Demon's Souls PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1393 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. drewtorres
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    pure awesome IF you can stand dying alot!

    the game controls very well
    the weapons all have there own style
    the graphics are much better then i thought
    music fits the game perfectly

    and once you clear an area for the first time.... sit back and relax you earned it

    must own for anyone that wants to die... a billion times
  2. aspentitan
    Jan 5, 2010
    9
    Demon
  3. GK
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of relief and surge of adrenalin when you get past that demon that just kept holding you back. The online is exceptionally good, leave messages to help others, join other worlds to help, have other players join you to help, or invade and disrupt someone else's progression. A brilliant twist on conventional cooperative and multiplayer gaming. Replay value is also unexpectedly high (for me, at least). After finishing the game, I immediately started New Game +. Upgrading weapons, spells, combat; it all comes together to be a very addictive experience. If you give up on Demon's Souls, you are genuinely missing one of the more unique experiences this generation. With the multiple ways to obtain help, there's really no excuse for finding it just too difficult. If you haven't yet tried it, you really should if RPG is your thing. It's not a game for everyone, granted; but for a niche game to enjoy such critical success really does speak volumes for the quality of Demon's Souls. Expand
  4. JessieS
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from some of the replayability. If you want a great hardcore actionRPG this is it. However, if you are not sure, rent the game to check it out before hand. Expand
  5. JackP
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Demon
  6. ScottS
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you will die constantly, no question. The game mood/environment reminds me of Shadow of the Collossus - mysterious, haunting and epic. It's nice to see a modern game buck the trend of constant CGI cut-scenes, frequent checkpoints and general hand-holding. So many games I've played in recent years aren't memorable because you burn through them in no time, almost like watching a movie. Don't get me wrong, I love blockbuster games like RE5/Gears/Drakes Fortune/Arkham Asylum etc, but the world needs games like Demons Souls too. Refreshing, difficult and different. If you want to try something original and challenging, I can't recommend Demon's Souls highly enough!! Expand
  7. PhilipK
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Not a game for everyone, but for those of us this game caters to it's unequaled in this generation. The "spiritual" sequel to Kings Field by the same company will kill you, but never unfairly. You have to adapt, change up your tactics and weaponry, and learn from your experience or you are missing the point and will get frustrated that brute force won't suffice. Almost every Not a game for everyone, but for those of us this game caters to it's unequaled in this generation. The "spiritual" sequel to Kings Field by the same company will kill you, but never unfairly. You have to adapt, change up your tactics and weaponry, and learn from your experience or you are missing the point and will get frustrated that brute force won't suffice. Almost every enemy in the game can and will kill you very quickly if you neglect to pay attention, and impatience is rewarded with quicker, more saddening deaths. Again, not a game for everyone, but as a fan of games like Kings Field, and Wizardry Tales of the Forsaken Land, this game delivers. I haven't played and enjoyed an RPG like this since the NES and early PSone days. If you're unsure rent it, you'll know after 2 hours or less if it's for you! Expand
  8. CodyK
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The best RPG of the generation. The person that was complaining about load screens, there's hardly any. With every death, you learn. You'll learn how to fight a certain enemy, what tactics to use, a trap to avoid, a different path to take, etc. It's an exhilirating experience, one that hasn't been felt in an RPG in this generation.
  9. VisualEcho
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    great game. but, only after you get so mad at it that braking your 52 inch lcd starts sounding like a good thing, do you really start to enjoy it to the fullest. not sure where it happens but somewhere past the point of giving up it really pulls u in.
  10. LeonardoR
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a "hardcore gamer". Casual gamers will have a hard time but will enjoy it nonetheless. Expand
  11. chachoriddle
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    This game is graphically one of the best on thr ps3 console and is also addicting. It took me 6 hours in my first sitting and didn't want to turn it off...could've easily been a 10, hoever without online chat capability this should be a must on any next gen console. Great job Atlus!!!
  12. James
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Everything said about this game having difficulty as ridiculous as Monster Hunter's is right... and I mean that in a good way. I rocked Monster Hunter and loved the challenge, and this game gives the same sense of accomplishment, if not, better.
  13. PeterH
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best game I'vel played this year because the first will definitely be Uncharted 2. Expand
  14. AnthonyC
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This is what an action RPG should be. Love it. Expand
  15. DaleC.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the way. There has never been a game like this that forces you to think, strategize and be so fully satisfied for your success. You don't need to be the hardest hardcore gamer to enjoy, just a regular person who is willing to work hard and use your noodle harder. Just don't expect to see your friends and family any time soon. Expand
  16. NikoD
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Game is the real deal. Would give it 11 if I could.
  17. JoeW
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Demon's Souls is an absolutely amazing game. I rarely play through a game multiple times but with Demon's Souls the addition of New Game+ and the ability to shape your character skills without restriction keeps me playing
  18. ChrisI
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    This is the Must Have Title for the Playstation 3. There are so few games with this much attention to detail as is in Demon Souls. Its hard, but never have I experienced a game with so much reward to the player for putting the time and Effort into a game.
  19. MarioC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely essential for anyone looking for a challenging, yet highly rewarding and fun game. Excellent atmosphere, adrenaline-pumping boss fights, and a great online community. Demon's Souls is hands down the best action RPG of the past 5 years.
  20. MunirS
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    It's the difficulty I like the most with the infinite replay value and the best part is that it's not for the casual gamers only for the real hardcore gamers only babies who like graphics can stick with call of duty 2
  21. johnt
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots of immersion. If the game had a better presentation and a complex story we would be talking about the game of the decade. Still one of the best. Expand
  22. SethB
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect them. You know how to kill the Phalanx, very easily. But when starting a New Game Plus, the game becomes extremely difficult to play. With the Black-Eyed Stones, invasions become common on NG+, so just expect it. Some bosses seem impossible to kill without other players with you, so that the boss could alter it's attention for even just a moment. This game is hard. This game is pretty. This game is Dark, and this game needs to be played by everyone. Expand
  23. ArminZ
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or pretentious. If the game left the player no respite by having the enemies level up with you, therefore negating any leveling system (ala Final Fantasy VIII) then I would be inclined to agree. "Demon's Souls" rewards a slow, methodical and calculated approach. If you try and take on all of the enemies in the game as though this were "Gears of War", f course you will die and frequently. "Demon's Souls" difficulty allows the game to be immersive. How many games have you played where the storyline has something to do with a legion of enemies that are unstoppable, and yet, the main character can mow them down as though he has a flamethrower and the enemies are toddlers? "Demon's Souls" gets it right. It may be one of the few games of this generation to do so. It's difficult, but allows you to work at your own pace. It doesn't forgive recklessness, but allows you to learn enemy behaviour. If you put in the time and effort into making your character strong enough to complete the game, then it is an accomplishment. You feel satisfied - why? Because the main character wasn't always a hero - you turned him into one - you are the strength that overcame. The graphics are not the best of this generation, but they aren't as bad as "Dragon Age" (a good game, but the graphics are 'meh'). The story isn't in your face - it is quite subtle and the more you look around and take in the atmosphere, the more the story becomes apparent. I could go on and on about how this gem should not be missed for fear of a future where true innovation is ignored. Play this game and don't give up. The more you put into this game, the more it returns. Best game of the year? I believe so. Expand
  24. JoseG
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk with NPC's just to get to the next part of the game or next quest. When you do, though, you are rewarded. It's an RPG at its simplest and an action platformer at its heart. I have NEVER spent over 200 hrs playing any one game... I've NEVER spent sooo many times beating and beating a game over again. I've started my third character and am glad to have it in my collection. I wont trade or sell this game as long as I can play it. Every game I've played since, seems simple and boring. Expand
  25. DavidS
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get back into this one, and I'm already on my 4th playthrough, and it just gets more fun. Expand
  26. raist3d
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to save that princess Yet Again(tm), or you are missing the kind of atmosphere/scary mood that a game like Silent Hill 2 creates (and yet in a different way) along with true more arcade style action and implicit AD&D rules, this is the game for you. If you have little patience, don't like RPG's, think Zelda Wii is the best game Evar, or you can't stand ever losing, getting fueled interest by the challenge, then this isn't the game for you. Expand
  27. HamdoonA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing, very challenging, yet I am just 60% and spent around 80 hours playing woooooow
  28. KritU
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This game is very very difficult. Usually I would have given up playing a game this hard after 15 minutes, however, I'm on my 2nd week owning this game. I am still playing it and love getting my ass kicked on my first level for some reasons.
