• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2009
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1021 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 21, 2014
    9
    El primero de la saga y el mejor. Vino de tapado, sin hype ninguno y es indescriptible las sensaciones que me produjo al jugarlo. Las satisfacciones que te da al ir superando monstruos finales son inmensas. Uno de mis favoritos de la ya pasada generación, una joya atemporal. No probarlo por lo menos un pecado para cualquier hardcore gamer.
  2. Sep 19, 2014
    4
    Demon's Souls embodies a lot of what I dislike about games. I do not play to be frustrated, annoyed, or repeat the same sections over and over and over again, I play to have fun. I did not have fun playing Demon's Souls. It's twisted design philosophy is that dying constantly is part of the gameplay, in a masochistic manner reminiscent of older coin-chugging arcade machines that were (hint) difficult on purpose to make you keep throwing your money at the thing. At home with my console, it's a contrivance, and stupid. Demon's Souls is uncompromising, dull, ugly and cheap. Expand
  3. Jul 4, 2014
    2
    Firstyl i would like to say good things about this game. 1 Really challenging it makes you stay attention all the time and gives you a intention. 2 People around the world leaves you a messages as advice during your adventure or you can leave to them. That's it, these are above only good things about this game and rest of it really really awful. This is the worst RPG game i have ever played.

    Can you believe you can not pause this game until end of it?.
    Can you believe there is no map in this game?
    Very bad inventory and status screen interface.
    Very limited equipment chooses.
    Do not crash the corpses that you killed they will be stucked to your feet.

    This is the first time i am saying this: '' This game is overoveroverrated''

    Play Dragon's Dogma instead. It is probably closer game of soul series and have open world that you can inspect and much more.
    Expand
  4. Jun 21, 2014
    10
    I almost feel ashamed that I am just now playing this game. This is a masterpiece and it's been a long time since I really felt challenged in a game. The environments are amazing with a hopeless feeling to them. There is so much to do and so many different ways to play this game that you can keep coming back to this game over and over. There are times when I get frustrated with this game but it's usually because I try to rush a part and pay for it with my souls.

    The game requires patience (which many people lack these days) but it really does require skill as well. If you want a challenge, try this game out. You will not be disappointed.
    Expand
  5. Jun 20, 2014
    10
    A true masterpiece. The atmosphere here is just unbelievable. The sense of loneliness and despair follows your every step on this dangerous journey. The game has some interesting (some of them flawed though) mechanics and an unsurpassed combat system. Every PS3 owner should at least try this exclusive.
  6. tkc
    May 27, 2014
    10
    The best game from souls series for me. It just felt perfect. You will die a lot, you're gonna enjoy it, and in the end get rewarded for it. This game alone is a reason to own PS3, even with DaS1 and DaS2 out.
  7. May 6, 2014
    5
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious flaws.
    ===========
    Demon's souls is my favorite Souls game in terms of feel but the lack of checkpoints and having to restart the whole level made me crazy. Call me noob but DeS is not as good as DS1 which I'm near beating.
  8. May 1, 2014
    9
    Been a hardcore gamer for 30 years and I gotta say this series is like no other I've played. Growing up on games with 3 lives and no continues or clues (or internet), it certainly is not nearly as hard as people say, but it is difficult in it's own special way. If you let it it will suck you in and hold on like very few games can. Too many games focus on story and hand-holding. This one puts gameplay and atmosphere front and center, just like the good ol' days. I wish I was playing it right now. Expand
  9. Apr 17, 2014
    10
    One of the most brutal, dark, mature, unique rpgs to ever come out. A beautiful, dark fantasy. Demon's Souls brought the difficulty back to games at a time when handholding had become the norm. It's safe to say that Demon's Souls is the most challenging game I have ever played. I've tried many times to complete the game but to no avail...and I don't think I ever will. This is a game that requires devout patience, time, and effort. The more you explore the world, the more you will see how much thought was put into this game. After watching a few playthroughs of the game being beaten, I have complete respect for the game. While brutally challenging, the game is always fair, and if a mistake is done, it is the player's fault. A near perfect game that is hard to find fault with. Sometimes the game becomes more of a chore to play than fun though because of the respawning of enemies and lack of checkpoints in between. This is definitely not a game you can relax to. The moment you stop paying attention is the moment you die and have to start the area all over again. This is a tense game where you have to be very calculated and aware. On the other hand, there isn't a game like it in this modern age of gaming. In that sense, its a game that will have you coming back for more and more after countless defeats wanting to finally beat it. The menus are a bit bland and unappealing to look at, but the game has a certain charm that grows on you as if the developers purposely made the menus that way. All in all, Demon Souls is one of the best thought out games of the PS3 generation, and your enjoyment will depend on how much of a beating you can handle. Expand
  10. Apr 12, 2014
    10
    This game is really weird at first with the super derpy, greasy character creation but afterwards it proves to be an amazing game with great scenery, unique looking monsters, and really cool equipment. This game has a different feel about it in comparison to both Dark Souls and Dark Souls 2, it just feels fun and interesting throughout the entire game. Now the PvE is really nice and the NG+ difficulty is good too but, the PvP can be very one sided when it comes to fight a mage with tons of buffs that can just one-shot you or a cleric with mountains of regeneration flipping around with a great axe constantly hitting you without a chance of you winning, but other then that the PvP is pretty fun. Expand
  11. Apr 7, 2014
    10
    Welcome back to the eighties? Demon's Souls is a definite return to the challenging aspects of video games which was quite common among the Nintendo Entertainment System. The whole "trial and error" game-play is where Demon's Souls stands out in comparison to the majority of current video games. While there is a noticeable lack of content based on role-playing game standards, there's still a lot to do and a lot to replay due to the revolutionary online and the ability to create different builds to play throughout the game over and over again. Expand
  12. Apr 6, 2014
    10
    Game is toooooo easy 13/22 bossed done, and have not died more than once per each boss :)

