User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 612 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 78 out of 612

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Everything about this game is top notch. The game is gorgeous, the world breathtaking, controls tight, combat solid, attention to detail is incredible, lightening in the game is best i've ever seen in a game so far, game design is awesome, sound design is amazing, narrative draws you in right from the start, voice work and lip synching is great, a lot of effort has been put into the style of the game. Game feels like a moving water color painting. One of the best original game titles to have come out in a long time and one that will be remembered for a long time. Its so refreshing to have such a unique world to explore without constant shooting or combat. The slow pace fits this game perfectly. I never had so much fun playing a "stealth" game so far. This was one of the best game surprises ever, since the game wasn't overhyped like so many other games nowadays. I also like the dark, mysterious tone of the game and the combat is pretty brutal. Definitely check it out if you've been looking for a new. unique world to get lost in and explore. Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    9
    No matter how many times you argue about it Dishonored is the best surprise of the year and probably a contender of Game of the Year either users or critics alike , and mostly ( and commonly ) the " haters " simply will thrash everything by their lack of taste. So to top it off, we had the over the top , fluid, almost perfect control scheme that makes this game shine set with a variety of powers , weapons , diverse locations on a single level , and creative missions . This elements will guide you through all the game and most likely will ease all your troubles when you acquire/improve powers . Arkane did not only made you a scary entity in the game it also made a solid AI that will cause you to break your head just to find out what possible solutions you can do to make a easy escape , mistakenly leave trails of your victims , a " piece of cake " entry to a mansion or a gory yet disappointing death for you . It sounds hard right ? well you get the hang of it , because you will want to be Corvo every time you assume the control of him and you want skills to feel awesome. The story itself , is clever and you can sense some sort of dark tone with every decisions in the conversations . With all these things in single game you need to say one thing for sure, single-player games still rock even on this generation full of multiplayer games. Expand
  3. Aug 23, 2013
    9
    It's a great game. Some of the best stealth I've played in a while. Probably since Metal Gear. It's just fun and time-consuming. I expected a mediocre game but got something else: a worthy GOTY candidate.
  4. Oct 18, 2012
    10
    i love this game it mixture of assassin creed with magic powers ability kill any bad guys i love game design from movement, character building and good voice that voice character as well fit perfectly


    only wish it went longer & hoping for sequel in works
  5. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    There is nothing bad i can say about this game i love it so much i will dare to say it is perfect. i will say this now though if you just rush through and kill everything in your path you will not have as good of a time and the game will be relatively short. all of your assassination targets are easy to get to right at the start but it involves killing everything in front of you and going in guns blazing. there is nothing wrong with doing that of course but you will not experience the full game. what i mean by this is the fact that there is so much going on that you will miss entire scenes of the game if you don't think about your kill before making a strategy and finding out everything there is to know about them. the way they throw you into each situation is also to be praised because the game is open world to an extent and this allows you to play the game the way you want to play it unlike most games where there is only one way to do something this game allows limitless possibilities on how to play. the art in this game is icing on the cake it is beautiful and so diverse that as well as trying to figure out how you will kill your target you will also look around and admire your surroundings. although some may disagree i love the story so far and it is puling me in further and further and i want to keep playing so i can find out what is going to happen next. this game is a breath of fresh air and is a goood break from all the FPS games that are on the market i recommend this to everyone and i highly suggest you pick it up now. Expand
  6. Mar 19, 2013
    10
    Dishonored belongs to a rare kind of game. And because it is rare it is special. Not everything that is rare is good but Dishonored is. From the story to the visuals, from the characters to the gameplay. Dishonored is a (very) special experience to any gamer. Everything that is put on this game is there with a purpose. If there is a ledge or a walkway there is a different way to play. And what to say about Dunwall? Picture Rapture without the plasmid effects and put a rat plague instead, add a political conspiracy with a twist of mysticism and you have the most amazing setting since Bioshock. Better even in my opinion. Dishonored is pure gaming perfection! Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Dishonored is a thinking man's game, period. Each level in Dishonored gives you a sandbox to toy around in and lets the player run wild with their imagination as to how they will get through each situation. Gone are the overly scripted scenarios you're used to in games that funnel you down a certain path that the designers carved out for you. Dishonored is a game that asks the player to think, to use their noggin, to overcome the obstacles, and while you have many tools at your disposal, it's your choice to decide how you use them and how you make your way through each environment. Do you prefer to kill every enemy in your path with weapons? Do you prefer to take them out through silent means? Or, another possibility and the most gratifying of all, is to make your way through the game without killing a single enemy. Everything's up to you, which is the true beauty of Dishonored. Dishonored's a true "water cooler" game where no two people will play the same and it's fun to talk to others and see how they played through the game. It's a deep game that only asks the player to think for once. Sometimes thinking for yourself can be fun.

    Dishonored's art direction is beyond amazing. It's important to note that one of the minds behind the art is Viktor Antonov, who was also the mind behind Half Life 2's City 17. Harvey Smith, Co-creative Director at Arkane Studios, has said that they went for a "water color" look with the game's graphics, which is an apt description. While you won't be blown away by the textures or anything, it's still one of the most beautiful games out there because of its unique aesthetic.

