• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1157 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 5, 2014
    5
    Frustrating, boring. It's like Dragon's Lair, with more freedom, 20 years later. Stunning graphics, unforgiving gameplay, storyline... let's just say Dragon's Lair had a better storyline.
    I'll pass, but I can understand that if for you videogaming is a test of reflexes, might be a game for you.
  2. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Let me start off by saying someone put the difficulty setting to hope crushing. This game is so agonizingly hard it almost makes you want to stop playing altogether. But the once you get the hang of the game, its kinda fun. My only issue is it is a very linear game, with no plot whatsoever, and you basically play it over and over and over. Nothing changes except the difficulty. It gets toLet me start off by saying someone put the difficulty setting to hope crushing. This game is so agonizingly hard it almost makes you want to stop playing altogether. But the once you get the hang of the game, its kinda fun. My only issue is it is a very linear game, with no plot whatsoever, and you basically play it over and over and over. Nothing changes except the difficulty. It gets to the point where if you make even the smallest mistake, you die. Nevertheless the game is really great and if you want a challenge, look no further. Expand
  3. Jan 29, 2015
    7
    Like this game even though i cant really figure out why beside the challenge and concept. Graphics suck, framerate sucks, hit boxes suck. I like it though and i have the platinum to prove it.
  4. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    You die in this game, a lot. The difficulty was definitely a challenge, I wouldn't really say fun though. Maybe I'm a person who likes to be easily satisfied, I dunno. The story is kind of lacking in this game. You don't play as a main character but one of many who have come to slay the demons, which personally I don't like. I did like they had extremely hard enemies that you knew that youYou die in this game, a lot. The difficulty was definitely a challenge, I wouldn't really say fun though. Maybe I'm a person who likes to be easily satisfied, I dunno. The story is kind of lacking in this game. You don't play as a main character but one of many who have come to slay the demons, which personally I don't like. I did like they had extremely hard enemies that you knew that you wouldn't be able to beat at the time (or ever) so you would have to avoid them. There's not a lot of interesting people to talk to just a lot of fairly uninteresting demons to slay. I beat the first boss and returned it, wasn't for me. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    Should you buy this game? Is that why you're reading this? If so, yes, it's worth the money - but only because it's cheap now. There's a lot about Demon's Souls that is beautiful, even memorable. Some of the set pieces are awesome, and the grim dark styling is refreshing in a sea of cutesy characters and colourful UI design. So what's the problem? You will never, ever see this game on theShould you buy this game? Is that why you're reading this? If so, yes, it's worth the money - but only because it's cheap now. There's a lot about Demon's Souls that is beautiful, even memorable. Some of the set pieces are awesome, and the grim dark styling is refreshing in a sea of cutesy characters and colourful UI design. So what's the problem? You will never, ever see this game on the PC - because with decent controls, this game would be a complete pushover. Yes, the game presents a challenge, but if you're honest, you'll realise that 50% or more of the challenge comes from the controls. Some parts are broken - you'll see what they are especially if you're a magic user. But really, a console controller just doesn't suit a game where the slightest error results in death. It's like giving a baseball bat to a tennis player and asking them how hard it is to play a match. Overall though, it's a great production, and enjoyable, but the more you play it the less satisfying and fun it gets, as you realise more with every moment that you're not fighting the monsters, you're fighting the dual shock. Expand
  6. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    ok theres a fine line between being a hard game and being a game that dicks you ... and well demon souls dicks you more then it does at being hard. do i mind dieng alot ... no , do i mind having to start back from the begining of a level if i die ... no , do i mind challenging enimies and bosses ... no . but what i do mind is that when i die my life bar gets cut in HALF! and if i dieok theres a fine line between being a hard game and being a game that dicks you ... and well demon souls dicks you more then it does at being hard. do i mind dieng alot ... no , do i mind having to start back from the begining of a level if i die ... no , do i mind challenging enimies and bosses ... no . but what i do mind is that when i die my life bar gets cut in HALF! and if i die before i get back to where i died before to reclaim my souls they are gone too . i mean i was already penalised bad enough by having to start over again and loosing all my health items to get that far and now i cant buy more since i lost