Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Mar 25, 2014
    85
    If the idea of setting up methodical, creative puzzles sounds like a good time, you'll love Deception IV. It's easily the most packed game in the series, and with its optional tutorials, it's even a great first stop for genre newcomers.
  2. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    How much fun one has with this title is directly connected to how much they’re willing to experiment, and if they already consider themselves a bit of sadist, they will learn as to what extent they are.
  3. Mar 28, 2014
    80
    While some of its parts still feel like trappings of a less-advanced era of gaming, Deception IV is a more than worthy—not to mention unashamed—continuation of a franchise that mixes unique, original concepts with that deep, dark desire we all hold to be a little evil sometimes.
  4. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    It knows how to evolve the series without losing it essence. Also, the new online features are really welcome, expanding the life of the title.
  5. Apr 7, 2014
    75
    It’s admittedly one of the most depraved games I’ve ever come across. A strategy title with a point collection system based on pain and humiliation will probably turn away the majority of sensible folks.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 3
  2. Negative: 1 out of 3
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Are you tired of AAA game companies streamlining and dumbing everything down? Me too! The streamlining is a result of management consultingAre you tired of AAA game companies streamlining and dumbing everything down? Me too! The streamlining is a result of management consulting companies like Mckinsey, Boston Consulting Group, Deloitte, finance quants, private equity, and investment bankers telling publishers to dumb it all down. This game is a true gem! Savior games like this while you still can. It is a game that is truly creative, and games like this only come rarely each console generation. Deception IV: Blood Ties is a truly great trap strategy rpg. Full Review »
  2. May 13, 2017
    5
    Did you ever play the game Mousetrap?! If not, you're probably just young to remember the game. No worries, though. Deception, in aDid you ever play the game Mousetrap?! If not, you're probably just young to remember the game. No worries, though. Deception, in a nutshell is a game that focuses on you playing a bad guy..I mean girl. Who is the master of a castle and will do ANYTHING to prevent their progress. Using a create a scenario, form of strategy gameplay. You set up traps (such as spring boards, falling boulders, explosives, etc.) in the way that your invaders are coming. Some are silly, other brutal and then there are others that are clearly sexual.
    (Now being a video game for mature audiences, you can imagine, that its clearly suggestive.)

    Personally, I like the idea of brutalizing those wannabe protagonists. But it just seemed like there were too many cliched anime charcteristics; that and the pace of the game was just slow. I wanted to like the game, but I just ended up falling asleep multiple times while playing this. Which is bad.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 18, 2014
    4
    Just don't. Lmao no. I reall didn't like this game. It wasn't terrible but it definitely wasn't great so that was why I'm giving this a 4 onJust don't. Lmao no. I reall didn't like this game. It wasn't terrible but it definitely wasn't great so that was why I'm giving this a 4 on 10. Most people will be disapointed. Full Review »