  29. MosesG.P
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    One of the best Action/RPG I have played. This is not a game for cry babies. You got to have a lot of guts and patience to beat this game. It's very challenging. i reccomend this game for every hadcore gamer.
  30. glenns
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game is't as tuff as some say, More brutal than the onimusha series and more gothic than oblivion. One of the best games on this generation consoles period. Separate ratings. 1 to 10 higher is better. Game play 9.5 good timing is needed but the contact detection is very good. Graphics 9.6 althoe dark, the game looks absolutely stunning at times & just great the rest of the time. Sound 10. Very solid sound effects & music. Expand
  31. ERMAC__
    Oct 12, 2009
    9
    From a generation of gaming that is lacking games of its genre, Demon's Souls is really a shining star. Its is indeed unforgiving, but extremely rewarding and can keep your attention for weeks and months. Their is much to to via upgrades, getting more powerful weapons, learning spells. The combat is very well done and keeps the game fun even when you hit a tight spot. Their is a From a generation of gaming that is lacking games of its genre, Demon's Souls is really a shining star. Its is indeed unforgiving, but extremely rewarding and can keep your attention for weeks and months. Their is much to to via upgrades, getting more powerful weapons, learning spells. The combat is very well done and keeps the game fun even when you hit a tight spot. Their is a large amount of enemy variety and design, as well as a unique multi-player. For those who are looking for a good RPG, this is probably it. Expand
  32. MateusC
    Oct 16, 2009
    8
    It's not for everyone. It's very hard and challenge game. If you consider yourself a hardcore and enjoy games like Ninja Gaiden in Master Ninja you will love Demon's Souls.
  33. johna
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think like that you have lost and like the guys who put a low score in this game. All i can say is, we done Atlus ..no game will be the same after Demon's Souls. Expand
  34. MikeN
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can take the souls you earned and return to the Nexus and spend them. The enemies DO respawn when you re-enter the realm, but you've spent your souls so it doesn't matter all that much. You always have the choice of pushing onward, risking the souls earned, vs. returning to cash them in. That's the beauty of the system. I suspect some of the low reviews here aren't used to any REAL risk in their current day gaming adventuring, and this comes as quite a shock. This game isn't for everyone, no doubt. But those looking for a real challenge that demands hard choices with actual consequences, this game is second to none. My only gripe is that the interface icons on the stats are cryptic squiggles that are hard to remember (what do the 2 yellow swirvy lines mean again...agility? ) Expand
  35. JoeC
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    This game is not for the weak. If you like a game that gives you a VAT system, this game is not for you. If you want a game that is challenging and makes you work for progression, this game IS for you. Every time you get a new item, or beat a boss you have an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment. I am level 148 and have beat the game a few times over... I recommend this game to the This game is not for the weak. If you like a game that gives you a VAT system, this game is not for you. If you want a game that is challenging and makes you work for progression, this game IS for you. Every time you get a new item, or beat a boss you have an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment. I am level 148 and have beat the game a few times over... I recommend this game to the hardcore who love dungeon crawlers. Expand
  36. JeremyT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Best game of the year so far. I've never played a game with more relentless tension and atmosphere. Uncharted gets points for production value, but Demon's Souls gets the edge for shear design genius. Awesome dark fantasy.
  37. SinisterD
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    When your playing this game, it starts to feel fairly slow paced, as you slowly churn your way through the meat grinder, and more often then not, you'll die when you encounter a new enemy. But everytime you meet them, you learn there tricks, so when you meet them again, your able to counter them more effectively. You die, and die, and die, and die. Then one day when your playing the When your playing this game, it starts to feel fairly slow paced, as you slowly churn your way through the meat grinder, and more often then not, you'll die when you encounter a new enemy. But everytime you meet them, you learn there tricks, so when you meet them again, your able to counter them more effectively. You die, and die, and die, and die. Then one day when your playing the game you look up and realize... I haven't died in a while? And thats when it hits you. You've gotten much, much better at the game, you've conquered those who have impaled, decapitated, incinerated you to death many many times. IT makes the Achievements on the 360 and the Trophies on the Ps3 look like childs play. And then you get tea bagged by a giant spider, and the process starts all over again. Or if your a very angry person, a Ps3 controller in your HDTV. Expand
  38. fauxzero
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    These people giving it low scores are hilarious. They seriously just upset this game is getting so much praise that they have to downscore it. Nothing about this game is "bare-bones," "tedious," or bad in any way. I've played every sort of rpg from old school NES, PC, SNES, to all worthy next-gen rpg's, and this game is completely refreshing. It's comparable to shadows of These people giving it low scores are hilarious. They seriously just upset this game is getting so much praise that they have to downscore it. Nothing about this game is "bare-bones," "tedious," or bad in any way. I've played every sort of rpg from old school NES, PC, SNES, to all worthy next-gen rpg's, and this game is completely refreshing. It's comparable to shadows of the colossus and Zelda in terms of extraordinary. If you like the previous 2 games, you'll love this game. Expand
  39. JohnM
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    One of the very best games to come out this year...The best game out this generation...and my top 5 for best games of all time. This is a demanding game. But also very rewarding. The truth is, if you suck at games..This is not a game you'll want to play..if you're good at games then this is a dream come true. Graphics are good..acting is decent...and gameplay is the best around.One of the very best games to come out this year...The best game out this generation...and my top 5 for best games of all time. This is a demanding game. But also very rewarding. The truth is, if you suck at games..This is not a game you'll want to play..if you're good at games then this is a dream come true. Graphics are good..acting is decent...and gameplay is the best around. The difficulty is all in strategy..how to fight the bad guy you're up against. If you figure out how to kill them..then you'll always know how. Also, this game does not kill you. You kill you. This game is a stern mistress but any death to come to you is a result of your own ineptitude.
    IN closing, amazing game..i've been around the block. i've owned every console since Atari and played most of every great game to come out across all the different platforms..and this is in my top 5..not an easy mark to hit..but one this game does easily.