all my souls, i mean the game is kinda fun and looks pretty good . the combat is pretty simplistic the story is ok . its not story heavy by any means . its also neat that people can leave messages to warn you aboiut dangers ahead as well but why is it set up for being online at all times? i prefer to play my RPG"s solo and if i want some one to join i should have the option of turning it online or off. this game also wouldnt have hurt its self by adding a difficulty option . i mean i like challanging games ive played plenty and beat them like kings field and others iif you want a game that kicks you in the balls over and over again then demon souls is for you .thankfully i bought this only for $20 new and almost but dark souls first . i would have wasted $60 if i did. id advise if you are still thinking about getting this game rent it first or buy it cheap to be sure you will get into what i just mentioned. Expand
  7. Apr 12, 2015
    5
    A game designed to be hard just as an excuse to hide the lack of content. With fair checkpoints, this game could be beaten in a couple of hours, and that would be outrageous. So what could they do to hide this fact? Easy, force people to play the whole level again when the die. Some say it's rewarding this way and that I'm not a true gamer for not appreciating this masterpiece. Sorry, butA game designed to be hard just as an excuse to hide the lack of content. With fair checkpoints, this game could be beaten in a couple of hours, and that would be outrageous. So what could they do to hide this fact? Easy, force people to play the whole level again when the die. Some say it's rewarding this way and that I'm not a true gamer for not appreciating this masterpiece. Sorry, but I have a life beyond playing games and I don't like my time to be intentionally wasted. Expand
  8. SirL
    Oct 14, 2009
    6
    Being a loooong time swords & sorcery RPG fan...enjoying D&D for near 20 years...and having had a very good time with Diablo...I naturally went into Demon's Souls with some high hopes. I was really hoping to be blown away and get back abit of the gaming magic I felt when I first got hooked on Command and Conquer or Planescape:Torment. Unfortunatly, Demon's Souls is only Being a loooong time swords & sorcery RPG fan...enjoying D&D for near 20 years...and having had a very good time with Diablo...I naturally went into Demon's Souls with some high hopes. I was really hoping to be blown away and get back abit of the gaming magic I felt when I first got hooked on Command and Conquer or Planescape:Torment. Unfortunatly, Demon's Souls is only impressive when compared to other simplistic and watery Console game...and just barely holds a candle to the frenetic imersiveness of Diablo. Demon's Souls is a very well presented bare-bones RPG...while it is 80% repetative reflex-action game, with an annoying-without-being-purposeful sudden death element. The only thing being engaged here is one's hand-eye coordination and patience...then more patience...and still more patience. If you're like me, and were dreaming of a game that might be an improvement on Baldur's Gate 1&2 and Neverwinter Nights 1&2...keep right on dreaming...while you go back online to enjoy some more fan-generated Hardcore Rules NWN...where it's been possible to enjoy richly deep RPG play with a high-risk sudden death element for the last 6 years...for free... Demon's Souls is a fine achievement...if you thought Mario Bros., Halo and Naruto were all there is in the gaming world... Anyone who owns a PC is going to wonder what the fuss is about. Better sword swinging RPGs have been around for decades...and I've never been a fan of reflex-action games - I do that at work every day. Play Demon's Souls if you like eye candy, button mashing and frequent restarts. Expand
  9. BeauE
    Oct 15, 2009
    5
    Sam H.'s comments are exactly correct. It is pretty, but it is not an RPG, it is a platformer/fighting game. Quests/puzzles are nonexistent. Not being able to sell loot makes most of it pointless. Not being able to bank any of your souls (gold) is more than irritating. Combat is pure hack and slash without combo attacks. My feeling about restarting each level after each death went Sam H.'s comments are exactly correct. It is pretty, but it is not an RPG, it is a platformer/fighting game. Quests/puzzles are nonexistent. Not being able to sell loot makes most of it pointless. Not being able to bank any of your souls (gold) is more than irritating. Combat is pure hack and slash without combo attacks. My feeling about restarting each level after each death went from ok this is hard to this is ridiculous. If you think that changing a game's level of difficulty enhances a mediocre game, then by all means this is for you. For me a $5 steak at a fancy restaurant is still a $5 steak. Expand
  10. ChuckP
    Oct 18, 2009
    5
