Devil May Cry 4 PlayStation 3

Devil May Cry 4 Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 63 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 300 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Fear resonates in the underworld as a new protagonist crosses paths with a familiar hero who seemingly inexplicably slaughters countless people. Long ago the Dark Knight Sparda awoke to justice and rebelled against the dark emperor, to wage a one-man war to save humanity. Thousands of yearsFear resonates in the underworld as a new protagonist crosses paths with a familiar hero who seemingly inexplicably slaughters countless people. Long ago the Dark Knight Sparda awoke to justice and rebelled against the dark emperor, to wage a one-man war to save humanity. Thousands of years later, a religious organization worships this renowned savior and has taken it upon themselves to rid the world of all demons. Residing in Fortuna, a castle city on the coast, this "Order of the Sword" has an elite group of "Holy Knights" dedicated to carrying out this very creed. Rising among the ranks, a young cynical warrior named Nero witnesses Sparda's legendary son Dante slaughter countless "knights". Has the renowned devil hunter turned his back on mankind? What does this encounter mean for these two individuals and why has destiny brought them together? In Devil May Cry 4, players control the formidable Nero who comes to grips with his newly found power as his beliefs and allegiance are tested. Continuing the legacy of fast paced action synonymous with the series, Devil May Cry 4 pushes the envelope of excellence even further with the inclusion of a new combat system that incorporates Nero's "Devil Bringer". This new feature has players delivering overwhelming damage to enemies with non-stop combos, while gaining new power for Nero's right arm. [Capcom] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 63
  2. Negative: 0 out of 63
  1. It also marks a great jumping on point for newcomers with a more balanced difficulty level and a decent checkpoint/continue system, but offers plenty of harder modes for the die-hard fans. Easily one of the best action games in recent years.
  2. Nero brings an awesome dynamic to the franchise. Combine that with Dante's parallel mission and the game is absolutely over-the-top.
  3. Devil May Cry 4 has set the bar for how a combat system should be made. I can't stress enough how fun it is to beat the hell out of every enemy encountered. Fans of the action hack and slash genre have a new champion.
  4. 87
    Though the focus might be more on Nero than Dante, and could've been named something else with a Dante cameo, DMC4 still has everything that fans expect of the game – over the top fight sequences, tons of replayability and an experience with an excellent production value.
  5. Even with its repetitiveness and awkward camera angles, Devil May Cry 4 provides a solid addition to the series and even towards the end, with its descent into a puddle of annoyance, the game features some exceptional gameplay and cinematics.
  6. There are bits in DMC4 that you'll absolutley love, and bits that you'll hate...Impossible to recommend to everyone, but the purest expression of the series' style yet. [Feb 2008, p.18]
  7. And then there's the issue of style. It feels like the creators of Devil May Cry 4 are trapped in the summer of 1999, when The Matrix was still the pinnacle of otaku-informed art.

