User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 272 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 272

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Most of players will get bored by the level design since there are only 10 but the plot is not the reason Capcom developed this game;
    Gameplay is Awesome and Deep, Get that S in the Bloody Palace Level if you can do it.
  2. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    Even though that i love DMC series, and i love this game there is some backdrops that cant be highlighted, the backtracking, too short , luck of bosses, luck of different enemies, few enemies in battles and compared to DMC3 slow fighting system.
  3. Jan 15, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You play as a new character named Nero and halfway through the game you start to replay some levels as Dante. Nero's Devil bringer which is arm that can reach out and grab enemies. This was a very nice feature but you Nero keeps the same weapons with him throughout the whole game. Dante though gets some other weapons but nothing to really run home about. You can't replay Nero's levels with Dante and you get about like 5-6 levels that you can play as Dante. I liked the 3rd one a little better this ones story was a little weak. they also re used the bosses too many times. If you're a fan of the DMC series I recommend you give it a try its not bad just doesn't live up to the greatness of the other games and if you just like sword combat games with a little gunplay and some sick action combos then give it a try too Expand
  4. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    Devil May Cry 4 is a great addition to the series, and does not disappoint. Great cutscenes and storyline, great fighting mechanics and boss battles, and great graphics and sound. The only thing that stops this game from being truly great is the somewhat repetitive hack and slashing, and the fact that the game makes you bactrack through levels you've already been through. That and notDevil May Cry 4 is a great addition to the series, and does not disappoint. Great cutscenes and storyline, great fighting mechanics and boss battles, and great graphics and sound. The only thing that stops this game from being truly great is the somewhat repetitive hack and slashing, and the fact that the game makes you bactrack through levels you've already been through. That and not being able to choose which character you prefer to play as hold this game back. Overall, however, the game is very solid. Expand
  5. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    While not the best game in the series, it is the best looking a smoothest running one. The DMC franchise is pure gold, and this one is no different. I love the nearly endless combonations of attacks that can be stylishly put together in a mad dash to devastate your enemy. I only have one warning, and that is not to take the game lightly. Even on its easier difficulties, this game will spitWhile not the best game in the series, it is the best looking a smoothest running one. The DMC franchise is pure gold, and this one is no different. I love the nearly endless combonations of attacks that can be stylishly put together in a mad dash to devastate your enemy. I only have one warning, and that is not to take the game lightly. Even on its easier difficulties, this game will spit you out against the wall and follow it up with a curb-stomping. Learning the dodge mechanics and the new EX-attack system will turn the tables on your enemies, leaving you the one doing the curb-stomping... and following it up with a barrage of bullets to the skull. Expand
  6. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    Devil May Cry 4 brings forth high fast action with a storyline that isnt perfect at best but pretty damn good along with a cast of characters amazing visuals and gothic style, decent music and sound effects and nostalgic moments. You will enjoy this game if you loved the original Devil May Cry and Devil May Cry 3. Action hero players and demonic genre lovers will love this game as well!
  7. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    This game is major badass. Not only did it have great characters and voice acting, it contains excellent gameplay and is easily the best one since the first. The first DMC game was great, but had a few cheesy moments. The second one sucked, and the third was pretty good. This one owns 2 and 3, and only beats 1 because it barely had any cheesy moments.

    When I first heard there was going
    This game is major badass. Not only did it have great characters and voice acting, it contains excellent gameplay and is easily the best one since the first. The first DMC game was great, but had a few cheesy moments. The second one sucked, and the third was pretty good. This one owns 2 and 3, and only beats 1 because it barely had any cheesy moments.

    When I first heard there was going to be a Devil May Cry 4, I found out that Dante would no longer be the main character, but Nero would, a new character who looks a lot like Dante and Vergil. I was a bit surprised and thought I would be in for a disappointment. When I finally played it, I found Nero an incredibly different and refreshing character, and I'm glad Dante was at playable for part of the game.

