User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 421 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 421

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    this game is true survivle horror . it takes over where resident evil has lost its path . the game actaully tries to and does a fairly decent job at being scarry . this game also is best played on hard or impossable diffuculty . forget easy and normal you will have way to much ammo and the game isnt even a challange . impossable is the most fun thats when the game feels tense and a constent worry of do i have enough ammo should i run from the enimy or kill him? then enimys will jump into vents if you try to run and dropped down on you as you try to escape . it captures what i want theese kinds of games to do for me . make me tense and worried about my sitaution . it controls just like resident evil 4 and plays pretty much the same . the sound effects are really well done not as good as what some of the silent hill games have done to where there is constent noises that keep you on edge wondering is some thing there but the music can really get to you . espicially when you hear the erie twinkle twinkle little star song being sung . the story is well told and the feeling of being stranded on a dead space ship is done very well. the wepon selection feels differnt and uniqe . my only gripe with this game is that the final boss battle is just to easy even on impossable he is easily beatin with out even being touched but overal this game did what i was hoping it would do bring survivle horror back to where it belongs . hope the sequel does this all again. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Who'd have thought that in 2013 we'd still be talking about Dead Space as this generations best horror game? Maybe that's a sad reflection about how Survival Horror games have become a bit of a niche genre in recent years but it's also testament to this games brilliance and enduring appeal. Pensonally this is the most intense experience I've ever had with a game. Even just loading the game up each night made me apprehensive and no other game has given me the same fear that I could be attacked from any direction and killed at any time. At times I was so apprehensive about what was round the next corner that I was literally inching my way along the corridors and at other times it even made me scream like a little girl!
    Many little touches contribute to making this scary but special mention must go to the masterful timing of the scares, the way tension is built plus the use of sound and music to create atmosphere is the best I've ever seen and it's all held together with great controls and gameplay.
    If you're still undecided about buying it after all these years i'd say don't hesitate because you're sure to get it very cheap now but more then that, Dead Space is not only a great Survival Horror but one of this generations must play games period.
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I'm a HUGE horror fan, and have been looking for a game that not only makes me jump but that actually scares me, This game did just that. The environment/atmosphere of this game is awsome and is kind of like a Bioshock in that aspect. Dead Space has a great story of survival and coming to realize what is going on in this ship. The graphics are great for a game that came out in 2008, and is better graphically that some games that come out today. I highly reccommend this game to any horror fans or someone who wants a different kind of experience. Play this game at night, alone, in the dark, its awsome! Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    I may disagree with the fact of if this game is scarey. I didn't really think it was all that much but I still enjoyed it none the less. It had some great moments and I love sci-fi and think that too few games go in this genre for whatever reason. And I mean galaxy sci-fi where you can see space and the sun with planets and galaxies, I love it, probably the reason I loved mass effect so much. But anyways this game is to action focused for me to be too scary but I loved the story and the setting and blasting away the necromorphs. This should be added to anyone who is serious about games' collection. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Piranha 3D! Anyone who has seen that movie could argue that Dead Space shares its raw and merciless tone. Yet this game is so much more than that. Bash on the recycled plot line, or the level designs, or even how it may not be as scary. Say it's not perfect, but show me a game that is? As a major horror buff, this masterpiece promises and delivers beyond belief. It's made me feel such an overwhelming tension and paranoia no gaming moments could compare to. Dead Space uses its flaws to its advantage. It manages to be unique even with borrowed bits and pieces from games that inspired it. The plot evolves into shocking events here and there. The dismemberment mechanic is such a new thrill it won't get old easily. The way these creatures interact with you in their goal to shred you up makes for a clever and challenging experience. A lot of backtracking is done, but in the sense of the plot, it all goes together. The environments are varied up enough to keep things running. Also, with hidden secrets to find, collectibles to get, and puzzles to solve, it really isn't such a repetition like the first game in the Assassin's Creed series. Take it for what it is, a mysterious, twisted, bloody and crazy twelve hours that will have you pausing every few levels to build up your courage again. Let's cherish the original games, because sequels are known to not capture that lighting-in-a-bottle sense. Expand
  6. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I just played 10 minutes of this game and I like it puts it like Resident Evil games with a challenge to it's name.
    But it's in space theme I think that the monsters does not look too great when you see the big leg things that attack you they look not in detail enough more like a PS2 graphic which I wanted a more like Doom theme with zombies with guns or something.

