User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 484 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 14 out of 484

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkD
    Feb 12, 2009
    9
    First things first - Yes, this game is derivative. But when those influences include classic sci fi horror movies Aliens and The Thing and games like Resident Evil and Bioshock is that such a bad thing? Everything about this game is just so polished. The gameplay, graphics and sound are all top notch. The balance between challenging fast paced action and nerve shredding survival horror is First things first - Yes, this game is derivative. But when those influences include classic sci fi horror movies Aliens and The Thing and games like Resident Evil and Bioshock is that such a bad thing? Everything about this game is just so polished. The gameplay, graphics and sound are all top notch. The balance between challenging fast paced action and nerve shredding survival horror is spot on. Where this game truly excells (perhaps more then any other game ever) is the intense atmosphere. The way it keeps you on the edge of your seat at all times and constantly manages to catch you off guard is amazing. Many of the scariest moments come when your not even being attacked - things scuttle behind walls, rooms suddenly go dark ect. Sometimes the tension will build so much you'll be a bag of nerves, certain something is about to jump out on you but nothing will happen. Other times you'll feel you're safe and then, guess what, something horrible will happen to scare the living daylights out of you! This game is one of my top 5 PS3 games so far and more then gives Resident Evil a run for its money. In fact it may just be the scariest game ever. Just don't show it to your gran! Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2013
    9
    Who'd have thought that in 2013 we'd still be talking about Dead Space as this generations best horror game? Maybe that's a sad reflection about how Survival Horror games have become a bit of a niche genre in recent years but it's also testament to this games brilliance and enduring appeal. Pensonally this is the most intense experience I've ever had with a game. Even just loading the gameWho'd have thought that in 2013 we'd still be talking about Dead Space as this generations best horror game? Maybe that's a sad reflection about how Survival Horror games have become a bit of a niche genre in recent years but it's also testament to this games brilliance and enduring appeal. Pensonally this is the most intense experience I've ever had with a game. Even just loading the game up each night made me apprehensive and no other game has given me the same fear that I could be attacked from any direction and killed at any time. At times I was so apprehensive about what was round the next corner that I was literally inching my way along the corridors and at other times it even made me scream like a little girl!
    Many little touches contribute to making this scary but special mention must go to the masterful timing of the scares, the way tension is built plus the use of sound and music to create atmosphere is the best I've ever seen and it's all held together with great controls and gameplay.
    If you're still undecided about buying it after all these years i'd say don't hesitate because you're sure to get it very cheap now but more then that, Dead Space is not only a great Survival Horror but one of this generations must play games period.
    Expand
  3. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I'm a HUGE horror fan, and have been looking for a game that not only makes me jump but that actually scares me, This game did just that. The environment/atmosphere of this game is awsome and is kind of like a Bioshock in that aspect. Dead Space has a great story of survival and coming to realize what is going on in this ship. The graphics are great for a game that came out in 2008, and isI'm a HUGE horror fan, and have been looking for a game that not only makes me jump but that actually scares me, This game did just that. The environment/atmosphere of this game is awsome and is kind of like a Bioshock in that aspect. Dead Space has a great story of survival and coming to realize what is going on in this ship. The graphics are great for a game that came out in 2008, and is better graphically that some games that come out today. I highly reccommend this game to any horror fans or someone who wants a different kind of experience. Play this game at night, alone, in the dark, its awsome! Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2012
    9
    I may disagree with the fact of if this game is scarey. I didn't really think it was all that much but I still enjoyed it none the less. It had some great moments and I love sci-fi and think that too few games go in this genre for whatever reason. And I mean galaxy sci-fi where you can see space and the sun with planets and galaxies, I love it, probably the reason I loved mass effect soI may disagree with the fact of if this game is scarey. I didn't really think it was all that much but I still enjoyed it none the less. It had some great moments and I love sci-fi and think that too few games go in this genre for whatever reason. And I mean galaxy sci-fi where you can see space and the sun with planets and galaxies, I love it, probably the reason I loved mass effect so much. But anyways this game is to action focused for me to be too scary but I loved the story and the setting and blasting away the necromorphs. This should be added to anyone who is serious about games' collection. Expand
  5. Dec 25, 2012
    9
    Piranha 3D! Anyone who has seen that movie could argue that Dead Space shares its raw and merciless tone. Yet this game is so much more than that. Bash on the recycled plot line, or the level designs, or even how it may not be as scary. Say it's not perfect, but show me a game that is? As a major horror buff, this masterpiece promises and delivers beyond belief. It's made me feel such anPiranha 3D! Anyone who has seen that movie could argue that Dead Space shares its raw and merciless tone. Yet this game is so much more than that. Bash on the recycled plot line, or the level designs, or even how it may not be as scary. Say it's not perfect, but show me a game that is? As a major horror buff, this masterpiece promises and delivers beyond belief. It's made me feel such an overwhelming tension and paranoia no gaming moments could compare to. Dead Space uses its flaws to its advantage. It manages to be unique even with borrowed bits and pieces from games that inspired it. The plot evolves into shocking events here and there. The dismemberment mechanic is such a new thrill it won't get old easily. The way these creatures interact with you in their goal to shred you up makes for a clever and challenging experience. A lot of backtracking is done, but in the sense of the plot, it all goes together. The environments are varied up enough to keep things running. Also, with hidden secrets to find, collectibles to get, and puzzles to solve, it really isn't such a repetition like the first game in the Assassin's Creed series. Take it for what it is, a mysterious, twisted, bloody and crazy twelve hours that will have you pausing every few levels to build up your courage again. Let's cherish the original games, because sequels are known to not capture that lighting-in-a-bottle sense. Expand
  6. May 5, 2013
    8
    One of the scariest games that i have ever played! I am a huge fan of sci-fi and a huge fan of horror so i thought this game was absolutely awesome! With a great story and great bloody combat this is definitely one you need to pick up if you're a fan of either of those two genre's
  7. Apr 12, 2013
    9
    I just played 10 minutes of this game and I like it puts it like Resident Evil games with a challenge to it's name.
    But it's in space theme I think that the monsters does not look too great when you see the big leg things that attack you they look not in detail enough more like a PS2 graphic which I wanted a more like Doom theme with zombies with guns or something.
    Controls feel right
    I just played 10 minutes of this game and I like it puts it like Resident Evil games with a challenge to it's name.
    But it's in space theme I think that the monsters does not look too great when you see the big leg things that attack you they look not in detail enough more like a PS2 graphic which I wanted a more like Doom theme with zombies with guns or something.

    Controls feel right on too well I enjoyed this so I think you will too.
    Expand
  8. Nov 21, 2010
    10
    this game is true survivle horror . it takes over where resident evil has lost its path . the game actaully tries to and does a fairly decent job at being scarry . this game also is best played on hard or impossable diffuculty . forget easy and normal you will have way to much ammo and the game isnt even a challange . impossable is the most fun thats when the game feels tense and athis game is true survivle horror . it takes over where resident evil has lost its path . the game actaully tries to and does a fairly decent job at being scarry . this game also is best played on hard or impossable diffuculty . forget easy and normal you will have way to much ammo and the game isnt even a challange . impossable is the most fun thats when the game feels tense and a constent worry of do i have enough ammo should i run from the enimy or kill him? then enimys will jump into vents if you try to run and dropped down on you as you try to escape . it captures what i want theese kinds of games to do for me . make me tense and worried about my sitaution . it controls just like resident evil 4 and plays pretty much the same . the sound effects are really well done not as good as what some of the silent hill games have done to where there is constent noises that keep you on edge wondering is some thing there but the music can really get to you . espicially when you hear the erie twinkle twinkle little star song being sung . the story is well told and the feeling of being stranded on a dead space ship is done very well. the wepon selection feels differnt and uniqe . my only gripe with this game is that the final boss battle is just to easy even on impossable he is easily beatin with out even being touched but overal this game did what i was hoping it would do bring survivle horror back to where it belongs . hope the sequel does this all again. Expand
  9. Mar 17, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i found this was an alright game and in the begining i was so scared that i could only play this game for about 30 mins at a time but eventually it became repetitive and i stopped getting scared and was able to look at it like a normal gameinstead of a horror movie that i could pause whenever i want and start back up again later. i liked the endidng of the game but i am unsure if it his dead wife was actually on board with him as he escaped or if it was part of his insanity. either way i loved this game in the begining then that waned to contempt for the game and i liked how it is not that comlicated to figure every thing out sure you will die loads but you will eventually get it right. this is a must play but i am not sure if it is a must own but i liked it so ill hang onto it Expand
  10. Jul 4, 2012
    6
    A good game. Not a great game. This is another example of a game getting too much credit solely for it's graphics and unique concept. The gameplay itself is quite repetitive and consists mostly of walking into rooms, waiting for something to jump out, then shooting it - repeat this pattern about a hundred times and you have the gameplay of Dead Space. There are some interesting parts thatA good game. Not a great game. This is another example of a game getting too much credit solely for it's graphics and unique concept. The gameplay itself is quite repetitive and consists mostly of walking into rooms, waiting for something to jump out, then shooting it - repeat this pattern about a hundred times and you have the gameplay of Dead Space. There are some interesting parts that break up the monotony, but those moments are too few and far between. Expand
  11. May 30, 2011
    7
    Great story driven third person shooter though not nearly as frightening as advertised.