    Awesome game still a classic, just seems a little too easy for me :)
  13. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    The game is almost 5 years old, and people are still playing and talking about it. This instantly says something about the game. I bought the game simply because of the hype surrounding it, and because I'm a huge fan of Dark Souls. At first, I didn't like it nearly as much as its spiritual successor, but after a few hours, it really started to grow on me. Before I knew it, I was 50 hours in, and still having a ball with just PvE. The game does show it's age with the somewhat clunky combat and below average character models, but it will intrigue fans of Dark Souls greatly. In all honesty, I prefer the single player aspect of this game over that of Dark Souls. It's atmosphere and intense fights are leagues above its predecessor.
    Pros: - Boss fights (Each boss in the game is incredibly intense, with fair but challenging AI and movesets)
    - Exploration (Due to the 'levels' rather than open-world, players are more willing to explore the dark world of Demon's Souls, and are rewarded greatly for doing so)
    - Story (The story is quite deep and intriguing, and I found myself having troubles putting down the controller to simply know what would happen next)
    - Leveling system (It's well-balanced, and grinding is not necessary to make a viable character)
    Cons: - Combat (While more than usable, the combat system is not as quick and varied as many modern gamers would expect)
    Overall, the game is one of the best I've ever played. The deep story and role-playing, intense boss fights, and incredible sense of exploration show the masterful quality of the game. Perhaps the best part of it is the sense of satisfaction after beating a tremendous boss. From Software has created a masterpiece, and continues to do so with the Dark Souls series. If you are a fan of Dark Souls, or want a refreshing experience, pick up this 5 year old game which blows so many others out of the water.
    Expand
  14. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    Like dark souls and dark souls 2 this game is brilliant, beautiful, massive and about 8 kicks in the family jewels difficult. And it's the starting point of the flaw that makes all three utter trash, the multiplayer elements in what is largely a solo game. The PvP works exactly as intended and adds a ton to the game. My actions affect other's games and their actions affect mine, and that is absolutely inexcusable. Things becoming unavailable to me because some imbecile can't learn isn't something I should have to deal with. If a dev wants this in their game, make it opt in. A nag screen works for everybody. Too bad this is opt out-by disconnecting the console- because otherwise it's one of the best games I've ever played. Such a horrible choice, so easily avoided, so inexplicably repeated (twice!) In over 30 years of gaming and over 20 online, no one else has ever asked players to do something outside the game that has a huge bearing on the game. This game doesn't even deserve a zero. Horrible decision on the devs part. Expand
  15. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    I give this game a 9.5.... I have had this game since 2010 but never reviewed the game, now with Dark Souls 2 out.
    Demon Souls is set up let a mega man game. You have 5 different areas you can explore, within these 5 different areas are different areas but same world... The atmosphere of this game is one of the best I have seen in a very long time ( Especially the tower of latria) and
    although there isn't much music in the game the soundtrack is very good which mostly is from fighting a boss. Controls are really good and so is the gameplay itself... If you die you are forced to play the game with half of health, until you beat a boss or consume an item that brings you back to human form. The online aspects of this game are very well done, this isn't your standard multiplayer online game, this is the type of online game that you play alone, but can be invaded by other players which they can ruin your run to the boss. However there is a duping glitch that many online players used to get all the items, stones to make weapons and what not that kind of ruined the experience for people who didn't use the glitch. The bosses in this game are just extraordinary, there are a multitude of creepy bosses in this game that will get your heart pumping, there is even a boss in this game that you fight another online player, first time that has ever been done in videogames and should be classified as innovation... I suggest you pick the game up even if you have Dark Souls 2, Demon Souls has been my favorite game for a long time now (other than chorno trigger) and Dark Souls 2 is even better, but Demon Souls started it all.. Expand
  16. Mar 11, 2014
    10
    There simply aren't any other RPGs out there like this one. It's an absolute masterpiece when it comes to almost every aspect of the game. It is really hard to go back and play a regular hack and slash game after playing Demon's Souls.
  17. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    Challenging and rewarding RPG with a great battle system and atmosphere, altough the nexus system destroys the last a bit. Punishes you for your mistakes and makes sure, you wont make them twice.
  18. Jan 14, 2014
    0
    I think the only reason people like this game is because it's difficult, which to me seems like an arbitrary reason to like the game. It's unfair but there are so many other better games that are challenging. Demon's Souls looks terrible graphically and texture-wise, the gameplay is slow and very bland. The character creation system is the worst I've ever seen in a game. No matter what you do, your character looks hideous. The lack of save points is inexcusable and annoying. And the whole online player dynamic is virtually pointless because you never do anything with them! The only good thing i have to say about Demon's Souls is that some of the bosses look really cool but otherwise this is horrible game. Expand
  19. Dec 31, 2013
    10
    This is system-seller for Ps3 and one of the best games of this generation. Very deep, very classy and very oldschool: we want more games today like this! :)
    It's a '90s RPG with '10s graphics, so difficult, so "it makes me a psychopath" game, but totally awesome and fresh in today's "more action than RPG" RPG's. :)
    I
    WANT
    MORE!!!
    :D
  20. Nov 29, 2013
    9
    Demon's Souls is not a game that I would recommend for those with little patience and a big temper; however, if those qualities do not apply to the individual then this game is highly enjoyable and very rewarding. The game-play is very well crafted and easy to master. The rpg elements such as leveling, stores, and diverse enemies (with the exclusion of a strong story) are build upon a solid foundation. The reason many are strongly attracted to this game is because of the high difficultly of it. Even the weakest of enemies in this game will kill you regardless of your level. This game promotes caution and rewards those who are persistent in their efforts with greater rewards. This game also has a new game plus mode though it doesn't appear in the main menu (you automatically start again after beating the game). With the plus mode the game's difficulty increases from 100% to 240% and then continues to increase by 40% after each playthrough. This is essentially the COD multiplayer of the rgs, nearly the same thing every time but far more rewarding and satisfying if can endure the everlasting agony of always dying. Expand
  21. Nov 21, 2013
    10
    Demon's Souls is a PS3 exclusive, so beware, if you're anything like me and you already deeply fell in love with Dark Souls on PC you might end up buying the entire PS3 system exclusively just to play this masterpiece, and that's my only complaint this gem needs to be multiplatform. But is it actually worth it? Absolutely! This is every bit as good as Dark Souls, maybe not as elaborated in some aspects (covenants are not present yet, Nexus hub instead of cleverly connected world..), but in some other aspects it even surpasses it's sequel (better soundtrack, multiplayer stability thanks to dedicated servers instead of p2p). Everything else is on the same level of exquisite quality as Dark Souls beautiful worlds (especially Boletarian Palace and Shrine of Storms), amazing level design, dark atmosphere, epic boss battles (Tower Knight, Old Hero), addictive gameplay and challenging difficulty (even though if you're coming from Dark Souls, this might be mostly a cakewalk.) Souls series is becoming a true legend. 10/10 Expand
  22. Oct 16, 2013
    9
    I've played some difficult games lately, but this is on a whole different level. This is not a negative thing, and I feel like you'd have to play it to understand the depth of this statement It's a beautifully crafted game that demands your undivided attention and forces you to recall gamer skills that you proably haven't used in more than a decade
  23. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    A breath of fresh air for the “non-casual” gamer.
    Nowadays most game developers' target audience is the “casual gamer”.
    The casual gamer is like a normal human being, except incredibly stupid. The casual gamer has the patience and mental capacity of a four-year-old. When presented with a choice, such as two possible paths, and not provided blatant evidence implying the consequences of
    each path in advance, the casual gamer will panic. They will begin to foaming at the mouth, shaking violently, and sobbing. If the casual gamer encounters a challenge and fails, they do not learn from their failure. They will continue trying to employ the same strategy, and failing, until they grow old and die, because the casual gamer lacks the basic human facilities to recognize signals and patterns that are necessary for human beings to exist and function in the world.
    Demon's Souls is not made for the casual gamer. If you're sick and tired of excessive hand holding, objective markers, shallow can't-go-wrong builds, constant cinematics, linearity, typical multiplayer mechanics, and general lack of difficulty, look no further. This is a game made for gamers who can learn from their mistakes and enjoy a challenge. It's also one of the most innovative and unique games ever conceived. It's developers like From Software that keep gaming alive for those of us with brains.
    Expand
  24. Aug 30, 2013
    4
    This game isn't the worst thing I've ever seen, but I find nothing great about it. It was made annoyingly hard, and this is not hard like to test your skills, it's like "you will die if you get hit once, and you'll have to restart the game". I also don't get the story. Honestly, I've seen better games.
  25. Aug 2, 2013
    2
    Demons's Souls is one of the most frustrating games I have ever played. The mythos is kinda fascinating, the visuals are solid and some of the online community features are interesting but otherwise It's a piss poor execution of even worse gameplay Ideas that should have died back in the nineties. I don't want to ramble on about the awkward and unnatural control setup or the boring NPC's or the punishing initial difficulty and skip to the main thing that ruins the whole game. Every time time you die not only do you loose all you demon souls (effectively currency) which is pretty sadistic as it is, you go all the way back to the beginning of the stage and all enemies re-spawn. You can try to fight your way through to the end of the stage or at least until you unlock a shortcut to the warp point at the start or fight through some then run back to the warp point and upgrade your character, but this almost doesn't matter since will be playing the same stage fighting through the same waves of enemies over and over again. It's not exactly helped by the fact that there are pitfalls and sudden difficulty spikes all over the place. I toiled for hour's to find something plausible about this game with is unforgiving gameplay, lack of music, atmosphere, decent character creator or even a pause feature make this and incredibly frustrating experience for all but the extremely patient and tolerant. My final score is a 2 out of ten. Expand
  26. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    The bottom line is that this is an incredibly innovative and well executed game. It's one of my all time favorites. No other game has instilled the sense of fear and trepidation that this one does. The designers made some very smart moves to accomplish this feat. Losing all your souls upon death can be extremely frustrating but it gives you something to play for and forces the player to take a cautious and observant approach (which is definitely necessary to progress). The bosses are superb and truly scary they will trample you in a few seconds if you are not careful. The mulitplayer component was completely unlike anything I had seen before and I loved it.

    The combat and level design are also top notch. I would go so far as to say that the combat mechanics in Demon's Souls are better than any other RPG I've played to date. Most RPG's kind of dumb this down or gloss over it but From Software really put effort into making a realistic and intelligent system this really amps up the intensity and fun factor. The weapons are very varied in terms of attack speeds, combat moves, and damage types. Some are much more effective than others against certain enemies and part of the fun is figuring out an effective strategy for defeating your enemies. Spells and miracles have a similar depth built in.

    As stated in many reviews this game is unforgiving and the comparisons to old school Nintendo games are apt (remember that old trail and error approach?). You are never really safe in this game unless you are in the Nexus which kind of feels like home after awhile. You need to adapt your play style often but you can succeed with a patient and methodical approach. I will say that the game is MUCH more obtuse than what most people are used to. The world tendencies and weapons upgrades are extremely confusing and almost no explanation is offered up (perhaps because they are not necessary to complete the game). Obviously a game like this will turn some people off but it is extremely rewarding for those who invest the time to discover it's charms.
    Expand
  27. Jun 15, 2013
    9
    A fantastic game capable of capturing the middle age's atmosphere like none other. It is brutal and it has its shortcomings (bad camera, a few cheap deaths) but it's overall a great experience, thanks also to an innovative and smart on line gaming system. A must have.
  28. May 7, 2013
    8
    "A surprising release that no one saw coming? Demon's Souls is a unique game in concept, story telling, and execution Like Dark Souls, which came after Demon's souls, isn't for everybody. Demon's Souls just as difficult and challenging as Dark Souls. Other players that played both games in the series found Demon's Souls much harder, I think because there isn't a cheap way to defeat a boss in Demon's Souls, that in the World Tendency system.

    Demon's Souls is a Dungeon Crawler/Action Jrpg. The setting that takes place in a fantasy kingdom called Boletaria. Monumentals summoned a demon called the Old One and shroud Boletaria with a fog. Demons conker the land of Boletaria, taking human souls to fest off of and to feed the Old One that will swallowing the world in fog. As for the player, you venture into the fog of north Boletaria so ether slay the demons and save the world from Demon fog or become a demon your self and rule the world with greed or is it greed? That's for the player to find out as Demon's souls gives players a new way to tell a story as it isn't directory given to the player. Instead, world and item descriptions give the player a sense of what really happen before and after the fog took over Boletaria. Personally found this way of story telling fascinating as each person as their own theories in the story of Demon's souls.

