Demon's Souls PlayStation 3

  • Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1177 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. drewtorres
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    pure awesome IF you can stand dying alot!

    the game controls very well
    the weapons all have there own style
    the graphics are much better then i thought
    music fits the game perfectly

    and once you clear an area for the first time.... sit back and relax you earned it

    must own for anyone that wants to die... a billion times
  2. GK
    Jan 8, 2010
    10
    Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of Demon's Souls in an excellent game and a well deserved Game of the Year for several publications. Two users have given the game a '3' citing the game's difficulty being too high. Demon's Souls IS difficult but it's never cheap and never unfair. From Software have got the risk / reward balance near perfection where you genuinely feel a simultaneous sigh of relief and surge of adrenalin when you get past that demon that just kept holding you back. The online is exceptionally good, leave messages to help others, join other worlds to help, have other players join you to help, or invade and disrupt someone else's progression. A brilliant twist on conventional cooperative and multiplayer gaming. Replay value is also unexpectedly high (for me, at least). After finishing the game, I immediately started New Game +. Upgrading weapons, spells, combat; it all comes together to be a very addictive experience. If you give up on Demon's Souls, you are genuinely missing one of the more unique experiences this generation. With the multiple ways to obtain help, there's really no excuse for finding it just too difficult. If you haven't yet tried it, you really should if RPG is your thing. It's not a game for everyone, granted; but for a niche game to enjoy such critical success really does speak volumes for the quality of Demon's Souls. Expand
  3. JackP
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Demon
  4. ScottS
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you The best game I've played in years! Even reading the very worst review on Metacritic from GamerVision had me excited to get this game. Yes this game is difficult and can be frustrating at times, but the payoff is huge when you progress (slowly) through the world. I love the level of difficulty because it basically forces you to become very comfortable with the controls, otherwise you will die constantly, no question. The game mood/environment reminds me of Shadow of the Collossus - mysterious, haunting and epic. It's nice to see a modern game buck the trend of constant CGI cut-scenes, frequent checkpoints and general hand-holding. So many games I've played in recent years aren't memorable because you burn through them in no time, almost like watching a movie. Don't get me wrong, I love blockbuster games like RE5/Gears/Drakes Fortune/Arkham Asylum etc, but the world needs games like Demons Souls too. Refreshing, difficult and different. If you want to try something original and challenging, I can't recommend Demon's Souls highly enough!! Expand
  5. CodyK
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The best RPG of the generation. The person that was complaining about load screens, there's hardly any. With every death, you learn. You'll learn how to fight a certain enemy, what tactics to use, a trap to avoid, a different path to take, etc. It's an exhilirating experience, one that hasn't been felt in an RPG in this generation.
  6. VisualEcho
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    great game. but, only after you get so mad at it that braking your 52 inch lcd starts sounding like a good thing, do you really start to enjoy it to the fullest. not sure where it happens but somewhere past the point of giving up it really pulls u in.
  7. LeonardoR
    Oct 28, 2009
    10
    No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a No one makes games like this anymore. I keep dying and playing, this game is difficult AND challeging, seldom you get frustrated though. Everytime time you die is because YOU made something wrong, and you learn with that mistake and don't make it again. It's a wonderful experience that everybody who has a PS3 must enjoy it. I recommend this to every person who consider himself a "hardcore gamer". Casual gamers will have a hard time but will enjoy it nonetheless. Expand
  8. James
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Everything said about this game having difficulty as ridiculous as Monster Hunter's is right... and I mean that in a good way. I rocked Monster Hunter and loved the challenge, and this game gives the same sense of accomplishment, if not, better.
  9. AnthonyC
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This Although not without is flaws, Demon's Souls is a brilliant new interpretation of what the RPG genre is all about. Stick out the steep learning curve and you will find one of the most rewarding games available today. I give this game a ten not because it is perfect (not possible) but because it well crafted, immensely enjoyable and most importantly, shaking up a stagnant genre. This is what an action RPG should be. Love it. Expand
  10. DaleC.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the Absolutely spectacular. Don't be scared off by all the difficulty hype. I'm a big gamer, but certainly not the best. Yes, it's extremely challenging and you'll die a lot but - and it's a big but - death rewards you. You learn from your experience and you also get more currency - the amount you had dropped as well as all the new stuff you'll pick up along the way. There has never been a game like this that forces you to think, strategize and be so fully satisfied for your success. You don't need to be the hardest hardcore gamer to enjoy, just a regular person who is willing to work hard and use your noodle harder. Just don't expect to see your friends and family any time soon. Expand
  11. NikoD
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    Game is the real deal. Would give it 11 if I could.
  12. ChrisI
    Jan 24, 2010
    10
    This is the Must Have Title for the Playstation 3. There are so few games with this much attention to detail as is in Demon Souls. Its hard, but never have I experienced a game with so much reward to the player for putting the time and Effort into a game.
  13. MarioC.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    Absolutely essential for anyone looking for a challenging, yet highly rewarding and fun game. Excellent atmosphere, adrenaline-pumping boss fights, and a great online community. Demon's Souls is hands down the best action RPG of the past 5 years.
  14. MunirS
    Jan 3, 2010
    10
    It's the difficulty I like the most with the infinite replay value and the best part is that it's not for the casual gamers only for the real hardcore gamers only babies who like graphics can stick with call of duty 2
  15. SethB
    Jan 6, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect This game is amazing. Visually, I am somewhat suprised that they used the Havok engine because of just how beautiful it really is, and the bump-mapping (though shiny) really made the rest of the game darker. Honestly, the first play through the game is a learning experience, and is not so much difficult as it is surprising. After game completion, you know where things are. You can expect them. You know how to kill the Phalanx, very easily. But when starting a New Game Plus, the game becomes extremely difficult to play. With the Black-Eyed Stones, invasions become common on NG+, so just expect it. Some bosses seem impossible to kill without other players with you, so that the boss could alter it's attention for even just a moment. This game is hard. This game is pretty. This game is Dark, and this game needs to be played by everyone. Expand
  16. JoseG
    Feb 8, 2010
    10
    Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk Anyone who gave this game less than an 8, didn't REALLY give this game a chance... My first character I gave up on and put the game aside. After reading other people talking about it, I decided to give it another go. I then created a character that fit more for my gaming style... That's when I fell in love... To overlook the simplicity is blasphemy. I LOVE not having to talk with NPC's just to get to the next part of the game or next quest. When you do, though, you are rewarded. It's an RPG at its simplest and an action platformer at its heart. I have NEVER spent over 200 hrs playing any one game... I've NEVER spent sooo many times beating and beating a game over again. I've started my third character and am glad to have it in my collection. I wont trade or sell this game as long as I can play it. Every game I've played since, seems simple and boring. Expand
  17. DavidS
    Nov 11, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get This game is one of the most in depth games that I am yet to play. The fact of the game is that you can construct your own path and play the game exactly how you want, all npc's besides one, are killable in this game, including key characters in the plot. Also the challenge is very hard and should put a true gamer to the test. Even when CoD 4-2 came out, I put that game down to get back into this one, and I'm already on my 4th playthrough, and it just gets more fun. Expand
  18. raist3d
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to save that princess Yet Again(tm), or you are missing the kind of atmosphere/scary mood that a game like Silent Hill 2 creates (and yet in a different way) along with true more arcade style action and implicit AD&D rules, this is the game for you. If you have little patience, don't like RPG's, think Zelda Wii is the best game Evar, or you can't stand ever losing, getting fueled interest by the challenge, then this isn't the game for you. Expand
  19. HamdoonA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing, very challenging, yet I am just 60% and spent around 80 hours playing woooooow
  20. KritU
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    This game is very very difficult. Usually I would have given up playing a game this hard after 15 minutes, however, I'm on my 2nd week owning this game. I am still playing it and love getting my ass kicked on my first level for some reasons.
