Deadly Premonition: The Director's Cut Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 124 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deadly Premonition is a third-person survival horror action game which puts players in the role of the intuitive FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, players will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an arrayDeadly Premonition is a third-person survival horror action game which puts players in the role of the intuitive FBI Agent Francis York Morgan. In the process of investigating a murder, players will examine a series of interlocking mysteries in a remote rural town and will encounter an array of complex characters pivotal to the unraveling of the storyline's mystery. Suspenseful action sequences will force players to make strategic moves, gliding by enemies in the shadows or engaging them with long-range weapons or hand-to-hand melee combat. From the unparalleled atmosphere, music and mysterious storyline to driving vehicles and exploring the entire town, Deadly Premonition will offer players a unique and haunting interactive gaming experience unlike any other. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 32
  2. Negative: 2 out of 32
  1. May 21, 2013
    90
    This generation's cult classic, now available for the PS3. Don't miss it.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    As unique a vision as video gaming has ever seen and one able to use its many incompetencies – including the new ones – to entertain and surprise.
  3. Jun 7, 2013
    80
    Deadly Premonition: The Director’s Cut is a delightfully weird game that, despite all of its many faults, has more heart and soul than any other budget title.
  4. Apr 30, 2013
    70
    They say that beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Where one gamer will see an ugly, boring, schizophrenic mess of a survival horror game, another will see the splendor of its expansive setting, idiosyncratic cast, and spellbinding mystery. Deadly Premonition: The Director’s Cut is the misfit’s masterpiece, offering an inviting and affordable chance to see which side of the oddball gamer fence you stand on.
  5. May 9, 2013
    70
    Again, this is an impossible game to sum up into so many words, and the polarization on how “good” it actually is will never die. One thing is certain though, this experience will not be forgotten for years to come.
  6. May 27, 2013
    67
    The game is grim, gruesome, and if you can get by the fact the game is now over a decade old, it is quite engaging. One thing is for sure, if this is your first time meeting Agent York, this is the version to play for sure.
  7. A technical marvel this is not, but beneath the detritus lie some good ideas, at least. Open-world survival horror is a scintillating concept, conjuring images of casing out suspects at will, perhaps stumbling upon situations that blow the mystery wide open by chance. The reality’s much grimmer, of course – with so little to do between missions except tedious driving challenges, you often find yourself sleeping through the day to hurry it along.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. Jun 25, 2013
    10
    Great game. It is outstanding compared to the other games on the same genre. If you really enjoy games like these... trust me, this is one ofGreat game. It is outstanding compared to the other games on the same genre. If you really enjoy games like these... trust me, this is one of the best titles you can get for a low price. Expand
  2. Sis
    Sep 19, 2013
    10
    This game wins so much on humor and comedy that I just get a feel of joy when I play it. It has a great story that you wanna follow all theThis game wins so much on humor and comedy that I just get a feel of joy when I play it. It has a great story that you wanna follow all the way through and the characters are funny and interesting. All though this game may lose some for it's extremely easy difficulty and the story's slow pace, the quality of the story more than make up for it. I also like the big open-world landscape and how your car has all the functions of a real car. In general, you should go buy this game, because it's well worth your time to play it. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2014
    9
    Awesome game! Aside from the fact this game has graphics that remind me of a PSP game the world of Deadly Premonition was actually made quiteAwesome game! Aside from the fact this game has graphics that remind me of a PSP game the world of Deadly Premonition was actually made quite well, amazing characters to go with a fantastic story. Great voice acting work by every character. Francis York Morgan is probably one of the most interesting video game characters ever created with his odd personality. People say that Deadly Premonition is a love or hate thing and to that I say I don't understand how people don't like this game. Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2015
    8
    Gameplay:
    Deadly Premonition's shooting mechanics work well enough to be serviceable, but I would not say that it's smooth. Most of the game
    Gameplay:
    Deadly Premonition's shooting mechanics work well enough to be serviceable, but I would not say that it's smooth. Most of the game is crude and unpolished, but I believe this game has it's own charm because of it. The gameplay consists of completing side-quests: missions from the general population; and completing main missions: mostly detective work. It is an open world game, which includes a clock that runs throughout the entire day. You can or can't do certain things depending on the time. You also have to shave, change suits, and feed your character. If this sounds out of the ordinary, it's because it is!

    Story:
    The story is outrageous, yet has it's own unique charm that is unprecedented. The story is the most rewarding section of the entire game. It's ridiculously ludicrous and is the most outlandish game I've played. You are detective Francis York Morgan, along with your companion "Zach." You are investigating a series of murders in a town called Greenvale. You must figure out who the "Raincoat Killer" is and stop him from murdering again. The storyline is surprisingly well written and you will feel rewarded after completing the game. I can't elaborate further without spoiling major plots points, but I can assure you that you would be satisfied with the storyline.

    Graphics:
    Deadly Premonition is definitely lacking in the graphical department. Animations are odd, stiff, and in some instances, outright nonsensical. The environments seem like something out of the 6th Gen era. Not to mention the fact that the frame rate drops in this game are absolutely unacceptable! It is very obvious that the budget of this game did not go to it's appearance. If you care about graphics, this game is not for you.

    Verdict:
    I recommend this game to any gamer who is willing to try an original and unique experience. This is definitely a game that you have never played before, and it can either be a good or bad thing. It's time that gamers expand their horizons in an industry filled with tiresome sequels and first-person shooters. This game is a step in the right direction when it comes to creativity. Pick this game up!
    Expand
  5. May 6, 2013
    7
    An unique and important game with a fantastic story and characters. To bad this "definite" Director's Cut version has grave problems withAn unique and important game with a fantastic story and characters. To bad this "definite" Director's Cut version has grave problems with framerate and sound that were absent in the 360 version. Expand
  6. Nov 6, 2014
    5
    Simultaneously the best and worst game ever made. Firstly the bad; graphics nearly a decade old, repetitive gunplay, dull driving. But thereSimultaneously the best and worst game ever made. Firstly the bad; graphics nearly a decade old, repetitive gunplay, dull driving. But there is a certain charm and hilarity to the game that makes it all worthwhile with an intriguing (if downright insane) plot to keep you carrying on. Expand
  7. Dec 16, 2014
    0
    Absolutely awful. It looks almost as good as Halo, but the animations are roughly equal. The sound is almost as good as the graphics. WhyAbsolutely awful. It looks almost as good as Halo, but the animations are roughly equal. The sound is almost as good as the graphics. Why compare to Halo? Because the graphics and sound are fairly comparable and Halo is 12 years older. 12 years to move backwards. Comparing gameplay there's no contest. Deadly Premonition has horrible gameplay. Maybe the worst I've ever seen, and my perspective goes back to Pong. Glitchy sound and framerate combine with wonky, sluggish controls to make attempting to play this game a truly miserable experience. Finally this IS NOT a horror survival game. Maybe a horror shooter, but dying puts you at the point right before the encounter, with little penalty (which is what defines survival, crappy controls don't). So it's simply a shooter, and should be compared to other shooters, where it fails on every level. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews