Dishonored PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 786 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 91 out of 786
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 16, 2016
    8
    Dishonored
    Untapped Potential
    Dishonored is a first person action stealth game where you play as an assassin... the bodyguard of an empress who gets murdered and her daughter gets kidnapped within the first 10 minutes of the game… Naturally you’re framed as others are hungry for power… So the game really starts with you in a jail cell on a rescue mission… You’ll spend the game
    Dishonored
    Untapped Potential
    Dishonored is a first person action stealth game where you play as an assassin... the bodyguard of an empress who gets murdered and her daughter gets kidnapped within the first 10 minutes of the game…
    Naturally you’re framed as others are hungry for power…
    So the game really starts with you in a jail cell on a rescue mission…
    You’ll spend the game crawling through sewers and small cities going after a target in each of the 9 total missions…
    These missions last about an hour long highly dependent on your gameplay style which is such a great thing…
    Dishonored offers ultimate freedom in the way other assassin games like hitman and assassins creed have lost sight of with their highly suggested stealth design…
    Here you get a blade and a pistol… how you get to the end is up to you…
    From how you deal with situation to how you infiltrate areas…
    There’s multiple passage ways into every section…
    You can sneak up behind enemies to assassinate them or put them to sleep…
    You can straight up go in guns and swords blazing…
    There’s a catch though… the way you play effects the story. The ending and how other characters portray you… You can literally beat the entire game without killing anyone...
    While at the same time you can kill almost anyone you want at any time you want
    while again you can play anyway you like... I played as an aggressive assassin opposed to a ninja assassin… and I found that this game was definitely designed more for the patient type as the combat feels just a tad bit awkward…
    Its bearable, but the rag doll physics, awkward weapon wheel, occasional lack of hit detection, and unrealistic blocking abilities of guards made it apparent combat while an option was an afterthought…
    The most annoying thing that stuck out time after time was enemies that are about to shoot you, naturally you’d assume when they are readying their pistol, it’s the perfect opportunity to strike…
    But the guards would always.. And I mean always. Instantly block me when I took such a natural and realistic opportunity to deal damage…
    That single bit alone hurts hand to hand combat the most as the rest is pretty decent, you can block and parry, dual weald crossbows, guns, and swords…
    And if you feel more like going in stealthy, you can also use magic in your ranged weapon hand
    all of which can be swapped on the fly
    The magic is where the potential shines..
    Every mission has runes hidden as well as bone charms… these charms are stat boosts and the runes unlock magic skills of your choice…
    You can unlock a dash attack… unlock a skill to see through walls.. Summon rats to eat enemies… just to name a few...
    These skills could’ve been used for side quests in the city or platforming sections, but they weren’t... they were just there... much like everything else, optional...
    The optional with the magic though is a letdown as there so much imbalance in game progression and this could have helped it
    Its constant sneaking around or fighting…
    There are no puzzles, no adventure sections to give you a chance to breathe…
    It’s a constant walking on eggs shells which ultimately makes this rescue mission feel more like a chore than an immersive duty, despite a handful of side missions actually showing great promise of what this series can become…
    Dishonored definitely has its flaws, but it also has potential and is a must play for any fan of the stealth genre
    I give Dishonored an 8.0/10
    Expand
  2. Aug 16, 2016
    7
    Dishonored is a 2012 stealth action-adventure video game developed by Arkane Studios and published by Bethesda Softworks.

    + Good Atmosphere
    + Powers
    - Weak Controls
    - Story is not Very Good
    - Bad Facial Expressions
    - Characters Desing
  3. Jun 23, 2016
    9
    Dishonored, a game which really intrigued and sucked me into it's gaming content. Let's start by with the gameplay: it's exquisite!. Dishonored has a smooth and seamless gameplay of jumping and walking and using different sorts of powers you oriented with the game that also include of hand to hand combat and using these powers according to your specific conditions in the game. There is noDishonored, a game which really intrigued and sucked me into it's gaming content. Let's start by with the gameplay: it's exquisite!. Dishonored has a smooth and seamless gameplay of jumping and walking and using different sorts of powers you oriented with the game that also include of hand to hand combat and using these powers according to your specific conditions in the game. There is no open world gameplay here. There are specific maps and levels designed for a certain task or mission you are assigned to but the levels are beautifully crafted and made where each section of it is tailored to give the player a scare of unexpected enemies and/or side task that you can complete. Each mission specifically the main story one have extensive amount of ways to complete. You can infiltrate a specific building by possessing guards or animals, by approaching it with pure stealth, by thinking of a creative way of using your specials powers such as stopping time (Yes! stopping time!!), by going through the roofs, sewers, a specific room which requires a key (can be obtained by completing side tasks) and many more actually. So, you get the picture when I say "extensive". You're main tasks are to Assassinate, abduct, subdue or to not do any of those, meaning you have a choice. Onto another aspect, graphics: they're gorgeous!. The only thing that made me give this game a 9 was it's story wrap up at the end. The story is great don't get me wrong on that. It's just the wrap up at the end which made me deduct a point out of it. Expand
  4. May 6, 2016
    6
    Dishonored is a 2012 stealth action-adventure video game developed by Arkane Studios and published by Bethesda Softworks.

