Dead Space PlayStation 3

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 568 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 568
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Who'd have thought that in 2013 we'd still be talking about Dead Space as this generations best horror game? Maybe that's a sad reflection about how Survival Horror games have become a bit of a niche genre in recent years but it's also testament to this games brilliance and enduring appeal. Pensonally this is the most intense experience I've ever had with a game. Even just loading the gameWho'd have thought that in 2013 we'd still be talking about Dead Space as this generations best horror game? Maybe that's a sad reflection about how Survival Horror games have become a bit of a niche genre in recent years but it's also testament to this games brilliance and enduring appeal. Pensonally this is the most intense experience I've ever had with a game. Even just loading the game up each night made me apprehensive and no other game has given me the same fear that I could be attacked from any direction and killed at any time. At times I was so apprehensive about what was round the next corner that I was literally inching my way along the corridors and at other times it even made me scream like a little girl!
    Many little touches contribute to making this scary but special mention must go to the masterful timing of the scares, the way tension is built plus the use of sound and music to create atmosphere is the best I've ever seen and it's all held together with great controls and gameplay.
    If you're still undecided about buying it after all these years i'd say don't hesitate because you're sure to get it very cheap now but more then that, Dead Space is not only a great Survival Horror but one of this generations must play games period.
    Expand
  2. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I'm a HUGE horror fan, and have been looking for a game that not only makes me jump but that actually scares me, This game did just that. The environment/atmosphere of this game is awsome and is kind of like a Bioshock in that aspect. Dead Space has a great story of survival and coming to realize what is going on in this ship. The graphics are great for a game that came out in 2008, and isI'm a HUGE horror fan, and have been looking for a game that not only makes me jump but that actually scares me, This game did just that. The environment/atmosphere of this game is awsome and is kind of like a Bioshock in that aspect. Dead Space has a great story of survival and coming to realize what is going on in this ship. The graphics are great for a game that came out in 2008, and is better graphically that some games that come out today. I highly reccommend this game to any horror fans or someone who wants a different kind of experience. Play this game at night, alone, in the dark, its awsome! Expand
  3. MarkD
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    First things first - Yes, this game is derivative. But when those influences include classic sci fi horror movies Aliens and The Thing and games like Resident Evil and Bioshock is that such a bad thing? Everything about this game is just so polished. The gameplay, graphics and sound are all top notch. The balance between challenging fast paced action and nerve shredding survival horror is First things first - Yes, this game is derivative. But when those influences include classic sci fi horror movies Aliens and The Thing and games like Resident Evil and Bioshock is that such a bad thing? Everything about this game is just so polished. The gameplay, graphics and sound are all top notch. The balance between challenging fast paced action and nerve shredding survival horror is spot on. Where this game truly excells (perhaps more then any other game ever) is the intense atmosphere. The way it keeps you on the edge of your seat at all times and constantly manages to catch you off guard is amazing. Many of the scariest moments come when your not even being attacked - things scuttle behind walls, rooms suddenly go dark ect. Sometimes the tension will build so much you'll be a bag of nerves, certain something is about to jump out on you but nothing will happen. Other times you'll feel you're safe and then, guess what, something horrible will happen to scare the living daylights out of you! This game is one of my top 5 PS3 games so far and more then gives Resident Evil a run for its money. In fact it may just be the scariest game ever. Just don't show it to your gran! Expand
  4. May 1, 2011
    9