    Dishonored is one of those games we rarely see in this day and age. Harvey Smith, known for his work on Deus Ex and Thief, brings his experience from past games to make a new intellectual property that carries the same gameplay principals but puts it in a new and interesting world. This is a game that deserves to be supported. It's a rare and unique experience that no one should miss out on.
    Expand
  8. Oct 20, 2012
    10
    Dishonored deserves a 9.5. every bit of this game oozes style quality and perfect execution in more ways than one. To begin with it includes a full color manual which is now a rarity even in special editions. And in-game tutorials too but the game is very intuitive (easy to use) the base control system is simple and weapons and powers can be switched in and out rapidly to alter your play style at will. The level design is some of the best seen on this gens systems with multiple paths to youre objectives and throughout the levels. Dishonored is not open world or linear it is a system of hubs and areas ,levels that have been ttightly crafted to allow you to reach almost anywere you can see. Allowing you to spend hours exploring if you so wish. Some people have said it can be a short game but it takes over the 20hour mark on hard with about 80per cent of collectables found. The game is best played on the hard difficulty upwards. The character,enemy ai is highly intelligent at spotting you reacting reverting back to there patrol routes and alerting other enemies that you have been spotted. Dishonored really is a new ip although it looks similar to some games when you begin to play you soon realise it is like no other and its a brand new series in the making. An adult tale of political intrigue and occult weave together to create a grand world and story and by the time you finish you will be ready for dishonored 2. You can adjust or totally remove all or non of the hud objective markers dont like them switch them off. health and mana bars dont like them switch them off you still get visuals clues to the state of youre health and so on. The Audio work is top notch from the high quality voice overs from some highly respected actors and the minimal soundtrack that changes on cue when the action changes. There really is nothing bad to say about dishonored in my play-thru i came across no bugs or glitches like getting stuck in places it just never happened. A master piece of the programming craft and top contender for Game of the year. If you miss playing this one you are missing out on one of the best games this year. Expand
  9. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I’d give it a 9.5, which I rounded up to 10. The game was definitely not as I thought it would be. The entire game had a Bioshock-ish feel with its own atmospheric identity, which is its best feat. The set-pieces are varied.

    Unfortunately the plot is not nearly as good as it could be, but the execution with the Bioshock-esque recordings etc. make a mediocre plot a better than average
    one. I think that alone makes it a worthwhile game to play. The past few years games have been way too focused on cutscenes. Luckily, Dishonored does not have many, so I can’t complain about the plot too much. Out of all of these stealth games this generation of games, I think the controls with this one seemed the easiest to use. Naturally, with any of these covert stealth games, the controls can be frustrating and you just want to pry yourself into your TV screen because switching between the powers is sometimes not as quick as one would desire. The powers are awesome. One thing I really liked is that you can combo them to how you would like to play. It had some great writing and a great plot. Many say that the game does kind of punish you for being what you are, an assassin, which is a valid point. However, it is definitely more difficult to keep the death count low, which is the point. The game length was fine. It promotes exploring. I found though that near the end I was getting tired of it though and just slaughtered everyone. Expand
  10. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Very good.

    Excellent setting and story (particularly if you play the 'knife' and 'witches' DLC). Good overall gameplay. Interesting, long and varied missions. Enemy AI is a bit dull stay hidden long enough and surviving enemy return to their routine, rather than hunt you down but no more so than most other stealth games.

    Combat is quite deadly for you, so sneaking is really
    worthwhile most 'bosses' are significant threats in face to face combat, but far easier to overcome with some serious stealth.

    The graphics are a bit cartoony (like borderlands or amalur), but thats easy to get used to. Sound/voice is excellent.
    Expand
  11. Sep 23, 2013
    10
    Made my mind to buy this for the PS3. Thank goodness i wasted my money for good. This game sets up a new level of graphics, action, in game mechanics and etc. The storyline's epic. I love the surrounding scenery. I love to make use of those super powers u get.
  12. Nov 12, 2013
    9
    Wonderful! I had so much fun playing this game I was a little disappointed by how short it was even when i did the side quests, all and all its still a wonderful game.
  13. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Dishonored Review
    The highlight of E3 has finally arrived and being one of the only new series his year gamers across the globe get ready to play one of the best games of the year so far. Dishonored comes to us from Arkane Studios and Bethesda and the Besthesda influence really rubs off on this one too. The story is pretty standard, Empress gets murdered, princess gets kidnapped and of
    course you are framed for it, you are Corvo Attano the former bodyguard and it is your job to avenge the Empress's death and put the rightful heir on the throne. The story here is nothing original with some predictable twists but provides a good backdrop for the chaos going around in this city. Yes not only is the Empress dead but the city is still suffering from the rat plague which gives the city a certain lack of hope and happiness. The world is extremely detailed and evolves according to your actions, depending on who you kill and how many people you kill. The more you slaughter the more rats and the darker to outcome at the end. This adds a heap of replay value straight up to see the different outcome of the 9 missions and the ending. True to Bethesda fashion, the first mission is of course a prison break where you learn all the combat ropes and the different physical actions you can perform. The level design here is very open ended like the Thief and Hitman series, you can even get through the game without killing a soul, there are a million possibilities in these levels. Even more replay value, there are ghost bonuses and low chaos challenges to add difficulty. Talking about that, the difficulty settings here are pretty off, if you want a good time definitely turn it up to Hard or Very hard. Early you gain you magical abilities, to get these powers you must collect runes scattered around the world and these are powers like teleportation, possession, time bending and there is even a Fus Ro Dah. There are also passive abilities to get too like extra health, bodies disappear when killed and others. Graphically the game is perfectly fine but I think the developers were a bit confused when it came to art direction, were they going for cartoony or were they going for serious steampunk, I have no idea but regardless the visuals are fine. What baffled me is the lack of a substantial soundtrack, ambient music provides a little effect but it isn Expand
  14. Nov 30, 2012
    10
    Best new original game of the year for sure. What more is there to say that hasn't alreay been said. It's an epic game that you just have to play to realise how awesome it really is.
  15. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    Good game, mixes elements of Arkham Asylum, Bioshock and Fable while probably not being quite as good as any at any aspect (as well as Skyrim's piss poor melee combat). For a normal playthrough, at no point can you rely fully on any one aspect- and that's perhaps the best thing I can say about the game is that you do rely on melee, ranged, stealth and gadgets rather than becoming godlike in one thing and using only that for the rest of the game.

