User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 707 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 707

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 11, 2012
    6
    "Dishonored" sits comfortably in the mixed heritage of FPS games like "Bioshock," "Half Life 2," and "Deus Ex" without quite meeting the same great heights. Instead, it unfortunately is going to join my shelf of "Bioshock 2" and "Deus Ex: HR" as grand attempts that don't quite make it. It's a shame, cause on gameplay alone this really should be a 10/10... it just lacks that extra punch,"Dishonored" sits comfortably in the mixed heritage of FPS games like "Bioshock," "Half Life 2," and "Deus Ex" without quite meeting the same great heights. Instead, it unfortunately is going to join my shelf of "Bioshock 2" and "Deus Ex: HR" as grand attempts that don't quite make it. It's a shame, cause on gameplay alone this really should be a 10/10... it just lacks that extra punch, and since the combat/stealth is so good, it's all the more noticeable what it lacks in payoff. The attack customization is top-notch - better, perhaps, than any of the above mentioned games - with plenty of player choices affecting later gameplay, if not so much the story. And the level design is pretty damn good, allowing exploration risk/reward while still giving a straight shot for those who aren't interested in every completionist sidequest and item. But (and this is a big But), the game is too short and the story is forgettable. Now, usually I'd argue a short game is just a good game without padding, but it really feels like there could've been some more missions if devtimes had not caught up with them. Or maybe they focused so heavily on making the levels excellent, they didn't notice how few well crafted moments they gave us. And the story is...well, it's there, but often I felt like I was supposed to be more wowed by the setting than the narrative. There are no real stand-out "wow" moments, something the greats of the genre make sure to give players almost every level. Some reviewers have argued that the best part is going back to try different ways through each mission and shoot for those ghost/deathless scores, but so many other games already have that great retread.It's fantastic that the depth is there (and believe me, the depth of the level design is awesome), I just wish there was more of it to explore. I'd still highly recommend this game to FPS/Stealth fans, especially those that wanted "Deus Ex: Human Revolution" to be better than it was, but at the end of the day the game sits, for me, as an enjoyable "Aw damn. So close, yet so far." Expand
  2. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This game is great and its universe too! It's a pleasure to see a studio creating a brand new IP, this must be encouraged :)
    First hours in the game were a (really) great experience, but as long as I progressed in the game, things just went harder and harder but the gameplay, enemies and environments remain (almost) the same. It become repetitive and - I'm sorry to say that -... boring.
  3. Nov 11, 2012
    6
    Disclaimer: I judge all games through the prism of a PS3 owner. Not because I am a fan-boy, because I have enjoyed the best software possible over the last seven years. There have been many third party studios that have built games that transcend the difference between consoles, Bethesda and Arkane Studios do not accomplish that here. There is nothing inherently wrong with Dishonored, theDisclaimer: I judge all games through the prism of a PS3 owner. Not because I am a fan-boy, because I have enjoyed the best software possible over the last seven years. There have been many third party studios that have built games that transcend the difference between consoles, Bethesda and Arkane Studios do not accomplish that here. There is nothing inherently wrong with Dishonored, the visuals are decent, I didn't encounter any glitches and there is fun to be had. My fear when this game was announced was that there wouldn't be enough direction and that is the opinion I have ended up with. It's mostly repetitive. There are plenty of powerful abilities, it's great fun to use them all, but they all provide different ways to do the same thing. The crux of the game is as follows; You have to get from here to there, there are guys in between, do stuff to them or don't. The end. If mindless fun and violence are your craving then Dishonored will deliver and you should add a few digits to my score. If you expect some substance with your button pressing, skip it. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    7
    I rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mileI rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mile with the acting and the way the whole thing ended just seemed unfinished. I did read before release that there wouldn't be an actual boss encounter in the end but the way it all ended still sort of disappointed me because the last target was like the main antagonist and you just kill him like all the others, done and roll the credits...

