• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1158 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Collapse
  2. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the better games to come out in a very long time, every little thing in this game is perfect to me. The story itself is simple: you come to a cursed land (for whatever reason, one of the things the NPC says "Whether you're here to fight the demons or here for the power...") and you're tasked to fight off the major demon's in the land to fight off the fog. This would be cheesey IF itOne of the better games to come out in a very long time, every little thing in this game is perfect to me. The story itself is simple: you come to a cursed land (for whatever reason, one of the things the NPC says "Whether you're here to fight the demons or here for the power...") and you're tasked to fight off the major demon's in the land to fight off the fog. This would be cheesey IF it were portrayed cheesey. It is not full of itself (like a Final Fantasy game would be) and barely touches the main storyline. It has a dark setting to it, already making you feel weak from the start, therefore giving you the right idea from the start. The combat is very smooth and can be mastered with a little play (I say past 3 levels you should get the hang of it). The combat itself is not extremely hard, all you have to do is just dodge/block and you'll be fine. If you get hit, you will regret being hit (that is all I will say). The leveling system is very good in my opinion, but the only downside to it is that you have to plan on what you're focusing on or you'll screw up your character and not be able to equip certain items (or at least use them the way you want to). If you do screw up your character, the worst part of starting a new character is the creation. It has a very high replay value and I would be ok with just making a new character everyday. The every NPC is unique in their own way. Doing certain things will trigger new dialogue with the NPCs and helps you learn more of the land of Boletaria. When you enter 5-1, come back, and talk with the NPCs, they will share you their thoughts on Maiden Astraea and Garl Vinland (the final bosses of the 5 world), explaining how the fog clouded their souls and why they fight. Even some of the item descriptions have captured me, letting me now of it's previous owner/maker. The multiplayer design is absolutely brilliant. After 1-1, you can use three different stones: Blue stone (used when in soul form, allows yourself to be teleported to another persons world (if they accept your soul sign) and assist them, to which beating a boss gives you back your body, given after 1-1), Black stone (used when in another person's world, lets you go back to your own world, given after 1-1), and the Red stone (used when in soul form, you teleport yourself to another person's world (at free will) and you attempt to kill the person to gain your body back). So whether you feel like helping somebody or want to be a complete ass and kill somebody, they have allowed you to accomplish both in this game in a very easy and quick (I can't say quick for the blue stone though) way. All in all, a game that everyone should buy and play before Dark Souls release. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Demon's souls was one of the best gaming experiences of my life. Yes, it was hard at first, but it got easier and easier. I played it so much, that in the end it was a little too easy. I even made it through the first playthrough without dying. The point of my review is that I don't want the reader to buy into the other reviews that say it is too hard or too unforgiving. You've got to beatDemon's souls was one of the best gaming experiences of my life. Yes, it was hard at first, but it got easier and easier. I played it so much, that in the end it was a little too easy. I even made it through the first playthrough without dying. The point of my review is that I don't want the reader to buy into the other reviews that say it is too hard or too unforgiving. You've got to beat the first level and then the game is no harder than you want it to be; you can farm souls and upgrade your character as much as you want before proceeding through the levels Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Put plain and simple, Demon's Souls has the best and most balanced combat in any action RPG. You have freedom to develop your character and explore the bleak, beautiful world however you like, and no matter how you do it, but it's the challenging-but-fair gameplay that makes this game worth fighting through.
  5. JessieS
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from some of the replayability. If you want a great hardcore actionRPG this is it. However, if you are not sure, rent the game to check it out before hand. Expand
  6. MikeN
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can take the souls you earned and return to the Nexus and spend them. The enemies DO respawn when you re-enter the realm, but you've spent your souls so it doesn't matter all that much. You always have the choice of pushing onward, risking the souls earned, vs. returning to cash them in. That's the beauty of the system. I suspect some of the low reviews here aren't used to any REAL risk in their current day gaming adventuring, and this comes as quite a shock. This game isn't for everyone, no doubt. But those looking for a real challenge that demands hard choices with actual consequences, this game is second to none. My only gripe is that the interface icons on the stats are cryptic squiggles that are hard to remember (what do the 2 yellow swirvy lines mean again...agility? ) Expand
  7. MattE
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw,Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw, and that is that it ends. Expand
  8. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Demon's souls is a must have game. The reason it is must have is because it is one of the few games on the market in which you actually have to think as if you are in real life. Look at some of the negative reviews here. It is obvious many players expect every game to be a clone of each other and when a game like Demon's souls comes out with something original so many players have no clueDemon's souls is a must have game. The reason it is must have is because it is one of the few games on the market in which you actually have to think as if you are in real life. Look at some of the negative reviews here. It is obvious many players expect every game to be a clone of each other and when a game like Demon's souls comes out with something original so many players have no clue at all how to play and think for themselves. It seems everyone expects to carry over last games skills into the next and that new games are only new raw meat cinematics. Demon's souls has broken free of the dime a dozen philosophy and offers a very fun and rewarding game with a high level of customization. The game is not difficult it's only perceived this way because players now a days are so immersed in clones of games they have lost the ability to think for themselves in anything unique without the same controls and guns ect as everything else on the market. You will really enjoy this game if you give it some pause and player discretion. Once you have settled in and used your mind a bit this game far exceeds any other title on the market online or offline. There are only two small complaints i have about the title. The first is you can only carry so much equipment but wear only two rings and magic targeting could be improved a little. Any complaints that the game is broken or too tough speaks more about the player than the game. Expand
  9. May 25, 2011
    9
    Not for the feint of heart. This game will challenge you, punish you, and overall just make you it's **** That said, playing and beating this game was probably my greatest videogame moment of late. The best way for me to describe this game is basically Zelda for adults. So if you like hack-n-slash, exploration, and a good challenge you will have a great time playing demon's souls.
  10. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    one of the most rewarding gaming experiences i've had in close to 20 years of gaming. extremely difficult but not impossible game play forces the player to adapt and form a strategy to progress. i found myself grinning like a complete idiot after beating a few bosses. i can't wait for dark souls.
  11. May 11, 2011
    10
    Wow, I must say this game totally blew me away! This game isn't nearly as tough as the reviewers have touted. (except for Maneater Ng++) I'm not an RPG'r but I was pretty much hooked when I completed the training level. Each level offers different and diverse enemies The levels can be qasi linear but each has a series of short cuts that will take you to various bosses. Combat is veryWow, I must say this game totally blew me away! This game isn't nearly as tough as the reviewers have touted. (except for Maneater Ng++) I'm not an RPG'r but I was pretty much hooked when I completed the training level. Each level offers different and diverse enemies The levels can be qasi linear but each has a series of short cuts that will take you to various bosses. Combat is very satisfying! I loved the fact that you have to watch your stamina meter when attacking and defending. You won't last long if you're a button masher. The game looks and sounds great. The online function is brillant! There's no other feeling of excitement I get when I see that "black phantom has invaded your game". PvPing is also incredible aswell. I've logged in about 700 hours on this bad boy..do yourself a favor and give this game a shot. Expand
  12. VisualEcho
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    great game. but, only after you get so mad at it that braking your 52 inch lcd starts sounding like a good thing, do you really start to enjoy it to the fullest. not sure where it happens but somewhere past the point of giving up it really pulls u in.
  13. LeonardoR
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a "hardcore gamer". Casual gamers will have a hard time but will enjoy it nonetheless. Expand
  14. chachoriddle
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    This game is graphically one of the best on thr ps3 console and is also addicting. It took me 6 hours in my first sitting and didn't want to turn it off...could've easily been a 10, hoever without online chat capability this should be a must on any next gen console. Great job Atlus!!!
  15. James
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Everything said about this game having difficulty as ridiculous as Monster Hunter's is right... and I mean that in a good way. I rocked Monster Hunter and loved the challenge, and this game gives the same sense of accomplishment, if not, better.
  16. PeterH
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best game I'vel played this year because the first will definitely be Uncharted 2. Expand
  17. AnthonyC
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This is what an action RPG should be. Love it. Expand
  18. DaleC.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the way. There has never been a game like this that forces you to think, strategize and be so fully satisfied for your success. You don't need to be the hardest hardcore gamer to enjoy, just a regular person who is willing to work hard and use your noodle harder. Just don't expect to see your friends and family any time soon. Expand
  19. NikoD
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Game is the real deal. Would give it 11 if I could.
  20. JoeW
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Demon's Souls is an absolutely amazing game. I rarely play through a game multiple times but with Demon's Souls the addition of New Game+ and the ability to shape your character skills without restriction keeps me playing
  21. MarioC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely essential for anyone looking for a challenging, yet highly rewarding and fun game. Excellent atmosphere, adrenaline-pumping boss fights, and a great online community. Demon's Souls is hands down the best action RPG of the past 5 years.
  22. MunirS
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    It's the difficulty I like the most with the infinite replay value and the best part is that it's not for the casual gamers only for the real hardcore gamers only babies who like graphics can stick with call of duty 2
  23. johnt
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots of immersion. If the game had a better presentation and a complex story we would be talking about the game of the decade. Still one of the best. Expand
  24. SethB
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect them. You know how to kill the Phalanx, very easily. But when starting a New Game Plus, the game becomes extremely difficult to play. With the Black-Eyed Stones, invasions become common on NG+, so just expect it. Some bosses seem impossible to kill without other players with you, so that the boss could alter it's attention for even just a moment. This game is hard. This game is pretty. This game is Dark, and this game needs to be played by everyone. Expand
  25. ArminZ
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or pretentious. If the game left the player no respite by having the enemies level up with you, therefore negating any leveling system (ala Final Fantasy VIII) then I would be inclined to agree. "Demon's Souls" rewards a slow, methodical and calculated approach. If you try and take on all of the enemies in the game as though this were "Gears of War", f course you will die and frequently. "Demon's Souls" difficulty allows the game to be immersive. How many games have you played where the storyline has something to do with a legion of enemies that are unstoppable, and yet, the main character can mow them down as though he has a flamethrower and the enemies are toddlers? "Demon's Souls" gets it right. It may be one of the few games of this generation to do so. It's difficult, but allows you to work at your own pace. It doesn't forgive recklessness, but allows you to learn enemy behaviour. If you put in the time and effort into making your character strong enough to complete the game, then it is an accomplishment. You feel satisfied - why? Because the main character wasn't always a hero - you turned him into one - you are the strength that overcame. The graphics are not the best of this generation, but they aren't as bad as "Dragon Age" (a good game, but the graphics are 'meh'). The story isn't in your face - it is quite subtle and the more you look around and take in the atmosphere, the more the story becomes apparent. I could go on and on about how this gem should not be missed for fear of a future where true innovation is ignored. Play this game and don't give up. The more you put into this game, the more it returns. Best game of the year? I believe so. Expand
  26. JoseG
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk with NPC's just to get to the next part of the game or next quest. When you do, though, you are rewarded. It's an RPG at its simplest and an action platformer at its heart. I have NEVER spent over 200 hrs playing any one game... I've NEVER spent sooo many times beating and beating a game over again. I've started my third character and am glad to have it in my collection. I wont trade or sell this game as long as I can play it. Every game I've played since, seems simple and boring. Expand
  27. DavidS
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get back into this one, and I'm already on my 4th playthrough, and it just gets more fun. Expand
  28. raist3d
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to save that princess Yet Again(tm), or you are missing the kind of atmosphere/scary mood that a game like Silent Hill 2 creates (and yet in a different way) along with true more arcade style action and implicit AD&D rules, this is the game for you. If you have little patience, don't like RPG's, think Zelda Wii is the best game Evar, or you can't stand ever losing, getting fueled interest by the challenge, then this isn't the game for you. Expand
  29. HamdoonA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing, very challenging, yet I am just 60% and spent around 80 hours playing woooooow
  30. KritU
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This game is very very difficult. Usually I would have given up playing a game this hard after 15 minutes, however, I'm on my 2nd week owning this game. I am still playing it and love getting my ass kicked on my first level for some reasons.
  31. MosesG.P
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    One of the best Action/RPG I have played. This is not a game for cry babies. You got to have a lot of guts and patience to beat this game. It's very challenging. i reccomend this game for every hadcore gamer.
  32. glenns
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game is't as tuff as some say, More brutal than the onimusha series and more gothic than oblivion. One of the best games on this generation consoles period. Separate ratings. 1 to 10 higher is better. Game play 9.5 good timing is needed but the contact detection is very good. Graphics 9.6 althoe dark, the game looks absolutely stunning at times & just great the rest of the time. Sound 10. Very solid sound effects & music. Expand
  33. ERMAC__
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    From a generation of gaming that is lacking games of its genre, Demon's Souls is really a shining star. Its is indeed unforgiving, but extremely rewarding and can keep your attention for weeks and months. Their is much to to via upgrades, getting more powerful weapons, learning spells. The combat is very well done and keeps the game fun even when you hit a tight spot. Their is a From a generation of gaming that is lacking games of its genre, Demon's Souls is really a shining star. Its is indeed unforgiving, but extremely rewarding and can keep your attention for weeks and months. Their is much to to via upgrades, getting more powerful weapons, learning spells. The combat is very well done and keeps the game fun even when you hit a tight spot. Their is a large amount of enemy variety and design, as well as a unique multi-player. For those who are looking for a good RPG, this is probably it. Expand
  34. JeremyT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Best game of the year so far. I've never played a game with more relentless tension and atmosphere. Uncharted gets points for production value, but Demon's Souls gets the edge for shear design genius. Awesome dark fantasy.
  35. Jun 13, 2011
    10
    Death is part of the game, and is an essential part. In the numerous deaths you learn how to beat the game and get the feel how the souls are tortured. The game is a show, in which you became indifferent to everything happened in the game world, the demons, your death, other people's death. Death is an integrated part of the story telling and gameplay.
    There are many ways to play the game,
    Death is part of the game, and is an essential part. In the numerous deaths you learn how to beat the game and get the feel how the souls are tortured. The game is a show, in which you became indifferent to everything happened in the game world, the demons, your death, other people's death. Death is an integrated part of the story telling and gameplay.
    There are many ways to play the game, melee, ranged, magic... Each way is unique and interesting. Stage design is brilliant, especially the Tower of Latria. Enemy design is impressive, gives historical or fantasical feeling. Also, basically all armours and weapons can be traced into real world. Multiplay is really innovative as well, great ideas there.
    The underlying plot and many other small details are worth digging, which made the game attractive for you to play again and again, and again.
    In summary, I couldn't stop playing this game with my hand sweating, it's awesome.
    Expand
  36. Oct 5, 2010
    10
    The TRUE Gamer's game.