    Worth the 10-15 hour playthrough.

    Also, lol at the negative user score spam- looks like Bethesda pissed off ****
    Expand
  16. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This FPS is really good for the following reasons: stealth (like an old school Clancy game), an oddly wide array of gadgets and open-worldness (not completely but enough to be odd for an FPS), you hang out in a pub all the time (somehow, yes, in an FPS), save-anywhere, and a range of settings for **** who need regenerative health and settings for badasses who hate regenerative health. Boom.
  17. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Finally a REAL next gen game these are far and few between anymore, kudos Arkane studios! Dishonored is a thinking mans game that places you in open world scenarios that have endless approaches to completing your assination objectives. Along the way you will learn of side missions, search for runes to upgrade your super natural powers and explore large environments while evading or killing many memorable enemies. This is how games should be anymore, screw that arcade style linear casual gamer crap and pick up a game actually worth $60 Expand
  18. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    What a game. Right away it reminds me of the first time I played the original Bioshock. The story is fairly typical but the gameplay is fantastic. Everything works well and you can really get creative in how you choose to sneak about or lay waste to everyone in your path. The amount of abilities and upgrades really give you some great choices in how you decide to go about things. I have found myself replaying sections simply to try our different tactics and see what works out best for me personally. One of the few games I have played where the stealth is actually a lot of fun and makes you feel like a total badass. The visuals are very nice as well. Some reviews say the textures are a bit muddy but I personally think it is the art style they were going for as it almost feels like you are playing a comic at times, everything is simply gorgeous. Each level also has a bunch of collectibles to keep the replay up and keep you searching for that next item....be it an upgrade, collectable or simply money. Easily one of the coolest games I have played in ages, an absolute must own in my book. Expand
  19. Oct 11, 2012
    10
    Replaying through this game is a must. Even within the first level I noticed pathways/things that I completely missed the first time through. So great to see what happens when a company puts so much emphasis on a single player game nowadays. Instead of making a sub-par co-op mode or something they have made the most fun single player experience I have played this year....easily.
  20. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    This year hasn't been the best year for games; I bought only two games that were released this year before Dishonored and I was a bit disappointed with them both. Mass Effect 3 simplified the choices too much and gave the series a piss-poor ending, and Max Payne 3 just wasn't that compelling to play. It was after that that I went into a period of not playing any video games for a few months, so when my friend told me about how awesome Dishonored looked from the trailer, I just had to take a look at the game, and boy was that a good idea. Dishonored is the game that I needed to get back into gaming; it's absolutely brilliant on almost every aspect, from the story, to the characters, to the stylish (albeit glitchy) graphics, to the freedom of choice, to the fun gameplay, to the amazing world to explore. The game is fantastic. Never have I played a game which gives the player so much freedom on how to play. There are probably 50 or more different ways that you can tackle any situation in the game, whether it be climbing in through a window, possessing a rat or fish and going through a pipe into a building, shooting your way through the enemies or sneaking past your enemies and through the front door. The possibilities for gameplay are astounding in Dishonored, and this game is anything but a linear title. There are so many ways of tackling a situation, and the game gives you so many opportunities to be creative in the way you play. There are even tonnes of options in the way you assassinate the target; hell, you don't even have to assassinate the target! It's an unbelievably fun game with incredible gameplay and an amazing amount of freedom. Expand
  21. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5 - A score which Corvo would freeze time, and crossbow. Dishonored is not only one of the best games of 2012, but one of the best I have EVER played. A great story encompassing the murkiness of betrayal; awesome game-play that encourages creativity and a beautiful hand-drawn atmosphere in Dunwall. people, if this hate is retaliation for Skyrim's PS3 ridiculousness then I'm behind you on that. But don't drag don this incredible game that deserves the love of the gaming community. Expand
  22. Dec 22, 2012
    9
    The biggest complaint I have against Dishonored is that the story-telling (not the story, the story is great) is rather bad. I ended up skipping all of the parts where lord **** was blabbing in my face in fallout 3-esque fixed eye contact. It also suffers from most characters not having any personality whatsoever, they just exist to provide you quests and level ups. I can
  23. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    Wow. This game is amazing. At first it took me a while to get into it but after that it is such an amazing game!!! It is a mixture of skyrim, bio shock and thief! Similar action as skyrim. Similar powers as bioshock and sneaking around castles like thief. This game is a must play! Graphics ain't the best and that's why I'm marking this game a 8. But other than that this game is simply amazing
  24. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    The GOOD: awesome stealth gameplay, cool powers, easy and responsive controls, freedom to achieve objectives the way you want, good graphics and astonishing art style, rich world and decent story.
    The NOT SO GOOD: soundtrack, melee combat doesn't feel right, no cutscenes at all and uninteresting voice acting.
    In the end: Dishonored is a MUST PLAY! Like most of games, Dishonored isn't
    perfect, but even so is a remarkable experience. The atmosphere of the game feels unique. The addition of some cutscenes and a better selection of tracks for the soundtrack would have built an even more interesting experience. The stealth approach works flawlessly. Some may get disappointed by how the melee combat works, like I did, but if you enjoy a good stealth gameplay, you won't even get bugged by this fact.
    So, that's it: 10/10 to Dishonored.
    Expand
  25. Nov 6, 2012
    9
    In a nutshell... The gameplay is fantastic but the story leaves something to be desired. From the E3 trailors and all the supporting advertising we were promised something truly different - a masterpiece that would rival some of the best games of this generation. Unfortunately Dishonered does not quite meet those expectations, but it is a pretty great game regardless. The world is intuitively designed and each mission allows you to explore the range of options available to your playstyle - each mission plays like a mini sandbox with a multitude of NPC's that can help or hinder your progress dependent on the choices you make.
