DiRT Showdown PlayStation 3

Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
Buy On
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    80
    Dirt Showdown is a satisfying mix of driving tricks and destruction wrapped up in the slickest of presentations.
  2. May 24, 2012
    75
    Despite Showdown's limitations, as it has with its other games, Codemasters has provided this title with a solid foundation. The handling of the cars is thankfully easier than the base Dirt series (including in the Hoonigan events), and the balancing on the Boost ability is great. Codemasters' first try at this offshoot series is decent. It's limited more by its execution than its premise.
  3. Jun 26, 2012
    75
    Overall, I feel like DiRT Showdown is definitely worth checking out, but it's certainly not on par with the experience that DiRT 3 delivered for me. The demolition modes are great additions here, but everything else just feels like tacked on, recycled content that I've already played in DiRT 3. Still, even recycled, that content manages to be just as fun as I remember it. So, unless you're particularly burnt out on DiRT at the moment, I definitely think you should give Showdown a chance, and I think you'll find that it's worth checking out.
  4. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    DiRT Showdown seems like it wasn't made for the die-hard DiRT enthusiasts. The DiRT physics give the game a more realistic slant, but the de-emphasis of more traditional rally racing will drive away series fans.
  5. May 25, 2012
    80
    Dirt Showdown is no doubt a very entertaining game. The handling is very easy, but the destruction derby mood of the game could be a little bit frustrating.
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    Jun 20, 2012
    78
    A very entertaining combination of relatively normal arcade-racing, destruction derby and drifting. The tracks are too easy and the cars feel samey, though. [June 2012]
  7. May 25, 2012
    93
    Without a doubt: DiRT Showdown will be the best racing game for this year. Because you will laugh your ass off during the multiplayer and won't be able to put down the controller.
  8. May 24, 2012
    85
    The former rally franchise presents itself as a great mix of Destruction Derby and high speed action racing. A strong single player combined with an extensive online experience garantuees great varied fun.
  9. Play UK
    Jun 17, 2012
    84
    Successfully transplants the rally formula into an arcade mould, mainly because smashing stuff is fun. [Issue#219, p.72]
  10. Jun 26, 2012
    78
    DiRT shifts into a different gear with Showdown, moving away from its rally sim roots to a more arcade and destruction-friendly forum.
  11. Jun 18, 2012
    77
    There's a lot going on in DiRT Showdown and despite the small lack of satisfaction I personally noticed, and the relatively low number of environments, I had a lot of fun.
  12. May 29, 2012
    80
    DiRT purists will feel put off by Showdown's unruly sense of style, but Codemasters is clearly coveting a different audience with its latest jaunt on the race track. Slick multiplayer and an outstanding roster of activities make for an enjoyable ride, even if it is a predominantly exhausting one.
  13. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    DiRT Showdown has many strengths and demonstrates the power of Codemasters in producing solid racing games. It is effective, fun and easy to pick up.
  14. 75
    Shortcomings aside, Codemasters has delivered a very fast paced, slickly presented, arcade demolition derby that is more than capable of giving you some great entertainment value.
  15. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Jun 5, 2012
    78
    Look past some of the randomness and you'll find hours of racing entertainment. [July 2012, p.106]
  16. Jul 17, 2012
    90
    DiRT Showdown is the most fun I've had with a racing game since Burnout Paradise, a great looking game that nails the entertainment aspect of video gaming head-on.
  17. Jul 9, 2012
    85
    A great party racegame! You'll be crashing and burning for a very long time after buying DiRT Showdown and we assure you that you won't regret spending your hard-earned money on it.
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in aYes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    Only derby game on ps3 that I know. It gets repetitive and after a while it's just too easy to win every race. That being said: it's just aOnly derby game on ps3 that I know. It gets repetitive and after a while it's just too easy to win every race. That being said: it's just a lot of fun to play. It's a well made derby game. I like racing but the cars have to be able to get damaged to make me feel engaged. This game does that. Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    First of all we can't campare this game to FlatOut (in my opinion FlatOut 2 is 10/10). But Dirt Showdown is also very funny. Graphics and theFirst of all we can't campare this game to FlatOut (in my opinion FlatOut 2 is 10/10). But Dirt Showdown is also very funny. Graphics and the gameplay are good, with cool cars and nice challenges. Full Review »