User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 327 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 327
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NehlaJ.
    Mar 1, 2008
    10
    I never played a fun game like DMC4 for a long time. Best game of the series, fast paced action with huge boss battles that will take your breath away and leave you counting the days for another sequel.
  2. HughH.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    I like this game, i really do but honestly it is the exact same gameplay as the other 3 installments to the point when i just get tired and need to soak my fingers and wrists in hot salt water. It's basically Devil May Cry 3 (except easier) with a easier to use character for 10 levels and then once you get used to him you get Dante with harder enemies and a combat system that is I like this game, i really do but honestly it is the exact same gameplay as the other 3 installments to the point when i just get tired and need to soak my fingers and wrists in hot salt water. It's basically Devil May Cry 3 (except easier) with a easier to use character for 10 levels and then once you get used to him you get Dante with harder enemies and a combat system that is perplexing to say the least. If you got carpal tunnel syndrome playing Nero than your wrists will fall off playing Dante. The story is always an afterthought in DMC games it's all about the combat but honestly, it gets a bit tedious. especially when backtracking for the entire second half of the game. Capcom, please take a cue from Hideo Kojima and try something a bit new next time. If DMC 5 is the same as this with another character I will be disappointed. Expand
  3. ConradS.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    Very entertaining and enjoyable, I just hope this is not the best the console is capable of as it felt like a PS2 game with PS3 graphics.
  4. TimP.
    Feb 16, 2008
    10
    Amazing PS3 AAA title. Awesome Story & Gameplay , graphics are so good you'll find yourself distracted at times. Amazing Cutscenes. PS3 FTW!!
  5. JasonL.
    Feb 20, 2008
    7
    A new coat of paint for a series that is badly ineed of an overhaul. Now don't get me wrong this isn't a bad game, cool boss fights and a good variety of enemies but this is just the same old formula and was it just me or did they have less combos than in previous installments. I constantly feel as though I am doing the exact same 3 combos over and over again. Shoot a couple A new coat of paint for a series that is badly ineed of an overhaul. Now don't get me wrong this isn't a bad game, cool boss fights and a good variety of enemies but this is just the same old formula and was it just me or did they have less combos than in previous installments. I constantly feel as though I am doing the exact same 3 combos over and over again. Shoot a couple times slash with the sword and slam the enemy on the ground with the devil arm. Good game for big fans of the series, but casual fans like myself would probably be better off renting it. Expand
  6. AlvinL.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    An amazing action game!!! Cheesy and sometimes absurd, but that's the charm of the Devil May Cry series. A must-buy if you like action games.
  7. Asdf
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    The game is fun, and flashy. The gameplay is a bit repetitive at times, and is why it loses points on my rating.... Definitely worth buying though!
  8. R.White
    Feb 8, 2008
    10
    This is the best next-gen action game that I've played so far. Devil May Cry is one of my all time favorite game series, and I believe this one is probably the best yet. If not the best, then definitely just as good. I love this game and I say it's a must buy for action gamers.
  9. EricP
    Mar 4, 2009
    8
    I would definitely recommend DMC4 to anyone who is a fan to the series already. It really is a rather welcomed change of pace to have a new character, Nero, in the stead of Dante. The skills that he brings to the table are just as good if not better. Anyone unfamiliar with the series might not understand what it's about at first but if you're into "Hack 'n' Slash" then I would definitely recommend DMC4 to anyone who is a fan to the series already. It really is a rather welcomed change of pace to have a new character, Nero, in the stead of Dante. The skills that he brings to the table are just as good if not better. Anyone unfamiliar with the series might not understand what it's about at first but if you're into "Hack 'n' Slash" then this game is for you. I wouldn't consider it a button mashing type of game because there is alot of timing and skill involved. However, don't get it twisted, buttons will be mashed. I haven't finished the game yet but I can comment on what I've played. The battle system is just about as flawless as DMC3: Special Edition but with improved skills and the addition of Nero's Devil Bringer which makes the game for me. A bit of forewarning, I found that alot of the time the camera angles were awkward and hindered gameplay. It makes it difficult when the camera runs into walls, is not controllable altogether, or doesn't show you what you want it to. There is variety enough of demons and bosses to keep things on the challenging side and difficulty modes hard enough to make you want to throw your controller at the nearest peson in the room or tear the hair right out of your scalp. The battle system is complicated and the skills vary enough to chain massive combos and unleash devasting attacks. Nero gets the Devil Trigger also, so it's like nothing is lost in transition from DMC3 to 4. The missions are laughable to say the least. It's nothing more than Kindergarten grade puzzles that insult your intelligence and interconnected battle areas filled with random crap here and there. But that's not why we play the DMC series though, is it? All in all it's a very convincing and welcome addition to the series boasting some awesome graphics nonetheless. Lets just hope the next addition will have 1080p rather than the 720p that this title was graced with. I give this game an 8/10 because it's not perfect, needs polishing in some areas, but overall is a great game with great replay value. Expand
