Demon's Souls PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1391 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Expand
  2. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the better games to come out in a very long time, every little thing in this game is perfect to me. The story itself is simple: you come to a cursed land (for whatever reason, one of the things the NPC says "Whether you're here to fight the demons or here for the power...") and you're tasked to fight off the major demon's in the land to fight off the fog. This would be cheesey IF itOne of the better games to come out in a very long time, every little thing in this game is perfect to me. The story itself is simple: you come to a cursed land (for whatever reason, one of the things the NPC says "Whether you're here to fight the demons or here for the power...") and you're tasked to fight off the major demon's in the land to fight off the fog. This would be cheesey IF it were portrayed cheesey. It is not full of itself (like a Final Fantasy game would be) and barely touches the main storyline. It has a dark setting to it, already making you feel weak from the start, therefore giving you the right idea from the start. The combat is very smooth and can be mastered with a little play (I say past 3 levels you should get the hang of it). The combat itself is not extremely hard, all you have to do is just dodge/block and you'll be fine. If you get hit, you will regret being hit (that is all I will say). The leveling system is very good in my opinion, but the only downside to it is that you have to plan on what you're focusing on or you'll screw up your character and not be able to equip certain items (or at least use them the way you want to). If you do screw up your character, the worst part of starting a new character is the creation. It has a very high replay value and I would be ok with just making a new character everyday. The every NPC is unique in their own way. Doing certain things will trigger new dialogue with the NPCs and helps you learn more of the land of Boletaria. When you enter 5-1, come back, and talk with the NPCs, they will share you their thoughts on Maiden Astraea and Garl Vinland (the final bosses of the 5 world), explaining how the fog clouded their souls and why they fight. Even some of the item descriptions have captured me, letting me now of it's previous owner/maker. The multiplayer design is absolutely brilliant. After 1-1, you can use three different stones: Blue stone (used when in soul form, allows yourself to be teleported to another persons world (if they accept your soul sign) and assist them, to which beating a boss gives you back your body, given after 1-1), Black stone (used when in another person's world, lets you go back to your own world, given after 1-1), and the Red stone (used when in soul form, you teleport yourself to another person's world (at free will) and you attempt to kill the person to gain your body back). So whether you feel like helping somebody or want to be a complete ass and kill somebody, they have allowed you to accomplish both in this game in a very easy and quick (I can't say quick for the blue stone though) way. All in all, a game that everyone should buy and play before Dark Souls release. Expand
  3. Dec 5, 2010
    10
    Demon's souls was one of the best gaming experiences of my life. Yes, it was hard at first, but it got easier and easier. I played it so much, that in the end it was a little too easy. I even made it through the first playthrough without dying. The point of my review is that I don't want the reader to buy into the other reviews that say it is too hard or too unforgiving. You've got to beatDemon's souls was one of the best gaming experiences of my life. Yes, it was hard at first, but it got easier and easier. I played it so much, that in the end it was a little too easy. I even made it through the first playthrough without dying. The point of my review is that I don't want the reader to buy into the other reviews that say it is too hard or too unforgiving. You've got to beat the first level and then the game is no harder than you want it to be; you can farm souls and upgrade your character as much as you want before proceeding through the levels Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Put plain and simple, Demon's Souls has the best and most balanced combat in any action RPG. You have freedom to develop your character and explore the bleak, beautiful world however you like, and no matter how you do it, but it's the challenging-but-fair gameplay that makes this game worth fighting through.
