Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 15 out of 19
  1. 45
    Dead Space Ignition is a cool idea -- a prologue that bears fruit in the real game -- but it's just so poorly executed.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    This small collection of minigames offers little for even the most fervent Dead Space fan.
  3. Oct 24, 2010
    35
    Dead Space Ignition offers far more frustration and tedium than enjoyment, and fails to expand upon the universe in any meaningful way.
  4. When your game makes you want to skip the egregiously tedious gameplay so you can see what happens in the utterly forgettable story, you know you're doing something wrong.
  5. It is nothing more than a few simple hacking tool mini games set in the Dead Space universe, plain and simple.
  6. The idea of an interactive comic as narrative expansion is a sound one, but Ignition entirely fails to do the concept justice.
  7. 16
    Unless you're a huge Dead Space fan and absolutely can't contain yourself around anything remotely related to that universe, skip out on Dead Space Ignition.
  8. 50
    Overall, as I have mentioned, Dead Space Ignition is just a very poor attempt to generate hype for Dead Space 2. The art is bad, the mini games are not fun, and the experience is short unless you go back for more endings.
  9. As a free extra to the main game it would've been acceptable. As it is, an expensive entreè to what's to come, Dead Space Ignition feels like an unpolished add on. If you can't live without the unlockable extra weapon to be used in Dead Space 2, you might consider buying it. Otherwise, patiently wait for the big deal in January and save the money.
  10. Filling the narrative gap between the two main chapters sounds original, but the game completely fails. Ignition is a faux pas in Dead Space universe, with annoying gameplay and horrible graphics: an experience you can easily and definitely avoid.
  11. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    20
    Two hours of unmitigated boredom. [Christmas 2010]
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    50
    A fairly basic and uneventful puzzler, Dead Space Ignition will probably be best enjoyed by hardcore fans of the Dead Space series only.
  13. Play UK
    Dec 25, 2010
    47
    As much as we enjoyed Dead Space and look forward to its sequel, this really is a poor effort from Sumo Digital and Visceral Games. [Issue#199, p.103]
  14. In the end, Dead Space: Ignition basically boils down to a piece of over-priced DLC.
  15. Oct 25, 2010
    30
    A bridge between the two Dead Space games that is completely broken with its terrible graphics and A.I.
  16. It's not perfect, and the art style can be irksome with its intentionally marred characters, but for five bucks (or for free), Dead Space: Ignition delivers a good backstory and a few pieces of entertaining puzzle gameplay.
  17. Jan 10, 2011
    40
    Dead Space: Ignition competently expands the series' fiction but fails to deliver in any other department.
  18. Oct 26, 2010
    50
    Dead Space: Ignition isn't a great game or even a good one.
  19. Jan 10, 2011
    20
    A game based solely on introducing the hacking mini-games was a terrible idea. Add in the terrible narrative, atrocious graphics and complete lack of replay value to get one of the worst prequels I've ever played.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 18 out of 27
  1. Mar 10, 2017
    3
    Some mini games may be interesting at first, but they end up being too simplistic. The drawings for the storyline are nice, though it is onlySome mini games may be interesting at first, but they end up being too simplistic. The drawings for the storyline are nice, though it is only an excuse for inserting the mediocre mini games. Overall, it is not a worth paying game (which unfortunately I did). Full Review »
  2. May 27, 2015
    4
    Interesting snippet of Dead Space backstory wrapped around 3 minigames. One minigame (lights and mirrors) is quite good, one is frustratingInteresting snippet of Dead Space backstory wrapped around 3 minigames. One minigame (lights and mirrors) is quite good, one is frustrating (racing lines through obstacles) and one is just confusing mess (firing spinney things through a maze). I bought it on sale just for the backstory, but I wish I could skip the minigames, or at least select a difficulty level. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2011
    1
    A mushy turd. The kind you step when you walk on the beach barefoot. Green moss-infested seagull scum. Getting it for free was too high of aA mushy turd. The kind you step when you walk on the beach barefoot. Green moss-infested seagull scum. Getting it for free was too high of a price, I want the time I wasted back. Save your money. In all fairness though, it's challenging to get all the trophies for it. But it's just not worth it, even if you're a trophy hunter. It's not fun at all, it has nothing to do with Dead Space besides the tie-in with the story. And come to think of it, I feel bad for whoever had to write the story for it. Now their credited with it.

    I'm kind of burying this game, but honestly, who thought this would be a good idea? Find that guy and fire him. Give him a slap across the face too.
    Call his mother and ask her if he was dropped on his head, then email me to so I can rest in peace knowing what gave this project a green-light.
    Full Review »