    I liked the game overall but really just feel like something is missing from the experience as a whole : / I don't know if all the mainstream blockbuster games have spoiled me over the years or what, though it surely seems that most critics adore this game... I don't know how I feel about it, probably a 7,5 :S
    Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    Dishonored was a great game, it incorporated fairly new elements of game play, had a great story, and brought a very inspiring touch of environment. But I found myself bored when I had beat the game, it has very poor replay value. Sure you can do one play-through as a psychotic killer- and then another play-through as a careful assassin... but that's has far as the replay value goes.Dishonored was a great game, it incorporated fairly new elements of game play, had a great story, and brought a very inspiring touch of environment. But I found myself bored when I had beat the game, it has very poor replay value. Sure you can do one play-through as a psychotic killer- and then another play-through as a careful assassin... but that's has far as the replay value goes. Excellent game-play with hardly any bugs, the story is invigorating, but once you've beaten the game its hard to pick up the controller again. Expand
  6. Mar 3, 2013
    6
    Dishonored is a very well made stealth game with a nice art style and high production values. Although the game is well polished and glitch free it's also a game that's difficult to really enjoy. First of all the story and characters are dull, you won't care who lives or dies or why. Most of your time spent playing the game is just trying to sneak through the level without being noticedDishonored is a very well made stealth game with a nice art style and high production values. Although the game is well polished and glitch free it's also a game that's difficult to really enjoy. First of all the story and characters are dull, you won't care who lives or dies or why. Most of your time spent playing the game is just trying to sneak through the level without being noticed which to me at least is quite boring. Getting stuck on a section can become very frustrating as dying means being sent back to a rather lengthy load screen (This is the PS3 version, can't comment on load times on other platforms). One area where the level design does impress is in the multiple paths you can take. This is no open world game though and Dunwall is simply a central hub with not a lot to do there. You do get to make some interesting choices in the game but these moments are fleeting. Overall Dishonored is a game which has some highs but mostly feels like hard work. Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2012
    7
    This game is an absolute rent! Everything about this game is amazing....the art design, the fluidity, the openness, the game play, Its the things that this game lacks that bring it down....it needs a longer story and it needs multi-player. Multi-player would have been amazing in this game with the different powers, all they needed to do was include a basic death match and much fun wouldThis game is an absolute rent! Everything about this game is amazing....the art design, the fluidity, the openness, the game play, Its the things that this game lacks that bring it down....it needs a longer story and it needs multi-player. Multi-player would have been amazing in this game with the different powers, all they needed to do was include a basic death match and much fun would have been had. But in today's game review world, developers shy away from including basic or extra things because journalist review video games like books rather than video games. If this game stayed the same, but included just a basic and slightly flawed multiplayer it would have gotten much worse reviews....because college-like smug reviewers grade every aspect of a game, and grade the entire game based upon a single whole experience. Like a multiplayer game will come out with the best multiplayer ever, but its single player will suck....its will get a 7.0 lets say. Now if the same game was released with the same multiplayer, but they just cut out the single player, the game would score a 9.0. Games are being critisized for having too much content...GAMES arnt books, you DONT HAVE to play certain portions to play the rest of the game....in a book or movie if something extra is included you have to watch/read it because it is part of a single entity....GAMES CAN HAVE multiple dimensions and routes of play and a game review shouldnt suffer because a flawed thing is included as extra content. This is probably why Dishonered doesnt have basic multiplayer, but I am not going to sit here and act like a smug literary **** am a gamer and I am reviewing a game, not an english major reviewing a game. THIS GAME SUFFERS FROM LACK OF MULTIPLAYER, even if the multiplayer sucked it would have been better. ALSO IT IS TOO SHORT! Games cant be reviewed like movies because THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BE 20+ hours long and cost $60!!!