    Expand
  40. grimdeath
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect in every way it reminds me of retro games to be honest this game deserves a perfect score as it seperates the serious gamer from all the rest as this is no game for someone who just cant take dying in a game or is too used to the mainstream rubbish the gaming industry spews out this game should entice every hardcore retro gamer who is used to a challenge this game This game is perfect in every way it reminds me of retro games to be honest this game deserves a perfect score as it seperates the serious gamer from all the rest as this is no game for someone who just cant take dying in a game or is too used to the mainstream rubbish the gaming industry spews out this game should entice every hardcore retro gamer who is used to a challenge this game makes you truly feeel like a human in a demons land where you have little chance of survival but you struggle on despite than it requires the players wit and cunning and logical thinking for them to survive. this game worlds or levels whatever you wish to call them seem massive for just one level and the details of teh demons are amazing the game consists of all the RPG elements so thi is a must for RPG fans and may appeal to anyone who likes a challenge or who is just a hardcore gamer there may be loading screen but they arent as long as other games out there and they are there because the game doesnt lot up the level as you are playing as it causes many bugs in the level it is more polished to load it up before hand. overall this game is fantastic and should please hardcore gamers retro gamers and gamers who love challenges however gamers who cant take dying alot or getting sent to the start of a level even though you can open gates for shortcuts and anyone who cant play a game without logically thinking how to ebat an enemy this isnt for you. Expand
  41. MatthewK
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game is phenomenal. It's difficult, especially compared to other dungeon crawlers (Diablo is the most mainstream comparison). However, when you die in a game like Diablo, it's really frustrating, it's a downer and it discourages you to keep playing and makes you want to end that session. However, dying in Demon's Souls makes you want to keep going, to go find your This game is phenomenal. It's difficult, especially compared to other dungeon crawlers (Diablo is the most mainstream comparison). However, when you die in a game like Diablo, it's really frustrating, it's a downer and it discourages you to keep playing and makes you want to end that session. However, dying in Demon's Souls makes you want to keep going, to go find your body and reclaim your souls, and to continue, especially when you know what you did wrong - even if you don't know what to do (the first dragon in the game comes to mind) thinking up a solution, even if it isn't the one the game wanted you to come up with, is really satisfying. Expand
  42. HugoCastro
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    Fantastic game! It is hard as hell, push your patience to the limits. But if you play it with your head you will very satisfied. After you kill your first bosses you will feel invincible. :P
    For those who comment the game with low scores, learn to play it first. If you don't know how to pass some level search for help in the web. There are very useful hints that the game don't
    Fantastic game! It is hard as hell, push your patience to the limits. But if you play it with your head you will very satisfied. After you kill your first bosses you will feel invincible. :P
    For those who comment the game with low scores, learn to play it first. If you don't know how to pass some level search for help in the web. There are very useful hints that the game don't show.

    ---
    Portuguese players:

    Para os tugas que querem comprar este jogo, recomendo.
    Vão-se cansar de morrer mas vão aprender, e vão-se tornar mais fortes. Tem aí coisas escritas por aqueles que deram má nota que não são totalmente verdadeiras. São uns frustados que só querem é colinho. Isto não é um God of War onde se desbrava caminho. Não é um Neverwinter Nights onde a história é o ponto mais importante e os seus elementos rpgs. Aqui o medo assombra-te. Vais ter medo ao percorrer certos túneis. Mas no final vai saber bem derrotar um boss maior do que tu 20 vezes. ;) Usem muito o modo online. Ficam a conhecer os bosses e os mapas com a ajuda de outros jogadores. É de outro nivel este jogo.
    Não lhe dou 10 porque existem algumas falhas. Mas não acho que a dificuldade seja uma delas. São pequenas falhas que nem merecem apontamento de tão pequenas que são. :)
    Vejam vídeos e outras reviews se tiverem dúvidas.
    Expand
  43. ChadC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, sorry it's to hard for some of you. There's a ton of reviews that state the games difficulty, most gamers probably just ignore it though thinking that it "won't be to hard for me". If you missed out on NES and SNES days, then you probably aren't ready for what you are about to get yourself into. If you are an older gamer, this game isn't very hard, Awesome game, sorry it's to hard for some of you. There's a ton of reviews that state the games difficulty, most gamers probably just ignore it though thinking that it "won't be to hard for me". If you missed out on NES and SNES days, then you probably aren't ready for what you are about to get yourself into. If you are an older gamer, this game isn't very hard, you just need to be prepared, pay attention, and use your brain..not just your fingers. All the "I can't sell loot, it's pointless" or the "it's 2009 you shouldnt have to start all over each level" naysayers come accross as transparent. Take the spoon out of your mouth and try something differant. ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?!?! Expand
  44. Zac
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is a very polished and unique game. It's been so long since I've played something wonderful like this! This game requires deep thinking for combat. Giving low reviews only shows how some gamers like games to be easy. This game is all about progression. And progression feels good.
  45. PierreR
    Dec 3, 2009
    9
    Excellent gameplay and a chilling atmosphere work together wonderfully in this game, but the intense difficulty make this best suited for hardcore gamers. The game's greatest failing is its nearly non-existent story, which may come as a surprise to the average JRPG fan. However, fans of serious gameplay and insane difficulty will not be disappointed in this game.
