to describe Dead Space 3, the third main entry in Dead Space franchise. i really can't understand why there some people that didn't like it cause i've been a fan since 2007 when the first article on Dead Space was writte, and saw trough the years how it developed and i'm really pleased with the job done in DS3!
    9/10
  15. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I am not sure if those that actually play/enjoy the Dead Space franchise are the ones leaving reviews. This game has not lost it's touch to the scares and frustrations that the necromorphs cause, and still finds a way to keep the story fresh. It is a double edged sword that Visceral had to deal with, if they change nothing then people complain about the lack of innovation.. they changeI am not sure if those that actually play/enjoy the Dead Space franchise are the ones leaving reviews. This game has not lost it's touch to the scares and frustrations that the necromorphs cause, and still finds a way to keep the story fresh. It is a double edged sword that Visceral had to deal with, if they change nothing then people complain about the lack of innovation.. they change something, people complain about fixing something that was not broken. The game is solid, keeps you on your toes, good replay value. This is $60 dollars well spent, and I hope people can look past some poor reviews. Expand
  16. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Don't listen to bad critics first of all!!
    Now about the game Dead Space 3 is even better than Dead Space 2 and DS1 for those dumb ignorant people that were saying the game has no more horror they're completely wrong the game is still horror only the intro of the game has action but has a reason for that The rest of the game is pure horror and has very tense moments just like the
    Don't listen to bad critics first of all!!
    Now about the game Dead Space 3 is even better than Dead Space 2 and DS1 for those dumb ignorant people that were saying the game has no more horror they're completely wrong the game is still horror only the intro of the game has action but has a reason for that The rest of the game is pure horror and has very tense moments just like the previous games. If you enjoyed Dead Space 1 and 2 you will sure enjoy Dead Space 3 its a true Masterpiece.
    Expand
  17. Feb 22, 2013
    10
    I am a big fan of the Dead Space series and I thought that this was going to be a real let down, my god I was wrong. Visually, game-play, story, sound, enjoyable everything you want from a game. It probably isn't as scary as the previous two but if you are new to this game then you will find it scary.
  18. Mar 24, 2013
    10
    Simply fantastic game. Truly Dead Space from end to end. I was worried seeing so many negative responses to the game from fans and reviewers and was afraid the co-op would really ruin the experience. But how relieved I was. The co-op is totally optional feeling like its a completely different game so the single player is untouched. The weapon crafting system is marvelous I spent so muchSimply fantastic game. Truly Dead Space from end to end. I was worried seeing so many negative responses to the game from fans and reviewers and was afraid the co-op would really ruin the experience. But how relieved I was. The co-op is totally optional feeling like its a completely different game so the single player is untouched. The weapon crafting system is marvelous I spent so much time on the bench cooking up weapons although that is where my only gripe with the game comes, that you can craft and will craft so many weapons but can only carry 2. If they made at least 3 It would have been better but it just a minor complain that does not detriment from the game in general. The story is amazing, i loved it definitely did not see the twist almost at the end. Finally something else I loved is the diversity in scenarios. While the first 2 games each were pretty much in one type of scenario (DS1 on the Ishimura and DS2 on the Sprawl), DS3 has you in at least 3 totally different scenarios that drastically change the pace of the game. In conclusion Im really happy with how the game turned out. I do feel it surpasses its predecessors, and the horror I felt was intact since although I pretty much knew what to expect from the necromorphs I was still at the edge of my seat waiting for them to pop out of shafts just like I was in the previous games. Expand
  19. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    I'm pretty disappointed by others reviews of this game. Dead space 3 is a great game and has endless reply-ability. If you're a fan of shooters...GOOD shooters then this is right up your alley. Weapons are fantastic andallow you to experiment with dozens of possibilties. The co-op works great and adds to the campain to make it uber-fun. It's scary like resident evil should be. Do notI'm pretty disappointed by others reviews of this game. Dead space 3 is a great game and has endless reply-ability. If you're a fan of shooters...GOOD shooters then this is right up your alley. Weapons are fantastic andallow you to experiment with dozens of possibilties. The co-op works great and adds to the campain to make it uber-fun. It's scary like resident evil should be. Do not listen to the haters. ..this game rocks! Expand
