• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Demon's Souls Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 81 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1063 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Demon's Souls promises to be the hardcore action RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features support your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance theDemon's Souls promises to be the hardcore action RPG experience PS3 owners have been waiting for since the platform's launch. Revolutionary online features support your adventure like never before, presenting seamless interconnectivity that serves in every instance to enhance the single-player game. Team up with two other players in simultaneous cooperative play, working together to topple some of the game's colossal bosses, or force your way into the games of skilled players and challenge them to PvP battle. Leave hints and clues for those who will follow in your footsteps; either intentionally or through your own inadvertent demise, your bloodstains will allow your successors to view a replay of your death, hinting at how to avoid your gruesome fate. [Atlus USA] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 81
  2. Negative: 0 out of 81
  1. 100
    Beyond the initial threat of difficulty there waits a remarkable combination of accessibility and challenge, of risk and reward, punishment and empowerment.
  2. Without question, Demon's Souls is one of 2009's finest titles, and an amazing, challenging journey without equal.
  3. It is an almost perfect game in what it offers. Although it might be further polished in the visual aspect, or have a better adjusted difficulty curve.
  4. Even though it does not introduce any innovations compared to its original counterpart, the European edition of Demon's Souls confirms itself as one of the best exclusives currently available on PS3. Its hard but rewarding gameplay will in fact engage any fan of the genre, assuring a fun and long lasting experience.
  5. Demon's Souls may make you throw controllers. It could possibly make you hate everything you've ever loved. It will probably make you yell curse words very, very loudly. It's also some of the best fun to be had on the PS3.
  6. 86
    All-in-all, Demon's Souls is a game every PS3 RPG fan should buy just to say that they own it, just to say that they've played it. It's up to you as the gamer to figure out if an incredibly difficult, incredibly unique game is the game for you.
  7. The enemy design is, simply put, wonderful, and so many different elements of Demon's Souls call out to me, demanding love and affection. Sadly, I cannot return its calls. It just goes so far out of its way to be difficult that it misses some key, important elements that would have made it a vastly better game.

See all 81 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 332
  1. BobG
    Feb 15, 2010
    10
    I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the I have to admit. This game didn't click for me at first. I rented it and beat the first area and couldn't make a dent past the lizard people in world 2-1. I didn't think about it for a month, and I had to urge to buy it. So, like an idiot, I bought it. Played the same level and wondered why I bought it. Then it clicked. I blasted through the part that I couldn't get through and was hooked since then. Yes, this game is hard! Yes, you will die, a lot. But, when you do make it and kill the boss it gives you such satisfaction that no other game can give you. Do yourself a favor. Rent the game at-least. Just keep 60 bucks aside because you will buy the game after you play it. It's that addicting. Expand
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Demon's souls is highly recommended for hardcore gamers and people that don't get frustrated so easily. This game is addictive as hell. GiveDemon's souls is highly recommended for hardcore gamers and people that don't get frustrated so easily. This game is addictive as hell. Give it a try and actually you'll see that it isn't a really difficult game. You need to learn or figure out how to approach your enemies. Unique multiplayer experiece gives you a lot a hints. So, if you get kill many times isn't because of cheap enemies, it's because you shouldn't be there so early in the game... or because you really suck. Of course you'll die a lot. Be patient, careful and you'll enjoy it. It's an amazing game. Expand
  3. JoshL
    Oct 11, 2009
    10
    Emon's souls is easily the best game I've played all year and probably the best playing game I've played this gen(Not the best Emon's souls is easily the best game I've played all year and probably the best playing game I've played this gen(Not the best game this gen just best playing)its like back in the good old days when games where actually challenging but it was still your fault if you screwed up(except when you use the lock on system really close to edges though then it is kinda the games falt). The environments are all excellent looking and have fantastic art style(even if there a bit technically below par for a ps3 exclusive)and the creature design is great as well. overall its just an absolutely spectacular experience that anyone who's craving a challenge should pick up especially if you love dark themes. Expand
  4. raist3d
    Nov 1, 2009
    10
    Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. Best next gen game I have played so far. Great level design. Backtracking alleviated and removed as game progresses and you *earn* shortcuts. This game makes you feel like you earn stuff and you do master the rules, in time. If you are tired of games that water the experience automatically if you are crying, are completely linear never leaving a choice for where to go, to you- or have to save that princess Yet Again(tm), or you are missing the kind of atmosphere/scary mood that a game like Silent Hill 2 creates (and yet in a different way) along with true more arcade style action and implicit AD&D rules, this is the game for you. If you have little patience, don't like RPG's, think Zelda Wii is the best game Evar, or you can't stand ever losing, getting fueled interest by the challenge, then this isn't the game for you. Expand
  5. DaveD
    Nov 15, 2009
    9
    Demon's Souls is a great game that requires a great deal of tact and skill to fully enjoy. You also have to understand that you WILL die Demon's Souls is a great game that requires a great deal of tact and skill to fully enjoy. You also have to understand that you WILL die constantly at certain parts of the game, especially near the beginning. If you stay patient with the game, you will begin to gain the necessary skills to advance. Also, you'll find valuable treasures and equipment that will help you stay alive. Experimentation in this game is key. You will never be able to beat a level the first time you play it. You have to learn where the traps are, learn how to beat the new enemies, etc. The online feature is brilliant in this respect because it helps other gamers assist you directly or give you advice on how to advance through certain areas. This game is very polished and is quite fun to those that give it a chance Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2015
    9
    5-6 years later and this game is still worth playing. It will offer any gamer seeking a rewarding challenge exactly what they seek. It's not5-6 years later and this game is still worth playing. It will offer any gamer seeking a rewarding challenge exactly what they seek. It's not so difficult as to completely frustrate you and chase you away, and offers a good deal of exploration. The only reason it gets a 9 is while there is replay value, it can feel a bit repetitive since you are basically forced to play through the same game more than once at a higher difficulty if you are a trophy hunter, rather than simply offering a better level/difficulty scaling system that only requires a single play through of the game. Also, the graphics feel a bit dated even for a game from 2009, and at times the performance bogs down to a stuttering frame rate in certain areas where draw distance is further out with a lot of visuals being rendered on screen.

    Anyone seeking a rewarding yet challenging game, especially in the action RPG genre, this should be on your must-play list, even 5-6 years after release.
    Expand
  7. Mar 31, 2014
    0
    Like dark souls and dark souls 2 this game is brilliant, beautiful, massive and about 8 kicks in the family jewels difficult. And it's theLike dark souls and dark souls 2 this game is brilliant, beautiful, massive and about 8 kicks in the family jewels difficult. And it's the starting point of the flaw that makes all three utter trash, the multiplayer elements in what is largely a solo game. The PvP works exactly as intended and adds a ton to the game. My actions affect other's games and their actions affect mine, and that is absolutely inexcusable. Things becoming unavailable to me because some imbecile can't learn isn't something I should have to deal with. If a dev wants this in their game, make it opt in. A nag screen works for everybody. Too bad this is opt out-by disconnecting the console- because otherwise it's one of the best games I've ever played. Such a horrible choice, so easily avoided, so inexplicably repeated (twice!) In over 30 years of gaming and over 20 online, no one else has ever asked players to do something outside the game that has a huge bearing on the game. This game doesn't even deserve a zero. Horrible decision on the devs part. Expand

See all 332 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames

    Ranked: Best and Worst Horror Videogames Image
    Published: October 25, 2010
    Our Horror Week continues with a look at some of the best and worst horror videogames ever released, from "BioShock" to "Left 4 Dead." Plus, vote on your all-time favorite horror game series.