  46. RobT
    Oct 28, 2009
    9
    I would give it 9.5/10;) Just love it. It can be a bit scary and very hard. I have a manual in chinese so it was quite hard to understand world tendency and what to do next. So more info hade been great in the game. But maybe that add to the experience?! I put away all my other games AND bought the deluxe edition on ebay for $109. I want to do it all again and again and again.. And I I would give it 9.5/10;) Just love it. It can be a bit scary and very hard. I have a manual in chinese so it was quite hard to understand world tendency and what to do next. So more info hade been great in the game. But maybe that add to the experience?! I put away all my other games AND bought the deluxe edition on ebay for $109. I want to do it all again and again and again.. And I usually never play a game 2 times! Expand
  47. Picolo
    Oct 30, 2009
    9
    Fantastic Game, but one you really need to invest in, it ain't a pick up and play, it takes hours to hone your skills ans startegies, but haven't enjoyed a game so much since vagrant story
  48. chrisJ
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Gamervision should go play some disney game or something! IF your a OLD SCHOOL HARD CORE GAMER! then you don't wana miss it. YES, this game takes the n00bs, chew them up and then spit them out. BUT so did the 1st Armored core game. Then they eventualy dumbed it down for all the n00bs and the end result was AC4 & FA. I hope Form Software NEVER makes that mistake again! This I a good Gamervision should go play some disney game or something! IF your a OLD SCHOOL HARD CORE GAMER! then you don't wana miss it. YES, this game takes the n00bs, chew them up and then spit them out. BUT so did the 1st Armored core game. Then they eventualy dumbed it down for all the n00bs and the end result was AC4 & FA. I hope Form Software NEVER makes that mistake again! This I a good game ... EVER ps3 owner should try it. Expand
  49. Ivan-
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Totally unforgiving, the whole design is about making the experience ever more difficult and convince you as a player that you're not good enough and you should pass (and go play more accessible games). The magic is that it works! I'm not patient at all with games but I feel like I have something to prove with Demon's Souls and I want to keep moving forward no matter how Totally unforgiving, the whole design is about making the experience ever more difficult and convince you as a player that you're not good enough and you should pass (and go play more accessible games). The magic is that it works! I'm not patient at all with games but I feel like I have something to prove with Demon's Souls and I want to keep moving forward no matter how slow or how long it takes me to get there. To be played with a different mindset, like one reviewer put it "Demon's Souls gives you an ultimatum; get good, or die. They just don't make many console games like this anymore." If you're ready to accept a ridiculous level of difficulty, if you're ready to replay the same bits over and over again and if you're in a mood for a medieval/ fantasy action RPG, go for it. But be warned, it's extreme and it's what makes it exceptional! I'm already thrilled and scared to play the game again. It directly enters my top list of favourite games! Even with flaws I want to give it a 10, not because it's perfect (it's not) but because it's fantastic and unique! Expand
  50. MagnificoG.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    This review may seem biased and only meant to upset the very low scores pansies are giving this game, and you'd be partially right to think that way. Except that Demon's Souls is truly a masterpiece just as it's also and adquired taste. The gameplay works and it's infinitely rewarding, the story not so much but the atmosphere this game has invites you to get lost (and This review may seem biased and only meant to upset the very low scores pansies are giving this game, and you'd be partially right to think that way. Except that Demon's Souls is truly a masterpiece just as it's also and adquired taste. The gameplay works and it's infinitely rewarding, the story not so much but the atmosphere this game has invites you to get lost (and stay lost) in a world inmmersive as no other you have played in years. Every different character you create will change the experience for you, and you will love to master every new approach each class and weapon/magic brings into it. Or maybe you won't, and that means you are pretty much a pansy (nevermind your "taste") but that's ok. Expand
  51. CoryM
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    This is one of the key reasons to buy a PS3. This is a top notch Action game with amazing environments, fantastic gameplay, and truly rewarding difficulty. When you die in this game, and you will die, you do not get frustrated and feel the game is cheap. You know why you died, and it almost always your own mistake. The levels are amazingly designed from a huge sprawling castle to a hope This is one of the key reasons to buy a PS3. This is a top notch Action game with amazing environments, fantastic gameplay, and truly rewarding difficulty. When you die in this game, and you will die, you do not get frustrated and feel the game is cheap. You know why you died, and it almost always your own mistake. The levels are amazingly designed from a huge sprawling castle to a hope draining prison guarded by brutal mind flayer guards. I cannot recommended this enough for anyone who enjoys fantasy themed games and does not mind a little difficulty. Expand
  52. CameronK.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best console Action RPG's this year. The game is built on an old school foundation of when you die you start all the way back at the beginning and loose all of your souls. Dieing though is usually the result of not being good enough to progress so your constantly learning and improving as the game goes on.
  53. jojoF.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Its amazing its brutal and relentless if you enjoy rpgs and your not one to get discouraged by failing this game is for you. the amount of perseverance needed is matched by none the combat is like nothing ive played before it blows oblivion away. Its in no way a game for the casual player you need to put time and alooot of effort into overcoming an enemy but when you do man it feels Its amazing its brutal and relentless if you enjoy rpgs and your not one to get discouraged by failing this game is for you. the amount of perseverance needed is matched by none the combat is like nothing ive played before it blows oblivion away. Its in no way a game for the casual player you need to put time and alooot of effort into overcoming an enemy but when you do man it feels awesome never played a game like it. Expand
  54. AndrewG.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games of the year. It's a VERY challenging game but it also rewards you for you efforts. Has some very nice ideas for Online community and it will give you hours and hours worth of Dungeon Crawling. It's a must have game if you're a RPG fan, specially in this Generation of games where we've received so few good RPGs.
  55. ZuesZ.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to a whole new level. I HIGHLY recommend this game to every one. If i could give this game a 11 I would. Expand
  56. joelf.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    This game is one of my 3 favorite playstation 3 exclusives, little big planet & pixeljunk monsters being the other 2. DS is of course nothing like those two, except that it's multiplayer. It pushes the action rpg genre to new heights, and is, for this action rpg lover, the most compelling game released on the system thus far. I think of it as a "shadow mmo", since you constantly see This game is one of my 3 favorite playstation 3 exclusives, little big planet & pixeljunk monsters being the other 2. DS is of course nothing like those two, except that it's multiplayer. It pushes the action rpg genre to new heights, and is, for this action rpg lover, the most compelling game released on the system thus far. I think of it as a "shadow mmo", since you constantly see other players, but you aren't always interacting with them. Expand
  57. MonkeyKungFu
    Jan 11, 2010
    9
    Fantastic game play with a truly innovative Multiplayer experience. Minor AI shortcomings keep this title from being as difficult as it should be, with several trivial bosses.
  58. ericu
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    yes, it is a very challlenging game & you will die alot at first but .....what an awesome game i htink the challenge is what makes it fun...
  59. KostasI.
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    I cant really even begin to express how much i love this game. Few games get developed as such these days and even fewer are getting sold but a name like ATLUS and FROM software is enough to apeal to the niche market of the -true- hardcore gamer. This is a game where everything matters, your movement and positioning matters, colision detection matters, badly judged attacks or parry skills I cant really even begin to express how much i love this game. Few games get developed as such these days and even fewer are getting sold but a name like ATLUS and FROM software is enough to apeal to the niche market of the -true- hardcore gamer. This is a game where everything matters, your movement and positioning matters, colision detection matters, badly judged attacks or parry skills matters, diyng GOD DAMN matters. This game will make "stat grinders" squeel in frustration and brand the game as "unforgivable" and "stupid" because the game will not make them the favour of going with their waters. If you consider yourself a hardcore gamer and enjoys a -true- challenge rather than the endless stat grindfest that other games have you going through then look no further than Demon's Souls. A dungeon crawler game to end all dungeon crawlers. Step into the game and love and every second of your (many) deaths or simply cry about your incompetence. Expand
  60. LudvikoN
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    Extremely good game. Probably one of the best I ever played. No doubt the game of the year 09.
  61. KevinM
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to people who say this game is too difficult. The difficulty can be challenging but thats what makes this game unique. Instead of mindless slashing you put in strategy and thought into each fight.
  62. [Anonymous]
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I feel this game is getting low scores from people who played it because they're not used to a game that is actually difficult to complete. Demon's Souls is one of my favorite PS3 games because it's so difficult. It's hard, it's frustrating, and sometimes it's just mean. But to be honest, it's what makes the game fun and unique.