    Besides a new way of telling a story, Demon's Souls comes with a interesting online concept. Players can see the ghost of other players while in there own world. If another player dies, you can see their blood stain which will show there last seconds before death giving you cation to where you may die if not careful. Players can also leave messages on the floor giving tips or mischief to new players in their adventure. You can summon summon players in Human form to assists you in defeating the level as well as other players who can invade your world and kill you for half your souls and take your human form. This systems comes with a risk and reward system, anything good could come with benefits and drawbacks to player.

    The combat to Demon's Souls is nothing like a hack and slash game, your limited to a stamina bar, once depleted, you are unable to attack, defend, or evade. This forces you to attack and defend tactically and understand enemy patterns giving you the strategic advantage. Death comes with a toll, if killed, you turn back into soul form and drop all your souls. If you're able to head back to the same spot you last died, you pick up the souls you dropped but die again before achieving them back means losing them and dropping a new set of souls you currently have on. Souls count as experiences for leveling and currency.

    Demon's Souls is an unique game that does something new in the gaming world. If you enjoyed Dark Souls, I highly suggest picking Demon's souls to find a slightly new experiences.
    Expand
  29. Apr 29, 2013
    10
    I've played many great games during the last twenty years, and Demon's Souls is one of the best.
    I wish I had come to it earlier, but it's reputation for being brutally hard kept me away.Fear not.
    Sling a spell, discover a ring or two in the first level, keep your shield up, and patiently persevere,
    and you WILL succeed. And then, slowly but surely an unforgettable, incredible gaming
    experience
    will open up to you. One that contains beautiful, INGENIOUS level designs; an arsenal of weapons
    and spells; REALLY fun, strategic combat; and hair-raising danger and suspense.Don't miss out (like
    I almost did) on this amazing achievement.
    Expand
  30. Apr 22, 2013
    10
    Many complain about this games difficulty but it really comes down skill and wits. You can't just run into a battle swinging your sword expecting to do well. You actually have to think about your strategy in the fight. You also have to know your style of fighting. If you have great timing, you would be well suited for a regular shield so you can counter attack enemies. If timing isn't your forte, then you can use a Great Shield for increased defense but no counter ability. Same goes for the weapons. You need to recognize your enemies attacks and either block or dodge accordingly. This game is not that hard if you use your brain and practice. You have to have good stamina management, and be aware of your surroundings so if you are fighting, you know where you can back up and not fall off a cliff. If you think this game is too hard, you just aren't trying hard enough, or you just aren't as good as you thought you were at video games. Expand
  31. Apr 8, 2013
    10
    Most negative critics of this game have no patience. They're accustomed to modern games, which allow you to rush through them, mindlessly smashing buttons and spamming healing items. This game requires you to trade blows with your enemy, manually dodge, block, and parry attacks, while waiting for a clear opening before attacking. These people can't handle this game which requires you to observe your enemy's movements and attacks, rather than rushing in to every enemy hammering buttons and repeatedly chugging healing items. If you're dying a lot, and repeating the same part of the game over and over and over again.. it's because you have no patience, and you are not putting forth any effort to learn from your mistakes.

    Regarding the story: This game has a clear story so long as you talk to NPCs, read item descriptions, and realize the link between bosses and the storyline provided by NPCs and cutscenes.

    Regarding the multiplayer aspect: Players cannot invade your game at any time and kill you. Very specific requirements must be met. First of all, any area in which you have defeated the boss, players can never invade you in that area. Second, you must be in Human form. You spend the majority of the game in Soul form, which means for the majority of the game, other players cannot invade your game.

    In regards to the lack of checkpoints/save points: As you explore each level, you unlock shortcuts (such as opening a gate, or activating an elevator), allowing you to skip most of the level, should you need to return to the level again. You don't need a checkpoint when you can skip most of the level.

    Now for some complaints of my own:

    Lack of stat explanation in relation to equipment. It is not intuitive, not to mention the seemingly arbitrary icons used for stats.

    After defeating a boss or recovering your souls, large text and graphics are overlayed on the screen, while the game is still live. This is terrible design for any game.

    FPS drops in specific parts of the game.
    Expand
  32. Apr 7, 2013
    2
    I was pretty shocked when I looked at the reviews for this game, so many of them so high. First and foremost this game is utter garbage. The controls are terrible, the graphics for a 2009 PS3 game look horrendous, there are many PS2 games that look stunning in comparison, even attempting to compare it visually to any modern game and you will find yourself looking like a fool. I was fortunate enough to get this game for free from PS+ membership, if i had actually spent money on this I would be nearly as pissed as I was when I purchased BRINK, which is hands down the worst video game ever created. Expand
  33. Mar 4, 2013
    10
    Do you remember the old gaming times with NES? games such as Castlevania and Super Mario Bros. They were hard as f##k and took dozens of attempts to even get to the end boss. But still they were enjoyable and really fun to play. Demon's souls is like a 3D HD child of those games. It's hard, it's unforgiving and holy s##t is it fun to play! I won't spoil the little there is to an story, but let's just say that you are a brave hero who travels the lands to fight evil. And 95% of the time that evil kicks your ass and cleans his ass with whats left of your body and then throws it to the demon dogs to play with... more or less. Demon's souls is a western style Japanese role playing game with a difficult, but rewarding combat and great sense of exploration. You level up your hero and get new equipment and kill lots of monsters and so on. This games dark themes make sure that you never feel safe and every single enemy might just be your doom. Words can't explain the awesomeness of this game, so let me just say this: Go buy this game just now! trust me, it's worth it. After about 100 deaths you will be a fearsome killing machine! Expand
  34. Feb 28, 2013
    10
    No matter what words spawn from my mouth, they won't make this game any justice. By now everything has already been said about it, I can only express how much of a masterpiece it is, and how it has redefined the medieval RPG action/adventure genre. It's the game I always yearned for, and it will remain one of the best games not only of this generation but of all time. Probably the thing I love about it the most is how it kind of mixes adventure-hack slash with survival horror, haven't felt so anxious during a game since the early silent hill/resident evil. And the whole thing just kind of spells Lovecraft al over the place, i love it. Expand
  35. Feb 3, 2013
    9
    Superb level design. Great customization.
  36. Jan 29, 2013
    10
    O jogo foi uma descoberta incrível de um sistema muito divertido de se jogar. Indo na contra mão de todos os grandes jogos lançados, a dificuldade é sua maior marca. Me fez gastar muitas e muitas horas de puro prazer até conquistar a platina.
  37. Jan 6, 2013
    9
    What's great about Demon's Souls is that it always gives you a choice of what you'd like to do. There are so many things to do, and the game never forces you to travel down a single linear path. The only downside to the game may be that some enemies are slightly imbalanced, and it is also possible for you to screw up your play-through and be forced to restart. But even after restarting the game twice, I still felt like defeating some of the bosses I'd already killed, just to progress to the very end. It was a fun experience throughout. Expand
  38. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. I really almost went without buying this game but it was on sale one day and got some pretty good reviews and so I decided to give it a try. Anyway what followed was a week that has gone missing from my life and none of my friend or family knew what happened to me that week. What did happen was I was in the dark dangerous dungeons of demons souls and was fighting for my life. This game was fun, addicting, and beautiful. I loved the setting, the huge bossed, the combat and the online reading different tips, I loved the traps and the experience of going online a reading about how to do or kill or get past something. When I was away from this game I was reading how to do the next part, studying how to overcome an obstacle. This game amazed me even at the very end. There is one thing that does seem kind of ridiculous which is the gem stones, you only get I think 10 times and if you mess up well that is too bad. But that is only for those who want to create a weapon. I loved how it started and had the nexus with all the tips written about, if felt like i was taken truely to another place. I have never felt this much immersion and dedication from or for a game before. As of writing this review the only other games i have given 10s have been braid and uncharted 2, and metal gear solid ps1 Expand
  39. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Before I continue, I will type a disclaimer...THIS GAME WILL NOT PLEASE EVERYONE! My brother and I both played this game. He enjoys fun, relatively less-challenging games and first person shooters while I enjoy highly-technical fighting and action games. He acknowledged that it was a great game, but put it down permanently after a few hours. I am still playing it with multiple profiles and it has never gotten old. If you are unsure about your game preference, borrow or rent this before buying it, and make sure you beat at least two bosses before passing judgement on it. Now, on to the actual review:

    The story is great, not because it is terribly confusing, but because of the subtlety. A mad king awakens the Old One in order to gain the power of the soul arts (magic). As a result, demons spew forth and feast upon men's souls, leaving soulless zombies to attack those who are still sentient, tumbling the world of Boletaria into chaos and providing nourishment for the more powerful demons. The last bastion of humanity (the Nexus) has trapped your soul, preventing you from dying until you help put the Old One back to sleep. While I just summarized the plot in three sentences, the various NPCs you meet continue the story, with convincing voice acting that explains how each of them were affected. Some stories are sad, some terrifying, and none are happy; such is the land of Boletaria. This is a land of horror-fantasy where success looks bleak, enemies always seem to have the advantage in either power or surprise (or both), and boss battles actually force you to stop outside the boss chambers and think to yourself, "Am I really ready for this?"

