User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 114
  2. Negative: 19 out of 114

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 14, 2013
    6
    framerate sucks (on X360 was ok)
    - audio glitches
    - boss battles sucks if u dont have special weapons (or/and heath kits)
    - boring driving (and steering sucks)
    - too big and empty open world (doest encourage to do side quests)

    Other that that... interesting story and atmosphere.
  2. Aug 1, 2013
    7
    The main thing I can say about Deadly Premonition is that this game is not for everyone. REALLY. It isn't. First of all it has incredibly bad graphics (like a bad PS2 game) and the controls are clunky and outdated. It looks, sounds and plays like a very bad game. On the other hand, it has a FANTASTIC story, dialogues, cast of characters and a sense of investigation that put this game onThe main thing I can say about Deadly Premonition is that this game is not for everyone. REALLY. It isn't. First of all it has incredibly bad graphics (like a bad PS2 game) and the controls are clunky and outdated. It looks, sounds and plays like a very bad game. On the other hand, it has a FANTASTIC story, dialogues, cast of characters and a sense of investigation that put this game on par with L.A. Noire I am not joking. It is kind of GTAish and Resident Evil-Silent Hillish at the same time, with a structure where the game is divided in chapters and episodes (like a TV show). Fans of Twin Peaks will immediately connect to this game and maybe this is the reason why I gradually went from shocked with how bad this game looks to completely hooked just to see how this ABSOLUTELY CRAZY story would unfold. It's a hidden gem, no question about it. But, again, not for everyone. Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2014
    6
    This game is weird, got it for free on PSN so figured I would give it a shot.
    The game controls pretty bad and the sounds are also terrible. One of the bosses that you fight has music that sounds like that Nintendo NES wrestling game and it made me want to rip my friggen ears off... Also the enemies move like snails. Everything about this game sucks except the story. What took me out
    This game is weird, got it for free on PSN so figured I would give it a shot.
    The game controls pretty bad and the sounds are also terrible. One of the bosses that you fight has music that sounds like that Nintendo NES wrestling game and it made me want to rip my friggen ears off... Also the enemies move like snails. Everything about this game sucks except the story. What took me out of the game the most though was the music, it's a horror game that at times ( like a time where it's suppose to be a sad scene) they put some slap base funk or something, it's kind of retarded to be honest.... The guns sound like when you blow into a juice box then put it on the ground and then step on it.. When you walk on grass it sounds like two winter coats are rubbing together.. York moves like he has a load in his pants.

    It's a weird , terrible game with a good story... When I say Weird I mean that as a good thing..
    Expand
  4. May 4, 2013
    7
    While still retaining the great story, characters and adding a bit more with 5 minutes of extra footage setting the game up for a sequel, the game has bit of problems that have been added as well that stem from washed out visuals, very choppy framerate and the sound design being hampered in lots of areas such as when agent York has conversations with his Zach, (the voice in his head) theWhile still retaining the great story, characters and adding a bit more with 5 minutes of extra footage setting the game up for a sequel, the game has bit of problems that have been added as well that stem from washed out visuals, very choppy framerate and the sound design being hampered in lots of areas such as when agent York has conversations with his Zach, (the voice in his head) the sound starts becoming like listening to someone talking into a can. While these problems wont turn away most newcomers, existing fans should probably stick to the original due to the problems mentioned, lack of difficulty settings limiting you to just play easy mode, and not much new content other than new suits or the new footage before and after each chapter. For newcomers or people that don't have an xbox though, this game is a must buy and should be played by any gamer who loves survival horror, twin peaks or just plain insanity. It's still a great game, but just missing out on the deep red or green filters that gave the original such an atmosphere bugged me a bit. They may have taken the green out of Greenvale a bit and given you a blue cement lake, but it's still worth a purchase to at least bring in support for a sequel, because games like this are few and far between these days. Expand
  5. May 6, 2013
    7
    An unique and important game with a fantastic story and characters. To bad this "definite" Director's Cut version has grave problems with framerate and sound that were absent in the 360 version.
  6. Nov 6, 2014
    5
    Simultaneously the best and worst game ever made. Firstly the bad; graphics nearly a decade old, repetitive gunplay, dull driving. But there is a certain charm and hilarity to the game that makes it all worthwhile with an intriguing (if downright insane) plot to keep you carrying on.
  7. Jul 24, 2013
    0
    The graphics may be a little outdated but what's underneath the covers is what counts, to me anyway (and that's all that matters for this review). In this day and age where it's all about pretty pictures and weak AI (or no AI, just point and shoot), this game is a breath of fresh air. There is an ominous presence watching you in this game; in spite of the lead character being aThe graphics may be a little outdated but what's underneath the covers is what counts, to me anyway (and that's all that matters for this review). In this day and age where it's all about pretty pictures and weak AI (or no AI, just point and shoot), this game is a breath of fresh air. There is an ominous presence watching you in this game; in spite of the lead character being a superfreak profiler, all the extra baggage that comes along with this great talent seems to have caught up with him. The great metaphysical balance of the universe must be restored, or Morgan becomes a demigod of sorts... so we have this story of how he is going to be brought down to earth. I love it! The campy graphics are actually a plus and not a minus. It's a good mix of open world and linear cut scene interludes of which come across quite nicely. I highly recomment this game to anyone who likes the Criminal Minds TV show that is melded with straight outright horror. Collapse
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. Deadly Premonition's saving grace is its main character York, who obviously has more than one screw loose and grants the game its unique and confusing sense of humour. He talks to an invisible friend, reads mysterious signs in his morning coffee and talks about people as if they aren't standing right next to him. [May 2013, p.84]
  2. Jul 30, 2013
    80
    Highly recommended to those not afraid of experiments and wanting to play something truly unique.
  3. Jul 4, 2013
    60
    Although the "director's cut" edition is slightly worse than the original, Deadly Premonition remains on the most bizarre games ever made. If you are in the mood for something completely unique try it out, but be prepared for a strange ride.