User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 699 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 87 out of 699

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Loved the game, kept me involved for many days, great game play and story. If you enjoy being a part of the game and making important descions you will like the game.
  2. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I cant believe anyone would review this game poorly, it's the nailed on PS3 game of the year. The story is fantastic, it had me gripped the whole way through. I went for the good ending first of all and it was a joy to play through again to get the darker ending. The game is much better suited being played stealthily, however the sheer variety of ways to kill people makes it a joy toI cant believe anyone would review this game poorly, it's the nailed on PS3 game of the year. The story is fantastic, it had me gripped the whole way through. I went for the good ending first of all and it was a joy to play through again to get the darker ending. The game is much better suited being played stealthily, however the sheer variety of ways to kill people makes it a joy to play as an evil bastard. The graphics are great and the city of Dunwall is a fantastic little sandbox. I cant rate this game highly enough, it's better than Deus Ex: Human Revolution and can sit happily alongside MGS4 in my collection. Overall a brilliant game that should not be overlooked by anyone. Expand
  3. Oct 30, 2012
    7
    I rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mileI rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mile with the acting and the way the whole thing ended just seemed unfinished. I did read before release that there wouldn't be an actual boss encounter in the end but the way it all ended still sort of disappointed me because the last target was like the main antagonist and you just kill him like all the others, done and roll the credits...

