Defiance PlayStation 3

Defiance Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 143 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Defiance is the first multi-platform shooter MMO which interconnects with a global television program by cable channel Syfy.
Buy On
  • Developer: Trion Worlds
  • Genre(s): Massively Multiplayer Online, Role-Playing, Sci-Fi, Action, Shooter, Shooter, Third-Person, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi, Arcade
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: M
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Defiance - Co-op Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    81
    For the time being, Defiance has started off on a relatively good note. The depth and longevity will undoubtedly cater to the MMO aficionados, the speed of the action-oriented TPS gameplay will interest some of the shooter fans, and sci-fi followers will definitely like the style and ambiance.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    75
    Defiance is far from perfect. The list of technical issues is substantial and not all elements of the game have been worked out as well as others. The competitive competitions fail to impress for instance. Still, it manages to keep players interested, thanks to the lively and intriguing world. Especially the dynamic Arkfall-events are impressive. Defiance is a fun MMO that you’ll sink many hours into before you know it.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    71
    Even though we haven't checked the consistency between the game and the TV show, we can say that Defiance, with its ample variety of options, will be a satisfactory experience for any MMO fan. Although this game is not a graphic marvel, if the player base keeps up, it will last for a long while.
  4. Trion Worlds’ game, on the other hand, seems simply to offer yet another big open world filled with weapons to collect and creatures to kill. I won’t deny that I’ve had moments of fun blowing holes in Hellbugs over the last week, but it was of a flavourless variety I could have derived from any number of other third-person shooters.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    Defiance is the B movie of massively multiplayer games: rickety and unrefined, yet a good time all the same.
  6. Play UK
    May 27, 2013
    50
    Ugly and full of bugs, but also quite fun and possessing some good ideas - an interesting start for an MMO. [Issue#231, p.73]
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    40
    The potential is there for Defiance to be more than a half-decent console MMO marred by technical problems.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 56
  2. Negative: 11 out of 56
  1. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    i love this game alot of action lots new friends that help u when dont need it always see friendly gamer come in help out player struggling ini love this game alot of action lots new friends that help u when dont need it always see friendly gamer come in help out player struggling in quest the game has few flaw the main character does not talk inventory bit iffy but still give 10 out of 10 Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Great game, I see so much potential here. Trion really got a lot of love for me after all the new stuff they did with Rift. This actually hasGreat game, I see so much potential here. Trion really got a lot of love for me after all the new stuff they did with Rift. This actually has a few elements kinda like rift. There are a few hiccups with the launch of any MMO, but it's been surprisingly solid all things considered. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Defiance is amazing. I was worried that it might have been a superficial game but as it turns out it's one of those games were it keepsDefiance is amazing. I was worried that it might have been a superficial game but as it turns out it's one of those games were it keeps getting better and better the more you play. People try to nitpick at all of the little things like the lack of a cover system(there is btw its just not static) and the voice chat problems, but the games better qualities far outweigh any issues I've encountered. The gameplay for the game is very solid. In games like borderlands as you trek through the game the enemies are higher level and as you go back to previously explored levels they are too easy because of a lack of dynamic enemy levels, but in Defiance the entire game is balanced. You can travel across the map when ever you feel like it and kill the enemies there too without worrying about getting destroyed by some level 50 robot. There is tons to do also. The map is covered with dynamic events, missions, challenges, etc. Expand
  4. Dec 22, 2014
    9
    This is hands down my favorite console mmo. Since it went free to play, it's been getting lots of love from Trion, who also make RIFT, myThis is hands down my favorite console mmo. Since it went free to play, it's been getting lots of love from Trion, who also make RIFT, my favorite pc mmo. If you're on the fence, give it a shot. It's different but very good. If you like FPS games but like co-op, this is for you. The pvp is good too, but I mostly focus on pve. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2013
    7
    I would characterize Defiance as the perfect starter mmo. it's easy to get into and understand but it's a true MMO on consoles. First off,I would characterize Defiance as the perfect starter mmo. it's easy to get into and understand but it's a true MMO on consoles. First off, people who are scared that it ties into the TV show don't be, the game stands on it's own and unlike most tv or movie games the gameplay is pretty good.

    Defiance is unique even in the mmo world. it's a third person shooter and you actually have to aim and shoot bullets have to hit you to hurt you.

    during most missions any other player can be in the same zone and help you with missions and vice versa, unlike other MMO games, having multiple people doing the same mission doesn't hurt your chances of getting the kill or finding items, if we have to get 4 medical supplies and I get 3 of them, you only need to get the last one to finish the quest.

    besides the main story and side missions, there is a co-op mode where 4 people go through what amounts to a dungeon. there are about 8 co-op missions. on the matchmaking front there is also 2 team deathmatch maps, and a capture and hold style game mode with 3 points. there is also "shadow war" which is basically battlefield 3 conquest but takes place in the actual game world, it has 20vs20 player matches (probably more, most I had was 20vs20)

    the best part of the game is arkfalls, which are world events where anyone who goes fights monsters, over 50 people on screen fight to kill the big bosses is exciting.

    now for the negatives
    first is bugginess, trion has already done some patches to fix disconnects and other issues, but they have a lot of work to do thankfully things ARE getting done.

    2nd there are many MMO elements missing, there is no crafting, and progression is terrible, lvl 600 here and I feel about the same as lvl 20. the max level is like 4000 though.

    3 end game content is non existent, basically pvp and arkfalls are all you do if you aren't doing missions or a co-op map.
    4. graphics are bad but seriously graphics are not the most important thing in a game.

    so basically like many MMO's there isn't enough content, but lets remember this is one of the only MMOs on console, and furthermore you actually have to aim and the game takes skill. with that I give it a 7/10, there is lots of room for improvement but anyone who wants to try an MMO for the first time, or wants a shooter that isn't the same old same old should try defiance.
    Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2014
    6
    I just give this game a giant ``meh``. Its much like destiny... only worse. The AI sucks and strafing is the entire game. Graphics are good,I just give this game a giant ``meh``. Its much like destiny... only worse. The AI sucks and strafing is the entire game. Graphics are good, but not great. PVP is... not bad but weapons is where this game ts it right. Its like borderlands, but with more variety. The open world is fun to explore,and big but the vehicules SUCK. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    Score fallen by 2 in 4 days, It shows how crap this game is... Bad enemy intelligence, too difficult, group of raides can hit you from 100Score fallen by 2 in 4 days, It shows how crap this game is... Bad enemy intelligence, too difficult, group of raides can hit you from 100 meters but cannot from 5... Lot's of glitches and its price... 40 pounds... They probably wipe their asses with that money... DLC will cost unlike in amazing firefall... Dont buy this Expand

See all 56 User Reviews