    First off, would like to say that for all those who complain about the pacing, it is a singular routed story that is trying to get from point A to B and is not suppose to be an open world exploratory because then it would lose the feel. Also, if the easiest setting was hard I beg to wonder what kind of games you have played prior. As for "repetitive" comments, please tell me what gameFirst off, would like to say that for all those who complain about the pacing, it is a singular routed story that is trying to get from point A to B and is not suppose to be an open world exploratory because then it would lose the feel. Also, if the easiest setting was hard I beg to wonder what kind of games you have played prior. As for "repetitive" comments, please tell me what game within itself is not repetitive to some extent? What exactly was repetitive? Using "X" to open doors? Now, with all that this game is enjoyable both visually and playability. The controls were easy and fun to use, the camera control was easy and also helped to add dynamics and the diversity of weapons and abilities was great. The scare factor of the game was amazing and checks on all remarks of having that RE4 spook but higher. Fun twist in the story, though not out of the ordinary so don't expect to be blown away but still enjoyable. Loads of fun with the zero-gravity sections of the space-horror adventure and hoped there be more. Only complaints really would be that at times it would of been nice to have a "barrel roll" move to dodge and maneuver around groups of enemies and replay value is low outside of just achieving trophies. Still recommend it to be played and enjoyed at its simplicity and allow yourself to be taken into a scifi-horror roller coaster, Yippy Ki Aye MF! Expand
  5. May 11, 2015
    9
    I keep buying this game and have it on everything, I've completed it countless times and I still can't get enough of it. If it was an exclusive, it would've been a system seller. Everything about it is incredibly well designed, from the atmosphere to the controls and the elegant UI (or lack thereof) to the cinematic gameplay and sound design. Reminds me of Resident Evil crossed with SystemI keep buying this game and have it on everything, I've completed it countless times and I still can't get enough of it. If it was an exclusive, it would've been a system seller. Everything about it is incredibly well designed, from the atmosphere to the controls and the elegant UI (or lack thereof) to the cinematic gameplay and sound design. Reminds me of Resident Evil crossed with System Shock 2; Dead Space is probably one of the best 7th gen games ever made. Expand
  6. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    Dead Space is a rare game. It's a game that does a lot of things so well, but also has those detractors that hold it back from becoming one of the all time greats. In terms of presentation, it's magnificent. The great story unravels and increases in complexity as you go on, it's atmosphere is frightening and tense, and the graphics and artistic design are phenomenal. It may not be theDead Space is a rare game. It's a game that does a lot of things so well, but also has those detractors that hold it back from becoming one of the all time greats. In terms of presentation, it's magnificent. The great story unravels and increases in complexity as you go on, it's atmosphere is frightening and tense, and the graphics and artistic design are phenomenal. It may not be the scariest game out there, as it loses its fright factor nearing the end, but it maintains a psychological element that makes you think sometimes whats real, and how you yourself would keep composed in that environment. However when it comes to the gameplay, it offers a unique, innovative mechanic but doesn't expand on it. The gameplay ultimately becomes repetitive (though not necessarily boring) and leaves you wishing you could do more. This is what holds the game back from the podium. As scary as it is, you still want to be on that ship with things wanting to kill you, you wish that the terror could have gone on longer, and that killing creatures and putting things here and fixing that weren't the only objectives you had to do. You may argue that there may not have been that much else to do, yet you still wonder. Dead Space may be lacking in the interactive department, but it comes out as a remarkable experience that you'll be thinking about for awhile. Expand
  7. May 27, 2015
    9
    Very good. I'm very late to play this series, but Dead Space 1 is easily as good as (and better than most) next gen games currently available on the PS4 and 'Bone. Graphics are excellent, even by current standards, Story is excellent, Controls are logical and smooth - I can complete it on 'normal' difficulty and I'm no shooter expert. Gameplay is balanced from start to finish.