    Controls feel right
    on too well I enjoyed this so I think you will too. Expand
  7. Air
    Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Dead Space is a well-made, beautifully designed, and just plain fun Horror game that ultimately fails on one aspect- it isn't that scary. I know for a fact that I am a minority, but I have never found all this "here's a generic bloody mutant that is trying to kill you" formula all too frightening, and the fact that I bought Dead Space for the mere fact of it being called one of the "scariest games this generation" was kind of a let down. Luckily, everything else about this game is awesomely designed and intricately crafted. Controls are reminiscent of the more recent Resident Evil games, but for all you whiners, you can aim while you move! The cool thing about combat in Dead Space is that in order to kill most Necromorphs (the generic bloody mutants that are trying to kill you), you must dismember them, and not only does this require good aim, but it requires thought as well. There are many guns in this game, and each of them has a secondary attack which can be useful in different situations. Moving away from combat, which remains largely the same throughout the entire game, the basic backstory of this game is that you are an engineer on a ship with a crew who receives a distress signal. You then check it out to find that pretty much the entire crew has bit the dust, or turned into these Necromorph creatures. From there, the majority of the story is guided by video and audio logs, with the occasional human interaction. I was a huge fan of Star Trek television, and this premise nearly made me nerdgasm, but unfortunately, throughout the game, the story seems to often be forgotten at times, which is disappointing because the premise is really interesting and sets the stage for an awesome game. Dead Space tries to scare you by leaving you in the dark most of the time, and uses some cheap horror tactics such as the infamous popping-up-out-of-nowhere-in-your-face-monsters-while-it-is-quiet, and the graphics and sound in this game are incredible. Also, its obvious that immersion was a large focus of the Dead Space team, because there is no music and no HUD; only the sounds of the ship and floating holograms. Aside from the dismemberment-focused gunplay, Dead Space also brings a couple other cool things to the table. Number one, you have a "stasis" power which allows you to slow down enemies, giving you a better shot or more safety. Two, you have "kinesis" which is basically the force. Star Wars for the win. Third, there are quite a few zero-gravity segments which are awesome, so be prepared. Along with these, Dead Space also has a cool upgrade and shop system, just like Resident Evil. Overall, Dead Space is intricately designed, with much attention to detail. Combat is unique and fun, and Dead Space will probably be pretty scary for some people. I know for a fact that listening to Necromorphs making noises in the vents above you while you are walking down a hall is simply bloodcurdling, but in my head, Dead Space will live on as "that game with the cool combat and intriguing premise", and not "that game with the generic bloody mutants that are trying to kill me". Definitely worth the $20 it is priced at now, and Dead Space 2 is highly anticipated. Expand
  8. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    This was a great game. The story was very interesting and I always got scared. However, there are better games such as inFamous! It was amazing when I first had it and beat it. Then I got inFamous and fell in love. Overall, Dead Space is good to buy. For 20 dollars it is totally worth it.
  9. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    This game is INTENSE, and scary - damn scary. It's hard to scare me, but this game had me jump a few times - It rocks! Definitely worth buying and playing over and over again.
  10. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This is a very solid game. In terms of gameplay it is the best survival horror game ever. However, the gameplay is not TERRIFYING, it did have some scary scenes, the atmosphere couldn't have been done better. The only real complaint is that it gets stale after 3-4 play through, but you will get your moneys worth definitely if you are looking for a scary, good gameplay. Also the storyline was good enough to be a movie, with some fantastic plot twists. And the voice acting was pretty good also. Expand
  11. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    At times, I did want Isaac Clark to speak up more but it scared the complete shyt out of me. Among the scariest games I have ever played. I've played Dead Space 2 and 3 and I gotta say, even though 2 has better gameplay and flow, it didn't scare me as much. 3 was just Uncharted in space. Graphics are ok, nothing great.
  12. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    I have been missing a good horror game in my life since the days of the original PlayStation and finally a good horror game that is not a sequel. I am definitely looking forward to how this franchise evolves.
  13. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    manages to fuse sci-fi with horror in a way which will massively please fans of both genres. Great design, look, sound, gore, story... One of my all time fav games and the most fun I've had on the ps3. I can't wait for the sequel! This isn't a really a review just a quick summary but please if you are looking for a good game at a good price check out Dead Space. Amazing.
  14. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    I have a soft spot for this game. This was my very first game i got for the PS3, hell i got it before i got a PS3. I find just about perfect, the edge of your seat excitement that many horror games are missing today. I can honestly say i have played this game 5 times, i love it that much. The sheer thrill of blasting apart a necramorph, the jump out your seat shriek of the enemy never gets old. I do have to say that by my 3rd play-though i could memorize the sequence of when i was going to be attacked, but it still shocked me on just how much fun that still is.The lighting is fantastic, the sounds are perfect, and the fact this game engulfs you into it by having no distracting hub is pure genius. Now, before i go ranting on about how much more i love this game, i do have to point out the faults. I am giving this game a perfect 10 because of just how much i love it, but that doesn't mean its perfect. I find the melee attacks useless, i know that its a smart idea to make sure Isaac isn't a karate master, but waving your arm around is just useless. The other part is that the text screens, such as instructions or collectible info, are so small its almost impossible to read. I do play this game on a HD TV, but i still cant see a thing. Though it should be mentioned that neither of these things ruin the experience, they just seem like an idea that didn't work. This game is a blast, though isn't for those with weak stomachs. I also don't understand why the PS3 version got a lower score, I have played both and could not find a difference but the controller. No matter what, this game will put you on the edge and make you want more. Expand
  15. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    Dead Space! The graphics are spectacular! The sound and environments too! The difficult is very ambiguous, some levels are very easy and others are very difficult both that I crashed the control against my TV....

