Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 109 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dirt 3 takes Codemasters' off-road series back to its rallying roots.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Jun 1, 2011
    95
    Dirt 3 has modest game length; the concept over all does not grow tiresome which is great. It has solid fun gameplay from single player experience, to multiplayer online or even split screen multiplayer. Dirt 3 may not please everyone out there, what game does really? Dirt 3 is a solid addition to the series, which keeps rally car racing as the coolest thing out there.
  2. Aug 7, 2011
    91
    Overall, Dirt 3 is nothing short of stellar. The sheer amount of variety – in race events, tracks, and vehicles – makes Dirt 3 a racer that you'll keep coming back to again and again, long after you've completed the Dirt Tour. Whether you're a fan of sim racers, arcade racers, or heck even Mario Kart, you should definitely check out Dirt 3.
  3. Helping you keep that momentum is a masterful handling model. [June 2011, p.96]
  4. 90
    DiRT 3 is one of the most pleasant surprises of this year. Enhances all that its predecessors had done well, but at the same time brings back the gameplay as a major success factor.
  5. May 24, 2011
    86
    In the end, the slight step back brought the series a nice leap forward. The more realistic handling and greater variety of cars make DiRT3 a definite must-have for old-school rally fans, while the new Gymkhana-Races cater the X-Games-Lovers.
  6. May 31, 2011
    85
    DiRT 3 has some rough edges but remains a worthwhile purchase for longtime fans who crave more of the racing action that has made the DiRT series the premiere rally series on the market, but newcomers should go with one of the prior games. Partly because rally racing isn't for everyone, so if you're new, go with a prior game, preferably DiRT 2 and see if the series is for you. Multi-platform owners should get the 360 version. Its controller feels better for racing games, and you can use your Avatar as a prop hanging off of your in-car mirror, which may not make for impressive ad copy, but sure is amusing to see and will get a few laughs out of you.
  7. Jun 14, 2011
    60
    In the end, Dirt 3 is a game with slick presentation, beautiful cars, stunning environments, and solid racing, but no depth. It's a game that does nothing wrong, but never wants to achieve anything greater.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 2 out of 22
  1. May 25, 2011
    10
    The "Twitchy" that some people complain about are there to give the game it's edge. If you are a quitter and press "Restart" every time youThe "Twitchy" that some people complain about are there to give the game it's edge. If you are a quitter and press "Restart" every time you crash your car then do not buy this game, you will not have a good time. If you do like to invest in a game and at the end be rewarded with ultimate car control then this for you. Master the controls and you can pinpoint your car trajectory and be amazed while watching the replay ... but beware ... you are always 1 second away from totaling your car.

    This game is so good, that I absolute hate my job right now. I want to go home and play DiRT3. I wished they had released it on Friday :-(

    Codemasters have done it again... they truly master the racing genre. Thank you for DiRT3 it is worth every penny.
    Expand
  2. Jul 1, 2011
    10
    wow..Im blown away with this game...Ive not played Dirt 1 or 2 so i cant compare it to those , and to be honest a game should stand on its ownwow..Im blown away with this game...Ive not played Dirt 1 or 2 so i cant compare it to those , and to be honest a game should stand on its own merit really, so Dirt 3...one of the best driving games I think Ive played, a great sense of speed with this game, the Internal views , and all the cars have them, just add an immense sense of realism to the game, Plenty of different types of races not just point to point rally's and in different types of weather, racing in an Internal view on a snow laden track / road with the snow hammering down really is impressive. The so called "twitchy" handling I think is just right, because cars are "twitchy" at high speeds, it gives you the feeling that you can make a mistake at any moment, and that's true to life. Codemasters have proved yet again what they are good at..Dirt 3 is masterpiece of adrenaline fueled racing, plenty here to keep you busy for ages. What a game. Expand
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    Top notch driving game here , presented well , looks stunning , drives like a dream , gymkhana is a great addition and wicked fun ,,

    and for
    Top notch driving game here , presented well , looks stunning , drives like a dream , gymkhana is a great addition and wicked fun ,,