    Like many, I have been playing games since I was a child. Why did we play those games growing up? For me, games were challenging, and I never knew what was coming next. I was on a adventure, a journey I had never taken before. I didn't know where I was going, or if I would make it to the end alive. Beating a game was more than a check mark on a list of games;
    The TRUE Gamer's game.

    Like many, I have been playing games since I was a child. Why did we play those games growing up? For me, games were challenging, and I never knew what was coming next. I was on a adventure, a journey I had never taken before. I didn't know where I was going, or if I would make it to the end alive. Beating a game was more than a check mark on a list of games; it was a personal experience.

    Many games today seem to have forgotten how to produce this magic, relying on fast development times to push out sequels and easy difficulties to attract all levels of "gamers". Nothing feels fresh, and to beat a game simply feels like going through the motions. Demon's Souls is a rare gem today, like a game dug up from the past, but with modern graphics. It truly pulls you into its world, and not with forced dialogue and excessive cut scenes that replace fun with filler. The world tells its own story, like games used to, and should. Demon's Souls is enjoyable, because every step of the way is an accomplishment by itself. Instead of being a game that doesn't "test your skill" until one optional sidequest at the end, DS keeps you on your toes the whole way. It doesn't rely on overpowered enemies, grinding, tricks, traps, things you couldn't possibly have foreseen or known to impede your progress. It all comes down to your own finesse in battle.