    This game was a blast, for about the first 20 hours. Then it felt like the entire game was based around grinding levels so you could become powerful enough to have a chance at defeating the next boss. The combat seems deep and complicated at first with a brutal learning curve, but once you've learned what does and doesn't work combat falls flat with only a few basic moves to This game was a blast, for about the first 20 hours. Then it felt like the entire game was based around grinding levels so you could become powerful enough to have a chance at defeating the next boss. The combat seems deep and complicated at first with a brutal learning curve, but once you've learned what does and doesn't work combat falls flat with only a few basic moves to use. Online is the one shining feature of the game with innovative features, I especially enjoyed the option of summoning a fellow adventurer to help with difficult battles. If you like grinding levels repeatedly for hours on end then this game can be rewarding. For when you do finally level up enough to defeat the boss you've had your eye on you feel like you've accomplished something. This game is only for people that enjoy a long repetitive adventure. Otherwise look elsewhere for a more enjoyable experience. Expand
  11. Todd
    Nov 27, 2009
    6
    The amount of challenge in the game makes it rewarding to finish, but I was left feeling bored at the end due to the story being so watered down and nearly non-existent that I just didn't give a crap what happened. I see lots of people giving this game a 10 because OMG SWEET A HARD GAME FOR ONCE. While it did some things well, I feel like the game was half-baked in a lot of ways. The amount of challenge in the game makes it rewarding to finish, but I was left feeling bored at the end due to the story being so watered down and nearly non-existent that I just didn't give a crap what happened. I see lots of people giving this game a 10 because OMG SWEET A HARD GAME FOR ONCE. While it did some things well, I feel like the game was half-baked in a lot of ways. With the difficulty that was present in the gameplay I expected boss fights to be a lot more difficult and engaging than they actually were. To be brutally honest most of the bosses were a total joke. I think I died maybe 3 times total between all the bosses in the game, which was a heck of a lot less than the amount of times I died up to that point. I was happy to have a game that didn't hold my hand but I feel like there were a lot of little things that should have been improved before sending this game out that would have given me reason to actually give this game a 10. Expand
  12. Jun 27, 2011
    5
    Don't listen to people saying this game is challenging; it is quite the opposite. All the enemies are completely predictable in their attack patterns. The game is incredibly easy because the AI is so terrible that you can predict and counter every enemy 100% of the time. The game is also lacking in story, level variety (5 worlds that contain a derivative copy of one level type, very veryDon't listen to people saying this game is challenging; it is quite the opposite. All the enemies are completely predictable in their attack patterns. The game is incredibly easy because the AI is so terrible that you can predict and counter every enemy 100% of the time. The game is also lacking in story, level variety (5 worlds that contain a derivative copy of one level type, very very boring), and any kind of good looting system (loot is always in the same place every time, there is no challenge at all).

    The game is, at best, mediocre, easy , and boring. It is a waste of your time if you're looking for anything other than remembering attack patterns for the few enemy types they have (and most can simply be rolled past and back stabbed).
    Expand
  13. JulienT
    Oct 19, 2009
    6
    (Why is there a slider for Male and Female when creating a character? LOL?) Now, before I start my review, I'd like to say that I'm an action/RPG and action/adventure lover. I've been playing these kinds of games for years. I listened to the hype around me and was intrigued in what was all that fuss about. After sitting next to a friend of mine for a full weekend and (Why is there a slider for Male and Female when creating a character? LOL?) Now, before I start my review, I'd like to say that I'm an action/RPG and action/adventure lover. I've been playing these kinds of games for years. I listened to the hype around me and was intrigued in what was all that fuss about. After sitting next to a friend of mine for a full weekend and analysing this game, I came to a simple conclusion: Overhyped product and brainwashed forum posters. First of all, this game is the most tedious experience you will find in the recent game releases. The gameplay is based around having one or two skills and repeating them tens of thousands of times (without exageration). The enemies are monotonous, the skills are unoriginal and limited in quantity, the enemy AI is simply taken out of an MMORPG (completely dumb, in other words) and the targetting system is the worst I have seen in my past gaming years. You have countless submenus that are just chaotically organized, crippling navigation and effectiveness. The multiplayer elements feel taken out of 1996 and poorly integrated to add very little value to the game. I could go on and on with the negative points about this game, but I'm sure if you read a non-fanboy review, you might get a real opinion of what this game is really about. On the good side, I do have to admit there are a few memorable moments in the game. For instance, having to run past a dragon's breath to avoid becoming roasted humanoid felt unique, not to mention the first time a player invades your game hoping