    In General, This is a very good game, Dead space has a dye how between Shooter and Survival Horror...
    Good game!
  16. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    brilliant i LOVED this game, this is why i'm a gamer. solid clever design, great guns and monsters with enjoyable fun puzzle elements. This really was a nice surprise in an era swamped by endless cash cow FPS multi player games with 5 hour single player and multi players FULL of glitching 14 yr olds
  17. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    This is one of the most goriest, scariest, most awesome and epic game I've never played before. I would say it's the goriest game ever....well, same with Mortal Kombat. The story is unbelievably amazing, I didn't expect it to be that interesting. The scare parts is actually scary. When an alien or something pops right behind me, I jump off my chair screaming. The aliens are interesting looking too. However, the boss levels are a little too easy, I actually got through the final boss without dying once. The main character, Isaac Clarke is cool and interesting to play as. The similar part about this game is that it looks like Resident Evil 4, except this game is more scary and interesting. If your a fan of a Third Person Shooter Horror genre, you will enjoy this game. Expand
  18. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    A true great. A stand alone great game with excellent graphics and story and everything the new Resi and Silent Hill wasn't. I have been playing games for 20+ years and this one has what I look for, a bit of polish and effort from the developers. Play on normal and the scarcity of the health etc is about right for new gamers and experienced gamers of that genre, its a challange and a claustrophobic and disturbing thrill ride. Its the Dino crisis of PS3 but hopefully the sequel won't be as dissapointing. Get on it. Expand
  19. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    I almost had heart attack during the play throughout , is gorgeous and is a masterpiece in the macabre setting, the tension is incredible, this will be a hard player to most of the fear franchise to top. The ending will make you run out of your house. Is masterpice in sound design .
  20. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    A wonderful, beautifully sci-fi horror game, that clearly took inspiration on Alien, The Thing and 2001 A Space Odyssey, but became its own beast for our greatest pleasure. Graphics are great, but it's with the sounds that the game really shine where it create a high tension experience. Danger may be (or not) at every corner... even behind you!
  21. May 6, 2011
    9
    This is the first and only game i ever got a platinum trophy on - it is that addicting to play. I beat this game fully 4 times - and each time through was different and fun. Achieving the "one gun" trophy is probably the top highlight.
    The atmosphere and graphics are top-notch, and the pop-up suit GUI is also amazing.
    Get this FPS!!!!
  22. May 1, 2011
    9
    First off, would like to say that for all those who complain about the pacing, it is a singular routed story that is trying to get from point A to B and is not suppose to be an open world exploratory because then it would lose the feel. Also, if the easiest setting was hard I beg to wonder what kind of games you have played prior. As for "repetitive" comments, please tell me what game within itself is not repetitive to some extent? What exactly was repetitive? Using "X" to open doors? Now, with all that this game is enjoyable both visually and playability. The controls were easy and fun to use, the camera control was easy and also helped to add dynamics and the diversity of weapons and abilities was great. The scare factor of the game was amazing and checks on all remarks of having that RE4 spook but higher. Fun twist in the story, though not out of the ordinary so don't expect to be blown away but still enjoyable. Loads of fun with the zero-gravity sections of the space-horror adventure and hoped there be more. Only complaints really would be that at times it would of been nice to have a "barrel roll" move to dodge and maneuver around groups of enemies and replay value is low outside of just achieving trophies. Still recommend it to be played and enjoyed at its simplicity and allow yourself to be taken into a scifi-horror roller coaster, Yippy Ki Aye MF! Expand
  23. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Dead Space is an amazing epic game! Graphics are nice and voice acting is credible. Story behind is quite interesting and you get tons of stressful situations. However, I must say that AI starts a bit off but gets much better during the game. Normal mode is quite easy but does not mean you should chose hard mode on your first round. Controls feel a bit weird at the beginning but you get use to it. Zero gravity is a pain in the ass but you can deal with it. Fortunately, Dead Space 2 shows lots of improvements and you definitely add them both to your collection. Did got any remarkable glitch, etc. Enjoy it!!! Expand
  24. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game is a classic. Nothing negative to say about this game, other than it could have been a little bit longer. If you don't have this game, go and get it.