    Dead Space had me going from the start. The game starts out tense and only gets more interesting as time goes on. The entire game takes place on a derelict ship orbiting a mining colony on some distant planet. Almost the entire game takes place on the ship, but the different sections are varied
    Great story driven third person shooter though not nearly as frightening as advertised.

    Dead Space had me going from the start. The game starts out tense and only gets more interesting as time goes on. The entire game takes place on a derelict ship orbiting a mining colony on some distant planet. Almost the entire game takes place on the ship, but the different sections are varied enough that things donâ
    Collapse
  12. EricP
    May 22, 2009
    5
    Pros: high creep-factor keeps you on edge; slick interface. Cons: unoriginal, repetitive, at times frustrating. Review: Although it's a pretty new game (late 2008), it adds nothing novel to the genre. If you've played similar shooters like Resident Evil 4 (wii), this will feel so familiar that you probably can't muster any interest. Been there, done that. Of course, it is Pros: high creep-factor keeps you on edge; slick interface. Cons: unoriginal, repetitive, at times frustrating. Review: Although it's a pretty new game (late 2008), it adds nothing novel to the genre. If you've played similar shooters like Resident Evil 4 (wii), this will feel so familiar that you probably can't muster any interest. Been there, done that. Of course, it is very slick, with solid graphics and neat interface. But the map is so slick it's unusable, forcing you to constantly rely on the "cheater" beacon. The game struggles to create concern for your character or the storyline... it mainly feels like simply a standard zombie shooter. Everything feels highly scripted, and you can never go off-track and improvise at all; there is simply no "intelligence" programmed in. For example, if you're standing on a ledge, you can't just go forward and fall/jump down; you hit an invisible wall and must instead go find the ramp you came up. Considering other games like Bioshock --which you can easily play multiple times without boring of the story or the infinite ways to fight enemies due to the amazingly improvisational programming -- it's amazing Dead Space is so favorably rated. Probably enjoyable if it's your first FPS game. But if you've played Bioshock, you'll have a hard time finding the patience for Dead Space. Expand
  13. Jan 10, 2011
    4
    Although I seem to be in a very small minority, I just don't like this game. Firstly, it's really difficult, even on the easiest difficulty level. Secondly, it's too frightening to play for any length of time. I don't like the sensation of being in a state of panic for hours on end. Thirdly, it's too long and doesn't change up the pacing or variety enough.
  14. antonisp
    Feb 6, 2009
    10
    The most frightening game I have ever played in my life. I first scared in my life with RE1 when I was 14 back then. From then I have played all survivor horror games like silent hill , alone in the dark all the next resident evils and many others I cannot remember. Then at the age of 26 I played Dead Space and guess what? I jumped of my seat! A brilliant atmospharic game that will not The most frightening game I have ever played in my life. I first scared in my life with RE1 when I was 14 back then. From then I have played all survivor horror games like silent hill , alone in the dark all the next resident evils and many others I cannot remember. Then at the age of 26 I played Dead Space and guess what? I jumped of my seat! A brilliant atmospharic game that will not leave get bored for not even 1 minute. Congratulations to the developers and I want to see coop in the next game.! Expand
  15. Jan 23, 2011
    6
    The atmosphere of this game is simply brilliant. I played it in 5.1 and the sounds... omg. But the game in itself becomes boring and frustrating after a while.

    It is too repetitive, and at some points it is too difficult. For example when you are shooting the asteroids... Maybe on the PC version it's easier to play because you have more control with the mouse... All in all it is not a
    The atmosphere of this game is simply brilliant. I played it in 5.1 and the sounds... omg. But the game in itself becomes boring and frustrating after a while.

    It is too repetitive, and at some points it is too difficult. For example when you are shooting the asteroids... Maybe on the PC version it's easier to play because you have more control with the mouse...

    All in all it is not a bad game. I hope they will fix those problems in DS2.
    Expand
  16. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    This game is pretty awesome. Tried it few years ago on PC, but didn't liked it. Now looking back I figure that controls on PC are really bad made and spoil whole game. With console controls it's completely different experience. Game is well done, great designed with really spooky atmosphere. Story is good and except some saving position issues (often you must watch some unskipable sequenceThis game is pretty awesome. Tried it few years ago on PC, but didn't liked it. Now looking back I figure that controls on PC are really bad made and spoil whole game. With console controls it's completely different experience. Game is well done, great designed with really spooky atmosphere. Story is good and except some saving position issues (often you must watch some unskipable sequence from the start after you die) gameplay is well created and balanced. I also like that final boss is not invincible. Game concentrate rather to balancing whole game than making ultra hard final boss (similar like The Las Of Us). With better save position solution would be pure 10! Expand
  17. Oct 7, 2012
    2
    I rated this at a 2, to be nice. I bought it, tried and had regret after I played it. I really tried to give this a good try. The game mechanics were just annoying. The story reminded me of a cross between Doom and Quake 4. Both good games, but this game missed the mark for me. I am glad others enjoyed it, but this is one game I will never miss. Everyone says it's scary....I just wonderI rated this at a 2, to be nice. I bought it, tried and had regret after I played it. I really tried to give this a good try. The game mechanics were just annoying. The story reminded me of a cross between Doom and Quake 4. Both good games, but this game missed the mark for me. I am glad others enjoyed it, but this is one game I will never miss. Everyone says it's scary....I just wonder how. I hate writing negative reviews, it just feels wrong. Expand
  18. Oct 13, 2013
    10
    For me Dead Space is one of the best survival horror games that ive played. The tension and darkness in this game is really nerve wrecking, it really has an atmospheric setting, playing the game makes you feel like your actually their. The character Isaac Clark goes through a lot of The sound design and necromorph's are amazing and will make you jump out of your seat. This game was reallyFor me Dead Space is one of the best survival horror games that ive played. The tension and darkness in this game is really nerve wrecking, it really has an atmospheric setting, playing the game makes you feel like your actually their. The character Isaac Clark goes through a lot of The sound design and necromorph's are amazing and will make you jump out of your seat. This game was really hard to get the platinum, but i had to get it because i love this game so much. I can honestly say its in my top 10 games of all time, and it has my 3rd place in best survival horror games, right behind Resident Evil 4 and The Last of Us. Expand
  19. Dec 23, 2013
    6
    Dead Space is dark, edgy, and has a fantastic atmosphere. You truly feel in the shaking boots of Isaac Clark as he struggles to maintain his sanity and survive the doomed starship, fighting off terrifying and gory creatures. On paper, the concept seems flawless. On the TV screen, it's not. Dead Space is not a game for everyone and, unfortunately, not an adventure for me. I loved the tenseDead Space is dark, edgy, and has a fantastic atmosphere. You truly feel in the shaking boots of Isaac Clark as he struggles to maintain his sanity and survive the doomed starship, fighting off terrifying and gory creatures. On paper, the concept seems flawless. On the TV screen, it's not. Dead Space is not a game for everyone and, unfortunately, not an adventure for me. I loved the tense moments but so many aspects of the game held me back from truly enjoying the journey as a whole. The gameplay felt extremely rigid and every movement was wrong, almost as if Clark was wearing a straightjacket inside of his space suit. In addition, the entire game felt repetitive and ultimately lost my interest about three hours through. There is very little to mix up the occasional jump scares and shoot outs, and I felt extremely tired by the halfway point, which may be a first for me. So in the end, your opinions on Dead Space are entirely based on preference. Many critics and players alike enjoyed the dark and depressing mood, as well as the sense of containment that the ship had to offer. However, I just didn't find the game to be that fun, and since that's the main purpose of a video game, I personally can't say I enjoyed the experience. If it were me, I'd find an escape pod.