  63. JimT.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    One of my faves this gen (I own the 360 and PS3), haven't stopped playing it since purchased mid December so that means the likes of Unchartered, ACII, GTA LC stories and MW2 are getting overlooked at the moment. I have played those other games a bit (all Christmas presents) but I always find myself being drawn back to DS. I don't call myself a hardcore gamer and would normally One of my faves this gen (I own the 360 and PS3), haven't stopped playing it since purchased mid December so that means the likes of Unchartered, ACII, GTA LC stories and MW2 are getting overlooked at the moment. I have played those other games a bit (all Christmas presents) but I always find myself being drawn back to DS. I don't call myself a hardcore gamer and would normally become frustrated with endless deaths but this game is so special I keep coming back for more. No other game I've played in the last few years comes close in terms of rewarding gameplay and punishing a 'charging in' kind of attitude. You get to learn that slow progress is generally the key due to the fact that you restart the level and lose your collected souls if you die, which then makes you treat every enemy encounter with the respect it deserves. Quite simply, it's fantastic. I'm in the UK so had to import a US copy which is the first time I've ever had to do that as any other game I've wanted had been released over here, had to be done though is this game is that special. Expand
  64. JohnF
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. I have been a gamer for a long time and my main genres are RPG's, Racing, and Sandbox with some FPS and i gotta tell you this might be the greatest game ive ever played. The graphics are great, the story and backstory is pretty deep and the RPG elements are right there with the likes of oblivion. And for weaklings like MiKE and know how to play an RPG and level This game is amazing. I have been a gamer for a long time and my main genres are RPG's, Racing, and Sandbox with some FPS and i gotta tell you this might be the greatest game ive ever played. The graphics are great, the story and backstory is pretty deep and the RPG elements are right there with the likes of oblivion. And for weaklings like MiKE and know how to play an RPG and level up your character so the game is not so hard (except for that damn world 5-2 LOL) then you will be rewarded with a great game and a staple to next gen gaming and RPG's. With great graphics, story, custimization, and zelda type combat that is fun and simple at first and then very rewarding later this is the greatest next gen game ive ever played right over the likes of Twilight Princess, Infamous, Mass effect, and oblivion. Demon Souls is a masterpiece dont be scared like MiKE and try it out. Expand
  65. JT
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    This is what games should be like. Rewarding. There are too many games where you can just waltz in and kill everything. I dont understand why developers are making their player base stupid. Gaming used to be about skill. Now it seems like its just about items that make the game stupid simple.
  66. MattE
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw,Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw, and that is that it ends. Expand
  67. JoelO
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    This game is by far an instant classic! Its the gaming experience I have been waiting for from this gen. Playing it made me feel like I was 14 again. Its so fun and engaging. The atmosphere is really immersive, and you really believe that your there. The online components are revolutionary and very creative. Immediately signing you in to the PSN when you start up, your level of player to This game is by far an instant classic! Its the gaming experience I have been waiting for from this gen. Playing it made me feel like I was 14 again. Its so fun and engaging. The atmosphere is really immersive, and you really believe that your there. The online components are revolutionary and very creative. Immediately signing you in to the PSN when you start up, your level of player to player interaction is unbelievable, and actually brought back memories of the old multiplayer Arcade days. Playing games like double dragon, or that Simpsons game when you were having trouble defeating a boss or a stage and someone would come up, place a quarter in and help you out. The ability to challenge players to duels also brings back memories of the old Street Fighter days. Its a really fun, and unique experience that shouldn't be missed. Its EXTREMELY difficult. But that's one of the reasons why I love it. Expand
  68. FarronS
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    You will notice a trend with any low scores given to this title
  69. JacobS.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Up until now I had nearly lost all interest in video games. Demon's Souls has revived my long lost love for gaming. The insane difficulty and addictive gameplay is just what I've been looking for! I haven't moved from my couch in over 48 hours!
  70. DanielT
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    One of the most addicting and refreshing games of the year, it's hard to put down the controller. The World Tendency system and the online multiplayer will ensure that you never run out of things to do.
  71. BenjaminB
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This game is not so much "hard" as it is demanding. Demanding focus, patience, and detemination. It's a game that insists I take it seriously; instead of catering to my inherent laziness, Demon's Souls makes my every choice, every reaction, each corridor I travel valuable by the very fact that I have survived (up to that point!) it's incessant attempts to turn me back, keep This game is not so much "hard" as it is demanding. Demanding focus, patience, and detemination. It's a game that insists I take it seriously; instead of catering to my inherent laziness, Demon's Souls makes my every choice, every reaction, each corridor I travel valuable by the very fact that I have survived (up to that point!) it's incessant attempts to turn me back, keep me out, and make me sorry for even trying. This is not only a great game, it is an important game. (There is also plenty on the web in the way of FAQs, wikis & forums to make up for the lack of handholding in-game.) Expand
  72. JonathanK.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've played, not just on the system but in my entire life of gaming. In a time where the gaming industry has removed all the sharp edges from games, its nice to see at least one developer still realizes that gamers want a challenge to keep them coming back for more. Demon Souls offers probably the most rewarding and satisfying game experience I've Easily one of the best games I've played, not just on the system but in my entire life of gaming. In a time where the gaming industry has removed all the sharp edges from games, its nice to see at least one developer still realizes that gamers want a challenge to keep them coming back for more. Demon Souls offers probably the most rewarding and satisfying game experience I've had in a very long time. And no, it's not just stockholm syndrome, the game is excellent. The graphics are good, the art direction is top notch, character customization is staggering, allowing you to custom tailor your character to your play style, the world is as beautifully immersive as you could possibly ask for, there's near infinite replay value, and that's just scratching the surface of why this is a great game. Demon Soul's employs lots of new and innovative concepts that add new dimensions of depth to the experience, something that is absent from most mainstream games these days. I could sing this game praises all day, but nothing substitutes for simply playing it yourself. Ignore the cries of petulant, frustrated gamers and pick up a copy of this game for yourself. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Expand
  73. LouisD
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls is the only game released in the last 10+ years that has actually challenged me and required me to think about what I am going to do before I do it. The game is tough, but it is still possible to complete without a scratch if you know what you are doing. A combination that I haven't seen pulled off this well... ever before. Rating for game's difficulty / Demon's Souls is the only game released in the last 10+ years that has actually challenged me and required me to think about what I am going to do before I do it. The game is tough, but it is still possible to complete without a scratch if you know what you are doing. A combination that I haven't seen pulled off this well... ever before. Rating for game's difficulty / challenge: 10 The game has one of the coolest combination of environments and adversaries in any game that I have ever played. Even at higher levels and with many hours of experience I still feel goose bumps when a dark night notices me and raises his shield to run at me with a broadsword. Rating for visuals and atmosphere: 10 The game utilizes one of the most innovative ideas for multiplayer that has ever been implemented. The player driven notes system and the phantoms are the coolest idea I have seen. they force players to help each other while still allowing you to try and take out your frustrations on other players. Rating for innovations: 10 A must have for any hardcore gamer. Keyword: HARDCORE Expand
  74. TukkerI
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    This game is an awesome challenge. Especially after the spoon feeding gamers have been receiving over the last couple of years. This game is a challenge - if you like to be challenged, if you like a dark desolate world, if you like unique multiplayer experiences then you owe it to yourself to check out Demon's Souls. The feeling of accomplishment you get after beating each section This game is an awesome challenge. Especially after the spoon feeding gamers have been receiving over the last couple of years. This game is a challenge - if you like to be challenged, if you like a dark desolate world, if you like unique multiplayer experiences then you owe it to yourself to check out Demon's Souls. The feeling of accomplishment you get after beating each section (boss) is second to none. I can't wait to finish Uncharted 2 so I can get back to Demon's Souls. Expand
  75. RastialM
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Inmersive, magicall a really dep experience full of twists and silk smooth animations a mist have, a true jewel of this generation , on terms of gameplay is rewarding and challenging trully a masterpiece a opiece of art.