    Devil May Cry fans won't be disappointed with the game, and even people who have haven't played the first three should enjoy this game.
    Expand
  8. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard. The main characters are kick ass... the story seems cool... the environments are well done... and the gameplay and feel of the game is just awesome. but why oh why do they mess it up to the point where one begins to hate the game... with a story lineI don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard. The main characters are kick ass... the story seems cool... the environments are well done... and the gameplay and feel of the game is just awesome. but why oh why do they mess it up to the point where one begins to hate the game... with a story line which is sooooo fragmented and ludicrous and enemies which are just plain cheap both in the way they look and their fighting. there is no character development and the new characters in this game are have absolutely no personality... to an almost creepy level. the environments begin to have a somewhat haunting feel to them which is not necessary in a game of this genre and don't seem to even fit into the world of the game and seem to be designed and put there with no reasoning at all... they don't even fit into the story. To make matters worst is the fact that the player needs to redo all the stages as well as all the boss fights with Dante. This pat of the game was the most frustrating as its much much harder than it is with Nero... the game changes from being slightly entertaining to just pure and utter frustration. I hated this game. I really loathed it. Its not cool... its not fun its just pure and utter frustration in a world and story one could experience during a horrible nightmare. I HATE THIS GAME!!! Expand
  9. Jun 12, 2011
    1
    This game is terrible. 1)The roving and nearly uncontrollable camera is shoddy gaming at it's finest, this is an apparent attempt to add difficulty to the game and it works. 2) The power and skill up system is unengaging and trivial. 3) Jump puzzles, I HATE them. 4) This game is constantly shooting for awesome and missing.
    I'm not sure who this appeals to, but as a former PC gamer I can
    This game is terrible. 1)The roving and nearly uncontrollable camera is shoddy gaming at it's finest, this is an apparent attempt to add difficulty to the game and it works. 2) The power and skill up system is unengaging and trivial. 3) Jump puzzles, I HATE them. 4) This game is constantly shooting for awesome and missing.
    I'm not sure who this appeals to, but as a former PC gamer I can assure you this game sucks.
    Expand
  10. Apr 19, 2012
    5
    What a huge disappointment. Devil May Cry 4 is what I would call a lazy game; it is obvious that the producers had no ideas on how to continue this beloved series and decided to make a simple game, recycling used ideas and archaic gameplay into a low-budget game. So the game starts and we have a new protagonist to control, one that resembles Dante in appearance and a rebellious 15-year oldWhat a huge disappointment. Devil May Cry 4 is what I would call a lazy game; it is obvious that the producers had no ideas on how to continue this beloved series and decided to make a simple game, recycling used ideas and archaic gameplay into a low-budget game. So the game starts and we have a new protagonist to control, one that resembles Dante in appearance and a rebellious 15-year old in personality. From the very start of the game it is obvious that the story won't be very good; but its ok, Devil May Cry was always more about the gameplay. Problem is, this gameplay has not evolved one bit in the past seven years. The combos are cool, but both Nero and Dante are slow on their feet and frustrate the player constantly by simply not reaching the enemies in time to keep your combo going. Bland graphics, tolerable voice acting and an okay soundtrack don't help much. Even worse, you have to play this game twice: first as Nero, and then you play every level and face every boss again in inverse order as Dante. If you squeeze your eyes really hard you can still see beautiful formula that shined in the PS2 era, but it is sad to find it now buried under so much bad ideas and lack of polish. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2010
    5
    extremely repetitive game .... lost all of is zing after the first hour..... nothing exciting at all, picked up the game for 20 bucks and still don't think it was worth that
  12. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    Good DMC but the backtracking part is annoying and massive. Nero is a good new entry with some nice features such as his devil arm. Like that game but DMC 1 and DMC 3 are both stronger.
  13. Jan 27, 2013
    5