  20. May 5, 2013
    10
    Ok this has to stop. The rating is unbelievable. Angry fans giving a low score because there's co-op and human enemies. I'll admit I don't like the human enemies with guns but they did it for the story. You don't encounter that much. Through chapters 2-9 u don't encounter them. Even some others chapter you hardly encounter them. At least you know they didn't focus on the humans with gunsOk this has to stop. The rating is unbelievable. Angry fans giving a low score because there's co-op and human enemies. I'll admit I don't like the human enemies with guns but they did it for the story. You don't encounter that much. Through chapters 2-9 u don't encounter them. Even some others chapter you hardly encounter them. At least you know they didn't focus on the humans with guns to much like another game(Aliens colonial marines & resident evil 6). The Co-op is cool. It changes the events when you play co-op. if you play single player you don't get a CPU partner your by yourself. Caver is a like able character. He's suppose to be a jerk & yet a funny guy and which they nailed that. There's still text logs logs and audio logs around, but added something new. There's artifacts lying around that you can pick up and read about it's story. There's even side missions and these are cool as well. There's co-op missions where carver has to face his past and which if play as carver you see what he sees because he's going crazy. When your Isaac when is happens you don't see it only carver can. Now the story is very well done. It was very interning about learning the truth about the markers and the aliens. Te weapon crafting has to be the best thing they brought into the dead space universe. You can creat awesome weapons and give them like support attachments. You can give your weapons fire damage,acid,electricity or support healing for you and partner, ect. They even added a scavenger bot that helps you find rescources. The environments are creepy and very well done. The graphics look really good. The voice acting is solid. The game took me 15 hours to be plus 5 more hours if you do the side missions. But since the co-op changes the events and gives more side missions. That's going to take 25 hours to complete. Let see here 20 hours plus 25 hours is 45 hours of gameplay. I'll admit normal is a bit to easy, but I recommend you go on veteran. Probably what makes this game easy is the weapon crafting because you can create awesome weapons. They even added the classic weapons there. If you want to use those. There's also 2 new game modes. There's classic mode where co-op is disable & you can only make classic weapons with the classic laser pointer. There's also pure survival where enemies only drop rescources and they don't drop ammo or health packs. They want you to really think what you need craft. The ending was really epic to. There's also a Easter egg at the end of the credits just to let you know. There's also hardcore mode where you have to beat the game in one go there is no saving there. If you complete that mode you unlock the ultimate weapon. Now will say Ellie was a badd@ss in dead space 2 but in dead space 3 she's more a damsoul indistress. They did that for the story so it's ok I guess. The plot in the game was well done as well. There's also ton of suits as well for you to unlock and instead of putting power nodes into your suit. Now you have to use rescources to upgrade your suit. The suits look cools as well. Ok look at all of the positive things I said about this game. Fans are just letting the humans with guns and co-op ruin this masterpiece. I'll admit the game isn't as scary as the others but the horror is still in there. If they can keep the horror some what in there then it's ok for me. Just be glad it didn't turn into a full blown action game like resident evil 6. O ya there's also puzzles in the game and new mini hacking games. I also forgot to tell you about Norton but all I can tell you he's a character that your suppose to hate. There's also 2 other characters and their like able. Boss fights are also well done including the final boss. I forgot to mention in chapters 3 through 9 your going through a space ships and there's a huge free roaming zero gravity that you can explore in these chapters. My score for this game is a full 10 out of 10. Expand
  21. May 25, 2013
    10
    Critics complaining about the game being action-packed and not being scary are idiots! This is the BEST Dead Space in the franchise! Its an outstanding game from beginning to end hands down!
  22. Oct 28, 2013
    10
    As a die-hard fan of all things Dead Space, I can say that this is the best entry yet. It furthers the story of Isaac Clarke perfectly without drawn-out cut scenes to slow gameplay. Controls are solid and the new weapon system never leaves you bored. My suggestion though, is to spike up the difficulty when you play for that survival feel.