  5. JessieS
    Oct 13, 2009
    9
    This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from This is a great Action/RPG experience that PS3 users have been wanting for a long time now. The game is difficult and doesn't reward impatient and players who don't think or adapt. The voices in the game aren't the best, and sometimes the enemies are just plain annoying. The only drawback I have thus far is everything is always in the same place and thus takes away from some of the replayability. If you want a great hardcore actionRPG this is it. However, if you are not sure, rent the game to check it out before hand. Expand
  6. MikeN
    Oct 16, 2009
    9
    This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can This is not a game for players who only know games of the past few years, where the difficulty has been reduced to allow for a more casual game experience. This game is tough, but it's a balance of risk vs. rewards. It's not like once you enter a realm you can't leave (as some of the low reviews here might suggest), and you are "forced" to continue on. At any time you can take the souls you earned and return to the Nexus and spend them. The enemies DO respawn when you re-enter the realm, but you've spent your souls so it doesn't matter all that much. You always have the choice of pushing onward, risking the souls earned, vs. returning to cash them in. That's the beauty of the system. I suspect some of the low reviews here aren't used to any REAL risk in their current day gaming adventuring, and this comes as quite a shock. This game isn't for everyone, no doubt. But those looking for a real challenge that demands hard choices with actual consequences, this game is second to none. My only gripe is that the interface icons on the stats are cryptic squiggles that are hard to remember (what do the 2 yellow swirvy lines mean again...agility? ) Expand
  7. MattE
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw,Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw, and that is that it ends. Expand
  8. Sep 21, 2010
    9
    Demon's souls is a must have game. The reason it is must have is because it is one of the few games on the market in which you actually have to think as if you are in real life. Look at some of the negative reviews here. It is obvious many players expect every game to be a clone of each other and when a game like Demon's souls comes out with something original so many players have no clueDemon's souls is a must have game. The reason it is must have is because it is one of the few games on the market in which you actually have to think as if you are in real life. Look at some of the negative reviews here. It is obvious many players expect every game to be a clone of each other and when a game like Demon's souls comes out with something original so many players have no clue at all how to play and think for themselves. It seems everyone expects to carry over last games skills into the next and that new games are only new raw meat cinematics. Demon's souls has broken free of the dime a dozen philosophy and offers a very fun and rewarding game with a high level of customization. The game is not difficult it's only perceived this way because players now a days are so immersed in clones of games they have lost the ability to think for themselves in anything unique without the same controls and guns ect as everything else on the market. You will really enjoy this game if you give it some pause and player discretion. Once you have settled in and used your mind a bit this game far exceeds any other title on the market online or offline. There are only two small complaints i have about the title. The first is you can only carry so much equipment but wear only two rings and magic targeting could be improved a little. Any complaints that the game is broken or too tough speaks more about the player than the game. Expand
  9. May 25, 2011
    9
    Not for the feint of heart. This game will challenge you, punish you, and overall just make you it's **** That said, playing and beating this game was probably my greatest videogame moment of late. The best way for me to describe this game is basically Zelda for adults. So if you like hack-n-slash, exploration, and a good challenge you will have a great time playing demon's souls.
  10. Jul 5, 2011
    10
    one of the most rewarding gaming experiences i've had in close to 20 years of gaming. extremely difficult but not impossible game play forces the player to adapt and form a strategy to progress. i found myself grinning like a complete idiot after beating a few bosses. i can't wait for dark souls.
  11. May 11, 2011
    10
    Wow, I must say this game totally blew me away! This game isn't nearly as tough as the reviewers have touted. (except for Maneater Ng++) I'm not an RPG'r but I was pretty much hooked when I completed the training level. Each level offers different and diverse enemies The levels can be qasi linear but each has a series of short cuts that will take you to various bosses. Combat is veryWow, I must say this game totally blew me away! This game isn't nearly as tough as the reviewers have touted. (except for Maneater Ng++) I'm not an RPG'r but I was pretty much hooked when I completed the training level. Each level offers different and diverse enemies The levels can be qasi linear but each has a series of short cuts that will take you to various bosses. Combat is very satisfying! I loved the fact that you have to watch your stamina meter when attacking and defending. You won't last long if you're a button masher. The game looks and sounds great. The online function is brillant! There's no other feeling of excitement I get when I see that "black phantom has invaded your game". PvPing is also incredible aswell. I've logged in about 700 hours on this bad boy..do yourself a favor and give this game a shot. Expand
  12. VisualEcho
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    great game. but, only after you get so mad at it that braking your 52 inch lcd starts sounding like a good thing, do you really start to enjoy it to the fullest. not sure where it happens but somewhere past the point of giving up it really pulls u in.
  13. LeonardoR
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a "hardcore gamer". Casual gamers will have a hard time but will enjoy it nonetheless. Expand
  14. chachoriddle
    Oct 6, 2009
    9
    This game is graphically one of the best on thr ps3 console and is also addicting. It took me 6 hours in my first sitting and didn't want to turn it off...could've easily been a 10, hoever without online chat capability this should be a must on any next gen console. Great job Atlus!!!
  15. James
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Everything said about this game having difficulty as ridiculous as Monster Hunter's is right... and I mean that in a good way. I rocked Monster Hunter and loved the challenge, and this game gives the same sense of accomplishment, if not, better.
  16. PeterH
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best game I'vel played this year because the first will definitely be Uncharted 2. Expand
  17. AnthonyC
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This is what an action RPG should be. Love it. Expand
  18. DaleC.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the way. There has never been a game like this that forces you to think, strategize and be so fully satisfied for your success. You don't need to be the hardest hardcore gamer to enjoy, just a regular person who is willing to work hard and use your noodle harder. Just don't expect to see your friends and family any time soon. Expand
  19. NikoD
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Game is the real deal. Would give it 11 if I could.