  10. AndrewL
    Jun 6, 2009
    10
    Endless hardcore sword-fighting madness. The devilbringer is nothing short of amazing. The fact you receive Dante as not just a playable character but a primary element to the story is so perfect. With a massive arsenal of fighting styles and attack combinations you'll never want to trade this one in. Playing this game makes you realize how amazing newer beat-em-up titles like Endless hardcore sword-fighting madness. The devilbringer is nothing short of amazing. The fact you receive Dante as not just a playable character but a primary element to the story is so perfect. With a massive arsenal of fighting styles and attack combinations you'll never want to trade this one in. Playing this game makes you realize how amazing newer beat-em-up titles like Bayonetta and Dante's Inferno are going to be, PS3 needs more games like DMC4. Expand
  11. [anonymous]
    Jan 16, 2010
    8
    My rating is 8.5. It's nothing revolutionary, but it's fun. Adrenaline pumping, good story, great combat system and so on. I hated Fortuna Castle though, but you'll get through that part in an hour or so, after that, the game gets good.
  12. DanteA.
    Jan 21, 2008
    10
    Really people who are we kidding this games is GONNA rock!
  13. [Anonymous]
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Finally it's here, definitely the best iteration in the series. Reviewers complain it sticks to old formula -- but the truth is, why fix it if it ain't broke? Dante and Nero complement each other nicely, and the Devilbringer and Exceed System are quite awesome new additions.
  14. AlexQ.
    Feb 11, 2008
    10
    An absolutely perfect sequel to a superb series (not counting the second one).
  15. JaredJ.
    Feb 6, 2008
    9
    It's exactly what Devi May Cry fans expect from the seventh gen installment. Faster load-times up to 4 times shorter on the PS3 version make this one the superior of the two.
  16. JohnL.
    Mar 21, 2008
    10
    this was the first devil may cry game i have ever played and I was very impressed..it can be repetitive but thats where the fun of learning new moves comes in, this is one of the few games that feels like next gen, the scenery is breathtaking and the English dialogue can get annoying (I would have preferred Japanese) but it doesn't take anything away from how brilliant the game truly is
  17. BillH.
    Mar 27, 2008
    9
    This game is class but no game really gets 10 but you should get it now.
  18. DeonM.
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    Game starts off slow with the enemies being a bit few, but whow! it panned out to be a great game and die hard fans like me wont rest until the bloody palace mode is conquered and all difficulties beaten- as I have already (:Whats better than slashing hordes of demons with ultra cool moves?
  19. JosefH
    Jan 21, 2010
    9
    If the game-play would've stayed the same as it is in the beginning, and just moved on with that, this score would probably be a 7 at best. However; playing as Dante for 7 levels upped that score. They are the best 7 levels I have ever played in a Hack and Slash/action Adventure/Whatever you'd like to call it, and to this day I am daring others to top it. Dante's five If the game-play would've stayed the same as it is in the beginning, and just moved on with that, this score would probably be a 7 at best. However; playing as Dante for 7 levels upped that score. They are the best 7 levels I have ever played in a Hack and Slash/action Adventure/Whatever you'd like to call it, and to this day I am daring others to top it. Dante's five styles switch seamlessly between each other, allowing the combos to flow smoothly, in smoking sick style. I am disappointed to only give this a 9, as that's the same score as I give Devil May Cry 3, and I much prefer this, but it is far from perfection. The graphics are good, nice and smooth, the lighting effects are all brilliant, the fighting systems all work very well, and the story is more than just bearable, it might even be considered good by some, but the game doesn't quite have the excitement and 'badass' feel that Devil May Cry 1 and 3 brought to the table, and the loss of that edge in exchange for Dante's twin brother (they are EXACTLY the same character) for a few cool lines is a little poor. Still a very good play, and worth a buy. Expand
  20. JacobS.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    This game blows everything else out of the water! This is the only series that has given me 100 percent satisfaction in gameplay AND storyline. It's just perfect!
  21. Nicolaas
    Jan 28, 2008
    8
    This game is like you burn your fingers, fighting demons and other kind of creatures. Grafisch looks very good at the intro's and lesser in the gameplay, but i must say it looks very good and also the light effect in some area's. The gameplay you can expect from a game like this. This is the kind of game Japanese people get weird. It is like you playing a manga story on your This game is like you burn your fingers, fighting demons and other kind of creatures. Grafisch looks very good at the intro's and lesser in the gameplay, but i must say it looks very good and also the light effect in some area's. The gameplay you can expect from a game like this. This is the kind of game Japanese people get weird. It is like you playing a manga story on your televison under your control. Slashing ,hitting and updgrading your powers, skills and go on. Levels are from area to area and goes on. Never played Devil May series but it feels like an 3D 2D castelvania game. The game is not mine kind of game but I love it in some ways. This game is a must have for people who loves this genre. Expand