    I liked the game overall but really just feel like something is missing from the experience as a whole : / I don't know if all the mainstream blockbuster games have spoiled me over the years or what, though it surely seems that most critics adore this game... I don't know how I feel about it, probably a 7,5 :S
    Expand
  4. Oct 29, 2012
    8
    The game's biggest --perhaps only-- flaw is its inability to wrap the complex narrative up in a memorable way. Considering how rich the rest of the game is (both in terms of mythology and gameplay) I was sad at the non-ending that greeted me upon the end of Corvo's rather straight forward "save Emily" quest. Maybe they're pulling a Fallout 3 and planning on releasing the ending in DLCThe game's biggest --perhaps only-- flaw is its inability to wrap the complex narrative up in a memorable way. Considering how rich the rest of the game is (both in terms of mythology and gameplay) I was sad at the non-ending that greeted me upon the end of Corvo's rather straight forward "save Emily" quest. Maybe they're pulling a Fallout 3 and planning on releasing the ending in DLC form. Or maybe they're pulling a Bioshock and planning on giving us a proper ending with a direct sequel. Either way, a huge opportunity was lost and, in the process, Dishonored went from being a probable Game of the year to simply a very good game. Expand
  5. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It takes a few levels to realise that, for a game which offers you multiple ways to play, you have to adapt to play it the way it needs you to. On Very Hard, Dishonored is an absolute nightmare at first. Even towards the end you'll sometimes be detected and won't be sure what's wrong. But oh - for those many moments where it works, where it pushes storytelling in FPS games far beyondIt takes a few levels to realise that, for a game which offers you multiple ways to play, you have to adapt to play it the way it needs you to. On Very Hard, Dishonored is an absolute nightmare at first. Even towards the end you'll sometimes be detected and won't be sure what's wrong. But oh - for those many moments where it works, where it pushes storytelling in FPS games far beyond what you've ever seen before, where you'll leave the house in real life (gasp!) wanting to blink, to use dark vision, to sleep dart the cat next door. When the last level comes around, you'll realise that you've been trained the entire time to become the ultimate badass and it has to end there. Because by then, you have become completely unstoppable. Yes, the controls take a little getting used to. Yes, the field of vision available is a little hard to get used to. And yes, you should stay away if Call Of Duty is the only game you know how to play. But for those who can easily get past all of the above, Dishonored is a beautiful, well-realised and deeply engrossing experience for which I sincerely hope there'll be a sequel. Thank you Arkane, thank you Bethesda, thank you Corvo and the city of Dunwall! Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. Unique world with unique approaches to the lore. Branching and multiple pathways for every level and the terrain between levels makes it highly interesting to try and find the best routes. Initial reviews I read of this game mainly had issue with the length of the game, given the fact there are multiple endings and completely customizable play-styles, this game willThis game is amazing. Unique world with unique approaches to the lore. Branching and multiple pathways for every level and the terrain between levels makes it highly interesting to try and find the best routes. Initial reviews I read of this game mainly had issue with the length of the game, given the fact there are multiple endings and completely customizable play-styles, this game will have you running through multiple times, each play-through will present itself slightly different and unique outcomes. Expand
  7. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I imagined this game to be very much like Bioshock which put me off if I am honest. I can understand why people like Bioshock, it's just not my type of game. I really didn't like the art style or story very much. Anyway, I think the reason I initially likened it to Bioshock was because of the art style. After reading several reviews on Dishonoured I decided to give it a chance. I am so glad I did. The story is fantastic... it really draws you into the world and before you know it hours have passed without you really having achieved that much in the game world. The game has great characters, a great story and best of all an amazing character to control in a totally believable city full of atmosphere. Exploration will see you collect runes around the city of Dunwall which can be used to upgrade your supernatural abilities such as Blink which allows you to teleport short distances or the ability to posses rats or fish to access small areas. All abilities can be upgraded and a particular playing style can be favoured dependant on your choice to be a stealth type assassin, an all out gung-ho no nonsense brawler or somewhere inbetween. The game presents you with missions and additional side quests to perform should you wish to stray from the main path, all of which are fun and rewarding in their own right. Puzzles are clever and never a chore as is often the case with this type of game. Missions are presented for you to complete and it is really up to you how you complete them. I have never played such a polished and exciting game that genuinely gives the player the choice of how to go about the task. You really can use your imagination to complete missions and in most cases you are not restricted by the game. Give this game an hour of your time and I guarantee you will be completely hooked. One of the games of the year for me. Amazing. Expand
  8. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    The game controls very nicely and the stealth is nearly masterful. The atmosphere fits the game's theme and helps the player feel like they are a part of Dunwall. Menus and upgrades are easy to navigate and the player is heavily rewarded for exploring. Where Dishonored falls is the story. The game follows a straightforward mission system with levels that feel decidedly smaller the secondThe game controls very nicely and the stealth is nearly masterful. The atmosphere fits the game's theme and helps the player feel like they are a part of Dunwall. Menus and upgrades are easy to navigate and the player is heavily rewarded for exploring. Where Dishonored falls is the story. The game follows a straightforward mission system with levels that feel decidedly smaller the second time around. The morality choices are somewhat ridiculous in context and levels barely change based on your decision.
    Overall, you should play Dishonored for the gameplay and feel of the world, not the story.
    Expand
  9. Oct 24, 2012
    8
    You choose what way you want to play in this game. You can go all out and run around and kill everything or you can try a more stealthy approach. You CAN run threw this game pretty quickly but atleast this game is somewhat different from the things we have been seeing latley. I think this is a good game but I also think that people will forget about this game pretty quickly. I wouldYou choose what way you want to play in this game. You can go all out and run around and kill everything or you can try a more stealthy approach. You CAN run threw this game pretty quickly but atleast this game is somewhat different from the things we have been seeing latley. I think this is a good game but I also think that people will forget about this game pretty quickly. I would actually give this game a 7.5 but we can't do that on Meta Critic. Don't get me wrong the game is good and in a way it's unique but in another way "we've seen these types of games before" I don't know if the way I phrased that makes any sense but anyway. Graphics are pretty decent,not that I care about them, I don't really care about story either but this games story is lacking ingrediants. Gameplay is pretty good too. I found the game to be easy and most people that know me know that I like hard games which this gen lacks so bad except Demon Souls/Dark Souls...If yo are looking for a challenge in this game you will not find it. However it is a decent game that deserves a rent and if it happens to be your cup of tea then buy it. I wont be disappointed if this games recieves GOTY, although I do not think it should be, but this year has already had a lot of games that I was excited for and was disappointed in many of them. This game doesn't disappoint me, just there are better games out there than this one. I'm just happy that it's not a Call of Duty game.. Expand
  10. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    Not since the masterpiece Deus Ex came out in 2000 has there been a game with so much freedom to get to the end objective your own way. It's absolutely fantastic that you can play without killing anyone or cut down all those in your path. The story is pretty good, but (without giving away any spoilers), I think most people could see the plot twist two or three missions in. Map design isNot since the masterpiece Deus Ex came out in 2000 has there been a game with so much freedom to get to the end objective your own way. It's absolutely fantastic that you can play without killing anyone or cut down all those in your path. The story is pretty good, but (without giving away any spoilers), I think most people could see the plot twist two or three missions in. Map design is terrific. There are so many ways to enter areas, take down enemies, achieve objectives it's amazing what the player can accomplish. Enemy AI is good. If you take down an enemy, another one will think no one is patrolling there and cover a bigger area. However, some small glitches prevent the game from being truly great. There are at time enemies who are somehow instantaneously alerted to your exact position through two buildings, while you are sneaking. There are at times audio glitches where you press play on something and the sound doesn't play. There are times where the game can't display some visual effects and instead shows a white square. These are minor blemishes that stain an otherwise fantastic piece of work. Expand
  11. Oct 20, 2012
    7
    I'll be honest; I've never particularly liked stealth games, but there's no getting away from them now so I suppose it's just something I'll have to get used to.