    Unlike it's incredibly exciting and stylish predecessor, Devil May Cry 4 feels like a boring chore. I'll admit, the combat is incredible... only when you posses the character Dante. Other wise you play as the incredibly uninteresting and unexplained Nero who has your typical hack n' slash move set. With Nero, you can button mash your way through the first sets of levels. Compared to Dante,Unlike it's incredibly exciting and stylish predecessor, Devil May Cry 4 feels like a boring chore. I'll admit, the combat is incredible... only when you posses the character Dante. Other wise you play as the incredibly uninteresting and unexplained Nero who has your typical hack n' slash move set. With Nero, you can button mash your way through the first sets of levels. Compared to Dante, Nero has a underwhelming move set. Although, unlike Dante, Nero has Devil Bringer. As you can guess, it brings enemies closer to him for some interesting aerial maneuvers, but not enough to keep you interested. As for Dante, this is where the game shines. Luckily, they removed the feature from Devil May Cry 3 in which you are forced into picking one Style for the mission. Now, you can switch instantly with the d-pad, and can pull of some sick combos. Unfortunately, you are only backtracking through Nero's levels, which gets really repetitive. However, this game has some of the best boss battles in the series, as well as the toughest. Berial was interesting, but the best ones were Credo and The Savior. Credo in particular. Sadly, with an awful story line, the game doesn't convey enough emotion for me to care about most of these characters, and the boss battles I'm fighting. While in Devil May Cry 3, I actually felt like the dual between Dante and Vergil was important, and I wanted to beat it. The puzzles in this game are very simple, and feel like pointless padding. Especially since the focus is combat, where this game succeeds. I'd talk about the story, but it's virtually non-existent. Overall, it's a very underwhelming title in the series, considering that it only gets somewhat good half way through the game. Not worth it. Mediocre. Collapse Expand
  14. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I can honestly say that this game is the best game i have played in a while. Combat is great, story is easy to understand, and the game is a blast to play. While some may argue that backtracking through later levels is tedious and annoying, i personally don't have a problem with it. Buy this game, now, you won't regret it.
  15. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    the perfect sequel for Devil may cry 3 the gameplay is more fast and more awesome huge fun amazing boss battles decent story and very memorable characters
  16. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Let me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I bought when I got my PS3, and it is easily the enjoyable one that I have played so far. In the game, you play as Nero, a holy knight of the Order of the Sword who witnesses Dante kill the Order's pope in cold blood. Anyway, Nero is sent off to hunt down Dante,Let me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I bought when I got my PS3, and it is easily the enjoyable one that I have played so far. In the game, you play as Nero, a holy knight of the Order of the Sword who witnesses Dante kill the Order's pope in cold blood. Anyway, Nero is sent off to hunt down Dante, which relatively the story. As the story progress, you learn about conspiracies about the Order that all leads up to the final boss. The story does begin to falter near the end, but even so, it is a decent story. Controls are really good which is important for a hack n slash game like this.Nero has a little gimmick that makes the combat more over the top and more enjoyable. This little gimmick is his Devil Bringer. How it works is that you lock on to a enemy to drag them closer to you (or you to it) then you can cause major damage to that enemy. It all varies depending on the enemy you use it on, so it's nice to use against everything to see what it does. Controlling Dante isn't as fun as Nero is, but only by a bit. It is harder to rack up combos with Dante because he can't pull the enemy in. However, it is great that you can access all of his style with the D-pad. Combat is top notch, perhaps the best in the series. It is as over the top as ever. It is incredibly fun to fight and the boss battles are incredibly amazing. The only real complaint I have with the combat is the camera. It can become a bit of a pest at times. Visuals are incredible, everything is clean and it all looks beautiful, whether it's in indoor environments or in outdoor environments. Enemy design is good, character design is good and the voice actors are fitting for their roles. The sound track is easily one of the best I've heard in any game I've played. The track adds quite a bit of the enjoyment to the game. Lastly, Capcom have fixed their difficulty issues for this series. It is easier then the previous game (I'm not sure about DMC2) yet it has a balanced difficulty increase. It will still provide you a challenge, but you will be able to beat the game on Devil Hunter mode. 9.2/10, it is a good game, a worthy addition to the series and a must own for hack n slash lovers. Expand
  17. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Devil May Cry 4 is a great game and is probably the best script writing for a Devil May Cry game, which is saying a lot. The gameplay is legendary and incredibly hard which earns it the reputation that it has. Just look up some of the combos possible and the amount of skill the game has. The game actually allows new plays to pick up these combos pretty quick but are insanely hard toDevil May Cry 4 is a great game and is probably the best script writing for a Devil May Cry game, which is saying a lot. The gameplay is legendary and incredibly hard which earns it the reputation that it has. Just look up some of the combos possible and the amount of skill the game has. The game actually allows new plays to pick up these combos pretty quick but are insanely hard to master. The game has great script writing and gameplay. However it is held back by some very poor decisions