to get a free rez from your death. Gameplay-wise, the upside would have to be the simplistic camera, that always faces forward (mix of shoulder and arcade camera from other adventure games). The melee block / attacks feel right (except the spells) because of their reactivity. The sound seemed OK, although there was a lot of noise in the room while I played the game, so I cannot really comment on this aspect. One important subject I frequently read about is the game's difficulty. I have to agree with some posters that the difficulty is not high in general. It becomes extremely frustrating to die in some situations because of the game's fault, not the player's. There is a big difference between dying because you know you did bad, and because the game just cheap shots you. It happens too often in this game, hence the high number of posts about this issue, I guess. All in all, there are some good ideas that I think the developpers aimed at and missed the bullseye. If you think this game is for you, take my advice (I'm not being paid for this review, I'm doing you a favor :) ), you should rent the game, and if you like it, probably not pay over 30$. Expand
  14. LesE
    Dec 8, 2009
    6
    Yes i did find it difficult but it was not that the difficulty that warranted this modest score, it was the total lack of story telling depth or character development. With Mass Effect or Dragon Age you come to care for the main charcters and develope an emotional response to the game. The experience is totally imersive. With Oblivion, though the main character was merely a foil to tweak Yes i did find it difficult but it was not that the difficulty that warranted this modest score, it was the total lack of story telling depth or character development. With Mass Effect or Dragon Age you come to care for the main charcters and develope an emotional response to the game. The experience is totally imersive. With Oblivion, though the main character was merely a foil to tweak around with the RPG stats, the sub plots and often immersive storyline supplied a similar emotional response. With this game you are merely presented with a series of vignettes that are, as they say, full of sound and fury...... Expand
  15. May 6, 2014
    5
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Demon's souls is my favorite Souls game in terms of feel but the lack of checkpoints and having to restart the whole level made me crazy. Call me noob but DeS is not as good as DS1 which I'm near beating.
  16. SamH
    Oct 8, 2009
    6
    This game is difficult and infuriating on as many levels as possible. You are constantly getting killed and losing all of your money and having to redo the entire level. Also, the combat is extra generic for a hack and slash "RPG". There is very little gore and you dont get that satisfying feeling when you smack the enemy. Its like the fan weapon from super smash bros. In the end they This game is difficult and infuriating on as many levels as possible. You are constantly getting killed and losing all of your money and having to redo the entire level. Also, the combat is extra generic for a hack and slash "RPG". There is very little gore and you dont get that satisfying feeling when you smack the enemy. Its like the fan weapon from super smash bros. In the end they managed to make a mixed up sub-par version of an action and rpg game. Expand
  17. Sam
    Nov 9, 2009
    5
    The first playthru will seem oh-so enjoyable, but after that the flaws with the absurd pvp and "tendency" systems will drive you mad. The game doesn't have nearly enough content to support the pvp engine (which is what everyone wants to do after beating the game once) and upon beating the game, you will rewarded the best weapon in the game. Now, this would be fine and dandy if it The first playthru will seem oh-so enjoyable, but after that the flaws with the absurd pvp and "tendency" systems will drive you mad. The game doesn't have nearly enough content to support the pvp engine (which is what everyone wants to do after beating the game once) and upon beating the game, you will rewarded the best weapon in the game. Now, this would be fine and dandy if it weren't for the fact that the amount of damage you do with that weapon is determined by what your character's tendency is; and honestly: that to would be fine if pvping didn't change your tendency. That's right, whenever you kill a player, you drift towards black tendency, and suddenly I'm forced to go from a character that WAS pure white, to one that is pure black, only because the game forced me into it. By the time you've reached level 120 or so, you'll start to notice how absurdly lazy the item and build designs are, why? Because everyone is using the same stuff! What couldn've been an excellent, deep rpg is crushed by what seems like lazy design. The difficulty of this game isn't what'll drive you crazy: it's what the game could've been with a less retarded dev team that will do that. Expand
  18. Sep 23, 2010
    5
    Demon's Souls calls out to the player, begging him to find its secrets and explore its depths. Then it stabs him to death, urinates on his grave, and rapes his mother. The truly interesting and groundbreaking elements are drowned in frustrating controls, shoddy character creation, a bare-bones plot, and mundane art direction.