    + Good Atmosphere
    + Powers
    - Weak Controls
    - Story is not Very Good
    - Bad Facial Expressions
    - Characters Desing
  5. Mar 30, 2016
    8
    Loved this game, especially the stealth, this game allows you to fully experience what it would be like to be an assassin during a alternate reality set during the plague.
    Very gory. Loved it.
  6. Nov 5, 2015
    10
    Loved this game. The game world and story are really interesting and outright captivating. Warrants at least two play through because your choices affects the whole setting and story of the game. Gameplay is on point and smooth as can be. Love how the harder difficulties are fair, and do not merely raise enemy damage and health stats. The DLC is worth picking up too, or just get the packLoved this game. The game world and story are really interesting and outright captivating. Warrants at least two play through because your choices affects the whole setting and story of the game. Gameplay is on point and smooth as can be. Love how the harder difficulties are fair, and do not merely raise enemy damage and health stats. The DLC is worth picking up too, or just get the pack that includes it. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2015
    9
    It's truly rare nowadays to find a single-player experience with high replay value that gives you the tools to play however you want to. "Dishonored" does just that. At first glance the game seems fairly solid, yet unremarkable in it's mechanics. Then you start getting powers. The fairly standard, but solid stealth and combat mechanics really come to life and change how you play the game.It's truly rare nowadays to find a single-player experience with high replay value that gives you the tools to play however you want to. "Dishonored" does just that. At first glance the game seems fairly solid, yet unremarkable in it's mechanics. Then you start getting powers. The fairly standard, but solid stealth and combat mechanics really come to life and change how you play the game. With multiple paths to objectives, different powers and tools to experiment with, and multiple ways to complete your missions this is a game that really values player choice.

    Whether you choose to be stealthy, go for all out combat, or try a combination of the two, the flexibility to each of the systems ensure that you are having fun no matter how you choose to play. The only downside to all this player choice is the "chaos" system. Similar to moral choices in other games, the chaos system affects which ending you receive. Leave a trail of bodies in your wake and chaos raises and you get a darker ending. Take as few lives as possible and chaos remains low and the opposite happens. The way this system works means that some player can get locked in one play style just for the sake of a happier or sadder ending. However the replay value of the game makes this only a minor issue. I recommend for your first playthrough you just focus on the gameplay experience and focus on playing the way you find the most fun/enjoyable, and then do other playthroughs for the story.

    The reason I suggest this is because the story just isn't that interesting. It's a bland revenge tale with characters good and bad who I really couldn't distinguish between. There is lore here, scattered bits of side-stories, and chances to explore these characters more deeply, but I just wasn't interested. I'm sure others will find the world and it's inhabitants more appealing and interesting, but as far as I'm concerned the real value in Dishonored comes from the gameplay.

    You can spend hours in it's world thanks to the amazing gameplay mechanics and side-content to dig into. There's plenty to see and do and the fun powers at your disposal make it all worth doing. Some niggling little issues are present here and there, but they don't detract from the large amount of enjoyment I had with this game. It's one of the most satisfying video game experiences I have had in a while.
    Expand
  8. May 14, 2015
    1
    Terrible! Game play/Game mechanics is precisely the cheapest factor.

    There is almost no versatility to this game, sure you unlock powers but they're mostly good for mobility, on popular reviews you'll hear that your opponents are no match for your raw blade waves, and that's true, you're never challenged to make smart use of your abilities. Level design is (NOT unique) there's no
    Terrible! Game play/Game mechanics is precisely the cheapest factor.

