• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Demon's Souls Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1157 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Demon's Souls promises to be the hardcore action RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features support your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance theDemon's Souls promises to be the hardcore action RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features support your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance the single-player game. Team up with two other players in simultaneous cooperative play, working together to topple some of the game's colossal bosses, or force your way into the games of skilled players and challenge them to PvP battle. Leave hints and clues for those who will follow in your footsteps; either intentionally or through your own inadvertent demise, your bloodstains will allow your successors to view a replay of your death, hinting at how to avoid your gruesome fate. [Atlus USA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  2. Without question, Demon's Souls is one of 2009's finest titles, and an amazing, challenging journey without equal.
  3. It is an almost perfect game in what it offers. Although it might be further polished in the visual aspect, or have a better adjusted difficulty curve.
  4. Even though it does not introduce any innovations compared to its original counterpart, the European edition of Demon's Souls confirms itself as one of the best exclusives currently available on PS3. Its hard but rewarding gameplay will in fact engage any fan of the genre, assuring a fun and long lasting experience.
  5. Demon's Souls may make you throw controllers. It could possibly make you hate everything you've ever loved. It will probably make you yell curse words very, very loudly. It's also some of the best fun to be had on the PS3.
  6. 86
    All-in-all, Demon's Souls is a game every PS3 RPG fan should buy just to say that they own it, just to say that they've played it. It's up to you as the gamer to figure out if an incredibly difficult, incredibly unique game is the game for you.
  7. The enemy design is, simply put, wonderful, and so many different elements of Demon's Souls call out to me, demanding love and affection. Sadly, I cannot return its calls. It just goes so far out of its way to be difficult that it misses some key, important elements that would have made it a vastly better game.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 27 out of 337
  1. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Demon's souls is highly recommended for hardcore gamers and people that don't get frustrated so easily. This game is addictive as hell. GiveDemon's souls is highly recommended for hardcore gamers and people that don't get frustrated so easily. This game is addictive as hell. Give it a try and actually you'll see that it isn't a really difficult game. You need to learn or figure out how to approach your enemies. Unique multiplayer experiece gives you a lot a hints. So, if you get kill many times isn't because of cheap enemies, it's because you shouldn't be there so early in the game... or because you really suck. Of course you'll die a lot. Be patient, careful and you'll enjoy it. It's an amazing game. Expand
  3. joelf.
    Oct 9, 2009
    10
    This game is one of my 3 favorite playstation 3 exclusives, little big planet & pixeljunk monsters being the other 2. DS is of course nothing This game is one of my 3 favorite playstation 3 exclusives, little big planet & pixeljunk monsters being the other 2. DS is of course nothing like those two, except that it's multiplayer. It pushes the action rpg genre to new heights, and is, for this action rpg lover, the most compelling game released on the system thus far. I think of it as a "shadow mmo", since you constantly see other players, but you aren't always interacting with them. Expand
  4. raist3d
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to save that princess Yet Again(tm), or you are missing the kind of atmosphere/scary mood that a game like Silent Hill 2 creates (and yet in a different way) along with true more arcade style action and implicit AD&D rules, this is the game for you. If you have little patience, don't like RPG's, think Zelda Wii is the best game Evar, or you can't stand ever losing, getting fueled interest by the challenge, then this isn't the game for you. Expand
  5. JDog
    Oct 21, 2009
    9
    This game is great. And for those of you able to accept it's degree of challenge, extremely addicting. One thing I've seen This game is great. And for those of you able to accept it's degree of challenge, extremely addicting. One thing I've seen repeatedly in these reviews that I wholeheartedly aggree with is that it is not a game for the younger audience. The term "too hard" is thrown around a lot. There is a degree of satisfaction in going back through a level that killed you over and over and "farming" it for souls, knowing that you've grown as a player since you first attempted it. Those 3-on-1 battles no longer seem such a challenge, even though you know 1 slip up could still mean death. The combat and damage system seem very realistic, and not since the days of Atari Pitfall has a hole in the ground been considered a "foe". As much as I love the game, a sometimes spotty camera and occasional difficulty targeting what I want to kill keeps this game sub-10 level. Expand
  6. Sep 21, 2014
    9
    El primero de la saga y el mejor. Vino de tapado, sin hype ninguno y es indescriptible las sensaciones que me produjo al jugarlo. LasEl primero de la saga y el mejor. Vino de tapado, sin hype ninguno y es indescriptible las sensaciones que me produjo al jugarlo. Las satisfacciones que te da al ir superando monstruos finales son inmensas. Uno de mis favoritos de la ya pasada generaciĆ³n, una joya atemporal. No probarlo por lo menos un pecado para cualquier hardcore gamer. Expand
  7. Sep 19, 2010
    0
    I've come here to WARN anyone considering this horribly made game. The difficulty of this game lies in the not-so polished game designs andI've come here to WARN anyone considering this horribly made game. The difficulty of this game lies in the not-so polished game designs and has nothing to do with being genius or brilliant or bringing any sort of "old-school" nostalgia." First off the controls are terrible, not the button layout just the way that if you accidently push one extra attack swipe, you not only waste stamina but leave your guard open for an arrow/attack to get through. If you accidently swapped your secondary weapons, you leave yourself open for attack. You can't ever pause properly and the menus are not simple enough where easy swaps of items or equipment can be made on the fly. Enemies have no problem attacking and running through each other to mob you to death, as one breaks your shield another is landing a hit, but in instances where you have an allied NPC like the knight in the first level, you can't dare attack near him or it will cause friendly fire, huge double standard. Especially when volleys of arrows are going THROUGH the melee enemies you're trying to fight in some instances like the dragon bridge areas in the first level. (The only way enemies kill themselves is if they fall off a cliff or blow themselves up with fire). Targetting the correct opponent becomes near impossible when theres a mob of enemies. The only easy method early on is to just engage 1 or 2 enemies at a time by drawing their attention in the cheapest manner and running back as faster as you can in the most cowardly fashion, rinse and repeat and thats 99% of the gameplay. Using a bow is strictly prohibited unless you can make the kills from a VERY safe distance, since even swapping back to your shielf and sword will take a deadly amount of time. Even with a one handed cross bow (shield in other) your hero will think it is wise to ALWAYS immediately reload after the shot rather than shield and move into a safe corner first. The platforming is random or not implemented properly. Accidently falling off of cliffs will occur especially in the many tight stairwells when targetting and fighting enemies. Trying to climb knee-high platforms is needlessly glitched, where you find yourself tumbling forward into the small wall. The story is mediocre at best and when you are randomly dying every couple minutes you simply forget what is the point. The npc characters are boring to talk to and have very few lines and whenever finished shopping or speaking with them you are forced to listen through the same old goodbye message. Using souls as your only means of gaining levels and purchasing is ridiculous and makes no sense. Gaining levels one stat at a time is a very slow and painfully grinding process, especially if you're forced to kill the same basic enemies thousand times over just to feel confident enough to proceed to the next imbalanced and going-to-instant-kill-you foe. Once you've died the world tendency becomes darker, thus harder than before to the point where you can't even get to where you last died before since you've already run out of healing greens that rarely drop, but you have plenty of mana and poison replenishment potions that you don't need if you didn't become a mage early on or are encountering poison enemies. The game just becomes repetitive and the same boring level over and over, and they are mostly linear with the exception of some rooms but most of the side paths will just loop back to the main one. Do not waste your money and time and frustration. Expand

See all 337 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.