  19. Oct 22, 2011
    7
    Sincerely my time playing Demon Souls is enjoyable , I'm really digging in the gameplay, and setting but the challenge is outrageous . The problem is, I would have loved more the gameplay if it was a little bit more faster and with more combos , because the game works nicely , but what drags it out of being more fun is that is repetitive . You need to think well to achieve a kill even inSincerely my time playing Demon Souls is enjoyable , I'm really digging in the gameplay, and setting but the challenge is outrageous . The problem is, I would have loved more the gameplay if it was a little bit more faster and with more combos , because the game works nicely , but what drags it out of being more fun is that is repetitive . You need to think well to achieve a kill even in the weaker enemies , with three blows or even one blow you're a dead and giving up . Though after looking the Loading menu you start in the beginning , that doesn't sound so fun for many people and they may even say the game it's broken . Still what requires the game is strategy . Expand
  20. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    I'm unsure about this game. The general consensus was that this game is difficult beyond reason and i'd agree. If you actually thought about it you don't do much you move forward, when you encounter an enemy you block then wait for an opening then attack, easy right? and it is there isn't any puzzles either. What really does get to me is we have now moved on from then ancient ways of dyingI'm unsure about this game. The general consensus was that this game is difficult beyond reason and i'd agree. If you actually thought about it you don't do much you move forward, when you encounter an enemy you block then wait for an opening then attack, easy right? and it is there isn't any puzzles either. What really does get to me is we have now moved on from then ancient ways of dying and starting from the beginning and even then you'd get check points and life, but in this you don't. I'm up for a challenge but come on your telling me i'n not allowed to even pause this game, RUBBISH.
    I'm a 27 year old male, who works full time and i have two young sons. So when i get in i spend some time with them and then (because if you don't she'll start moaning) i spend some time with the missus. When i'm finished my "duties" then i get a bit of gaming in, which may i add is around 9pm. so when i switch my PS3 on i want to play something thats going to help me escape the stresses of, DEMON'S SOULS will not. I'm already frustrated so i don't need that from a video game. For me this game is for people who doesn't have the responsibilities i have and can pour countless hours into it. When i play a video game i want to feel like i'm progressing, if i don't feel like that whats the point.

    well i gave this game a 6 because even with all its faults i still enjoyed the experience upto my current position. If i'm honest i won't complete it purely because i have other games that will reward me for progressing and and sticking to it.
    Expand
  21. crouchocroucho
    Oct 19, 2009
    7
    This game is more frustrating than fun. I'm going to do my best to plow through it, but as of right now, I've only defeated 5 dungeions. 1-1, 1-2, 2-1, 3-1, 3-2. It is as they SUPER HARD, but I feel that it does ease up the more you play. I spent 3 1/2 hours on my first character (a thief) trying to beat 1-1, after this I got pissed and started a new character (a soldier) with a This game is more frustrating than fun. I'm going to do my best to plow through it, but as of right now, I've only defeated 5 dungeions. 1-1, 1-2, 2-1, 3-1, 3-2. It is as they SUPER HARD, but I feel that it does ease up the more you play. I spent 3 1/2 hours on my first character (a thief) trying to beat 1-1, after this I got pissed and started a new character (a soldier) with a decent ranged weapon - a very long spear, and beat the level on my 1st try in about 30 minutes. I would highly suggest that anyone thinking of purchasing this game rent it first. If you're someone that will let a game get the best of you, then this if for sure not for you. Good luck! Expand
  22. Oct 28, 2010
    7
    This is a game for the hardcore gamer. If you believe you fall into that category then this game would be a 10 for you. The graphics could have been better and the game could have given a better learning curve for the more casual gamer. It is true that you can get help if you play the game in online mode. Overall a good RPG no fan of the genre can miss out on.
  23. Nov 3, 2010
    7
    Story wise the game is a standard RPG set-up, the Kingdom of Boletaria is in trouble & you are the only Soul who can save it. The game can be described as a Dark Fantasy RPG/Hack & slash. The RPG elements consist of levelling your character, looting, exploring, upgrading weapons, armour & rings.
    The combat side of the game is very much based on skill; both timing & anticipation are
    Story wise the game is a standard RPG set-up, the Kingdom of Boletaria is in trouble & you are the only Soul who can save it. The game can be described as a Dark Fantasy RPG/Hack & slash. The RPG elements consist of levelling your character, looting, exploring, upgrading weapons, armour & rings.
