DiRT Image
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Formerly known as "Colin McRae Rally 2007" or "CMR '07") After a two-year break for the series, Codemasters Studios' designers have created a reinvigorated McRae experience. The new Colin McRae title goes beyond the series' point-to-point rallying to deliver the most diverse selection of extreme off-road competitions. Sensational gravel, mud and dirt racing events from the world over include perilous Hill Climb and collision-packed Rally Cross events. International rallying competitions are also featured, with official cars on tracks based on real roads and locations around the globe. The title also expands on beat-the-clock racing and includes events with multiple cars on track to satisfy anyone who wants to push their on-the-edge driving just that bit further. [Codemasters] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. The best rally game money can buy and one of this year's best racers. [Dec 2007, p.83]
  2. Beyond that, it is pure dirt racing womderment that serious sim fans will relish in and more casual players will want to push themselves to become more skilled at. [Dec 2007, p.85]
  3. Despite its limited focus, Dirt’s single-minded pursuit of racing serves the game well and creates a strong foundation for the future. I guess I can’t blame it for tuning out the rest of the world while it whips around dusty tracks at scary speeds. As we know, getting dialed into the zone is everything.
  4. Sure, some of Codies tactics in 'going mainstream' are a tad irksome, but in the main the game succeeds by not only being exceptionally good fun to play, but being unquestionably one of the finest looking racing games on the market too.
  5. Easily one of the greatest racers on PS3 to date, both in terms of addictiveness and broad, crowd-pleasing appeal. [Oct 2007, p.98]
  6. If only Codemasters had at least given us the option of something a bit more slippy then this might have been one of the best driving games released this year.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Woodok
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    ....beautiful...
  2. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    I am yet to play DiRT2 and DiRT3 but this is simply superb. A really good rally game with excellent graphics (considering that it was made in 2007), very good gameplay and the kind of game which gives you a satisfaction once you have completed all the races. I have finished this game twice and I am sure I will give it one more go :)

    Initially it may appear tough especially if you come from the Need For Speed side of the world but once you get the hang of things and understand how the vehicles handle this is the game that you will recommend to one and all.
    Collapse
  3. Steve
    Feb 5, 2008
    10
    This game is excellent apart from one thing. There's not enough of it. Some great tracks are missing & not enough 4x4 rally cars.
  4. Abhijeet
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    I've tried a few racing games before this one but came away unsatisfied for one reason or the other. This is *the* racing game for the PS3 I've been waiting for. The events have amazing variety, both in discipline as well as circuits. The game looks gorgeous on my HD television. The learning curve is not too steep and you get better and buy better cars that further improve your performance as you go along. I'm only 20% of the way through after about three and a quarter hours of racing. This game should keep me occupied for a couple of weeks. A couple of minor quibbles. Some of the events are just boring, especially when trying to drive a massive truck or a buggy through a long dusty desert track. Racing the trucks through the desert is especially painful, since they're massive, slow and tend to tip over. The best events are with the more conventional cars, especially the 4WD cars that handle amazingly well. The second thing I don't like is the loading time, maybe I've been spoiled by the super quick loading times of games on the Wii. Expand
  5. Apr 10, 2011
    10
    This is a great racing game. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The A.I. may be mercilessly hard and you may get really frustrated after playing the same race 20 times without winning, but in the end it's all a part of the experience, and that's where rockstar gets it right. the overall experience is so good it makes you forget about the little issues you may have with the game. codemasters, i take my hat off to you, well done indeed!

    perfect 10!
    Expand
  6. DaveG.
    Feb 2, 2009
    9
    Awesome graphics and variety of vehicles and events. The cars feel a little bit floaty but once you get the handling down it feels right. My only complaints are I would have wanted more of a reward for beating the game on expert and the career mode could have been more personalized. Also I would have liked to customize my cars. I though I would not like another rally game after playing Rally Sport Challenge 1 and 2 on original Xbox, but Dirt is a very good replacement and it runs perfectly with no issues at all on my PS3. Expand
  7. ChristopherS.
    Apr 26, 2008
    6
    Perhaps my expectations were unrealistically high but I have to say this game has left me cold. The handling is unresponsive and the framerate, though steady, is sluggish. Graphically things look pretty good but improvement is needed. This "next-gent" console gaming is still in its infancy and hopefully things will improve. Expand