    Story = 10
    Graphics = 9
    Gameplay = 6 (-4 for lacking multiplayer and length
    Replay = 4 (-5 for lacking multiplayer and length)
    Originality = 10(withholding multiplayer in a game like this is original!)
    Originality = 9
    Expand
  8. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    The game fails to grab my attention. I'm many hours in and am still underwhelmed by the atmosphere / story / gameplay variation. The game is fun when you're in the thick of it on a mission, but as an overall experience Dishonored is disjointed and stiff. It's a very stop-and-go experience, which doesn't allow for much momentum. Games like Bioshock and Arkham City get it right by beingThe game fails to grab my attention. I'm many hours in and am still underwhelmed by the atmosphere / story / gameplay variation. The game is fun when you're in the thick of it on a mission, but as an overall experience Dishonored is disjointed and stiff. It's a very stop-and-go experience, which doesn't allow for much momentum. Games like Bioshock and Arkham City get it right by being "dungeon based" but working hard to disguise the seams between levels (Batman does it best by far). The world feels very dead too. I wish there were more NPC's or detail to the world. The mechanics of the game are great, and I enjoy it in small doses. But it doesn't approach the genre's high water marks like System Shock 2. Or even is most direct influence Bioshock. The game basically feels like a poor man's Bioshock. I say: RENT IT. Expand
  9. Dec 4, 2012
    6
    Overrated. One word description to describe this so called masterpiece of a game. Critics praised the voiceacting and the animation of the characters, I must've been playing a completely different game. The A.I. was praised for their realistic reactions. Um, what? The A.I. is worst than that of most games in the stealth genre. How am I able to stand in broad daylight, less than 50Overrated. One word description to describe this so called masterpiece of a game. Critics praised the voiceacting and the animation of the characters, I must've been playing a completely different game. The A.I. was praised for their realistic reactions. Um, what? The A.I. is worst than that of most games in the stealth genre. How am I able to stand in broad daylight, less than 50 feet from an NPC, and they can't see me? My stepson watched me play and saw me crouched under some cover, and not covered well at all, and he started laughing at the dumb guards who walked right up to me, turned and looked straight at me, and seemed confused as to how I hid so well. The graphics (so called water paint style) were very underwhelming also. The stealth mechanics don't work well in first person, and very few games pull it off successfully. This is not one of those games. Stealth plays much better in 3rd person view. Wow was I disappointed after so looking forward to getting this game.

    There are some good parts. The supernatural powers are cool to use along with the air assassinations that never get old (but too easy to pull off due to the dumb guards). The world is well designed, with a lot of different paths to accomplish my goal. This had so much potential, but in my opinion, it was all wasted due to terrible AI, bad graphics, bad voice acting, bad animations, and the fact it's in first person as opposed to third person.
    Expand
  10. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    For everything Dishonored does right, something also feels rather off - resulting in a rather "meh" overall experience. The in-game world is convincing and tangible, but the gorgeously rendered, realistic trailers betray the truth of the slightly-dated "wood carving" art style, which doesn't detract from my experience as much as lower my expectations. The environments are stable andFor everything Dishonored does right, something also feels rather off - resulting in a rather "meh" overall experience. The in-game world is convincing and tangible, but the gorgeously rendered, realistic trailers betray the truth of the slightly-dated "wood carving" art style, which doesn't detract from my experience as much as lower my expectations. The environments are stable and aesthetic, but entirely non-interactive save for the breakaway tables and glasses copy/pasted from area to area, which drags my immersion back to the shallows, at times. Combat is reliable, but one-dimensional - a blow either connects or it doesn't, with no variability of result quality or magnitude. These simplicities, I imagine, allow for the stalk-'n'-sock, custom-built kills to function reliably (and they do). However, though it may be fun to find new combinations of talents for your kills, the novelty wears off incredibly fast, leaving me feeling like some of the main selling points for the game are gimmicks, at best. I finished the initial playthrough, but don't have the motivation to put in the time and effort for the quality retry/replay attempts at a perfect game. Much of the story is told through submenu databanks, so perhaps I might revisit those and let myself deeper into the story, at some point. However, overall, this felt like BioShock 1 was reskinned for a Metal Gear Solid Mode set in the London of Alice: Madness Returns. I recommend picking it up as the price comes down. It's a good game and you'll enjoy the experience, but it will feel dated either way and there's nothing new or innovative enough to enjoy at full price; bland is bland regardless of freshness. Expand
  11. Jan 6, 2013
    6
    Very fun game, but the replay value is nonexistent and it is very shory. The overall game was a blast, you could unlock special powers like summoning mice to eat your foes, or you could just go around killing people with a crossbow and sword. You could play anyway you want. You can be stealthy or you can just go and kill enemies with guns blazing. But beware, the more people you kill, theVery fun game, but the replay value is nonexistent and it is very shory. The overall game was a blast, you could unlock special powers like summoning mice to eat your foes, or you could just go around killing people with a crossbow and sword. You could play anyway you want. You can be stealthy or you can just go and kill enemies with guns blazing. But beware, the more people you kill, the darker your ending will be. I found the story to be very very intriguing and I thought the graphics were great in their own way. But the story is really short. I finished the story in about 6 hours and I was mostly taking a stealthy approach the whole time. Since there are multiple endings, you'd think the replay value would be high. Well it isn't after beating the game I had to desire to go back and collect runes and I had no desire to get to the alternate ending. After beating the game once, I was done. When the price drops down to 20 dollars, I think you should buy it, but for now, paying the full $60 would be a waste of money. Expand
  12. Oct 20, 2012
    7
    I'll be honest; I've never particularly liked stealth games, but there's no getting away from them now so I suppose it's just something I'll have to get used to.