  21. MosesG.P
    Nov 20, 2009
    10
    One of the best Action/RPG I have played. This is not a game for cry babies. You got to have a lot of guts and patience to beat this game. It's very challenging. i reccomend this game for every hadcore gamer.
  22. glenns
    Nov 2, 2009
    10
    An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game An action RPG thats enthrawling and rewarding to those who play long enough to get good at the game. Not a pushover like so many action RPGs Demons souls requires a bit of gaming tallent. Beutiful graphics, giant bosses & battles to the death await all who dare. With the ability to trade "souls" for added stats for your character, repair & upgrade weapons & buy healing herbs the game is't as tuff as some say, More brutal than the onimusha series and more gothic than oblivion. One of the best games on this generation consoles period. Separate ratings. 1 to 10 higher is better. Game play 9.5 good timing is needed but the contact detection is very good. Graphics 9.6 althoe dark, the game looks absolutely stunning at times & just great the rest of the time. Sound 10. Very solid sound effects & music. Expand
  23. johna
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think Best game in this generation imo. It brought the meaning back to gaming! The game makes you learn it before you proceed any further. Unlikely to other games where you can rely on your last auto-save and rush through the enemy all guns blazing. It requires patience and thinking, it's not about how fast you can push the buttons or how quickly you can kill your opponents. If you think like that you have lost and like the guys who put a low score in this game. All i can say is, we done Atlus ..no game will be the same after Demon's Souls. Expand
  24. JoeC
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    This game is not for the weak. If you like a game that gives you a VAT system, this game is not for you. If you want a game that is challenging and makes you work for progression, this game IS for you. Every time you get a new item, or beat a boss you have an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment. I am level 148 and have beat the game a few times over... I recommend this game to the This game is not for the weak. If you like a game that gives you a VAT system, this game is not for you. If you want a game that is challenging and makes you work for progression, this game IS for you. Every time you get a new item, or beat a boss you have an overwhelming feeling of accomplishment. I am level 148 and have beat the game a few times over... I recommend this game to the hardcore who love dungeon crawlers. Expand
  25. JeremyT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Best game of the year so far. I've never played a game with more relentless tension and atmosphere. Uncharted gets points for production value, but Demon's Souls gets the edge for shear design genius. Awesome dark fantasy.
  26. SinisterD
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    When your playing this game, it starts to feel fairly slow paced, as you slowly churn your way through the meat grinder, and more often then not, you'll die when you encounter a new enemy. But everytime you meet them, you learn there tricks, so when you meet them again, your able to counter them more effectively. You die, and die, and die, and die. Then one day when your playing the When your playing this game, it starts to feel fairly slow paced, as you slowly churn your way through the meat grinder, and more often then not, you'll die when you encounter a new enemy. But everytime you meet them, you learn there tricks, so when you meet them again, your able to counter them more effectively. You die, and die, and die, and die. Then one day when your playing the game you look up and realize... I haven't died in a while? And thats when it hits you. You've gotten much, much better at the game, you've conquered those who have impaled, decapitated, incinerated you to death many many times. IT makes the Achievements on the 360 and the Trophies on the Ps3 look like childs play. And then you get tea bagged by a giant spider, and the process starts all over again. Or if your a very angry person, a Ps3 controller in your HDTV. Expand
  27. fauxzero
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    These people giving it low scores are hilarious. They seriously just upset this game is getting so much praise that they have to downscore it. Nothing about this game is "bare-bones," "tedious," or bad in any way. I've played every sort of rpg from old school NES, PC, SNES, to all worthy next-gen rpg's, and this game is completely refreshing. It's comparable to shadows of These people giving it low scores are hilarious. They seriously just upset this game is getting so much praise that they have to downscore it. Nothing about this game is "bare-bones," "tedious," or bad in any way. I've played every sort of rpg from old school NES, PC, SNES, to all worthy next-gen rpg's, and this game is completely refreshing. It's comparable to shadows of the colossus and Zelda in terms of extraordinary. If you like the previous 2 games, you'll love this game. Expand
  28. JohnM
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    One of the very best games to come out this year...The best game out this generation...and my top 5 for best games of all time. This is a demanding game. But also very rewarding. The truth is, if you suck at games..This is not a game you'll want to play..if you're good at games then this is a dream come true. Graphics are good..acting is decent...and gameplay is the best around.One of the very best games to come out this year...The best game out this generation...and my top 5 for best games of all time. This is a demanding game. But also very rewarding. The truth is, if you suck at games..This is not a game you'll want to play..if you're good at games then this is a dream come true. Graphics are good..acting is decent...and gameplay is the best around. The difficulty is all in strategy..how to fight the bad guy you're up against. If you figure out how to kill them..then you'll always know how. Also, this game does not kill you. You kill you. This game is a stern mistress but any death to come to you is a result of your own ineptitude.
    IN closing, amazing game..i've been around the block. i've owned every console since Atari and played most of every great game to come out across all the different platforms..and this is in my top 5..not an easy mark to hit..but one this game does easily.
    Expand
  29. grimdeath
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    This game is perfect in every way it reminds me of retro games to be honest this game deserves a perfect score as it seperates the serious gamer from all the rest as this is no game for someone who just cant take dying in a game or is too used to the mainstream rubbish the gaming industry spews out this game should entice every hardcore retro gamer who is used to a challenge this game This game is perfect in every way it reminds me of retro games to be honest this game deserves a perfect score as it seperates the serious gamer from all the rest as this is no game for someone who just cant take dying in a game or is too used to the mainstream rubbish the gaming industry spews out this game should entice every hardcore retro gamer who is used to a challenge this game makes you truly feeel like a human in a demons land where you have little chance of survival but you struggle on despite than it requires the players wit and cunning and logical thinking for them to survive. this game worlds or levels whatever you wish to call them seem massive for just one level and the details of teh demons are amazing the game consists of all the RPG elements so thi is a must for RPG fans and may appeal to anyone who likes a challenge or who is just a hardcore gamer there may be loading screen but they arent as long as other games out there and they are there because the game doesnt lot up the level as you are playing as it causes many bugs in the level it is more polished to load it up before hand. overall this game is fantastic and should please hardcore gamers retro gamers and gamers who love challenges however gamers who cant take dying alot or getting sent to the start of a level even though you can open gates for shortcuts and anyone who cant play a game without logically thinking how to ebat an enemy this isnt for you. Expand
  30. ChadC
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Awesome game, sorry it's to hard for some of you. There's a ton of reviews that state the games difficulty, most gamers probably just ignore it though thinking that it "won't be to hard for me". If you missed out on NES and SNES days, then you probably aren't ready for what you are about to get yourself into. If you are an older gamer, this game isn't very hard, Awesome game, sorry it's to hard for some of you. There's a ton of reviews that state the games difficulty, most gamers probably just ignore it though thinking that it "won't be to hard for me". If you missed out on NES and SNES days, then you probably aren't ready for what you are about to get yourself into. If you are an older gamer, this game isn't very hard, you just need to be prepared, pay attention, and use your brain..not just your fingers. All the "I can't sell loot, it's pointless" or the "it's 2009 you shouldnt have to start all over each level" naysayers come accross as transparent. Take the spoon out of your mouth and try something differant. ARE YOU NOT ENTERTAINED?!?! Expand
  31. Zac
    Oct 22, 2009
    10
    This is a very polished and unique game. It's been so long since I've played something wonderful like this! This game requires deep thinking for combat. Giving low reviews only shows how some gamers like games to be easy. This game is all about progression. And progression feels good.