    The key is "choice" - something which is often promised but rarey delivered. The game can be played in stealth, outright carnage, or somewhere in between. Each method has its benefits and its entirely up to the player how you approach the various situations you encounter. However, appealing as all this may sound, Disonoured doesnt quite get the details right: The story which holds it all together is somewhat predictable and the structure of the game (set over 9 missions) breaks up the narrative. The soundtrack is nothing to get excited about, and your foes are often just guards with pistols.
    Despite the minor shortcomings its still great and is probably the best single player game on the market right now. When/if you play it, you will proably see that the game is a conceptual masterpiece with a few downsides. Highly reccomended nevertheless
    Expand
  26. Dec 23, 2012
    9
    Awesome game, which mix original features with the action and the dinamic gameplay that is caracteristic from all Bethesda´s games. A perfect present for this Christmas for all the lovers of the action, the adventure, the darkness and the sigile. A good history, with good graphics and better posibilities. Welldone, Bethesda!
  27. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    Never have I seen a game in my entire gaming life that is as lively and interactive as Dishonored. The storyline is so intense it had me screaming at the screen and it actually persisted as a major challenge for me, something that games hardly ever do to me. If you are a really good story gamer like me, you would be able to just rush right through and beat it in almost no time, but this actually required some thinking and planning to get through this game. I rarely see games where there is such a good balance between stealth and action, and the scale stays prefect on this game. Arkane has definitely undone themselves, if only they would make a sequel to this game, that would make my day! Expand
  28. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    Its like Deus Ex and Bioshock had a baby and Half Life 2 is the Godfather!! is it not enough for you? Freedom of choice and gameplay,journey that will attach you deeply and at last one game that rewards your brain for being creative and do smart things, if you're looking for something mindless and easy this game may not be for you, if you want to challenge yourself GO BUY IT FOR CHRIST SAKE :D
  29. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    Thief reinvented. I cannot stress how much fun this game is. I have been looking for a good sequel to Thief but was never given one. After playing this one at least I have a spiritual one. I just wish they had a new game +. Anyways, go support it people, you wont regret it!
  30. May 20, 2013
    9
    Dishonored is something fresh and new according to it's combat. It's combat is unlike anything i have ever seen in any other video game. You have these supernatural powers which help you play the way you want to play. Even if that means going in a stealthy approach or guns blazing. Decision making is also important, they will determine everything you have been fighting for. Just remember that karma is a Though this game suffers from shortness, there are only 9 missions in total. But each of them are fun and unique because of their level design. You will do doubt replay this game more than once. This is a must own for everybody. Expand
  31. Feb 21, 2014
    9
    This game is one of the best stealth/action games i have ever played, the graphics are artistically well done, the controls are smooth and efficient. The options of doing a high/low chaos playthrough are utterly well done and thought out. the level design is extremely well thought out and offer a myriad of ways to go about your mission. The storyline is thought provoking and quite layered. You also acquire certain tools/weapons and special magical abilities to aid you in your mission ahead. On my first playthrough with me being in all modesty a true gamer took me about 15 hours to complete. arkane have outdone themselves and with that i will be buying future titles by them. Expand
  32. Sep 16, 2013
    10
    First thing first, this game is pretty tough, but that's why i loved it so much. Maybe it's because i have a soft spot for the Stealth Genre but between the unique powers and collectibles this makes up a very fantastic product. The campaign was a little short for the $60 price tag but it was well worth it.
  33. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    WOW. I just thought that I had reached a very anticlimactic ending due to have already dispatched my target in the more unconventional way allotted for the mission at hand. Straight outta left field, I get slapped with the underpinning theme and reality of what Dishonored is as a game. NOT THE END. I will say, I am a sucker for un-apologetically mature and well crafted single player campaigns. This is very reminiscent of half-life in mood but much better developed. Well done Arcane! I don't replay many games, but I think I may replay this more than a few times. Expand
  34. Nov 10, 2012
    10
    i was cautious to get this game because the last bethesda game for ps3 was such a bug ridden mess. however, this game is truly great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  35. Apr 23, 2013
    9
    I simply could not put this game down. The first time I saw the trailer I was stunned that in a flood of sequels something so radically different would have been given a chance. A first-person, action-adventure, stealth game set in a magical steampunk world where your actions affect your outcome? No way. I wanted it.
    I was afraid that by being published by Bethesda the world would be
    pretty with great mechanics and gameplay, but the characters and story would be shallow and forgettable. I was pleasantly surprised. Corvo being framed for killing a woman he loved and not being able to protect her daughter who considers you a father is enough for anyone to march on for revenge and the dialogue and voice acting seals the deal. In addition, the art design and setting of the dreary, dingy, dirty Victorian-style steampunk city of Dunwall is so horribly attractive you don’t ever want to leave. Expand
  36. Mar 5, 2013
    10
    it's an absolute masterpiece. it's pretty, very well balanced, all the elements work seamlessly, the stealth part is brilliant, music and visuals are different, artistic and well presented. it's great fun when your stealthy but if you get caught and the action heats up the game still holds it's own... perfection!
  37. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    What a gem. This game is everything we want as gamers. It's new, fresh, innovative, and just a damn good time. It doesn't take us for fools and is a smart and well thought out game. Love that you can remove the hud as well. This isn't a game you are supposed to rush through. Take your time, explore, etc. Unbelievably great game.
  38. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. Its a new take on gaming that we desperately needed in these times of repetitiveness. The art style is unique, scenes and maps amazing. Personally I love the sand box feel and the separated missions much like portal 2. This also lends a hand to those completionists as it assesses your mission stats and you can always work on improving. Maybe the endings leave much to be desired but do we play these games for the story or for the awesome supernatural assassin powers and awesome gameplay? May be a bit easy but up the difficulty and we have a contender for game of the year. I'll rewrite this review after one week to comment on replayability. Expand