  8. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    I may disagree with the fact of if this game is scarey. I didn't really think it was all that much but I still enjoyed it none the less. It had some great moments and I love sci-fi and think that too few games go in this genre for whatever reason. And I mean galaxy sci-fi where you can see space and the sun with planets and galaxies, I love it, probably the reason I loved mass effect soI may disagree with the fact of if this game is scarey. I didn't really think it was all that much but I still enjoyed it none the less. It had some great moments and I love sci-fi and think that too few games go in this genre for whatever reason. And I mean galaxy sci-fi where you can see space and the sun with planets and galaxies, I love it, probably the reason I loved mass effect so much. But anyways this game is to action focused for me to be too scary but I loved the story and the setting and blasting away the necromorphs. This should be added to anyone who is serious about games' collection. Expand
  9. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Piranha 3D! Anyone who has seen that movie could argue that Dead Space shares its raw and merciless tone. Yet this game is so much more than that. Bash on the recycled plot line, or the level designs, or even how it may not be as scary. Say it's not perfect, but show me a game that is? As a major horror buff, this masterpiece promises and delivers beyond belief. It's made me feel such anPiranha 3D! Anyone who has seen that movie could argue that Dead Space shares its raw and merciless tone. Yet this game is so much more than that. Bash on the recycled plot line, or the level designs, or even how it may not be as scary. Say it's not perfect, but show me a game that is? As a major horror buff, this masterpiece promises and delivers beyond belief. It's made me feel such an overwhelming tension and paranoia no gaming moments could compare to. Dead Space uses its flaws to its advantage. It manages to be unique even with borrowed bits and pieces from games that inspired it. The plot evolves into shocking events here and there. The dismemberment mechanic is such a new thrill it won't get old easily. The way these creatures interact with you in their goal to shred you up makes for a clever and challenging experience. A lot of backtracking is done, but in the sense of the plot, it all goes together. The environments are varied up enough to keep things running. Also, with hidden secrets to find, collectibles to get, and puzzles to solve, it really isn't such a repetition like the first game in the Assassin's Creed series. Take it for what it is, a mysterious, twisted, bloody and crazy twelve hours that will have you pausing every few levels to build up your courage again. Let's cherish the original games, because sequels are known to not capture that lighting-in-a-bottle sense. Expand
  10. May 5, 2013
    8
    One of the scariest games that i have ever played! I am a huge fan of sci-fi and a huge fan of horror so i thought this game was absolutely awesome! With a great story and great bloody combat this is definitely one you need to pick up if you're a fan of either of those two genre's
  11. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Playing this game was a strange experience for me. I borrowed it from a friend and slowly completed it over a very long time span due to a whole heap of distractions but I have finally completed it. One of the first things you'll notice about the story is just how bad your luck is on this mission. In true horror fashion, anything that can go wrong will. This creates a lot of interestingPlaying this game was a strange experience for me. I borrowed it from a friend and slowly completed it over a very long time span due to a whole heap of distractions but I have finally completed it. One of the first things you'll notice about the story is just how bad your luck is on this mission. In true horror fashion, anything that can go wrong will. This creates a lot of interesting situations that you'll get thrown into. Granted they are all similar, basically get to a location to retrieve or activate something but the thrill comes from the atmosphere this game has and the journey to completing these objectives. The thing that makes this game great is its true horror feel. The atmosphere and tension play out like a good movie and the science fiction setting reminds me of the film Aliens, which is a good thing.
    A gripe I have with the game is just the older, clunkier controls. This game was older when I played it and this shows in the game's mechanics. Melee is clunky and hard to use and aiming and movement are slow compared to modern games. I also feel that some deaths were cheap. There were instances when I would get knocked over and an enemy would kill me as I was in the standing up animation and defenceless. I know an alien in real life wouldn't wait but I want to feel like that I can still survive in a survival horror game. Speaking of horror, this game nails it by introducing varied enemies at a near perfect pace. Just when you seemed to be fighting the same things, the game goes back to something that hasn't appeared in this level yet that you forgot about, or it shows you something entirely new. The game is also good at adding in a new plot point when things start to feel stale. In the midst of the very standard objective types, it is good that the game reminds you why your doing it and adds something new to keep you interested. The weapons are also interesting and using the good upgrade feature, most weapons will stay useful until the final boss with a few power nodes invested.

    I think I've covered everything now. The game has a truly great survival horror atmosphere as you play it and is paced very well with a story that starts well,slows a bit in the middle before ramping back up near the end. The game is let down by the basic and clunky feeling combat and backtracking to the same areas but for the most part I can definitely recommend it for someone who likes games with a great atmosphere like this.
    Expand
  12. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Dead Space is a fantastic third person survival horror, only the second of it's kind (Resident Evil 4 is the only other one I can think of). Personally, I'm hard to scare, but this game really filled me with dread and panic. The HUD being integrated into the game, and the inventory screen not pausing the game were really good ideas from Viscreal, and they work perfectly. This game built upDead Space is a fantastic third person survival horror, only the second of it's kind (Resident Evil 4 is the only other one I can think of). Personally, I'm hard to scare, but this game really filled me with dread and panic. The HUD being integrated into the game, and the inventory screen not pausing the game were really good ideas from Viscreal, and they work perfectly. This game built up a whole universe, books, movies, spin-offs, and this universe is brilliant.