  22. JesseEB
    Feb 12, 2008
    10
    The game is about as fun as video games get! Yeah the camera can suck sometimes but thats the nature of the beast and easily forgivable. If you don't have it then all I have to say to you is "I'm sorry!"
  23. FredB.
    Feb 17, 2008
    9
    Devil May Cry is back! It looked as if it was headed in the wrong direction but this game is solid. Great game play that is not to difficult to learn and the graphics are top notch. Great game, get it if your a fan and get it if your not!
  24. JeremyM.
    Feb 18, 2008
    10
    This game really got me somewhere. The story is once again full of mysterious characters, sacrifices, love, and tons of twists and turns to keep you guessing. The over-the-top action cut-scenes are presented with such a masterful graphics engine and level of choreography there will be times where you're completely distracted in action. But that's not even the best part about This game really got me somewhere. The story is once again full of mysterious characters, sacrifices, love, and tons of twists and turns to keep you guessing. The over-the-top action cut-scenes are presented with such a masterful graphics engine and level of choreography there will be times where you're completely distracted in action. But that's not even the best part about this game. Nero brings over a table of moves that we've never seen before, pushing the style of action in a Devil May Cry game forward to places we never though possible, and the way he alters strange items in these worlds to either get by a puzzle or use it to his advantage in a critical battle will definitely set a new high for action gaming. You definitely haven't seen AND won't see anything like this before. Expand
  25. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    Even though that i love DMC series, and i love this game there is some backdrops that cant be highlighted, the backtracking, too short , luck of bosses, luck of different enemies, few enemies in battles and compared to DMC3 slow fighting system.
  26. Jan 15, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. You play as a new character named Nero and halfway through the game you start to replay some levels as Dante. Nero's Devil bringer which is arm that can reach out and grab enemies. This was a very nice feature but you Nero keeps the same weapons with him throughout the whole game. Dante though gets some other weapons but nothing to really run home about. You can't replay Nero's levels with Dante and you get about like 5-6 levels that you can play as Dante. I liked the 3rd one a little better this ones story was a little weak. they also re used the bosses too many times. If you're a fan of the DMC series I recommend you give it a try its not bad just doesn't live up to the greatness of the other games and if you just like sword combat games with a little gunplay and some sick action combos then give it a try too Expand
  27. Mar 2, 2011
    8
    Devil May Cry 4 is a great addition to the series, and does not disappoint. Great cutscenes and storyline, great fighting mechanics and boss battles, and great graphics and sound. The only thing that stops this game from being truly great is the somewhat repetitive hack and slashing, and the fact that the game makes you bactrack through levels you've already been through. That and notDevil May Cry 4 is a great addition to the series, and does not disappoint. Great cutscenes and storyline, great fighting mechanics and boss battles, and great graphics and sound. The only thing that stops this game from being truly great is the somewhat repetitive hack and slashing, and the fact that the game makes you bactrack through levels you've already been through. That and not being able to choose which character you prefer to play as hold this game back. Overall, however, the game is very solid. Expand
  28. Mar 3, 2011
    10
    While not the best game in the series, it is the best looking a smoothest running one. The DMC franchise is pure gold, and this one is no different. I love the nearly endless combonations of attacks that can be stylishly put together in a mad dash to devastate your enemy. I only have one warning, and that is not to take the game lightly. Even on its easier difficulties, this game will spitWhile not the best game in the series, it is the best looking a smoothest running one. The DMC franchise is pure gold, and this one is no different. I love the nearly endless combonations of attacks that can be stylishly put together in a mad dash to devastate your enemy. I only have one warning, and that is not to take the game lightly. Even on its easier difficulties, this game will spit you out against the wall and follow it up with a curb-stomping. Learning the dodge mechanics and the new EX-attack system will turn the tables on your enemies, leaving you the one doing the curb-stomping... and following it up with a barrage of bullets to the skull. Expand
  29. Jun 11, 2012
    8
    Devil May Cry 4 brings forth high fast action with a storyline that isnt perfect at best but pretty damn good along with a cast of characters amazing visuals and gothic style, decent music and sound effects and nostalgic moments. You will enjoy this game if you loved the original Devil May Cry and Devil May Cry 3. Action hero players and demonic genre lovers will love this game as well!
  30. Apr 3, 2012
    9
    This game is major badass. Not only did it have great characters and voice acting, it contains excellent gameplay and is easily the best one since the first. The first DMC game was great, but had a few cheesy moments. The second one sucked, and the third was pretty good. This one owns 2 and 3, and only beats 1 because it barely had any cheesy moments.