    And when you beat the game and grow confident, instead of letting you play the game again with everything the same (and easy like most new game+'s), the game becomes even harder. Demon's Souls is a game for those who like challenges: those who like learning, improving, mastering. Demon's Souls is a game for those who want to experience a fresh new adventure for the first time in years.
    Expand
  37. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    Best ps3 of all time for me pulling out ahead of mgs. The game is hard and has some unforgivable things which is the only reason for a 9 otherwise a 10 from me.
  38. May 28, 2011
    10
    Utterly brilliant.The crushing difficulty sorts the men from the boys until you adapt.All the game needs is a more in-depth story and It could be at the top of the greatest games ever made.Fantastic design all round,with graphics,sound,enemies and the best multiplayer I've ever experienced.With all of the lollypop RPG's around these days,Demon's Souls stands head and shoulders above themUtterly brilliant.The crushing difficulty sorts the men from the boys until you adapt.All the game needs is a more in-depth story and It could be at the top of the greatest games ever made.Fantastic design all round,with graphics,sound,enemies and the best multiplayer I've ever experienced.With all of the lollypop RPG's around these days,Demon's Souls stands head and shoulders above them all.I can not praise this game enough and if you want a real challenge in the best designed fantasy world seen for some time,buy this, then worship it. Expand
  39. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    Superb level design. Great customization.
  40. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    No matter what words spawn from my mouth, they won't make this game any justice. By now everything has already been said about it, I can only express how much of a masterpiece it is, and how it has redefined the medieval RPG action/adventure genre. It's the game I always yearned for, and it will remain one of the best games not only of this generation but of all time. Probably the thingNo matter what words spawn from my mouth, they won't make this game any justice. By now everything has already been said about it, I can only express how much of a masterpiece it is, and how it has redefined the medieval RPG action/adventure genre. It's the game I always yearned for, and it will remain one of the best games not only of this generation but of all time. Probably the thing I love about it the most is how it kind of mixes adventure-hack slash with survival horror, haven't felt so anxious during a game since the early silent hill/resident evil. And the whole thing just kind of spells Lovecraft al over the place, i love it. Expand
  41. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Demon Souls is the BEST RPG game ever!, its really underrated too, i mean how can an AMAZING game like this get a 7 or 8 while other **** games like Skyirm get 8 and 9, believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with a PS3
  42. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    This game took me a while to get into. The combat seemed strange at first. Even took me a while to appreciate the graphics. I gave this game special treatment and decided to commit myself and play through this game to see what all the hype was about. Boy am I thankful I did. While playing this game I finally understood why every one loves the combat in this game. The combat hasThis game took me a while to get into. The combat seemed strange at first. Even took me a while to appreciate the graphics. I gave this game special treatment and decided to commit myself and play through this game to see what all the hype was about. Boy am I thankful I did. While playing this game I finally understood why every one loves the combat in this game. The combat has weight! You truly feel in control of your character, and must very intently involve yourself in the combat. If you are killed, it is because you were not paying attention, or simply got too excited, or maybe your gear is not up to par. No need for a story here. You are given a glimpse of what the story is about but even that quickly fades away as you create your own story while you battle monsters and demons in a far away place. It is easy for me to simply play for hours and feel that I am in that 'far away' place. The graphics did have to grow on me but i soon came to appreciate those as well. 9-10 Expand
  43. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Demon's Souls alone would be a good reason to buy a PS3. Even if there weren't others. It's not difficult, it just rewards patience and learning. Start your journey, you'll never forget it.
  44. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This game didn't look appealing to me at all when it first came out despite hearing rave reviews about it. Recently my friend made me start playing it and at first it was really hard and really frustrating but after you get past the first few bosses and level your character this game is a blast. You still die a crap ton but the game's beauty and fighting mechanics just amazed me time afterThis game didn't look appealing to me at all when it first came out despite hearing rave reviews about it. Recently my friend made me start playing it and at first it was really hard and really frustrating but after you get past the first few bosses and level your character this game is a blast. You still die a crap ton but the game's beauty and fighting mechanics just amazed me time after time again. Think of all the dying as a teaching mechanism for getting really good at it. It's pretty hard to say that about very many other games. One of the most satisfying videogame play throughs I've ever experienced. Expand
  45. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    I just want to leave a rating but Metacritic is retarded about letting its users do so and does not allow them the ability to see their past ratings unless they leave a review.
  46. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Demon's souls is the best game I have played on the PS3 yet, in February 2012. The 3rd person gameplay with accurate controls, the simple yet effective user interface, lots of items and gear with upgrading possibilities, stat bonus/resistance system and the true RPG way of allowing you to build your character in any way you want make this game truly a joy to play. Truly a MUST BUY.
  47. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Most negative critics of this game have no patience. They're accustomed to modern games, which allow you to rush through them, mindlessly smashing buttons and spamming healing items. This game requires you to trade blows with your enemy, manually dodge, block, and parry attacks, while waiting for a clear opening before attacking. These people can't handle this game which requires you toMost negative critics of this game have no patience. They're accustomed to modern games, which allow you to rush through them, mindlessly smashing buttons and spamming healing items. This game requires you to trade blows with your enemy, manually dodge, block, and parry attacks, while waiting for a clear opening before attacking. These people can't handle this game which requires you to observe your enemy's movements and attacks, rather than rushing in to every enemy hammering buttons and repeatedly chugging healing items. If you're dying a lot, and repeating the same part of the game over and over and over again.. it's because you have no patience, and you are not putting forth any effort to learn from your mistakes.

    Regarding the story: This game has a clear story so long as you talk to NPCs, read item descriptions, and realize the link between bosses and the storyline provided by NPCs and cutscenes.

    Regarding the multiplayer aspect: Players cannot invade your game at any time and kill you. Very specific requirements must be met. First of all, any area in which you have defeated the boss, players can never invade you in that area. Second, you must be in Human form. You spend the majority of the game in Soul form, which means for the majority of the game, other players cannot invade your game.

    In regards to the lack of checkpoints/save points: As you explore each level, you unlock shortcuts (such as opening a gate, or activating an elevator), allowing you to skip most of the level, should you need to return to the level again. You don't need a checkpoint when you can skip most of the level.

    Now for some complaints of my own:

    Lack of stat explanation in relation to equipment. It is not intuitive, not to mention the seemingly arbitrary icons used for stats.

    After defeating a boss or recovering your souls, large text and graphics are overlayed on the screen, while the game is still live. This is terrible design for any game.