  25. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    It's really frightening and intense. It had me tense along the whole game and the experience is awesome. A challenging game, and one of the best survival horror game I've played at this time.
  26. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Story: 8.5 out of 10 Graphics: 8.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 8.5 out of 10 Fun: 8.5 out of 10 Controls: 8.5 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8 out of 10
    Re-play: 7 out of 10
    Audio: 9 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: None
  27. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This game is great!! The game's pacing is excellent from beginning to end! First the story: I found it very interesting & compelling to boot it starts with Issac Clark & crew heading to a planet cracker class ship the ishimura to do a few repairs but soon as they get close things start to go wrong but when you get to the ishimura things get down right insane! Its Amos not for the faint of heart as the crew of the ishimura gets decimated in the WORST way imaginable,some even commit suicide by slitting their throats or blowing their heads off its quit graphic but I enjoyed this visceral experience from visceral games! Oh and your weapons(while not many)are a joy to use my favorite being the saw gun & flame thrower as you rip grotesque monsters limb from limb.literally lol this game does what resident evil quit giving survival horror gamers needed....a survival horror experience you'll enjoy until the very end!! Expand
  28. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I own. The horror elements and gameplay are both top notch. It'll have you both amazed and running for your life. Excellent game, almost a perfect ten.
  29. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty awesome. Tried it few years ago on PC, but didn't liked it. Now looking back I figure that controls on PC are really bad made and spoil whole game. With console controls it's completely different experience. Game is well done, great designed with really spooky atmosphere. Story is good and except some saving position issues (often you must watch some unskipable sequence from the start after you die) gameplay is well created and balanced. I also like that final boss is not invincible. Game concentrate rather to balancing whole game than making ultra hard final boss (similar like The Las Of Us). With better save position solution would be pure 10! Expand
  30. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    This is a very good game. One of the best survival-horror games in this generation. Graphics, music, atmosphere, gameplay and story are very good. Dead Space is scary and addictive game. "Only The Dead Survive"
  31. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I've always been a fan of horror games since the days of Resident Evil, and not till now have I been satisfied will this genre of games... until now!!! Dead Space takes horror survival games to a whole new level. I can't even count the number of times I almost shat my pants playing it... and guess what?! I loved each and every moment of it!
  32. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    "Dead Space" plays like a cross between "Resident Evil 4" and "Bioshock". It has a similar look to "Doom 3" but it also borrows from the sci fi horror films "Alien" and "Event Horizon". This is an incredibly scary game that fans of "Gears of War" will appreciate due to its gory action. In "Dead Space", players are cast as spaceship engineer Isaac Clarke, an "everyman" who is forced to play hero when all hell breaks loose. The game begins when Clarke's ship arrives at the location of a distress signal sent by a mining vessel named the USG Ishimura. Due to a guidance system malfunction, the rescue ship crash lands into the Ishimura dock. Shortly after, grotesque creatures composed of human body parts appear and kill the entire crew except for Isaac, his commander and a computer specialist. With their ship out of commission, Isaac is asked by his fellow shipmates to help power the abandoned Ishimura. As he gathers and repairs parts, he discovers audio tapes that explain the appearance of the "Necromorphs". "Dead Space" is a survival horror game that conveys a sense of anxiety and dread in every segment. But it's also a highly-innovative third-person shooter with a heads-up display that appears as holograms on Isaac's spacesuit and weapons. While it's not as great as "Bioshock", "Dead Space" is still an excellent title. It's one of the scariest games you'll ever play. Expand
  33. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    This game is and should be considered a masterpiece in the Survival Horror genre, Its got an amazing atmosphere that is captured well by the sound and style of the ship. The combat is unique and the graphics have stood the test of time! One of the best things in this game is the backstory, through out the game you pick up audio logs and text logs which explain what happened to the ships crew. There is only one error that I can find with this game and that error is that every weapon apart from your default weapon (Plasma Cutter) is useless!