  76. RPGK
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    This game is beautiful, the mechanics are spot on, and the rewards are more than enough to give a player an advantage. All you low scoring noobs, including lamervision, need to stop expecting spoon fed games and learn how to play a man's game. Its not that difficult if you take the time to learn your opponent. Thanks to ATLUS for another excellent RPG.
  77. AzraelL
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Demons souls teaches you to think outside the box. You have to go into every stage and consider what you would do if you were really there. You can't use a halberd in a small hallway, and a mace might be a better weapon to use on a skeleton than a sword. If you think through each encounter instead of just rushing in and trying to hack your way through the levels then you'll come Demons souls teaches you to think outside the box. You have to go into every stage and consider what you would do if you were really there. You can't use a halberd in a small hallway, and a mace might be a better weapon to use on a skeleton than a sword. If you think through each encounter instead of just rushing in and trying to hack your way through the levels then you'll come out just fine. Also contrary to what others may have told you the enemies do get easier as you level up and improve your equipment through forging, It's not a game for the weak of heart so if you can't stand the heat then stay out of the kitchen. Expand
  78. Gauth
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Best next-gen rpg game. Really innovative online function, great levels, great bosses, we want more shit like this one ! Congrats to From Software.
  79. RobL
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Immense game. Just keeps you coming back for more and more. Best game have played for ages, refreshing and challenging compared to the easy mode games of recent times. I believe those giving it low scores may need to go back and play more easy mode games without a challenge that they can complete in one sitting, - and leave gems like this beauty to people that appreciate it.
  80. GregoB
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    Do not listen to all of the crybabies about its difficulty and lack of this and that. It has a very diffrent design than most of your typical RPGs that make it so unique. All of the stuff people here are complaining about like lack of save points, no trading or selling, no respawns etc, it was made to be like that. The game punishes you for your incompetence and lack of patience. I can go Do not listen to all of the crybabies about its difficulty and lack of this and that. It has a very diffrent design than most of your typical RPGs that make it so unique. All of the stuff people here are complaining about like lack of save points, no trading or selling, no respawns etc, it was made to be like that. The game punishes you for your incompetence and lack of patience. I can go on and argue these points but its useless for people who cant take the challenge and understand the game. If your on the fence about getting Demon's Souls and are willing to jump into a challenge and a game like no other...purchase this game. Do not listen to the minority because they really just cannot take it. I know alot of gamers like them...this is not for them. Read Eurogamers review, one of the best breakdowns of this game. ( It was the review that sold me on it. As far as all of the great reviews, what's that saying, a million frenchman can't be wrong. Expand
  81. beldin
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    This game is excellent. I don't understand why people cry about the game being so hard. It's NOT. You can beat the first level with a bit of patience in no time and once you learn the combat, and gain some soul levels and start finding better gear it's awesome. The graphics and sounds are great, the gameplay is fun, and the atmosphere is fantastic. This is like a modern This game is excellent. I don't understand why people cry about the game being so hard. It's NOT. You can beat the first level with a bit of patience in no time and once you learn the combat, and gain some soul levels and start finding better gear it's awesome. The graphics and sounds are great, the gameplay is fun, and the atmosphere is fantastic. This is like a modern Diablo & Zelda combined. The online play is unique and really cool. I highly recommend this game to all RPG/Adventure. Sure it's not perfect, there could be more RPG elements and more story, but playing the game you won't miss any of that. If you like a challenging game and want something unique, BUY this game. Expand
  82. RatChet
    Oct 17, 2009
    9
    Demon's Souls is like Groundhog Day where you can die as often and however you want without penalty. You only get past that day if you figure out how to best kill everything in the large, sprawling set. Exploration this way may seem like punishment to some gamers, but I found it thrillingly good that each weapon has a different mass, acceleration, and impact. Edges dull, armor Demon's Souls is like Groundhog Day where you can die as often and however you want without penalty. You only get past that day if you figure out how to best kill everything in the large, sprawling set. Exploration this way may seem like punishment to some gamers, but I found it thrillingly good that each weapon has a different mass, acceleration, and impact. Edges dull, armor cracks, bodies thud. Each shield deflects, absorbs, and parries differently. And each enemy required that I know them by risking death and knowing each turn and corridor. For gamers, it's a three-D Monster Hunter with a much faster battle system and faster reset when the Hermitaur takes you down. Unlike MH though, the collision detection and radius targeting is quite good, which means less cheap deaths and more precision in how you orient, move, & attack. Expand
  83. NikolaosP
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    This game is hard. And i know this may come as a surprise to some, but hey, this game is not for everyone! It is not an rpg in a traditional sense(well, no video game is a true rpg anyway) and probably it will be like nothing you've ever played before. This game is all about you against a destroyed kingdom, full of demons and monsters waiting to kill you. If this was a different This game is hard. And i know this may come as a surprise to some, but hey, this game is not for everyone! It is not an rpg in a traditional sense(well, no video game is a true rpg anyway) and probably it will be like nothing you've ever played before. This game is all about you against a destroyed kingdom, full of demons and monsters waiting to kill you. If this was a different game, you would be a "one man army" blasting at enemies with ease and only pause on how to defeat an enemy on certain boss fights. But Demon's Souls is not that kind of game! Instead we have an adventure where you have to be on your toes on every corner, think how to overcome every encounter! Its also non-linear. In the first level you will some Dragons and if you go charging at them, you will die. Is this difficult? Maybe. Is this logical? Yes! Other games have spoilt us. Made us think that you can defeat a collosal creature with some QTEs. This weaksauce game design is nowhere to be found on Demon's Souls. Instead it opts for a fair challenge, where the character is a tiny ray of light in the blackest darkness. And after many deaths, there comes the sense of immersion that you really are against immeasurable odds. I can't think of any other game that can claim the same. Expand
  84. KT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls beat me in ways I could not have imagined. It took me to the grind house and went all out. Yes, the game is HARD and will not flinch in kicking your ass every time you get hasty, overconfident, lose focus and so on. The brave souls who are ready, able and willing to partake in a hardcore game with old school mechanics will find that this game is quite possibly one of Demon's Souls beat me in ways I could not have imagined. It took me to the grind house and went all out. Yes, the game is HARD and will not flinch in kicking your ass every time you get hasty, overconfident, lose focus and so on. The brave souls who are ready, able and willing to partake in a hardcore game with old school mechanics will find that this game is quite possibly one of the best, most unique, most rewarding and well thought out RPG's of all time. The rest of you immediately put the game down and STOP REVIEWING IT please! It's obviously not everyone's cup of tea, and I'm sick of seeing people rating it down because of their own lack of diligence. Expand
  85. jorgea
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    This game is truly great, but of course it's not for everyone, well, it is atlus, they kind of expecialized on publishing very niche games. I'm having a blast anyway, and yes it is a RPG, much more then Final Fantasy for an example, you create youi character from scratch, give him/her a name and chose it's class, and then it comes to the very deep leveling system, the only This game is truly great, but of course it's not for everyone, well, it is atlus, they kind of expecialized on publishing very niche games. I'm having a blast anyway, and yes it is a RPG, much more then Final Fantasy for an example, you create youi character from scratch, give him/her a name and chose it's class, and then it comes to the very deep leveling system, the only thing it lacks over a traditional RPG are the side quests. to whoever is up to the chalenge this game will render countles hours of immersive fun, you really fear for your life, taking care on every step . anyway if you consider yourself a true gamer you should at least try this, but if o your image of a hardore game is COD4, halo etc then you better stay away. Expand
  86. HF
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    I can't believe some people are having such difficulty with this game and rating it low you shouldn't rate a game low just because you suck at it. Demon's Souls is an incredible game and theirs no grinding involved at all I don't know what people are talking about. The game plays absolutely fantastic and if you die 99.9% of the time its entirely your own fault(I beat I can't believe some people are having such difficulty with this game and rating it low you shouldn't rate a game low just because you suck at it. Demon's Souls is an incredible game and theirs no grinding involved at all I don't know what people are talking about. The game plays absolutely fantastic and if you die 99.9% of the time its entirely your own fault(I beat it started as a hunter and only died 17 times). The level design is absolutely phenomenal as well especially so if your into dark fantasy. Expand
  87. GabrielJ
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is a masterpiece, it shows that a great game can be put together with perfectly balanced PvP elements, a nice story, unforgiving but extremely rewarding experiences. NO ONE who owns a ps3 should miss this game. It´s rated as one of my best of all time ever since the 8 bits generation consoles.
