User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 582 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 582
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 30, 2011
    7
    Great story driven third person shooter though not nearly as frightening as advertised.

    Dead Space had me going from the start. The game starts out tense and only gets more interesting as time goes on. The entire game takes place on a derelict ship orbiting a mining colony on some distant planet. Almost the entire game takes place on the ship, but the different sections are varied
    Great story driven third person shooter though not nearly as frightening as advertised.

    Dead Space had me going from the start. The game starts out tense and only gets more interesting as time goes on. The entire game takes place on a derelict ship orbiting a mining colony on some distant planet. Almost the entire game takes place on the ship, but the different sections are varied enough that things donâ
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2012
    6
    A good game. Not a great game. This is another example of a game getting too much credit solely for it's graphics and unique concept. The gameplay itself is quite repetitive and consists mostly of walking into rooms, waiting for something to jump out, then shooting it - repeat this pattern about a hundred times and you have the gameplay of Dead Space. There are some interesting parts thatA good game. Not a great game. This is another example of a game getting too much credit solely for it's graphics and unique concept. The gameplay itself is quite repetitive and consists mostly of walking into rooms, waiting for something to jump out, then shooting it - repeat this pattern about a hundred times and you have the gameplay of Dead Space. There are some interesting parts that break up the monotony, but those moments are too few and far between. Expand
  3. EricP
    May 22, 2009
    5
    Pros: high creep-factor keeps you on edge; slick interface. Cons: unoriginal, repetitive, at times frustrating. Review: Although it's a pretty new game (late 2008), it adds nothing novel to the genre. If you've played similar shooters like Resident Evil 4 (wii), this will feel so familiar that you probably can't muster any interest. Been there, done that. Of course, it is Pros: high creep-factor keeps you on edge; slick interface. Cons: unoriginal, repetitive, at times frustrating. Review: Although it's a pretty new game (late 2008), it adds nothing novel to the genre. If you've played similar shooters like Resident Evil 4 (wii), this will feel so familiar that you probably can't muster any interest. Been there, done that. Of course, it is very slick, with solid graphics and neat interface. But the map is so slick it's unusable, forcing you to constantly rely on the "cheater" beacon. The game struggles to create concern for your character or the storyline... it mainly feels like simply a standard zombie shooter. Everything feels highly scripted, and you can never go off-track and improvise at all; there is simply no "intelligence" programmed in. For example, if you're standing on a ledge, you can't just go forward and fall/jump down; you hit an invisible wall and must instead go find the ramp you came up. Considering other games like Bioshock --which you can easily play multiple times without boring of the story or the infinite ways to fight enemies due to the amazingly improvisational programming -- it's amazing Dead Space is so favorably rated. Probably enjoyable if it's your first FPS game. But if you've played Bioshock, you'll have a hard time finding the patience for Dead Space. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2011
    6
    The atmosphere of this game is simply brilliant. I played it in 5.1 and the sounds... omg. But the game in itself becomes boring and frustrating after a while.

    It is too repetitive, and at some points it is too difficult. For example when you are shooting the asteroids... Maybe on the PC version it's easier to play because you have more control with the mouse... All in all it is not a
    The atmosphere of this game is simply brilliant. I played it in 5.1 and the sounds... omg. But the game in itself becomes boring and frustrating after a while.

    It is too repetitive, and at some points it is too difficult. For example when you are shooting the asteroids... Maybe on the PC version it's easier to play because you have more control with the mouse...

    All in all it is not a bad game. I hope they will fix those problems in DS2.
    Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2010
    7
    This game has a lot going for it: Great vocal performances, innovative real-time menu's, excellent graphics, and a tried and true concept that has managed to stay scary (for the most part) over the years. Then there's the bad parts, and there's too many of them just to push aside. Enemies are redundant, although I don't know what else you would expect in this type of game, and will suicideThis game has a lot going for it: Great vocal performances, innovative real-time menu's, excellent graphics, and a tried and true concept that has managed to stay scary (for the most part) over the years. Then there's the bad parts, and there's too many of them just to push aside. Enemies are redundant, although I don't know what else you would expect in this type of game, and will suicide charge you right as you chop them into pieces. Some enemy types are very unique, while others are completely generic and a bore to kill. Twice through the game you take over AA-style guns; these sections are awful. The controls are slippery and the objects fly too fast to hit. You'll find yourself failing these sections due to bad luck rather than lack of skill. There are also several sections throughout the game in which you are barraged with all types of enemies. You will die, and more often than not, it'll be due to cheap shots. The story is cliched and it's fairly easy to predict what happens when. Jump scares are predictable and character deaths can be seen coming miles away. The ending is extremely subpar. It's not a bad game, but it needs touch ups here and there. And for god's sake make it scary next time. Expand
  6. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    Dead Space is dark, edgy, and has a fantastic atmosphere. You truly feel in the shaking boots of Isaac Clark as he struggles to maintain his sanity and survive the doomed starship, fighting off terrifying and gory creatures. On paper, the concept seems flawless. On the TV screen, it's not. Dead Space is not a game for everyone and, unfortunately, not an adventure for me. I loved the tenseDead Space is dark, edgy, and has a fantastic atmosphere. You truly feel in the shaking boots of Isaac Clark as he struggles to maintain his sanity and survive the doomed starship, fighting off terrifying and gory creatures. On paper, the concept seems flawless. On the TV screen, it's not. Dead Space is not a game for everyone and, unfortunately, not an adventure for me. I loved the tense moments but so many aspects of the game held me back from truly enjoying the journey as a whole. The gameplay felt extremely rigid and every movement was wrong, almost as if Clark was wearing a straightjacket inside of his space suit. In addition, the entire game felt repetitive and ultimately lost my interest about three hours through. There is very little to mix up the occasional jump scares and shoot outs, and I felt extremely tired by the halfway point, which may be a first for me. So in the end, your opinions on Dead Space are entirely based on preference. Many critics and players alike enjoyed the dark and depressing mood, as well as the sense of containment that the ship had to offer. However, I just didn't find the game to be that fun, and since that's the main purpose of a video game, I personally can't say I enjoyed the experience. If it were me, I'd find an escape pod.