  20. JoeW
    Jan 18, 2010
    9
    Demon's Souls is an absolutely amazing game. I rarely play through a game multiple times but with Demon's Souls the addition of New Game+ and the ability to shape your character skills without restriction keeps me playing
  21. MarioC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely essential for anyone looking for a challenging, yet highly rewarding and fun game. Excellent atmosphere, adrenaline-pumping boss fights, and a great online community. Demon's Souls is hands down the best action RPG of the past 5 years.
  22. MunirS
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    It's the difficulty I like the most with the infinite replay value and the best part is that it's not for the casual gamers only for the real hardcore gamers only babies who like graphics can stick with call of duty 2
  23. johnt
    Jan 3, 2010
    9
    This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots This is one of the best action-RPG games ever made. Everybody is saying that it is very difficult but that's not true at all. It is challenging and will seem very difficult at first but when you learn how to play it and understand its ways, it is a breeze. Don't be put off by the reported difficulty. It is very well balanced with excellent swordplay, beautiful visuals and lots of immersion. If the game had a better presentation and a complex story we would be talking about the game of the decade. Still one of the best. Expand
  24. SethB
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect them. You know how to kill the Phalanx, very easily. But when starting a New Game Plus, the game becomes extremely difficult to play. With the Black-Eyed Stones, invasions become common on NG+, so just expect it. Some bosses seem impossible to kill without other players with you, so that the boss could alter it's attention for even just a moment. This game is hard. This game is pretty. This game is Dark, and this game needs to be played by everyone. Expand
  25. ArminZ
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or I won't give this a 10 even though I'm tempted to simply to bring the score up with the hope that more people will purchase and support FROM software and Atlus. "Demon's Souls" is a hard game, a fact which you knew before even reading this sentence. People who say it's too hard will slander it and claim that the difficulty is either cheap (Chess Red Eagle) or pretentious. If the game left the player no respite by having the enemies level up with you, therefore negating any leveling system (ala Final Fantasy VIII) then I would be inclined to agree. "Demon's Souls" rewards a slow, methodical and calculated approach. If you try and take on all of the enemies in the game as though this were "Gears of War", f course you will die and frequently. "Demon's Souls" difficulty allows the game to be immersive. How many games have you played where the storyline has something to do with a legion of enemies that are unstoppable, and yet, the main character can mow them down as though he has a flamethrower and the enemies are toddlers? "Demon's Souls" gets it right. It may be one of the few games of this generation to do so. It's difficult, but allows you to work at your own pace. It doesn't forgive recklessness, but allows you to learn enemy behaviour. If you put in the time and effort into making your character strong enough to complete the game, then it is an accomplishment. You feel satisfied - why? Because the main character wasn't always a hero - you turned him into one - you are the strength that overcame. The graphics are not the best of this generation, but they aren't as bad as "Dragon Age" (a good game, but the graphics are 'meh'). The story isn't in your face - it is quite subtle and the more you look around and take in the atmosphere, the more the story becomes apparent. I could go on and on about how this gem should not be missed for fear of a future where true innovation is ignored. Play this game and don't give up. The more you put into this game, the more it returns. Best game of the year? I believe so. Expand
  26. JoseG
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk with NPC's just to get to the next part of the game or next quest. When you do, though, you are rewarded. It's an RPG at its simplest and an action platformer at its heart. I have NEVER spent over 200 hrs playing any one game... I've NEVER spent sooo many times beating and beating a game over again. I've started my third character and am glad to have it in my collection. I wont trade or sell this game as long as I can play it. Every game I've played since, seems simple and boring. Expand
  27. DavidS
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get back into this one, and I'm already on my 4th playthrough, and it just gets more fun. Expand
  28. raist3d
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to save that princess Yet Again(tm), or you are missing the kind of atmosphere/scary mood that a game like Silent Hill 2 creates (and yet in a different way) along with true more arcade style action and implicit AD&D rules, this is the game for you. If you have little patience, don't like RPG's, think Zelda Wii is the best game Evar, or you can't stand ever losing, getting fueled interest by the challenge, then this isn't the game for you. Expand
  29. HamdoonA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing, very challenging, yet I am just 60% and spent around 80 hours playing woooooow
  30. KritU
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This game is very very difficult. Usually I would have given up playing a game this hard after 15 minutes, however, I'm on my 2nd week owning this game. I am still playing it and love getting my ass kicked on my first level for some reasons.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Demon's Souls: Unbelievably hard and unbelievably satisfying at the same time. If you accomplish to get through your initial rage attacks, you will experience an outstanding action-RPG with a tense and dark atmosphere.
  2. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  3. It's stoic, uncompromising, difficult to get to know, but also deep, intriguingly disturbed and perversely rewarding. You can learn to love Demon's Souls like few other games in the world. But only if you're prepared to give yourself over to it. [JPN Import]