  32. chrisJ
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Gamervision should go play some disney game or something! IF your a OLD SCHOOL HARD CORE GAMER! then you don't wana miss it. YES, this game takes the n00bs, chew them up and then spit them out. BUT so did the 1st Armored core game. Then they eventualy dumbed it down for all the n00bs and the end result was AC4 & FA. I hope Form Software NEVER makes that mistake again! This I a good Gamervision should go play some disney game or something! IF your a OLD SCHOOL HARD CORE GAMER! then you don't wana miss it. YES, this game takes the n00bs, chew them up and then spit them out. BUT so did the 1st Armored core game. Then they eventualy dumbed it down for all the n00bs and the end result was AC4 & FA. I hope Form Software NEVER makes that mistake again! This I a good game ... EVER ps3 owner should try it. Expand
  33. Ivan-
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Totally unforgiving, the whole design is about making the experience ever more difficult and convince you as a player that you're not good enough and you should pass (and go play more accessible games). The magic is that it works! I'm not patient at all with games but I feel like I have something to prove with Demon's Souls and I want to keep moving forward no matter how Totally unforgiving, the whole design is about making the experience ever more difficult and convince you as a player that you're not good enough and you should pass (and go play more accessible games). The magic is that it works! I'm not patient at all with games but I feel like I have something to prove with Demon's Souls and I want to keep moving forward no matter how slow or how long it takes me to get there. To be played with a different mindset, like one reviewer put it "Demon's Souls gives you an ultimatum; get good, or die. They just don't make many console games like this anymore." If you're ready to accept a ridiculous level of difficulty, if you're ready to replay the same bits over and over again and if you're in a mood for a medieval/ fantasy action RPG, go for it. But be warned, it's extreme and it's what makes it exceptional! I'm already thrilled and scared to play the game again. It directly enters my top list of favourite games! Even with flaws I want to give it a 10, not because it's perfect (it's not) but because it's fantastic and unique! Expand
  34. MagnificoG.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    This review may seem biased and only meant to upset the very low scores pansies are giving this game, and you'd be partially right to think that way. Except that Demon's Souls is truly a masterpiece just as it's also and adquired taste. The gameplay works and it's infinitely rewarding, the story not so much but the atmosphere this game has invites you to get lost (and This review may seem biased and only meant to upset the very low scores pansies are giving this game, and you'd be partially right to think that way. Except that Demon's Souls is truly a masterpiece just as it's also and adquired taste. The gameplay works and it's infinitely rewarding, the story not so much but the atmosphere this game has invites you to get lost (and stay lost) in a world inmmersive as no other you have played in years. Every different character you create will change the experience for you, and you will love to master every new approach each class and weapon/magic brings into it. Or maybe you won't, and that means you are pretty much a pansy (nevermind your "taste") but that's ok. Expand
  35. CoryM
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    This is one of the key reasons to buy a PS3. This is a top notch Action game with amazing environments, fantastic gameplay, and truly rewarding difficulty. When you die in this game, and you will die, you do not get frustrated and feel the game is cheap. You know why you died, and it almost always your own mistake. The levels are amazingly designed from a huge sprawling castle to a hope This is one of the key reasons to buy a PS3. This is a top notch Action game with amazing environments, fantastic gameplay, and truly rewarding difficulty. When you die in this game, and you will die, you do not get frustrated and feel the game is cheap. You know why you died, and it almost always your own mistake. The levels are amazingly designed from a huge sprawling castle to a hope draining prison guarded by brutal mind flayer guards. I cannot recommended this enough for anyone who enjoys fantasy themed games and does not mind a little difficulty. Expand
  36. CameronK.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    This game is one of the best console Action RPG's this year. The game is built on an old school foundation of when you die you start all the way back at the beginning and loose all of your souls. Dieing though is usually the result of not being good enough to progress so your constantly learning and improving as the game goes on.
  37. jojoF.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Its amazing its brutal and relentless if you enjoy rpgs and your not one to get discouraged by failing this game is for you. the amount of perseverance needed is matched by none the combat is like nothing ive played before it blows oblivion away. Its in no way a game for the casual player you need to put time and alooot of effort into overcoming an enemy but when you do man it feels Its amazing its brutal and relentless if you enjoy rpgs and your not one to get discouraged by failing this game is for you. the amount of perseverance needed is matched by none the combat is like nothing ive played before it blows oblivion away. Its in no way a game for the casual player you need to put time and alooot of effort into overcoming an enemy but when you do man it feels awesome never played a game like it. Expand
  38. AndrewG.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    One of the best games of the year. It's a VERY challenging game but it also rewards you for you efforts. Has some very nice ideas for Online community and it will give you hours and hours worth of Dungeon Crawling. It's a must have game if you're a RPG fan, specially in this Generation of games where we've received so few good RPGs.
  39. ZuesZ.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to a whole new level. I HIGHLY recommend this game to every one. If i could give this game a 11 I would. Expand
  40. joelf.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    This game is one of my 3 favorite playstation 3 exclusives, little big planet & pixeljunk monsters being the other 2. DS is of course nothing like those two, except that it's multiplayer. It pushes the action rpg genre to new heights, and is, for this action rpg lover, the most compelling game released on the system thus far. I think of it as a "shadow mmo", since you constantly see This game is one of my 3 favorite playstation 3 exclusives, little big planet & pixeljunk monsters being the other 2. DS is of course nothing like those two, except that it's multiplayer. It pushes the action rpg genre to new heights, and is, for this action rpg lover, the most compelling game released on the system thus far. I think of it as a "shadow mmo", since you constantly see other players, but you aren't always interacting with them. Expand
  41. ericu
    Jan 14, 2010
    10
    yes, it is a very challlenging game & you will die alot at first but .....what an awesome game i htink the challenge is what makes it fun...
  42. LudvikoN
    Jan 23, 2010
    10
    Extremely good game. Probably one of the best I ever played. No doubt the game of the year 09.
  43. KevinM
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    Don't listen to people who say this game is too difficult. The difficulty can be challenging but thats what makes this game unique. Instead of mindless slashing you put in strategy and thought into each fight.
  44. [Anonymous]
    Jan 26, 2010
    10
    I feel this game is getting low scores from people who played it because they're not used to a game that is actually difficult to complete. Demon's Souls is one of my favorite PS3 games because it's so difficult. It's hard, it's frustrating, and sometimes it's just mean. But to be honest, it's what makes the game fun and unique.
  45. JimT.
    Jan 27, 2010
    10
    One of my faves this gen (I own the 360 and PS3), haven't stopped playing it since purchased mid December so that means the likes of Unchartered, ACII, GTA LC stories and MW2 are getting overlooked at the moment. I have played those other games a bit (all Christmas presents) but I always find myself being drawn back to DS. I don't call myself a hardcore gamer and would normally One of my faves this gen (I own the 360 and PS3), haven't stopped playing it since purchased mid December so that means the likes of Unchartered, ACII, GTA LC stories and MW2 are getting overlooked at the moment. I have played those other games a bit (all Christmas presents) but I always find myself being drawn back to DS. I don't call myself a hardcore gamer and would normally become frustrated with endless deaths but this game is so special I keep coming back for more. No other game I've played in the last few years comes close in terms of rewarding gameplay and punishing a 'charging in' kind of attitude. You get to learn that slow progress is generally the key due to the fact that you restart the level and lose your collected souls if you die, which then makes you treat every enemy encounter with the respect it deserves. Quite simply, it's fantastic. I'm in the UK so had to import a US copy which is the first time I've ever had to do that as any other game I've wanted had been released over here, had to be done though is this game is that special. Expand
  46. JohnF
    Feb 11, 2010
    10
    This game is amazing. I have been a gamer for a long time and my main genres are RPG's, Racing, and Sandbox with some FPS and i gotta tell you this might be the greatest game ive ever played. The graphics are great, the story and backstory is pretty deep and the RPG elements are right there with the likes of oblivion. And for weaklings like MiKE and know how to play an RPG and level This game is amazing. I have been a gamer for a long time and my main genres are RPG's, Racing, and Sandbox with some FPS and i gotta tell you this might be the greatest game ive ever played. The graphics are great, the story and backstory is pretty deep and the RPG elements are right there with the likes of oblivion. And for weaklings like MiKE and know how to play an RPG and level up your character so the game is not so hard (except for that damn world 5-2 LOL) then you will be rewarded with a great game and a staple to next gen gaming and RPG's. With great graphics, story, custimization, and zelda type combat that is fun and simple at first and then very rewarding later this is the greatest next gen game ive ever played right over the likes of Twilight Princess, Infamous, Mass effect, and oblivion. Demon Souls is a masterpiece dont be scared like MiKE and try it out. Expand
  47. JT
    Feb 14, 2010
    10
    This is what games should be like. Rewarding. There are too many games where you can just waltz in and kill everything. I dont understand why developers are making their player base stupid. Gaming used to be about skill. Now it seems like its just about items that make the game stupid simple.
