Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 15 out of 19
  1. 16
    Unless you're a huge Dead Space fan and absolutely can't contain yourself around anything remotely related to that universe, skip out on Dead Space Ignition.
  2. Oct 26, 2010
    50
    Dead Space: Ignition isn't a great game or even a good one.
  3. When your game makes you want to skip the egregiously tedious gameplay so you can see what happens in the utterly forgettable story, you know you're doing something wrong.
  4. The idea of an interactive comic as narrative expansion is a sound one, but Ignition entirely fails to do the concept justice.
  5. Filling the narrative gap between the two main chapters sounds original, but the game completely fails. Ignition is a faux pas in Dead Space universe, with annoying gameplay and horrible graphics: an experience you can easily and definitely avoid.
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    30
    A bridge between the two Dead Space games that is completely broken with its terrible graphics and A.I.
  7. It's not perfect, and the art style can be irksome with its intentionally marred characters, but for five bucks (or for free), Dead Space: Ignition delivers a good backstory and a few pieces of entertaining puzzle gameplay.
  8. Dec 22, 2010
    40
    This small collection of minigames offers little for even the most fervent Dead Space fan.
  9. Oct 24, 2010
    35
    Dead Space Ignition offers far more frustration and tedium than enjoyment, and fails to expand upon the universe in any meaningful way.
  10. It is nothing more than a few simple hacking tool mini games set in the Dead Space universe, plain and simple.
  11. 45
    Dead Space Ignition is a cool idea -- a prologue that bears fruit in the real game -- but it's just so poorly executed.
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    50
    A fairly basic and uneventful puzzler, Dead Space Ignition will probably be best enjoyed by hardcore fans of the Dead Space series only.
  13. Dec 25, 2010
    47
    As much as we enjoyed Dead Space and look forward to its sequel, this really is a poor effort from Sumo Digital and Visceral Games. [Issue#199, p.103]
  14. In the end, Dead Space: Ignition basically boils down to a piece of over-priced DLC.
  15. Two hours of unmitigated boredom. [Christmas 2010]
  16. As a free extra to the main game it would've been acceptable. As it is, an expensive entreè to what's to come, Dead Space Ignition feels like an unpolished add on. If you can't live without the unlockable extra weapon to be used in Dead Space 2, you might consider buying it. Otherwise, patiently wait for the big deal in January and save the money.
  17. Jan 10, 2011
    40
    Dead Space: Ignition competently expands the series' fiction but fails to deliver in any other department.
  18. Jan 10, 2011
    20
    A game based solely on introducing the hacking mini-games was a terrible idea. Add in the terrible narrative, atrocious graphics and complete lack of replay value to get one of the worst prequels I've ever played.
  19. 50
    Overall, as I have mentioned, Dead Space Ignition is just a very poor attempt to generate hype for Dead Space 2. The art is bad, the mini games are not fun, and the experience is short unless you go back for more endings.
User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 5
  3. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. May 2, 2011
    1
    A mushy turd. The kind you step when you walk on the beach barefoot. Green moss-infested seagull scum. Getting it for free was too high of a price, I want the time I wasted back. Save your money. In all fairness though, it's challenging to get all the trophies for it. But it's just not worth it, even if you're a trophy hunter. It's not fun at all, it has nothing to do with Dead Space besides the tie-in with the story. And come to think of it, I feel bad for whoever had to write the story for it. Now their credited with it.

    I'm kind of burying this game, but honestly, who thought this would be a good idea? Find that guy and fire him. Give him a slap across the face too.
    Call his mother and ask her if he was dropped on his head, then email me to so I can rest in peace knowing what gave this project a green-light.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 21, 2011
    0
    Dead Space Ignition is by far the worst PSN game that I have ever touched. Anyone who did not get this game for free with preorder I could honestly say I feel bad for. The game consists of 4 boring mini games, and takes about a half hour to complete. There are multi options to the story of this game, however the cutscenes which are basically a poorly drawn comic, are not enough to make this game worth while. The only reason to play this game is for un-lockable items in DS2. I would honestly feel bad about recommending this game to anyone. So unless you want that hacking suit unlock for dead space 2, do not buy this game. Full Review »
  3. Wil
    Nov 10, 2010
    9
    I actually really enjoyed the hacking and cracking games, there were three types all which presented a different challenge. I could do most of them after a couple of attempts but the real challenge was completing them quickly against other players leaderboard times or in multiplayer with friends. The visual presentation and audio of the games was tight. The comic was well voiced but had a strange animation style but it all tied together I don't understand why its getting the review bashing it is considering the price offering and what you get for that price! Full Review »