    There is almost no versatility to this game, sure you unlock powers but they're mostly good for mobility, on popular reviews you'll hear that your opponents are no match for your raw blade waves, and that's true, you're never challenged to make smart use of your abilities.

    Level design is (NOT unique) there's no smart use of contrast or any of that garbage they feed us on review channels, hiding spots are poor and enemy positioning is meaningless, I spent most of my time worrying for my enemies if they see me, because the AI charges with no strategy in mind and no chance of survival.

    The story line and voice acting is decent, but if it were those that made games great then Candy Crush Saga would have never made it's download record, this game is the product of unreal engine and all the marketing power it's makers could muster.
    Expand
  9. May 1, 2015
    2
    Stealth games are so boring, especially in first person view where you can't see all you awesome moves. You just have to imagine it. The controls are mostly a struggle. Below average graphics and characters appendages go through walls and floors. Small ugly world, short-boring-run of the mill, dystopia story. I can see why this I.P. got dumped by Bethesda.
  10. Apr 2, 2015
    3
    I'm actually surprised this game has such a high rating. I only bought this game (a while ago) because it was developed by Bethesda Studios which made the ridiculously amazing Skyrim.

    This game has to be one of the worst I have ever played. The story line is terrible, controls are heavy and slow and the graphics are just embarrassing (hands bigger than heads type of graphics). The
    I'm actually surprised this game has such a high rating. I only bought this game (a while ago) because it was developed by Bethesda Studios which made the ridiculously amazing Skyrim.

    This game has to be one of the worst I have ever played. The story line is terrible, controls are heavy and slow and the graphics are just embarrassing (hands bigger than heads type of graphics).

    The overall concept of the game is completely confused, it seems to be set in the 1700's or an Victorian England kind of vibe, yet there are futuristic weapons and technology all over the place! It doesn't make sense to me. There are pretty much no positives to this game!

    Overall this game is just bizzare and really really poor. One to forget from Bethesda. 3/10
    Expand
  11. Mar 29, 2015
    6
    What is it with devs and FPSs. This is a game that would've looked and played much better in 3rd person. Aside for that, I played this game for a whole 2 hours before deleting from my hard drive. That FP perspective was really giving me a headache and with all the magic spells and childish nonsense it felt like another BioShock. Maybe it just wasn't for me.
  12. Mar 12, 2015
    8
    the greatest strength of this game is its art design and the options it gives you to complete your missions. this is not a completely open world game but definitely gives you lots of room to explore and it is far from linear and is one of the best stealth games I have played in a while, if you choose to play it stealthily. the only problem with that is that there are definitely some partsthe greatest strength of this game is its art design and the options it gives you to complete your missions. this is not a completely open world game but definitely gives you lots of room to explore and it is far from linear and is one of the best stealth games I have played in a while, if you choose to play it stealthily. the only problem with that is that there are definitely some parts where stealth or fighting were a much better option but for the most part both options were even. being stealthy is harder but is much more rewarding while fighting is easier but has consequences. I like that dynamic and it is done excellently. the few problems I have were with the characters and dialogue, they were good but you could tell that they had so much potential to be soooo much better which keeps this game from reaching its potential. the game is also to short, not like it feels like it ruins the game in any way, but by the end of the game you are really wanting more unfortuently. I feel like it could have been atleast another 4 hours longer but at least there is a lot of replayability. I think if they were to make a sequel these complaints would be solved and we would have a nearly perfect game. Expand
  13. Feb 8, 2015
    10
    I am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot of things to say here, but can't due to the 5000 character limit. No mentioning of DLC will be in this review.
    Dishonored is an Action-Stealth game, released on 2012. Despite it's genre, it is recommended for newcomers to do their first playthrough
    I am The Destroyer. I will break games, complain about the littlest detail, and tell you whether or not the game is worth buying. A lot of things to say here, but can't due to the 5000 character limit. No mentioning of DLC will be in this review.
    Dishonored is an Action-Stealth game, released on 2012. Despite it's genre, it is recommended for newcomers to do their first playthrough without worrying about the stealth. That will allow studying of layouts for when a stealth run ever gets attempted.