    6.5/10

    Follow me on twitter. @cbeers2513
    Expand
  20. Aug 23, 2014
    2
    I had to try this game with all the positive reviews - what a let down. You spend all your time going back n forth, same spot, same thing. Extremely redundant and I am sure shocked at the reviews. Zero and I mean zero variety. I am surely in the minority but I binned my copy after trying to like this game.
  21. AnonymousMC
    Mar 2, 2009
    10
    ok this game is amazing and all the technical glitches the critics are talking about dont really exist in my opinion. this game is perfect and should be alot higher than an 88, oh and for all you people who actually want to see coop in the next installment...you are all idiots. this game is ment to played alone in a basement with the surround sound kranked up so high that the house shakes.ok this game is amazing and all the technical glitches the critics are talking about dont really exist in my opinion. this game is perfect and should be alot higher than an 88, oh and for all you people who actually want to see coop in the next installment...you are all idiots. this game is ment to played alone in a basement with the surround sound kranked up so high that the house shakes. now that is one hell of a gaming experience. Expand
  22. JackH
    Oct 17, 2008
    9
    I'll try to be brief here. This game is nothing short of intense. I've played and beaten Resident Evil 4 two and a half times and thoroughly enjoyed it...however Dead Space is much more intense and graphic/horrifying than any other survival horror game I've ever played. Truly worth every penny of the purchase price. I was gripping my seat the entire time...not one moment I'll try to be brief here. This game is nothing short of intense. I've played and beaten Resident Evil 4 two and a half times and thoroughly enjoyed it...however Dead Space is much more intense and graphic/horrifying than any other survival horror game I've ever played. Truly worth every penny of the purchase price. I was gripping my seat the entire time...not one moment felt safe...and that rules. Also, being smart while playing this really pays off. Really gives a sense of added realism. As one of the critic reviews stated, this game is like a mesh b/w Event Horizon and Aliens. I also feel it is like the movie "Sunshine" (the sci-fi). Crew has to go check on a fellow crew's ship, etc. no life*. lol. Anyway. buy this, you won't regret it. Expand
  23. Stumped
    Oct 22, 2008
    10
    Okay, I'm close to no longer using metacritic for my game reviews...honestly. They leave out professional reviews sometimes, and wait forever to post reviews that users submit otherwise. I really enjoyed deadspace, but was wondering how the xbox360 version could get a 90/100 and watch PS3's plummit to an 88/100 from 90. Metacritic, you have yet to include GamePro's and Okay, I'm close to no longer using metacritic for my game reviews...honestly. They leave out professional reviews sometimes, and wait forever to post reviews that users submit otherwise. I really enjoyed deadspace, but was wondering how the xbox360 version could get a 90/100 and watch PS3's plummit to an 88/100 from 90. Metacritic, you have yet to include GamePro's and Gamespot's review for this game into the PS3 Scoring. please keep up. Expand
  24. MikeC.
    Oct 29, 2008
    9
    This game is really a spectacle of fear and darkness, although in the opening parts of the game, people familiar with Doom 3 might feel there is a similarity between the story line, a mining colony gone wrong. The game drops you into powerfully atmospheric environments and just builds tension the whole way through. As I played this game I literally felt how tense I was going around every This game is really a spectacle of fear and darkness, although in the opening parts of the game, people familiar with Doom 3 might feel there is a similarity between the story line, a mining colony gone wrong. The game drops you into powerfully atmospheric environments and just builds tension the whole way through. As I played this game I literally felt how tense I was going around every corner. A HUGE NOTE: I think to get the best experience with this game, have high-quality sound (surround if possible), it will really make the difference. As the story line progresses it may seem to be dry at times with somewhat silly objectives, but I think it's very easy to ignore this as you will be biting your lip in anticipation of a monster jumping at you from behind. All in all this game is really intense graphically & atmospherically, not for the weak of heart, but definitely a must-try, it won't appeal to everyone, but if the survival horror genre is for you, don't miss out! Expand
  25. PedroD.
    Oct 30, 2008
    9
    Great game. Think Half Life meets the Thing, meets Event Horizon.Had me hooked from the first 30 seconds. It's a little jumpy at times when playing in the dark and 5.1 surround. Definitely gets your blood pumping but it's a damn good rush. Last game that had me this hooked was Half Life 2.
  26. RodJ.
    Jan 1, 2009
    7
    Its good ill give it that but i've played a lot of horror games in the past and this is not the greatest Good: 1: Suspense, unlike some other games out there that virtually tell you when something is going to happen i.e. Monster is going to jump out, this game is some what unpredictable, monsters just appear with and without warning 2: Good AI, it waits and hides and wont follow the Its good ill give it that but i've played a lot of horror games in the past and this is not the greatest Good: 1: Suspense, unlike some other games out there that virtually tell you when something is going to happen i.e. Monster is going to jump out, this game is some what unpredictable, monsters just appear with and without warning 2: Good AI, it waits and hides and wont follow the same path 3: Nice Twist at the end and some other little things that make you appreciate the developers efforts 4: You need to strategically blow parts off a enemy, shoot it in the head and it'll just get angry Bad: 1: Boring at times (probably just me, like i said played heaps of scary games in the past) 2: Relies on the "Boo" factor a little too much 3: Considering that the developers said that the Ammo reserve would be quite dry, i found plenty of it and, at times, had far too much, even on extreme 4: No real re playability Ive given the game a rating of 7 - Souly based on that it didn't scare me too much and i found it a bit too easy and repetitive. Having said that, its worth the $90 (aus) that i payed for it, if you enjoy RE series and really like gore then this is perfect. If you have a heart condition and get scared when you see a small spider, then don't, you'll probably end up dieing. Expand
  27. FredB.
    Jan 2, 2009
    7
    I was surprised to see this game get such a low review in official XBOX magazine, but only because every other review across the web was so high... So what is it about this game that caused one high profile magazine to conclude that the game was poor? My review will shed light on that answer. Dead Space is one of those games that pulls you in at the beginning, becomes repetetive, and then I was surprised to see this game get such a low review in official XBOX magazine, but only because every other review across the web was so high... So what is it about this game that caused one high profile magazine to conclude that the game was poor? My review will shed light on that answer. Dead Space is one of those games that pulls you in at the beginning, becomes repetetive, and then leaves you often stuck wondering how to beat certain a boss creatures, or wondering where to go next... in spite of the fact that there is a glowing path to show you where to go next if you click int the right thumbstick, but that doesn't always help. Good luck using the real map feature, just as is in the case with Fable, the map is useless, forcing you to rely upon the aforementioned breadcrumb path, I mean glowing path. This leads to alot of frustration, with you getting lost or trying to solve a bunk sliding puzzle while fighting enemies that respawn at times. DS is one of those games where ammo must be conserved, and you are forced to backtrack looking for precious ammo, health, and even oxygen, and power kits for some abilities. The whole time you are viewing the game from a zoomed in third person position (alot like Dark Sector) If you like that kind of game, then this is for you. If the psychology of finding your way out of a maze with all the above conditions then you will love this. I on the other hand was wowed by the graphics, and just wanted to explore, for some reason the genetic makeup of the game makes that kind of an experience an afterthought. When I was able to explore, I did enjoy the different decks on the ship, complete with believable living quarters complete with bunks, toilets, mess hall, hydroponically grown fruit, and indoor sports and shooting range. The antigravity sections and scenes that occur outside the ship where you must conserve oxygen were my favorite. If I am talking you into getting this game, then by all means pick up a used copy- there are probably some out there by now! I would have given an 8 but there is no coop, multiplayer ,or online anything. Like Bio Shock, the game might not work as a coop, however I can only imagine how cool it would be to take over each area of the ship with teams online. Imagine hiding in the bedbunks or a toilet stall and waiting for the right moment to blast an unsuspecting visctim. Or better yet, why not give the control of all the monsters to online gamers who respawn endlessly as one man tries to complete all the missions! Expand
  28. MansourF
    Feb 5, 2009
    10
    WOW, I didn't like the demo but when I played the full game it was something else. Very atmospheric with intense action moments. Graphics and sound are among the best of the current gen. Once I finished it and learned about the unlockables, I couldn't help but play it again. And guess what? it was ass addictive as the first round.
  29. BrutaltruthCritic
    May 15, 2009
    8
    Let me start off first with the simple and yet original locator system. More time concentrating then trying to find the right path for each mission. The only thing that didnt get this game a ten was that it was a little frustrating trying to conserve your ammo while trying to take out a room of aliens. Nothings worse than running out of ammo in the middle of a fight. Graphics are great as Let me start off first with the simple and yet original locator system. More time concentrating then trying to find the right path for each mission. The only thing that didnt get this game a ten was that it was a little frustrating trying to conserve your ammo while trying to take out a room of aliens. Nothings worse than running out of ammo in the middle of a fight. Graphics are great as they should be, being that it is a next gen console. Controls are tight and precise. If your looking for a scare dont look here so much. The music is more frightening then the actual game play. Dont get me wrong there are moments that will own you but nothing that will make you have nightmares, darn! Expand
  30. JamesD.
    Jan 30, 2010
    9
    I have had a difficult and aggravating time with Dead Space, you might tink I would give this a bad review. This is scarier than Resi 4 for sure, of course its dark and dreary, which obviously makes it a perfect environment for these sorts of creatures known as necromorphs. Early on I had a problem with how to use stasis to fix a tram arm thing and all I was given was basic information I have had a difficult and aggravating time with Dead Space, you might tink I would give this a bad review. This is scarier than Resi 4 for sure, of course its dark and dreary, which obviously makes it a perfect environment for these sorts of creatures known as necromorphs. Early on I had a problem with how to use stasis to fix a tram arm thing and all I was given was basic information and then I had a journey from mount doom and back trying to get the objective complete and keep my sanity. Unfortunately I couldn't see any way out of my problem but I love the physics and the horror elements although basic horror conventions are the trend here, it actually is scary. Perhaps Dead Space is one experience I wasn't really cut out for, so I presume that's why I had a hard time with it Expand
  31. T.Holt
    Nov 5, 2008
    9
    If there isn't a warning in the manual for people with weak hearts, there really should be! There are a lot of great choices out there right now ('tis the season) and this is definitely one of the best. The combination of sight, sound and the infected monsters is perfect for lights out, volume up, nightmare inducing scares. I had to walk away a few times to take a breather - If there isn't a warning in the manual for people with weak hearts, there really should be! There are a lot of great choices out there right now ('tis the season) and this is definitely one of the best. The combination of sight, sound and the infected monsters is perfect for lights out, volume up, nightmare inducing scares. I had to walk away a few times to take a breather - extremely intense game. Only one complaint keeping me from giving a 10 - the save system. All inventory, maps and logs are in an in-game hud (beautifully done, if extremely hard to read on a normal TV) - but the saves take you out of the experience - the one thing keeping this from being fully immersive. Why not build the save into the hud and allow the player to use it as needed - quick hit of a button, done. If I want to manage my saves I can do it in between sessions. I hope I'm playing a sequel this time next year - this should not be a one shot deal. Expand