  48. MattE
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw,Yes, we get it, this game is difficult. But the difficulty is being exaggerated greatly. Yeah, you die. Quite a few times. But you learn from each death, and you incorporate that into your strategy to kill the giant dragon god with a mouth full of death and fire. The game is epic. The multiplayer is amazing and rewarding. The mechanics are tight. In my eyes, this game has only one flaw, and that is that it ends. Expand
  49. FarronS
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    You will notice a trend with any low scores given to this title
  50. JacobS.
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    Up until now I had nearly lost all interest in video games. Demon's Souls has revived my long lost love for gaming. The insane difficulty and addictive gameplay is just what I've been looking for! I haven't moved from my couch in over 48 hours!
  51. DanielT
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    One of the most addicting and refreshing games of the year, it's hard to put down the controller. The World Tendency system and the online multiplayer will ensure that you never run out of things to do.
  52. JonathanK.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Easily one of the best games I've played, not just on the system but in my entire life of gaming. In a time where the gaming industry has removed all the sharp edges from games, its nice to see at least one developer still realizes that gamers want a challenge to keep them coming back for more. Demon Souls offers probably the most rewarding and satisfying game experience I've Easily one of the best games I've played, not just on the system but in my entire life of gaming. In a time where the gaming industry has removed all the sharp edges from games, its nice to see at least one developer still realizes that gamers want a challenge to keep them coming back for more. Demon Souls offers probably the most rewarding and satisfying game experience I've had in a very long time. And no, it's not just stockholm syndrome, the game is excellent. The graphics are good, the art direction is top notch, character customization is staggering, allowing you to custom tailor your character to your play style, the world is as beautifully immersive as you could possibly ask for, there's near infinite replay value, and that's just scratching the surface of why this is a great game. Demon Soul's employs lots of new and innovative concepts that add new dimensions of depth to the experience, something that is absent from most mainstream games these days. I could sing this game praises all day, but nothing substitutes for simply playing it yourself. Ignore the cries of petulant, frustrated gamers and pick up a copy of this game for yourself. I guarantee you won't be disappointed. Expand
  53. LouisD
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls is the only game released in the last 10+ years that has actually challenged me and required me to think about what I am going to do before I do it. The game is tough, but it is still possible to complete without a scratch if you know what you are doing. A combination that I haven't seen pulled off this well... ever before. Rating for game's difficulty / Demon's Souls is the only game released in the last 10+ years that has actually challenged me and required me to think about what I am going to do before I do it. The game is tough, but it is still possible to complete without a scratch if you know what you are doing. A combination that I haven't seen pulled off this well... ever before. Rating for game's difficulty / challenge: 10 The game has one of the coolest combination of environments and adversaries in any game that I have ever played. Even at higher levels and with many hours of experience I still feel goose bumps when a dark night notices me and raises his shield to run at me with a broadsword. Rating for visuals and atmosphere: 10 The game utilizes one of the most innovative ideas for multiplayer that has ever been implemented. The player driven notes system and the phantoms are the coolest idea I have seen. they force players to help each other while still allowing you to try and take out your frustrations on other players. Rating for innovations: 10 A must have for any hardcore gamer. Keyword: HARDCORE Expand
  54. RastialM
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Inmersive, magicall a really dep experience full of twists and silk smooth animations a mist have, a true jewel of this generation , on terms of gameplay is rewarding and challenging trully a masterpiece a opiece of art.
  55. RPGK
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    This game is beautiful, the mechanics are spot on, and the rewards are more than enough to give a player an advantage. All you low scoring noobs, including lamervision, need to stop expecting spoon fed games and learn how to play a man's game. Its not that difficult if you take the time to learn your opponent. Thanks to ATLUS for another excellent RPG.
  56. Gauth
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Best next-gen rpg game. Really innovative online function, great levels, great bosses, we want more shit like this one ! Congrats to From Software.
  57. RobL
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    Immense game. Just keeps you coming back for more and more. Best game have played for ages, refreshing and challenging compared to the easy mode games of recent times. I believe those giving it low scores may need to go back and play more easy mode games without a challenge that they can complete in one sitting, - and leave gems like this beauty to people that appreciate it.
  58. NikolaosP
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    This game is hard. And i know this may come as a surprise to some, but hey, this game is not for everyone! It is not an rpg in a traditional sense(well, no video game is a true rpg anyway) and probably it will be like nothing you've ever played before. This game is all about you against a destroyed kingdom, full of demons and monsters waiting to kill you. If this was a different This game is hard. And i know this may come as a surprise to some, but hey, this game is not for everyone! It is not an rpg in a traditional sense(well, no video game is a true rpg anyway) and probably it will be like nothing you've ever played before. This game is all about you against a destroyed kingdom, full of demons and monsters waiting to kill you. If this was a different game, you would be a "one man army" blasting at enemies with ease and only pause on how to defeat an enemy on certain boss fights. But Demon's Souls is not that kind of game! Instead we have an adventure where you have to be on your toes on every corner, think how to overcome every encounter! Its also non-linear. In the first level you will some Dragons and if you go charging at them, you will die. Is this difficult? Maybe. Is this logical? Yes! Other games have spoilt us. Made us think that you can defeat a collosal creature with some QTEs. This weaksauce game design is nowhere to be found on Demon's Souls. Instead it opts for a fair challenge, where the character is a tiny ray of light in the blackest darkness. And after many deaths, there comes the sense of immersion that you really are against immeasurable odds. I can't think of any other game that can claim the same. Expand
  59. KT
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls beat me in ways I could not have imagined. It took me to the grind house and went all out. Yes, the game is HARD and will not flinch in kicking your ass every time you get hasty, overconfident, lose focus and so on. The brave souls who are ready, able and willing to partake in a hardcore game with old school mechanics will find that this game is quite possibly one of Demon's Souls beat me in ways I could not have imagined. It took me to the grind house and went all out. Yes, the game is HARD and will not flinch in kicking your ass every time you get hasty, overconfident, lose focus and so on. The brave souls who are ready, able and willing to partake in a hardcore game with old school mechanics will find that this game is quite possibly one of the best, most unique, most rewarding and well thought out RPG's of all time. The rest of you immediately put the game down and STOP REVIEWING IT please! It's obviously not everyone's cup of tea, and I'm sick of seeing people rating it down because of their own lack of diligence. Expand
  60. jorgea
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    This game is truly great, but of course it's not for everyone, well, it is atlus, they kind of expecialized on publishing very niche games. I'm having a blast anyway, and yes it is a RPG, much more then Final Fantasy for an example, you create youi character from scratch, give him/her a name and chose it's class, and then it comes to the very deep leveling system, the only This game is truly great, but of course it's not for everyone, well, it is atlus, they kind of expecialized on publishing very niche games. I'm having a blast anyway, and yes it is a RPG, much more then Final Fantasy for an example, you create youi character from scratch, give him/her a name and chose it's class, and then it comes to the very deep leveling system, the only thing it lacks over a traditional RPG are the side quests. to whoever is up to the chalenge this game will render countles hours of immersive fun, you really fear for your life, taking care on every step . anyway if you consider yourself a true gamer you should at least try this, but if o your image of a hardore game is COD4, halo etc then you better stay away. Expand
  61. HF
    Oct 17, 2009
    10
    I can't believe some people are having such difficulty with this game and rating it low you shouldn't rate a game low just because you suck at it. Demon's Souls is an incredible game and theirs no grinding involved at all I don't know what people are talking about. The game plays absolutely fantastic and if you die 99.9% of the time its entirely your own fault(I beat I can't believe some people are having such difficulty with this game and rating it low you shouldn't rate a game low just because you suck at it. Demon's Souls is an incredible game and theirs no grinding involved at all I don't know what people are talking about. The game plays absolutely fantastic and if you die 99.9% of the time its entirely your own fault(I beat it started as a hunter and only died 17 times). The level design is absolutely phenomenal as well especially so if your into dark fantasy. Expand
  62. GabrielJ
    Nov 8, 2009
    10
    This is a masterpiece, it shows that a great game can be put together with perfectly balanced PvP elements, a nice story, unforgiving but extremely rewarding experiences. NO ONE who owns a ps3 should miss this game. It´s rated as one of my best of all time ever since the 8 bits generation consoles.