    1. Story
    There isn't much story here. You can play this entire game without ever knowing what's going on. Here's the basic jest of it: you are a wanted man for killing the Empress. Every mission you play will have city guards attempt to see you out as you try to accomplish various objectives throughout the game. The game itself leaves no secrets and informs you that more people you kill, the darker the overall outcomes will be. Will you play the good-hearted ninja? Or will you play the butchering assassin?

    2. Voice Acting
    It's possible the voice acting could be improved, but it isn't the worst thing in the world. And if you're doing a stealth run it will be the least of worries.

    3. Graphics and Visuals
    Yet, another area that receives only average feedback. The character models look like giant clay dolls walking around, so there's no love here. But every other artistic area in this game is superb. When you walk (or sneak) around town it really does feel like the early 1900's. And the animations for powers will take you by surprise.

    4. Gameplay
    Gameplay refers to combat, customization, and various areas you can explore within the game. Put it all together and it deserves the highest rating possible!

    -Battle System-
    All the battle actions and weapons you use will feel too basic for a standard action game, but it's all for good reason. Simple stabs, slashes, and gunfire can kill a person like it would in real life. Unfortunately, the AI's are too predictable in combat, and health drops are so plenishable to the point where you'll have to raise the difficulty to gain any real challenge, especially if you go around slaughtering everyone.

    -Customization-
    In order to build up and customize your character, you'll need to collect an item called Runes, which will be explained more in game. There are also Bone Charms which add a small special ability boost. The difference between Runes and Bone Charms is that Runes are used for casting powers and cannot be undone once applied, and Bone Charms come with a completely random effect per playthrough but you can equip and unequip them any time.

    -Exploration-
    This is where the game does it's best. You will spend a lot of time exploring the area and studying the games scenery, and the reason for this is because hidden pathways are everywhere! There are many different routes you can take to reach your objective, and I swear you will have a lot of fun discovering them.

    5. Personal Enjoyment
    I went into this game expecting nothing of it at first, and was even so bored with the opening that I actually stopped playing. But then I came back to it a month later and decided to try it again, and was blown away with how the story and areas continued to get better and better. The first playthrough took about 15 hours to do; and that's just with me dying over and over again from gunshots on Very Hard difficulty. Suffice to say, whether it's challenge or simple, it has something for everyone.

    6. Overall Verdict
    When you play Dishonored, it doesn't feel like a cash in, it doesn't feel unfinished, it doesn't feel like a car crash or a quick idea to keep up with other rival companies. It feels like a video game, and that's the way it should be. There is no possible way that Dishonored can get any better, and that is why I am issuing my very first 10 out of 10 for a PS3 game! Absolutely flawless! This game is so good that it when not playing, you should place the game and it's box in a glass display case, and hire a bodyguard so that no one takes your valued treasure. Buy this game!
    Expand
  14. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    Dishonored

    Game-play:The game-play is solid and the game give you the ability to play head on attack or stealth or you just can combine this two.Also if you are good you can finish the game without killing nobody not even bosses.You have also something like spells but you are not force to use them of even unlock them. Story:I really like the story of this game and really enjoy it but
    Dishonored

    Game-play:The game-play is solid and the game give you the ability to play head on attack or stealth or you just can combine this two.Also if you are good you can finish the game without killing nobody not even bosses.You have also something like spells but you are not force to use them of even unlock them.

    Story:I really like the story of this game and really enjoy it but the problem is that is so short it took me 5 to 6 hours in the hard mode.

    Graphics:The graphics did not impress me much.

    Notes:The level design in very good except the last level it could hav some improvements.This game is great worth full price.
    Expand
  15. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    Story:
    Dunwall has a great atmosphere and the world of Dishonored has great potential. It's sad that this game doesn't explain it's background. Moreover, the story is pretty common and Corvo doesn't say a single word, which takes away his sympathy.
    5/10 Gameplay: The gameplay is just great. You have many options, there is a moral system (a pretty easy one, though) and you can unlock
    Story:
    Dunwall has a great atmosphere and the world of Dishonored has great potential. It's sad that this game doesn't explain it's background. Moreover, the story is pretty common and Corvo doesn't say a single word, which takes away his sympathy.
    5/10

    Gameplay:
    The gameplay is just great. You have many options, there is a moral system (a pretty easy one, though) and you can unlock super powers to get better in the way you want to play. You have so much freedom in this game!
    9/10

    Technical:
    Dishonored looks dark and dirty which causes a good atmosphere, but the textures, the character's faces etc. are pretty poor designed.
    6,5/10