  39. Oct 16, 2012
    9
    It is an innovative game like few others, with gameplay away from the archetypes of FPS ever. It also has a variety of missions to solve, a graphic section is excellent and a very fun game that is really important. We can say that this game deserves to be ahead of RE6 in sales, and I hope so, because the differences in quality between a title and another is evident.
  40. Dec 29, 2013
    9
    I really loved this game and it ate up a lot of my time. The story is amazing and can definitely be played through multiple times. Although it may be a bit overly gory, the way your actions shape the outcome of the game is brilliant. The game can really be unpredictable with lots of excitement at each turn. You can take the road of stealth and try to sneak past guards or you can fight through them, either being lots of fun. The game is overall an amazing game and definitely a buy for gamers alike. Expand
  41. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    great game! very polished story and graphics. good level of challenge and a variety of ways to play. wish it were a complete open world, but i can't really complain, lots of plot twists and turns. highly recommended
  42. Oct 17, 2012
    9
    This is the first truly great game from the second half of 2012 and is easily a GOTY candidate. After the somewhat disappointing Borderlands 2 and the horrible X-Com reboot, Dishonored was like a breath of fresh air. It just works, and if you like immerse games with a great character, insane powers and a exceptional attention to details, you will love Dishonored.
  43. Jul 8, 2013
    9
    DIshonored was one of my favourite games of last year, maybe even my favourite. It's very cleverly constructed and features huge open levels to explore. Dishonored is one of the very few games I played through twice, and both playthroughs were very different. I think the game strikes a great balance in difficulty, it's not easy to take on a large room of men so you can't just charge through, but it's also not easy to sneak past them all, I really appreciated that there were some challenging moments but it never felt like an endurance to complete. Graphically the games not very impressive, and there are muddy textures to be found on the PS3 version at least, but the games steam punk art design is amazing, it really does elevate the average graphics that game has. The world that the game is set in is great, it's original and compelling to explore. The game has a huge amount things to read and collect, it really is a giant amount of reading to do if you find them all, and it's all pretty interesting stuff. The story the game tells is a bit disappointing, it's serviceable but it's disappointing that it's not more original or interesting. Dishonored is a joy to play, I'd certainly love to see a sequel in the future. Expand
  44. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It's truly a unique game with amazing gameplay. The gameplay gives you creative ways to utilize gadgets and kill your enemies to stealthily proceed in the game such as by possessing rats to kill enemies. But even during all-out combat the gameplay is amazing. The graphics and art design are some of the best I've seen in a long time. Moreover, it comes with large amounts of content giving it high replayability. As for the story, it's the cherry of the cake so I won't spoil it for you. Betheseda has done a great job this time. THIS IS A MUST BUY FOLKS! Expand
  45. Oct 29, 2012
    9
    It takes a few levels to realise that, for a game which offers you multiple ways to play, you have to adapt to play it the way it needs you to. On Very Hard, Dishonored is an absolute nightmare at first. Even towards the end you'll sometimes be detected and won't be sure what's wrong. But oh - for those many moments where it works, where it pushes storytelling in FPS games far beyond what you've ever seen before, where you'll leave the house in real life (gasp!) wanting to blink, to use dark vision, to sleep dart the cat next door. When the last level comes around, you'll realise that you've been trained the entire time to become the ultimate badass and it has to end there. Because by then, you have become completely unstoppable. Yes, the controls take a little getting used to. Yes, the field of vision available is a little hard to get used to. And yes, you should stay away if Call Of Duty is the only game you know how to play. But for those who can easily get past all of the above, Dishonored is a beautiful, well-realised and deeply engrossing experience for which I sincerely hope there'll be a sequel. Thank you Arkane, thank you Bethesda, thank you Corvo and the city of Dunwall! Expand
  46. Jan 7, 2013
    9
    damn good game, i don't mind reading negative reviews on here because, everybody has an opinion, and occasionally i agree with some of the negative points, for example, corvo was hard to get attached to, but there were other characters that were developed. so yes that is not great but it doesn't ruin the game. it appears some users didn't finish the game, again that's cool, but they missed an awesome game that only got better. this game grew on you, if given a chance. i don't trust the user review averages on this site anymore because it seems that there are always haters that give great games punishing low scores. i loved the mood and atmosphere of the game. this one left me wanting more. when i finished the game it left me in a funk looking for my next adventure. can't wait for deadspace3. i thought it was a hair better than deus ex hr which i just finished. Expand
  47. Oct 28, 2012
    10
    This game is amazing. Unique world with unique approaches to the lore. Branching and multiple pathways for every level and the terrain between levels makes it highly interesting to try and find the best routes. Initial reviews I read of this game mainly had issue with the length of the game, given the fact there are multiple endings and completely customizable play-styles, this game will have you running through multiple times, each play-through will present itself slightly different and unique outcomes. Collapse
  48. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am in love with this game. It's soooo beautiful and the world is so well made. I love exploring the levels and finding everything it has to offer. I am playing a full stealth game and it's so intense and fun. If I get caught I consider it a failure and reload I haven't had this much fun in a game since Deus Ex: Human Revolution!
  49. Feb 19, 2013
    9
    "Dishonored" is a hell of an experience. Although it is a very short game that can be beaten in under 10 hours or so, the game has a TON of re-playability and has numerous ways in which its missions can be beaten. You can kill upwards of 150 men throughout the game, or you can go through the entirety of the game without being seen or killing anyone. All of this is at the player's discretion and gives the player a lot of liberty in going about their business while being immersed in a very cool, dystopian atmosphere.