    I don't know why everyone is saying the PC port is terrible because I haven't had any of the problems explained! Dirty Console Peasants!

    If you like Survival Horror games then you are going to really like this!
    Expand
  34. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    a true survival horror game this game takes what resident evil couldn't continue and with great graphics nice plot and really horrifying moments this game is simply great
  35. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Dead Space is a fantastic third person survival horror, only the second of it's kind (Resident Evil 4 is the only other one I can think of). Personally, I'm hard to scare, but this game really filled me with dread and panic. The HUD being integrated into the game, and the inventory screen not pausing the game were really good ideas from Viscreal, and they work perfectly. This game built up a whole universe, books, movies, spin-offs, and this universe is brilliant.

    The story is solid, and voice acting believable. Graphics were very good, and gory. Lots, and lots of gore. The enemies, Necromorphs, are absolutely terrifying, and are unique compared to generic zombies.

    My only real complaints, are that Issac himself is quite a boring character, (There are two times you can see his face, He's just a grey haired Genericon-5000), Issac also is mute (Magically gains the ability to speak in Dead Space 2) and a lot of the chapters are performing task after task to repair the ship, usually involving puzzles so simple that a dead fish could do them.

    Overall, the atmosphere is fantastic, the gameplay is fun, and technically it's solid.
    Expand
  36. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    I put off playing Dead Space for years, never truly knowing how good it would be, or how scary it would be. Now that I've finally played it, I can honestly say this is the best survival horror experience I have ever played.

    You start out as CEC Engineer Isaac Clarke who has been hired alongside colleagues Kendra Daniels and Zach Hammond to investigate the sudden shut down of the planet
    cracker class space station, the USG Ishimura. You arrive to find the ship has been taken over by space zombies, dubbed Necromorphs, and your objective at that point is to get off the ship while multiple obstacles hinder your progress.

    Immediately, the gameplay feels similar to Resident Evil. Using a gun with a laser point to hit weak spots of your enemies screams Resident Evil 4, but this game actually improves on the formula. You kill necromorphs by severing their limbs, which you do with the plasma cutter, a gun that shoots three plasma bullets in a horizontal or vertical direction and is displayed by a laser sight. Because you need to be precise, the shooting requires strategy over mindless shooting, which keeps the gameplay fun and refreshing.

    What I love most about Dead Space is the absolutely perfect atmosphere throughout the game. The whole ship is creepy, with dark hallways, random sounds, creepy enemies, and plenty of well executed jump scares. What adds to this is that the only flashlight you have is attached to your guns, so the only way to see in the dark is by aiming down your gun, which ultimately narrows your field of vision. All of these elements make for a truly scary gaming experience.

    One problem third person shooters always have in common is that they're not very good at aiming in close quarters, and because most of the necromorphs fight up close, the flaw needed to be remedied, and Dead Space does just that. Not only is Isaac able to move while aiming (which you can't do in Resident Evil 4 and 5), you also have the ability to punch and stomp with deadly affect, allowing you to give yourself some breathing room. Along with this, you have the stasis ability which allows you to slow your enemies for a short time.It's not perfect, and I do wish they would've added a combat roll, which there is room for, but it still works, unless you're swarmed with enemies. Then you're screwed.

