Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 618 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew aboutIn Deus Ex: Human Revolution you play Adam Jensen, a security specialist, handpicked to oversee the defense of one of America's most experimental biotechnology firms. But when a black ops team breaks in and kills the scientists you were hired to protect, everything you thought you knew about your job changes. At a time when scientific advancements are routinely turning athletes, soldiers and spies into super-enhanced beings, someone is working very hard to ensure mankind's evolution follows a particular path. You need to discover why - because the decisions you take and the choices you make will be the only things that can determine mankind's future. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 50
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 50
  3. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Sep 1, 2011
    100
    In this current gen's masterpiece, Philip Dick meets William Gibson and Blade Runner meets the original Deus Ex. We can't see how on earth Warren Spector will stick with making another Disney game.
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    100
    It's rare that I play a game that doesn't just let me play the way I like, but actually showers me with prizes for doing so, and I love it.
  3. Aug 22, 2011
    94
    An impressive return of the series made by people who love and have respected the original game. A complex world to explore and a story that will engage the player for the many hours it lasts. Solid gameplay that rewards the skillful player.
  4. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex is yet again, more than the sum of its parts, one of the most captivating games in years. It's a title far from perfect, however is a must play for anyone who is passionate for great Sci-Fi stories and action games.
  5. Aug 22, 2011
    90
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is pretty good and is not a perfect game just because it lacks the originality that Deus Ex managed to get on the turn of the millennium.
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    85
    On the whole, Deus Ex: Human Revolution expects the player to handle their own progression appropriately and hand-holding is kept to a minimum. Given the often-commonplace mentality that many modern games should lead players around by the nose to one degree or another, having the guts to return to a philosophy of personal responsibility and choice isn't just smart-it's appreciated.
  7. A curious hybrid: a stealthy shooter with RPG-like exploration and storytelling. It's not as direct as a sci-fi COD, nor as expansive or open as Fallout. Instead, it's somewhere in the middle. But that's also what makes the series special, and Human Revolution does the Deus Ex name proud, providing an absorbing world to investigate and a satisfying freedom to play by your own rules. [Sept 2011, p.100]

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 20 out of 158
  1. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    I unlike many other games Ive purchased didn't wait for the reviews, instead I simply went out and purchased it day 1 on the back of Deus ExI unlike many other games Ive purchased didn't wait for the reviews, instead I simply went out and purchased it day 1 on the back of Deus Ex was one of my favorite P.C games of all time. How now disappointed I find myself...

    The game Human Revolution reminds me why multi-platform games generally fail to deliver an open experience. It feels full of compromises and bad decisions like for instance THAT cover system...what on earth were they - the developers - thinking? It feels complete out of place in a game such as Deus Ex and much worse than that is awkward and sticky. I have many complaints far reaching but the main is simply that is sits well in the shadow of its predecessor Deus Ex, a game released now over 10 years ago.

    My advice would be save yourself the money and simply - if you haven't already - purchase the original.
    Expand
  2. Sep 7, 2011
    10
    Truly amazing. Finally, this game takes me back to the original on PC. Amazing graphics, story and gameplay combine to create a trulyTruly amazing. Finally, this game takes me back to the original on PC. Amazing graphics, story and gameplay combine to create a truly immersive experience. Turn the lights down, the sound up and hang on to your controller. Great customization in both your character and weapons. Diversity on how you decide to tackle any situation you are facing. Take the enemy head on? Sure if you want. Sneak around and take them out silently? Yup, that too. Sneak about and hack terminals shutting down cameras and allowing turrets and robots to do your dirty work? Here as well. Or, combine them all and mix it up, play your way. Kudos to Eidos Montreal & Square Enix. This game rocks, don't miss it. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I have played in a long time. This game is hard as nails.. I've never been this frustrated/excited and constantly havingOne of the best games I have played in a long time. This game is hard as nails.. I've never been this frustrated/excited and constantly having to re-load saves since old school games. Expand
  4. Nov 24, 2011
    9
    If you enjoyed Metal Gear Solid 4 you will love this game.There are multiple different ways you can play through from honey badger mode (killIf you enjoyed Metal Gear Solid 4 you will love this game.There are multiple different ways you can play through from honey badger mode (kill everything) to pacifist. so there is replay value.It does not have the strongest story but the game play makes up for it. Expand
  5. Apr 14, 2012
    8
    Deus Ex: Human Revolution is a great RPG / FPS hybrid that features a lot of freedom in the way you can play. The graphics, while notDeus Ex: Human Revolution is a great RPG / FPS hybrid that features a lot of freedom in the way you can play. The graphics, while not outstanding, are atmospheric and the art design has an immersive quality to it. Likewise, the soundtrack hits all the right "Bladerunner" synth notes and instills a ton of ambiance. The plot of the game is very interesting and the cast does a great job with the script. Gameplay-wise, Deus Ex is very solid but hardly ever spectacular. It definitely feels like an RPG first and an action game second.There are also a few faults that restrain the game from becoming a true classic. Chief among these would be the weak enemy A.I and Boss fights that feel like they've been ripped from an entirely different game. Overall, Deus Ex: Human Revolution is an excellent title that will delight most players throughout it's lengthy duration. Just don't expect a sc-fi Call of Duty or you'll be disappointed... And a moron. Expand
  6. Sep 29, 2011
    8
    It's been more than a decade since Deus Ex came out. It was an epic game, a masterpiece. I had my doubts whether Human Revolution can bringIt's been more than a decade since Deus Ex came out. It was an epic game, a masterpiece. I had my doubts whether Human Revolution can bring the same feel of Deus Ex back, and I can say it really does. The game brings back the true feel of Deus Ex, with multiple ways to approach a conflict: sneak through via air ducts, hack a computer to unlock a door, or just kill everyone. Dialogue also plays a major role in this game, unlike games where talking to characters does next to nothing. The only issues I have with the game are: One, in most augmentation trees, you have to pay TWO points to buy ONE augmentation, which is kind of a rip off because these points (Praxis) are relatively difficult to come by. Two, you have absolutely no choice but to defeat bosses by killing them. If you're playing as a pacifist, you're naturally going to not invest in combat augmentations but stealth, which makes boss fights much harder. There should be diplomatic or stealthy solutions to boss fights. The game is quite long, and although it's good, I don't think there is much replay value in it. And, faithful to the original Deus Ex, the Chinese voice acting is horrific, but that's almost enjoyable rather than bad. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    I have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this isI have been playing games for a long time now and have played all types of games, from RPG to FPS and others... and I have to say this this is the worst piece of crap I have ever played. As a shooter, it completely fails, with ridiculously bad weapons. As a story, it's so basic and un-interesting it's not even funny. The level are so badly designed that it's a pain to get oriented in them, the graphics are so early 2000. Bref. This game could have been good in 2000 or 2001, but today it's just a horrible horrible game. don't believe the hype. Expand

See all 158 User Reviews