    Any protagonist braving the dangers of Boletaria needs to have a ridiculous amount of determination, and the gameplay reflects that. You will die. A lot. And you will repeat things after you die. You also lose all your souls, which are both currency and XP points in this game (you can either use them to buy items or use them to level up). Lost souls are deposited in a bloodstain at the location of your most recent death, and touching it gives them all back to you. Death before touching it, however, causes it disappear forever, along with all your souls! While this may sounds tedious, it was my experience that it was a great provider of accomplishment. Every time you die, you learn something new about the world you are in, such as, "There's a zombie in the shadows over there!" or "That enemy is waaaay too powerful!" On the next playthrough, you adjust. In short, while there is a lot of repeat, areas you have traversed multiple times prove virtually no challenge after a few attempts, provided you are actually playing the game the way it is meant to be played, and not expecting to blast through the enemies like in most games currently on the market.

    This in and of itself would make for a great game, but the multiplayer makes it almost perfect. Taking a completely innovative approach, you join a multiverse of other human players in the world of Boletaria. Each game is treated as a parallel universe, meaning that each player is the one and only PC in their version of Boletaria, but there are ways to connect to the other worlds out there. Even in normal play, ghostly apparitions of real players on the PSN can be seen in your game, going through their own actions, completely oblivious of your observation. Deaths of other players leave spectral bloodstains in your world, where you can touch them to see a replay of the last ten seconds before their death (which can warn savvy players of what lies ahead). Players can write messages on the ground that can be read by all people online, giving hints or misleading other players. And, of course, you can temporarily join another player as either friend or foe, helping them defeat a boss demon or trying to murder them for their souls and a chance at getting your living body back.

    This has become a rather lengthy review, and it is time to cut it off. The reason I ramble on is because this game is really a shining jewel amongst PS3 games. It is just a pity that it is not accessible to everyone, but to make it easier would detract greatly from the game. What I have described is only a fraction of what Demon's Souls has to offer, so if you think it will appeal to you, go rent or buy a copy, take out a few demons, and see if it is your speed.
    Expand
  40. Nov 18, 2012
    9
    Gameplay - 10/10. Graphics - 10/10. Sound - 6.5/10. Overall - 8.8/10. It
  41. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Though there are a lot of glitches in the game, you will spend plentyof hours with your friends and others going throught the levels and getting the best weapons. Graphics are perfect for this game and gameplay is also good. A nice take on a RPG.
  42. Nov 12, 2012
    10
    Best game of this generation by a mile !!!! When the gameplay is this good and game design so intuitive nothing else matters. nothing comes close to this !!! this title was flawless imo !! even better than the sequel best games this gen imo 1) Demon souls 2)Mgs :Guns of the patriots 3)Xcom 4)Arkham city 5)Bayonetta 6)kill zone 2 7)Dark souls 8)Vanquish 9)Dead space 10) zero escape

