• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1043 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Demon's Souls promises to be the hardcore action RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features support your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance the single-player game. Team up with two other players in simultaneous cooperative play, working together to topple some of the game's colossal bosses, or force your way into the games of skilled players and challenge them to PvP battle. Leave hints and clues for those who will follow in your footsteps; either intentionally or through your own inadvertent demise, your bloodstains will allow your successors to view a replay of your death, hinting at how to avoid your gruesome fate. [Atlus USA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Never have we played a game that punishes so much while constantly providing a reason to keep pushing on and see what brilliance lies beyond the next hurdle.
  2. It's a shoo-in for Game of the Year contention and will likely go down as one of the crown jewels of the PlayStation 3's exclusive lineup.
  3. It is an almost perfect game in what it offers. Although it might be further polished in the visual aspect, or have a better adjusted difficulty curve.
  4. Even though it does not introduce any innovations compared to its original counterpart, the European edition of Demon's Souls confirms itself as one of the best exclusives currently available on PS3. Its hard but rewarding gameplay will in fact engage any fan of the genre, assuring a fun and long lasting experience.
  5. 86
    All-in-all, Demon's Souls is a game every PS3 RPG fan should buy just to say that they own it, just to say that they've played it. It's up to you as the gamer to figure out if an incredibly difficult, incredibly unique game is the game for you.
  6. The enemy design is, simply put, wonderful, and so many different elements of Demon's Souls call out to me, demanding love and affection. Sadly, I cannot return its calls. It just goes so far out of its way to be difficult that it misses some key, important elements that would have made it a vastly better game.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 327
  1. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Expand
  2. Oct 24, 2011
    10
    BRILLIANT! NO OTHER WORDS NEEDED! Visuals are fantastic and well the gameplay, well it may seem pretty tedious when you die but it compels you to try again and again until you prevail. This game beats the hell out of Oblivion. Expand
  3. FarronS
    Oct 12, 2009
    10
    You will notice a trend with any low scores given to this title
  4. HamdoonA
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Amazing, very challenging, yet I am just 60% and spent around 80 hours playing woooooow
  5. StevenA
    Nov 16, 2009
    9
    I've had this game for a week now and I still don't feel at home when I play it. There are so many things to get used to in the game. I am thankful that it is very challenging. Before I bought this game, I read a bunch of reviews. I couldn't find a SINGLE review that did NOT bring up the topic of how hard it was. I was getting worried. But I started playing. And you know what? It's not that bad. It's not as hard as people are saying it is. It's definitely not for casual gamers or newcomers to Role-Playing games but I've been playing RPGs for a while now and I've beaten difficult games such as Ninja Gaiden 1 & 2 and Devil Mat Cry 3, so I'm used to these kinds of games. The challenge, the environment and the combat is what keeps me coming back. It's not unforgiving hard either. It's just strict. That's good, because it forces you to stay attentive and in turn, keeps you interested. I will admit that the music isn't up to par with music from other role playing games, such as Fable, Fallout or Final Fantasy and the voice acting is humerously bizarre. But that didn't bother me too much. I was so into the game to even care. The game reminds me of Lord of the Rings all the time and the environments and concept remind of Legend of Zelda. The only other downside is that the game doens't tell you which region to explore next after you beat a boss. Overall, I give Demon's Souls a 9 on 10 and recommend it as a game to buy. Is it worthy of sequel material? Definitely! Expand
  6. PeterH
    Oct 7, 2009
    9
    Great game that is difficult but rewards skill over button mashing. Bosses are truly amazing to fight against and it is worth every penny considering the gaming experiences you get whilst exploring the world. Being chased by a dragon and a horde of soldiers along a long bridge was fantastic. Not a game for the casual gamer but for all those who love dungeon and dragons. The second best game I'vel played this year because the first will definitely be Uncharted 2. Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    Like dark souls and dark souls 2 this game is brilliant, beautiful, massive and about 8 kicks in the family jewels difficult. And it's the starting point of the flaw that makes all three utter trash, the multiplayer elements in what is largely a solo game. The PvP works exactly as intended and adds a ton to the game. My actions affect other's games and their actions affect mine, and that is absolutely inexcusable. Things becoming unavailable to me because some imbecile can't learn isn't something I should have to deal with. If a dev wants this in their game, make it opt in. A nag screen works for everybody. Too bad this is opt out-by disconnecting the console- because otherwise it's one of the best games I've ever played. Such a horrible choice, so easily avoided, so inexplicably repeated (twice!) In over 30 years of gaming and over 20 online, no one else has ever asked players to do something outside the game that has a huge bearing on the game. This game doesn't even deserve a zero. Horrible decision on the devs part. Expand

See all 327 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.