    This game requires a lot of thinking and isn't easily accessible for those who like to run-and-gun. While you can always try to stay out in the open, run through the levels and take on all foes that get in your way, you probably aren't going to have much luck in doing so unless you have a large amount of power-ups or ammo. And, even then, you're going to find that isn't going to be the best way of going about things because getting detected will bring a LOT of attention your way, and it is definitely tough to get out of these situations when being approached by enemies from many different angles.

    Stealth is definitely encouraged, though not required. If you struggle in stealth games (kind of like me), you're going to find this game to be a bit frustrating. You are going to find that it is better to take on opponents one-by-one instead of taking on 5 at once (unless you have a bunch of pistol or crossbow ammo, in which case you have a better chance). The crossbow and pistol are definitely very helpful in your quest, though. The crossbows allow you to take enemies out from a distance without letting others in the area (immediately) catch on to your whereabouts. The pistol, on the other hand, is very helpful when you need to get out of a bad situation in which you've been spotted. It allows you to knock enemies back and take them out with your sword (if they aren't killed on the first shot) with relative ease. Ammo goes quickly, though, so use it wisely as you move forward (if you aren't going for total stealth trophies, that is). The sword combat is good, but should probably be used as a last resort. Taking on many enemies at once when you only have your sword is probably going to get you killed.

    Blink will immediately become your best friend. While it is a bit frustrating to control at times (sometimes you have trouble locking on to the point you want to reach), it becomes a necessary part as you move forward, whether you are focusing more on combat or stealth. Blink will get you onto ledges that you wouldn't normally be able to access. It is critical to use Blink, whether you are scoping out an area to plan an efficient attack or are trying to stay in the shadows to finish the game as stealthily as possible. You are going to be using Blink a lot to help you out and, for the most part, it works out pretty well. Also, saving often is very much encouraged, as well. You can save right in a certain spot so you don't have to work from a certain checkpoint if you mess up. Instead, you start right at the place where you save. This is HUGE, especially when one false movement can end your chance at earning some of the stealth trophies/achievements.

    As for the story, it's pretty good but definitely not the strong point of the game, in my opinion. I think a lot of my criticism pertaining to the presentation of the story stems from the fact that the main character, Corvo, never speaks outside of exclamations of pain. I felt some character development on his end as you went through the game definitely would've helped create a larger attachment to the storyline. Instead, we just take a first person perspective where everyone just talks at him instead of to him, so it's a bit hard to say how Corvo feels while going about his business and makes it a little bit harder to get attached to the storyline. Anyway, it's just a small gripe, and it really doesn't set back the experience as a whole, which you will probably find very enjoyable, no matter how you play it. The story definitely makes you want to eliminate your key targets and restore your once good image by any means necessary.

    All in all, I would recommend "Dishonored" to any fan of stealth games and anyone who doesn't get easily discouraged by a challenge. This game will definitely test your instincts, as will any good stealth game, while adding some nice innovations through supernatural abilities that will help you out along the way. "Dishonored" is a very engrossing gameplay experience that is well worth the money you pay for it.
    Expand
  50. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I imagined this game to be very much like Bioshock which put me off if I am honest. I can understand why people like Bioshock, it's just not my type of game. I really didn't like the art style or story very much. Anyway, I think the reason I initially likened it to Bioshock was because of the art style. After reading several reviews on Dishonoured I decided to give it a chance. I am so glad I did. The story is fantastic... it really draws you into the world and before you know it hours have passed without you really having achieved that much in the game world. The game has great characters, a great story and best of all an amazing character to control in a totally believable city full of atmosphere. Exploration will see you collect runes around the city of Dunwall which can be used to upgrade your supernatural abilities such as Blink which allows you to teleport short distances or the ability to posses rats or fish to access small areas. All abilities can be upgraded and a particular playing style can be favoured dependant on your choice to be a stealth type assassin, an all out gung-ho no nonsense brawler or somewhere inbetween. The game presents you with missions and additional side quests to perform should you wish to stray from the main path, all of which are fun and rewarding in their own right. Puzzles are clever and never a chore as is often the case with this type of game. Missions are presented for you to complete and it is really up to you how you complete them. I have never played such a polished and exciting game that genuinely gives the player the choice of how to go about the task. You really can use your imagination to complete missions and in most cases you are not restricted by the game. Give this game an hour of your time and I guarantee you will be completely hooked. One of the games of the year for me. Amazing. Expand
  51. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Finally an action game you can complete without brining death to a single enemy. So naturally I did my best to kill everyone! Rarely have i played a game where killing is more enjoyable, creeping up behind an enemy and stabbing them in the neck, never gets old. Tone/Setting: Excellent - perhaps only surpassed by the original Bioshock

    Gameplay: Outstanding - the best of the best of this
    generation

    Graphics: Outstanding - as sharp as they are immersive Story: Ordinary - Not bad but nothing you would write home about, I don't care much for the characters, they neither add anything nor take anything away from the game. I was disappointed by the zero character development of Corvo and was never given a reason to care for the wellbeing of the empress. Story gets slightly more interesting towards the end. +Customisable weapons and magic
    +Brilliant stealth mechanics
    +Believable, fascinating and emotionally invigorating environments

    -The ordinary story holds this game back from masterpiece status
    -written letters and book excerpts have no voice over: the last thing I want to do in a game is stop and read, its annoying and breaks up the action; I would have liked audiotapes like in bioshock. Recommended for: stealth lovers, people who enjoyed bioshock, or anyone who can appreciate an amazing game regardless of genre. Closing thoughts: You will remember Dunwall for its eeriness and thrilling gameplay, the same cannot be said for its weak characters and ordinary story. Overall: Amazing
    Expand
  52. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    Buy this game! The game is worth the full 59.99 price! Beautiful graphics. Multiple ways to finish a mission. Choices that you must make change the experience you have!
  53. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    I am having a really good time with this game. It reminds me of System Shock and Deus Ex but definnitely has its own personality and style. You have so much control over how you proceed with your objectives its crazy. This is a game that demands exploration and experimentation. I definitely recommend it.

