Devil May Cry 4 PlayStation 3

Devil May Cry 4 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fear resonates in the underworld as a new protagonist crosses paths with a familiar hero who seemingly inexplicably slaughters countless people. Long ago the Dark Knight Sparda awoke to justice and rebelled against the dark emperor, to wage a one-man war to save humanity. Thousands of yearsFear resonates in the underworld as a new protagonist crosses paths with a familiar hero who seemingly inexplicably slaughters countless people. Long ago the Dark Knight Sparda awoke to justice and rebelled against the dark emperor, to wage a one-man war to save humanity. Thousands of years later, a religious organization worships this renowned savior and has taken it upon themselves to rid the world of all demons. Residing in Fortuna, a castle city on the coast, this "Order of the Sword" has an elite group of "Holy Knights" dedicated to carrying out this very creed. Rising among the ranks, a young cynical warrior named Nero witnesses Sparda's legendary son Dante slaughter countless "knights". Has the renowned devil hunter turned his back on mankind? What does this encounter mean for these two individuals and why has destiny brought them together? In Devil May Cry 4, players control the formidable Nero who comes to grips with his newly found power as his beliefs and allegiance are tested. Continuing the legacy of fast paced action synonymous with the series, Devil May Cry 4 pushes the envelope of excellence even further with the inclusion of a new combat system that incorporates Nero's "Devil Bringer". This new feature has players delivering overwhelming damage to enemies with non-stop combos, while gaining new power for Nero's right arm. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Devil May Cry 4: Special Edition - Announcement Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. It also marks a great jumping on point for newcomers with a more balanced difficulty level and a decent checkpoint/continue system, but offers plenty of harder modes for the die-hard fans. Easily one of the best action games in recent years.
  2. Nero brings an awesome dynamic to the franchise. Combine that with Dante's parallel mission and the game is absolutely over-the-top.
  3. Devil May Cry 4 has set the bar for how a combat system should be made. I can't stress enough how fun it is to beat the hell out of every enemy encountered. Fans of the action hack and slash genre have a new champion.
  4. 87
    Though the focus might be more on Nero than Dante, and could've been named something else with a Dante cameo, DMC4 still has everything that fans expect of the game – over the top fight sequences, tons of replayability and an experience with an excellent production value.
  5. Even with its repetitiveness and awkward camera angles, Devil May Cry 4 provides a solid addition to the series and even towards the end, with its descent into a puddle of annoyance, the game features some exceptional gameplay and cinematics.
  6. There are bits in DMC4 that you'll absolutley love, and bits that you'll hate...Impossible to recommend to everyone, but the purest expression of the series' style yet. [Feb 2008, p.18]
  7. And then there's the issue of style. It feels like the creators of Devil May Cry 4 are trapped in the summer of 1999, when The Matrix was still the pinnacle of otaku-informed art.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 55
  2. Negative: 5 out of 55
  1. [Anonymous]
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Finally it's here, definitely the best iteration in the series. Reviewers complain it sticks to old formula -- but the truth is, why fix Finally it's here, definitely the best iteration in the series. Reviewers complain it sticks to old formula -- but the truth is, why fix it if it ain't broke? Dante and Nero complement each other nicely, and the Devilbringer and Exceed System are quite awesome new additions. Expand
  2. AlvinL.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    An amazing action game!!! Cheesy and sometimes absurd, but that's the charm of the Devil May Cry series. A must-buy if you like action games.
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Most of players will get bored by the level design since there are only 10 but the plot is not the reason Capcom developed this game;Most of players will get bored by the level design since there are only 10 but the plot is not the reason Capcom developed this game;
    Gameplay is Awesome and Deep, Get that S in the Bloody Palace Level if you can do it.
    Collapse
  4. Aug 19, 2013
    9
    Let me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I boughtLet me start by saying this, you won't be ripping out your hair when playing on Normal/Devil Hunter mode. This was the first game I bought when I got my PS3, and it is easily the enjoyable one that I have played so far. In the game, you play as Nero, a holy knight of the Order of the Sword who witnesses Dante kill the Order's pope in cold blood. Anyway, Nero is sent off to hunt down Dante, which relatively the story. As the story progress, you learn about conspiracies about the Order that all leads up to the final boss. The story does begin to falter near the end, but even so, it is a decent story. Controls are really good which is important for a hack n slash game like this.Nero has a little gimmick that makes the combat more over the top and more enjoyable. This little gimmick is his Devil Bringer. How it works is that you lock on to a enemy to drag them closer to you (or you to it) then you can cause major damage to that enemy. It all varies depending on the enemy you use it on, so it's nice to use against everything to see what it does. Controlling Dante isn't as fun as Nero is, but only by a bit. It is harder to rack up combos with Dante because he can't pull the enemy in. However, it is great that you can access all of his style with the D-pad. Combat is top notch, perhaps the best in the series. It is as over the top as ever. It is incredibly fun to fight and the boss battles are incredibly amazing. The only real complaint I have with the combat is the camera. It can become a bit of a pest at times. Visuals are incredible, everything is clean and it all looks beautiful, whether it's in indoor environments or in outdoor environments. Enemy design is good, character design is good and the voice actors are fitting for their roles. The sound track is easily one of the best I've heard in any game I've played. The track adds quite a bit of the enjoyment to the game. Lastly, Capcom have fixed their difficulty issues for this series. It is easier then the previous game (I'm not sure about DMC2) yet it has a balanced difficulty increase. It will still provide you a challenge, but you will be able to beat the game on Devil Hunter mode. 9.2/10, it is a good game, a worthy addition to the series and a must own for hack n slash lovers. Expand
  5. ConradS.
    Mar 9, 2008
    8
    Very entertaining and enjoyable, I just hope this is not the best the console is capable of as it felt like a PS2 game with PS3 graphics.
  6. HughH.
    Feb 25, 2008
    7
    I like this game, i really do but honestly it is the exact same gameplay as the other 3 installments to the point when i just get tired and I like this game, i really do but honestly it is the exact same gameplay as the other 3 installments to the point when i just get tired and need to soak my fingers and wrists in hot salt water. It's basically Devil May Cry 3 (except easier) with a easier to use character for 10 levels and then once you get used to him you get Dante with harder enemies and a combat system that is perplexing to say the least. If you got carpal tunnel syndrome playing Nero than your wrists will fall off playing Dante. The story is always an afterthought in DMC games it's all about the combat but honestly, it gets a bit tedious. especially when backtracking for the entire second half of the game. Capcom, please take a cue from Hideo Kojima and try something a bit new next time. If DMC 5 is the same as this with another character I will be disappointed. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard.I don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard. The main characters are kick ass... the story seems cool... the environments are well done... and the gameplay and feel of the game is just awesome. but why oh why do they mess it up to the point where one begins to hate the game... with a story line which is sooooo fragmented and ludicrous and enemies which are just plain cheap both in the way they look and their fighting. there is no character development and the new characters in this game are have absolutely no personality... to an almost creepy level. the environments begin to have a somewhat haunting feel to them which is not necessary in a game of this genre and don't seem to even fit into the world of the game and seem to be designed and put there with no reasoning at all... they don't even fit into the story. To make matters worst is the fact that the player needs to redo all the stages as well as all the boss fights with Dante. This pat of the game was the most frustrating as its much much harder than it is with Nero... the game changes from being slightly entertaining to just pure and utter frustration. I hated this game. I really loathed it. Its not cool... its not fun its just pure and utter frustration in a world and story one could experience during a horrible nightmare. I HATE THIS GAME!!! Expand

See all 55 User Reviews