    However, I do like first-person games, adventures and possessing rats, so I thought I'd give Dishonored a go. This game has very slick presentation, but reminds of me of one of the few other games I've reviewed on
    I'll be honest; I've never particularly liked stealth games, but there's no getting away from them now so I suppose it's just something I'll have to get used to.

    However, I do like first-person games, adventures and possessing rats, so I thought I'd give Dishonored a go.

    This game has very slick presentation, but reminds of me of one of the few other games I've reviewed on Metacritic; Rage. A game that I didn't think was very good.

    Dishonored seems to promise a lot more than it delivers. There are large amounts of boring exposition, the enemy AI is worryingly bad and mistakes seem harshly punished. The beginning spends a lot of time setting up your various special abilities, but never competently demonstrates the best way to use them. Combat is clunky, the 'Blink' ability is rather annoying and there seems to be no rhyme nor reason to being spotted by patrolling guards.

    On the plus side, it looks lovely, the missions have a brilliant open-endedness to them (completists will go mad at the amount of plot forks and side-missions) and when things go well, it can be satisfying to sneak your way through a mission.

    I wouldn't go ahead and say Dishonored is a poor game, but just not a very enjoyable one. Not for me at least.
    Expand
  12. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Dishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includes a full color manual which is now a rarity even in special editions. And in-game tutorials too but the game is very intuitive (easy to use) the base control system is simple and weapons and powers can be switched in and out rapidly to alter yourDishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includes a full color manual which is now a rarity even in special editions. And in-game tutorials too but the game is very intuitive (easy to use) the base control system is simple and weapons and powers can be switched in and out rapidly to alter your play style at will. The level design is some of the best seen on this gens systems with multiple paths to youre objectives and throughout the levels. Dishonored is not open world or linear it is a system of hubs and areas ,levels that have been ttightly crafted to allow you to reach almost anywere you can see. Allowing you to spend hours exploring if you so wish. Some people have said it can be a short game but it takes over the 20hour mark on hard with about 80per cent of collectables found. The game is best played on the hard difficulty upwards. The character,enemy ai is highly intelligent at spotting you reacting reverting back to there patrol routes and alerting other enemies that you have been spotted. Dishonored really is a new ip although it looks similar to some games when you begin to play you soon realise it is like no other and its a brand new series in the making. An adult tale of political intrigue and occult weave together to create a grand world and story and by the time you finish you will be ready for dishonored 2. You can adjust or totally remove all or non of the hud objective markers dont like them switch them off. health and mana bars dont like them switch them off you still get visuals clues to the state of youre health and so on. The Audio work is top notch from the high quality voice overs from some highly respected actors and the minimal soundtrack that changes on cue when the action changes. There really is nothing bad to say about dishonored in my play-thru i came across no bugs or glitches like getting stuck in places it just never happened. A master piece of the programming craft and top contender for Game of the year. If you miss playing this one you are missing out on one of the best games this year. Expand
  13. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    No matter how many times you argue about it Dishonored is the best surprise of the year and probably a contender of Game of the Year either users or critics alike , and mostly ( and commonly ) the " haters " simply will thrash everything by their lack of taste. So to top it off, we had the over the top , fluid, almost perfect control scheme that makes this game shine set with a variety ofNo matter how many times you argue about it Dishonored is the best surprise of the year and probably a contender of Game of the Year either users or critics alike , and mostly ( and commonly ) the " haters " simply will thrash everything by their lack of taste. So to top it off, we had the over the top , fluid, almost perfect control scheme that makes this game shine set with a variety of powers , weapons , diverse locations on a single level , and creative missions . This elements will guide you through all the game and most likely will ease all your troubles when you acquire/improve powers . Arkane did not only made you a scary entity in the game it also made a solid AI that will cause you to break your head just to find out what possible solutions you can do to make a easy escape , mistakenly leave trails of your victims , a " piece of cake " entry to a mansion or a gory yet disappointing death for you . It sounds hard right ? well you get the hang of it , because you will want to be Corvo every time you assume the control of him and you want skills to feel awesome. The story itself , is clever and you can sense some sort of dark tone with every decisions in the conversations . With all these things in single game you need to say one thing for sure, single-player games still rock even on this generation full of multiplayer games. Expand
  14. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    i love this game it mixture of assassin creed with magic powers ability kill any bad guys i love game design from movement, character building and good voice that voice character as well fit perfectly