  63. QQMoreplz
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    You will find many people here who need to have their hands held as they play a game. If you are the kind of person who sees through their diatribe for what it is, weak-minded, feeble gamers' rants, then you're already on the right path. Demon's Souls is a great game that requires you to actually figure things out on your own. There is very little to no hand holding. The You will find many people here who need to have their hands held as they play a game. If you are the kind of person who sees through their diatribe for what it is, weak-minded, feeble gamers' rants, then you're already on the right path. Demon's Souls is a great game that requires you to actually figure things out on your own. There is very little to no hand holding. The game does have huge consequences, but this puts a lot of stress on risk:reward ratio which is the bread and butter of this game and honestly goes a long way in making the game that much more thrilling and exciting at every turn. Will you attempt to fight this boss, and risk losing all of your souls, with the tradeoff being that if you beat him, you'll get tons of more souls, and a special soul that can be used for a new, rare, and powerful item? You can call on the aid of other players (up to 3 others) if things are too difficult for you alone, and other players can invade your game; if you kill them you get all of their souls, if they kill you they get all of yours. All of these various dynamics add up to create a game that is extremely fun, requires skill and tact, and refuses to hold your hand along the way, putting you in the true role of an "adventurer" to the likes that most games could never begin to attempt. The game is difficult and for many this is too much. They like their games like they like their women, easy and thoughtless. That's great if you enjoy things that are dull, but personally, I like challenges and excitement. If you're the same way, you can't go wrong with this game. Expand
  64. EricS.
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Easily the best game on the market for the ps3, they did a fantastic job of allowing some multiplayer and keeping that single player feel. endless hours of fun with this game.
  65. jacobh
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    a lot of people have been giving this game bad ratings for simple reasons that usually you wouldn't care about. someone said they traded it in a DAY after only because it didnt have pause. give the game a chance, i know i did. at first i was thinking about what a waste of $60 this was, and now i cant stop playing. i love the difficulty, it makes you feel as if god is playing with a lot of people have been giving this game bad ratings for simple reasons that usually you wouldn't care about. someone said they traded it in a DAY after only because it didnt have pause. give the game a chance, i know i did. at first i was thinking about what a waste of $60 this was, and now i cant stop playing. i love the difficulty, it makes you feel as if god is playing with your heart, and that every move counts. mistakes lead to your death, making you think about what to do next. levels are excellent, each level is really different from each one, making you feel like you have to be ready for whats ahead, different enemies will be vulnerable to different weapons. this game definitely desrves this 10/10. i say again, give this game a chance! Expand
  66. MichaelE
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    One of the things I saw in the blurbs on this site frequently is how difficult this game is. I'm sure that this has turned some people off to the game, so let me use a different word: challenging. When something is challenging, it is inviting you to try it, and that's what this game is, it's an active invitation to give it a try. Another thing aspect of this challenging One of the things I saw in the blurbs on this site frequently is how difficult this game is. I'm sure that this has turned some people off to the game, so let me use a different word: challenging. When something is challenging, it is inviting you to try it, and that's what this game is, it's an active invitation to give it a try. Another thing aspect of this challenging game is it doesn't remain difficult, yet it remains challenging. You're going to die in this game, it's part of the game. You become a soul when you're dead and you have a few ways to get your body back. The first two I will mention are available for those with online capabilities enabled, and those are to either help a player of similar level defeat a demon or to kill a player of similar level as he attempts to conquer the level. The other ways are to kill a demon yourself or to use an item which brings you back (limited quantity of these items). The reason I distinguish this game as challenging is because it is consistently offering new ways to trip you up, which keeps the gameplay fresh and exciting. The black phantom (player characters who can kill you) adds exhilaration to your grinding sessions (and may make you want to stay in soul form until boss fights) and the maps are uniquely satisfying to conquer. You will find yourself rejoicing every time you beat some mobs while other times you may scream in despair when you die to that poorly-placed hole in the ground which leads directly to your grave. This is a game that brings suspenseful (horror?) cinema to a home console and allows you to take part in it. It's open-ended, you can finish maps as you see fit, grind as much as you want to prepare for the next boss or zone, or you can spend your time fighting alongside or against other player characters. This is one of those gems of a game that actually feels like it's worth the asking price, in terms of hours you will put into it and satisfaction you will feel from every little encounter. Buy it! Expand
  67. peatearg
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    The game is really well balanced; the worlds are beautifully conceived, the combat is based on strategy above all else, and the game demands your awareness. If you have played older RPG's, this game really is not that difficult. I am not saying you won't die, you will die a lot; its not memory or twitch fighting as many will say, it is being smart and patient, many times your The game is really well balanced; the worlds are beautifully conceived, the combat is based on strategy above all else, and the game demands your awareness. If you have played older RPG's, this game really is not that difficult. I am not saying you won't die, you will die a lot; its not memory or twitch fighting as many will say, it is being smart and patient, many times your best performance on a level is your first play through, when you are most cautious. It may have repetitive elements, but the gameplay and combat is so well done that you enjoy soul-farming. Co-op with friends takes some coordination, but it is worth it. PvP is a great deal of fun, and you will find yourself invading other players' worlds over and over. The sound is extremely well done to the point where you can use another players' armor clanking as a beacon of their whereabouts. The Tendency system is also something worth reading about because it is a part of the larger complexity of the game. Also, the game is at least 120 hours long and there is a wealth of gameplay after that, including many things that unlock based on your tendency(evil/good) and levels will open new areas and enemies based on that tendency as well. Some try to say its not worth $60, but my friends played it and within a week both bought a PS3 and Demon's Souls, and I also bought another copy for my brother. We have all played the old generation of Western RPG's: Baldur's Gate, Fallout, Planescape, Diablo etc. and this game is truly worthy of being compared to them in their atmosphere and their difficulty. Expand
  68. Dave
    Oct 20, 2009
    10
    Incredible level and enemy design, deeply immersive, difficult w/o ever feeling cheap -- what a spectacular game from FROM. The demons seem like they are really really trying to get you, which makes every success that much more sweet.
