Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 137 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Defiance is the first multi-platform shooter MMO which interconnects with a global television program by cable channel Syfy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Apr 15, 2013
    81
    For the time being, Defiance has started off on a relatively good note. The depth and longevity will undoubtedly cater to the MMO aficionados, the speed of the action-oriented TPS gameplay will interest some of the shooter fans, and sci-fi followers will definitely like the style and ambiance.
  2. Apr 23, 2013
    75
    Defiance is far from perfect. The list of technical issues is substantial and not all elements of the game have been worked out as well as others. The competitive competitions fail to impress for instance. Still, it manages to keep players interested, thanks to the lively and intriguing world. Especially the dynamic Arkfall-events are impressive. Defiance is a fun MMO that you’ll sink many hours into before you know it.
  3. Apr 16, 2013
    71
    Even though we haven't checked the consistency between the game and the TV show, we can say that Defiance, with its ample variety of options, will be a satisfactory experience for any MMO fan. Although this game is not a graphic marvel, if the player base keeps up, it will last for a long while.
  4. Trion Worlds’ game, on the other hand, seems simply to offer yet another big open world filled with weapons to collect and creatures to kill. I won’t deny that I’ve had moments of fun blowing holes in Hellbugs over the last week, but it was of a flavourless variety I could have derived from any number of other third-person shooters.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    60
    Defiance is the B movie of massively multiplayer games: rickety and unrefined, yet a good time all the same.
  6. May 27, 2013
    50
    Ugly and full of bugs, but also quite fun and possessing some good ideas - an interesting start for an MMO. [Issue#231, p.73]
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    40
    The potential is there for Defiance to be more than a half-decent console MMO marred by technical problems.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 56
  2. Negative: 9 out of 56
  1. Apr 26, 2013
    10
    Such an Addicting game!

    Personally, I dont know why so many people rated this game bad. Although there are some problems with the MMO area
    Such an Addicting game!

    Personally, I dont know why so many people rated this game bad. Although there are some problems with the MMO area people need to realize this game still comes with an 18-22 hour campaign. What $60 game can you name that gives you 20hours of game play? And this isnt even counting Ark fall events, random events, Matches, Shadow Wars, & Instances. OH And its being developed as an MMO so there are going to be constant updates, patching, Etc. Both Free & Paid.

    Despite what people say this game is very well done, Although there has been Patcher problems and mission bugs with in the game, I've experienced NO LAG, even during Ark fall events where there are 200+ players on my screen and more Hell bugs then I can count. I can see no reason besides being purely impatient that you could rate this game lower then an 8.

    Its something NEW! Us console babys finally get a GREAT MMO! And like any MMO it only needs time to become even better.
    Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2013
    10
    Great game, I see so much potential here. Trion really got a lot of love for me after all the new stuff they did with Rift. This actually hasGreat game, I see so much potential here. Trion really got a lot of love for me after all the new stuff they did with Rift. This actually has a few elements kinda like rift. There are a few hiccups with the launch of any MMO, but it's been surprisingly solid all things considered. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    Defiance is amazing. I was worried that it might have been a superficial game but as it turns out it's one of those games were it keepsDefiance is amazing. I was worried that it might have been a superficial game but as it turns out it's one of those games were it keeps getting better and better the more you play. People try to nitpick at all of the little things like the lack of a cover system(there is btw its just not static) and the voice chat problems, but the games better qualities far outweigh any issues I've encountered. The gameplay for the game is very solid. In games like borderlands as you trek through the game the enemies are higher level and as you go back to previously explored levels they are too easy because of a lack of dynamic enemy levels, but in Defiance the entire game is balanced. You can travel across the map when ever you feel like it and kill the enemies there too without worrying about getting destroyed by some level 50 robot. There is tons to do also. The map is covered with dynamic events, missions, challenges, etc. Expand
  4. Aug 22, 2013
    9
    I'd like to start off by saying this game is not for everyone, but I sure loved the hell out of it. Defiance is a MMOTPS, you might beI'd like to start off by saying this game is not for everyone, but I sure loved the hell out of it. Defiance is a MMOTPS, you might be wondering what that is. A MMOTPS is a new genre that has been created with Defiance and stands for Massively Multiplayer Online Third Person Shooter. In Defiance you play as your own character, which can either be a Human or an Irathient (An alien race) and takes place in a post-apocalyptic earth where Alien planets have merged with ours. The graphics in Defiance aren't the greatest, however they are not at all terrible. It's kind of similar to Borderlands' graphics. The music is fantastic and sticks to the theme of a combination of Dubstep and Techno. Sounds great right?
    However, Defiance lacks a good back-story. But that's where the TV Show takes into account. While I don't care for any of the characters in the game, I am emotionally connected to the characters in the show which takes place in a different area to the game. The TV show also does a great job of explaining the backstory a whole lot better too. So I would strongly recommend that you get into the Television series before giving the game a go.
    Expand
  5. Apr 22, 2013
    8
    I now know these low scores are coming from the spoiled expectations of silver spoon gamers. this game is not only a one of a kind... but it'sI now know these low scores are coming from the spoiled expectations of silver spoon gamers. this game is not only a one of a kind... but it's the only of its kind on consoles or anywhere else. people have begun unknowingly comparing games to next generation titles. they have seen the light. they have had a taste of high end pc graphics and now current gen games just seem to look worse and worse. while i'll admit... defiance does look dated... it's only because of the type of game it is. and truthfully... it isn't going to hurt anyone's eyes who grew up playing intelevision. controls are responsive and tight during combat. and driving merely acts as a way to get from point a to point be so don't be expecting motorstorm. but when you put these things together and take the game at face value...for what it is.... it is a truly fun game. and that fun is the addicting type that crawls under your skin. the kind of fun that makes you feel like you are playing a game. and that's why we are all here. to have fun... playing games. I know the industry has moved closer to interactive "experiences" but defiance does something old school...but fresh and bold at the same time. I was hesitant at first... only picking up the game 2 days ago...mainly because of reviews. but I know better now than to listen to paid reviewers these days. and most real gamers are going to appreciate those types of games that let you play them in all their shoddy glory, gummed up textures and frame rate dips and all. I mean the game's fat is hanging out of its shirt for all to see and it's sitting there proud and bloated, sweating and eating a hot dog saying..."imna fix it tamarra" in the mean time i'll enjoy the view. this game rules. Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    7
    If you're a console gamer craving for some MMO elements then this game really is worth picking up. By no means does this game have enoughIf you're a console gamer craving for some MMO elements then this game really is worth picking up. By no means does this game have enough depth to keep you entertained for a long time, but it is enough that makes buying it at the measly $10 price tag in the PS store more then worth it. Expand
  7. Apr 6, 2013
    0
    Score fallen by 2 in 4 days, It shows how crap this game is... Bad enemy intelligence, too difficult, group of raides can hit you from 100Score fallen by 2 in 4 days, It shows how crap this game is... Bad enemy intelligence, too difficult, group of raides can hit you from 100 meters but cannot from 5... Lot's of glitches and its price... 40 pounds... They probably wipe their asses with that money... DLC will cost unlike in amazing firefall... Dont buy this Expand

See all 56 User Reviews