Derrick the Deathfin PlayStation 3

Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 9, 2012
    74
    The ride is fun and beautiful while it lasts.
  2. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    70
    The simplistic mechanics don't offer that remarkable of a hook, and the game spans just a couple of hours. As a light snack between big holiday releases, however, it's a pleasantly tasty distraction. [Holiday 2012, p.73[
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    70
    The game can be incredibly frustrating but this pays off with a huge sense of achievement when you finally nail a level.
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    70
    Derrick the Deathfin's stylish adventure through the ocean is packed full of charm, if not a lot of content.
  5. Oct 18, 2012
    50
    Derrick the Deathfin is a real heartbreaker. It's agonisingly obvious that Different Tuna tried really hard to make something special, and as a player you're rooting for them – but the base gameplay just isn't good enough to keep you hooked. If the graphics grab you, then the price is low enough to make this a worthwhile gamble, just don't dive in with any unrealistic expectations.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 13 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 7, 2012
    8
    After sitting down and playing through the first 8 levels of the self-proclaimed
  2. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    Here, I'll make it simple. If you can answer yes to at least one of the following:
    Do you like fun games?
    Do you like beautifully,
    Here, I'll make it simple. If you can answer yes to at least one of the following:
    Do you like fun games?
    Do you like beautifully, hand-crafted games?
    Do you have a sense of humor?
    Did you ever own a SNES?
    Did you ever own a Genesis (or Mega Drive of course)?
    Do you enjoy finely-tuned fluid character controls?

    Then buy this game. You won't regret it.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    Derrick the Deathfin is one of the freshest, most imaginative, fun & vibrant gaming experiences I have ever had.

    And I'm not just saying
    Derrick the Deathfin is one of the freshest, most imaginative, fun & vibrant gaming experiences I have ever had.

    And I'm not just saying that because I'm the developer who made it.

    Oh actually I am.
    Full Review »