    The story is solid, and voice acting believable. Graphics were very good, and gory. Lots, and lots of gore. The enemies, Necromorphs, are absolutely terrifying, and are unique compared to generic zombies.

    My only real complaints, are that Issac himself is quite a boring character, (There are two times you can see his face, He's just a grey haired Genericon-5000), Issac also is mute (Magically gains the ability to speak in Dead Space 2) and a lot of the chapters are performing task after task to repair the ship, usually involving puzzles so simple that a dead fish could do them.

    Overall, the atmosphere is fantastic, the gameplay is fun, and technically it's solid.
    Expand
  13. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    a fresh new and impressive entry for the survival horror genre. genuinely scary, the game makes you feel isolated and alone, something that resident evil was famous for. the necromorphs are terrifying and every encounter is a spook, even though I thought I would get use to them. little bit weak on story and characters but the experience is truly unmatched.
  14. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    The game that both revitalised and eventually killed the survival horror genre. It hard to lump Dead Space in to a genre, it's not balls to the wall action and it's not a stand alone survival game. But it is scary as hell. Its the claustrophobic atmoshpere, the stunning lighting, the sound and the overwhelming sense of isolation, of being totally alone. This game, in my personalThe game that both revitalised and eventually killed the survival horror genre. It hard to lump Dead Space in to a genre, it's not balls to the wall action and it's not a stand alone survival game. But it is scary as hell. Its the claustrophobic atmoshpere, the stunning lighting, the sound and the overwhelming sense of isolation, of being totally alone. This game, in my personal opinion, killed Resident Evil, Resident Evil 4 started the process, by being un-toppable by Capcom, but Dead Space provided the death blow. I've played through DS 3 times on 2 different consoles and PS3 has the defenitive version. 10/10 Expand
  15. Oct 17, 2015
    8
    Dead Space
    Beginning, end, and a bunch of dead space.
    Dead Space is a 3rd person shooter, survival horror game. You start the game out on a rescue mission, and you crash on a giant ship, you quickly find out that some crazy stuff is going on, and by quickly, I mean like, 3 minutes in and you’re ready to go home. Dead space is absolutely terrifying. The game is dark, takes place in
    Dead Space
    Beginning, end, and a bunch of dead space.
    Dead Space is a 3rd person shooter, survival horror game.
    You start the game out on a rescue mission, and you crash on a giant ship, you quickly find out that some crazy stuff is going on, and by quickly, I mean like, 3 minutes in and you’re ready to go home.
    Dead space is absolutely terrifying.
    The game is dark, takes place in this massive ship you crash landed on and this ship is crawling with creepy alien creatures.
    They come out of nowhere, it’s almost impossible to tell when or when they aren’t going to come after you.
    They crawl out of vents, you’ll see them and think great time for a showdown, and nothing happens, or you’ll completely miss the vents on the ceiling and one will hop down on top of you.
    You never get used them.
    Maybe eventually you do... but as soon as you do, they fix that.
    The terror is nonstop from beginning til end.
    These encounters are so terrifying because they are spread out perfectly.
    You spend more time relaxed running through dark halls than you do actually fighting.
    You can fight off these creatures with guns or stomp them to death.
    There are a variety of schematics you’ll find on the ship that you can take back to the store to purchase a new suit upgrade or a new weapon.
    You can carry up to 4 weapons at a time, and more ammo and med packs as you level up your suit.
    You can also collect power nodes to level up your weapons.
    Dead Space does a great job of giving you plenty of ammo while at the same time making you feel like you hardly have any, always keeping you tense.
    The downside though is that Dead Space is insanely repetitive.
    It’s hard to notice for the first 4 chapters of the game because the world feels so fresh, and you can’t help but smile at the influence modern games have borrowed from dead space, but all 12 chapters is nonstop follow the line, shoot things in your way, press the button, come back, do this about 3 or 4 times, get to the train, repeat chapter after chapter after chapter.
    Then they add in 0 gravity sections which can be pretty cool, but it quickly becomes boring and seems far too gimmicky as it was way over used.
    1 or 2 awesome 0 gravity sections would’ve been plenty enough.
    The ability to slow time and use telekinesis does make some sections a tiny bit more interesting and there are a handful of bosses in dead space, but none of them really stuck out of felt special to me.