    and for all the "twitchy controls " and " bad handling" remarks , i say go get a new controller cause yours must be busted ............
    Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    ok i will start of saying that this game is waay underrated, I am not saying everyone should go out and buy this game but i am saying if youok i will start of saying that this game is waay underrated, I am not saying everyone should go out and buy this game but i am saying if you love intense challenging racing games then this is the game for you! But it has its flaws, they certainly don't ruin the game but they do make it more frustrating and harder to play. When i started my first race i immediately realized that they had tweaked the handling a little but i wasn't sure how, then as i began to get further into the race i began to notice the changes, In dirt 2 turning corners wasn't to much of a problem for me but in dirt 3 it feels a lot looser and lighter and this is bad because dirt 3 has lots of narrow roads and tricky corners. So the first corner comes up and im confident i will get round it, so i take my finger of the accelerator and begin to turn with the analog stick. I then spin 360 degrees and i am facing the wrong direction, this happened to me lots of times and it was really frustrating. So you get my point they have tweaked the handling and have made it more difficult.
    Onto the graphics which i am disappointed with. After playing it at a friends house on 360 i immediately wanted to buy it, it looked amazing. Not the case with the ps3 version it was more grainy lighting affects are not as good, textures and overall detail are just poor compared to the 360 so its obviously a bad port.
    The different modes and activity's are great and can be addictive if you get used to the trickier handling. The sound is really well done especially when its comes down to the sound of the cars.
    So the game is good there are some changes they have made that were not necessary but there are also changes that are very welcome, like the gymkanna activity's, i would recommend this to any car or racing fan.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2011
    8
    I like this game. It builds on the 2nd game with snow and rain effects, the new gymkhana event and the music is great like most Codemastes'I like this game. It builds on the 2nd game with snow and rain effects, the new gymkhana event and the music is great like most Codemastes' games. I find the handling to be very similar to the 2nd game but that is a good thing. The vehicles could have a little more weight to them but they're ok the way they are. The biggest drawback to me was the presentation. I loved the RV in Dirt 2 and the idea of flying all around the world to compete in events. I don't care much for the menus in this game, but on the other hand, it seems to be easier to see what event you should be entering next. The tutorials are a nice touch and explain everything you need to know. I bought Motorstorm Apocalypse before this and I gave it some thought and traded in Motorstorm for this. Not really similar games but this one is WAY more fun to me and that's what counts. Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    6
    Appalling "twitchy" arcade handling prevent this game from being the mediocre experience it could have been! They have taken the handlingAppalling "twitchy" arcade handling prevent this game from being the mediocre experience it could have been! They have taken the handling model from the first Dirt game, which means that cars lurch from side to side in a thoroughly unrealistic way, like a turrettes sufferer masturbating behind the wheel. The career mode is irritating beyond belief, if I ever see another pyramid agin I'll kill someone! The collection of brain dead voices range from a thick English girl who is your agent, an Aussie who has English as second language, to an Aerican who has clearly been told not to say "dude" anymore, so uses muchacio instead. Then we come to the "jewel in Dirt3's crown" as I've heard it referred to, Gykhanna. Imagine if the special olympics started a motorsport event featuring Ken "I've never finished a real event without writing off my car" Blockhead! I think you are starting to get the picture. Don't buy this piece of crap, like me you might have been tempted by FInland with group B vehicles, but that is literally all you get that's worth while. Michigan and Kenya are so poorly done, and such poor choices anyway, that playing them in the career mode is an absolute chore! The interiour "cockpit" view is equally shoddy and few of the rally stages take longer than 1 minute 30 seconds to complete. If you want a realistic game with excellent handling, buy an old copy of Dirt 2 and adjust the downforce to maximum. Dirt 2 has better graphics and handling, if you already own it then you can only be dissappointed by this PoS! Expand
  7. Aug 5, 2011
    0
    beutiful graphics, nice cars and great music can't make up for the fact that you can't keep your car under control and therefore can dobeutiful graphics, nice cars and great music can't make up for the fact that you can't keep your car under control and therefore can do absoulutly nothing with this game Expand

See all 22 User Reviews

Trailers