Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    85
    If you like SingStar, but have always wished it had more hip-hop, then this is the game for you. I know that sounds like a facile verdict, but it's an inescapable one.
  2. Dec 21, 2010
    81
    Def Jam Rapstar is a game that puts you behind the microphone to rap a lot of famous songs. You can capture your performance en share it online with other players. For the people that like rap and hip-hop, this is your heaven!
  3. Jan 13, 2011
    80
    Demanding, but with a fine track list and immaculate presentation. [Jan 2011, p.84]
  4. Grab your pimp cup and step up to the battle, and you'll find not only some serious karaoke, but the best online set-up for any music game yet. [Issue#51, p.104]
  5. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    It's a skill-based game that manages to be surprisingly technical, but never at the expense of fun. It's hugely rewarding, too: after several extended spells on the game, Mr Gaston had the balls to perform Gold Digger on stage in a Croydon nightclub - and round there, they kill people who suck at karaoke.
  6. The game is a perfect party game to play when friends are over. Factor in the community aspect, which is still being worked on and updated constantly, and you have yourself a sleeper hit for fans of hip hop.
  7. Some of the trimming around the outer edges is shaky, but the core of Def Jam Rapstar is rock-solid, and the community video feature is sure to provide a lot of entertainment on its own.
  8. Def Jam Rapstar may not have the ultimate killer presentation, and 45 songs may not be enough compared to the 80+ songs the Rock Band games carry, but it's a huge step in the right direction for Konami's musical approach, and we certainly hope more follow in their footsteps.
  9. Def Jam Rapstar offers more than enough features to distinguish it from other karaoke games on the market, and most importantly, is a good time if you can overlook some of its problems.
  10. For people who are not afraid to sing (or rhyme in this case), and are tired of Duffy and Britney Spears, give Rapstar a go.
  11. Dec 30, 2010
    75
    If you like rap or hip-hop, this is the game you were waiting for.
  12. Dec 22, 2010
    75
    Def Jam Rapstar has a nice tracklist that will keep you entertained for hours to come. No longer will you have to be ashamed when you want to spill some lyrics. Def Jam Rapstar is not the best karaoke game out there, but it sure is one of the most entertaining ones.
  13. 75
    Is Def Jam Rapstar perfect? Hell no. Is Def Jam Rapstar fun? F--- yes it is! As just a party game I've had a blast with it. The censorship is annoying, and hurts the game more than the developers would like to admit.
  14. While you won't see its name on a blimp, cool community features and a great songlist make Def Jam Rapstar a sure bet if you want to get your living room bumpin'.
  15. Jan 7, 2011
    74
    Basically, Def Jam RapStar is a successful spin-off of the ageing music game genre.
  16. Oct 28, 2010
    74
    If you want to bust out the rhymes of your favorite rap artists, DefJam Rapstar is your only option. By default this makes it the best game of its kind, but that doesn't mean its undeserved. While the package might not be a slick as other music games, the goods comes in the form of its precise rapping.
  17. Apr 6, 2011
    73
    Def Jam Rapstar is the only music game that focuses exclusively on Hip Hop with more than 40 of the greatest Hip Hop songs available. For this reason it's not easy to play like other "karaoke" games. You can use your console camera to record your performances and share them with the fully integrated Def Jam Rapstar community at www.defjamrapstar.com.
  18. Dec 25, 2010
    72
    Rapstar touches the musical bones other games can't reach. [Issue#199, p.98]
  19. Dec 21, 2010
    72
    There isn't much to the game's career mode, but this game will certainly be a sure-fire winner at parties.
  20. Jan 20, 2011
    70
    It has its flaws, but if you like rap or hip-hop, you'll surely have fun, especially in multiplayer.
  21. Dec 29, 2010
    70
    A surprisingly fun karaoke game, with a strong community and good online options. Unfortunately, censorship in many tracks brings down the overall experience.
  22. Dec 13, 2010
    70
    Overall, Def Jam Rapstar is an excellent entry to the rap karaoke genre and goes some way to achieving what fans would have been wanting from the game. With a little bit more fine tuning here and there, Def Jam Rapstar has the potential to be a very serious contender within the music game market.
  23. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    While it may just seem like glorified Karaoke, there is more going on here than meets the eye and a sequel could be even more fun if they polish up the interface.
  24. Jan 6, 2011
    60
    Thanks to Rapstar we now finally have a karaokegame that makes us rap instead of sing. The problem is Rapstar can't decide if its for the hardcore hiphop-fan or the mainstream listener. And why on earth is the foul language edited out?
  25. Dec 13, 2010
    50
    This is a good idea that needs to be retooled before it becomes a staple of the music game genre.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 4 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Oct 13, 2010
    10
    I've been a big fan of rap and hip-hop since high school. I also like Rock (and a little country here and there), but when it comes toI've been a big fan of rap and hip-hop since high school. I also like Rock (and a little country here and there), but when it comes to parties, Hip hop was always the thing. For this reason, I never understood why there wasn't a good hip-hop music game. Frankly, watching people playing Rock games at parties, I always thought that a great Hip-hop game would be a better party fit. Enter Def Jam Rapstar. This is perhaps the most fun party game I've ever played. Hands down. I broke it out at a party this past weekend, and within minutes, the whole room was going nuts. The music in the game is great - and seemed to appeal much better to men and women. But it was the camera component that really had people going. I don't know why, but once people realized that they were on camera, and we could edit the videos and then watch how good (or better put, how bad) we were, it took it to a whole different level. We played the game for hours and couldn't have had a better time - battling, duets....and mostly just making crazy videos.

    And while that was fun, seeing the videos online the following morning was almost better. Friends who weren't with us that night were flat out jealous that they'd missed one of the best nights in recent memory. Maybe this was just our experience, but if what I experienced is any indicator, I think Def Jam Rapstar is going to go down as one of the best party games ever made. I can't wait to play it again.
    Full Review »