    When I first heard there was going
    This game is major badass. Not only did it have great characters and voice acting, it contains excellent gameplay and is easily the best one since the first. The first DMC game was great, but had a few cheesy moments. The second one sucked, and the third was pretty good. This one owns 2 and 3, and only beats 1 because it barely had any cheesy moments.

    When I first heard there was going to be a Devil May Cry 4, I found out that Dante would no longer be the main character, but Nero would, a new character who looks a lot like Dante and Vergil. I was a bit surprised and thought I would be in for a disappointment. When I finally played it, I found Nero an incredibly different and refreshing character, and I'm glad Dante was at playable for part of the game.

    Devil May Cry fans won't be disappointed with the game, and even people who have haven't played the first three should enjoy this game.
    Expand
  31. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    the perfect sequel for Devil may cry 3 the gameplay is more fast and more awesome huge fun amazing boss battles decent story and very memorable characters
  32. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Most of players will get bored by the level design since there are only 10 but the plot is not the reason Capcom developed this game;
    Gameplay is Awesome and Deep, Get that S in the Bloody Palace Level if you can do it.
  33. MikeX.
    Aug 19, 2008
    10
    This game is awsome, not doubt about that. A guy named Xzcvsxzc gave it a 3 and he said that and I quote "only 4 year olds enjoy games like this, it's horrible." What's interesting is that most people who gave it a high score had names like real names, but this guy had a name Xzcvsxzc. It makes me think that you're a 12 year-old (a 4 year-old can't type, lol). Anyway, This game is awsome, not doubt about that. A guy named Xzcvsxzc gave it a 3 and he said that and I quote "only 4 year olds enjoy games like this, it's horrible." What's interesting is that most people who gave it a high score had names like real names, but this guy had a name Xzcvsxzc. It makes me think that you're a 12 year-old (a 4 year-old can't type, lol). Anyway, your opinion is worthless, since most people disagree with you. Expand
  34. Xzcvsxzc
    Feb 10, 2008
    3
    Wow what a big pile of repetitive crap this was. OMG and the cut scenes, entertainment for a 4 year old. Horrible Horrible Horrible.
  35. BryanS.
    Mar 8, 2008
    6
    I don't get it.... just not enough substance to keep me entertained. It seems too 'Anime'(ish) to me, and I enjoyed the Final Fantasy genre.
  36. JoseG.
    Feb 21, 2008
    6
    Repetitive, Repetitive, Repetitive! Fighting bosses 3-4 times is boring...skill up system sucks.
  37. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard. The main characters are kick ass... the story seems cool... the environments are well done... and the gameplay and feel of the game is just awesome. but why oh why do they mess it up to the point where one begins to hate the game... with a story lineI don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard. The main characters are kick ass... the story seems cool... the environments are well done... and the gameplay and feel of the game is just awesome. but why oh why do they mess it up to the point where one begins to hate the game... with a story line which is sooooo fragmented and ludicrous and enemies which are just plain cheap both in the way they look and their fighting. there is no character development and the new characters in this game are have absolutely no personality... to an almost creepy level. the environments begin to have a somewhat haunting feel to them which is not necessary in a game of this genre and don't seem to even fit into the world of the game and seem to be designed and put there with no reasoning at all... they don't even fit into the story. To make matters worst is the fact that the player needs to redo all the stages as well as all the boss fights with Dante. This pat of the game was the most frustrating as its much much harder than it is with Nero... the game changes from being slightly entertaining to just pure and utter frustration. I hated this game. I really loathed it. Its not cool... its not fun its just pure and utter frustration in a world and story one could experience during a horrible nightmare. I HATE THIS GAME!!! Expand
  38. Jun 12, 2011
    1
    This game is terrible. 1)The roving and nearly uncontrollable camera is shoddy gaming at it's finest, this is an apparent attempt to add difficulty to the game and it works. 2) The power and skill up system is unengaging and trivial. 3) Jump puzzles, I HATE them. 4) This game is constantly shooting for awesome and missing.
    I'm not sure who this appeals to, but as a former PC gamer I can
    This game is terrible. 1)The roving and nearly uncontrollable camera is shoddy gaming at it's finest, this is an apparent attempt to add difficulty to the game and it works. 2) The power and skill up system is unengaging and trivial. 3) Jump puzzles, I HATE them. 4) This game is constantly shooting for awesome and missing.
    I'm not sure who this appeals to, but as a former PC gamer I can assure you this game sucks.
    Expand
  39. Apr 19, 2012
    5