    only wish it went longer & hoping for sequel in works
  15. Oct 18, 2012
    5
    You know what this was not too bad... Don't fool yourself its not 91% material at all, at best 75 but its very lucky that crap like borderlands 2 came out at a similar time because it looks so much better- however they have cleverly jumped ahead of ac3 in the knowledge that if you put these two side by side- in fact even ac2- no one would buy dishonoured at the full price. So it's a caseYou know what this was not too bad... Don't fool yourself its not 91% material at all, at best 75 but its very lucky that crap like borderlands 2 came out at a similar time because it looks so much better- however they have cleverly jumped ahead of ac3 in the knowledge that if you put these two side by side- in fact even ac2- no one would buy dishonoured at the full price. So it's a case of filler before the good games come out and in that respect it's passable. Nothing new, nothing groundbreaking and it just about gets away with the storyline which just about makes it all interesting and not quite boring. " meh" just about sums it up but it is a darn sight better than some other rubbish that has just been gushed over and it makes me think as I have so often said , the gaming world is disingenuous at best- most reviews should come with a warning that they are in fact just hype. How on earth this or b2 got 91 in comparison to say bf3 I'll never ever know ( but we all know really right?) anyway- in about 2 weeks time this game is going to drop out of sight so save your money and buy it for £15 at christmas Expand
  16. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game... graphics are very nice, decent music, memorable cast.
    I dislike how killing is frowned upon... is seeking vengeance really that bad?
    PS If you want people to not kill you should give them more abilities... choke, dark vision, blink, and poisoned arrow... you give the killers more... nades, mines, etc
    PSS Possession is just goofy, its length should be massively buffed so it has a use for the ghost runners.
    Expand
  17. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    For everything Dishonored does right, something also feels rather off - resulting in a rather "meh" overall experience. The in-game world is convincing and tangible, but the gorgeously rendered, realistic trailers betray the truth of the slightly-dated "wood carving" art style, which doesn't detract from my experience as much as lower my expectations. The environments are stable andFor everything Dishonored does right, something also feels rather off - resulting in a rather "meh" overall experience. The in-game world is convincing and tangible, but the gorgeously rendered, realistic trailers betray the truth of the slightly-dated "wood carving" art style, which doesn't detract from my experience as much as lower my expectations. The environments are stable and aesthetic, but entirely non-interactive save for the breakaway tables and glasses copy/pasted from area to area, which drags my immersion back to the shallows, at times. Combat is reliable, but one-dimensional - a blow either connects or it doesn't, with no variability of result quality or magnitude. These simplicities, I imagine, allow for the stalk-'n'-sock, custom-built kills to function reliably (and they do). However, though it may be fun to find new combinations of talents for your kills, the novelty wears off incredibly fast, leaving me feeling like some of the main selling points for the game are gimmicks, at best. I finished the initial playthrough, but don't have the motivation to put in the time and effort for the quality retry/replay attempts at a perfect game. Much of the story is told through submenu databanks, so perhaps I might revisit those and let myself deeper into the story, at some point. However, overall, this felt like BioShock 1 was reskinned for a Metal Gear Solid Mode set in the London of Alice: Madness Returns. I recommend picking it up as the price comes down. It's a good game and you'll enjoy the experience, but it will feel dated either way and there's nothing new or innovative enough to enjoy at full price; bland is bland regardless of freshness. Expand
  18. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    This is the first truly great game from the second half of 2012 and is easily a GOTY candidate. After the somewhat disappointing Borderlands 2 and the horrible X-Com reboot, Dishonored was like a breath of fresh air. It just works, and if you like immerse games with a great character, insane powers and a exceptional attention to details, you will love Dishonored.
  19. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    An amazing open-ended adventure that has renewed my hope in action/adventure games, RPG's, and gaming in general. If you cant enjoy this game, I pity you, for you cant enjoy life.
  20. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Wow. This game is amazing. At first it took me a while to get into it but after that it is such an amazing game!!! It is a mixture of skyrim, bio shock and thief! Similar action as skyrim. Similar powers as bioshock and sneaking around castles like thief. This game is a must play! Graphics ain't the best and that's why I'm marking this game a 8. But other than that this game is simply amazing
  21. Oct 16, 2012
    4
    Ok, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo. It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers onOk, I'll be the one to point out that the Emperor is wearing an extremely unflattering Speedo. It's merely published by Bethesda (developed by Arkane), so it thankfully lacks the zoo of bugs usually associated with their titles, but there are many things about the game that rub the wrong way. The setting of the game is a wild pastiche of ideas that feel scattered but do show glimmers on originality and potential. Trouble is, the game doles out information in a decidedly non-engrossing fashion and the first hour or so is just an on-the-rails game of hit-all-the-steampunk/fantasy-setting-tropes. The TF2, exaggerated art style is cool, but I can't help but feel that a more realistic look would benefit an urban game of gritty, moralistic conflicts. The stealth (like most FPS that try to incorporate it) can be fairly hit-or-miss and though you can blast your way through from hell to a whalemeat breakfast, the game suggests fairly heavily that the most virtuous path through it is a non-violent one. Not to