  69. RickB
    Oct 23, 2009
    10
    Do you ever get tired about the fact that games nowadays take you by the hand throughout the game? Here`s another one...only this one will take you by the hand and will lead you into certain death, over and over again. Gloomy, dark surroundings, magnificent enemies`, awesome bos battles and endless levels. Also the way the game uses the same currency for leveling-up, stocking up ammo and Do you ever get tired about the fact that games nowadays take you by the hand throughout the game? Here`s another one...only this one will take you by the hand and will lead you into certain death, over and over again. Gloomy, dark surroundings, magnificent enemies`, awesome bos battles and endless levels. Also the way the game uses the same currency for leveling-up, stocking up ammo and upgrading weapons will give dilemma`s throughout the game. Will you level up or will you upgrade that sword for additional fire damage to beat the next enemy? Definitely the best RPG of 2009, arguably the game with the highest difficulty and perhaps even a must-have for everybody who owns a ps3. Expand
  70. JayK
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls is an extremely special and rare sort of game. The game is challenging but addictive; the fighting and gameplay is more thoughtful than action games and much more deep and satisfying than rpg games. I am generally too impatient and ill equipped for most challenging action games, but this one is so perfectly designed that time flew and I was kept glued the whole time. Demon's Souls is an extremely special and rare sort of game. The game is challenging but addictive; the fighting and gameplay is more thoughtful than action games and much more deep and satisfying than rpg games. I am generally too impatient and ill equipped for most challenging action games, but this one is so perfectly designed that time flew and I was kept glued the whole time. The trick is to know what you want to do; it's not like jumping platforms in Mega Man. It plays almost like a puzzle throughout. The sense of discovery and level design are among the best. Wonderful atmosphere and art, a serious Japanese style that is refreshingly different from either American or the common anime stylings. Multiple ways to play (with mages having it a bit easier, I think). One of my most favorite games ever. Do not miss this! Expand
  71. JayA
    Oct 30, 2009
    10
    This is THE Game of the Year. It was completely passed over by the major gaming press and WOW did they blow it. While they were pushing the usual crap from the major distributors. Word of mouth has launched this game into the stratosphere as one of the greatest games to ever be released of any generation. The gaming press is back peddling to cover their neglected coverage. Don't This is THE Game of the Year. It was completely passed over by the major gaming press and WOW did they blow it. While they were pushing the usual crap from the major distributors. Word of mouth has launched this game into the stratosphere as one of the greatest games to ever be released of any generation. The gaming press is back peddling to cover their neglected coverage. Don't believe what they say about this being a niche title or too hard for most players. That's simply not true. This is a gorgeous game. The architecture and level design are fantastic. Enemies are unique and numerous., from the small lizard to the massive Dragons. It takes strategy and perseverance and is always challenging. Replay value is extremely high as different quests become available in the game depending on how you play the current adventure. I'm on my second play through and find myself thinking ... on the next play through I'm going to do a certain quest differently. There are no save points to fall back on if you make a mistake. Each time you play the game you need to have a plan of attack, a strategy in mind of how you are going to play. The levels are massive and intriguing. graphics are gorgeous and detailed. As you play through you can look back and see where you were 45 minutes ago and view the path you traveled to get where you are now. The aspects of the game are well thought out and allow the player to customize his/her character to suit their play style. I almost forgot the online aspect. Unique. to say the least. You can see ghost images of current players battling monsters you have defeated or are about to face. I don't know how many times I was shocked by a the ghost of another player when I thought the level was safe. Then the sudden feeling of relief, when you realize what you are seeing. The first time I was invaded by an online player they sent me flying off the edge of a cliff. I knew this was a possibility but was focused on the single player when it happened. I stood there dumbfounded as I was killed by a black phantom. When the anger and frustration of being killed wore off and I started the level from the beginning again I realized the genius of this and how well it is incorporated into the natural gameplay. Anything in the game can kill you, and will. This game has it all, gorgeous graphics, detailed enemies, character depth and development, online cooperative and competitive play, excellent architecture and hundreds of hours of gameplay. This is a complete game nothing is missing too hard or to easy. You get out of it exactly what you put in. The rewards are extremely satisfying. This is without a doubt THE Game of the Year. Expand
  72. Tom
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    First I'd like to include I played the Chinese/English localization that came out in February of this year and not the Western release. This game isn't for everyone, it's brutal and unforgiving but it's frail subtleties are what make this game so perversely pleasurable and rewarding. You will die, die, and die more times than you can count in any video you've First I'd like to include I played the Chinese/English localization that came out in February of this year and not the Western release. This game isn't for everyone, it's brutal and unforgiving but it's frail subtleties are what make this game so perversely pleasurable and rewarding. You will die, die, and die more times than you can count in any video you've played in this last decade but it's not the difficulty alone that makes this rewarding to play; the presentation of the game is spot on and so are the controls only even more complemented by the brilliant pacing and eerie atmosphere. If you don't mind yelling and screaming at your TV, give it a try. Expand
  73. ChristopherC.
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Quite simply, anyone who is looking for a rewarding challenge will feel right at home with Demon's Souls. If you take it slow and use your head, the game may feel easier than other's have made it seem, but if you rush in swinging your sword around, it will feel like the hardest game you've ever played.
  74. Mark
    Oct 6, 2009
    10
    Amazing game, I love the challenge of it, it's not too hard yet enough to make you feel rewarded for your efforts. I hate games that are pushovers but also games that are just impossible. The Rpg elements are there, enough to make you think but not too much to turn away action oriented gamers. And there's plenty of action. The passive online aspects are great, very novel ideas Amazing game, I love the challenge of it, it's not too hard yet enough to make you feel rewarded for your efforts. I hate games that are pushovers but also games that are just impossible. The Rpg elements are there, enough to make you think but not too much to turn away action oriented gamers. And there's plenty of action. The passive online aspects are great, very novel ideas and you can join others games as friend or foe which changes things up. Overall a very well rounded RPG that I'm glad to have in my collection. Expand
  75. reinb
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    LOL @ Lamervision, you should not be reviewing games if you're a noob. Buy this game if you're up for a challenge It's very sim-like in it's approach to hack and slash games that is quite refreshing. Approach every situation with caution, and perseverance is a must. This game is made for the hardcore players in mind. It's not going to hold your hand for you. So LOL @ Lamervision, you should not be reviewing games if you're a noob. Buy this game if you're up for a challenge It's very sim-like in it's approach to hack and slash games that is quite refreshing. Approach every situation with caution, and perseverance is a must. This game is made for the hardcore players in mind. It's not going to hold your hand for you. So for those who have commitment issues or gets easily frustrated by games, stay away. Otherwise enjoy, what is simply the best RPG of this generation with incredible hauniting atmosphere. Expand
  76. BryanN.
    Oct 7, 2009
    10
    Is Demon
  77. MJr.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Absolutely amazing game that blew me away. The depth is incredible, the art fantastic, and the game is so amazingly polished. If you like RPG's and action you owe it to yourself to play this game. I'm about 7 hours in and haven't died YET, but I can feel it coming soon and it's so morbidly exhilarating, you just can't put it into words. One of the best games Absolutely amazing game that blew me away. The depth is incredible, the art fantastic, and the game is so amazingly polished. If you like RPG's and action you owe it to yourself to play this game. I'm about 7 hours in and haven't died YET, but I can feel it coming soon and it's so morbidly exhilarating, you just can't put it into words. One of the best games I've played in YEARS. Expand
  78. CoryK.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls is the light at the end of the tunnel. Games these hold the players hand from start to finish, worried about every punishing the player. What does Demon's Souls do? Not only does it punish you for every single mistake you make, it kicks you while you're down. You must play cautiously and smartly, otherwise you'll be left as a blood stain on the floor for Demon's Souls is the light at the end of the tunnel. Games these hold the players hand from start to finish, worried about every punishing the player. What does Demon's Souls do? Not only does it punish you for every single mistake you make, it kicks you while you're down. You must play cautiously and smartly, otherwise you'll be left as a blood stain on the floor for everyone to laugh at. Between the extremely smooth combat, excellent atmosphere and hundreds upon hundreds of hours of gameplay available, Demon's Souls easily ranks amongst the best games of this generation. Expand
  79. BaderA.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Just want to say that if you like games where you have to think and plan your steps and you love RPGs this game is for you , everything from lovely art direction to the tight gameplay mechanics will make you smile this is truly the next gen 8 bit game .