  32. KyleW.
    Nov 7, 2008
    10
    This movie is Event Horizon meets Resident Evil. I watched the digital comics on the PSN before playing and I was hooked. First time I picked up a controller to play I didn't set it down until 6 hours and five chapters later. This game is the epitome of survival horror on the PS3, and I can't remember the last time a game had me this enthralled. Congrats Dead Space, for This movie is Event Horizon meets Resident Evil. I watched the digital comics on the PSN before playing and I was hooked. First time I picked up a controller to play I didn't set it down until 6 hours and five chapters later. This game is the epitome of survival horror on the PS3, and I can't remember the last time a game had me this enthralled. Congrats Dead Space, for delivering a knock out of an experience. Expand
  33. CJK.
    Nov 8, 2008
    9
    Scares the crap out of you. Pretty morbid game, yet its also a very good example of a well made game. This game borrows some elements from movies like event horizon, and other horror movies. However it puts these elements to good use. I think this is a must have game if you don't mind being scared, this game is pretty stressful to play. It
  34. billthewhizz
    Oct 23, 2008
    9
    This is the SCARIEST game i have ever played. scarier than resi 4, scarier than any film. this stuff is so scary, i have stopped playing it and waiting for friends to come round to continue, no joke i nearly just crapped my pants. BUY THIS GAME.
  35. MikeR.
    Oct 24, 2008
    7
    This game was alright I suppose. It made me excited but not too much. I though it was well wicked but O.K. Me mate said it was OK too. It was well gnarly. Me mum liked it but it gave her dreaamz so she dan't like it no more.
  36. DanP
    Dec 5, 2008
    10
    If you love Gore this game is a must have. There is nothing better than going around curb stopping alien to pieces, or just cutting them them to bits with the ripper.
    I have thoroughly enjoyed this game and should be on everyone's list of must play titles who are true horror game fanatics.
  37. ChuckP
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Easily the best horror game I have ever played. I remember when doom, resident evil, and silent hill all first came out and were innovators. Dead Space picked up where they left off creating a new standard in horror on a next gen system. This title completely immerses a player into the role of the hero weaving a tale of madness and destruction around a base of mystery and suspense. Play Easily the best horror game I have ever played. I remember when doom, resident evil, and silent hill all first came out and were innovators. Dead Space picked up where they left off creating a new standard in horror on a next gen system. This title completely immerses a player into the role of the hero weaving a tale of madness and destruction around a base of mystery and suspense. Play alone with the lights off if you dare... Expand
  38. mikes
    Dec 25, 2009
    9
    Surpasses Resident Evil in creating a spookily immersive game that has you gripped to the last moment. it has set a new benchmark for survival horror.
  39. TomBullen
    Mar 25, 2009
    8
    Was initially put off by the demo, which threw the player in at the deep end. However, was given the game as a present and decided to give it a shot, and was pleasantly surprised. Visually it is a treat, esp. on a 46" HiDEF LCD. The sound effects and music is also chilling. The game play is nicely paced, slowly easing you into the horror of it all. I actually find the game quite drainingWas initially put off by the demo, which threw the player in at the deep end. However, was given the game as a present and decided to give it a shot, and was pleasantly surprised. Visually it is a treat, esp. on a 46" HiDEF LCD. The sound effects and music is also chilling. The game play is nicely paced, slowly easing you into the horror of it all. I actually find the game quite draining to play, and can only do so in 30min sessions, and never in the middle of the night, lovely! Expand
  40. BuckS.
    Aug 25, 2009
    10
    A fantastic game. It took the genre where Resident Evil could not. By making each gun unique and fun to use, along with the ability to strafe while firing... Thank God these guys fixed what Capcom has been doing wrong for so long. No clunky knife either. To me this is the REAL Resident Evil 5. Playing this game in the dark on a big screen is both frightening and exhilarating. The game is A fantastic game. It took the genre where Resident Evil could not. By making each gun unique and fun to use, along with the ability to strafe while firing... Thank God these guys fixed what Capcom has been doing wrong for so long. No clunky knife either. To me this is the REAL Resident Evil 5. Playing this game in the dark on a big screen is both frightening and exhilarating. The game is much longer than I anticipated. I thought it was about to end 3 different times. The learning curve is not steep, and if you've played RE, you'll get used to it very fast. There's also a feature to highlight which way to go next, which keeps you from aimless wandering. These game is very much in tune to what makes the player's experience. The timing of the scares is perfect. It looks great, sounds great and the story is intriguing. This game is a very well produced piece of art. I rented it and beat it twice. I wish I just bought it instead. Expand
  41. LinusJ
    Sep 21, 2009
    10
    What it does, it does great. At times a bit too great. Alone at night, I cant take more than about 15 minutes of this game; it scares the the crap out of you. Should be noted that I play it on a 110" HD screen with a great soundsystem, but if you have a good setup and want to be scared, no game will do it better than this one. Story is good as well as the graphics, sound is awesome, but What it does, it does great. At times a bit too great. Alone at night, I cant take more than about 15 minutes of this game; it scares the the crap out of you. Should be noted that I play it on a 110" HD screen with a great soundsystem, but if you have a good setup and want to be scared, no game will do it better than this one. Story is good as well as the graphics, sound is awesome, but its the overall atmosphere that makes this game great. Expand
  42. ViorelO
    Sep 29, 2009
    10
    I played the game on PS3 using a 24 inch screen. The graphics, the camera, the atmosphere, the weapons, the combat and the movement within the game were great
  43. AngelRamos
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    I love this game. I bought it this year (2009) and I read all the reviews I give it 10 because it fullfills its purpose of entretain you and even scare you with the ambiance sound, music environment and also the game mechanics are nothing like anything before this game
  44. NathanB.
    Nov 1, 2008
    10
    Dead Space is a flawless gem of a video game that is as scary as it is fun, one of the most memorable and visceral gaming experiences in my life. I would rate Dead Space as a cut above Resident Evil 4. It is really that good!
  45. JonD.
    Nov 12, 2008
    9
    Absolutely adored this. Considering it had not generated any interest in me from previews, appearing to be little more than a clichéd hack and slash in space, I approached this title with trepidation and an open mind and was blown away. The reviews I've seen do not do it justice. This is the most tense, atmospheric game I have ever played, with quite simply the best sound of Absolutely adored this. Considering it had not generated any interest in me from previews, appearing to be little more than a clichéd hack and slash in space, I approached this title with trepidation and an open mind and was blown away. The reviews I've seen do not do it justice. This is the most tense, atmospheric game I have ever played, with quite simply the best sound of ANY game I've played (surround is a must). The story drew me in and is perfectly balanced with the gameplay, creating a great movie like experience (think Alien and you are there!). The presentation stands out a mile, with some great little touches, including a 'laser' style direction 'pointer' to avoid endless backtracking (recalls switching off metroid for a final time without completion for that reason) and a fantastic 3D inventory. This game WILL scare you, play it alone at night with the lights off and get drawn in. You know something is going to jump out, you prepare for it and creep around gun at the ready, but still jump off the sofa when it happens. Constant random scuttling / groaning sound effects (over the industrial throbs / mechanics of the ship) keep you ill at ease, with some great visual tricks to aid tension. Plot wise, it's just the right side of dumb for you to go along for the ride without rolling your eyes too much. Visually, it's a treat also, a gore hounds dream, with some great lighting effects (that also add to hyping the fear) and brilliant design throughout. There's only a couple of minor instances of frustration (usually the repetition of fighting a 'boss' until you crack the technique), that stopped me from giving this a ten. If you're looking for something a bit more 'adult' and slower paced (until the fighting starts that is) check this out, fingers crossed it's the sleeper hit it deserves to be. Expand
  46. MatiasB.
    Nov 17, 2008
    10
    This game got me hooked at just walking around slowly waiting for a monster to pop up so i can tear it apart. The graphics are amazing and the presentation is fantastic. Definitely try this game if you haven't already.
  47. GeorgeM
    Nov 24, 2008
    10
    This is definately one of the most unexpected surprises so far this generation of games. When i first read about it, i figured it would be a "run of the mill" survival horror game...boy was i wrong. First of all....this game is SCARY....and it pulls this off without having enemies pop out er anything, its terrifying on a atmospheric level. An example of this, one particular area is a This is definately one of the most unexpected surprises so far this generation of games. When i first read about it, i figured it would be a "run of the mill" survival horror game...boy was i wrong. First of all....this game is SCARY....and it pulls this off without having enemies pop out er anything, its terrifying on a atmospheric level. An example of this, one particular area is a darkly lit room that appears to have been ransacked, its dark with a eery mist filling the room, blood is smeared everywhere, and the only light provided is flickering on and off very fast...its areas like these where you assure yourself something must be coming out to scare you....and when nothing happens, you give a sigh of relief.....the developers did a great job at letting the levels scare the pants off of you. Gameplay consists of completing tasks and simply surviving to complete these tasks....typical survival horror gameplay, but the enemies are especially nasty and the tension involved when taking one down is immense....because body shots are ineffective and shooting of limbs is your only choice...and taking accurate shots when one is charging at you is intense. The only gripe i have with the gameplay, is that your character can't turn around or back up fast enough...so when a enemy drops down in your face...chances are youre gonna get hurt and there is nothing you can do about it. Graphically, this game looks incredible....and easily competes with the likes of Bioshock, Gears of War 2, and Uncharted. Everything is nicely detailed, the enemies look particularly nasty, and it runs buttery smooth. Sound and music at to the tension of things nicely and the voice acting is top-notch. Overall, this is a GREAT game and one that any fan of survival horror or even shooters in general will enjoy...HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Expand
  48. WilliamM.
    Oct 16, 2008
    8
    The writing in this game is frighteningly insipid. The only thing that keeps it together is the artwork. "Get the thermite from the medical supply" is my favorite retarded quote from this game. It's great that most people can see past this and just be scared by the constant "boo" factor of body parts flying at them. Don't believe the hype if you're looking for good sci-fi.
  49. LamL.
    Nov 6, 2008
    10
    The gameplay, immersion quality, graphics, and sound of this game excels. I am only on chapter 6 but I am hooked. Above all it's fun! I will be buying the downfall movie on bluray, and would have gotten the collectors edition if I owned an xbox. I wanna immerse myself in this world to get all the love I'm feeling from this game. Oh YEAH!!
  50. [Anonymous]
    Oct 25, 2008
    8
