Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
Buy On
  1. There's potential for hundreds of hours of gameplay. The gameplay is deep, rewarding, and addictive.
  2. Disgaea 3 is easily the best in the Disgaea series, and if you care enough about gameplay, writing, and characters to overlook old-school graphics you're in for quite a treat.
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    PS3's essential RPG. [May 2009, p.98]
  4. games(TM)
    Every quality the game has ever displayed since its 2004 debut is matched or surpassed in this, the culmination of Nippon Ichi’s creative vision and talent and doubtless the best Disgaea yet. [Mar 2009, p.108]
  5. 90
    It's Disgaea again and it's bloody wonderful again. As complex as you let it be, as overwhelming as it wants to be and as great as it always has been.
  6. 89
    Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice is the pinnacle of the series and really does cater to the hardcore fans.
  7. 87
    The game is certainly a worthwhile purchase; I recommend it to all PS3 owners, particularly those who have yet to experience the Disgaea series.
  8. 85
    Disgaea 3 is the best Disgaea installment. With deeper gameplay, abilities, options, customization, and a whole lot more, this title will please fans of the series.
  9. Disgaea 3: Absence of Justice pours a tasty offering of addictive gaming cool-aid to its cult of followers. Making the shift to the next generation Nippon Ichi has given more of its heart than ever before.
  10. It’s deeper, more elaborate, and more time-consuming than ever before, and it will reward the diligent and hardcore strat/RPG lover.
  11. Through the evolution of the series, Nippon Ichi have refined the TRPG mechanics to the levels of Royal Brackla Single Malt Whiskey. Disgaea 3 is a game to be savoured one tantalising taste at a time.
  12. Pelit (Finland)
    A very good and original (if you haven't seen the previous iterations) turn-based tactical fighting game with RPG-trimmings. [Apr 2009]
  13. I still recommend newcomers start with the original or its PSP remake for the amazing story, but I'd by lying through my teeth if I said I'm not enjoying the hell out of my time with Disgaea 3. [Sept 2008, p.83]
  14. An incredibly enjoyable game. Cute, almost overwhelming in its depth, and bursting at the seams with value, Disgaea 3 once again demonstrates the care NIS America takes in catering to its gamers.
  15. NIS has got another hit on their hands with Disgaea 3. It's the solid gameplay that will keep you coming back for more
  16. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Wonderful, but you'll needs lots of free time to see the best of it. [Mar 2009, p.70]
  17. At the end of a very long demonic road, I was fairly impressed with Disgaea 3.
  18. 81
    Disgaea 3 is probably the most hardcore and uncompromisingly complex tactical RPG you’re likely to play. If you’re familiar with the genre then it comes highly recommended – if not, then try Valkyria Chronicles first.
  19. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    In spite of its flaws, it's entertaining and addictive as, well, hell. [Oct 2008, p.80]
  20. Disgaea 3 is as brilliant as the other games, but the over-saturated gameplay and less than expected graphic quality are regrettable drawbacks.
  21. 80
    If you've never played a Disgaea title before, then head out and grab Disgaea 3. For veterans of the series... yeah, it's more of the same, but with this franchise, when has that ever been a bad thing?
  22. Taken by itself Disgaea 3 has a lot to offer with some fantastic gameplay, fun mechanics, open-ended customization, and plenty of opportunities to grind for levels.
  23. But for series veterans who want to drill down to the bottom, upgrading weapons by slogging through 100-level grinds in the item world, balancing Evilties, managing clubs and alliances to create a squadron that is literally the gigantic sum of its creator's decisions, a blanket recommendation is harder to make.
  24. Edge Magazine
    That Disgaea 3 is perhaps the finest of its self-referential and casually wicked yarns, is almost an irrelevance. We’ve got numbers to think about. [Dec 2008, p.97]
  25. Disgaea 3 is currently one of the greatest strategic RPG games, with a very fun story, a combat system which fans will love, and a more than exquisite gameplay. Not only that, the game is a very long and replayable one, above all for players which want to squeeze the 100% of it. Unfortunately, and this is one of the things that could undermine buyers -apart from the visuals-, Disgaea 3 is fully en English, and not exactly an easy one. It is a pity it has not been localized to Spanish at all.
  26. You'd never believe this was actually a PS3 game, but apart from the graphics this is the best Disgaea yet.
  27. If you're a Disgaea junkie, having enjoyed the previous installments in the series, you will love this game. For the enthusiasts there are hundreds of hours of quirky strategy to be found and enjoyed here. There are few new features to be found though and the game camera is far from perfect. More of the same is the keyword here.
  28. A must-buy for fans of Disgaea, even though there's no telling why this was only published on PS3 – the graphics (not the style, mind you) are anything but up-to-date.
  29. Disgaea 3 is a fantastic addition to both the PS3’s consistently improving catalogue and the strategy JRPG genre. With a lengthy story mode and a near enough endless number of abilities and characters to level up this game may just about take over your gaming life altogether.
  30. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Aesthetics aside, this is a feast for SRPG wonks. [May 2009, p.66]
  31. Though Disgaea 3 certainly lacks in presentational value, it impresses where it needs to with a lengthy main quest and potentially hundreds of hours of end game content to please the most hardcore of Disgaea fans.
  32. Best suited for the Disgaea fan who loves the series solely (or at least primarily) for its gameplay, and for newcomers who will skip the story regardless of its quality.
  33. Pure, unadulterated fan service for the Nippon Ichi faithful and strategy RPG enthusiasts, though outsiders may find it incomprehensible.
  34. The grind feels fresh and compelling, even if you know it isn't and really shouldn't. So much of what makes a game fun to play is "feel," and in Disgaea 3, Nippon Ichi has balanced the feel of the game's long and bewilderingly complicated grind into something that always feels satisfying, where you always feel like you're making progress.
  35. I do appreciate the writing in this title a lot more, because like Super Paper Mario, it really hit home with a lot of otaku and geek tropes, giving me my own personal glee during the dialogues.
  36. Overall Disgaea 3 is a good solid SRPG, and just like the other Disgaea titles, the fun really comes from playing the game itself. Players will find themselves wanting to play just to level up characters.
  37. If you enjoy the Disgaea games and the sense of humor behind it, then you'll definitely get a kick out of the story that is crazy even by Disgaea standards.
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 146 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. StevenA.
    Oct 10, 2008
    I really did not enjoy this game, I guess I just don't like tactical RPG's or something, although I do enjoy RPG's in general I really did not enjoy this game, I guess I just don't like tactical RPG's or something, although I do enjoy RPG's in general and have played dozens over the years. This one rates pretty low. Also, the characters are incredibly annoying and the voice over work is suicide inducing. Full Review »
  2. anthonyc.
    Sep 9, 2008
    Very average game. The story just goes on for ages lucky you can skip it. It would be a good rpg for kids but its something better left on Very average game. The story just goes on for ages lucky you can skip it. It would be a good rpg for kids but its something better left on psp or DS it just doesnt transfer properly with the graphics over to ps3. I have it on psp and much rather it on the hand held unit. I think it should have been offered as downloadable content on psn for like $20 cause that is all i would pay for it i am trading it in luckily for another game this week. Full Review »
  3. Marvinarguis
    Mar 3, 2009
    Excellent installment to a classic cult series. Disgaea 3 is the best yet in my opinion, though the series is certainly not for everyone.