    if you have alot in common with me for fave games and havent played DS PLZ GET UP GRAB YOUR WALLET AND GO!!
    Expand
  43. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    This game is definitely not for everyone. It's hard, it's unforgiving but i liked it very much ! I have finished it more than 3 times ! One of my best ps3 game !
  44. Oct 13, 2012
    9
    It is one of the best action rpg games ever made but didn't need to be that unforgiving it doesn't make it better but that's just me. Having said that it's a great and immersive game which must be played by all hardcore gamers. Especially them.
  45. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    This game is for people who enjoy brutal and unforgiving consequences when making mistakes. Because of this I highly recommend this for the masochistic gamer. It provides a unique ARPG experience and challenge that many games lack now. The major annoyance I had with the game is the Soul Form / Human Form pvp system. This game screams "come at me bro" if you play online and remain in human form. For that reason I usually ended up committing suicide in the haven after returning to human form until I was ready to pvp. Also, for people interested in playing so late after the release, if you do intend to pvp as a new player on your first play through be prepared to be out geared by those who have been around a while. Expand
  46. Sep 29, 2012
    8
    Demon's Souls has shown me how much I really SUCK as a gamer. LOL! :) If anything, it's teaching me how to be more situationally aware of what I do and is actually helping me to become more skilled - albeit, slowly, because apparently the depth of my Suck As a Player runs deeper than I ever imagined. I bought Demon's Souls knowing how horridly difficult it was going to be, but I had NO CONCEPTION of what hard was until I played this game. After multiple and exceedingly frustrating deaths that I could have avoided had I remembered that my health bar doesn't replenish automatically and that I actually have to eat something to restore it (playing WoW for so many years has made me complacent), I ultimately end up throwing the controller into a pillow on the couch while shouting "SCREW this game!" I then shut off the game in indignation for awhile and play Plants vs. Zombies on my iPad for awhile to soothe my ego and make myself feel "uber" again. ;) Though it's frustrating as hell, I have to admit - it's kind of hilarious how hard this game is, so if you can maintain a sense of humour and are bullheaded and machochistic enough to keep trying - it's actually a fun game. Gameplay is organic and is how you would fight in real life - you need to adapt to each new horror that lurks in the dark around the next corner. Though this game is profoundly hard (times 10 to the power of 73), it kind of hails back to the unforgiving games I played back in the 80s and 90s, games that required skill and weren't forgiving of errors - once you died, that was it - you had to start over from the beginning. Demon's Souls is engaging, dark and frightening, because once you die - back to the beginning of the instance you go. It requires you to pay close attention to your environment. Spamming spells and button mashing won't help you here - you have to learn how to fight like you would in real life - if real life consisted of undead attacks and giant demon bosses trying to crush you into hamburger. Attacks must be actively blocked, dodged and parried - there is no auto-attack to save you. You need to assess what each enemy is throwing at you and change your play style accordingly. I both love and hate this game. I hate that it shows me how truly incompetent and unskilled I am as a gamer, and yet I love the smug satisfaction of progressing JUST a little bit more each time. It's worth the multiple deaths and blows to your pride because when you DO progress a little further, you feel like a rock star. LOL! This game is like going to gamer gym - it will make you a better player at other games because other games will be simple after playing this. I've only been playing it for a month on and off, and so far and I am ashamed to admit I haven't gotten past Boletarian Palace (which is the first world - yes, I suck that bad). I haven't found much in terms of lore or story yet, but the atmosphere, constant threat of inevitable death and the tension created by the game's difficulty distracts from the lack of story so far and feels like I'm actually there just fighting for my life. I love the fact you can see the ghostly forms of other players running past you, and smears of blood that, when touched, show you how the other player died - and there are a LOT of blood stains, which in a way, make you feel better for failing so much. In an odd way, the blood stains, messages on the ground and ghostly forms of other players running past you and disappearing add to the atmosphere of this dark and difficult game, and make you feel a little less alone in your valiant quest to suck less. :) Expand
  47. Aug 24, 2012
    10
    this game is not bad i bought this game sat down 1 hour into game it got hard i mean confusing the no like save data or check point really odd none the less i die start back start really headache but none the less it good game prove to be more challenging then i expect gave it 10 cause it got good graphic and fighting in it
  48. Aug 22, 2012
    1
    Hard should be a difficulty setting in the game, not the only option of the game, from that to the repetitive base you imply, since, once you die, you will have to do it all again, its like playing an 8-bit console game with graphics.
  49. Aug 15, 2012
    9
    A master piece for its time, a great game for any RPG fan..
    Beautiful,Brutal, fast paced, many different ways to play, I could sing this games praises all day..
    Unfortunately with shutting down of the servers this game has lost a lot of what makes it fantastic, although it can all be found in dark souls now..
    If you've played dark souls and enjoyed it, I'd highly recommend coming back
    to this for a solo play through or 2.. Expand
  50. Aug 6, 2012
    9
    I loved demon souls but I would not recommend it to everyone. It has become such a controversial game recieving every single review score from 0 -10 by different people. Whether or not you like it depends on your taste. It annoys me when I read reviews of people claiming the game is too difficult and so it's crap. If difficulty isnt your thing then this game isnt for you and thats fine. I have no interest in sports games but I dont go around posting on websites that fifa is crap, Its just not my kind of game. Now i'm not saying the game is perfect, it has some flaws like occasional framerate drops and the occasional unfair death which is annoying but overall I found it very enjoyable. The sense of accomplishment when you defeat a tough boss or complete a tough area is incomparable really, Also I think the game for the most part is fair, I played it offline the whole way through with no online help or guide and I didn't ''die hundreds of times'' like so many people claim they did nor did I ''spend hours grinding'' It was VERY hard and I think I died about 40 or 50 times throughout the course of the game. People also complain about getting set so far back when you die and losing all of your souls but that is vital to the game experience in my opinion because it gives you something to lose! it had a DONT DIE OR ELSE!! kind of feel to it. Thus I would baby-step my way through certain areas scanning everything and shield up at all times with my heart in my mouth afraid to die. It made the game so intense. I wouldn't be nearly as careful or take as long if The punishment was to restart back 10 seconds to the nearest checkpoint. That pretty much summed up the game for me, intense and enjoyable. It does suck when you die but you do learn. You realise right i may pay closer attention to traps triggered by such and such or OK that guy was very well hidden I should lure him out with arrow shots so he does
    not have a vantage point advantage over me etc etc. There,s way more examples but its strategic and that.s the point. In short the game is not for everyone like I said earlier but if you would like an intense addictive game that is rewarding and enjoyable demon souls is well worth your time. Possibly my favourite game on ps3.
    Expand
  51. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game I've played this generation.
    Difficult and addictive, does not just keep playing until you finish the game, but until you get the platinum!
  52. Jul 7, 2012
    9
    I haven't played a game that really challenged nor rewarded me in awhile then Demon's Souls. This game is excellent. Tough levels with "bosses" that really are as advertised. If you grew up playing games like Mega Man or any other similar old school games you will thoroughly enjoy Demon's Souls.
  53. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Was never a tale of such lore was Demon's Souls. A game so difficult your character laid crumpled, broken and very much dead in the original cover art. Yet was it really that difficult? Neigh, only momentarily frustrating at best. Demon's Souls was a game that never should have happened; a miraculous moment when everything in the From Software headquarters was in precisely the wrong place to prevent its coming. It wasn't a sequel, it wasn't targeting a particularly well known demographic and it was, for all intents and purposes, exactly the sort of thing you do not want to do in terms of business. The rest, as they say, is history. Demon's Souls has become a phenomenally successful Playstation title, one that lead gamers to the darker side of gaming where health was neither copious or advised and games were never forgiving. Demon's Souls is just brilliant. Even when the initial fear to round a corner starts to wane as you begin to memorise near every minute detail of the environments there is that unrelenting reminder that you are always only one mistake from death and a tedious journey to a checkpoint unknown. This game doesn't play nice, it's designed to oppress you and it's by beating it over and over again that the player will find its true value. Making this game your **** is exactly what makes it so damn fun. Expand
  54. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Do you have what it takes to be a Demon's Souls player? When you first grasp this game in your hand, with that ghostly knight gracing the cover, you should almost hear the sound of horns being played in a majestic roar while all customers and clerks in the store gaze at you from behind cover. Demon's Souls is a video game in every true sense of the definition, a throwback to the days of unforgiving NES titles, wrapped in an RPG so detailed its depth will burrow itself into your soul and never let go. So many words could describe this game, and no review could ever say them all, so understand this first and foremost, Demon's Souls is something you absolutely must discover the beauty of all on your own. No one can ever explain to you exactly what it's like and just what to expect, other than it's an RPG, it's knights and castles, and you WILL DIE. LOTS. I hope to shed some light unto your soul though so heed this if you will. The game is a masterpiece of many many things ranging from complexity to balance to absolute infuriating fairness. The game is punishing to the core, but even more so rewarding. The game seems impossible but is only as impossible as you try and make it. We begin by learning of The Old One, an awoken Demon that must be put to rest along with many other demons. That is about as deep as the plot goes, for this game is not story based at all. This was a turn off for me early on but I soon discovered the game was never about story, but about pure thick gameplay and strategy. As mentioned above one cannot justify this game in few words so I am already moving on from what the game is about to try and tell you about the games core. Like most RPGs you will create a character and be sent on a journey, a true journey, one that will test your limits as a gamer. The Elder Scrolls this is not. When you begin, you are facing a long hull of monsters, abominations, soldiers, and most frightening of all, Demons. Every enemy you face is a stand off and you will not simply mow them down like a hero. No sir, you will time, block, strike wisely, carefully, and never become greedy or you will die, guarantee it. Death in this game is not simply restarting a checkpoint, death in this game is a punishment, and always seems to be shouting "now what did we learn?" in your face. Tons of progress can be shattered with each careless attack or misjudged footing and no one will pity you. The game is so hardcore you cant even pause it, the start button brings up items and stats with gameplay still in full motion. With each kill you collect souls, souls are your currency for everything. Leveling, buying, repairing, ect. When your killed your souls return to zero, however you do have one chance to recollect them if you can return to where you died and pick them up, but die again and your souls are gone forever. This will happen a lot. You then respawn at the start of an area, sometimes what seems an eternity away from where you died. This is where the game proves itself. Sure you will want to destroy your controller, but you will always want to journey again and do right this time. Its quite special really. The game is so balanced, so fair, and death is so your fault that you cannot blame the game for your mistake, and you always learn what you did wrong. The game features short cuts if you can figure them out, as well as hints via other players online who can write limited messages on floors for others to read. They even appear in and out as ghostly figures walking the halls with you, its great. The atmosphere is top notch, the graphics great, sound is superb and haunting. Everything is just awesome. I want to say so much more but cant, and I urge you to at least try the game. When I first began, I honestly did not enjoy it. I found it dull, aimless, and felt buyers remorse. But thank God I was able to eventually see what the game was truly offering, and now the game hardly ever leaves my mind. I have played for over a year and I still cannot play without learning at least one new thing every single time, the game is that deep in strategy and consequence. With everything I have written, I have barely scratched the surface of why this game is great. I didn't mention World Tendancy, The Nexus Or Human form Soul form, I didn't mention how amazing boss fights were, I didn't mention how you will sweat and shake in battle even with often routine enemies, I didn't mention the infinite times you can play the game over, and I didn't mention how terrifying every new step is to you. You will fear death in this game, you will watch your back and wear thin the L1 button which is your shield, and you will throw your hands in the air when a Demon boss falls at your feet in defeat. This game is special and worth every penny which is a rarity in itself with today's gaming. Get this game and prepare for the RPG journey you always wanted, learn to embrace death, and prove you got some soul in you. Expand
  55. May 30, 2012
    10
    I don't think of myself as a hardcore gamer but I absolutely loved this game. The best part of the game is being able to play with others and, not having to deal with half wits screeching stupid comments because guests are muted. It is, so far, without any doubt my most beloved PS3 game. I enjoyed it more than Dark Souls, as well. Although I look forward to a sequel from either Demon or Dark Souls because the implementation of multiplayer is brilliant! Expand
  56. May 16, 2012
    5
    I think what constitutes a good game is that it presents a difficulty appropriate for every player. If you're a hardcore gamer, you should be able to find hardcore challenges in a good game. If you're a leisure player unable to spend hours on the game, you should be able to find appropriate challenges for that type of playing too. I appreciate that Demon's Souls has the ambition to put up challenges that other RPG games don't dare to do to because of fear of losing customers, but without sufficient of time you end up spending an hour solely on dying. A potential outcome of this gaming hour is that you learn how to get past a few enemies, but at the start of the next gaming hour, you're at the beginning once again and your previous achievements are not reflected in the new gaming session. Therefore I believe that Demon's Souls lack diversity; it caters for a certain kind of player. For anyone unexperienced, it is ruthless and the satisfaction from finally beating a monster does not weigh up all the frustration you've gotten from dying and starting all over for the hundredth time. Expand
  57. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    This game didn't look appealing to me at all when it first came out despite hearing rave reviews about it. Recently my friend made me start playing it and at first it was really hard and really frustrating but after you get past the first few bosses and level your character this game is a blast. You still die a crap ton but the game's beauty and fighting mechanics just amazed me time after time again. Think of all the dying as a teaching mechanism for getting really good at it. It's pretty hard to say that about very many other games. One of the most satisfying videogame play throughs I've ever experienced. Expand
  58. Apr 1, 2012
    9
    Demon's Souls is a soul crushing game. The dark world adds significantly to the stiff difficulty of the game and the unique online play never breaks the lonely atmosphere. It is seeped in old fashioned level design and being sent back to the start of a stage can be frustrating. The balance of your arsenal is off as magic can be too useful and armor is useless but the swordplay well made. This game is certainly not for everyone, but anyone willing to put up with its unforgiving nature will find an experience like no other. Expand
  59. Mar 29, 2012
    9
    After Demon's Souls, this game is a must have for all players who need a different kind of challenge. Personally, I found this game easier than its predecessor (in general), but more and more fun!
    In one word, this game is AWESOME!
  60. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    demon's souls is a perfect combination of challenge, atmosphere, and fun. best integration of multiplayer in a game of this style yet! awesome, unique music, and a blast to try out new characters and builds.
  61. Mar 10, 2012
    9
    Every action you take has consequence(s). Every mistake you make in Demon's Souls is your own. I've played this game start to finish several times. I am yet to die from clipping, clunky controls, poor hit detection or even ambiguous level design. Gameplay is perfect, Lore is enthralling. From Software needs to start a donations page.
  62. Mar 3, 2012
    10
    I grew up playing those hard as hell games from the 80'swhere save points and re-generating health would have been laughed at but I preserved and the reward was triumphant when defeating some of those insurmountable challenges (Dr. Wily from the early Rockman/Megaman series) being one of my arch video game nemeses. Somewhere between then and now gamers got mollycoddled and hand held and I forgot what a true game challenge was, and that to finally finish a game was a celebration. Now days I just play to finish the dam thing not for the challenge. Well enter Demon's Souls. What a surprise to find a game in this day and age that mimics the classics of yesteryear. Initially, my older self was a bit reprehensive about the many deaths, returning to beginning of levels and the repetition but then the kid in me joyously reminded me that this is how it used to be. Demon's Souls by todayâ Expand
  63. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    BEST RPG game ever!, sooooo underrated too, i mean how the **** can an AMAZING game like this get a 7 or 8 while other **** games like Skyirm get 8 and 9, believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its so much fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with a PS3
  64. Feb 20, 2012
    10
    Demon Souls is the BEST RPG game ever!, its really underrated too, i mean how can an AMAZING game like this get a 7 or 8 while other **** games like Skyirm get 8 and 9, believe me.. you MUST buy this game.. Its really fun, the story is also AMAZING! You will really like this game, I highly recommend this game to everyone with a PS3
  65. Feb 18, 2012
    10
    Demon's Souls is a true innovative game. Where death normally seems formidable, DS has a new kind of definition: death builds up experience. The more you die, the better you will learn to survive. The no-saving open world is also a very original concept in a single-player game. Just like an MMORPG, DS brings in online multiplayer in surprising ways such as changing difficulties, clues left by other players and invading others' worlds. Overall, my only complaint is the lack of items : this may be why it's fun though without looting weapons and armors everywhere and stick to a limited supply for better experience. Expand
  66. Feb 15, 2012
    9
    So, you'll die a lot in this game. You'll be really challenged, maybe even frustrated and there is not much of a story to speak of. But... if you are looking for something gratifying and a real sense of accomplishment, this is singularly alone, barring the spiritual successor to this game, Dark Souls. Demon's Souls will not hold your hand, in fact it will throw you to the wolves... A LOT. And unlike a lot of other modern games pretending that your previous death didn't happen and sending you back only a few minutes earlier to to your previous auto-save, death is a big part of the game and it matters if you die, the game doesn't pretend you didn't die, Demon's Souls wants you to learn from your mistake by sending you back to the beginning of the level. The sense of accomplishing something difficult is the crux of this game, and if that is something you're interested in and you've overlooked this game, get this game now; there are very few games out there as good and gratifying as Demon's Souls. Expand
  67. Feb 12, 2012
    8
    Demon's Souls is extremely difficult with a load of frustration of failing. You will die several times until you get the hang of what you can conquer and when to retreat. A fun and very challenging game with a very unique story line.
  68. Feb 7, 2012
    10
    Demon's souls is the best game I have played on the PS3 yet, in February 2012. The 3rd person gameplay with accurate controls, the simple yet effective user interface, lots of items and gear with upgrading possibilities, stat bonus/resistance system and the true RPG way of allowing you to build your character in any way you want make this game truly a joy to play. Truly a MUST BUY.
  69. Feb 3, 2012
    9
    I just want to leave a rating but Metacritic is retarded about letting its users do so and does not allow them the ability to see their past ratings unless they leave a review.
  70. Dec 30, 2011
    1
    I cant really explain this. I love Dark Souls, it has become my favourite game of all time, but still i hate, hate and hate Demon's Souls. Its easier then Dark Souls, but its maddeningly frustrating and cheap. Demon's Souls is one of the most over-rated games of all time. Skip this one and buy the sequel.
  71. Dec 11, 2011
    7
    Let me start off by saying someone put the difficulty setting to hope crushing. This game is so agonizingly hard it almost makes you want to stop playing altogether. But the once you get the hang of the game, its kinda fun. My only issue is it is a very linear game, with no plot whatsoever, and you basically play it over and over and over. Nothing changes except the difficulty. It gets to the point where if you make even the smallest mistake, you die. Nevertheless the game is really great and if you want a challenge, look no further. Expand
  72. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Demon's Souls alone would be a good reason to buy a PS3. Even if there weren't others. It's not difficult, it just rewards patience and learning. Start your journey, you'll never forget it.
  73. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    This game took me a while to get into. The combat seemed strange at first. Even took me a while to appreciate the graphics. I gave this game special treatment and decided to commit myself and play through this game to see what all the hype was about. Boy am I thankful I did. While playing this game I finally understood why every one loves the combat in this game. The combat has weight! You truly feel in control of your character, and must very intently involve yourself in the combat. If you are killed, it is because you were not paying attention, or simply got too excited, or maybe your gear is not up to par. No need for a story here. You are given a glimpse of what the story is about but even that quickly fades away as you create your own story while you battle monsters and demons in a far away place. It is easy for me to simply play for hours and feel that I am in that 'far away' place. The graphics did have to grow on me but i soon came to appreciate those as well. 9-10 Expand
  74. Nov 25, 2011
    6
    I'm unsure about this game. The general consensus was that this game is difficult beyond reason and i'd agree. If you actually thought about it you don't do much you move forward, when you encounter an enemy you block then wait for an opening then attack, easy right? and it is there isn't any puzzles either. What really does get to me is we have now moved on from then ancient ways of dying and starting from the beginning and even then you'd get check points and life, but in this you don't. I'm up for a challenge but come on your telling me i'n not allowed to even pause this game, RUBBISH.
    I'm a 27 year old male, who works full time and i have two young sons. So when i get in i spend some time with them and then (because if you don't she'll start moaning) i spend some time with the missus. When i'm finished my "duties" then i get a bit of gaming in, which may i add is around 9pm. so when i switch my PS3 on i want to play something thats going to help me escape the stresses of, DEMON'S SOULS will not. I'm already frustrated so i don't need that from a video game. For me this game is for people who doesn't have the responsibilities i have and can pour countless hours into it. When i play a video game i want to feel like i'm progressing, if i don't feel like that whats the point.