    Dead Space is a horror game classic way ahead of its time and a must play for horror fans.
    I found the game insanely addictive at times, even though it tends to drag things out just a little too long.
    For what it is
    3rd Person Shooter/Survival Horror
    8/10

    Overall:
    8/10
    Expand
  16. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Survival horror at it´s best! Nothing more and nothing less! Great story, a fantastic atmosphere and terrifying enemies making this game to one of my all time favorites!
  17. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    this game is true survivle horror . it takes over where resident evil has lost its path . the game actaully tries to and does a fairly decent job at being scarry . this game also is best played on hard or impossable diffuculty . forget easy and normal you will have way to much ammo and the game isnt even a challange . impossable is the most fun thats when the game feels tense and athis game is true survivle horror . it takes over where resident evil has lost its path . the game actaully tries to and does a fairly decent job at being scarry . this game also is best played on hard or impossable diffuculty . forget easy and normal you will have way to much ammo and the game isnt even a challange . impossable is the most fun thats when the game feels tense and a constent worry of do i have enough ammo should i run from the enimy or kill him? then enimys will jump into vents if you try to run and dropped down on you as you try to escape . it captures what i want theese kinds of games to do for me . make me tense and worried about my sitaution . it controls just like resident evil 4 and plays pretty much the same . the sound effects are really well done not as good as what some of the silent hill games have done to where there is constent noises that keep you on edge wondering is some thing there but the music can really get to you . espicially when you hear the erie twinkle twinkle little star song being sung . the story is well told and the feeling of being stranded on a dead space ship is done very well. the wepon selection feels differnt and uniqe . my only gripe with this game is that the final boss battle is just to easy even on impossable he is easily beatin with out even being touched but overal this game did what i was hoping it would do bring survivle horror back to where it belongs . hope the sequel does this all again. Expand
  18. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i found this was an alright game and in the begining i was so scared that i could only play this game for about 30 mins at a time but eventually it became repetitive and i stopped getting scared and was able to look at it like a normal gameinstead of a horror movie that i could pause whenever i want and start back up again later. i liked the endidng of the game but i am unsure if it his dead wife was actually on board with him as he escaped or if it was part of his insanity. either way i loved this game in the begining then that waned to contempt for the game and i liked how it is not that comlicated to figure every thing out sure you will die loads but you will eventually get it right. this is a must play but i am not sure if it is a must own but i liked it so ill hang onto it Expand
  19. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I just played 10 minutes of this game and I like it puts it like Resident Evil games with a challenge to it's name.
    But it's in space theme I think that the monsters does not look too great when you see the big leg things that attack you they look not in detail enough more like a PS2 graphic which I wanted a more like Doom theme with zombies with guns or something.
    Controls feel right
    I just played 10 minutes of this game and I like it puts it like Resident Evil games with a challenge to it's name.
    But it's in space theme I think that the monsters does not look too great when you see the big leg things that attack you they look not in detail enough more like a PS2 graphic which I wanted a more like Doom theme with zombies with guns or something.

    Controls feel right on too well I enjoyed this so I think you will too.
    Expand
  20. antonisp
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    The most frightening game I have ever played in my life. I first scared in my life with RE1 when I was 14 back then. From then I have played all survivor horror games like silent hill , alone in the dark all the next resident evils and many others I cannot remember. Then at the age of 26 I played Dead Space and guess what? I jumped of my seat! A brilliant atmospharic game that will not The most frightening game I have ever played in my life. I first scared in my life with RE1 when I was 14 back then. From then I have played all survivor horror games like silent hill , alone in the dark all the next resident evils and many others I cannot remember. Then at the age of 26 I played Dead Space and guess what? I jumped of my seat! A brilliant atmospharic game that will not leave get bored for not even 1 minute. Congratulations to the developers and I want to see coop in the next game.! Expand
  21. May 6, 2011
    9
    This is the first and only game i ever got a platinum trophy on - it is that addicting to play. I beat this game fully 4 times - and each time through was different and fun. Achieving the "one gun" trophy is probably the top highlight.
    The atmosphere and graphics are top-notch, and the pop-up suit GUI is also amazing.
    Get this FPS!!!!
