Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 451 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dead Space 3 embodies deep space terror. Players take a thrilling ride through space that takes them to a hostile new planet, Tau Volantis. Fortunately, they are not alone this time around. The fully integrated drop-in/drop-out co-op feature gives players the option to play alone or team-up with a friend anytime. Players that choose to take down the terror together experience additional story details, side missions and gameplay mechanics only found when playing as John Carver. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    98
    Dead Space 3 is still creepy, but this entry is more action-packed than previous games. That’s a good thing. Isaac’s intuitive new dodge roll makes avoiding the larger nercromorph attacks more manageable.
  2. Mar 18, 2013
    85
    Dead Space 3 is no more Survival than Dead Space 2. The game is therefore capable to maintain high the nervous tension and to involve players in an interesting adventure.
  3. 80
    At the end of the day the feeling that remains is that Dead Space 3 is a good game, but not a good Dead Space.
  4. Feb 5, 2013
    79
    The environment is continually interesting and involving, the character and enemy designs are highly accomplished, the third-person action is reliable and responsive, and the deep weapon crafting system adds intricacy. But the subtler aspects, the slightly more artistic elements, the more cerebral parts of the production; they take a back seat to the insanity. Hence, the epitome of flash over substance.
  5. 74
    All things considered, Dead Space 3 just isn’t made for those of us craving another horror experience. It’s far less scary and far more shooter-y than the previous games in the series. But for fans of set piece-based action games, Dead Space 3 has a pretty healthy buffet of amazing content. Just don’t spend any money on the microtransactions; EA needs to know that we’re not going to tolerate that sort of crap.
  6. Feb 20, 2013
    70
    A combination of an average shooter (that won’t appeal to shooter fans) and a (tension and atmosphere barren) survival horror game.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    50
    Despite all these issues, Dead Space 3 isn't a bad game—but it's not a particularly good one, either. The focus on co-op, attempts to ditch the horror elements in favor of more mainstream sci-fi shooter aesthetics, and the disjointed, repetitive feeling of the project as a whole prevent it from ever becoming something that pops.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 106
  2. Negative: 15 out of 106
  1. Feb 5, 2013
    10
    I am not sure if those that actually play/enjoy the Dead Space franchise are the ones leaving reviews. This game has not lost it's touch to the scares and frustrations that the necromorphs cause, and still finds a way to keep the story fresh. It is a double edged sword that Visceral had to deal with, if they change nothing then people complain about the lack of innovation.. they change something, people complain about fixing something that was not broken. The game is solid, keeps you on your toes, good replay value. This is $60 dollars well spent, and I hope people can look past some poor reviews. Expand
  2. Feb 19, 2013
    10
    Horrible reviews, the game is long, fun, interesting, and really keeps you in it until the end, yeah the fight's with unitologist feel stupid but they are short and not too many of them. And the crafting is extremely fun when you are in tau volantis because except of being obligated to have 4 weapons here i can have 2 weapons with 2 different ways of fire with an add on and make them way better. I started in hard from the beginning but also the game is hard and you will start to run out of stuff in the middle of the game forward because the qauntity of enemies increases incredibly. The game for me is a 9/10 or maybe even 9.5/10 contestant to game of the year. Expand
  3. Feb 5, 2013
    9
    First and foremost let me address the horror aspect. Is this as scary as Dead Space...no. Yet I think that's more to do with by outing 3 it's become familiar. However that doesn't make it less of an amazing game. The 2nd time I played through DS it wasn't as scary either. DS3 is most certainly still a horror game with awesome game play and an engrossing sci fi story. And that's what the series always was and still is. That's great and should be enough for any long term fans and new comers to the series. Expand
  4. Feb 10, 2013
    8
    The Dead Space series has now shown that’s willing to do what ever it takes to survive, in today’s market. A series known for survival horror has now turned into an action, Co-Op experience. Despite this, Dead Space 3 still manages to be a good game. It stumbles at times, but it’s various triumphs out way it’s failures. Taking place 2 months after the events of the last two games, with engineer Isaac Clack is tasked to destroy the last marker that creates a virus that turns people into monsters known as Nechromorphs. Dead Space 3’s more action focus story is easily the games lowest point. It does do a good job connecting the worlds and locations you visit together, but convoluted as all hell, thanks to some force love triangles, bad dialog, cliché space army caricatures, and a cartoonishly evil villain. Combat revolves around killing enemies by dismembering their limbs to do most damage. Enemies will run at you at such a quick pace, that you’ll need to use some strategy in order to stop them. But, just because an enemy lost a leg doesn’t mean they won’t stop. Of course, you can also do this with a pal in co-op, which is fun. An interesting idea that’s been implemented is that the game’s story will alter depending on how you play the campaign. This alone is worth playing again, but there are some other incentives.

    The biggest new edition to comes in the workbench. You can collect resources and plans to either create new weapons or create your own. This a welcome change as you can now customize your weapons and you’ll need to think about how you create each one, since with so many enemies, leads to different ways to take them out. But, Perhaps the dumbest decision to this is that you can now use real money to buy resources to craft weapons. It’s optional, but it’s something that didn’t need to be in the game.