    However, I do like first-person games, adventures and possessing rats, so I thought I'd give Dishonored a go. This game has very slick presentation, but reminds of me of one of the few other games I've reviewed on
    I'll be honest; I've never particularly liked stealth games, but there's no getting away from them now so I suppose it's just something I'll have to get used to.

    However, I do like first-person games, adventures and possessing rats, so I thought I'd give Dishonored a go.

    This game has very slick presentation, but reminds of me of one of the few other games I've reviewed on Metacritic; Rage. A game that I didn't think was very good.

    Dishonored seems to promise a lot more than it delivers. There are large amounts of boring exposition, the enemy AI is worryingly bad and mistakes seem harshly punished. The beginning spends a lot of time setting up your various special abilities, but never competently demonstrates the best way to use them. Combat is clunky, the 'Blink' ability is rather annoying and there seems to be no rhyme nor reason to being spotted by patrolling guards.

    On the plus side, it looks lovely, the missions have a brilliant open-endedness to them (completists will go mad at the amount of plot forks and side-missions) and when things go well, it can be satisfying to sneak your way through a mission.

    I wouldn't go ahead and say Dishonored is a poor game, but just not a very enjoyable one. Not for me at least.
    Expand
  13. Oct 18, 2012
    5
    You know what this was not too bad... Don't fool yourself its not 91% material at all, at best 75 but its very lucky that crap like borderlands 2 came out at a similar time because it looks so much better- however they have cleverly jumped ahead of ac3 in the knowledge that if you put these two side by side- in fact even ac2- no one would buy dishonoured at the full price. So it's a caseYou know what this was not too bad... Don't fool yourself its not 91% material at all, at best 75 but its very lucky that crap like borderlands 2 came out at a similar time because it looks so much better- however they have cleverly jumped ahead of ac3 in the knowledge that if you put these two side by side- in fact even ac2- no one would buy dishonoured at the full price. So it's a case of filler before the good games come out and in that respect it's passable. Nothing new, nothing groundbreaking and it just about gets away with the storyline which just about makes it all interesting and not quite boring. " meh" just about sums it up but it is a darn sight better than some other rubbish that has just been gushed over and it makes me think as I have so often said , the gaming world is disingenuous at best- most reviews should come with a warning that they are in fact just hype. How on earth this or b2 got 91 in comparison to say bf3 I'll never ever know ( but we all know really right?) anyway- in about 2 weeks time this game is going to drop out of sight so save your money and buy it for £15 at christmas Expand
  14. Jan 25, 2013
    6
    I had high expectations about this one. The videos, the reviews, the beautiful, haunting steampunk atmosphere. It feels to me they want to mimic Bioshock so desperatly... but they missed out the MOST IMPORTANT THING about Bioshock: an UNFORGETTABLE TALE. Dishonored's plot is simple, not compelling (at all). The game plays nice and all and it's a really cool, charming adventure. But II had high expectations about this one. The videos, the reviews, the beautiful, haunting steampunk atmosphere. It feels to me they want to mimic Bioshock so desperatly... but they missed out the MOST IMPORTANT THING about Bioshock: an UNFORGETTABLE TALE. Dishonored's plot is simple, not compelling (at all). The game plays nice and all and it's a really cool, charming adventure. But I confess it got boring eventually. Not worthy of such hype, Good game, not great. Expand
  15. Dec 6, 2012
    6
    So, what will you do with a drunken whaler? Feed him to the hungry rats for dinner? Slice his throat with a rusty clever? Shoot him in the heart with a loaded pistol? Or perhaps have him play Dishonored and explain to the rest of us where the hype of this game and the results of this game went drastically wrong? In a world of competitive but all too similar stealth games, ranging fromSo, what will you do with a drunken whaler? Feed him to the hungry rats for dinner? Slice his throat with a rusty clever? Shoot him in the heart with a loaded pistol? Or perhaps have him play Dishonored and explain to the rest of us where the hype of this game and the results of this game went drastically wrong? In a world of competitive but all too similar stealth games, ranging from Hitman, to Metal Gear, to the Arkham series, to Assassins Creed and more, stealth games remain an odd breed. Everything ranging from the map, to the A.I. to the perspective the developers put you in to even if the players choice of how they want to go about handling things are all aspects of what makes or breaks the fragile stealth genre. In the case of Dishonored, I feel that Arkhane Studios under publishing