See all 63 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 53
  2. Negative: 4 out of 53
  1. [Anonymous]
    Feb 1, 2008
    10
    Finally it's here, definitely the best iteration in the series. Reviewers complain it sticks to old formula -- but the truth is, why fix Finally it's here, definitely the best iteration in the series. Reviewers complain it sticks to old formula -- but the truth is, why fix it if it ain't broke? Dante and Nero complement each other nicely, and the Devilbringer and Exceed System are quite awesome new additions. Expand
  2. AlvinL.
    Feb 27, 2008
    10
    An amazing action game!!! Cheesy and sometimes absurd, but that's the charm of the Devil May Cry series. A must-buy if you like action games.
  3. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    Most of players will get bored by the level design since there are only 10 but the plot is not the reason Capcom developed this game;Most of players will get bored by the level design since there are only 10 but the plot is not the reason Capcom developed this game;
    Gameplay is Awesome and Deep, Get that S in the Bloody Palace Level if you can do it.
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2016
    9
    Devil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the factDevil may cry 4 is a proper send off for the classic series of the franchise that gave birth to the Hack and Slash genre. Despite the fact that the story focuses more on Nero, the combat has never been more satisfying. Nero in particular can make great use of his sword the Red Queen which can be pumped up to deal more damage to enemies. His greatest weapon is the use of his demonic arm which creates more opportunities to unleash deadly combos. The second half of the game allows players to take control of Dante again. This time Dante can change between styles with just the touch of the dpad as well as being able to switch in-between secondary weapons. The story may not have the same kind of internal conflict but it is till an involving story about Nero experiencing a crises of faith and a not-so-subtle critique on organized religion. Dante's side of the story is also very entertaining with his usually trademark one liners against enemies. Unfortunately the biggest drawback to the game is the backtracking which is evidenced by the cut content on behalf of Dante's half. Aside from that factor, it is a great action game with a proper sendoff to the classic franchise (at least until they confirm on making a Devil May Cry 5). Expand
  5. EricP
    Mar 4, 2009
    8
    I would definitely recommend DMC4 to anyone who is a fan to the series already. It really is a rather welcomed change of pace to have a new I would definitely recommend DMC4 to anyone who is a fan to the series already. It really is a rather welcomed change of pace to have a new character, Nero, in the stead of Dante. The skills that he brings to the table are just as good if not better. Anyone unfamiliar with the series might not understand what it's about at first but if you're into "Hack 'n' Slash" then this game is for you. I wouldn't consider it a button mashing type of game because there is alot of timing and skill involved. However, don't get it twisted, buttons will be mashed. I haven't finished the game yet but I can comment on what I've played. The battle system is just about as flawless as DMC3: Special Edition but with improved skills and the addition of Nero's Devil Bringer which makes the game for me. A bit of forewarning, I found that alot of the time the camera angles were awkward and hindered gameplay. It makes it difficult when the camera runs into walls, is not controllable altogether, or doesn't show you what you want it to. There is variety enough of demons and bosses to keep things on the challenging side and difficulty modes hard enough to make you want to throw your controller at the nearest peson in the room or tear the hair right out of your scalp. The battle system is complicated and the skills vary enough to chain massive combos and unleash devasting attacks. Nero gets the Devil Trigger also, so it's like nothing is lost in transition from DMC3 to 4. The missions are laughable to say the least. It's nothing more than Kindergarten grade puzzles that insult your intelligence and interconnected battle areas filled with random crap here and there. But that's not why we play the DMC series though, is it? All in all it's a very convincing and welcome addition to the series boasting some awesome graphics nonetheless. Lets just hope the next addition will have 1080p rather than the 720p that this title was graced with. I give this game an 8/10 because it's not perfect, needs polishing in some areas, but overall is a great game with great replay value. Expand
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    7
    Even though that i love DMC series, and i love this game there is some backdrops that cant be highlighted, the backtracking, too short , luckEven though that i love DMC series, and i love this game there is some backdrops that cant be highlighted, the backtracking, too short , luck of bosses, luck of different enemies, few enemies in battles and compared to DMC3 slow fighting system. Expand
  7. Nov 8, 2011
    0
    I don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard.I don't understand who this game appeals to i really don't. I really want to like devil may cry 4 but the developers make it very very hard. The main characters are kick ass... the story seems cool... the environments are well done... and the gameplay and feel of the game is just awesome. but why oh why do they mess it up to the point where one begins to hate the game... with a story line which is sooooo fragmented and ludicrous and enemies which are just plain cheap both in the way they look and their fighting. there is no character development and the new characters in this game are have absolutely no personality... to an almost creepy level. the environments begin to have a somewhat haunting feel to them which is not necessary in a game of this genre and don't seem to even fit into the world of the game and seem to be designed and put there with no reasoning at all... they don't even fit into the story. To make matters worst is the fact that the player needs to redo all the stages as well as all the boss fights with Dante. This pat of the game was the most frustrating as its much much harder than it is with Nero... the game changes from being slightly entertaining to just pure and utter frustration. I hated this game. I really loathed it. Its not cool... its not fun its just pure and utter frustration in a world and story one could experience during a horrible nightmare. I HATE THIS GAME!!! Expand

See all 53 User Reviews