    Dead Space 3 isn’t prefect. Its story could use editing, it has some repetitive and frustrating task, but even so, it’s still a good game. It may not be scary, but it’s one hell of a ride.
    Expand
  5. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    I've been a fan of Dead Space since the first installment. The ambiance in the first game can't be matched, the advancement of the story in 2 was a welcome addition to the improved game-play, but 3 just seems to be... lacking. In innovation, mostly. I've played through about half of this game and I can honestly say: if you're looking for a game that is all about scary creatures and psychological horrors, play 1 and 2. If you're a fan of the series and want to see where the plot goes and enjoy the aesthetics of the first 2 games, 3 is alright, too. The weapon upgrade system is very taxing and I was a little bit wary about the addition of co-op (but it actually seems alright), but honestly, you can get through most of this game without making some Frankenstein-esque gun from scrap metal. I wouldn't recommend buying this game new, but if you see it at a game shop used, by all means, give it a try. Expand
  6. Mar 25, 2013
    7
    I really liked Dead Space 1 and 2. they are the best survivle horror games out there since Capcom turned Resident Evil in to a Lame Duck Shooter. DS3 i was very sketch on after seeing the 20 minutes of video It didn't look like a dead Space game It looked more like Lost planet After playing it all the way through i found that it wasn't as bad as i thought it would be. Now thats not to say there isnt some problems because there is alot to complain about in DS3 but first I'll start off with whats good about the game. Even though in the 20 minute demo they showed Issac in the snow all the time you are actaully very rarely outside in the snow. You spend more time in the ships or in bunkers or bases below the snow So the game still retains its tight chlostrophobic feel. Scares yes it still has some there was a few moments in the game when i jumped abit and yelled oh Shat! (note. it also helped that i was using a Sony HMZ-T1 while playing so it sucked me in to the game more) Guns and lots of them .You will have a bevy of wepons to pick from The story is also much improved One of my biggest gripes with DS1 and 2 was that the focus on more information on the marker was needed and DS3 does give you more but still leaves you wanting to know more yet. The game is longer and you move from a City to space ships to snow feilds to under ground bunkers to alien ruins so the game changes up nicely. Some new enimies and some good ones at that. Final boss looked pretty damn cool. Ok now on to the down side of DS3 First off the save feature It just SUCKS! instead of having places to save at you can just pause and hit save and quit Now unfortunitly it wont save you at that point unless its a check point. It will save all the stuff you found but when you load back up you could have to go back through 30-40 minutes of what you just did EVEN AFTER YOU SAVED WHEN YOU ALREADY DID IT!!! That just pissed me off. Remember in DS 1 and 2 when you could carry 4 wepons! now you only can have 2... WTF!? this made me not want to try out the new wepons because with only two wepon slots I didnt want to risk being stuck with some thing that was crap. Only 2 wepon slots... DUMB! remember in prevous DS games some times you would get mobbed by a ton of enimies? That was frightning because it didn't happen much and ammo was scarce (if you played it on the hard modes which is all i ever did) well in DS3 you are getting swarmed by tons of enimies every 2-3 minuites It seems clear out a room move 2 more rooms and and do it all again. You expect it now and the tension is gone. which brings us to ammo which you will never run out of because they made it so easy to carry a ton of it and make a ton of it and since all wepons use the same ammo worrying about item managment is pretty much gone... which sucks. Co-op... well its not forced on you atleast with a AI partner following you around which would have really sucked hard becase i have NO intrest in ever playing any DS game in CO-OP but EA is still taunting you with it by locking out missions with CO-OP only. Which really bugged me and should have been the other way around. If you enjoy CO-Op thats fine but for me it just Ruins DS I wasnt to be immersed in the world with out any one els bugging me. also way to much crap is locked away in the co-op certain wepons and alot of trophys can't be gotten with out playing in CO-OP... BS! Buggy and glitchy. ok i am on patch 1.02 and have had 2 freeze ups (which suck more with the crappy save system) and have had problems getting some doors to open. yes I have had to stand in front of a few doors for 2-5 minutes till it would open. Way to much rock climbing sessions which were not any fun and BUGGY! The final boss may have looked cool but man was he super EASY to beat. which has been a problem in all DS games they really need to make more of a harder final lboss fight. Also the ending pretty much sucks. In the end though DS3 is still a decent game It hasn't gone as far off the rails as what Resident Evil has to now its just a shambles DS3 still at its core is fun but they need to get it back on track to being a SURVIVLE HORROR GAME! Expand
  7. Mar 17, 2013
    0
    Saves load an hour before the point where you were, levels load if you are lucky. Just unacceptable. A game only the WHORES at EA would ask money for. Do NOT buy. Expand

See all 106 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013

    The Most Anticipated Video Games of 2013 Image
    Published: January 15, 2013
    Take a look at nearly four dozen of the coming year's most-anticipated games, from returning favorites such as BioShock Infinite and Grand Theft Auto V to new titles like The Last of Us and Watch Dogs.