    well i gave this game a 6 because even with all its faults i still enjoyed the experience upto my current position. If i'm honest i won't complete it purely because i have other games that will reward me for progressing and and sticking to it.
    Expand
  75. Nov 17, 2011
    10
    You are going to suffer in this game. Begging the monsters to give you a break while you roll away trying to reach safely. You'll curse and throw your controller at the screen too! But once you beat the game all your suffering and despair will be lifted. For the first time in your life you will feel like you actually accomplished something. Your teachers at school who said you'd never amount to anything will be red faced when you tell them you finished this game. This ain't your mom's dungeon crawler. Expand
  76. Nov 17, 2011
    9
    Right out of the gate I'm going to tell you that you should buy demon's souls, it is a great game if one known for its difficulty, everything this game does is as solid as it could be whilst you WILL die alot when playing it the deaths are never frustrating and you never feel cheated by a mechanic. The note leaving world invading system that is Online play in demons souls is as good as if playing offline and the defferent environments ingame are as atmospheric and well realised as a gamer could wish for with new game + replayability on offer and addictively rewarding combat with the different enemies you encounter demon's souls is surely a great game. The only dowsides I can find here is the need to grind for some of the rarer ingame items which is, well a grind to be honest. Expand
  77. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Truly an amazing experience that fans of rpg games and action games will love. In fact this is a game I recommend every one to try. Its deep with a long adventure tons of story not to mention the amazing on-line system that makes this simple looking game turn in to a MMO. Seriously you will feel that this game is a MMO after you start playing it on-line. It really takes the experience to a whole new level. I HIGHLY recommend this game to every one. If i could give this game a 11 I would. Expand
  78. Nov 14, 2011
    9
    first, i write this after playing dark souls, if not, my score will be of 10. i bought this game 2 years ago because i heard about his difficult and because i love action rpg games, when i playend i was very surprised, i bought this game only for culture and i finished playing it for hundred of hours. the game system is very simple but awesome hard to control perfectly, the worlds and the bosses, i love everyone of them and when you think that finally you finish it, you start the DS+, and you keep playing.... AWESOME GAME. sorry for my english and thanks. Expand
  79. Nov 13, 2011
    9
    I bought this game way back when, drawn in by the promise of a harder-than-normal experience to remind me of the punishment I used to put myself through back in the mid-to-late 80, before games started to hold your hand and show you what to do. I was not prepared for this!

    After attempting the first level several times over, I am sad to say I gave up, and went back to other, lighter
    experiences. Then Dark Souls came out - I was hooked, and decided before I progressed too far into that game I'd give Demon's Souls another go and what do you know - I'm now hooked on that!

    The first area acts as a tutorial of sorts (not that it prepares you for the challenge ahead), then you die for the first time of many. Dumped in The Nexus, a hub world from which you can access the other worlds, you must move on and seek out... Demon's souls.

    Level one finally completed, you are now able to use said souls to level up your character in typical RPG fashion. The only problem is every time you die you lose all the juicy souls you just spend hours collecting. You can get them back if you can make it back to the place of your death, but if you die on the way there, you leave a new bloodstain that wipes out the previous one.

    Having finally, after a couple of days of dying, defeated the first boss, I went to move on to the next area beyond him. It was then that I realised I'd spent so long, and died so frequently, in the first area, that a map of it had been burned to my mind, and this new area was all the more alien and foreboding for it.

    I can't really put in words (as you've probably noticed) just why this game is so great. But it is. The way I'm going, this game is likely to last a number of years!
    Expand
  80. Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A real challenge. Very dark fantasy setting. Refreshing to not have your hand held the whole time while playing. So many possibilities to explore, hidden secrets everywhere from items to npc interactions. Just beat dark souls and thought I would try demons souls again for a comparison, still loving it, cant wait for the next 'souls' game.
  81. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This game is great in all it's aspects, and if you are a game veteran this is a game you want to dig yourself into. Be aware though that this game require you to actually get involved and figure out how mecahnism and encounters work. THIS IS HARD. If you are young of age, or simply have not played much in your life, STAY AWAY, this is not for you!

