DeathSpank PlayStation 3

DeathSpank Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 47 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 125 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: [Playstation Network] For uncounted years the wanderer DeathSpank has been a Dispenser of Justice, a Vanquisher of Evil, and a Hero to the Downtrodden. Throughout his adventures DeathSpank has searched for a powerful artifact called ... The Artifact. Forged by unknown hands for unknown[Playstation Network] For uncounted years the wanderer DeathSpank has been a Dispenser of Justice, a Vanquisher of Evil, and a Hero to the Downtrodden. Throughout his adventures DeathSpank has searched for a powerful artifact called ... The Artifact. Forged by unknown hands for unknown purposes some unknown time in the past, The Artifact is now within DeathSpank’s reach, but what is The Artifact and what evil tyrant seeks to steal it? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 47
  2. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. 100
    With the exception of food, water and, if necessary, important medications, I can't think of anything more worthy of spending $15 on this week. This is a high point for comedy in games, built on a solid foundation of time-tested gameplay and bacon that everyone should experience.
  2. There are so many good things in DeathSpank; the amount of loot collecting (and bacon), quests to complete and fantastic look and feel of the world make up for any shortcomings and give a lot of value and enjoyment. If you're a fan of action-RPGs, you will not be disappointed, and those looking for a game that will bring them into the genre need look no further than DeathSpank.
  3. 85
    If you like sweet loot, hacking things to death, looking at beautiful landscapes and laughing at good writing, you might want to pick up DeathSpank. However, although the game shines in many areas, it does have its flaws.
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    80
    For the money you're laying down, Deathspank is like the glittering bags of swag it depicts. Highly-amusing and addictive as all hell. [September 2010 p78]
  5. Ron Gilbert delivers another sweet piece of art. Hilarious and technically fantastic, Deathspank fails to become another classic just because of its repetitive gameplay and quests design.
  6. Some fresh ideas in this funny and debunking action RPG. What makes it really unique is the humour, and there's a good bunch of fun to be had slaying the enemies. It lacks some deeper growth of the character and some better puzzles, but for genre lovers it's really worth every cent of its small price.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    60
    Hack-and-slash antics fuel the fire, but the game's health system makes extended fights an exercise in frustration. [Sept 2010, p.81]

See all 47 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    this game was great, it was a mindless hack em up game that held my attention to the end, the large amount of weaponry was excellent, thethis game was great, it was a mindless hack em up game that held my attention to the end, the large amount of weaponry was excellent, the story line was pretty well written, whenever i wanted to unwind i would play this game, absolutely worth the 10 dollars it is selling for...... Expand
  2. Aug 30, 2010
    9
    Started playing this game last night, and I must say, I haven't had this much fun in ages. The game is a blast, it's extremely well written,Started playing this game last night, and I must say, I haven't had this much fun in ages. The game is a blast, it's extremely well written, the dialog is hilarious, and the gameplay is also top notch. If you love old-school RPG's, you'll love this. 9 / 10 (I might change my rating after I finish the game). Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2017
    9
    DeathSpank is simply awesome! I enjoyed it greatly from beginning to end. It is one of the PSN games I like the most.

    In terms of gameplay,
    DeathSpank is simply awesome! I enjoyed it greatly from beginning to end. It is one of the PSN games I like the most.

    In terms of gameplay, DeathSpank offers a nice variety of weapons, items and enemies, main and secondary missions, a large world to explore... Despite it is not short, it is frankly difficult to get bored.

    Still, I consider that its biggest charm lies in the storyline, the cartoon-like style and the dialogues. Dialogues and situations in general are absolutely hilarious, full of funny jokes and puns. Certainly, DeathSpank is an universe per se.
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    While waiting patiently for some of the new releases to come out, I've been poking around the PSN store and found this little gem. The colorsWhile waiting patiently for some of the new releases to come out, I've been poking around the PSN store and found this little gem. The colors and graphics are great, the dialogue and quests are fairly amusing, the weapons and armor are pretty rad, though limited. It's a fun, short game if you don't waste your time thinking too much about it. Haven't tried co-op and not entirely interested since it doesn't look too intriguing. Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2011
    8
    A highly enjoyable little "Diablo" clone with a great sense of humor. It never takes itself seriously which is a good thing. Worth the cheapA highly enjoyable little "Diablo" clone with a great sense of humor. It never takes itself seriously which is a good thing. Worth the cheap asking price for sure as it will last about 10 hours before you've seen everything. Worth a look. Expand
  6. Sep 9, 2010
    8
    Quirky humor and a satire of modern western RPGs, Deathspank is a fun mindless experience that many can enjoy. Though the environments have aQuirky humor and a satire of modern western RPGs, Deathspank is a fun mindless experience that many can enjoy. Though the environments have a great art style, I only disliked the character models. A minor problem considering it many positive points. Worth every cent! Expand
  7. Aug 20, 2010
    2
    A bare-bones Diablo knock-off with embarrassing attempts at humor (i.e. collecting "chicken lips"). I've played flash games with moreA bare-bones Diablo knock-off with embarrassing attempts at humor (i.e. collecting "chicken lips"). I've played flash games with more depth.The co-op is terrible as well. The second player is cast as an ignored mage who cannot interact with the environment. While many Diablo-esque games place a premium on replayability (various character classes and character builds), Deathspank has an incredibly elementary leveling system and leaves very little room for customization. On first consideration, the game's length might be good for an arcade title - but for a game of this nature, it is short on content. Expand

See all 17 User Reviews