  88. AnonymousMC
    Oct 18, 2009
    9
    It's surprising, the people whom decry this game as,quote,"difficult, repetitive" or, according to chilimac,:something which will kill you every few minutes(really?You must be very bad at this game sir).

    The only ground on which I may criticize this game on is that, indeed, is is not quite an RPG and is in fact more of an Action game, which is FINE.It calls itself an action game
    It's surprising, the people whom decry this game as,quote,"difficult, repetitive" or, according to chilimac,:something which will kill you every few minutes(really?You must be very bad at this game sir).

    The only ground on which I may criticize this game on is that, indeed, is is not quite an RPG and is in fact more of an Action game, which is FINE.It calls itself an action game anyway, with no particular in-game pretensions of being an epic role-playing adventure in the vein of RPG classics.

    Basically, you're playing the role of a person(whom is not yourself, of course) in this game.Ergo, this is a role-playing game.As to what extent this is an RPG, it's certainly more of an RPG in respect to other, if not all, console action games.

    Which is all well and fine.Demon's souls might not be an RPG epic that allows you to fully realise yourself in an epic world, but it has a decent and, in fact,'immersive' story which is nothing but helped by the enjoyable(read:just because there're not 100 hotkeys doesn't make it a button-masher,people-_-butyesitisalotsimplerthanmostPC RPGsnowshutup) gameplay and quite excellent artwork.

    All in all, this is a, and I stress, great game.Objectively speaking, it has an above-average story, great graphics(which ARE important to some extent in immersion, no offence to D&D), and very fun and, yes, somewhat simple(not to people who die every minute, but to ACTUAL i.e proper RPGs) gameplay.

    What's there to cry/moan/give horrible scores about?Any proper critic of this game could not possibly put in down just because there are better RPGs;it has its own strengths and its own individual "style" which does indeed work, and work well.
    Expand
  89. QQMoreplz
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    You will find many people here who need to have their hands held as they play a game. If you are the kind of person who sees through their diatribe for what it is, weak-minded, feeble gamers' rants, then you're already on the right path. Demon's Souls is a great game that requires you to actually figure things out on your own. There is very little to no hand holding. The You will find many people here who need to have their hands held as they play a game. If you are the kind of person who sees through their diatribe for what it is, weak-minded, feeble gamers' rants, then you're already on the right path. Demon's Souls is a great game that requires you to actually figure things out on your own. There is very little to no hand holding. The game does have huge consequences, but this puts a lot of stress on risk:reward ratio which is the bread and butter of this game and honestly goes a long way in making the game that much more thrilling and exciting at every turn. Will you attempt to fight this boss, and risk losing all of your souls, with the tradeoff being that if you beat him, you'll get tons of more souls, and a special soul that can be used for a new, rare, and powerful item? You can call on the aid of other players (up to 3 others) if things are too difficult for you alone, and other players can invade your game; if you kill them you get all of their souls, if they kill you they get all of yours. All of these various dynamics add up to create a game that is extremely fun, requires skill and tact, and refuses to hold your hand along the way, putting you in the true role of an "adventurer" to the likes that most games could never begin to attempt. The game is difficult and for many this is too much. They like their games like they like their women, easy and thoughtless. That's great if you enjoy things that are dull, but personally, I like challenges and excitement. If you're the same way, you can't go wrong with this game. Expand
  90. AudU
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    This game is brutal but only if you make it so. If you want to go in with guns ablazin' then this isn't the game for you. You're SUPPOSED to be a weak human fighting hordes of demons who are immensely stronger than you. Seriously just be smart about what you're doing in this game and it isn't as hard (though it is still very difficult) as most who rate this lowly This game is brutal but only if you make it so. If you want to go in with guns ablazin' then this isn't the game for you. You're SUPPOSED to be a weak human fighting hordes of demons who are immensely stronger than you. Seriously just be smart about what you're doing in this game and it isn't as hard (though it is still very difficult) as most who rate this lowly claim to be. This is one of the most addicting and fun games that I have played this year and I was nervous about the difficulty too. But if you're patient the rewards are great indeed. Again, THIS GAME IS NOT FOR EVERYONE. Rent it if you're still not sure but definitely try it out if you have the chance. Expand
  91. EricS.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game on the market for the ps3, they did a fantastic job of allowing some multiplayer and keeping that single player feel. endless hours of fun with this game.
  92. jacobh
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    a lot of people have been giving this game bad ratings for simple reasons that usually you wouldn't care about. someone said they traded it in a DAY after only because it didnt have pause. give the game a chance, i know i did. at first i was thinking about what a waste of $60 this was, and now i cant stop playing. i love the difficulty, it makes you feel as if god is playing with a lot of people have been giving this game bad ratings for simple reasons that usually you wouldn't care about. someone said they traded it in a DAY after only because it didnt have pause. give the game a chance, i know i did. at first i was thinking about what a waste of $60 this was, and now i cant stop playing. i love the difficulty, it makes you feel as if god is playing with your heart, and that every move counts. mistakes lead to your death, making you think about what to do next. levels are excellent, each level is really different from each one, making you feel like you have to be ready for whats ahead, different enemies will be vulnerable to different weapons. this game definitely desrves this 10/10. i say again, give this game a chance! Expand
  93. EdwardM
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    This game is not near as harsh as i thought it would be. The combat takes some skill yes, blocking, dodging and parrying attacks is an absolute necessity and it is part of what makes this game great. If i could describe this game in few words i would choose atmospheric, rewarding, deep, and overall addicting. If you are remotely interested in knights, dragons, demons, spells and yearn for This game is not near as harsh as i thought it would be. The combat takes some skill yes, blocking, dodging and parrying attacks is an absolute necessity and it is part of what makes this game great. If i could describe this game in few words i would choose atmospheric, rewarding, deep, and overall addicting. If you are remotely interested in knights, dragons, demons, spells and yearn for a challenging, serious Action RPG that goes back to what made RPGs a blast in the first place. This one's for you. I would like to not that though it is hard it is not impossible buy any means it really has the best learning curve i've any game this gen it is meticulously well balanced. Expand
  94. Seiska
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Simply one of the best games released in this generation. The controls are top notch and unlike many modern day games it forces the player to actually learn to play the game. The ones saying the game has "bad camera" or "bad combat system or lock-on system" are prime example of bad players. Take time to learn how the enemies attack and how to evade or defend against those attacks, what Simply one of the best games released in this generation. The controls are top notch and unlike many modern day games it forces the player to actually learn to play the game. The ones saying the game has "bad camera" or "bad combat system or lock-on system" are prime example of bad players. Take time to learn how the enemies attack and how to evade or defend against those attacks, what are their weaknesses, whats the best way to deal with different situations and Demon's Souls will reward you with great experiences and senses of achievement. If just aggressively run around knowing nothing about the level or about the enemies on the level you will die, and you will die a lot. But thats only for the difficulty, the game also offers a very deep combat system with a lot of ways for players to create a character they want to play. The environments are rich in both atmosphere and game play. There's not much story in the game but this is mainly because it lets the players to shape up their own story trough character creation and multiplayer features. Expand
  95. Matt
    Oct 19, 2009
    9
    Not for everyone. Bring your patients, persistence, determination and diligence. VERY addicting.
