Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jun 1, 2012
    80
    Dirt Showdown is a satisfying mix of driving tricks and destruction wrapped up in the slickest of presentations.
  2. May 25, 2012
    93
    Without a doubt: DiRT Showdown will be the best racing game for this year. Because you will laugh your ass off during the multiplayer and won't be able to put down the controller.
  3. May 24, 2012
    60
    Showdown may look heavy on options from its bombastic menus but ultimately it just feels like a narrow slice of Dirt 3 with some destruction derbies tacked on.
  4. May 24, 2012
    85
    The former rally franchise presents itself as a great mix of Destruction Derby and high speed action racing. A strong single player combined with an extensive online experience garantuees great varied fun.
  5. May 24, 2012
    75
    Despite Showdown's limitations, as it has with its other games, Codemasters has provided this title with a solid foundation. The handling of the cars is thankfully easier than the base Dirt series (including in the Hoonigan events), and the balancing on the Boost ability is great. Codemasters' first try at this offshoot series is decent. It's limited more by its execution than its premise.
  6. Jun 4, 2012
    60
    Here we are. We haven't really been sold on this DiRT 3 spin off. Yes, the envelope is gorgeous, with superb car models, nice lighting effects, and a perfect frame rate, but in the end it still feels a little dull. The races are stringed together without any real thrill, and overall, we're underwhelmed. Throw in some lengthy load times, and what you get is a little above-average racing game, despite some nice multiplayer stuff.
  7. May 29, 2012
    80
    DiRT purists will feel put off by Showdown's unruly sense of style, but Codemasters is clearly coveting a different audience with its latest jaunt on the race track. Slick multiplayer and an outstanding roster of activities make for an enjoyable ride, even if it is a predominantly exhausting one.
  8. May 25, 2012
    80
    Dirt Showdown is no doubt a very entertaining game. The handling is very easy, but the destruction derby mood of the game could be a little bit frustrating.
  9. May 24, 2012
    70
    DiRT Showdown is very much a game of two halves. The single-player is enjoyable and frustrating in equal measure, but it's the online mode that swoops in and saves the day with the combination of RaceNet, Showdown Challenges and lag-free mayhem.
  10. It's got multiplayer appeal that deserves a busy community, pick-up-and-play appeal for the casual speedster, and a clear sense of character that gives even experienced players a genuine challenge (and a unique play style). So while it stands out for lack of serious competition rather than ingenuity, new Dirt is nonetheless a show worth buying a ticket for.
  11. Aug 9, 2012
    80
    DiRT Showdown seems like it wasn't made for the die-hard DiRT enthusiasts. The DiRT physics give the game a more realistic slant, but the de-emphasis of more traditional rally racing will drive away series fans.
  12. Jul 17, 2012
    90
    DiRT Showdown is the most fun I've had with a racing game since Burnout Paradise, a great looking game that nails the entertainment aspect of video gaming head-on.
  13. 75
    Shortcomings aside, Codemasters has delivered a very fast paced, slickly presented, arcade demolition derby that is more than capable of giving you some great entertainment value.
  14. Jul 9, 2012
    85
    A great party racegame! You'll be crashing and burning for a very long time after buying DiRT Showdown and we assure you that you won't regret spending your hard-earned money on it.
  15. While Codemasters have made this look the goods from the glossy cars to the vibrant environments, the edge-of-your-seat events are few and far between, and the carnage is limited due to a small field of competitors. You'll either feel indifferent to its attitude or loathe it outright, and your gut reaction will tip you either way. We, and we suppose many others, will be curious to see how this sideshow influences DiRT 4. [July 2012, p76]
  16. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    Dirt Showdown, is a curious deviation for the series, and one I happily experienced, but I was left hankering for what came before.
  17. Jun 28, 2012
    70
    With Showdown Codemasters makes a 180 degrees turn towards the American audience. Itʼs not a bad game by no means, but itʼs also not a "DiRT" game.
  18. Jun 26, 2012
    75
    Overall, I feel like DiRT Showdown is definitely worth checking out, but it's certainly not on par with the experience that DiRT 3 delivered for me. The demolition modes are great additions here, but everything else just feels like tacked on, recycled content that I've already played in DiRT 3. Still, even recycled, that content manages to be just as fun as I remember it. So, unless you're particularly burnt out on DiRT at the moment, I definitely think you should give Showdown a chance, and I think you'll find that it's worth checking out.
  19. Jun 26, 2012
    78
    DiRT shifts into a different gear with Showdown, moving away from its rally sim roots to a more arcade and destruction-friendly forum.
  20. Jun 22, 2012
    80
    DiRT Showdown has many strengths and demonstrates the power of Codemasters in producing solid racing games. It is effective, fun and easy to pick up.
  21. Jun 20, 2012
    78
    A very entertaining combination of relatively normal arcade-racing, destruction derby and drifting. The tracks are too easy and the cars feel samey, though. [June 2012]
  22. Jun 18, 2012
    77
    There's a lot going on in DiRT Showdown and despite the small lack of satisfaction I personally noticed, and the relatively low number of environments, I had a lot of fun.
  23. Jun 17, 2012
    84
    Successfully transplants the rally formula into an arcade mould, mainly because smashing stuff is fun. [Issue#219, p.72]
  24. The meter onscreen tells us that our car is a tiny bump away from the scrapheap, but it still drives like it just rolled out of the factory. A serious handicap in a game where carnage and damage is almost everything. [June 2012, p.88]
  25. Jun 6, 2012
    60
    As all Codemasters' racing games Showdown looks great but it doesn't make it exciting and will not keep you in front of the TV for a long time. You'll be better off digging up good old Burnout Paradise. [July 2012, p.74]
  26. Jun 5, 2012
    78
    Look past some of the randomness and you'll find hours of racing entertainment. [July 2012, p.106]
  27. It's a good start in the right direction, but anyone with a copy of Dirt 3 already on their shelves will probably be content with a rental. [July 2012, p.82]
User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Yes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in aYes, it has some issues. There is some lag online at times, and some glitches. However, this game has to be the most fun derby game in a very long time, and not only that, but you can go online and have crazy matches. I think this game is severely underrated because it has the Dirt name, which disappoints previous Dirt game fans, and scares away people that didn't like Dirt 1-3. Demos are out on all platforms, and even though there isn't much to see on them, anyone who likes smashing cars owes it to themselves to play at least the demo if not the full game. Full Review »
  2. Dec 17, 2013
    7
    Only derby game on ps3 that I know. It gets repetitive and after a while it's just too easy to win every race. That being said: it's just aOnly derby game on ps3 that I know. It gets repetitive and after a while it's just too easy to win every race. That being said: it's just a lot of fun to play. It's a well made derby game. I like racing but the cars have to be able to get damaged to make me feel engaged. This game does that. Full Review »
  3. Sep 20, 2013
    7
    First of all we can't campare this game to FlatOut (in my opinion FlatOut 2 is 10/10). But Dirt Showdown is also very funny. Graphics and theFirst of all we can't campare this game to FlatOut (in my opinion FlatOut 2 is 10/10). But Dirt Showdown is also very funny. Graphics and the gameplay are good, with cool cars and nice challenges. Full Review »