    Once that is said, no game ever has made
    you feel so great at the end like this one. In other games your just good, in this game you become a GOD. Expand
  82. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    BRILLIANT! NO OTHER WORDS NEEDED! Visuals are fantastic and well the gameplay, well it may seem pretty tedious when you die but it compels you to try again and again until you prevail. This game beats the hell out of Oblivion.
  83. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    A truly must try out master piece of a game. another must experience game. try it you will not regret This is the Must Have Title for the Playstation 3. Its hard, but never have I experienced a game with so much reward to the player for putting the time and Effort into a game.
  84. Oct 22, 2011
    7
    Sincerely my time playing Demon Souls is enjoyable , I'm really digging in the gameplay, and setting but the challenge is outrageous . The problem is, I would have loved more the gameplay if it was a little bit more faster and with more combos , because the game works nicely , but what drags it out of being more fun is that is repetitive . You need to think well to achieve a kill even in the weaker enemies , with three blows or even one blow you're a dead and giving up . Though after looking the Loading menu you start in the beginning , that doesn't sound so fun for many people and they may even say the game it's broken . Still what requires the game is strategy . Expand
  85. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Demon's souls is highly recommended for hardcore gamers and people that don't get frustrated so easily. This game is addictive as hell. Give it a try and actually you'll see that it isn't a really difficult game. You need to learn or figure out how to approach your enemies. Unique multiplayer experiece gives you a lot a hints. So, if you get kill many times isn't because of cheap enemies, it's because you shouldn't be there so early in the game... or because you really suck. Of course you'll die a lot. Be patient, careful and you'll enjoy it. It's an amazing game. Expand
  86. Oct 16, 2011
    8
    What this game does well it does very well. Firstly it is very refreshing to play a game that challenges one in a relatively fair way and has a very unique style that doesn't go according to the books. The games combat system is excellent, the controls are well mapped out, the graphics are quite good, it is a challenging game that requires strategy, timing and perseverance, very nice RPG elements, memorable boss fights, a unique online experience, addicting. On the other hand the games story is very vague and almost non-existent, the game relies too much on it's difficulty to make the game seem long and big and while it isn't exactly small i would have liked 2 more levels, half the games bosses are easy, lackluster and boring while the other half are challenging and memorable(quality over quantity). I didn't mind the difficulty, hell!! it's what makes the game addicting but i don't like the fact that if one dies in a boss fight one must go through enemies all over again (I think if i could kill all the enemies 10 times, i am pretty sure i could do it again, luckily i found a way to bypass this and immediately when i die i would quit game and reload the auto save at the boss fight). The sound effects were excellent but the music could have been much better. Overall a very good game that does things differently to other games.8.5/10. Expand
  87. Oct 15, 2011
    6
    ok theres a fine line between being a hard game and being a game that dicks you ... and well demon souls dicks you more then it does at being hard. do i mind dieng alot ... no , do i mind having to start back from the begining of a level if i die ... no , do i mind challenging enimies and bosses ... no . but what i do mind is that when i die my life bar gets cut in HALF! and if i die before i get back to where i died before to reclaim my souls they are gone too . i mean i was already penalised bad enough by having to start over again and loosing all my health items to get that far and now i cant buy more since i lost all my souls, i mean the game is kinda fun and looks pretty good . the combat is pretty simplistic the story is ok . its not story heavy by any means . its also neat that people can leave messages to warn you aboiut dangers ahead as well but why is it set up for being online at all times? i prefer to play my RPG"s solo and if i want some one to join i should have the option of turning it online or off. this game also wouldnt have hurt its self by adding a difficulty option . i mean i like challanging games ive played plenty and beat them like kings field and others iif you want a game that kicks you in the balls over and over again then demon souls is for you .thankfully i bought this only for $20 new and almost but dark souls first . i would have wasted $60 if i did. id advise if you are still thinking about getting this game rent it first or buy it cheap to be sure you will get into what i just mentioned. Expand
  88. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    Should you buy this game? Is that why you're reading this? If so, yes, it's worth the money - but only because it's cheap now. There's a lot about Demon's Souls that is beautiful, even memorable. Some of the set pieces are awesome, and the grim dark styling is refreshing in a sea of cutesy characters and colourful UI design. So what's the problem? You will never, ever see this game on the PC - because with decent controls, this game would be a complete pushover. Yes, the game presents a challenge, but if you're honest, you'll realise that 50% or more of the challenge comes from the controls. Some parts are broken - you'll see what they are especially if you're a magic user. But really, a console controller just doesn't suit a game where the slightest error results in death. It's like giving a baseball bat to a tennis player and asking them how hard it is to play a match. Overall though, it's a great production, and enjoyable, but the more you play it the less satisfying and fun it gets, as you realise more with every moment that you're not fighting the monsters, you're fighting the dual shock. Expand
  89. Oct 11, 2011
    10
    Excellent game, if your looking for a challenge, this game is for you. You will die... over and over again but its a learning experience and adds to the realism of what life for your character would be like if the game was real life. I wrote up a review for this before and I have yet to see it be posted. If you were on the fence when it came out, pick it up now, it's worth $20 for sure. One of my favorite RPGs (if not my overall favorite) and just a great game overall. It was a nice surprise and I can't wait to pick up the sequel once I get some free time. Expand
  90. Oct 3, 2011
    9
    Ah, Demon's Souls...you magnificent bastard.

    Misunderstood, even by those that love it...it doesn't lack a story..YOU are the story.
    It's the story of your journey, your failures, your successes, and any information regarding over arching world events are only relevant as far as your point of view allows, because my story will be different than yours, which will be different from
    others, just as uniquely.

    This game hits the emotional spectrum on every level...devastation, frustration, enlightment, satisfaction, elation.
    It doesn't achieve that by being "too hard" or "un-fair".
    The game is perfectly fair, and yes, very challenging, but that's what makes it so great.
    If you die, it was because you weren't good enough, and yes, that is your fault, and yes there are penalties.
    The pay-off is, if you succeed, it is entirely because of your skill..you aren't going to button mash to victory here, or luck your way through a boss fight.
    That type of satisfaction is rare in gaming today where you fully expect to beat the game, no matter your skill level...a fact that is not at all guaranteed in this game.

    If you are looking for a more casual experience, this game probably isn't going to be your cup of tea.
    The good news is, that most games on the market will cater to you, and despite some sneering in some of these reviews, there is nothing wrong with that.

    Most game experiences are like winning a million bucks in the lottery.
    Demon's Souls is like working hard, through highs and lows to become a millionaire.
    Both of those are awesome, though the satisfaction you will receive from the second method is far beyond the first...but you'll have to put in the effort.

    If you just want to blaze through like a bad-ass with little chance of failure, don't try this game.
    If you want a prolonged struggle with a game that's going to make you grab it by the throat and force it to it's knees..try it out!
    Expand
  91. Sep 30, 2011
    10
    This game got me good, only game ive ever properly imported. The sheer punishment just compels you to try harder and the atmosphere has you on constant guard because anything and everything can spell your doom. The story is good too but you have to interact with the world to get the full gist of it so its not in your face. Any PS3 owner should have this game in their collection.
  92. Sep 28, 2011
    10
    I was very skeptical of this game at first, but this is one the most immersive experiences and the most realistic combat and genuine challenge I have ever found in an RPG. For those who know Phantasy Star Online, it actually play a lot like the first one, but it ditsches the grinding and the randomness for even more skill-based gameplay and exploration. A true gem.
  93. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    At a time in the gaming industry when so many games hold your hand throughout the whole experience with little to no risk involved, games like Demon's Souls are a breath of fresh air. I have to give the devs a lot of credit here for really nailing the difficulty curve to make it as hard as it can be without making it impossible or feel like you died because of stupid game design. This game just isn't that frustrating to me compared to other difficult games because it's so well done. I'm no beginner when it comes to difficult games. My favorites include the Prinny series, and old school games like Kid Icarus that were just brutal at the time, but part of that was some pretty irritating mechanics like simple jumping or not seeing what is coming. This is probably the first time I felt like every death was entirely dependent on my skill instead of dying to bad mechanics or stupid game design decisions. My character controlled exactly as I needed him to, but never took over for me when I made a mistake nor saved me from death when I deserved it.

    Every single death was productive in helping me get better at the game. It took me a ridiculous amount of hours just to beat the first level, but it was really really fun. It got to the point that every obstacle I overcame was laughably easy going through it the 100th time making the deaths feel much less daunting getting back to where I died last so I could at least recover dropped souls (like a currency from killing something). It's the kind of design that reinforced the feeling that you're always making progress, and that nothing is all that difficult if you give it time and patience.