    FPS drops in specific parts of the game.
    Expand
  48. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    I loved demon souls but I would not recommend it to everyone. It has become such a controversial game recieving every single review score from 0 -10 by different people. Whether or not you like it depends on your taste. It annoys me when I read reviews of people claiming the game is too difficult and so it's crap. If difficulty isnt your thing then this game isnt for you and thats fine. II loved demon souls but I would not recommend it to everyone. It has become such a controversial game recieving every single review score from 0 -10 by different people. Whether or not you like it depends on your taste. It annoys me when I read reviews of people claiming the game is too difficult and so it's crap. If difficulty isnt your thing then this game isnt for you and thats fine. I have no interest in sports games but I dont go around posting on websites that fifa is crap, Its just not my kind of game. Now i'm not saying the game is perfect, it has some flaws like occasional framerate drops and the occasional unfair death which is annoying but overall I found it very enjoyable. The sense of accomplishment when you defeat a tough boss or complete a tough area is incomparable really, Also I think the game for the most part is fair, I played it offline the whole way through with no online help or guide and I didn't ''die hundreds of times'' like so many people claim they did nor did I ''spend hours grinding'' It was VERY hard and I think I died about 40 or 50 times throughout the course of the game. People also complain about getting set so far back when you die and losing all of your souls but that is vital to the game experience in my opinion because it gives you something to lose! it had a DONT DIE OR ELSE!! kind of feel to it. Thus I would baby-step my way through certain areas scanning everything and shield up at all times with my heart in my mouth afraid to die. It made the game so intense. I wouldn't be nearly as careful or take as long if The punishment was to restart back 10 seconds to the nearest checkpoint. That pretty much summed up the game for me, intense and enjoyable. It does suck when you die but you do learn. You realise right i may pay closer attention to traps triggered by such and such or OK that guy was very well hidden I should lure him out with arrow shots so he does
    not have a vantage point advantage over me etc etc. There,s way more examples but its strategic and that.s the point. In short the game is not for everyone like I said earlier but if you would like an intense addictive game that is rewarding and enjoyable demon souls is well worth your time. Possibly my favourite game on ps3.
    Expand
  49. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    A master piece for its time, a great game for any RPG fan..
    Beautiful,Brutal, fast paced, many different ways to play, I could sing this games praises all day..
    Unfortunately with shutting down of the servers this game has lost a lot of what makes it fantastic, although it can all be found in dark souls now.. If you've played dark souls and enjoyed it, I'd highly recommend coming back
    A master piece for its time, a great game for any RPG fan..
    Beautiful,Brutal, fast paced, many different ways to play, I could sing this games praises all day..
    Unfortunately with shutting down of the servers this game has lost a lot of what makes it fantastic, although it can all be found in dark souls now..
    If you've played dark souls and enjoyed it, I'd highly recommend coming back to this for a solo play through or 2..
    Expand
  50. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    A true masterpiece. The atmosphere here is just unbelievable. The sense of loneliness and despair follows your every step on this dangerous journey. The game has some interesting (some of them flawed though) mechanics and an unsurpassed combat system. Every PS3 owner should at least try this exclusive.
  51. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Before I continue, I will type a disclaimer...THIS GAME WILL NOT PLEASE EVERYONE! My brother and I both played this game. He enjoys fun, relatively less-challenging games and first person shooters while I enjoy highly-technical fighting and action games. He acknowledged that it was a great game, but put it down permanently after a few hours. I am still playing it with multiple profilesBefore I continue, I will type a disclaimer...THIS GAME WILL NOT PLEASE EVERYONE! My brother and I both played this game. He enjoys fun, relatively less-challenging games and first person shooters while I enjoy highly-technical fighting and action games. He acknowledged that it was a great game, but put it down permanently after a few hours. I am still playing it with multiple profiles and it has never gotten old. If you are unsure about your game preference, borrow or rent this before buying it, and make sure you beat at least two bosses before passing judgement on it. Now, on to the actual review:

    The story is great, not because it is terribly confusing, but because of the subtlety. A mad king awakens the Old One in order to gain the power of the soul arts (magic). As a result, demons spew forth and feast upon men's souls, leaving soulless zombies to attack those who are still sentient, tumbling the world of Boletaria into chaos and providing nourishment for the more powerful demons. The last bastion of humanity (the Nexus) has trapped your soul, preventing you from dying until you help put the Old One back to sleep. While I just summarized the plot in three sentences, the various NPCs you meet continue the story, with convincing voice acting that explains how each of them were affected. Some stories are sad, some terrifying, and none are happy; such is the land of Boletaria. This is a land of horror-fantasy where success looks bleak, enemies always seem to have the advantage in either power or surprise (or both), and boss battles actually force you to stop outside the boss chambers and think to yourself, "Am I really ready for this?"

    Any protagonist braving the dangers of Boletaria needs to have a ridiculous amount of determination, and the gameplay reflects that. You will die. A lot. And you will repeat things after you die. You also lose all your souls, which are both currency and XP points in this game (you can either use them to buy items or use them to level up). Lost souls are deposited in a bloodstain at the location of your most recent death, and touching it gives them all back to you. Death before touching it, however, causes it disappear forever, along with all your souls! While this may sounds tedious, it was my experience that it was a great provider of accomplishment. Every time you die, you learn something new about the world you are in, such as, "There's a zombie in the shadows over there!" or "That enemy is waaaay too powerful!" On the next playthrough, you adjust. In short, while there is a lot of repeat, areas you have traversed multiple times prove virtually no challenge after a few attempts, provided you are actually playing the game the way it is meant to be played, and not expecting to blast through the enemies like in most games currently on the market.

    This in and of itself would make for a great game, but the multiplayer makes it almost perfect. Taking a completely innovative approach, you join a multiverse of other human players in the world of Boletaria. Each game is treated as a parallel universe, meaning that each player is the one and only PC in their version of Boletaria, but there are ways to connect to the other worlds out there. Even in normal play, ghostly apparitions of real players on the PSN can be seen in your game, going through their own actions, completely oblivious of your observation. Deaths of other players leave spectral bloodstains in your world, where you can touch them to see a replay of the last ten seconds before their death (which can warn savvy players of what lies ahead). Players can write messages on the ground that can be read by all people online, giving hints or misleading other players. And, of course, you can temporarily join another player as either friend or foe, helping them defeat a boss demon or trying to murder them for their souls and a chance at getting your living body back.