  23. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Great game, great graphics,great co op, large levels, rewarding secondary missions, weapon customizations, a must buy DONOT believe the haters.
    Great game co-op, also a long game which is unusual these days. I finished this game with my American friend, there were minor glitches still apparent from the previous games but nothing to great. I like the weapon building though few weapons
    Great game, great graphics,great co op, large levels, rewarding secondary missions, weapon customizations, a must buy DONOT believe the haters.
    Great game co-op, also a long game which is unusual these days. I finished this game with my American friend, there were minor glitches still apparent from the previous games but nothing to great. I like the weapon building though few weapons work exceptionally well. My custom Bola launcher and force rifle rocket launcher was what I ended the game with. I started with a machine gun shotgun combo that worked so well for so long. Don't really understand the low user score. Storyline gets a little different than the previous games attempting to explain a lot. It's not a bad deal.
    Expand
  24. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    For better or for worse, this is Dead Space. Less scary.....yes. But just as intense as DS2. They have packed this game with more epic moment that the first two iterations had as well. The availability of microtransactions is a little bit of a let down. But you do NOT have to purchase them. They are optional and can be earned through natural progression. IMHO, this is not the best DeadFor better or for worse, this is Dead Space. Less scary.....yes. But just as intense as DS2. They have packed this game with more epic moment that the first two iterations had as well. The availability of microtransactions is a little bit of a let down. But you do NOT have to purchase them. They are optional and can be earned through natural progression. IMHO, this is not the best Dead Space game. But it stands proud as a worthy entry into the Dead Space universe. I would compare it to the difference between Killzone 2 and 3. 3 was a really good game and technically superior. But 2 had that little extra magic and lore. At the same time, both earned there place on my book shelf and in my system for different reasons. Bottom line, if you loved DS1 and DS2, you won't be disappointed in 3. Expand
  25. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Fun fun fun fun fun, and awesome graphics. The plot is pretty much trash but that's okay if what you really want in this game is a bucketload of fun and to be able to sit back and get some serious eye candy going on.
  26. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Have played through this game twice now, I have some thoughts. The new emphasize on action is a good thing. I do miss the scares, but after 3 games, it would have been hard to achieve the same creepy feel. The action felt needed. Game play is great all around. Some cool space missions add a fun twist on the solid gunplay. The graphics were pretty good. At some points it looked great, otherHave played through this game twice now, I have some thoughts. The new emphasize on action is a good thing. I do miss the scares, but after 3 games, it would have been hard to achieve the same creepy feel. The action felt needed. Game play is great all around. Some cool space missions add a fun twist on the solid gunplay. The graphics were pretty good. At some points it looked great, other times it would look just good. A step up from DS2 graphically. Its story was not very good however. It wasn't bad, but it could have been much better, especially since this was the last in the trilogy. Has tons of replay value, so if you are worried about bang for your buck look no further. As far as micro-transactions go, they didn't effect me, positively or negatively. Hardly even noticed they were there. Overall, if you are a 3rd person shooter fan, this is a must buy. Just don't expect a ton of scares, but again, this is a good thing. Expand
  27. Mar 21, 2013
    9
    After 3 games the chills of not knowing what was coming for you around the next corridor no longer hold the same scares, but the great atmosphere and gameplay allow this one to hold its own with the last two. The gun crafting is interesting and the game does a good job of mixing some old school Dead Space (especially the first few hours before planet fall) with some nice setpiece moments.After 3 games the chills of not knowing what was coming for you around the next corridor no longer hold the same scares, but the great atmosphere and gameplay allow this one to hold its own with the last two. The gun crafting is interesting and the game does a good job of mixing some old school Dead Space (especially the first few hours before planet fall) with some nice setpiece moments. A solid 8.5 for me. Expand
  28. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    I loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorphI loved Dead Space and Dead Space 2. They were different from Dead Space 3. DS1 had a lot of dark corners and the sense of "What is going to come at me next?". After the second game or movie in a horror franchise, you lose that sense. The only logical solution is to abandon the franchise, or turn to action. In the first two games i felt like i was the underdog. After surviving 2 necromorph outbreaks I naturally felt like a badass come Dead Space 3. More of an action game, I felt that it was a natural progression for the series. I like the customization this time around. I like the new suits, even though they literally are only aesthetics this time around. I have very little to complain about, aside from the plot which felt a little weak, and had some minor plot-holes. Expand
  29. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    I absolutely loved Dead Space 1 and 2, but I never did manage to get my game buddy to try either of them out. I even bought it a copy of both and put them into his collection of games. He never did 'get around to them'.