    Great game! I finished it in 3 sittings though,so it felt shorter then it should have. Only complaint is that it´s not as scary as I thought it would be, sadly not on the top 3 scariest games for me (RE remake, silent hill 2 and fear tops that) and the the hard should have been "normal" difficulty. Even my friends that have no prior experience with these kind of games thinks Great game! I finished it in 3 sittings though,so it felt shorter then it should have. Only complaint is that it´s not as scary as I thought it would be, sadly not on the top 3 scariest games for me (RE remake, silent hill 2 and fear tops that) and the the hard should have been "normal" difficulty. Even my friends that have no prior experience with these kind of games thinks it´s as hard as it should be (not saying that it should be brutally hard but having a lot of items, ammunition and healthpacks kind of ruins the "feel" of survival horrors for me). Still, the game was satisfying and felt really well made. It´s probably one of the best survival horror games I´ve played though, only a few things that bug me (larges concernes listed above) , but what game is perfect anyway? It´s a shining example of quality in this age of graphical fireworks without real depth. Expand
  51. AnthonyV
    Feb 24, 2009
    10
    This game is amazing. it delivers awesome gameplay, crisp graphics and a decnt story all the while giving you a truly next gen experience. one of the better games to be released in the next gen era especially since it's an actual new ip and not the sequel of the sequel of a series that began 8 years ago. a new story and charaters mixed with amazing graphics and gunplay.
  52. MarkTaylor
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    If you like space and horror this is your game! I for one love love love this game and everything about it. i love replaying it over and over and upgrading my suit and weapons. very resident evil 4 style but in space and i love me some sci-fi shooter! gorgeous graphics and sound. honestly very creepy in parts even in your replays, especially on the harder difficulties and in the dark! aIf you like space and horror this is your game! I for one love love love this game and everything about it. i love replaying it over and over and upgrading my suit and weapons. very resident evil 4 style but in space and i love me some sci-fi shooter! gorgeous graphics and sound. honestly very creepy in parts even in your replays, especially on the harder difficulties and in the dark! a must must must buy if you like sci fi horror Expand
  53. Mar 13, 2011
    8
    SO CLOSE to System Shock 2, but just one thing is off. I never felt in danger of running out of ammo at any point (except for on Hard, and while on that topic, when can we learn that Hard is not fin when you simply have to hit an enemy more times?). Why is plentiful ammo a bad thing? Survival horror is supposed to draw tension from the aspect that you are helpless and hopeless, and theSO CLOSE to System Shock 2, but just one thing is off. I never felt in danger of running out of ammo at any point (except for on Hard, and while on that topic, when can we learn that Hard is not fin when you simply have to hit an enemy more times?). Why is plentiful ammo a bad thing? Survival horror is supposed to draw tension from the aspect that you are helpless and hopeless, and the true reward of the game comes from when you fall into a room of 50 monsters, you got our alive to the next area with only firing off a couple of well placed shots. Aside from this, the story and atmosphere were very compelling, and it was still a very good game. Expand
  54. Air
    Aug 27, 2010
    9
    Dead Space is a well-made, beautifully designed, and just plain fun Horror game that ultimately fails on one aspect- it isn't that scary. I know for a fact that I am a minority, but I have never found all this "here's a generic bloody mutant that is trying to kill you" formula all too frightening, and the fact that I bought Dead Space for the mere fact of it being called one of theDead Space is a well-made, beautifully designed, and just plain fun Horror game that ultimately fails on one aspect- it isn't that scary. I know for a fact that I am a minority, but I have never found all this "here's a generic bloody mutant that is trying to kill you" formula all too frightening, and the fact that I bought Dead Space for the mere fact of it being called one of the "scariest games this generation" was kind of a let down. Luckily, everything else about this game is awesomely designed and intricately crafted. Controls are reminiscent of the more recent Resident Evil games, but for all you whiners, you can aim while you move! The cool thing about combat in Dead Space is that in order to kill most Necromorphs (the generic bloody mutants that are trying to kill you), you must dismember them, and not only does this require good aim, but it requires thought as well. There are many guns in this game, and each of them has a secondary attack which can be useful in different situations. Moving away from combat, which remains largely the same throughout the entire game, the basic backstory of this game is that you are an engineer on a ship with a crew who receives a distress signal. You then check it out to find that pretty much the entire crew has bit the dust, or turned into these Necromorph creatures. From there, the majority of the story is guided by video and audio logs, with the occasional human interaction. I was a huge fan of Star Trek television, and this premise nearly made me nerdgasm, but unfortunately, throughout the game, the story seems to often be forgotten at times, which is disappointing because the premise is really interesting and sets the stage for an awesome game. Dead Space tries to scare you by leaving you in the dark most of the time, and uses some cheap horror tactics such as the infamous popping-up-out-of-nowhere-in-your-face-monsters-while-it-is-quiet, and the graphics and sound in this game are incredible. Also, its obvious that immersion was a large focus of the Dead Space team, because there is no music and no HUD; only the sounds of the ship and floating holograms. Aside from the dismemberment-focused gunplay, Dead Space also brings a couple other cool things to the table. Number one, you have a "stasis" power which allows you to slow down enemies, giving you a better shot or more safety. Two, you have "kinesis" which is basically the force. Star Wars for the win. Third, there are quite a few zero-gravity segments which are awesome, so be prepared. Along with these, Dead Space also has a cool upgrade and shop system, just like Resident Evil. Overall, Dead Space is intricately designed, with much attention to detail. Combat is unique and fun, and Dead Space will probably be pretty scary for some people. I know for a fact that listening to Necromorphs making noises in the vents above you while you are walking down a hall is simply bloodcurdling, but in my head, Dead Space will live on as "that game with the cool combat and intriguing premise", and not "that game with the generic bloody mutants that are trying to kill me". Definitely worth the $20 it is priced at now, and Dead Space 2 is highly anticipated. Expand
  55. Aug 29, 2010
    9
    This was a great game. The story was very interesting and I always got scared. However, there are better games such as inFamous! It was amazing when I first had it and beat it. Then I got inFamous and fell in love. Overall, Dead Space is good to buy. For 20 dollars it is totally worth it.
  56. Sep 2, 2010
    10
    This game is INTENSE, and scary - damn scary. It's hard to scare me, but this game had me jump a few times - It rocks! Definitely worth buying and playing over and over again.
  57. Nov 13, 2010
    7
    This game has a lot going for it: Great vocal performances, innovative real-time menu's, excellent graphics, and a tried and true concept that has managed to stay scary (for the most part) over the years. Then there's the bad parts, and there's too many of them just to push aside. Enemies are redundant, although I don't know what else you would expect in this type of game, and will suicideThis game has a lot going for it: Great vocal performances, innovative real-time menu's, excellent graphics, and a tried and true concept that has managed to stay scary (for the most part) over the years. Then there's the bad parts, and there's too many of them just to push aside. Enemies are redundant, although I don't know what else you would expect in this type of game, and will suicide charge you right as you chop them into pieces. Some enemy types are very unique, while others are completely generic and a bore to kill. Twice through the game you take over AA-style guns; these sections are awful. The controls are slippery and the objects fly too fast to hit. You'll find yourself failing these sections due to bad luck rather than lack of skill. There are also several sections throughout the game in which you are barraged with all types of enemies. You will die, and more often than not, it'll be due to cheap shots. The story is cliched and it's fairly easy to predict what happens when. Jump scares are predictable and character deaths can be seen coming miles away. The ending is extremely subpar. It's not a bad game, but it needs touch ups here and there. And for god's sake make it scary next time. Expand
  58. Sep 20, 2010
    10
    This is a very solid game. In terms of gameplay it is the best survival horror game ever. However, the gameplay is not TERRIFYING, it did have some scary scenes, the atmosphere couldn't have been done better. The only real complaint is that it gets stale after 3-4 play through, but you will get your moneys worth definitely if you are looking for a scary, good gameplay. Also the storylineThis is a very solid game. In terms of gameplay it is the best survival horror game ever. However, the gameplay is not TERRIFYING, it did have some scary scenes, the atmosphere couldn't have been done better. The only real complaint is that it gets stale after 3-4 play through, but you will get your moneys worth definitely if you are looking for a scary, good gameplay. Also the storyline was good enough to be a movie, with some fantastic plot twists. And the voice acting was pretty good also. Expand
  59. Aug 23, 2013
    10
    At times, I did want Isaac Clark to speak up more but it scared the complete shyt out of me. Among the scariest games I have ever played. I've played Dead Space 2 and 3 and I gotta say, even though 2 has better gameplay and flow, it didn't scare me as much. 3 was just Uncharted in space. Graphics are ok, nothing great.
  60. Oct 11, 2010
    9
    I have been missing a good horror game in my life since the days of the original PlayStation and finally a good horror game that is not a sequel. I am definitely looking forward to how this franchise evolves.
  61. Oct 26, 2010
    10
    manages to fuse sci-fi with horror in a way which will massively please fans of both genres. Great design, look, sound, gore, story... One of my all time fav games and the most fun I've had on the ps3. I can't wait for the sequel! This isn't a really a review just a quick summary but please if you are looking for a good game at a good price check out Dead Space. Amazing.
  62. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    I have a soft spot for this game. This was my very first game i got for the PS3, hell i got it before i got a PS3. I find just about perfect, the edge of your seat excitement that many horror games are missing today. I can honestly say i have played this game 5 times, i love it that much. The sheer thrill of blasting apart a necramorph, the jump out your seat shriek of the enemy never getsI have a soft spot for this game. This was my very first game i got for the PS3, hell i got it before i got a PS3. I find just about perfect, the edge of your seat excitement that many horror games are missing today. I can honestly say i have played this game 5 times, i love it that much. The sheer thrill of blasting apart a necramorph, the jump out your seat shriek of the enemy never gets old. I do have to say that by my 3rd play-though i could memorize the sequence of when i was going to be attacked, but it still shocked me on just how much fun that still is.The lighting is fantastic, the sounds are perfect, and the fact this game engulfs you into it by having no distracting hub is pure genius. Now, before i go ranting on about how much more i love this game, i do have to point out the faults. I am giving this game a perfect 10 because of just how much i love it, but that doesn't mean its perfect. I find the melee attacks useless, i know that its a smart idea to make sure Isaac isn't a karate master, but waving your arm around is just useless. The other part is that the text screens, such as instructions or collectible info, are so small its almost impossible to read. I do play this game on a HD TV, but i still cant see a thing. Though it should be mentioned that neither of these things ruin the experience, they just seem like an idea that didn't work. This game is a blast, though isn't for those with weak stomachs. I also don't understand why the PS3 version got a lower score, I have played both and could not find a difference but the controller. No matter what, this game will put you on the edge and make you want more. Expand
  63. Dec 12, 2010
    9
    Dead Space! The graphics are spectacular! The sound and environments too! The difficult is very ambiguous, some levels are very easy and others are very difficult both that I crashed the control against my TV....