    This has become a rather lengthy review, and it is time to cut it off. The reason I ramble on is because this game is really a shining jewel amongst PS3 games. It is just a pity that it is not accessible to everyone, but to make it easier would detract greatly from the game. What I have described is only a fraction of what Demon's Souls has to offer, so if you think it will appeal to you, go rent or buy a copy, take out a few demons, and see if it is your speed.
    Expand
  52. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Do you remember the old gaming times with NES? games such as Castlevania and Super Mario Bros. They were hard as f##k and took dozens of attempts to even get to the end boss. But still they were enjoyable and really fun to play. Demon's souls is like a 3D HD child of those games. It's hard, it's unforgiving and holy s##t is it fun to play! I won't spoil the little there is to anDo you remember the old gaming times with NES? games such as Castlevania and Super Mario Bros. They were hard as f##k and took dozens of attempts to even get to the end boss. But still they were enjoyable and really fun to play. Demon's souls is like a 3D HD child of those games. It's hard, it's unforgiving and holy s##t is it fun to play! I won't spoil the little there is to an story, but let's just say that you are a brave hero who travels the lands to fight evil. And 95% of the time that evil kicks your ass and cleans his ass with whats left of your body and then throws it to the demon dogs to play with... more or less. Demon's souls is a western style Japanese role playing game with a difficult, but rewarding combat and great sense of exploration. You level up your hero and get new equipment and kill lots of monsters and so on. This games dark themes make sure that you never feel safe and every single enemy might just be your doom. Words can't explain the awesomeness of this game, so let me just say this: Go buy this game just now! trust me, it's worth it. After about 100 deaths you will be a fearsome killing machine! Expand
  53. Nov 3, 2014
    9
    Played this game in late 2013 since I got a ps3 just few weeks ago. Dark souls is my first souls game, I spent over 1000 hours in it and I am still loving it. The person who recommended dark souls to me holds a high praise on demon's souls. So I have a high expectation before actually played the game.
    I have to say I finally understand why so many people says dark souls reuse a lot of
    Played this game in late 2013 since I got a ps3 just few weeks ago. Dark souls is my first souls game, I spent over 1000 hours in it and I am still loving it. The person who recommended dark souls to me holds a high praise on demon's souls. So I have a high expectation before actually played the game.
    I have to say I finally understand why so many people says dark souls reuse a lot of bosses and areas from Demon's souls, it is true! The core mechanism is the same, the tune feels familiar. That being said I absolutely enjoy the game. I platinumed it in two weeks! I felt that farming upgrade stones in this game is one of worst in the series which means it will take ages for some builds getting the best weapon...
    Expand
  54. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    The game is almost 5 years old, and people are still playing and talking about it. This instantly says something about the game. I bought the game simply because of the hype surrounding it, and because I'm a huge fan of Dark Souls. At first, I didn't like it nearly as much as its spiritual successor, but after a few hours, it really started to grow on me. Before I knew it, I was 50 hoursThe game is almost 5 years old, and people are still playing and talking about it. This instantly says something about the game. I bought the game simply because of the hype surrounding it, and because I'm a huge fan of Dark Souls. At first, I didn't like it nearly as much as its spiritual successor, but after a few hours, it really started to grow on me. Before I knew it, I was 50 hours in, and still having a ball with just PvE. The game does show it's age with the somewhat clunky combat and below average character models, but it will intrigue fans of Dark Souls greatly. In all honesty, I prefer the single player aspect of this game over that of Dark Souls. It's atmosphere and intense fights are leagues above its predecessor.
    Pros: - Boss fights (Each boss in the game is incredibly intense, with fair but challenging AI and movesets)
    - Exploration (Due to the 'levels' rather than open-world, players are more willing to explore the dark world of Demon's Souls, and are rewarded greatly for doing so)
    - Story (The story is quite deep and intriguing, and I found myself having troubles putting down the controller to simply know what would happen next)
    - Leveling system (It's well-balanced, and grinding is not necessary to make a viable character)
    Cons: - Combat (While more than usable, the combat system is not as quick and varied as many modern gamers would expect)
    Overall, the game is one of the best I've ever played. The deep story and role-playing, intense boss fights, and incredible sense of exploration show the masterful quality of the game. Perhaps the best part of it is the sense of satisfaction after beating a tremendous boss. From Software has created a masterpiece, and continues to do so with the Dark Souls series. If you are a fan of Dark Souls, or want a refreshing experience, pick up this 5 year old game which blows so many others out of the water.
    Expand
  55. tkc
    May 27, 2014
    10
    The best game from souls series for me. It just felt perfect. You will die a lot, you're gonna enjoy it, and in the end get rewarded for it. This game alone is a reason to own PS3, even with DaS1 and DaS2 out.
  56. Oct 9, 2014
    8
    You get what you put in. If you take time to master the lore and combat, you will end up falling in love. If you let the difficulty overcome, then it can literally become soul-wrenching at times. Some more in-game tips would've been nice (and a pause screen for crying out loud!) as there is far too much to miss without the aid of internet instructions.
  57. Mar 19, 2015
    9
    I recently bought this game a couple weeks ago and LOVED it! It's amazing how a game that is 6 years old could hold my attention for 40 hours until first play through completion because most games now a days cant even do that. I really enjoyed how each arch stone included 5 instanced areas as opposed to Dark Souls where the game is one open world **** The gameplay, time period, and noI recently bought this game a couple weeks ago and LOVED it! It's amazing how a game that is 6 years old could hold my attention for 40 hours until first play through completion because most games now a days cant even do that. I really enjoyed how each arch stone included 5 instanced areas as opposed to Dark Souls where the game is one open world **** The gameplay, time period, and no hesitation gameplay kept me coming back for weeks! I would recommend this game to any of my friends. The only reason I am giving this game a 9 is because of the sheer amount of different weapons in the game and the fact that so many of them are similiar. Also, because you can't upgrade alot of the unique weapons you find which end up being trumped by upgraded normal boring weapons. Thanks FromSoftware for a great experience! Expand
  58. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    This game is hard. I will not lie at all about it. I play video games on hard difficulties just for fun, but this game.... This game gives hard a new name. But enough about how hard it is, this game is legit and fun as anything I've played in a while. I played it once, returned it after i got stuck at some point, and once again i just needed to have the unforgiving win or lose gameplayThis game is hard. I will not lie at all about it. I play video games on hard difficulties just for fun, but this game.... This game gives hard a new name. But enough about how hard it is, this game is legit and fun as anything I've played in a while. I played it once, returned it after i got stuck at some point, and once again i just needed to have the unforgiving win or lose gameplay that you cannot find anywhere else. The graphics are fantastic, the game itself has an ungodly amount of facets to it, you can play it over and over and it will still be new to you. Some things aren't explained at all, however, and this leads to confusion. I've found myself looking things up online myriad times. So, bottom line, if you are looking for a game that's cheap, fun, hardcore, difficult, and you have an internet connection, i strong recommend this game. 9 of 10. Expand
  59. ChrisI
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    This is the Must Have Title for the Playstation 3. There are so few games with this much attention to detail as is in Demon Souls. Its hard, but never have I experienced a game with so much reward to the player for putting the time and Effort into a game.
  60. KevinM
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to people who say this game is too difficult. The difficulty can be challenging but thats what makes this game unique. Instead of mindless slashing you put in strategy and thought into each fight.
  61. SteveJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I absolutely HATE games that are too difficult. Demon's Souls is EXTREMELY difficult, yet the game is so incredibly good I can't tear myself away from it. If you're a hardcore RPG fan, there is nothing better than Demon's Souls.
  62. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Let's make this blatantly clear, Demon's Soul has the finest controls and gameplay mechanics in action RPG history. Using the should buttons for the respective arms (ex. L1 for shield, R1 for sword) is insanely intuitive and commanding your character to dodge and execute heavy attacks are brilliantly smooth. Every action has a heavy, realistic feel to it, so your sword swings and shieldLet's make this blatantly clear, Demon's Soul has the finest controls and gameplay mechanics in action RPG history. Using the should buttons for the respective arms (ex. L1 for shield, R1 for sword) is insanely intuitive and commanding your character to dodge and execute heavy attacks are brilliantly smooth. Every action has a heavy, realistic feel to it, so your sword swings and shield blocks will have lifelike responses. These ground breaking controls are complemented with beautiful visuals, stunning level design and extremely creative boss battles. For instance, one of the early levels will have you running through a castle timing your runs with the intervals of a dragon swooping down and breathing fire over your path. Scenes like this are so grandiose and epic in scale and really immerse you in this fantasy genre. The most crippling flaw of Demon's Soul is a lack of a compelling story. This game is truly gameplay oriented, meaning you will be going from level to level without really feeling like you've accomplished much for any characters or made a significant progression throughout a long winding engaging story, unlike games like Dragon Age or Elder Scrolls. But Demon's Soul is a game you definitely need to experience to fall in love with. It is a game of absolutely monumental scale and you really deserve to see it for yourself. Expand
  63. drewtorres
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    pure awesome IF you can stand dying alot!

    the game controls very well
    the weapons all have there own style
    the graphics are much better then i thought
    music fits the game perfectly

    and once you clear an area for the first time.... sit back and relax you earned it

    must own for anyone that wants to die... a billion times
  64. GK
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of relief and surge of adrenalin when you get past that demon that just kept holding you back. The online is exceptionally good, leave messages to help others, join other worlds to help, have other players join you to help, or invade and disrupt someone else's progression. A brilliant twist on conventional cooperative and multiplayer gaming. Replay value is also unexpectedly high (for me, at least). After finishing the game, I immediately started New Game +. Upgrading weapons, spells, combat; it all comes together to be a very addictive experience. If you give up on Demon's Souls, you are genuinely missing one of the more unique experiences this generation. With the multiple ways to obtain help, there's really no excuse for finding it just too difficult. If you haven't yet tried it, you really should if RPG is your thing. It's not a game for everyone, granted; but for a niche game to enjoy such critical success really does speak volumes for the quality of Demon's Souls. Expand
  65. ScottS
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you will die constantly, no question. The game mood/environment reminds me of Shadow of the Collossus - mysterious, haunting and epic. It's nice to see a modern game buck the trend of constant CGI cut-scenes, frequent checkpoints and general hand-holding. So many games I've played in recent years aren't memorable because you burn through them in no time, almost like watching a movie. Don't get me wrong, I love blockbuster games like RE5/Gears/Drakes Fortune/Arkham Asylum etc, but the world needs games like Demons Souls too. Refreshing, difficult and different. If you want to try something original and challenging, I can't recommend Demon's Souls highly enough!! Expand
  66. MateusC
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    It's not for everyone. It's very hard and challenge game. If you consider yourself a hardcore and enjoy games like Ninja Gaiden in Master Ninja you will love Demon's Souls.
  67. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Fracking AMAZING! It's like King's Field with great combat and amazing graphics.