    PS: These Abdul fanatics whoever they are need to be IP banned. This is ridiculous.
    These clowns have no lives. Expand
  54. Nov 2, 2012
    9
    There's little to be said about Dishonored, its Bio-Shock meets Thief with a hint of Skyrim & Assassins Creed. Dishonored is a great title but there were a few things that could have turned the title from Great to Masterpiece. You are instantly introduced into a world of politics as the Main Man, Antagonist, Hero, Anti Hero and the list can go on, Corvo Atano, a prolific bodyguard of an empress who is assassinated asap in the game by unknown assassins at this point, Corvo is simply framed with the murder, leaving little to be known about the empress but before her death it shows glimpses of you having previously established a close relationship with Jessamine (the empress) but more importantly a close bond with her daughter and only heir, the empresses warm hearted daughter Emily who is kidnapped in the process of the murder of her mother. The plot is simple find and save Emily, it felt a bit generic with your average plot twist and as simple as the Main Story is the side missions is what makes this game a complete conscious ride and keeps the replay value at a good height, even with the short amount of main missions (being only 9) there is a certain point where it felt that some missions had more depth then others, where the odd ones felt like they were just fillers where the super natural powers you possess made the mission a fun ride instead of the mission it self. The assassinating is where ALL the fun is with a array of supernatural powers given to you from the Demi God known as the Outsider, which he does give you that slight chill at times, with your new found powers gives you the chance and opportunity to either play extremely ruthless or completely silent throughout the whole game. As for visuals, DON'T be expecting stunning visuals like Uncharted or Skyrim, 80% of the locations have a dark tone to it with almost every location being bland but it does have the rare areas in the game that shows some nice contrast but overall it feels like a nightmare has taken place with a bit of life being hidden deeply inside the locations. This games value comes all down to pure game play and its conscious driven plot. The cons would be its lack of plot design/depth and its shifty stealth system which at times you feel completely disguised but then some how you have been spotted from meters away also the combat system did feel a bit generic and it felt the final blow was the only different action after you have performed a array of 1-2 slash combos which is luckily saved by its creative ideas of using your super natural abilities. The load screens were a bit long at times and some characters could have had more depth, I barely had any sort of technical problems in my experience with the game only freezing up on me twice on all my play throughs, i say the frame rate was good and the exposure of glitches were rare.

