Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Deadpool's address: "There are a few important things I need to say before you crack into my insanely sweet game. (Oof. Here we go again.) I'm a mercenary with an accelerated healing factor. I've been described as unstable, which is just plain coo-coo. (Wait, do sane people say coo-coo?) I'mDeadpool's address: "There are a few important things I need to say before you crack into my insanely sweet game. (Oof. Here we go again.) I'm a mercenary with an accelerated healing factor. I've been described as unstable, which is just plain coo-coo. (Wait, do sane people say coo-coo?) I'm gonna battle for the safety of humans and mutants. (And even mumans.) Be prepared for just about anything. (Holla!) • I made sure to capture all my good sides, so I made my game a third-person action-shooter. (Yep, you get to look at my heinie.) • Keep a look out cuz some of my X-Men pals (Whoa, what pals?!) are making an appearance. (Hope you don't mind picking hair out of your tacos.) • I'm really good at killing, so I made it a blast stringing together combos, and totally eviscerating my enemies. (Ev-is-cer-a-ting!) • I brought my skills and a buttload of my favorite things. Katanas (check), guns (bang!) explosives (boom), duct tape (quack) and of course, yours truly - ME! (Checkmate!)" Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. 80
    It's not without its flaws, but overall, Deadpool is a decent, light-hearted hack-'n-slash game.
  2. Jul 22, 2013
    75
    Deadpool proves that even the most random comic book character can have a highly entertaining video game when he is portrayed well.
  3. Jul 2, 2013
    70
    Well here's a funny game. High Moon Studios managed to perfectly capture one of Marvel's out-there characters and even though the game falls a bit short on the gameplay front - the annoying camera and the repetitive level design are the culprits - Deadpool still holds its own thanks to its truly enjoyable namesake protagonist.
  4. Jul 2, 2013
    60
    Deadpool is far from a bad game, yet the developers' over-reliance on the appeal of the source material means it rarely shoots for the stars.
  5. Aug 19, 2013
    60
    What it lacks in quality, Deadpool compensates with bragging and dick jokes.
  6. If you’re all for the idea of chuckling at a game that’s under budget, intentionally offensive and a bit archaic – here you go. But when you find out that same punchline includes a pitiful seven hour runtime and a 70 dollar price tag, we think it’ll probably wipe the smirk right of your face. [August 2013, p72]
  7. Jun 26, 2013
    40
    Combine those problems with the game's generally chuggy, unattractive visuals, generic-as-hell soundtrack, painfully obnoxious late-game difficulty spike, and breezily short campaign (I beat most of it in a single afternoon), and you've got yourself a game that really doesn't offer much to anyone, outside of the most dedicated fans of the Merc with the Mouth.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 38
  2. Negative: 5 out of 38
  1. Dec 3, 2013
    10
    This game is so freaking HILARIOUS, I love it, my only concern is that I'm half of the game in a day, and maybe about hard mode, it's so hardThis game is so freaking HILARIOUS, I love it, my only concern is that I'm half of the game in a day, and maybe about hard mode, it's so hard it's frustrating sometimes, but an overall good game, bloody, dirty mouth and funny as hell, I LOVE IT Expand
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    9
    Highly underrated!
    If you want to know if this game is for you, you should either
    a) like the deadpool character or b) like complex
    Highly underrated!
    If you want to know if this game is for you, you should either
    a) like the deadpool character or
    b) like complex hack-and slash type mechanics, best comparable to those in the Batman Arkham Asyslum/City games.

    Strenghts are a very entertaining gameplay and a very funny atmosphere throughout the game. (It might be one of the funniest games I've ever played quite frankly.) The only real weakness is the repetitive nature of the game.
    Expand
  3. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    I would give 10/10 but the only bad thing about this game is that it's really short. It offers only 6 hours of gameplay with the mainI would give 10/10 but the only bad thing about this game is that it's really short. It offers only 6 hours of gameplay with the main storyline. But those 6 hours are really enjoyable with nice gameplay, funny story, jokes, references. Collapse
  4. Jul 16, 2013
    7
    I have to rate this game a bit higher than lower because of 2 things. It was fun, it was funny. Does this game have flaws? Yes. ThankfullyI have to rate this game a bit higher than lower because of 2 things. It was fun, it was funny. Does this game have flaws? Yes. Thankfully the repetitive combat and bland levels are less of a concern thanks to Deadpools personality & the story.