of the mighty cracked tower that is Bethesda, have taken every great idea that stealth games have given us this generation, put it in a smelting pot hoping to brew us one hell of a ghostly sneak attack adventure, but in all honesty, it falls short and even leaves a bad taste in many a mouth. Dishonored, not a bad game in the least, but honestly does not qualify as a good game either, in fact it is imprisoned right in the middle. Enough hype surrounded this title to grab many gamers attention, and delivered on quite a bit of those promises, but what this game needed was another year in the oven to crisp some of its good ideas into great ones. Dishonored focuses so much on its style of play and upgrades that it loses what makes a game full circle. It feels more like a very large test play or demo of a larger soon to be project, which is a shame because to potential shows us a near masterpiece but the final product shows us a mediocre experience littered with great ideas. Revenge solves everything is the theme to this dark and mythical world, taking place in a city known as Dunwall. A city build on the ocean and is ran almost completely on whale oil. You are Corvo, a protector of the Empress of Dunwall and have returned from a journey to seek help with the cities current crisis which is a plague being carried by rats. As if things were not bad enough already, you are soon framed for the murder of the Empress and the disappearance of the rightful heir to the throne, a young girl named Emily. Well after being arrested and beaten for months you manage to escape by the help of some unknown friends who later will reveal themselves as gentlemen who seek to correct the wrongs that have been bestowed upon you and to return Dunwall back to its proper order. Restoring Dunwall in this case is stalking the streets in a frightening mask and seeking vengeance how you see fit. It is not super original, but as I said before the game is not full circle. Many things about it needed to be fleshed out more, the story being one of them, along with its looks as well. Art style wise the game is creative, and deserves your attention at a walking pace. But textures suffer greatly and it is unfortunately one of the first things you will notice when the game fades in for the first time. The game really does not hold a 2012 look. Environments are nice in design and idea but bland in their outcome. Many characters will be able to reach through closed doors and walls and glitch onto the environment. The A.I. is atrocious and this is a huge fault in any stealth game. The game is challenging in trying to never get caught yes, but no thanks to the A.I. which can walk directly past you at times and not even see you. Nor do they respond correctly to situations. You can literally cut the power to what is protecting them and keeping you out, and they wont even respond, nor will they attempt to fix it or even check on the problem. Not to mention no one is ever even guarding the power sources anyway. It is hard to take such a spooky stealth game serious when the assassin is up against morons. You will still find it a challenge to sneak around the many different paths of Dunwall, but that is more due to lack of knowing the environment and its odd use of first person. I guess that is a good thing though, because without it the game would be a breeze. Dishonored is a brief, not all too interesting game, with enough creative ideas, violent and interesting powers, and choices of ways to take on your mission that it is worth your while. However I found myself forcing my way through about mid game, because the story is told blandly through reading and card board cut out characters with very dry voice acting. Dishonored takes its cues from Assassins Creed, Deus Ex, and Bioshock more than anywhere else, but all three of these games out do it. Its like the little brother of the stealth games that is more creative but no one will hear him out. I don't think we have seen the last of Corvo, and that is a good thing, I welcome him to sneak back into our consoles again for a more rounded out adventure. Expand
  16. Oct 30, 2013
    5
    This game does not live up to its potential at all. The idea of a psychic assassin taking down a group of tyrannical usurpers in a semi-steampunk setting should be enough to fire the imagination of a good group of game programmers. This game, however, misses the boat on every level. The story is pat, the missions are way too linear, the controls are flabby, and the visuals are far tooThis game does not live up to its potential at all. The idea of a psychic assassin taking down a group of tyrannical usurpers in a semi-steampunk setting should be enough to fire the imagination of a good group of game programmers. This game, however, misses the boat on every level. The story is pat, the missions are way too linear, the controls are flabby, and the visuals are far too cartoonish to take the setting and story seriously. The balance is off too. If you decide to fight your way through the game, you will get through it in a few hours. Go for stealth, and you will die a thousand times.