  96. MichaelE
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    One of the things I saw in the blurbs on this site frequently is how difficult this game is. I'm sure that this has turned some people off to the game, so let me use a different word: challenging. When something is challenging, it is inviting you to try it, and that's what this game is, it's an active invitation to give it a try. Another thing aspect of this challenging One of the things I saw in the blurbs on this site frequently is how difficult this game is. I'm sure that this has turned some people off to the game, so let me use a different word: challenging. When something is challenging, it is inviting you to try it, and that's what this game is, it's an active invitation to give it a try. Another thing aspect of this challenging game is it doesn't remain difficult, yet it remains challenging. You're going to die in this game, it's part of the game. You become a soul when you're dead and you have a few ways to get your body back. The first two I will mention are available for those with online capabilities enabled, and those are to either help a player of similar level defeat a demon or to kill a player of similar level as he attempts to conquer the level. The other ways are to kill a demon yourself or to use an item which brings you back (limited quantity of these items). The reason I distinguish this game as challenging is because it is consistently offering new ways to trip you up, which keeps the gameplay fresh and exciting. The black phantom (player characters who can kill you) adds exhilaration to your grinding sessions (and may make you want to stay in soul form until boss fights) and the maps are uniquely satisfying to conquer. You will find yourself rejoicing every time you beat some mobs while other times you may scream in despair when you die to that poorly-placed hole in the ground which leads directly to your grave. This is a game that brings suspenseful (horror?) cinema to a home console and allows you to take part in it. It's open-ended, you can finish maps as you see fit, grind as much as you want to prepare for the next boss or zone, or you can spend your time fighting alongside or against other player characters. This is one of those gems of a game that actually feels like it's worth the asking price, in terms of hours you will put into it and satisfaction you will feel from every little encounter. Buy it! Expand
  97. peatearg
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The game is really well balanced; the worlds are beautifully conceived, the combat is based on strategy above all else, and the game demands your awareness. If you have played older RPG's, this game really is not that difficult. I am not saying you won't die, you will die a lot; its not memory or twitch fighting as many will say, it is being smart and patient, many times your The game is really well balanced; the worlds are beautifully conceived, the combat is based on strategy above all else, and the game demands your awareness. If you have played older RPG's, this game really is not that difficult. I am not saying you won't die, you will die a lot; its not memory or twitch fighting as many will say, it is being smart and patient, many times your best performance on a level is your first play through, when you are most cautious. It may have repetitive elements, but the gameplay and combat is so well done that you enjoy soul-farming. Co-op with friends takes some coordination, but it is worth it. PvP is a great deal of fun, and you will find yourself invading other players' worlds over and over. The sound is extremely well done to the point where you can use another players' armor clanking as a beacon of their whereabouts. The Tendency system is also something worth reading about because it is a part of the larger complexity of the game. Also, the game is at least 120 hours long and there is a wealth of gameplay after that, including many things that unlock based on your tendency(evil/good) and levels will open new areas and enemies based on that tendency as well. Some try to say its not worth $60, but my friends played it and within a week both bought a PS3 and Demon's Souls, and I also bought another copy for my brother. We have all played the old generation of Western RPG's: Baldur's Gate, Fallout, Planescape, Diablo etc. and this game is truly worthy of being compared to them in their atmosphere and their difficulty. Expand
  98. ironman
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    I'm not sure what chilimac is talking about with load screens after dying. I have yet to see a load screen after dying, let alone a lengthy one. Or even a lengthy load screen when moving between worlds. I couldn't give the game a 10 for one simple reason. When you die in a boss battle, the only place to get back your souls is in the trap that is the boss battle. So if you have I'm not sure what chilimac is talking about with load screens after dying. I have yet to see a load screen after dying, let alone a lengthy one. Or even a lengthy load screen when moving between worlds. I couldn't give the game a 10 for one simple reason. When you die in a boss battle, the only place to get back your souls is in the trap that is the boss battle. So if you have to go somewhere and shut the game off, that could be thousands of souls lost. All in all a great game, but a bit more attention paid to things like that would have made it amazing. Expand
  99. AMerk
    Oct 20, 2009
    9
    Brooding, muted, and down-right intimidating best describes this intriguing title. The game is not intended for the weak of heart. Demon's Souls will truly test your fortitude and ability throughout your playtime through it. This title is one of the few that really seperates the hardcore gamer from the rest of the pack. From Software should be commended for staying so true to a small Brooding, muted, and down-right intimidating best describes this intriguing title. The game is not intended for the weak of heart. Demon's Souls will truly test your fortitude and ability throughout your playtime through it. This title is one of the few that really seperates the hardcore gamer from the rest of the pack. From Software should be commended for staying so true to a small but extremely vocal and loyal niche. It is truly refreshing to see a title that doesn't try to compromise itself by introducing easy ways out, destroy it's atmosphere with silly quirks and storyline gaps, or running over the same game mechanics over and over again. The game runs uniquely on the triggers of the PS3 controller, a scheme which works flawlessly and the combat system of Demon's Souls has a depth to it that transcends hack and slash (a fairly poor generalization). The game is unrepentantly fair to players, and the reason for failure is your own inability. Not without its flaws however; the camera is finicky at times, there are some frame rate issues when the scenery gets busy, and the story isn't incredibly present or original (it is delightfully filled in if you look for it however). Yet Demon's Souls is easily one of the best titles of the year. Negativity in many user reviews truly attest to the power of this game to segregate the difference in gaming calibre. Expand
  100. Dave
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Incredible level and enemy design, deeply immersive, difficult w/o ever feeling cheap -- what a spectacular game from FROM. The demons seem like they are really really trying to get you, which makes every success that much more sweet.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Demon's Souls: Unbelievably hard and unbelievably satisfying at the same time. If you accomplish to get through your initial rage attacks, you will experience an outstanding action-RPG with a tense and dark atmosphere.
  2. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  3. It's stoic, uncompromising, difficult to get to know, but also deep, intriguingly disturbed and perversely rewarding. You can learn to love Demon's Souls like few other games in the world. But only if you're prepared to give yourself over to it. [JPN Import]