mention that more than 3/4 of the unlockable powers are all used for killing or facilitating killing, meaning that you're going to waste a lot of runes if you want to go the no-kill route. The combat is simplistic but can be punishing early on and there are a few cool synergies between your powers and your weapons, but good luck to you if you think the game is going to prompt you much in that regard. There is a definite emphasis on "choose-your-own-path" at work but the narrative (and the assassinations involved in it) is broken down into discreet levels and you are graded and given the option to replay each one upon completion, so say goodbye to a fully immersive, open world experience. In a nutshell, the game is best described as a "steampunk Deus Ex" and yes, that would be Square Enix's recent "re-imagining" of Deus Ex, with all the connotations that entails. It's a competent action game with an interesting backdrop, but nothing that you'll be talking about 6 months from now. Expand
  22. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    It is an innovative game like few others, with gameplay away from the archetypes of FPS ever. It also has a variety of missions to solve, a graphic section is excellent and a very fun game that is really important. We can say that this game deserves to be ahead of RE6 in sales, and I hope so, because the differences in quality between a title and another is evident.
  23. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5 - A score which Corvo would freeze time, and crossbow. Dishonored is not only one of the best games of 2012, but one of the best I have EVER played. A great story encompassing the murkiness of betrayal; awesome game-play that encourages creativity and a beautiful hand-drawn atmosphere in Dunwall. people, if this hate is retaliation for Skyrim's PS3 ridiculousness then I'm behind you on0.5 - A score which Corvo would freeze time, and crossbow. Dishonored is not only one of the best games of 2012, but one of the best I have EVER played. A great story encompassing the murkiness of betrayal; awesome game-play that encourages creativity and a beautiful hand-drawn atmosphere in Dunwall. people, if this hate is retaliation for Skyrim's PS3 ridiculousness then I'm behind you on that. But don't drag don this incredible game that deserves the love of the gaming community. Expand
  24. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play,Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play, will you use stealth to assassinate your targets, ghost into a level killing no one and finding an alternative non-lethal method to dispose of your target, use poison or the environment to make your assassination look like an accident or go in guns, crossbows and swords blazing and kill everyone you see. The way you play is how Dishonored offers choice and this is not only in whether you sneak or fight, kill or spare. You can use various different pathways and methods to reach your destination including possessing a rat or a fish to swim or crawl through an entrance, use Blink (the first supernatural power the player gains) to teleport up to and around the rooftops, Possess a guard and walk through the front door as well as many others. So choice is most definitely a core theme in Dishonored, it does require some imagination to find different paths but finding a path and getting to your target without any NPC knowing your there is a definite rush. The gameplay in Dishonored mostly resembles Deus Ex: Human Revolution, you are encouraged to use stealth where ever possible and this is without doubt the best way to play the game, going in and trying to fight your way through is much more difficult and this is one of Dishonored's faults. When fighting enemies who use regular swords Dishonored's combat shines, however when an enemy wields a gun they never miss a shot and bullets take a huge amount of player health. It is not only gun wielding enemies, some foes can breath fire which is unblockable and completely prevents the player from seeing anything in front of them. Also when guards are alerted to your presence every other guard in the area knows exactly where the player character is and come running. In short this means Dishonored is not for players who do not enjoy stealth. The story is Dishonored starts strong, begins to lose its way in the middle and then comes back with a brilliant 3rd act which rounds off the plot nicely. The well publicised different endings are little more than 30-60 second clips showing how the players actions affected the world of Dunwall, however they are vey well narrated and do a fairly good job of making the player realise that there actions had consequences. Overall Dishonored is one of the most unique and inspired games in years with an incredible art style, an intriguing world and thrilling stealth game play. For anybody who has enjoyed Deus Ex, Thief or Splinter Cell pick Dishonored up. You wont be disappointed. Expand
  25. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    WOW. I just thought that I had reached a very anticlimactic ending due to have already dispatched my target in the more unconventional way allotted for the mission at hand. Straight outta left field, I get slapped with the underpinning theme and reality of what Dishonored is as a game. NOT THE END. I will say, I am a sucker for un-apologetically mature and well crafted single playerWOW. I just thought that I had reached a very anticlimactic ending due to have already dispatched my target in the more unconventional way allotted for the mission at hand. Straight outta left field, I get slapped with the underpinning theme and reality of what Dishonored is as a game. NOT THE END. I will say, I am a sucker for un-apologetically mature and well crafted single player campaigns. This is very reminiscent of half-life in mood but much better developed. Well done Arcane! I don't replay many games, but I think I may replay this more than a few times. Expand
  26. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5? Seriously guys? I wonder which ill-fated cause made you so angry that you had to destroy the user score average of the PS3 version. The game is good, maybe not perfect, but doesn't deserve all this hate.
  27. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Good game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlikeGood game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlike in one thing and using only that for the rest of the game.