    Imagine what this game could have been if they had taken a little more time with it. Imagine this concept with a grittier atmosphere in a truly open-world setting. Instead, we get what should have been a ground-breaking experience ending up being just kind of... Meh...
    Expand
  17. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    There's no doubt that Dishonored (Dishonoured as it should be in the UK - I think) is a very well designed, highly polished and extremely playable game.

    However I was disappointed with it, the world has been beautifully designed and almost as many features regarding the environments have popped up in games mags as have reviews of the actual game but this isn't a sandbox world and you as
    There's no doubt that Dishonored (Dishonoured as it should be in the UK - I think) is a very well designed, highly polished and extremely playable game.

    However I was disappointed with it, the world has been beautifully designed and almost as many features regarding the environments have popped up in games mags as have reviews of the actual game but this isn't a sandbox world and you as the player character are funnelled back and forth between an implausible hub area by a small man on a boat who seems ready to collapse from apathy to everything in existence, so all you end up doing is ploughing on from one enemy infested area to the next - much like the original Metal Gear Solid.

    I give the game world special mention over say, the story or the weapons, because the game and the studio behind it seem to demand, without mercy, that you fall in love with this 'steampunk-inspired-neo-Victorian' cesspit and whilst it's obvious that some love has gone into the design of the rotten town of Dunwall it utterly fails to make you really feel anything for the characters, the mission or even the wretched poor who are to be found all over the place either dead, dying or mere seconds away from being brutalised to death by one of the City Watch (God, I hope they didn't use Terry Pratchett's character Sam Vimes for inspiration) or else standing around just waiting to mug you off to the guards (who'll probably kill you both for the trouble) so the morality fails in utterance.

    I'm told it's possible to complete the game without killing anyone, though why you'd make/buy an FPS with that in mind is beyond my humble intellect, but the reasons for opting to do this rather than carve a bloody path from credits to ending scene are scant and confusing.