    What a huge disappointment. Devil May Cry 4 is what I would call a lazy game; it is obvious that the producers had no ideas on how to continue this beloved series and decided to make a simple game, recycling used ideas and archaic gameplay into a low-budget game. So the game starts and we have a new protagonist to control, one that resembles Dante in appearance and a rebellious 15-year oldWhat a huge disappointment. Devil May Cry 4 is what I would call a lazy game; it is obvious that the producers had no ideas on how to continue this beloved series and decided to make a simple game, recycling used ideas and archaic gameplay into a low-budget game. So the game starts and we have a new protagonist to control, one that resembles Dante in appearance and a rebellious 15-year old in personality. From the very start of the game it is obvious that the story won't be very good; but its ok, Devil May Cry was always more about the gameplay. Problem is, this gameplay has not evolved one bit in the past seven years. The combos are cool, but both Nero and Dante are slow on their feet and frustrate the player constantly by simply not reaching the enemies in time to keep your combo going. Bland graphics, tolerable voice acting and an okay soundtrack don't help much. Even worse, you have to play this game twice: first as Nero, and then you play every level and face every boss again in inverse order as Dante. If you squeeze your eyes really hard you can still see beautiful formula that shined in the PS2 era, but it is sad to find it now buried under so much bad ideas and lack of polish. Expand
  40. Nov 5, 2010
    5
    extremely repetitive game .... lost all of is zing after the first hour..... nothing exciting at all, picked up the game for 20 bucks and still don't think it was worth that
  41. Mar 8, 2013
    7
    Good DMC but the backtracking part is annoying and massive. Nero is a good new entry with some nice features such as his devil arm. Like that game but DMC 1 and DMC 3 are both stronger.
  42. Jan 27, 2013
    5
    Unlike it's incredibly exciting and stylish predecessor, Devil May Cry 4 feels like a boring chore. I'll admit, the combat is incredible... only when you posses the character Dante. Other wise you play as the incredibly uninteresting and unexplained Nero who has your typical hack n' slash move set. With Nero, you can button mash your way through the first sets of levels. Compared to Dante,Unlike it's incredibly exciting and stylish predecessor, Devil May Cry 4 feels like a boring chore. I'll admit, the combat is incredible... only when you posses the character Dante. Other wise you play as the incredibly uninteresting and unexplained Nero who has your typical hack n' slash move set. With Nero, you can button mash your way through the first sets of levels. Compared to Dante, Nero has a underwhelming move set. Although, unlike Dante, Nero has Devil Bringer. As you can guess, it brings enemies closer to him for some interesting aerial maneuvers, but not enough to keep you interested. As for Dante, this is where the game shines. Luckily, they removed the feature from Devil May Cry 3 in which you are forced into picking one Style for the mission. Now, you can switch instantly with the d-pad, and can pull of some sick combos. Unfortunately, you are only backtracking through Nero's levels, which gets really repetitive. However, this game has some of the best boss battles in the series, as well as the toughest. Berial was interesting, but the best ones were Credo and The Savior. Credo in particular. Sadly, with an awful story line, the game doesn't convey enough emotion for me to care about most of these characters, and the boss battles I'm fighting. While in Devil May Cry 3, I actually felt like the dual between Dante and Vergil was important, and I wanted to beat it. The puzzles in this game are very simple, and feel like pointless padding. Especially since the focus is combat, where this game succeeds. I'd talk about the story, but it's virtually non-existent. Overall, it's a very underwhelming title in the series, considering that it only gets somewhat good half way through the game. Not worth it. Mediocre. Collapse Expand
  43. Mar 18, 2013
    10
    I can honestly say that this game is the best game i have played in a while. Combat is great, story is easy to understand, and the game is a blast to play. While some may argue that backtracking through later levels is tedious and annoying, i personally don't have a problem with it. Buy this game, now, you won't regret it.
  44. Jul 10, 2017
    1
    This review coming from a hardcore Devil May Cry fan who played the trilogy more time than any other games!
    Dmc4 is the WORST DMC out there not just because Nero and Kirye, and the very bad story (again somedy wants to be Sparda blablabla),And Dante too, he looks like mature but he acting like a teen boy who is 18 year old, and he's voice sounds like a 18 year old puberty boy. while i
    This review coming from a hardcore Devil May Cry fan who played the trilogy more time than any other games!
    Dmc4 is the WORST DMC out there not just because Nero and Kirye, and the very bad story (again somedy wants to be Sparda blablabla),And Dante too, he looks like mature but he acting like a teen boy who is 18 year old, and he's voice sounds like a 18 year old puberty boy. while i agree its fit for DMC3 but not DMC4. DMC4 dante should be the same actor as the DMC1 or DMC2 was. because its strange DMC1 Dante was looked like mature he acted more mature than DMC4 Dante but still DMC1 dante was COOL, and fun too! but i think even DMC2 Dante was way COOLER than DMC4 dante was! and DMC1 and DMC2 dante concept (hair, cloth,face,eyes) was better than DMC4 dante! DMC4 Dante its looked like a joke with that stupid boots and like a smiliar dmc3 jacket....even he's face and eyes looked like similar dmc3 dante.I hated the Big boobs, yes you read it right, the Lady looked like normal in DMC3, and Trish looked like normal in DMC1 even in dmc2 lucia boobs was normal, but in DMC4 both Trish,and Lady BOOBS are bigger than they heads, its funny, and ugly, yes a aware this is a japanese culture blablabla **** but tell me why the old trilogy girls was looked normal?