  22. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty awesome. Tried it few years ago on PC, but didn't liked it. Now looking back I figure that controls on PC are really bad made and spoil whole game. With console controls it's completely different experience. Game is well done, great designed with really spooky atmosphere. Story is good and except some saving position issues (often you must watch some unskipable sequenceThis game is pretty awesome. Tried it few years ago on PC, but didn't liked it. Now looking back I figure that controls on PC are really bad made and spoil whole game. With console controls it's completely different experience. Game is well done, great designed with really spooky atmosphere. Story is good and except some saving position issues (often you must watch some unskipable sequence from the start after you die) gameplay is well created and balanced. I also like that final boss is not invincible. Game concentrate rather to balancing whole game than making ultra hard final boss (similar like The Las Of Us). With better save position solution would be pure 10! Expand
  23. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    "Dead Space" plays like a cross between "Resident Evil 4" and "Bioshock". It has a similar look to "Doom 3" but it also borrows from the sci fi horror films "Alien" and "Event Horizon". This is an incredibly scary game that fans of "Gears of War" will appreciate due to its gory action. In "Dead Space", players are cast as spaceship engineer Isaac Clarke, an "everyman" who is forced to play"Dead Space" plays like a cross between "Resident Evil 4" and "Bioshock". It has a similar look to "Doom 3" but it also borrows from the sci fi horror films "Alien" and "Event Horizon". This is an incredibly scary game that fans of "Gears of War" will appreciate due to its gory action. In "Dead Space", players are cast as spaceship engineer Isaac Clarke, an "everyman" who is forced to play hero when all hell breaks loose. The game begins when Clarke's ship arrives at the location of a distress signal sent by a mining vessel named the USG Ishimura. Due to a guidance system malfunction, the rescue ship crash lands into the Ishimura dock. Shortly after, grotesque creatures composed of human body parts appear and kill the entire crew except for Isaac, his commander and a computer specialist. With their ship out of commission, Isaac is asked by his fellow shipmates to help power the abandoned Ishimura. As he gathers and repairs parts, he discovers audio tapes that explain the appearance of the "Necromorphs". "Dead Space" is a survival horror game that conveys a sense of anxiety and dread in every segment. But it's also a highly-innovative third-person shooter with a heads-up display that appears as holograms on Isaac's spacesuit and weapons. While it's not as great as "Bioshock", "Dead Space" is still an excellent title. It's one of the scariest games you'll ever play. Expand
  24. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    This game is and should be considered a masterpiece in the Survival Horror genre, Its got an amazing atmosphere that is captured well by the sound and style of the ship. The combat is unique and the graphics have stood the test of time! One of the best things in this game is the backstory, through out the game you pick up audio logs and text logs which explain what happened to the shipsThis game is and should be considered a masterpiece in the Survival Horror genre, Its got an amazing atmosphere that is captured well by the sound and style of the ship. The combat is unique and the graphics have stood the test of time! One of the best things in this game is the backstory, through out the game you pick up audio logs and text logs which explain what happened to the ships crew. There is only one error that I can find with this game and that error is that every weapon apart from your default weapon (Plasma Cutter) is useless!

    I don't know why everyone is saying the PC port is terrible because I haven't had any of the problems explained! Dirty Console Peasants!

    If you like Survival Horror games then you are going to really like this!