    When it came down to it, all I really wanted to do was get through the levels so I could see the next part of the story.
    Expand
  5. Jun 26, 2013
    7
    LONG REVIEW

    Perhaps the best thing that can be said about Deadpool is that it has some of the funniest, enjoyable and frantic writing I've
    LONG REVIEW

    Perhaps the best thing that can be said about Deadpool is that it has some of the funniest, enjoyable and frantic writing I've seen in any video game. This is where Deadpool really shines, and this is saying a lot considering a lot of the game runs solely from joke to joke and remains enjoyable throughout. Sure, the jokes don't always hit their mark, but they definitely hit more times than they miss, and when dealing with a character such as this, there's really no fourth wall to be broken, and it's quite a feat to not only write a video game around this concept, but to do it so, so well. Deadpool will constantly make references to the game's script, the player experiencing the game, the developer, Marvel characters, and so on. The writing in this game is certainly top notch for something that doesn't have much story to speak of. I was floored by how well High Moon nailed the character.

    The blemishes start to show themselves everywhere else, though. Arkham City Deadpool is not, and to its credit, it never aimed to be. The game is a straight up 3rd person run n' gun brawler, complete with a weapon upgrade system and seldom stealth sections. While none of these things work terribly, they definitely hit below par. Overall the gameplay here feels unpolished. In comparing this game to something like God of War, there's no contest; technically speaking, God of War would be the better 3rd person brawler. Deadpool is more akin to something like 2007's visual vibrant playground, Afro Samurai. Where gameplay fails, aesthetics and batsh** insanity even the score. That is, if that's your thing of course.

    Controlling Deadpool feels wonky. It seems as though his footsteps don't exactly match the center of gravity in the middle of the screen, and the camera can control wildly at times while not really being able to keep up with all of the intensely violent action. The auto lock-on for guns is just barely not broken, in the sense that it works when it wants to. If enemies are too close to the camera, however, the lock-on is just nigh of useless. However, lock-on aside, the guns in this game actually control very fluidly. Aiming around the screen controls exactly like a first person shooter. Think Saints Row gunplay but with a few tweaks, such as an aim button to zoom in, to make it feel more controlled. It's quite a lot of fun.

    Melee weapons in this game are absolutely a blast to play around with. Though you're limited to katanas, sais and hammers, I found myself switching between the three a lot due to their strengths and weaknesses. The hammer is slow and bad for combos, but deals massive damage. The sais are quick and great for combos, but are generally weak when it comes to damage. This is a lot of fun to play around with, mixing between the light/heavy attacks that so many games of this nature work with. All in all, combat in Deadpool could stand to be a bit tightened when it comes to general fluidity, but it certainly has some well implemented ideas, such as weapon upgrades for damage, speed, etc., and all weapons control well enough that it's not a problem to pick up and play.

    The combat does however get very tedious, and this is largely due to the fact that the game is essentially sets of corridors leading to open environments that lead to wildly insane, irreverent set pieces full of the same 6 or 7 enemies, rinse and repeat. Not that these enemies aren't interesting, mind you. Most have unique enough attacks that keep them from becoming too stale, but this system of corridors leading to open environments just to flex the game's combat muscle makes up most of the game.

    When the game isn't focusing on the combat all the time, it's full of amazing variety. From a turret shooting gallery that deconstructs the turret trope in video games to light puzzle solving, it's actually quite amazing that the game gets stale at all.

    I think the main problem with Deadpool is that, even with a respectable enough amount of enemy variety, most enemies don't require different tactics. You'll find yourself using the same shotgun to take down the smallest of enemies to the largest, and boss fights are exactly the same, just with more difficult sets of attacks tied to them. This is the only reason Deadpool gets stale at all, and it's a shame, because underneath these problems there is a great game here.

    Deadpool does just enough to remain interesting throughout, and more times than not I found myself shooting through the enemies just to see where the writing and Deadpool would take themselves. This isn't inherently a bad thing because like I said, the writing here and the implementation of it is what makes the game so interesting. It's just a same that it's can be a bland experience.

    After all of this it may sound like I'm hating on this game, but I'm not. I loved my time playing through its short campaign, and challenge maps are there for those who enjoy them. It just misses its mark by just a few missteps.
    Expand
  6. Jun 25, 2013
    7
    If you are a fan of Deadpool, then this is a solid 8/10 and a very well written and funny game while staying mostly true to the charactersIf you are a fan of Deadpool, then this is a solid 8/10 and a very well written and funny game while staying mostly true to the characters comic background. However if you are not a Deadpool or a Marvel fan I would strongly recommend renting this game. It is between 5-6 hours long, has little replay vale (and i say that from the perspective of being a HUGE deapool fan). I would love to give this game an 8/10 but the added challenge maps are boring and redundant with no difference from the Campaign. Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2013
    1
    worst piece of crap i played day worth of game play repetitive action only thing was good was it was funny that it....

    it was good i
    worst piece of crap i played day worth of game play repetitive action only thing was good was it was funny that it....

    it was good i return it to buy uncharted 3 at least i have fun with this game then this rubbish
    Expand

See all 38 User Reviews

Trailers