    The music, the music wasnt that bad but the weakest of the series! in every way!
    The gameplay: it wasnt bad at all, this is the only thing it was good, but still not good enough! like the old trilogy was! This whole game was like BAD FANFICTION.. what i would like to see in the next game is more serious story similar like dmc2 was, and more mature dante like dmc2 was, playing in the future where the lady and trish died, and even maybe humanity too,
    Expand
  45. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Let me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I bought when I got my PS3, and it is easily the enjoyable one that I have played so far. In the game, you play as Nero, a holy knight of the Order of the Sword who witnesses Dante kill the Order's pope in cold blood. Anyway, Nero is sent off to hunt down Dante,Let me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I bought when I got my PS3, and it is easily the enjoyable one that I have played so far. In the game, you play as Nero, a holy knight of the Order of the Sword who witnesses Dante kill the Order's pope in cold blood. Anyway, Nero is sent off to hunt down Dante, which relatively the story. As the story progress, you learn about conspiracies about the Order that all leads up to the final boss. The story does begin to falter near the end, but even so, it is a decent story. Controls are really good which is important for a hack n slash game like this.Nero has a little gimmick that makes the combat more over the top and more enjoyable. This little gimmick is his Devil Bringer. How it works is that you lock on to a enemy to drag them closer to you (or you to it) then you can cause major damage to that enemy. It all varies depending on the enemy you use it on, so it's nice to use against everything to see what it does. Controlling Dante isn't as fun as Nero is, but only by a bit. It is harder to rack up combos with Dante because he can't pull the enemy in. However, it is great that you can access all of his style with the D-pad. Combat is top notch, perhaps the best in the series. It is as over the top as ever. It is incredibly fun to fight and the boss battles are incredibly amazing. The only real complaint I have with the combat is the camera. It can become a bit of a pest at times. Visuals are incredible, everything is clean and it all looks beautiful, whether it's in indoor environments or in outdoor environments. Enemy design is good, character design is good and the voice actors are fitting for their roles. The sound track is easily one of the best I've heard in any game I've played. The track adds quite a bit of the enjoyment to the game. Lastly, Capcom have fixed their difficulty issues for this series. It is easier then the previous game (I'm not sure about DMC2) yet it has a balanced difficulty increase. It will still provide you a challenge, but you will be able to beat the game on Devil Hunter mode. 9.2/10, it is a good game, a worthy addition to the series and a must own for hack n slash lovers. Expand
  46. May 20, 2015
    3
    I'm not sure how old this game is but I just played some of it. I was very disappointed. The enemy design and A.I. was terrible. The game stops every few seconds with a flyby or animation and it just kills it for me. The map is useless... Half the time you have no idea where to go... Or for that matter why you are going where you're going.. Story seemed OK for what little bit there was.I'm not sure how old this game is but I just played some of it. I was very disappointed. The enemy design and A.I. was terrible. The game stops every few seconds with a flyby or animation and it just kills it for me. The map is useless... Half the time you have no idea where to go... Or for that matter why you are going where you're going.. Story seemed OK for what little bit there was. Anyhow I played one of these games a long time ago and I remembered it being a great game... This one seemed phoned in... Just my opinion... Expand
  47. Sep 10, 2013
    7
    Devil May Cry 4 is a great game and is probably the best script writing for a Devil May Cry game, which is saying a lot. The gameplay is legendary and incredibly hard which earns it the reputation that it has. Just look up some of the combos possible and the amount of skill the game has. The game actually allows new plays to pick up these combos pretty quick but are insanely hard toDevil May Cry 4 is a great game and is probably the best script writing for a Devil May Cry game, which is saying a lot. The gameplay is legendary and incredibly hard which earns it the reputation that it has. Just look up some of the combos possible and the amount of skill the game has. The game actually allows new plays to pick up these combos pretty quick but are insanely hard to master. The game has great script writing and gameplay. However it is held back by some very poor decisions