    Some of the characters in the game are given very little lime light apart from Dante and Nero. The character Credo is a great character that was promising but was never full developed. The areas in the game also have no explanation for why you are there and even less when you back track most of it. Im fine with the back tracking but it was just weird. Boss fights with Nero way too focused on getting into the right position and using your demon arm. Standard attacks do almost no damage to bosses. The last 30mins of the game (last boss) is probably the most frustrating thing I have ever played, to the point where I hated it! Fortunately he needing was worth it. Finally it was a bad decision to not let you play Dante from the start, even after beating the game. In DMC3 you could play Vergil from the beginning which was awesome.

    So the game is not as good as DMC3 and I know I stated a lot of negatives but its hard to describe how amazing the gameplay is! Its hack and slash at its finest best with an insanely hard learning curve that is satisfying.
    Expand
  18. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Aunque la mayoría de los fans de la saga "Devil May Cry" pensábamos que esto no iba a sobrevivir a la conversión de la tercer generación de PlayStation, fuimos sorprendidos con una entrega que, al fin y al cabo dio entretenimiento y escalofríos a la mayoría de su audiencia, esta vez con un humor que nos hará reír y llevar a Dante hasta su próximo objetivo.
  19. May 8, 2014
    10
    Great graphics.The ENGINE of the game is just fantastic to put it in few words and the most interesting of all is Nero which is new character and also ,perhaps,the some of Mighty Vergil the Dark Slayer
  20. Oct 17, 2014
    8
    Devil May Cry 4

    Game-play:The game it splits in two parts on the game play aspect. 1 you play as Nero how is a new character in the dmc world and 2 you play as Dante.When you play as Nero the game play it seams very slow and and it is based on heavy attacks and some combos with his sword the red queen that use some weird gas attacks,i do not really like this kind of game play but as
    Devil May Cry 4

    Game-play:The game it splits in two parts on the game play aspect. 1 you play as Nero how is a new character in the dmc world and 2 you play as Dante.When you play as Nero the game play it seams very slow and and it is based on heavy attacks and some combos with his sword the red queen that use some weird gas attacks,i do not really like this kind of game play but as Dante you play as every other devil may cry game even better i can tell, fast combos that does high damage and you can change the style of your battle at any minute with out pause of the game so you create more combos of your own.

    Story:The story is very good thankfully and that hold the game in the most part.The boss fights are amazing you even battle Dante at some point.

    Graphics:The graphics are great in every way.

    Notes:I really like the weapons in this game but the game could have taken a 9 out of 10 if you would play more as Dante and less as Nero still a great game i recommend it to anyone how likes hack n slash games at full price.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. The newest entry in the revered series features plenty of awesome action, a great new character...and a bit of repetition.
  2. 60
    Devil May Cry 4 is also nothing close to the full next-gen transformation that the moody, gothic world of Capcom’s demons deserved.
  3. Devil May Cry 4 plays exceptionally well. It may not be revolutionary, but it sure won't leave you bored. If anything, Devil May Cry 4 is perhaps even more addictive than the last, thanks to a rather enjoyable, well-done story.