    6.5/10

    Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
    Expand
  7. RodJ.
    Jan 1, 2009
    7
    Its good ill give it that but i've played a lot of horror games in the past and this is not the greatest Good: 1: Suspense, unlike some other games out there that virtually tell you when something is going to happen i.e. Monster is going to jump out, this game is some what unpredictable, monsters just appear with and without warning 2: Good AI, it waits and hides and wont follow the Its good ill give it that but i've played a lot of horror games in the past and this is not the greatest Good: 1: Suspense, unlike some other games out there that virtually tell you when something is going to happen i.e. Monster is going to jump out, this game is some what unpredictable, monsters just appear with and without warning 2: Good AI, it waits and hides and wont follow the same path 3: Nice Twist at the end and some other little things that make you appreciate the developers efforts 4: You need to strategically blow parts off a enemy, shoot it in the head and it'll just get angry Bad: 1: Boring at times (probably just me, like i said played heaps of scary games in the past) 2: Relies on the "Boo" factor a little too much 3: Considering that the developers said that the Ammo reserve would be quite dry, i found plenty of it and, at times, had far too much, even on extreme 4: No real re playability Ive given the game a rating of 7 - Souly based on that it didn't scare me too much and i found it a bit too easy and repetitive. Having said that, its worth the $90 (aus) that i payed for it, if you enjoy RE series and really like gore then this is perfect. If you have a heart condition and get scared when you see a small spider, then don't, you'll probably end up dieing. Expand
  8. FredB.
    Jan 2, 2009
    7
    I was surprised to see this game get such a low review in official XBOX magazine, but only because every other review across the web was so high... So what is it about this game that caused one high profile magazine to conclude that the game was poor? My review will shed light on that answer. Dead Space is one of those games that pulls you in at the beginning, becomes repetetive, and then I was surprised to see this game get such a low review in official XBOX magazine, but only because every other review across the web was so high... So what is it about this game that caused one high profile magazine to conclude that the game was poor? My review will shed light on that answer. Dead Space is one of those games that pulls you in at the beginning, becomes repetetive, and then leaves you often stuck wondering how to beat certain a boss creatures, or wondering where to go next... in spite of the fact that there is a glowing path to show you where to go next if you click int the right thumbstick, but that doesn't always help. Good luck using the real map feature, just as is in the case with Fable, the map is useless, forcing you to rely upon the aforementioned breadcrumb path, I mean glowing path. This leads to alot of frustration, with you getting lost or trying to solve a bunk sliding puzzle while fighting enemies that respawn at times. DS is one of those games where ammo must be conserved, and you are forced to backtrack looking for precious ammo, health, and even oxygen, and power kits for some abilities. The whole time you are viewing the game from a zoomed in third person position (alot like Dark Sector) If you like that kind of game, then this is for you. If the psychology of finding your way out of a maze with all the above conditions then you will love this. I on the other hand was wowed by the graphics, and just wanted to explore, for some reason the genetic makeup of the game makes that kind of an experience an afterthought. When I was able to explore, I did enjoy the different decks on the ship, complete with believable living quarters complete with bunks, toilets, mess hall, hydroponically grown fruit, and indoor sports and shooting range. The antigravity sections and scenes that occur outside the ship where you must conserve oxygen were my favorite. If I am talking you into getting this game, then by all means pick up a used copy- there are probably some out there by now! I would have given an 8 but there is no coop, multiplayer ,or online anything. Like Bio Shock, the game might not work as a coop, however I can only imagine how cool it would be to take over each area of the ship with teams online. Imagine hiding in the bedbunks or a toilet stall and waiting for the right moment to blast an unsuspecting visctim. Or better yet, why not give the control of all the monsters to online gamers who respawn endlessly as one man tries to complete all the missions! Expand
  9. MikeR.
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    This game was alright I suppose. It made me excited but not too much. I though it was well wicked but O.K. Me mate said it was OK too. It was well gnarly. Me mum liked it but it gave her dreaamz so she dan't like it no more.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Dead Space is a beautiful videogame, showing incredible polish and detail in both the visuals and the control. The amount of love and attention packed into this title is apparent, as scares and action are perfectly blended. What an incredibly impressive way for a new survival horror franchise to debut!
  2. A spectacular game which shows vividly that "Resident Evil" is not the king of survival horrors anymore.
  3. The combat is fast and frantic, the interface excellent, the controls responsive, and it provides an overall satisfying experience. While it's fun, though, there isn't much that's memorable about Dead Space. It feels like patchwork that's been slapped together from other franchises, and it lacks a spirit of its own to make it stand out from the pack.