    In General, This is a very good game, Dead space has a dye how between Shooter and Survival Horror...
    Good game!
  64. Dec 13, 2010
    10
    brilliant i LOVED this game, this is why i'm a gamer. solid clever design, great guns and monsters with enjoyable fun puzzle elements. This really was a nice surprise in an era swamped by endless cash cow FPS multi player games with 5 hour single player and multi players FULL of glitching 14 yr olds
  65. Dec 14, 2010
    9
    This is one of the most goriest, scariest, most awesome and epic game I've never played before. I would say it's the goriest game ever....well, same with Mortal Kombat. The story is unbelievably amazing, I didn't expect it to be that interesting. The scare parts is actually scary. When an alien or something pops right behind me, I jump off my chair screaming. The aliens are interestingThis is one of the most goriest, scariest, most awesome and epic game I've never played before. I would say it's the goriest game ever....well, same with Mortal Kombat. The story is unbelievably amazing, I didn't expect it to be that interesting. The scare parts is actually scary. When an alien or something pops right behind me, I jump off my chair screaming. The aliens are interesting looking too. However, the boss levels are a little too easy, I actually got through the final boss without dying once. The main character, Isaac Clarke is cool and interesting to play as. The similar part about this game is that it looks like Resident Evil 4, except this game is more scary and interesting. If your a fan of a Third Person Shooter Horror genre, you will enjoy this game. Expand
  66. Dec 28, 2010
    10
    A true great. A stand alone great game with excellent graphics and story and everything the new Resi and Silent Hill wasn't. I have been playing games for 20+ years and this one has what I look for, a bit of polish and effort from the developers. Play on normal and the scarcity of the health etc is about right for new gamers and experienced gamers of that genre, its a challange and aA true great. A stand alone great game with excellent graphics and story and everything the new Resi and Silent Hill wasn't. I have been playing games for 20+ years and this one has what I look for, a bit of polish and effort from the developers. Play on normal and the scarcity of the health etc is about right for new gamers and experienced gamers of that genre, its a challange and a claustrophobic and disturbing thrill ride. Its the Dino crisis of PS3 but hopefully the sequel won't be as dissapointing. Get on it. Expand
  67. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    I almost had heart attack during the play throughout , is gorgeous and is a masterpiece in the macabre setting, the tension is incredible, this will be a hard player to most of the fear franchise to top. The ending will make you run out of your house. Is masterpice in sound design .
  68. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    A wonderful, beautifully sci-fi horror game, that clearly took inspiration on Alien, The Thing and 2001 A Space Odyssey, but became its own beast for our greatest pleasure. Graphics are great, but it's with the sounds that the game really shine where it create a high tension experience. Danger may be (or not) at every corner... even behind you!
  69. May 6, 2011
    9
    This is the first and only game i ever got a platinum trophy on - it is that addicting to play. I beat this game fully 4 times - and each time through was different and fun. Achieving the "one gun" trophy is probably the top highlight.
    The atmosphere and graphics are top-notch, and the pop-up suit GUI is also amazing.
    Get this FPS!!!!
  70. May 1, 2011
    9
    First off, would like to say that for all those who complain about the pacing, it is a singular routed story that is trying to get from point A to B and is not suppose to be an open world exploratory because then it would lose the feel. Also, if the easiest setting was hard I beg to wonder what kind of games you have played prior. As for "repetitive" comments, please tell me what gameFirst off, would like to say that for all those who complain about the pacing, it is a singular routed story that is trying to get from point A to B and is not suppose to be an open world exploratory because then it would lose the feel. Also, if the easiest setting was hard I beg to wonder what kind of games you have played prior. As for "repetitive" comments, please tell me what game within itself is not repetitive to some extent? What exactly was repetitive? Using "X" to open doors? Now, with all that this game is enjoyable both visually and playability. The controls were easy and fun to use, the camera control was easy and also helped to add dynamics and the diversity of weapons and abilities was great. The scare factor of the game was amazing and checks on all remarks of having that RE4 spook but higher. Fun twist in the story, though not out of the ordinary so don't expect to be blown away but still enjoyable. Loads of fun with the zero-gravity sections of the space-horror adventure and hoped there be more. Only complaints really would be that at times it would of been nice to have a "barrel roll" move to dodge and maneuver around groups of enemies and replay value is low outside of just achieving trophies. Still recommend it to be played and enjoyed at its simplicity and allow yourself to be taken into a scifi-horror roller coaster, Yippy Ki Aye MF! Expand
  71. May 11, 2015
    9
    I keep buying this game and have it on everything, I've completed it countless times and I still can't get enough of it. If it was an exclusive, it would've been a system seller. Everything about it is incredibly well designed, from the atmosphere to the controls and the elegant UI (or lack thereof) to the cinematic gameplay and sound design. Reminds me of Resident Evil crossed with SystemI keep buying this game and have it on everything, I've completed it countless times and I still can't get enough of it. If it was an exclusive, it would've been a system seller. Everything about it is incredibly well designed, from the atmosphere to the controls and the elegant UI (or lack thereof) to the cinematic gameplay and sound design. Reminds me of Resident Evil crossed with System Shock 2; Dead Space is probably one of the best 7th gen games ever made. Expand
  72. Aug 5, 2012
    8
    Dead Space is a rare game. It's a game that does a lot of things so well, but also has those detractors that hold it back from becoming one of the all time greats. In terms of presentation, it's magnificent. The great story unravels and increases in complexity as you go on, it's atmosphere is frightening and tense, and the graphics and artistic design are phenomenal. It may not be theDead Space is a rare game. It's a game that does a lot of things so well, but also has those detractors that hold it back from becoming one of the all time greats. In terms of presentation, it's magnificent. The great story unravels and increases in complexity as you go on, it's atmosphere is frightening and tense, and the graphics and artistic design are phenomenal. It may not be the scariest game out there, as it loses its fright factor nearing the end, but it maintains a psychological element that makes you think sometimes whats real, and how you yourself would keep composed in that environment. However when it comes to the gameplay, it offers a unique, innovative mechanic but doesn't expand on it. The gameplay ultimately becomes repetitive (though not necessarily boring) and leaves you wishing you could do more. This is what holds the game back from the podium. As scary as it is, you still want to be on that ship with things wanting to kill you, you wish that the terror could have gone on longer, and that killing creatures and putting things here and fixing that weren't the only objectives you had to do. You may argue that there may not have been that much else to do, yet you still wonder. Dead Space may be lacking in the interactive department, but it comes out as a remarkable experience that you'll be thinking about for awhile. Expand
  73. Sep 19, 2011
    9
    Dead Space is an amazing epic game! Graphics are nice and voice acting is credible. Story behind is quite interesting and you get tons of stressful situations. However, I must say that AI starts a bit off but gets much better during the game. Normal mode is quite easy but does not mean you should chose hard mode on your first round. Controls feel a bit weird at the beginning but you getDead Space is an amazing epic game! Graphics are nice and voice acting is credible. Story behind is quite interesting and you get tons of stressful situations. However, I must say that AI starts a bit off but gets much better during the game. Normal mode is quite easy but does not mean you should chose hard mode on your first round. Controls feel a bit weird at the beginning but you get use to it. Zero gravity is a pain in the ass but you can deal with it. Fortunately, Dead Space 2 shows lots of improvements and you definitely add them both to your collection. Did got any remarkable glitch, etc. Enjoy it!!! Expand
  74. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    This game is a classic. Nothing negative to say about this game, other than it could have been a little bit longer. If you don't have this game, go and get it.
  75. Nov 19, 2011
    10
    It's really frightening and intense. It had me tense along the whole game and the experience is awesome. A challenging game, and one of the best survival horror game I've played at this time.
  76. Apr 5, 2014
    9
    Story: 8.5 out of 10 Graphics: 8.5 out of 10 Gameplay: 8.5 out of 10 Fun: 8.5 out of 10 Controls: 8.5 out of 10 Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10
    Length: 8 out of 10
    Re-play: 7 out of 10
    Audio: 9 out of 10
    Bugs/Glitches: None
  77. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    This game is great!! The game's pacing is excellent from beginning to end! First the story: I found it very interesting & compelling to boot it starts with Issac Clark & crew heading to a planet cracker class ship the ishimura to do a few repairs but soon as they get close things start to go wrong but when you get to the ishimura things get down right insane! Its Amos not for the faint ofThis game is great!! The game's pacing is excellent from beginning to end! First the story: I found it very interesting & compelling to boot it starts with Issac Clark & crew heading to a planet cracker class ship the ishimura to do a few repairs but soon as they get close things start to go wrong but when you get to the ishimura things get down right insane! Its Amos not for the faint of heart as the crew of the ishimura gets decimated in the WORST way imaginable,some even commit suicide by slitting their throats or blowing their heads off its quit graphic but I enjoyed this visceral experience from visceral games! Oh and your weapons(while not many)are a joy to use my favorite being the saw gun & flame thrower as you rip grotesque monsters limb from limb.literally lol this game does what resident evil quit giving survival horror gamers needed....a survival horror experience you'll enjoy until the very end!! Expand
  78. May 27, 2015
    9
    Very good. I'm very late to play this series, but Dead Space 1 is easily as good as (and better than most) next gen games currently available on the PS4 and 'Bone. Graphics are excellent, even by current standards, Story is excellent, Controls are logical and smooth - I can complete it on 'normal' difficulty and I'm no shooter expert. Gameplay is balanced from start to finish.
  79. Jan 18, 2012
    9
    One of the best games I own. The horror elements and gameplay are both top notch. It'll have you both amazed and running for your life. Excellent game, almost a perfect ten.
  80. Feb 24, 2012
    8
    This game is awesome but not the best. I don't have Dead Space 2 so i cant say which one is better this game is a game to get and you will love it is a horror and the first time i played it i got pretty scared from the aliens popping out of the walls at the most random times.
  81. Jul 29, 2012
    9
    This is a very good game. One of the best survival-horror games in this generation. Graphics, music, atmosphere, gameplay and story are very good. Dead Space is scary and addictive game. "Only The Dead Survive"
  82. Dec 3, 2012
    10
    I've always been a fan of horror games since the days of Resident Evil, and not till now have I been satisfied will this genre of games... until now!!! Dead Space takes horror survival games to a whole new level. I can't even count the number of times I almost shat my pants playing it... and guess what?! I loved each and every moment of it!
  83. Oct 27, 2012
    9
    "Dead Space" plays like a cross between "Resident Evil 4" and "Bioshock". It has a similar look to "Doom 3" but it also borrows from the sci fi horror films "Alien" and "Event Horizon". This is an incredibly scary game that fans of "Gears of War" will appreciate due to its gory action. In "Dead Space", players are cast as spaceship engineer Isaac Clarke, an "everyman" who is forced to play"Dead Space" plays like a cross between "Resident Evil 4" and "Bioshock". It has a similar look to "Doom 3" but it also borrows from the sci fi horror films "Alien" and "Event Horizon". This is an incredibly scary game that fans of "Gears of War" will appreciate due to its gory action. In "Dead Space", players are cast as spaceship engineer Isaac Clarke, an "everyman" who is forced to play hero when all hell breaks loose. The game begins when Clarke's ship arrives at the location of a distress signal sent by a mining vessel named the USG Ishimura. Due to a guidance system malfunction, the rescue ship crash lands into the Ishimura dock. Shortly after, grotesque creatures composed of human body parts appear and kill the entire crew except for Isaac, his commander and a computer specialist. With their ship out of commission, Isaac is asked by his fellow shipmates to help power the abandoned Ishimura. As he gathers and repairs parts, he discovers audio tapes that explain the appearance of the "Necromorphs". "Dead Space" is a survival horror game that conveys a sense of anxiety and dread in every segment. But it's also a highly-innovative third-person shooter with a heads-up display that appears as holograms on Isaac's spacesuit and weapons. While it's not as great as "Bioshock", "Dead Space" is still an excellent title. It's one of the scariest games you'll ever play. Expand
  84. Mar 17, 2014
    9
    This game is and should be considered a masterpiece in the Survival Horror genre, Its got an amazing atmosphere that is captured well by the sound and style of the ship. The combat is unique and the graphics have stood the test of time! One of the best things in this game is the backstory, through out the game you pick up audio logs and text logs which explain what happened to the shipsThis game is and should be considered a masterpiece in the Survival Horror genre, Its got an amazing atmosphere that is captured well by the sound and style of the ship. The combat is unique and the graphics have stood the test of time! One of the best things in this game is the backstory, through out the game you pick up audio logs and text logs which explain what happened to the ships crew. There is only one error that I can find with this game and that error is that every weapon apart from your default weapon (Plasma Cutter) is useless!