    Expand
  25. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    For me Dead Space is one of the best survival horror games that ive played. The tension and darkness in this game is really nerve wrecking, it really has an atmospheric setting, playing the game makes you feel like your actually their. The character Isaac Clark goes through a lot of The sound design and necromorph's are amazing and will make you jump out of your seat. This game was reallyFor me Dead Space is one of the best survival horror games that ive played. The tension and darkness in this game is really nerve wrecking, it really has an atmospheric setting, playing the game makes you feel like your actually their. The character Isaac Clark goes through a lot of The sound design and necromorph's are amazing and will make you jump out of your seat. This game was really hard to get the platinum, but i had to get it because i love this game so much. I can honestly say its in my top 10 games of all time, and it has my 3rd place in best survival horror games, right behind Resident Evil 4 and The Last of Us. Expand
  26. AnonymousMC
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    ok this game is amazing and all the technical glitches the critics are talking about dont really exist in my opinion. this game is perfect and should be alot higher than an 88, oh and for all you people who actually want to see coop in the next installment...you are all idiots. this game is ment to played alone in a basement with the surround sound kranked up so high that the house shakes.ok this game is amazing and all the technical glitches the critics are talking about dont really exist in my opinion. this game is perfect and should be alot higher than an 88, oh and for all you people who actually want to see coop in the next installment...you are all idiots. this game is ment to played alone in a basement with the surround sound kranked up so high that the house shakes. now that is one hell of a gaming experience. Expand
  27. JackH
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    I'll try to be brief here. This game is nothing short of intense. I've played and beaten Resident Evil 4 two and a half times and thoroughly enjoyed it...however Dead Space is much more intense and graphic/horrifying than any other survival horror game I've ever played. Truly worth every penny of the purchase price. I was gripping my seat the entire time...not one moment I'll try to be brief here. This game is nothing short of intense. I've played and beaten Resident Evil 4 two and a half times and thoroughly enjoyed it...however Dead Space is much more intense and graphic/horrifying than any other survival horror game I've ever played. Truly worth every penny of the purchase price. I was gripping my seat the entire time...not one moment felt safe...and that rules. Also, being smart while playing this really pays off. Really gives a sense of added realism. As one of the critic reviews stated, this game is like a mesh b/w Event Horizon and Aliens. I also feel it is like the movie "Sunshine" (the sci-fi). Crew has to go check on a fellow crew's ship, etc. no life*. lol. Anyway. buy this, you won't regret it. Expand
  28. Stumped
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    Okay, I'm close to no longer using metacritic for my game reviews...honestly. They leave out professional reviews sometimes, and wait forever to post reviews that users submit otherwise. I really enjoyed deadspace, but was wondering how the xbox360 version could get a 90/100 and watch PS3's plummit to an 88/100 from 90. Metacritic, you have yet to include GamePro's and Okay, I'm close to no longer using metacritic for my game reviews...honestly. They leave out professional reviews sometimes, and wait forever to post reviews that users submit otherwise. I really enjoyed deadspace, but was wondering how the xbox360 version could get a 90/100 and watch PS3's plummit to an 88/100 from 90. Metacritic, you have yet to include GamePro's and Gamespot's review for this game into the PS3 Scoring. please keep up. Expand
  29. MikeC.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    This game is really a spectacle of fear and darkness, although in the opening parts of the game, people familiar with Doom 3 might feel there is a similarity between the story line, a mining colony gone wrong. The game drops you into powerfully atmospheric environments and just builds tension the whole way through. As I played this game I literally felt how tense I was going around every This game is really a spectacle of fear and darkness, although in the opening parts of the game, people familiar with Doom 3 might feel there is a similarity between the story line, a mining colony gone wrong. The game drops you into powerfully atmospheric environments and just builds tension the whole way through. As I played this game I literally felt how tense I was going around every corner. A HUGE NOTE: I think to get the best experience with this game, have high-quality sound (surround if possible), it will really make the difference. As the story line progresses it may seem to be dry at times with somewhat silly objectives, but I think it's very easy to ignore this as you will be biting your lip in anticipation of a monster jumping at you from behind. All in all this game is really intense graphically & atmospherically, not for the weak of heart, but definitely a must-try, it won't appeal to everyone, but if the survival horror genre is for you, don't miss out! Expand
  30. PedroD.
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    Great game. Think Half Life meets the Thing, meets Event Horizon.Had me hooked from the first 30 seconds. It's a little jumpy at times when playing in the dark and 5.1 surround. Definitely gets your blood pumping but it's a damn good rush. Last game that had me this hooked was Half Life 2.
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Dead Space is a beautiful videogame, showing incredible polish and detail in both the visuals and the control. The amount of love and attention packed into this title is apparent, as scares and action are perfectly blended. What an incredibly impressive way for a new survival horror franchise to debut!
  2. A spectacular game which shows vividly that "Resident Evil" is not the king of survival horrors anymore.
  3. The combat is fast and frantic, the interface excellent, the controls responsive, and it provides an overall satisfying experience. While it's fun, though, there isn't much that's memorable about Dead Space. It feels like patchwork that's been slapped together from other franchises, and it lacks a spirit of its own to make it stand out from the pack.