    Overall:
    Dishonored has some problems. however, it is a great experience to play it.
    8,5/10
    Expand
  16. Dec 16, 2014
    10
    I absolutely loved this game. From the beginning to the end its a awesome experience. I loved the simplistic visual style, intuitive controls and the superb atmosphere. Best game i played in a long time!
  17. Sep 15, 2014
    10
    The best stealth game in years. The setting is dark and matured. The characters are interesting with their own motivations and goals. The story is also dark and based on your approach / decisions it gets even darker /more hopeless later on. If you kill many guards in one level then the next level will be guarded heavier with more guards (There are also other changes which I won't spoil).The best stealth game in years. The setting is dark and matured. The characters are interesting with their own motivations and goals. The story is also dark and based on your approach / decisions it gets even darker /more hopeless later on. If you kill many guards in one level then the next level will be guarded heavier with more guards (There are also other changes which I won't spoil). It is possible to solve the game without killing anyone. The good thing is the variety in the levels. Most times there are multiple ways or approaches for a task. When I replayed a level I often find different routes (A lot easier than my first choices). This gives a good replay value for a second or third play-through. The graphic and sound are really fitting and helped to created a dark / realistic world. This game deserves a lot of praise and I hope there will be a Dishonored 2. Expand
  18. Sep 12, 2014
    7
    Disappointed with this one, I was expecting a GREAT game based on a lot of reviews and videos, I felt like I played a very good game but not that great. It is actually hard for me to explain why, I like the graphics, music, characters, story, gameplay is great. I guess maybe I was not in the mood for a game with a lot of stealth, I don't know...You can play this game with a lot of stealthDisappointed with this one, I was expecting a GREAT game based on a lot of reviews and videos, I felt like I played a very good game but not that great. It is actually hard for me to explain why, I like the graphics, music, characters, story, gameplay is great. I guess maybe I was not in the mood for a game with a lot of stealth, I don't know...You can play this game with a lot of stealth or just run through enemies but in my opinion first option is more interesting. Expand
  19. Sep 7, 2014
    10
    this is the best first person stealth game i have ever played. the power are awesome. you can play the game in whatever way you want. cool story. the graphics are really awesome, what else you want in a game? so i give it a perfect 10.
  20. Jul 28, 2014
    4
    Bethesda has never been one to be known for there excellent sneaking systems and this felt like they were trying to improve on their popular series with increased stealth options and ended up making an entire game to develop it and still failed. The games style/atmosphere tries to stray into steampunk and misses the mark. Music is highly forgettable, colors are washed together, the storyBethesda has never been one to be known for there excellent sneaking systems and this felt like they were trying to improve on their popular series with increased stealth options and ended up making an entire game to develop it and still failed. The games style/atmosphere tries to stray into steampunk and misses the mark. Music is highly forgettable, colors are washed together, the story is shoddy, bad controls, laggy, and none of the characters stand apart since most of the models looked extremely similar. Do not purchase. Expand
  21. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    The most important quality of Dishonored is that it doesn't treat you like a tool. Instead it offers a toolbox of techniques and powers that you can apply as you prefer on each mission. The second most important quality of Dishonored is that it is FUN. It is a game, not an interactive movie or a tech showcase. It is game design refined for the highest possible amount of fun inside theThe most important quality of Dishonored is that it doesn't treat you like a tool. Instead it offers a toolbox of techniques and powers that you can apply as you prefer on each mission. The second most important quality of Dishonored is that it is FUN. It is a game, not an interactive movie or a tech showcase. It is game design refined for the highest possible amount of fun inside the otherwise rather grim game environment.

    These qualities combine with an ambitious storyline and an exceptionally well realized game world, and the result is a rare mix of fun and immersion.

    The graphics are more cartoony than the title or cover-art, but with PS3s capabilities, the art fits the constrictions and set the bar low enough to stay outside of uncanny valley and out of the ordinary. It is thus one of the best looking games I've played on PS3.

    It has no multiplayer, no alternative game modes (unnecessary since it already can be played in many ways), and the ending is abruptly anti-climatic. I was overall satisfied with the story, but it could have built up the gameplay setups more rather than reiterate on the same basic challenges.