    Worth the 10-15 hour playthrough.

    Also, lol at the negative user score spam- looks like Bethesda pissed off ****
    Expand
  28. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    It's best to ignore the unreviewed, amount of negative votes (it seems someone has a serious grudge against the PS3 version), and instead look at the reviews from other versions of Dishonoured. In doing that, just simply go buy this game, it's a delight to play, and new, innovative IP's like this, need to be supported if we want to move away from the age of, CoD and sequels after sequels.
  29. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is top notch. The game is gorgeous, the world breathtaking, controls tight, combat solid, attention to detail is incredible, lightening in the game is best i've ever seen in a game so far, game design is awesome, sound design is amazing, narrative draws you in right from the start, voice work and lip synching is great, a lot of effort has been put into the styleEverything about this game is top notch. The game is gorgeous, the world breathtaking, controls tight, combat solid, attention to detail is incredible, lightening in the game is best i've ever seen in a game so far, game design is awesome, sound design is amazing, narrative draws you in right from the start, voice work and lip synching is great, a lot of effort has been put into the style of the game. Game feels like a moving water color painting. One of the best original game titles to have come out in a long time and one that will be remembered for a long time. Its so refreshing to have such a unique world to explore without constant shooting or combat. The slow pace fits this game perfectly. I never had so much fun playing a "stealth" game so far. This was one of the best game surprises ever, since the game wasn't overhyped like so many other games nowadays. I also like the dark, mysterious tone of the game and the combat is pretty brutal. Definitely check it out if you've been looking for a new. unique world to get lost in and explore. Expand
  30. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    The GOOD: awesome stealth gameplay, cool powers, easy and responsive controls, freedom to achieve objectives the way you want, good graphics and astonishing art style, rich world and decent story.
    The NOT SO GOOD: soundtrack, melee combat doesn't feel right, no cutscenes at all and uninteresting voice acting.
    In the end: Dishonored is a MUST PLAY! Like most of games, Dishonored isn't
    The GOOD: awesome stealth gameplay, cool powers, easy and responsive controls, freedom to achieve objectives the way you want, good graphics and astonishing art style, rich world and decent story.
    The NOT SO GOOD: soundtrack, melee combat doesn't feel right, no cutscenes at all and uninteresting voice acting.
    In the end: Dishonored is a MUST PLAY! Like most of games, Dishonored isn't perfect, but even so is a remarkable experience. The atmosphere of the game feels unique. The addition of some cutscenes and a better selection of tracks for the soundtrack would have built an even more interesting experience. The stealth approach works flawlessly. Some may get disappointed by how the melee combat works, like I did, but if you enjoy a good stealth gameplay, you won't even get bugged by this fact.
    So, that's it: 10/10 to Dishonored.
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.