    Some of the characters in the game are given very little lime light apart from Dante and Nero. The character Credo is a great character that was promising but was never full developed. The areas in the game also have no explanation for why you are there and even less when you back track most of it. Im fine with the back tracking but it was just weird. Boss fights with Nero way too focused on getting into the right position and using your demon arm. Standard attacks do almost no damage to bosses. The last 30mins of the game (last boss) is probably the most frustrating thing I have ever played, to the point where I hated it! Fortunately he needing was worth it. Finally it was a bad decision to not let you play Dante from the start, even after beating the game. In DMC3 you could play Vergil from the beginning which was awesome.

    So the game is not as good as DMC3 and I know I stated a lot of negatives but its hard to describe how amazing the gameplay is! Its hack and slash at its finest best with an insanely hard learning curve that is satisfying.
    Expand
  48. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    Aunque la mayoría de los fans de la saga "Devil May Cry" pensábamos que esto no iba a sobrevivir a la conversión de la tercer generación de PlayStation, fuimos sorprendidos con una entrega que, al fin y al cabo dio entretenimiento y escalofríos a la mayoría de su audiencia, esta vez con un humor que nos hará reír y llevar a Dante hasta su próximo objetivo.
  49. Apr 11, 2016
    8
    I never played a fun game like DMC4 for a long time. Best game of the series, fast paced action with huge boss battles that will take your breath away and leave you counting the days for another sequel.
  50. May 8, 2014
    10
    Great graphics.The ENGINE of the game is just fantastic to put it in few words and the most interesting of all is Nero which is new character and also ,perhaps,the some of Mighty Vergil the Dark Slayer
  51. Oct 17, 2014
    8
    Devil May Cry 4

    Game-play:The game it splits in two parts on the game play aspect. 1 you play as Nero how is a new character in the dmc world and 2 you play as Dante.When you play as Nero the game play it seams very slow and and it is based on heavy attacks and some combos with his sword the red queen that use some weird gas attacks,i do not really like this kind of game play but as
    Devil May Cry 4

    Game-play:The game it splits in two parts on the game play aspect. 1 you play as Nero how is a new character in the dmc world and 2 you play as Dante.When you play as Nero the game play it seams very slow and and it is based on heavy attacks and some combos with his sword the red queen that use some weird gas attacks,i do not really like this kind of game play but as Dante you play as every other devil may cry game even better i can tell, fast combos that does high damage and you can change the style of your battle at any minute with out pause of the game so you create more combos of your own.

    Story:The story is very good thankfully and that hold the game in the most part.The boss fights are amazing you even battle Dante at some point.

    Graphics:The graphics are great in every way.

    Notes:I really like the weapons in this game but the game could have taken a 9 out of 10 if you would play more as Dante and less as Nero still a great game i recommend it to anyone how likes hack n slash games at full price.
    Expand
  52. Feb 12, 2016
    6
    Devil May Cry 4 is an ok game but overall I just don't like it. I could never get into this game series, it always felt to me that something was lacking. I don't like neither Dante or Nero. The graphics are great for its time and the sound is pretty good as well. The story to this game is sub par, it really doesn't grab your attention. Music is excellent and so is the intro. I really lovedDevil May Cry 4 is an ok game but overall I just don't like it. I could never get into this game series, it always felt to me that something was lacking. I don't like neither Dante or Nero. The graphics are great for its time and the sound is pretty good as well. The story to this game is sub par, it really doesn't grab your attention. Music is excellent and so is the intro. I really loved the song in the intro, some of the best music in video games. The gameplay and cut scenes feel often repetitious, this is one of the main problems with this series.