    I don't know why everyone is saying the PC port is terrible because I haven't had any of the problems explained! Dirty Console Peasants!

    If you like Survival Horror games then you are going to really like this!
    Expand
  85. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    a true survival horror game this game takes what resident evil couldn't continue and with great graphics nice plot and really horrifying moments this game is simply great
  86. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Playing this game was a strange experience for me. I borrowed it from a friend and slowly completed it over a very long time span due to a whole heap of distractions but I have finally completed it. One of the first things you'll notice about the story is just how bad your luck is on this mission. In true horror fashion, anything that can go wrong will. This creates a lot of interestingPlaying this game was a strange experience for me. I borrowed it from a friend and slowly completed it over a very long time span due to a whole heap of distractions but I have finally completed it. One of the first things you'll notice about the story is just how bad your luck is on this mission. In true horror fashion, anything that can go wrong will. This creates a lot of interesting situations that you'll get thrown into. Granted they are all similar, basically get to a location to retrieve or activate something but the thrill comes from the atmosphere this game has and the journey to completing these objectives. The thing that makes this game great is its true horror feel. The atmosphere and tension play out like a good movie and the science fiction setting reminds me of the film Aliens, which is a good thing.
    A gripe I have with the game is just the older, clunkier controls. This game was older when I played it and this shows in the game's mechanics. Melee is clunky and hard to use and aiming and movement are slow compared to modern games. I also feel that some deaths were cheap. There were instances when I would get knocked over and an enemy would kill me as I was in the standing up animation and defenceless. I know an alien in real life wouldn't wait but I want to feel like that I can still survive in a survival horror game. Speaking of horror, this game nails it by introducing varied enemies at a near perfect pace. Just when you seemed to be fighting the same things, the game goes back to something that hasn't appeared in this level yet that you forgot about, or it shows you something entirely new. The game is also good at adding in a new plot point when things start to feel stale. In the midst of the very standard objective types, it is good that the game reminds you why your doing it and adds something new to keep you interested. The weapons are also interesting and using the good upgrade feature, most weapons will stay useful until the final boss with a few power nodes invested.

    I think I've covered everything now. The game has a truly great survival horror atmosphere as you play it and is paced very well with a story that starts well,slows a bit in the middle before ramping back up near the end. The game is let down by the basic and clunky feeling combat and backtracking to the same areas but for the most part I can definitely recommend it for someone who likes games with a great atmosphere like this.
    Expand
  87. Jun 16, 2013
    9
    Dead Space is a fantastic third person survival horror, only the second of it's kind (Resident Evil 4 is the only other one I can think of). Personally, I'm hard to scare, but this game really filled me with dread and panic. The HUD being integrated into the game, and the inventory screen not pausing the game were really good ideas from Viscreal, and they work perfectly. This game built upDead Space is a fantastic third person survival horror, only the second of it's kind (Resident Evil 4 is the only other one I can think of). Personally, I'm hard to scare, but this game really filled me with dread and panic. The HUD being integrated into the game, and the inventory screen not pausing the game were really good ideas from Viscreal, and they work perfectly. This game built up a whole universe, books, movies, spin-offs, and this universe is brilliant.