    Also, if you see a women wearing a golden mask show up in the top floor of your Nexus, kill her! She's evil!!
  68. Jun 27, 2011
    9
    While the game is unforgiving, this is probably one of the better games on the PS3 out there. It reminds me of the Monster Hunter franchise in a way, only with better targetting.
  69. aspentitan
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Demon
  70. JackP
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Demon
  71. PhilipK
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Not a game for everyone, but for those of us this game caters to it's unequaled in this generation. The "spiritual" sequel to Kings Field by the same company will kill you, but never unfairly. You have to adapt, change up your tactics and weaponry, and learn from your experience or you are missing the point and will get frustrated that brute force won't suffice. Almost every Not a game for everyone, but for those of us this game caters to it's unequaled in this generation. The "spiritual" sequel to Kings Field by the same company will kill you, but never unfairly. You have to adapt, change up your tactics and weaponry, and learn from your experience or you are missing the point and will get frustrated that brute force won't suffice. Almost every enemy in the game can and will kill you very quickly if you neglect to pay attention, and impatience is rewarded with quicker, more saddening deaths. Again, not a game for everyone, but as a fan of games like Kings Field, and Wizardry Tales of the Forsaken Land, this game delivers. I haven't played and enjoyed an RPG like this since the NES and early PSone days. If you're unsure rent it, you'll know after 2 hours or less if it's for you! Expand
  72. CodyK
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The best RPG of the generation. The person that was complaining about load screens, there's hardly any. With every death, you learn. You'll learn how to fight a certain enemy, what tactics to use, a trap to avoid, a different path to take, etc. It's an exhilirating experience, one that hasn't been felt in an RPG in this generation.
  73. [Anonymous]
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I feel this game is getting low scores from people who played it because they're not used to a game that is actually difficult to complete. Demon's Souls is one of my favorite PS3 games because it's so difficult. It's hard, it's frustrating, and sometimes it's just mean. But to be honest, it's what makes the game fun and unique.
  74. johna
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think like that you have lost and like the guys who put a low score in this game. All i can say is, we done Atlus ..no game will be the same after Demon's Souls. Expand
  75. JoeC
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    This game is not for the weak. If you like a game that gives you a VAT system, this game is not for you. If you want a game that is challenging and makes you work for progression, this game IS for you. Every time you get a new item, or beat a boss you have an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment. I am level 148 and have beat the game a few times over... I recommend this game to the This game is not for the weak. If you like a game that gives you a VAT system, this game is not for you. If you want a game that is challenging and makes you work for progression, this game IS for you. Every time you get a new item, or beat a boss you have an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment. I am level 148 and have beat the game a few times over... I recommend this game to the hardcore who love dungeon crawlers. Expand
  76. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Do you have what it takes to be a Demon's Souls player? When you first grasp this game in your hand, with that ghostly knight gracing the cover, you should almost hear the sound of horns being played in a majestic roar while all customers and clerks in the store gaze at you from behind cover. Demon's Souls is a video game in every true sense of the definition, a throwback to the days ofDo you have what it takes to be a Demon's Souls player? When you first grasp this game in your hand, with that ghostly knight gracing the cover, you should almost hear the sound of horns being played in a majestic roar while all customers and clerks in the store gaze at you from behind cover. Demon's Souls is a video game in every true sense of the definition, a throwback to the days of unforgiving NES titles, wrapped in an RPG so detailed its depth will burrow itself into your soul and never let go. So many words could describe this game, and no review could ever say them all, so understand this first and foremost, Demon's Souls is something you absolutely must discover the beauty of all on your own. No one can ever explain to you exactly what it's like and just what to expect, other than it's an RPG, it's knights and castles, and you WILL DIE. LOTS. I hope to shed some light unto your soul though so heed this if you will. The game is a masterpiece of many many things ranging from complexity to balance to absolute infuriating fairness. The game is punishing to the core, but even more so rewarding. The game seems impossible but is only as impossible as you try and make it. We begin by learning of The Old One, an awoken Demon that must be put to rest along with many other demons. That is about as deep as the plot goes, for this game is not story based at all. This was a turn off for me early on but I soon discovered the game was never about story, but about pure thick gameplay and strategy. As mentioned above one cannot justify this game in few words so I am already moving on from what the game is about to try and tell you about the games core. Like most RPGs you will create a character and be sent on a journey, a true journey, one that will test your limits as a gamer. The Elder Scrolls this is not. When you begin, you are facing a long hull of monsters, abominations, soldiers, and most frightening of all, Demons. Every enemy you face is a stand off and you will not simply mow them down like a hero. No sir, you will time, block, strike wisely, carefully, and never become greedy or you will die, guarantee it. Death in this game is not simply restarting a checkpoint, death in this game is a punishment, and always seems to be shouting "now what did we learn?" in your face. Tons of progress can be shattered with each careless attack or misjudged footing and no one will pity you. The game is so hardcore you cant even pause it, the start button brings up items and stats with gameplay still in full motion. With each kill you collect souls, souls are your currency for everything. Leveling, buying, repairing, ect. When your killed your souls return to zero, however you do have one chance to recollect them if you can return to where you died and pick them up, but die again and your souls are gone forever. This will happen a lot. You then respawn at the start of an area, sometimes what seems an eternity away from where you died. This is where the game proves itself. Sure you will want to destroy your controller, but you will always want to journey again and do right this time. Its quite special really. The game is so balanced, so fair, and death is so your fault that you cannot blame the game for your mistake, and you always learn what you did wrong. The game features short cuts if you can figure them out, as well as hints via other players online who can write limited messages on floors for others to read. They even appear in and out as ghostly figures walking the halls with you, its great. The atmosphere is top notch, the graphics great, sound is superb and haunting. Everything is just awesome. I want to say so much more but cant, and I urge you to at least try the game. When I first began, I honestly did not enjoy it. I found it dull, aimless, and felt buyers remorse. But thank God I was able to eventually see what the game was truly offering, and now the game hardly ever leaves my mind. I have played for over a year and I still cannot play without learning at least one new thing every single time, the game is that deep in strategy and consequence. With everything I have written, I have barely scratched the surface of why this game is great. I didn't mention World Tendancy, The Nexus Or Human form Soul form, I didn't mention how amazing boss fights were, I didn't mention how you will sweat and shake in battle even with often routine enemies, I didn't mention the infinite times you can play the game over, and I didn't mention how terrifying every new step is to you. You will fear death in this game, you will watch your back and wear thin the L1 button which is your shield, and you will throw your hands in the air when a Demon boss falls at your feet in defeat. This game is special and worth every penny which is a rarity in itself with today's gaming. Get this game and prepare for the RPG journey you always wanted, learn to embrace death, and prove you got some soul in you. Expand
  77. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Demon's Souls is a PS3 exclusive, so beware, if you're anything like me and you already deeply fell in love with Dark Souls on PC you might end up buying the entire PS3 system exclusively just to play this masterpiece, and that's my only complaint this gem needs to be multiplatform. But is it actually worth it? Absolutely! This is every bit as good as Dark Souls, maybe not as elaboratedDemon's Souls is a PS3 exclusive, so beware, if you're anything like me and you already deeply fell in love with Dark Souls on PC you might end up buying the entire PS3 system exclusively just to play this masterpiece, and that's my only complaint this gem needs to be multiplatform. But is it actually worth it? Absolutely! This is every bit as good as Dark Souls, maybe not as elaborated in some aspects (covenants are not present yet, Nexus hub instead of cleverly connected world..), but in some other aspects it even surpasses it's sequel (better soundtrack, multiplayer stability thanks to dedicated servers instead of p2p). Everything else is on the same level of exquisite quality as Dark Souls beautiful worlds (especially Boletarian Palace and Shrine of Storms), amazing level design, dark atmosphere, epic boss battles (Tower Knight, Old Hero), addictive gameplay and challenging difficulty (even though if you're coming from Dark Souls, this might be mostly a cakewalk.) Souls series is becoming a true legend. 10/10 Expand
  78. Apr 7, 2015
    8
    I have to say, I was wrong about this game and this series. You need to give it a chance and give it time before you can really appreciate it. Not as polished as the later games in the series, but a nice start.
  79. JacobS.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Up until now I had nearly lost all interest in video games. Demon's Souls has revived my long lost love for gaming. The insane difficulty and addictive gameplay is just what I've been looking for! I haven't moved from my couch in over 48 hours!
  80. AntonS
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    The gaming industry needs more games like this. Demon's Souls turns away from the casual trend that recent games have been ensuing in favor of a truly difficult and rewarding experience. Hopefully developers will follow Demon's Souls example and stop selling out the casual gamers. Ten out of ten. One of the best games on the platform.
  81. Dec 10, 2010
    10
    fddddddddddddddddddddddddddggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggdgggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggggdddddddd
  82. Dec 21, 2010
    10
    I've played through the game 6 times now, each time the challenges have been distinct due to the type of character I was playing. Yes the story is just about non-existent, but that's not the point. It's about the challenge, the struggle, and being able to say you did it. This game really is a dive back into the "good old" days of video games, Mega Man, Contra, Ghost & Goblins, etc. IfI've played through the game 6 times now, each time the challenges have been distinct due to the type of character I was playing. Yes the story is just about non-existent, but that's not the point. It's about the challenge, the struggle, and being able to say you did it. This game really is a dive back into the "good old" days of video games, Mega Man, Contra, Ghost & Goblins, etc. If you can take a cinder block to the nuts and say to yourself "F that... I WILL do this", then this is your game. I know I found it to be like crack in game form, hope you have fun too. Expand
  83. Jan 14, 2011
    9
    Great game. Brutally difficult (old school), so if you get frustrated and give up easily you might want to harden up or look elsewhere. Stick with it though and you'll be rewarded.
    Is definitely an action rpg (and more action than rpg) so don't expect story lines and NPCs to farm quests off.
    What it does it does brilliantly.
    Better value for your money than FFXIII.
  84. Mar 17, 2011
    9
    Demon's Souls is not for everyone. It is only for those who are undoubtedly determined to finish a game. From the tutorial alone, you're supposed to realize that. This is not a casual game. This is not a simple game. It is difficult, but it is there for a purpose. It needs your utmost attention and effort. If you can give it that, this game will be one of the most enjoyable games you'veDemon's Souls is not for everyone. It is only for those who are undoubtedly determined to finish a game. From the tutorial alone, you're supposed to realize that. This is not a casual game. This is not a simple game. It is difficult, but it is there for a purpose. It needs your utmost attention and effort. If you can give it that, this game will be one of the most enjoyable games you've played on your PS3. First of all, this game is not hard. At least, not yet. It gets harder when you beat it. Why? Why do you want to play a game you've already beaten? It has to challenge you again and keep up with you or else you'll lose interest. If you find this game too hard, seek another game you have interest in. Simple. Second, this game's story is subtle. Not good, not bad, just subtle. Since the game is closer to an MMORPG, that is probably to be expected. (The "Character Creation" and "Classes" should be the best hint for that so don't expect an extraordinary award-winning tale.) However, the characters are at least interesting and the graphics are superb. Third, your death is your fault. The worlds are in a state of terrible chaos and evil. But this time, its true to its word. So don't think that you'll survive if you're not cautious. Just be extra, extra, extra careful. Don't run unless you need to. Keep your shield up and be prepared for anything. The only thing that most people would probably agree on (including me) is how unfair the punishment of death is. Okay, you died. Its alright to start at the beginning of the stage. But having to kill all of the same creatures again without the guarantee that you can actually make it back to your Bloodstain is overkill. If only your souls weren't on the line this would be acceptable. Sadly, it is not. So spend them immediately and efficiently. Demon's Souls is not a perfect game. But its purpose is clear. The world is conquered by evil. We need to stop it. So get your gear ready and kick some ass. You were meant to save the world. You just need to prove it. Expand
  85. Apr 3, 2011
    10
    I just had to register at Meta to WARN about this game. Ignore all positive reviews, graphics CAN run with ease playstation2... blocky, bad textures, no mood whatsoever anywhere in the game... For a ps3 exclusive... the worst game since commodore64... and by the way, this game IS not difficult, time your thrust...block...stab...and there you are. My score definately 4 out of 10. Avoid thisI just had to register at Meta to WARN about this game. Ignore all positive reviews, graphics CAN run with ease playstation2... blocky, bad textures, no mood whatsoever anywhere in the game... For a ps3 exclusive... the worst game since commodore64... and by the way, this game IS not difficult, time your thrust...block...stab...and there you are. My score definately 4 out of 10. Avoid this title, unless you have jailbraker mod...but then again, not worth the hd space... DO NOT SHOW THIS TO YOUR XBOX360 fans. Expand
  86. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    I grew up playing those hard as hell games from the 80'swhere save points and re-generating health would have been laughed at but I preserved and the reward was triumphant when defeating some of those insurmountable challenges (Dr. Wily from the early Rockman/Megaman series) being one of my arch video game nemeses. Somewhere between then and now gamers got mollycoddled and hand held and II grew up playing those hard as hell games from the 80'swhere save points and re-generating health would have been laughed at but I preserved and the reward was triumphant when defeating some of those insurmountable challenges (Dr. Wily from the early Rockman/Megaman series) being one of my arch video game nemeses. Somewhere between then and now gamers got mollycoddled and hand held and I forgot what a true game challenge was, and that to finally finish a game was a celebration. Now days I just play to finish the dam thing not for the challenge. Well enter Demon's Souls. What a surprise to find a game in this day and age that mimics the classics of yesteryear. Initially, my older self was a bit reprehensive about the many deaths, returning to beginning of levels and the repetition but then the kid in me joyously reminded me that this is how it used to be. Demon's Souls by todayâ Expand
  87. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Game is toooooo easy 13/22 bossed done, and have not died more than once per each boss :)