    We're perhaps supposed to believe that the City Watch are just working joe's duped by the plutocrats into believing that your character (Corvo - bloody stupid name - the former chief of guards for the former empress) murdered the Empire's figurehead and are supposed to avoid shooting them because ignorance isn't punishable by death (unlike standing, walking, talking, trying to eat, wanting food, standing in the shadows, standing in the light, standing near the water, standing in the water, standing looking at the sky, standing looking at the ground or just generally having the nerve to be alive and not super wealthy if I'm understanding the C.W.'s own criteria for what's punishable by death) yet we'll often see them taking bribes off businessmen, trying to shake down civilians for medicine which is meant for babies and children and even defending mad **** who purposefully infect people with a fatal plague.....so when the guard fells me and shouts "I'll have a drink tonight for all the good men you've killed." I'm not searching my soul to check if my gaming morals are intact, I'm searching my recent memory to see which 'good men' he could possibly be referring to.

    The weapons are a mark of their design-inspired time, single shot and slow to reload but lethal if aimed right, the magic elements are ok and make stealthing from the first person perspective just short of tolerable rather than totally maddening and the story is awful, really awful.

    The design team at Arkane have really done a great job designing an interesting world, it's what they've populated it with that's the problem.
    It's a common motif throughout that the rich live by exploiting the poor and the whole thing stinks of an attempt at a "1%" criticism. yet if you stare out at the horizon of this port town you'll see what looks like a residential area that's totally intact - no columns of smoke, no piles of corpses and no noticeable signs that indusry has even stopped - so the themes of opulence and pestilence don't quite seem to work out and the real enemy seems to be the unquestioning stupidity of the City Watch and the glee with which they pursue their morally unambiguous duties.

    A naive tool was on the throne, now a bald masochist is on the throne and your going through the motions to put a poorly behaved brat on the throne instead - is the basic thread of the story line.....oh and most rich people are bad, disease affects only the poor and whale oil is wonderful!!!
    Expand
  18. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Well, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That beingWell, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That being said, it is not a bad game. I just would not pay full price for it. To be so linear in today's marketplace in gaming is absurd to say the least. Expand
  19. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    Totally overrated. I've never been a fan of stealth games but since it was Bethesda game i thought i'd give it a change. Game is good fun at start and basic game mechanics are fine but very soon it gets so repetitive that it numbs my mind. The "world" (to call it world is just ridiculous - heck to even call it a city is just wrong because it just bunch of individual "Hollywood sets") isTotally overrated. I've never been a fan of stealth games but since it was Bethesda game i thought i'd give it a change. Game is good fun at start and basic game mechanics are fine but very soon it gets so repetitive that it numbs my mind. The "world" (to call it world is just ridiculous - heck to even call it a city is just wrong because it just bunch of individual "Hollywood sets") is repulsive and there is no freedom to just explore it. I don't understand how this is referred as a sandbox game Expand
  20. Jan 6, 2013
    5
    The game is horrible on the PS3, it's a first person stealth, fast paced game. Playing it on the PC is the only option. The environments are amazing, the story is great, but on the PS3, it's almost unplayable. You're supposed to climb up buildings, walk along ledges, sprint away from enemies in some cases, and these things are almost undoable on the PS3, because it's almost impossible toThe game is horrible on the PS3, it's a first person stealth, fast paced game. Playing it on the PC is the only option. The environments are amazing, the story is great, but on the PS3, it's almost unplayable. You're supposed to climb up buildings, walk along ledges, sprint away from enemies in some cases, and these things are almost undoable on the PS3, because it's almost impossible to see where you are going, or control your actions well enough. This game can't be played with the Dual Shock controller. Expand
  21. May 7, 2013
    6
    I wanted to love this game I really did, but it just didnt suprise me at all I found it unintresting. With that said I also wanna say this game is in no way a "bad game" its just a game that struggled to grab my attention. I felt the graphics were just weird and Im not one to complain about graphics but they were just funky. The gameplay to me was not a lot of fun I felt so cheated when II wanted to love this game I really did, but it just didnt suprise me at all I found it unintresting. With that said I also wanna say this game is in no way a "bad game" its just a game that struggled to grab my attention. I felt the graphics were just weird and Im not one to complain about graphics but they were just funky. The gameplay to me was not a lot of fun I felt so cheated when I got my weapons I just disliked them. The stealth aspect of the game is honestly bad If you want stealth stick to metal gear or splinter cell. Now I also want to address the Bioshock vs. Dishonored dilema In no way should these games be compared they are two diffrent games but with that said there have been six bioshocks counting system shock games Dishonored does not touch that franchisebut overall the game is ok but has a lot of personal annoying flaws Expand
  22. Mar 28, 2013
    6
    I wanted to like this game so bad, but ultimately just couldn't get into it. The art direction is fantastic but animations and textures are sub par (Why do characters arms move like action figures?) There was nothing I noticed that was really bad about game play or game structure, again, I just couldn't get into it. I hope they get to make a sequel because I think the elements for a greatI wanted to like this game so bad, but ultimately just couldn't get into it. The art direction is fantastic but animations and textures are sub par (Why do characters arms move like action figures?) There was nothing I noticed that was really bad about game play or game structure, again, I just couldn't get into it. I hope they get to make a sequel because I think the elements for a great game are there they just didn't mix it right in my opinion. I know a lot of people adore this game and I can see how, it just wasn't for me. Expand
  23. Apr 27, 2013
    5
    I looked forward to this game greatly and got it very soon after release with have only seen the cinematic trailers which were spectacular and the interactive trailer which I enjoyed so much I went through over and over to see every outcome.