    The combat side of the game is very much based on skill; both timing & anticipation are paramount to successful combat. Both melee, ranged & magic are all thrown into the mix; each is satisfying & thus opens up a huge combination of possible strategies. Personally I feel the combat is near enough spot on, with a variety of weapons all of which have their own distinct looks, size & swing types. Every item has pros & cons & its up to the player to decide when & where to use these items. Magic & ranged combat is also very well constructed, with new spells being made available once certain NPCâ
    Expand
  24. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    The missing or short storyline affect this RPG, Sure the difficulty and challenge are awesome, many good ideas give a real potential to this game BUT please wrote a story and this game will be an epic and fully unforgettable game
  25. Feb 1, 2015
    6
    Dark Souls improved on the world-building a lot, so I'd recommend that game as the one 'Souls' series game to play. But there are a few reasons to pick Demon's Souls over DS II: tighter combat and levels, so you waste less time walking from A to B. Unlike DS II, this game was directed by the series' inventor Hidetaka Miyazaki, and a lot of Dark Souls II just pasted ideas that wereDark Souls improved on the world-building a lot, so I'd recommend that game as the one 'Souls' series game to play. But there are a few reasons to pick Demon's Souls over DS II: tighter combat and levels, so you waste less time walking from A to B. Unlike DS II, this game was directed by the series' inventor Hidetaka Miyazaki, and a lot of Dark Souls II just pasted ideas that were originally designed for this specific game. Demon's Souls feels more self-contained, with a more mysterious and 'legendary' feeling atmosphere. The level design feels instantly classic. The bosses feel like inventions of a visionary director, whereas in DS II, they sometimes feel like 'jobs' that some designer had to make.

    I instantly replayed the first level on New Game+, whereas in Dark Souls II, it felt like navigating the game world was too much of a chore, and not worth traversing if you already had checked it out. Everything in Demon's Souls feels like a SNES-classic-style level with constant encounters and challenges, with very few filler moments.

    The reason I still don't call the game 'great' is because the most challenging parts required me to do things that weren't fun at all. Like, using obscure spells, or just trying 10 times to count on luck or whatever. There were many moments where I thought "This is a 6/10 game, it's exactly like Dark Souls but tighter and more retro in its linear design, I preferred Dark Souls... it's like Dark Souls 0.5".

    I didn't follow the story, but the ending was my favorite of the three 'Souls' games, as it had its own location and felt like it took a few minutes to round off the story, rather than end with one boss and then go to credits.
    Overall, a good-quality game, but it's rarely pleasant to play. But I guess that's the point.
    Expand
  26. May 16, 2012
    5
    I think what constitutes a good game is that it presents a difficulty appropriate for every player. If you're a hardcore gamer, you should be able to find hardcore challenges in a good game. If you're a leisure player unable to spend hours on the game, you should be able to find appropriate challenges for that type of playing too. I appreciate that Demon's Souls has the ambition to put upI think what constitutes a good game is that it presents a difficulty appropriate for every player. If you're a hardcore gamer, you should be able to find hardcore challenges in a good game. If you're a leisure player unable to spend hours on the game, you should be able to find appropriate challenges for that type of playing too. I appreciate that Demon's Souls has the ambition to put up challenges that other RPG games don't dare to do to because of fear of losing customers, but without sufficient of time you end up spending an hour solely on dying. A potential outcome of this gaming hour is that you learn how to get past a few enemies, but at the start of the next gaming hour, you're at the beginning once again and your previous achievements are not reflected in the new gaming session. Therefore I believe that Demon's Souls lack diversity; it caters for a certain kind of player. For anyone unexperienced, it is ruthless and the satisfaction from finally beating a monster does not weigh up all the frustration you've gotten from dying and starting all over for the hundredth time. Expand
  27. May 25, 2015
    7
    Following on from my Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 review, Demon's Souls is where it began. The problem for me is I finished Dark Souls PTDE before I played Demon's Souls so it just didn't have the same effect on me that it would have had this been my first venture into this franchise. Demon's hard and complex, it is harder than both the Dark games but is also showing its age. I couldn't getFollowing on from my Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2 review, Demon's Souls is where it began. The problem for me is I finished Dark Souls PTDE before I played Demon's Souls so it just didn't have the same effect on me that it would have had this been my first venture into this franchise. Demon's hard and complex, it is harder than both the Dark games but is also showing its age. I couldn't get into Demon's after putting 100+ hours into DS1. The best thing about Demon's Souls is that without it the masterpiece that is Dark Souls would not have come to light. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Demon's Souls: Unbelievably hard and unbelievably satisfying at the same time. If you accomplish to get through your initial rage attacks, you will experience an outstanding action-RPG with a tense and dark atmosphere.
  2. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  3. It's stoic, uncompromising, difficult to get to know, but also deep, intriguingly disturbed and perversely rewarding. You can learn to love Demon's Souls like few other games in the world. But only if you're prepared to give yourself over to it. [JPN Import]