  80. S.AIK
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Disregard that Gamervision review. This game is for the Hardcore RPG player. Sadly it's a PS3 exclusive. No it's not really a bad thing, but that just means some people won't be able to play it. It's one of those games that really provides a unique experience as well as a crushing difficulty. But don't let that scare you away. It's only hard if you make it Disregard that Gamervision review. This game is for the Hardcore RPG player. Sadly it's a PS3 exclusive. No it's not really a bad thing, but that just means some people won't be able to play it. It's one of those games that really provides a unique experience as well as a crushing difficulty. But don't let that scare you away. It's only hard if you make it hard. Meaning, don't be impatient, don't forget to prepare yourself, and don't underestimate ANY enemy or you'll find yourself to a quick death. The game deserves a 10 through and through. Expand
  81. DerickS.
    Oct 8, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls is NOT for the faint of heart. if you die, its not the game, its your poor gaming skills. if you are victorious, its because you've sharpen your character to become a Fierce warrior the likes of which Boletaria has never seen. if you're just a casual gamer, this game might not be for you. but if thou possess a steely heart, this well designed, deeply engaging Demon's Souls is NOT for the faint of heart. if you die, its not the game, its your poor gaming skills. if you are victorious, its because you've sharpen your character to become a Fierce warrior the likes of which Boletaria has never seen. if you're just a casual gamer, this game might not be for you. but if thou possess a steely heart, this well designed, deeply engaging RPG will reward you by making you a LEGEND. Expand
  82. SteveJ
    Jan 12, 2010
    10
    I absolutely HATE games that are too difficult. Demon's Souls is EXTREMELY difficult, yet the game is so incredibly good I can't tear myself away from it. If you're a hardcore RPG fan, there is nothing better than Demon's Souls.
  83. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Expand
  84. JoshL
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Emon's souls is easily the best game I've played all year and probably the best playing game I've played this gen(Not the best game this gen just best playing)its like back in the good old days when games where actually challenging but it was still your fault if you screwed up(except when you use the lock on system really close to edges though then it is kinda the games Emon's souls is easily the best game I've played all year and probably the best playing game I've played this gen(Not the best game this gen just best playing)its like back in the good old days when games where actually challenging but it was still your fault if you screwed up(except when you use the lock on system really close to edges though then it is kinda the games falt). The environments are all excellent looking and have fantastic art style(even if there a bit technically below par for a ps3 exclusive)and the creature design is great as well. overall its just an absolutely spectacular experience that anyone who's craving a challenge should pick up especially if you love dark themes. Expand
  85. AnonymousMC
    Nov 10, 2009
    10
    best rpg of 2009 :D
  86. MarkW
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    The game is hard and evil but the atmosphere is so compelling and real that its more like living a game than playing it. The monsters have an amazing variety of personalities and most of them are not hard to kill for the sake of being hard but instead they are very strategically placed and "smart". If you like dragons....this game sets a new standard.
  87. Karkarov
    Oct 16, 2009
    10
    This game despite what many may say is an RPG, an ACTION RPG. Unlike most in the genre this game also requires skill, planning, and patience. To see the words button mashing and frequent restarts in the same sentence is no surprise as that is exactly the wrong way to approach the game. If you like a reasonable challenge, action, being rewarded as a player for learning encounters and This game despite what many may say is an RPG, an ACTION RPG. Unlike most in the genre this game also requires skill, planning, and patience. To see the words button mashing and frequent restarts in the same sentence is no surprise as that is exactly the wrong way to approach the game. If you like a reasonable challenge, action, being rewarded as a player for learning encounters and increasing in play skill... This is as good as it has ever been done. No you wont watch a 16 year old watch poetically in a 20 minute cut scene, no you will not be able to pause and issue orders to your 6 party members, but you will be able to experience a visceral and erwarding game that is hard but always fair. Not to mention enjoy a revolutionary new approach to online gaming that is highly fun and addictive. Demon's Souls isn't for everyone but for fans of true challenge and action RPG's it is the only must buy of 2009. Expand
  88. DavidH
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    Demon Souls is the greatest rpg I have ever played. People that are focusing on how supposedly difficult this game is obviously haven't learned how to play it yet and are far too used to their hand being held through every game they play this day in age. There is a checkpoint system in Demon Souls actually.. You open up many shortcuts that make your return playthrough much easier to Demon Souls is the greatest rpg I have ever played. People that are focusing on how supposedly difficult this game is obviously haven't learned how to play it yet and are far too used to their hand being held through every game they play this day in age. There is a checkpoint system in Demon Souls actually.. You open up many shortcuts that make your return playthrough much easier to get to where you are meaning to go (or to find your blood-stain and reclaim your souls). The fact of the matter is that Demon Souls is a game meant to be taken seriously.. And once you give yourself over to it you will find and discover many things that will make your stay in Boletaria more and more enjoyable the more you play regardless of how "difficult" it is. The fact is that if you find Demon Souls to be TOO difficult, then you have yet to learn it's secrets and become a demon slayer. Also learn how to make full use of the multiplayer options because the game wants you to and it makes things much easier! Oh, and MAGIC IS YOUR BEST FRIEND! Do that and learn how to maintain your equipment and farm souls when necessary and you will find the most rewarding rpg to ever grace a console. Expand
  89. Kythegent
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    You owe it to yourself to pick it up. Behind Uncharted 2, it has to be the top game thus far this fall, ranking above Batman or Halo 3: ODST. Obviously, different games, but Demon's Souls gives a better "experience," if you know what I mean. As far the much-talked about difficulty, it isn't nearly as bad as people would have you believe. You block and you use health items. You owe it to yourself to pick it up. Behind Uncharted 2, it has to be the top game thus far this fall, ranking above Batman or Halo 3: ODST. Obviously, different games, but Demon's Souls gives a better "experience," if you know what I mean. As far the much-talked about difficulty, it isn't nearly as bad as people would have you believe. You block and you use health items. It's really not that bad. The Ninja Gaiden series is more frustrating, in my opinion. Expand
  90. AntonS
    Oct 18, 2009
    10
    The gaming industry needs more games like this. Demon's Souls turns away from the casual trend that recent games have been ensuing in favor of a truly difficult and rewarding experience. Hopefully developers will follow Demon's Souls example and stop selling out the casual gamers. Ten out of ten. One of the best games on the platform.
  91. TobyB
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    All I can say is that I love this game. It gets in my head and I think about what I want to do next as I go to bed. THAT, to me, makes a great game. There is a wonderful feel to the game. I loved exploring a level for the first time, there is awonderful atmospheric feel to much of the worlds. As for the difficultly, yes, it is quite high but it is fair and, when you actually beat a boss All I can say is that I love this game. It gets in my head and I think about what I want to do next as I go to bed. THAT, to me, makes a great game. There is a wonderful feel to the game. I loved exploring a level for the first time, there is awonderful atmospheric feel to much of the worlds. As for the difficultly, yes, it is quite high but it is fair and, when you actually beat a boss or get past a tough part you actually have a reaction. Most games I played are soooooo easy, there is no feeling of enjoyment or satisfaction from progressing. Oh and the first time I was on a level in body form and someone invaded my world it just blew me away. A lot of the negative comments seem to be from people who are hardcore RPG players. I haven't played many...I just know I like this a lot. I haven't enjoyed a RPG this much since FF7 Uncharted 2 is sitting mostly unplayed since I enjoy Demons Souls so much right now. Expand
  92. SebK
    Oct 19, 2009
    10
    Definitely game of the year for me. The much hyped difficulty gives the game a great atmosphere and it feels very rewarding to come out alive from a dungeon after a long journey.