    I kind of want to give it 7/10, but it's rare that you play a game and have to figure out your own way through each challenge. For that, it deserves recognition.
    Expand
  22. Jun 30, 2014
    9
    Total gameplay choice. Total.Did I say total?

    This feature is often touted in games, but is rarely ever delivered. Dishonoured is one such game that stays true to its word. A twisted revenge narrative, embedded within a rich, fresh steampunk aesthetic provides a strong and rewarding backbone for the game. The sandbox nature of the assassinations combining both stealth melee and
    Total gameplay choice. Total.Did I say total?

    This feature is often touted in games, but is rarely ever delivered. Dishonoured is one such game that stays true to its word.

    A twisted revenge narrative, embedded within a rich, fresh steampunk aesthetic provides a strong and rewarding backbone for the game.

    The sandbox nature of the assassinations combining both stealth melee and supernatural powers (like teleportation, time distortion) makes the game a winner and sure as hell, intoxicating.

    Sure, you can leap into every single bloody confrontation, flash your blade and slit some throats – but you’ve got God Of War for that. What’s the fun?

    The only way to enjoy this killhouse is to meld into the shadows, (painstakingly) working your way through the 9 levels (short, I know – but definitely worth replaying). Even killing ONE single person made me feel that I failed my mission. Never has one game made me feel so badass by NOT killing anyone. I felt like a true assassin, silently making my way around the unbelievable gorgeous environment, listening in on peoples conversations and hunting for clues. It’s a thrilling game – rewarding you for doing the things so many other games mindlessly encourage.