    The story is solid, and voice acting believable. Graphics were very good, and gory. Lots, and lots of gore. The enemies, Necromorphs, are absolutely terrifying, and are unique compared to generic zombies.

    My only real complaints, are that Issac himself is quite a boring character, (There are two times you can see his face, He's just a grey haired Genericon-5000), Issac also is mute (Magically gains the ability to speak in Dead Space 2) and a lot of the chapters are performing task after task to repair the ship, usually involving puzzles so simple that a dead fish could do them.

    Overall, the atmosphere is fantastic, the gameplay is fun, and technically it's solid.
    Expand
  88. Jun 18, 2014
    9
    I put off playing Dead Space for years, never truly knowing how good it would be, or how scary it would be. Now that I've finally played it, I can honestly say this is the best survival horror experience I have ever played.

    You start out as CEC Engineer Isaac Clarke who has been hired alongside colleagues Kendra Daniels and Zach Hammond to investigate the sudden shut down of the planet
    I put off playing Dead Space for years, never truly knowing how good it would be, or how scary it would be. Now that I've finally played it, I can honestly say this is the best survival horror experience I have ever played.

    You start out as CEC Engineer Isaac Clarke who has been hired alongside colleagues Kendra Daniels and Zach Hammond to investigate the sudden shut down of the planet cracker class space station, the USG Ishimura. You arrive to find the ship has been taken over by space zombies, dubbed Necromorphs, and your objective at that point is to get off the ship while multiple obstacles hinder your progress.

    Immediately, the gameplay feels similar to Resident Evil. Using a gun with a laser point to hit weak spots of your enemies screams Resident Evil 4, but this game actually improves on the formula. You kill necromorphs by severing their limbs, which you do with the plasma cutter, a gun that shoots three plasma bullets in a horizontal or vertical direction and is displayed by a laser sight. Because you need to be precise, the shooting requires strategy over mindless shooting, which keeps the gameplay fun and refreshing.

    What I love most about Dead Space is the absolutely perfect atmosphere throughout the game. The whole ship is creepy, with dark hallways, random sounds, creepy enemies, and plenty of well executed jump scares. What adds to this is that the only flashlight you have is attached to your guns, so the only way to see in the dark is by aiming down your gun, which ultimately narrows your field of vision. All of these elements make for a truly scary gaming experience.

    One problem third person shooters always have in common is that they're not very good at aiming in close quarters, and because most of the necromorphs fight up close, the flaw needed to be remedied, and Dead Space does just that. Not only is Isaac able to move while aiming (which you can't do in Resident Evil 4 and 5), you also have the ability to punch and stomp with deadly affect, allowing you to give yourself some breathing room. Along with this, you have the stasis ability which allows you to slow your enemies for a short time.It's not perfect, and I do wish they would've added a combat roll, which there is room for, but it still works, unless you're swarmed with enemies. Then you're screwed.

    One of the most impressive features is the heads up display. There are no health meters or ammo counts on the sides of the screen like most games. In Dead Space, all the essential information you need is displayed on Isaac. Ammo count is displayed at the base of your gun and the meters for your health and stasis abilities are displayed on your back. Plus the map projects in front of you whenever you pull it up. The map interface may not be the best, but it gets the job done. All of these features and clever tweaks made to the Heads up display ultimately make the game more realistic, stopping you from looking at an icon in the corner prevents the game from breaking the immersion, and not being able to pause to look at the map keeps up the tension.

    Like most survival horror games, a key mechanic in Dead Space is item management. Breaking crates and killing enemies to find loot, ammo, and new items always satisfies, and what I love most is the storage system. In the game, there are shops to buy items and new outfits, but the main feature is the safe, in which you can store your items for later use, keeping your inventory open for new items. Along with the shop and safe, you also have the work bench, which allows you to use power nodes to upgrade your weapons, health, air, and your stasis and kenisis modules.

    The game impresses but it's also has it's problems. There are little things, like the bad map navigation, disorienting zero gravity environments, no combat roll, and the gameplay could get repetitive if you play for too long. However, the biggest flaw in the game is the turret sections. The turret sections are terrible, with loose aiming controls, guns that overheat way to quick, and crappy laser sights. These sections would've been miles better with a simple cross hair, but instead you got bad laser sights that all too often blended into the background, making aiming more than difficult. Luckily, there are only two of these sections, but I hate them both equally.

    Overall, the Dead Space may have it's hiccups, but it's not enough to take away from what is ultimately an amazing survival horror experience, and has turned me into a hardcore fan of the franchise and survival horror games in general. If you love horror games, you owe it to yourself to play this game, and even if you're not, you may still want to play it because it is simply that fun.
    Expand
  89. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    Story: 8 out of 10, Graphics: 9 out of 10, Fun: 8 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 8 out of 10, Length: 8 out of 10, Re-play: 5 out of 10, Value: 8 out of 10
  90. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people
    Dead Space 1 is definitely the best game in its series. It's as scary as hell (if you know what I mean, although it's not as scary as System Shock 2), it has nice sound, and quality visuals. Also, there two unique features I absolutely do love (and I hope you will, too) in this game: zero-gravity and vacuum.
    Alas, the protagonist doesn't say anything along the game, whereas other people constantly say "Go there, make that," etc. Well, this is not the first game with a dumb hero, so I'm fine with that.
    Bottom line: if you love horror-action games, you should try this one.
    Expand
  91. Mar 31, 2014
    8
    Not normally a fan of horror games, but this game pulled me in. The story line is a little generic, however that is well made up for in the experience. This game came with the warning of scaring you and it did, I have never jumped so much in a game in all my life. This is the crème de la crème of horror games !
  92. Apr 21, 2014
    9
    a fresh new and impressive entry for the survival horror genre. genuinely scary, the game makes you feel isolated and alone, something that resident evil was famous for. the necromorphs are terrifying and every encounter is a spook, even though I thought I would get use to them. little bit weak on story and characters but the experience is truly unmatched.
  93. Jul 10, 2014
    10
    The game that both revitalised and eventually killed the survival horror genre. It hard to lump Dead Space in to a genre, it's not balls to the wall action and it's not a stand alone survival game. But it is scary as hell. Its the claustrophobic atmoshpere, the stunning lighting, the sound and the overwhelming sense of isolation, of being totally alone. This game, in my personalThe game that both revitalised and eventually killed the survival horror genre. It hard to lump Dead Space in to a genre, it's not balls to the wall action and it's not a stand alone survival game. But it is scary as hell. Its the claustrophobic atmoshpere, the stunning lighting, the sound and the overwhelming sense of isolation, of being totally alone. This game, in my personal opinion, killed Resident Evil, Resident Evil 4 started the process, by being un-toppable by Capcom, but Dead Space provided the death blow. I've played through DS 3 times on 2 different consoles and PS3 has the defenitive version. 10/10 Expand
  94. Feb 5, 2015
    9
    Fantastic game. I was a little uncertain about it because of the "cut the limbs" system, but then I played it and it has been a blast. It has an extremely dark atmosphere that really scares the player, but never making it impossible to have control of the situation; the skillcap is also very high, making its gameplay mechanics some of the best in the last generation. It's full of guns andFantastic game. I was a little uncertain about it because of the "cut the limbs" system, but then I played it and it has been a blast. It has an extremely dark atmosphere that really scares the player, but never making it impossible to have control of the situation; the skillcap is also very high, making its gameplay mechanics some of the best in the last generation. It's full of guns and stuff you can upgrade through the game and it really makes it a very fun game. The storyline is quite linear and I give a 9 because looking back, it's revolving all the way around the train inside the ship, it just pops up a trouble after another, and it's quite annoying. I strongly recommend playing this game, it's one of the best out there, and sure it figures among the best of all time; if you played Resident Evil 4 and liked it, don't hesitate, squeeze out everything out of this game. Expand
  95. Dec 19, 2014
    10
    Survival horror at it´s best! Nothing more and nothing less! Great story, a fantastic atmosphere and terrifying enemies making this game to one of my all time favorites!
  96. May 30, 2011
    0
    Great story driven third person shooter though not nearly as frightening as advertised.

    Dead Space had me going from the start. The game starts out tense and only gets more interesting as time goes on. The entire game takes place on a derelict ship orbiting a mining colony on some distant planet. Almost the entire game takes place on the ship, but the different sections are varied
    Great story driven third person shooter though not nearly as frightening as advertised.

    Dead Space had me going from the start. The game starts out tense and only gets more interesting as time goes on. The entire game takes place on a derelict ship orbiting a mining colony on some distant planet. Almost the entire game takes place on the ship, but the different sections are varied enough that things donâ
    Collapse
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 67 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 67
  2. Negative: 0 out of 67
  1. Dead Space is a beautiful videogame, showing incredible polish and detail in both the visuals and the control. The amount of love and attention packed into this title is apparent, as scares and action are perfectly blended. What an incredibly impressive way for a new survival horror franchise to debut!
  2. A spectacular game which shows vividly that "Resident Evil" is not the king of survival horrors anymore.
  3. The combat is fast and frantic, the interface excellent, the controls responsive, and it provides an overall satisfying experience. While it's fun, though, there isn't much that's memorable about Dead Space. It feels like patchwork that's been slapped together from other franchises, and it lacks a spirit of its own to make it stand out from the pack.