    However, Dead Space 3 comes out and now we're playing together, on day-one release day. It's a miracle. It's got to be the biggest Co-Op game to date... I would have
    I absolutely loved Dead Space 1 and 2, but I never did manage to get my game buddy to try either of them out. I even bought it a copy of both and put them into his collection of games. He never did 'get around to them'.

    However, Dead Space 3 comes out and now we're playing together, on day-one release day. It's a miracle. It's got to be the biggest Co-Op game to date... I would have guessed Resident Evil 5 before this. And that game was all-in-all very weak. Most Co-Op games have big gaps in the story telling in places where there just aren't 2 players in the storyline. Dead Space 3 does a damn good job of making both players and the cutscenes intertwined. I was impressed how it just wan't "Hero in green pants" and "Hero in red pants". Both characters have a backstory and are actively engaging the plot of the story. It's a well-done touch. Lastly, Dead Space 3 is not the same exact terrifying romp the other two games were. But as an action adventure title it's still as good as or in most cases far better than anything else you'll play this year. The weapons are awesome and the big action scenes are Epic !!!

    I whole-heartedly RECOMMEND this game... it's light on the terror but heavy on the FUN. So what you gonna do... play a great game in the Dead Space universe. And dream about what all will be possible in Dead Space 4 now that the game is finally going to earn the sales it's always deserved !!!
    It's a stepping stone, and a lot of fun along the way. It rests on the heels of the absolutely amazing Dead Space 2, except now you can CO-Op with your friends. A new story, few new monsters, a new planet, Isaac, Elle, the plama cutter gun, and a very tight Co-Op experience.
    Expand
  30. Feb 12, 2013
    9
    Wow... that is all that needs to be said. This game blows the previous two Dead Space titles out of the water. The bar has been raised to the ultimate. The additions of weapon editing, co-op, optional missions, and improved gameplay is a VERY welcomed addition. The soundtrack and story for the most part is excellent. The atmosphere and look of the world is amazing. There are so many bigWow... that is all that needs to be said. This game blows the previous two Dead Space titles out of the water. The bar has been raised to the ultimate. The additions of weapon editing, co-op, optional missions, and improved gameplay is a VERY welcomed addition. The soundtrack and story for the most part is excellent. The atmosphere and look of the world is amazing. There are so many big moments and set pieces that I had to go back just to play it again. It's a shame too, because the demo left a bad taste in my mouth, but after picking up the full game my mind was blown. This is one of the best games I've played in a long time and it's such a shame that it's sitting at a 78 metacritic rating, because it deserves a MUCH higher score. Thank you Visceral Games. Expand
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Apr 30, 2013
    50
    Taken as a whole, Dead Space 3 is far more infuriating than it is bad.
  2. Do yourself a favour and play DS3 like a raving masochist, straight off the bat. It’s a slick, AAA sequel that’s worthy of its place in the franchise. but only if you take the initiative and crank the difficulty. We didn’t think it possible, but Visceral has engineered a sequel that will appease old fans and entice new ones, too. [March 2013, p72]
  3. Apr 1, 2013
    60
    Misfires and all, it’s at least commendable that Dead Space 3 makes an effort to exhibit some fresh experimentation into what has become a truly bloated media franchise; plus the combat still shines for the most part. Sadly though, better elements like the crafting system are lamentably set against a mundane and lifeless backdrop that rarely excites, let alone spooks, on the grand level of previous games in the series.