    So step lightly, stay out of sight and plan ahead – you’ll be rewarded tremendously!
    Expand
  23. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    A truly phenominal game. I played through a no kills and no detection run and I've got to say this game is amazing. Dishonored is perfectly designed the world is thought out and very details. There has been so much lore built into the game it makes the story incredibly rich. The way that your actions alter the environment and the eventual outcome is really well thought out. It'sA truly phenominal game. I played through a no kills and no detection run and I've got to say this game is amazing. Dishonored is perfectly designed the world is thought out and very details. There has been so much lore built into the game it makes the story incredibly rich. The way that your actions alter the environment and the eventual outcome is really well thought out. It's perfectly paced and the missions are understandable and objectives are easy to follow and the sheer multitude of ways to complete are second only to games like Hitman. I was dubious because of FPS stealth but they pulled it off. Definately going to play through this a couple more times. 9/10 Expand
  24. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    As to near Ahnk Morpork as I've seen in a videogame that isn't a discworld game and that's coming from someone who lives in Gloucester where they filmed one of the Discworld live action series. Dunwall is an amazing place in terms of the way it incorporates elements of steampunk with a victorian feel and setting a pace that wouldn't normally suit a 1st person action game but it justAs to near Ahnk Morpork as I've seen in a videogame that isn't a discworld game and that's coming from someone who lives in Gloucester where they filmed one of the Discworld live action series. Dunwall is an amazing place in terms of the way it incorporates elements of steampunk with a victorian feel and setting a pace that wouldn't normally suit a 1st person action game but it just flows so well and the artwork on the characters is stunning but sadly let down by a bit of collision detection which is hard to ignore, combine all this with a satisfying story you get a really decent game with plenty to get stuck into. Expand
  25. May 22, 2014
    9
    I've spent about 64 hours, and frankly I want more :). This game may look cartoon-ish, but please don't be fooled by this - the game tests your humaneness from its 1st second till its last one: you may kill everyone you see, or you may kill no one at all - it's up to you. And like Sir Isaac Newton said, every action has a reaction (simple form) - I mean, whatever you do in the game, allI've spent about 64 hours, and frankly I want more :). This game may look cartoon-ish, but please don't be fooled by this - the game tests your humaneness from its 1st second till its last one: you may kill everyone you see, or you may kill no one at all - it's up to you. And like Sir Isaac Newton said, every action has a reaction (simple form) - I mean, whatever you do in the game, all your actions will have a consequences.
    The main part of the game is dedicated to Corvo. Alas, he is silent, which I don't like. But in the add-ons (The Knife of Dunwall, Brigmore Witches), you're playing as Daud, who is much more talkative. Well, Michael Madsen, as Daud, is fun.
    For those who love stealth games, especially Thief 1&2&3: IMHO, this game is even more Thief-esque than the last Thief (2014). It has a good story, a nice NPCs and their dialogues, a lot of perfectly hidden stashes with loot, and you're free to hide from your foes and neutralize them in old Thief style - by sneaking from behind. Also, the game has a lot of tributes to the Thief series, so you'll definitely smile every time you see them.
    Bottom line: it's a must-have.
    Expand
  26. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Pros
    +Great artistic graphics
    +Fun to use powers
    +Strong stealth/combat/strategy gameplay.
    + Decent story, many possible endings
    Cons
    - Slightly weak swordfighting
    - Could be a little longer
  27. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the best stealth/action games i have ever played, the graphics are artistically well done, the controls are smooth and efficient. The options of doing a high/low chaos playthrough are utterly well done and thought out. the level design is extremely well thought out and offer a myriad of ways to go about your mission. The storyline is thought provoking and quite layered.This game is one of the best stealth/action games i have ever played, the graphics are artistically well done, the controls are smooth and efficient. The options of doing a high/low chaos playthrough are utterly well done and thought out. the level design is extremely well thought out and offer a myriad of ways to go about your mission. The storyline is thought provoking and quite layered. You also acquire certain tools/weapons and special magical abilities to aid you in your mission ahead. On my first playthrough with me being in all modesty a true gamer took me about 15 hours to complete. arkane have outdone themselves and with that i will be buying future titles by them. Expand
  28. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Great game! FPS with freedom of approach. Got some Half Life 2 vibes when playing this and it´s a good thing. Voice acting and art design are top-notch.
  29. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Dishonored is so close to becoming a memorable game. Instead, only months after playing, it starts to fade into the other games. But this game is not bad by any means. Dishonored is fearless, it has a great story and a great stealth engine which is surprisingly hard to come by these days. Dishonored feels and plays a lot like Bioshock Infinite, which I believe is the game of the year, butDishonored is so close to becoming a memorable game. Instead, only months after playing, it starts to fade into the other games. But this game is not bad by any means. Dishonored is fearless, it has a great story and a great stealth engine which is surprisingly hard to come by these days. Dishonored feels and plays a lot like Bioshock Infinite, which I believe is the game of the year, but the difference between the two is simple; while Dishonored starts beautifully and has a great core, the ending is short and not that interesting. The game seems to drop off out of nowhere. The story itself, besides the ending, is solid. It's a bit slow until you make it to the big twist, and then it gets fun. The game pulls you in and give you loads of options and ways to complete the level. Bioshock Infinite, even if it did seem a bit dull through the middle portion, was awe-inspiring and beautiful, the engine was near flawless and the twists were mind-blowing. In the end, I wish Dishonored was a bit more like Bioshock in the sense that it spent more time developing its ending and story. Expand
  30. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    I really loved this game and it ate up a lot of my time. The story is amazing and can definitely be played through multiple times. Although it may be a bit overly gory, the way your actions shape the outcome of the game is brilliant. The game can really be unpredictable with lots of excitement at each turn. You can take the road of stealth and try to sneak past guards or you can fightI really loved this game and it ate up a lot of my time. The story is amazing and can definitely be played through multiple times. Although it may be a bit overly gory, the way your actions shape the outcome of the game is brilliant. The game can really be unpredictable with lots of excitement at each turn. You can take the road of stealth and try to sneak past guards or you can fight through them, either being lots of fun. The game is overall an amazing game and definitely a buy for gamers alike. Expand
  31. Jan 7, 2013
    0
    damn good game, i don't mind reading negative reviews on here because, everybody has an opinion, and occasionally i agree with some of the negative points, for example, corvo was hard to get attached to, but there were other characters that were developed. so yes that is not great but it doesn't ruin the game. it appears some users didn't finish the game, again that's cool, but theydamn good game, i don't mind reading negative reviews on here because, everybody has an opinion, and occasionally i agree with some of the negative points, for example, corvo was hard to get attached to, but there were other characters that were developed. so yes that is not great but it doesn't ruin the game. it appears some users didn't finish the game, again that's cool, but they missed an awesome game that only got better. this game grew on you, if given a chance. i don't trust the user review averages on this site anymore because it seems that there are always haters that give great games punishing low scores. i loved the mood and atmosphere of the game. this one left me wanting more. when i finished the game it left me in a funk looking for my next adventure. can't wait for deadspace3. i thought it was a hair better than deus ex hr which i just finished. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Nov 1, 2012
    90
    You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.