Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 510 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game takes place on Sanctuary, a world of dark fantasy. Unbeknownst to most of its inhabitants, Sanctuary was saved some twenty years ago from the demonic forces of the underworld by a few brave and powerful heroes. Most of those warriors who directly faced the armies of the BurningThe game takes place on Sanctuary, a world of dark fantasy. Unbeknownst to most of its inhabitants, Sanctuary was saved some twenty years ago from the demonic forces of the underworld by a few brave and powerful heroes. Most of those warriors who directly faced the armies of the Burning Hells -- and were fortunate enough to survive -- went mad from their experiences. And most of the others have buried their haunted memories and pushed the horrors from their thoughts. In Diablo III, players will return to Sanctuary to confront evil in its many forms once again. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    100
    A beautifully designed game that packs intense action, memorable set pieces, and some of the best couch co-op play you'll find. Wickedly brilliant.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    90
    Blizzard has done an outstanding job in bringing Diablo III to consoles, so much so that I was still getting engulfed by its addictive nature even after putting in over 100+ hours on the PC.
  3. Sep 26, 2013
    90
    Even if you already own its PC brother there is something incredibly refreshing and revitalising about playing the game offline with friends, each with a controller, together on the same screen.
  4. Aug 29, 2013
    88
    Diablo III is a great game. This action-RPG game from Blizzard works perfectly on consoles thanks to a good control system, a redesigned interface, and a fun co-op local multiplayer. It's an amazing experience.
  5. Sep 3, 2013
    85
    Diablo III is the best journey Blizzard has ever made in the world of console gaming. The control system is perfect and the flavour of slaying monsters on your sofa, with a joypad in your hands, is sometimes better than the one you feel with your PC. Graphics, though, remain better on a good computer.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    84
    Diablo III Is a solid sword and sorcery dungeon crawling adventure. Just push the direction you want to go and then hack 'n' slash... how simple and fun.
  7. Sep 2, 2013
    70
    Diablo still contains enough impulsive monster-slaying to entertain, but the trek from its home on PC has left it diminished.

See all 43 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 123
  2. Negative: 35 out of 123
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    If you're going to play Diablo 3, the console version is the way to go. Everything that's wrong with the PC version isn't present in theIf you're going to play Diablo 3, the console version is the way to go. Everything that's wrong with the PC version isn't present in the console version. No more Auction House & Real Money Auction House trolls who buy their way to good gear. It's just good old fashion grind-and-loot! That's how it should be! Expand
  2. Sep 4, 2013
    10
    Ok: the console version of D3 is probably the best ARPG ever that graced this platform. Couch play is incredible. A family that plays togetherOk: the console version of D3 is probably the best ARPG ever that graced this platform. Couch play is incredible. A family that plays together stays together and Diablo3 makes for a MUCH needed change on console play: Grind and adventure into the darkness of Hell on the 4 player sofa Expand
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    9
    I have not played the PC version Of diablo 3, which I've heard terrible things about.
    Diablo 3 on the ps3 on the other hand is great, Looks
    I have not played the PC version Of diablo 3, which I've heard terrible things about.
    Diablo 3 on the ps3 on the other hand is great, Looks great, plays fantastically, anything wrong with the PC version has been fixed .
    The multiplayer shines. it's easy to get matches, and little lag is experienced, The online community from what I've seen is pretty good too.
    If you weren't loving diablo 3 on Pc, give it a second look for console.
    Expand
  4. Sep 9, 2013
    8
    I played the PC version when it launched and am one of the many who got bored pretty quickly. The grind got repetitive and drop rates wereI played the PC version when it launched and am one of the many who got bored pretty quickly. The grind got repetitive and drop rates were gimped to balance the AH. With that said, Diablo 3 on console is a completely different game. With how well it works with a controller you'd think that it were originally designed for this. The use of the analog sticks makes the action more arcade like. If you liked Gauntlet Legends then you'll love D3 on PS3.

    Now they just need to fix the stat system on the gear.
    Expand
  5. May 1, 2014
    7
    Never played Diablo 2, but I am aware of what it is and how much it means to people. Honestly, I dig loot, crafting and leveling up just asNever played Diablo 2, but I am aware of what it is and how much it means to people. Honestly, I dig loot, crafting and leveling up just as much as the next guy, but this game is not nearly fun enough to get as p*ssed off as people do about it. This is a game I throw in when I want to space out and not think for awhile waiting for Dark Souls 2 to come down in price. People held their breath 10 years for this? Expand
  6. Sep 4, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The controller and the drops are definitely better, this game were suitably designed for console rather than PC as both has 4 players maximum capacity for a game and 6 skills button mapping are perfect for it, not wondering why the developer even testing this game in the console controller when it's under development for PC.

    Although all of the improvement is definitely bring the plus for console version, the depth of the game itself is still shallow. After the normal mode has been beaten, there is no other point of the game rather than restarting the game with higher difficulty with mostly same monster with randomized small variety of affixes that is rather frustrating than challenging. The story itself is nothing good, especially for the character treatment (Azmodan repeated "So you managed to destroying my plan, so there is my another plan" line is the best example, also Deckard Cain death is highly disappointing.). About the in-game graphic, low polygon model make this game feel decent compared to the nowaday AAA games, though the animation is pretty well done.

    this game is definitely for everyone who is looking for a good 4 players style gauntlet game. The replay ability might be cool enough as it's fun to be played on multiplayer, but lack of variation between each act and amount of features might lead the replaying became duller and duller. For AAA priced games, the good amount of consideration to get this game must be done.
    Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2014
    0
    Really disappointing game , after so much wait and hype even after BETA this is just a mere disappointment , Blizzard really messed this up .Really disappointing game , after so much wait and hype even after BETA this is just a mere disappointment , Blizzard really messed this up . Yes I know that the game itself as the previous franchises is a grind but Diablo 3 currently is a **** . Story feels just sucked out of a finger . Except for the 1st Act it was great , what follows up is basically **** and grind . No end game content and if they added some its **** . Expand

See all 123 User Reviews