    Overall the game is ok, but I just could never get into this series. 6/10
    Expand
  53. Mar 10, 2016
    9
    Devil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic armDevil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic arm which creates more opportunities to unleash deadly combos. The second half of the game allows players to take control of Dante again. This time Dante can change between styles with just the touch of the dpad as well as being able to switch in-between secondary weapons. The story may not have the same kind of internal conflict but it is till an involving story about Nero experiencing a crises of faith and a not-so-subtle critique on organized religion. Dante's side of the story is also very entertaining with his usually trademark one liners against enemies. Unfortunately the biggest drawback to the game is the backtracking which is evidenced by the cut content on behalf of Dante's half. Aside from that factor, it is a great action game with a proper sendoff to the classic franchise (at least until they confirm on making a Devil May Cry 5). Expand
  54. Apr 8, 2016
    9
    Devil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic armDevil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic arm which creates more opportunities to unleash deadly combos. The second half of the game allows players to take control of Dante again. This time Dante can change between styles with just the touch of the dpad as well as being able to switch in-between secondary weapons. The story may not have the same kind of internal conflict but it is till an involving story about Nero experiencing a crises of faith and a not-so-subtle critique on organized religion. Dante's side of the story is also very entertaining with his usually trademark one liners against enemies. Unfortunately the biggest drawback to the game is the backtracking which is evidenced by the cut content on behalf of Dante's half. Aside from that factor, it is a great action game with a proper sendoff to the classic franchise (at least until they confirm on making a Devil May Cry 5). Expand
  55. Jul 14, 2017
    7
    Devil May Cry 4 has some of the best boss battles I have seen in any game but the story is ridiculousl and outside of boss battles gameplay is just ok. While there are some great moments I found that the overall experience was not nearly as satisfying as DMC3. Nero is basically an inferior version of Dante and while you do still get to play as Dante he is never quite as appealing as heDevil May Cry 4 has some of the best boss battles I have seen in any game but the story is ridiculousl and outside of boss battles gameplay is just ok. While there are some great moments I found that the overall experience was not nearly as satisfying as DMC3. Nero is basically an inferior version of Dante and while you do still get to play as Dante he is never quite as appealing as he was in DMC3 and the supporting cast is far less interesting than the ones in DMC3. Combat is excellent but there is a lot of repetition. Overall DMC4 is a lot of fun but its inferior to its predecessor in most ways.

    In terms of Gameplay, the action is fast paced and there are a ton of cool abilities. There are a lot of great new weapon styles as well as some good returning ones. The addition of the devil bringer arm, which allows you to pull yourself towards things, is a pretty cool mechanic although some of the time I felt it was used as too much of a gameplay gimmick. It would have been a lot better if there were more things in the environment for you to grab onto, Being able to play as Dante in the second half of the game is also pretty cool but unfortunately playing as Dante you are basically just backtracking through the same areas and fighting the same enemies. The platforming aspect of the game can also be frustrating and repetitive. Every area feels quite confined and traversing levels is dull outside of combat.

    The story in this game felt pretty random. Nero's role in the DMC lore is never really given much of an explanation. The story tries to include a romance as a driving force for Nero but since that relationship is never well established to begin with I never cared about it. The whole plot felt very one dimensional and yet it still managed to be convoluted. There were a few cool ideas with the demo research stuff but none of those ideas really seem to go anywhere. The story is below average.

    The characters themselves are pretty mediocre. Nero is basically a less cool, less entertaining version of Dante. While he does get a bit of development I never felt that he established his own identity as a great character, rather he was just a weak imitation of one. The villains are far less interesting than Jester and Virgil were in DMC3. Dante himself has some awesome scenes. His entrance at the beginning of the game is truly epic but he still never reaches the heights of awesome that he did in DMC3.

    Visually the game looks great, the animations are smooth and the combos are stylish. The boss and monster designs are also really excellent. Echidna in particular was a really interesting design and her animations in combat are also really well-done. There are some pretty cool environments although I did feel that their weren't as many iconic locations as some of the past game. It was nice to see a bit more variety in locations this time around though. While there are still lots of gothic buildings not everything is darkly lit and I found that variety to be better than past DMC games.

    Sound design is pretty good, the voice acting and sound effects are all well done. I think that the music this time was not nearly as well used as it was in DMC3. In that game every song choice seemed to fit the tone of the scenes almost perfectly. In DMC4 the music is similar but it just wasn't used to nearly the same effect.

    Overall I think DMC4 is a good game. The combat is fun and the boss battles are excellent. The game is pretty short though, less than 10 hours, and a good chunk of it is spent backtracking. The boss battles are excellent but traversing levels can be frustrating and boring. The story nothing special and adds very little lore to the DMC world. If you like DMC or action game in general this is certainly worth playing but it isn't nearly as good as DMC3.
    Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. The newest entry in the revered series features plenty of awesome action, a great new character...and a bit of repetition.
  2. 60
    Devil May Cry 4 is also nothing close to the full next-gen transformation that the moody, gothic world of Capcom’s demons deserved.
  3. Devil May Cry 4 plays exceptionally well. It may not be revolutionary, but it sure won't leave you bored. If anything, Devil May Cry 4 is perhaps even more addictive than the last, thanks to a rather enjoyable, well-done story.