    Yet for some reason the game didn't quite cut it for me, I played the first 3 or so levels and then put the game to one side to play some others
    I looked forward to this game greatly and got it very soon after release with have only seen the cinematic trailers which were spectacular and the interactive trailer which I enjoyed so much I went through over and over to see every outcome.

    Yet for some reason the game didn't quite cut it for me, I played the first 3 or so levels and then put the game to one side to play some others that I've owned for a while. This has never happened to me before. When a game is new it does not leave my consoles disc slot until I have completed it. Yet for some reason I could only bring myself to play 1 level at a time before putting to the side for anything between a couple of days or a month.

    I played each mission in a different style to see if one peaked my interest more than others yet nothing seemed to click. A key problem for me was how completing a mission without killing anyone or even being seen was not so much difficult as it was frustrating, the load times after death and the way auto saves worked made me wish I could turn them off and simply use a quick save hot key. The chaos meter given at the end of each level seemed unbalanced and impossible to satisfy. The concept is even though you have not killed anyone and haven't been spotted, however if you have left a few guards unconscious in a dark corner unnoticed by anyone else then you've been as equally chaotic as having killed everyone in sight, which is what I found myself doing for the last few missions simply to get through them and see the finale.

    The story line was interesting enough to begin with but I found it dragged on with many predictable "developments" The way the game changes depending on past actions and how you went about things was very well implemented and I did in-fact watch the alternate endings online after having seen my own. It is a game I may go back to, yet it will always be on the side lines for me.
    Expand
  24. Mar 29, 2015
    6
    What is it with devs and FPSs. This is a game that would've looked and played much better in 3rd person. Aside for that, I played this game for a whole 2 hours before deleting from my hard drive. That FP perspective was really giving me a headache and with all the magic spells and childish nonsense it felt like another BioShock. Maybe it just wasn't for me.
  25. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    Disappointed with this one, I was expecting a GREAT game based on a lot of reviews and videos, I felt like I played a very good game but not that great. It is actually hard for me to explain why, I like the graphics, music, characters, story, gameplay is great. I guess maybe I was not in the mood for a game with a lot of stealth, I don't know...You can play this game with a lot of stealthDisappointed with this one, I was expecting a GREAT game based on a lot of reviews and videos, I felt like I played a very good game but not that great. It is actually hard for me to explain why, I like the graphics, music, characters, story, gameplay is great. I guess maybe I was not in the mood for a game with a lot of stealth, I don't know...You can play this game with a lot of stealth or just run through enemies but in my opinion first option is more interesting. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.