    Awesome game still a classic, just seems a little too easy for me :)
  88. Jan 15, 2015
    10
    **** maaannnnn besterest vido gam deuuud dont say is hard tho or else u r punk bish cuz ur mad cuz bad get gud casulll also if you use uchigatana fuk u dont play nub scrub anyways best gam and for mlg pros
  89. Mar 13, 2015
    10
    One of the best games I've ever played.
    Dark atmosphere, challenging gameplay, innovative online multiplayer.
    If you own a ps3 you should buy it, otherwise buy the ps3 as well.
  90. SinisterD
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    When your playing this game, it starts to feel fairly slow paced, as you slowly churn your way through the meat grinder, and more often then not, you'll die when you encounter a new enemy. But everytime you meet them, you learn there tricks, so when you meet them again, your able to counter them more effectively. You die, and die, and die, and die. Then one day when your playing the When your playing this game, it starts to feel fairly slow paced, as you slowly churn your way through the meat grinder, and more often then not, you'll die when you encounter a new enemy. But everytime you meet them, you learn there tricks, so when you meet them again, your able to counter them more effectively. You die, and die, and die, and die. Then one day when your playing the game you look up and realize... I haven't died in a while? And thats when it hits you. You've gotten much, much better at the game, you've conquered those who have impaled, decapitated, incinerated you to death many many times. IT makes the Achievements on the 360 and the Trophies on the Ps3 look like childs play. And then you get tea bagged by a giant spider, and the process starts all over again. Or if your a very angry person, a Ps3 controller in your HDTV. Expand
  91. fauxzero
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    These people giving it low scores are hilarious. They seriously just upset this game is getting so much praise that they have to downscore it. Nothing about this game is "bare-bones," "tedious," or bad in any way. I've played every sort of rpg from old school NES, PC, SNES, to all worthy next-gen rpg's, and this game is completely refreshing. It's comparable to shadows of These people giving it low scores are hilarious. They seriously just upset this game is getting so much praise that they have to downscore it. Nothing about this game is "bare-bones," "tedious," or bad in any way. I've played every sort of rpg from old school NES, PC, SNES, to all worthy next-gen rpg's, and this game is completely refreshing. It's comparable to shadows of the colossus and Zelda in terms of extraordinary. If you like the previous 2 games, you'll love this game. Expand
  92. JohnM
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    One of the very best games to come out this year...The best game out this generation...and my top 5 for best games of all time. This is a demanding game. But also very rewarding. The truth is, if you suck at games..This is not a game you'll want to play..if you're good at games then this is a dream come true. Graphics are good..acting is decent...and gameplay is the best around.One of the very best games to come out this year...The best game out this generation...and my top 5 for best games of all time. This is a demanding game. But also very rewarding. The truth is, if you suck at games..This is not a game you'll want to play..if you're good at games then this is a dream come true. Graphics are good..acting is decent...and gameplay is the best around. The difficulty is all in strategy..how to fight the bad guy you're up against. If you figure out how to kill them..then you'll always know how. Also, this game does not kill you. You kill you. This game is a stern mistress but any death to come to you is a result of your own ineptitude.
    IN closing, amazing game..i've been around the block. i've owned every console since Atari and played most of every great game to come out across all the different platforms..and this is in my top 5..not an easy mark to hit..but one this game does easily.
    Expand
  93. grimdeath
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect in every way it reminds me of retro games to be honest this game deserves a perfect score as it seperates the serious gamer from all the rest as this is no game for someone who just cant take dying in a game or is too used to the mainstream rubbish the gaming industry spews out this game should entice every hardcore retro gamer who is used to a challenge this game This game is perfect in every way it reminds me of retro games to be honest this game deserves a perfect score as it seperates the serious gamer from all the rest as this is no game for someone who just cant take dying in a game or is too used to the mainstream rubbish the gaming industry spews out this game should entice every hardcore retro gamer who is used to a challenge this game makes you truly feeel like a human in a demons land where you have little chance of survival but you struggle on despite than it requires the players wit and cunning and logical thinking for them to survive. this game worlds or levels whatever you wish to call them seem massive for just one level and the details of teh demons are amazing the game consists of all the RPG elements so thi is a must for RPG fans and may appeal to anyone who likes a challenge or who is just a hardcore gamer there may be loading screen but they arent as long as other games out there and they are there because the game doesnt lot up the level as you are playing as it causes many bugs in the level it is more polished to load it up before hand. overall this game is fantastic and should please hardcore gamers retro gamers and gamers who love challenges however gamers who cant take dying alot or getting sent to the start of a level even though you can open gates for shortcuts and anyone who cant play a game without logically thinking how to ebat an enemy this isnt for you. Expand
  94. MatthewK
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game is phenomenal. It's difficult, especially compared to other dungeon crawlers (Diablo is the most mainstream comparison). However, when you die in a game like Diablo, it's really frustrating, it's a downer and it discourages you to keep playing and makes you want to end that session. However, dying in Demon's Souls makes you want to keep going, to go find your This game is phenomenal. It's difficult, especially compared to other dungeon crawlers (Diablo is the most mainstream comparison). However, when you die in a game like Diablo, it's really frustrating, it's a downer and it discourages you to keep playing and makes you want to end that session. However, dying in Demon's Souls makes you want to keep going, to go find your body and reclaim your souls, and to continue, especially when you know what you did wrong - even if you don't know what to do (the first dragon in the game comes to mind) thinking up a solution, even if it isn't the one the game wanted you to come up with, is really satisfying. Expand
  95. HugoCastro
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game! It is hard as hell, push your patience to the limits. But if you play it with your head you will very satisfied. After you kill your first bosses you will feel invincible. :P
    For those who comment the game with low scores, learn to play it first. If you don't know how to pass some level search for help in the web. There are very useful hints that the game don't
    Fantastic game! It is hard as hell, push your patience to the limits. But if you play it with your head you will very satisfied. After you kill your first bosses you will feel invincible. :P
    For those who comment the game with low scores, learn to play it first. If you don't know how to pass some level search for help in the web. There are very useful hints that the game don't show.

