DiRT Showdown PlayStation 3

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. May 24, 2012
    60
    Showdown may look heavy on options from its bombastic menus but ultimately it just feels like a narrow slice of Dirt 3 with some destruction derbies tacked on.
  2. It's got multiplayer appeal that deserves a busy community, pick-up-and-play appeal for the casual speedster, and a clear sense of character that gives even experienced players a genuine challenge (and a unique play style). So while it stands out for lack of serious competition rather than ingenuity, new Dirt is nonetheless a show worth buying a ticket for.
  3. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    Dirt Showdown, is a curious deviation for the series, and one I happily experienced, but I was left hankering for what came before.
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    60
    Here we are. We haven't really been sold on this DiRT 3 spin off. Yes, the envelope is gorgeous, with superb car models, nice lighting effects, and a perfect frame rate, but in the end it still feels a little dull. The races are stringed together without any real thrill, and overall, we're underwhelmed. Throw in some lengthy load times, and what you get is a little above-average racing game, despite some nice multiplayer stuff.
  5. CD-Action
    Jun 6, 2012
    60
    As all Codemasters' racing games Showdown looks great but it doesn't make it exciting and will not keep you in front of the TV for a long time. You'll be better off digging up good old Burnout Paradise. [July 2012, p.74]
  6. May 24, 2012
    70
    DiRT Showdown is very much a game of two halves. The single-player is enjoyable and frustrating in equal measure, but it's the online mode that swoops in and saves the day with the combination of RaceNet, Showdown Challenges and lag-free mayhem.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    With Showdown Codemasters makes a 180 degrees turn towards the American audience. Itʼs not a bad game by no means, but itʼs also not a "DiRT" game.
  8. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Jul 4, 2012
    70
    While Codemasters have made this look the goods from the glossy cars to the vibrant environments, the edge-of-your-seat events are few and far between, and the carnage is limited due to a small field of competitors. You'll either feel indifferent to its attitude or loathe it outright, and your gut reaction will tip you either way. We, and we suppose many others, will be curious to see how this sideshow influences DiRT 4. [July 2012, p76]
  9. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    May 30, 2012
    70
    It's a good start in the right direction, but anyone with a copy of Dirt 3 already on their shelves will probably be content with a rental. [July 2012, p.82]
  10. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Jun 14, 2012
    69
    The meter onscreen tells us that our car is a tiny bump away from the scrapheap, but it still drives like it just rolled out of the factory. A serious handicap in a game where carnage and damage is almost everything. [June 2012, p.88]
User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in aYes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    Only derby game on ps3 that I know. It gets repetitive and after a while it's just too easy to win every race. That being said: it's just aOnly derby game on ps3 that I know. It gets repetitive and after a while it's just too easy to win every race. That being said: it's just a lot of fun to play. It's a well made derby game. I like racing but the cars have to be able to get damaged to make me feel engaged. This game does that. Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    First of all we can't campare this game to FlatOut (in my opinion FlatOut 2 is 10/10). But Dirt Showdown is also very funny. Graphics and theFirst of all we can't campare this game to FlatOut (in my opinion FlatOut 2 is 10/10). But Dirt Showdown is also very funny. Graphics and the gameplay are good, with cool cars and nice challenges. Full Review »