    One of the most impressive features is the heads up display. There are no health meters or ammo counts on the sides of the screen like most games. In Dead Space, all the essential information you need is displayed on Isaac. Ammo count is displayed at the base of your gun and the meters for your health and stasis abilities are displayed on your back. Plus the map projects in front of you whenever you pull it up. The map interface may not be the best, but it gets the job done. All of these features and clever tweaks made to the Heads up display ultimately make the game more realistic, stopping you from looking at an icon in the corner prevents the game from breaking the immersion, and not being able to pause to look at the map keeps up the tension.

    Like most survival horror games, a key mechanic in Dead Space is item management. Breaking crates and killing enemies to find loot, ammo, and new items always satisfies, and what I love most is the storage system. In the game, there are shops to buy items and new outfits, but the main feature is the safe, in which you can store your items for later use, keeping your inventory open for new items. Along with the shop and safe, you also have the work bench, which allows you to use power nodes to upgrade your weapons, health, air, and your stasis and kenisis modules.

    The game impresses but it's also has it's problems. There are little things, like the bad map navigation, disorienting zero gravity environments, no combat roll, and the gameplay could get repetitive if you play for too long. However, the biggest flaw in the game is the turret sections. The turret sections are terrible, with loose aiming controls, guns that overheat way to quick, and crappy laser sights. These sections would've been miles better with a simple cross hair, but instead you got bad laser sights that all too often blended into the background, making aiming more than difficult. Luckily, there are only two of these sections, but I hate them both equally.

    Overall, the Dead Space may have it's hiccups, but it's not enough to take away from what is ultimately an amazing survival horror experience, and has turned me into a hardcore fan of the franchise and survival horror games in general. If you love horror games, you owe it to yourself to play this game, and even if you're not, you may still want to play it because it is simply that fun.
    Expand
  37. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    For me Dead Space is one of the best survival horror games that ive played. The tension and darkness in this game is really nerve wrecking, it really has an atmospheric setting, playing the game makes you feel like your actually their. The character Isaac Clark goes through a lot of The sound design and necromorph's are amazing and will make you jump out of your seat. This game was really hard to get the platinum, but i had to get it because i love this game so much. I can honestly say its in my top 10 games of all time, and it has my 3rd place in best survival horror games, right behind Resident Evil 4 and The Last of Us. Expand
  38. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people
    constantly say "Go there, make that," etc. Well, this is not the first game with a dumb hero, so I'm fine with that.
    Bottom line: if you love horror-action games, you should try this one.
    Expand
  39. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    a fresh new and impressive entry for the survival horror genre. genuinely scary, the game makes you feel isolated and alone, something that resident evil was famous for. the necromorphs are terrifying and every encounter is a spook, even though I thought I would get use to them. little bit weak on story and characters but the experience is truly unmatched.
  40. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    The game that both revitalised and eventually killed the survival horror genre. It hard to lump Dead Space in to a genre, it's not balls to the wall action and it's not a stand alone survival game. But it is scary as hell. Its the claustrophobic atmoshpere, the stunning lighting, the sound and the overwhelming sense of isolation, of being totally alone. This game, in my personal opinion, killed Resident Evil, Resident Evil 4 started the process, by being un-toppable by Capcom, but Dead Space provided the death blow. I've played through DS 3 times on 2 different consoles and PS3 has the defenitive version. 10/10 Expand
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Dead Space is a beautiful videogame, showing incredible polish and detail in both the visuals and the control. The amount of love and attention packed into this title is apparent, as scares and action are perfectly blended. What an incredibly impressive way for a new survival horror franchise to debut!
  2. A spectacular game which shows vividly that "Resident Evil" is not the king of survival horrors anymore.
  3. The combat is fast and frantic, the interface excellent, the controls responsive, and it provides an overall satisfying experience. While it's fun, though, there isn't much that's memorable about Dead Space. It feels like patchwork that's been slapped together from other franchises, and it lacks a spirit of its own to make it stand out from the pack.