  93. BobbyRice2
    Dec 22, 2009
    10
    Hi there people, I see alot of people rating this low, and plenty high , I also see alot of biased votes for the ones giving high, I will be talking in a minute about the game, and I hope to do so in a way that is un-biased, as i've never played any of the developers games before, or atleast not any I can remember. I score this a 10, despite it's flaws - it does have them, it Hi there people, I see alot of people rating this low, and plenty high , I also see alot of biased votes for the ones giving high, I will be talking in a minute about the game, and I hope to do so in a way that is un-biased, as i've never played any of the developers games before, or atleast not any I can remember. I score this a 10, despite it's flaws - it does have them, it has alot of bad points, but for me, this has been an enjoyable 50 hours of play & i'm already on my 2nd play through in the 'nightmare' mode I suppose you could call it. This game truely is challenging, perhaps in the simplest of ways, but it is indeed a challenge - if you're into quite Linea Hack & Slash games with swords, shields & spells - but want one that is difficult, requires patience & will truely make your heart race through the fear of dying at times, a game that will definitely make you cautious to enter that boss room, one that will make you peak around every corner and walk steadily along to prevent being wiped out, then this is for you. Graphically, I find it okay - I don't have a HD television, so I don't know, i've seen videos that make it look quite great. I played the game near release so it was quite a fun time with all the messages on the floor, and other things - that was another thing I enjoyed alot - so I don't know how it will be now in terms of people communicating, or summoning others to your world, etc. It is a marvellous game, it is not your typical RPG , regardless of what fan-boys say. You do not get quests, nor do you really buy armor, anything you get - you find, and the money you get, you will spend on arrows mainly. Despite that, it's an extremely unique & original game, and does deserve a few hours of playing until you have the conclusion of whether you like it. The bad points are hm, let me think. I have had occasional lag whilst invading another players world, which has resulted in me dying to them - which is irritating, but I don't feel it matters all that much. I personally don't have many things to complain about with this game, it is difficult, and perhaps sometimes UNFAIR - but not in the way that - you will die, and feel cheated, if you die - you will feel like it was your fault, not the developers being abusive. Last point really, those saying about dying, losing souls, not being able to pause, etc. What do you expect, being able to pause a game where you can be invaded by another online player? And if you don't like losing souls, then play better, and you won't lose them in the first place. Got a PS3? Rent it, steal it, borrow it, buy it. Whatever, give this a few hours of your time, decide for yourselves if you like it, and don't let others influence you to make a firm decision before you know for yourself. Rated 10 as it's my opinion & I enjoyed every aspect of this game, even the dying - i've said to myself many times. 'Well played computer, well played'. Expand
  94. RageM.
    Dec 23, 2009
    10
    Please do not let the steep difficulty dissuade you from playing this game. It's absolutely wonderful!!!! Is it hard?? Yes. Is it cheap? FAR FROM. Trust me i was initially hesitant to buy this game, but boy am i glad i did. The best game I've played all year hands down. Trumps Uncharted 2, MW 2, Borderlands or really anything anyone can throw at this game. I can't sing Please do not let the steep difficulty dissuade you from playing this game. It's absolutely wonderful!!!! Is it hard?? Yes. Is it cheap? FAR FROM. Trust me i was initially hesitant to buy this game, but boy am i glad i did. The best game I've played all year hands down. Trumps Uncharted 2, MW 2, Borderlands or really anything anyone can throw at this game. I can't sing enough praises for it. Innovative and beautiful. Wonderful action and RPG elements. A perfect score in my books. Check professional reviews. I'm not alone. Expand
  95. EpyxA
    Dec 30, 2009
    10
    As an old school gamer this was a welcome game and one that was a long time coming. I have read some negative reviews, whose only negative point seemed to be the lack of a story? Please remember not every RPG has to have a fantastic linear story...character development, freedom, skills, strategy are equally important in a great RPG. What the game lacks in story (which it should not be As an old school gamer this was a welcome game and one that was a long time coming. I have read some negative reviews, whose only negative point seemed to be the lack of a story? Please remember not every RPG has to have a fantastic linear story...character development, freedom, skills, strategy are equally important in a great RPG. What the game lacks in story (which it should not be punished for as the game is not about story) it makes up for with skill building difficulty and a feeling of accomplishment second to none. Finish a level and you truly feel like you were traversing the level and personally slew the boss demon. THAT to me is the true definition of pen and paper role playing. Taking a single role and becoming that role. Getting involved in other characters linear storylines is great fun at times (FFX etc) but just as those games shouldn't be punished for being story heavy and linear, DS should not be punished for it's lack of story because the sense of complete and palpable immersion makes up for it. Expand
  96. AllenS
    Oct 25, 2009
    10
    Wow, sleeper hit of 2009. I was a fan of the maximo series on PS1 because of its unforgiving nature and this is maximo x1000. The difficulty isn't what makes this game fantastic rather its a myriad of aspects. The gameplay and combat is extremely deep and satisfying, great multiplayer, level design, enemy design, customization. Basically this game demands a skilled player and if you Wow, sleeper hit of 2009. I was a fan of the maximo series on PS1 because of its unforgiving nature and this is maximo x1000. The difficulty isn't what makes this game fantastic rather its a myriad of aspects. The gameplay and combat is extremely deep and satisfying, great multiplayer, level design, enemy design, customization. Basically this game demands a skilled player and if you suck and want to be coddled you will hate this game. Clowns need not apply. For the rest of us you will find an incredibly deep game that is expertly crafted. This may be the best game I've ever played but let me talk about things the other reviews have not. When you die on a level, the game responds by reducing your health by 50% and making the enemies harder. The only way to resurrect is by defeating a major demon which is made more difficult since you are at half health. Living players can bring dead players into their game to help play. This is game is not very dynamic in that the enemies are always in the same place so you can gradually learn how each level works and so a level that took 5 hours to beat the first time can be completed in 10 minutes to a player that knows how it works. I could go on and on but if you love gaming and a challenge GET THIS GAME NOW. Expand
  97. HaileyR
    Oct 26, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls is a game for only the most hardcore of gamers. The battles are brutal, the enemies are so difficult that even the low level grunts will kill you a hundred times over. Only truly skilled fans of classic RPG's should buy this game. The best way to describe it is like having bipolar disorder extreme highs followed lows. Any gamer wanting to test his metal should pick Demon's Souls is a game for only the most hardcore of gamers. The battles are brutal, the enemies are so difficult that even the low level grunts will kill you a hundred times over. Only truly skilled fans of classic RPG's should buy this game. The best way to describe it is like having bipolar disorder extreme highs followed lows. Any gamer wanting to test his metal should pick up this Playstation 3 exclusive. Expand
  98. JackB
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    This is one of the purest videogames I have ever had the pleasure to experience. Simply put, I'm hooked. This game is not hard, it is incredibly challenging though. I am still rather low level and have not had the pleasure/fear of the "Black Phantoms" yet, but i can't wait to crap my pants. Like Shadow of the Colossus, this game has a very distilled sense of mission (you This is one of the purest videogames I have ever had the pleasure to experience. Simply put, I'm hooked. This game is not hard, it is incredibly challenging though. I am still rather low level and have not had the pleasure/fear of the "Black Phantoms" yet, but i can't wait to crap my pants. Like Shadow of the Colossus, this game has a very distilled sense of mission (you can't get lost, just get farther) and a beautiful setting to explore. No expense was spared in the making of this game, and none should be spared in the purchasing of this game....BUY it new, not used, keep it forever. I know I will be adventuring in the Nexus for a loooong time to come. Expand
  99. Tony
    Nov 12, 2009
    10
    Demon's Souls is extremely hard when you start out but once you start beating bosses and find a rhythm it is a perfect RPG for those gamers looking for a challenge.
  100. BradB
    Nov 13, 2009
    10
    This game is deep and beautiful. I've been through it six times and still haven't experienced all it has to offer.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Demon's Souls: Unbelievably hard and unbelievably satisfying at the same time. If you accomplish to get through your initial rage attacks, you will experience an outstanding action-RPG with a tense and dark atmosphere.
  2. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  3. It's stoic, uncompromising, difficult to get to know, but also deep, intriguingly disturbed and perversely rewarding. You can learn to love Demon's Souls like few other games in the world. But only if you're prepared to give yourself over to it. [JPN Import]