    ---
    Portuguese players:

    Para os tugas que querem comprar este jogo, recomendo.
    Vão-se cansar de morrer mas vão aprender, e vão-se tornar mais fortes. Tem aí coisas escritas por aqueles que deram má nota que não são totalmente verdadeiras. São uns frustados que só querem é colinho. Isto não é um God of War onde se desbrava caminho. Não é um Neverwinter Nights onde a história é o ponto mais importante e os seus elementos rpgs. Aqui o medo assombra-te. Vais ter medo ao percorrer certos túneis. Mas no final vai saber bem derrotar um boss maior do que tu 20 vezes. ;) Usem muito o modo online. Ficam a conhecer os bosses e os mapas com a ajuda de outros jogadores. É de outro nivel este jogo.
    Não lhe dou 10 porque existem algumas falhas. Mas não acho que a dificuldade seja uma delas. São pequenas falhas que nem merecem apontamento de tão pequenas que são. :)
    Vejam vídeos e outras reviews se tiverem dúvidas.
    Expand
  96. ChadC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, sorry it's to hard for some of you. There's a ton of reviews that state the games difficulty, most gamers probably just ignore it though thinking that it "won't be to hard for me". If you missed out on NES and SNES days, then you probably aren't ready for what you are about to get yourself into. If you are an older gamer, this game isn't very hard, Awesome game, sorry it's to hard for some of you. There's a ton of reviews that state the games difficulty, most gamers probably just ignore it though thinking that it "won't be to hard for me". If you missed out on NES and SNES days, then you probably aren't ready for what you are about to get yourself into. If you are an older gamer, this game isn't very hard, you just need to be prepared, pay attention, and use your brain..not just your fingers. All the "I can't sell loot, it's pointless" or the "it's 2009 you shouldnt have to start all over each level" naysayers come accross as transparent. Take the spoon out of your mouth and try something differant. ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?!?! Expand
  97. Zac
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is a very polished and unique game. It's been so long since I've played something wonderful like this! This game requires deep thinking for combat. Giving low reviews only shows how some gamers like games to be easy. This game is all about progression. And progression feels good.
  98. PierreR
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    Excellent gameplay and a chilling atmosphere work together wonderfully in this game, but the intense difficulty make this best suited for hardcore gamers. The game's greatest failing is its nearly non-existent story, which may come as a surprise to the average JRPG fan. However, fans of serious gameplay and insane difficulty will not be disappointed in this game.
  99. RobT
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    I would give it 9.5/10;) Just love it. It can be a bit scary and very hard. I have a manual in chinese so it was quite hard to understand world tendency and what to do next. So more info hade been great in the game. But maybe that add to the experience?! I put away all my other games AND bought the deluxe edition on ebay for $109. I want to do it all again and again and again.. And I I would give it 9.5/10;) Just love it. It can be a bit scary and very hard. I have a manual in chinese so it was quite hard to understand world tendency and what to do next. So more info hade been great in the game. But maybe that add to the experience?! I put away all my other games AND bought the deluxe edition on ebay for $109. I want to do it all again and again and again.. And I usually never play a game 2 times! Expand
  100. Picolo
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Fantastic Game, but one you really need to invest in, it ain't a pick up and play, it takes hours to hone your skills ans startegies, but haven't enjoyed a game so much since vagrant story
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Demon's Souls: Unbelievably hard and unbelievably satisfying at the same time. If you accomplish to get through your initial rage attacks, you will experience an outstanding action-RPG with a tense and dark atmosphere.
  2. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  3. It's stoic, uncompromising, difficult to get to know, but also deep, intriguingly disturbed and perversely rewarding. You can learn to love Demon's Souls like few other games in the world. But only if you're prepared to give yourself over to it. [JPN Import]