    So to sum it all up, I think it's an incredible game in every way, unless the player prefers games with no death penalty and obstacles that are so easy you can go through entire levels in one try. if you like action RPGs, a little old-school difficulty, and great presentation, you gotta try this game!
    Expand
  94. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    First I would like to say to everybody that had 8 hours to play this game at a time and managed to beat it . Congratulations. It doesn't mean you're skilled it means you are patient and also semi-retarded. This game is only hard because of the complete lack of a checkpoint system. If most games lacked a checkpoint system guess what? they'd be pretty difficult. This game is the example of poor game design.The game would be easy if it wasn't for that. So I can't stand it when people claim they are skilled. Patience is not a skill. If you have 100 hours to give to this game than by all means do it. I don't play games for a sense of accomplishment because frankly, that's kind of depressing. I play games to have fun and this game was not. That is all. Expand
  95. Aug 25, 2011
    6
    You die in this game, a lot. The difficulty was definitely a challenge, I wouldn't really say fun though. Maybe I'm a person who likes to be easily satisfied, I dunno. The story is kind of lacking in this game. You don't play as a main character but one of many who have come to slay the demons, which personally I don't like. I did like they had extremely hard enemies that you knew that you wouldn't be able to beat at the time (or ever) so you would have to avoid them. There's not a lot of interesting people to talk to just a lot of fairly uninteresting demons to slay. I beat the first boss and returned it, wasn't for me. Expand
  96. Aug 16, 2011
    10
    this game is all about the combat for me. unlike the inexplicable haters in here I played through this game with 4 different characters a total of 6 times. Obviously I really enjoyed it. I'm fairly certain I put more time into this game then nearly all my other game time combined. It's absurd, but I truly enjoyed it.

    What I enjoyed was how visceral and immediate the combat felt. I loved
    the real feeling of terror and panic when another player invaded my game and I scrambled to prepare myself. I loved how tight the controls feel. it is not complex combo based combat like Bayonetta or DMC at all (which I also love). It's very simple, and clean. The only thing this game requires of you is patience. Right hand attack & heavy attack [R1 & R2]. Left hand guard and attack [L1 & L2]. If you are strong enough all weapons and shields may be single or double handed for faster/stronger attacks. Perhaps most importantly, there is a very handy dodge-roll. There are two weapon/equip [ie: magic,miracle] slots for each hand. The story is, you are alone, in a demon infested land. your job is to not die. Your other job is to kill all the f***ing demons. the entire story is told in the intro and opening sequences of the game. There are a handful of NPCs in the Hub area and in the world, who are mostly support players like blacksmith, soul/level-up lady, spell/miracle teachers, and another few who factor into the world nicely. If you need conversation trees in your RPG's then this game may not by for you. What I find most RPG about it is the feeling of desolation. How else would it feel to be a lone knight/priest/magician/soldier/heavy/etc.. fighting your way into, and through a land infested with demons and a thick, terrible grey fog? Playing it alone, maybe with headphones, or not, in a dimly lit room is very much a survival horror action adventure experience. I think they got it exactly right. Haters gon hate.

    it's true that the inventory management can be labor intensive. but you can also just wing it and see how far you get. Spells are helpful. Every enemy requires caution. There is not a single enemy, from the very first demon-zombie dudes you learn to use your shield, maybe reduce your armor and roll out of harms way. I think this is a tight, challenging game within a huge, awe inspiring world. They tell a far better, more visceral story with just the atmosphere and the gameplay than any other console "RPG" this generation in my humble, possibly hyperbolic opinion. in terms of personal standings. This game and Uncharted 2 are currently the reigning kings of this generation for me. So bring on UC3 and Dark Souls baby. gonna be a busy fall/winter season. better not meet any girls!
    Expand
  97. Aug 14, 2011
    10
    I am having a really hard time coming up with a really great introduction so Im just going to be blunt. Demon's Souls is a game that does not hold anybody's hand at any point. This is a difficult game but it is far from impossible. I am reading a lot of reviews where people say they cannot stand the frustration of the game and the fact that they cannot enjoy the experience because of the difficulty. I suck at hard games. I really do. I only have one Platinum trophy, for Uncharted 2. That is the only game that I have completely on the hardest difficulty. So, agreeing that I suck at hard games, why do I love DS so much? It may have something to do with growing up with video games. My first system was an Atari 2600, and I spent a lot of time in arcades. All games were hard back then! If you died, you started the level over! Anyone that knows what Im talking about can agree with the satisfaction of beating even just one level of Ninja Gaiden......or Contra. Some people dont like challenge, and that is fine. Demon's Souls got a great rating on MC because it is a beast of a game. There isnt anything "broken" in this game, and there is definitely nothing sloppy about it. Yes, your character probably does suck in the beginning....Lord knows mine did! Now my character is walking around town taking creeps out with one swing of the Bone Smasher, baby! This game deserves a 10, yea the story is somewhat lacking in the beginning...and if even if you have no idea what is going on, doesnt that make it all the more creepy? I not only nominate this game as top 5 best on PS3.....but, top 5 best games ever! Expand
  98. Aug 10, 2011
    10
    This game is hard. I will not lie at all about it. I play video games on hard difficulties just for fun, but this game.... This game gives hard a new name. But enough about how hard it is, this game is legit and fun as anything I've played in a while. I played it once, returned it after i got stuck at some point, and once again i just needed to have the unforgiving win or lose gameplay that you cannot find anywhere else. The graphics are fantastic, the game itself has an ungodly amount of facets to it, you can play it over and over and it will still be new to you. Some things aren't explained at all, however, and this leads to confusion. I've found myself looking things up online myriad times. So, bottom line, if you are looking for a game that's cheap, fun, hardcore, difficult, and you have an internet connection, i strong recommend this game. 9 of 10. Expand
  99. Aug 8, 2011
    10
    Fracking AMAZING! It's like King's Field with great combat and amazing graphics.

    Also, if you see a women wearing a golden mask show up in the top floor of your Nexus, kill her! She's evil!!
  100. Jul 16, 2011
    10
    One of the better games to come out in a very long time, every little thing in this game is perfect to me. The story itself is simple: you come to a cursed land (for whatever reason, one of the things the NPC says "Whether you're here to fight the demons or here for the power...") and you're tasked to fight off the major demon's in the land to fight off the fog. This would be cheesey IF it were portrayed cheesey. It is not full of itself (like a Final Fantasy game would be) and barely touches the main storyline. It has a dark setting to it, already making you feel weak from the start, therefore giving you the right idea from the start. The combat is very smooth and can be mastered with a little play (I say past 3 levels you should get the hang of it). The combat itself is not extremely hard, all you have to do is just dodge/block and you'll be fine. If you get hit, you will regret being hit (that is all I will say). The leveling system is very good in my opinion, but the only downside to it is that you have to plan on what you're focusing on or you'll screw up your character and not be able to equip certain items (or at least use them the way you want to). If you do screw up your character, the worst part of starting a new character is the creation. It has a very high replay value and I would be ok with just making a new character everyday. The every NPC is unique in their own way. Doing certain things will trigger new dialogue with the NPCs and helps you learn more of the land of Boletaria. When you enter 5-1, come back, and talk with the NPCs, they will share you their thoughts on Maiden Astraea and Garl Vinland (the final bosses of the 5 world), explaining how the fog clouded their souls and why they fight. Even some of the item descriptions have captured me, letting me now of it's previous owner/maker. The multiplayer design is absolutely brilliant. After 1-1, you can use three different stones: Blue stone (used when in soul form, allows yourself to be teleported to another persons world (if they accept your soul sign) and assist them, to which beating a boss gives you back your body, given after 1-1), Black stone (used when in another person's world, lets you go back to your own world, given after 1-1), and the Red stone (used when in soul form, you teleport yourself to another person's world (at free will) and you attempt to kill the person to gain your body back). So whether you feel like helping somebody or want to be a complete ass and kill somebody, they have allowed you to accomplish both in this game in a very easy and quick (I can't say quick for the blue stone though) way. All in all, a game that everyone should buy and play before Dark Souls release. Expand
  101. Mar 22, 2011
    0
    Once upon a time, before most of you were born, games were tough. VERY TOUGH. No quicksaves, heck sometimes even no saves at all. Ah yes...those were the days. And it seems that the developers of Demon's Souls want to drag us all back to those days. But is this a good idea? Frankly...no.
    As an alleged RPG, Demon's Souls has litte story. Heck, even DOOM has more story. So if you want a
    narrative, please look elsewhere. So what does this game have? DEATH...YOURS...AND LOTS OF IT.
    Mostly, your death is caused by not knowing your enemy. So you must therefore retrace your steps and fight again. But when you die you lose souls (the games currency) and so you ideally want to get back to where you died and touch your own bloodstain. Naturally, whatever killed you is still there - so be prepared.
    That pretty much is all there is to this game. It's a rinse and repeat hack 'n' slash with no party members and no real idea of what you're doing.
    Oh but there is online isn't there? And here is another major problem. You are basically online all the time, along with everyone else. People can and will, invade YOUR game and they may help you, but more often than not, they will kill you. Charming. Back you go to the beginning of the level AGAIN.
    If you like the idea of all this repetition, then you will love this game.
    Controls feel a bit 'off' unless you use target lock-on, which works, but is a great way to end up dead as you can't move the camera around to see what's behind you.
    Having said all that, the graphics are nice, the sound is OK, and the music is appropriately melancholic.
    It's a tough game, but you are always battling it's design flaws, rather than anything else.
    Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. Demon's Souls: Unbelievably hard and unbelievably satisfying at the same time. If you accomplish to get through your initial rage attacks, you will experience an outstanding action-RPG with a tense and dark atmosphere.
  2. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  3. It's stoic, uncompromising, difficult to get to know, but also deep, intriguingly disturbed and perversely rewarding. You can learn to love Demon's Souls like few other games in the world. But only if you're prepared to give yourself over to it. [JPN Import]