    Plot - 7
    Gameplay - 9
    Originality - 7
    Technicality - 9
    Replay Value - 8
    Expand
  55. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    I feel like the game is overall well put together through the story and the mechanics of the game. If anyone remembers Tenchu on the Playstation, this game has a similar feel to it gameplay wise. There is a different take on magic and majority of the areas in the game are exploreable, I find more and more I can do everytime I play. Dishonored is well worth the money especially since you will spend weeks playing it, and you will spend weeks. Expand
  56. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    I have only played a few hours of Dishonored, and I already love it. I am not that far into the game, so I can't tell all the things I like. So far, I love the detail and distinct style this whaling city has. The story is pretty cool and the powers you get are incredible. Great game! If you are going to pay full price for anything on its release day, you could do a lot worse than this.
  57. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    This is a great game. The complaints for the game are ill-fitting. One of the game's so called "flaws" is that it is short. We all it is but it is meant to be replayed over and over again. I never encountered any particular glitches while playing. Overall, one of my favorite games.
  58. Apr 1, 2013
    9
    I can see what the developers wanted to do with Dishonored: split the difference between a legendary game (Bioshock, if you've never played it, stop reading this and go buy it right now) and a solid multiple approach game like Dues Ex Human Revolution. Did they succeed? Admirably so for the most part. Dishonored's setting takes place in a steampunk world (Dunwall is pretty amazing) and combines the options to be patient and utilize stealth with general mayhem or anything in between. Like Bioshock it uses a variance on plasmids (upgradeable skills) but geared toward the opproach the player wises to take. The city is lush and vibrant and the enemies are challenging if you're playing stealthy. In addition to this you have an excellent story combing strong elements of political intrigue and blood soaked revenge. What sets Dishonored apart is the readily visible consequences in the form of rats. In Dishonored rats bring the plague and killing enemies raises the rat population to dangerous levels. This makes a straight forward approach as risky as a stealth approach and the developers should be congratulated for it. Dishonored is not without its flaws- the customization of abilities is pretty limited as are the choice of weapons; enemy AI is not always great either. That being said Dishonored is an excellent new IP and should be given an ample chance to prove itself. That alone should be incentive to check it out- it's not a part 20 retread it is a new and fresh game....try it out. Expand
  59. Feb 9, 2014
    9
    Great game! FPS with freedom of approach. Got some Half Life 2 vibes when playing this and it´s a good thing. Voice acting and art design are top-notch.
  60. Oct 16, 2012
    10
    An amazing open-ended adventure that has renewed my hope in action/adventure games, RPG's, and gaming in general. If you cant enjoy this game, I pity you, for you cant enjoy life.
  61. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    This game takes stealth-action games to a whole new level. It's one of the best games i have ever played. It offers tone and tone of choice and, replay ability. It's story is interesting, its setting is something i have never seen in a video game. And it is a beautiful game. Recommended for everyone.
  62. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    This is one of the better games that I've bought in the last few years. It exceeds guild wars 2, battlefield 3, and many others in terms of how much I've enjoyed it. The gameplay is smooth as silk, and you get very immersed when you are stalking your prey. Huge fights give an adrenaline rush from all of the unpredictable chaos that happens which is a big bonus. I'd give it a 10, but the game is a little more cartoony than I would have expected, and the blood effects leave just a tiny bit to be desired in your killing sprees Expand
  63. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Loved the game, kept me involved for many days, great game play and story. If you enjoy being a part of the game and making important descions you will like the game.
  64. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I'm gonna say this...it's a love it or hate it game. Personally I loved it but I also didn't over hype it. In fact, I ended up loving it so much that this is the first game on the PS3 that I actually played through twice. I wanted to see the dark ending and the light ending and I also wanted to prove to myself that I could make it through without killing anyone! If you like stealth its great! I also loved how you can change the future of the game...example, kill lots of people, more weepers later in the game. Kill nobody, barely any weepers and the later game becomes a whole different story. Expand
  65. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    You can and have to play it and then replay it and then replay it .... until you are sick of it. Amazing game. This is a classic example of a developer who does right by the gamers. Dishonored is primarily a stealth based experience but it does promote experimentation. The number of possibilities to approach a specific situation in the game is just remarkable. The developers have seriously put some thought into this. It is one of those gems for which I'd say I hope they do not make a sequel. Expand
  66. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    A great game in my honest opinion that tries to do new things, which are all well implemented. The characters are all likeable, the story is decent enough, and the world is simply amazing. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of any New Game+ mode, but other than that, lots of replay value due to multiple endings and different approaches to each objective. Also, even though I acknowledge that the graphics are supposed to represent an artistic style, I think that the character models could be a lot better, and there were some autosaving problems but those were quite rare. However, these are all small issues in an otherwise great game. Expand
  67. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    A true gem. Freedom to move, to play the game, good story, nice art. Worth every minute of my time. My only grime is that the RPG-lik element are so few that it might have been a better option to simply use a chest approach then going back to buy stuff.
  68. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    On my top five of games!
    If you want a rewarding and fun, first person, action adventure, stealth game then Dishonored is a game for you!
    You are the royal protector of the Empress, when she is killed and her daughter Emily is kidnapped, you get accused of the murder and kidnapping. After 6 moths in prison you break free and seek revenge upon those who have dishonored you. You'll get
    cool gadgets and pretty awesome powers to destroy or not even touch your enemies, you choose whether or not you want to kill everybody or nobody! It's a great game! Expand
  69. Oct 15, 2012
    10
    0.5? Seriously guys? I wonder which ill-fated cause made you so angry that you had to destroy the user score average of the PS3 version. The game is good, maybe not perfect, but doesn't deserve all this hate.
  70. Oct 14, 2012
    9
    It's best to ignore the unreviewed, amount of negative votes (it seems someone has a serious grudge against the PS3 version), and instead look at the reviews from other versions of Dishonoured. In doing that, just simply go buy this game, it's a delight to play, and new, innovative IP's like this, need to be supported if we want to move away from the age of, CoD and sequels after sequels.
  71. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This game is a brilliant breath of fresh air! The art style is unique and beautiful. The world is masterfully crafted and immersing, the city of dunwall is a treat to explore. Oh and amidst this fascinating world is a damn good action game too. This is the new IP i've been waiting for .
  72. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play, will you use stealth to assassinate your targets, ghost into a level killing no one and finding an alternative non-lethal method to dispose of your target, use poison or the environment to make your assassination look like an accident or go in guns, crossbows and swords blazing and kill everyone you see. The way you play is how Dishonored offers choice and this is not only in whether you sneak or fight, kill or spare. You can use various different pathways and methods to reach your destination including possessing a rat or a fish to swim or crawl through an entrance, use Blink (the first supernatural power the player gains) to teleport up to and around the rooftops, Possess a guard and walk through the front door as well as many others. So choice is most definitely a core theme in Dishonored, it does require some imagination to find different paths but finding a path and getting to your target without any NPC knowing your there is a definite rush. The gameplay in Dishonored mostly resembles Deus Ex: Human Revolution, you are encouraged to use stealth where ever possible and this is without doubt the best way to play the game, going in and trying to fight your way through is much more difficult and this is one of Dishonored's faults. When fighting enemies who use regular swords Dishonored's combat shines, however when an enemy wields a gun they never miss a shot and bullets take a huge amount of player health. It is not only gun wielding enemies, some foes can breath fire which is unblockable and completely prevents the player from seeing anything in front of them. Also when guards are alerted to your presence every other guard in the area knows exactly where the player character is and come running. In short this means Dishonored is not for players who do not enjoy stealth. The story is Dishonored starts strong, begins to lose its way in the middle and then comes back with a brilliant 3rd act which rounds off the plot nicely. The well publicised different endings are little more than 30-60 second clips showing how the players actions affected the world of Dunwall, however they are vey well narrated and do a fairly good job of making the player realise that there actions had consequences. Overall Dishonored is one of the most unique and inspired games in years with an incredible art style, an intriguing world and thrilling stealth game play. For anybody who has enjoyed Deus Ex, Thief or Splinter Cell pick Dishonored up. You wont be disappointed. Expand
  73. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Dishonoured takes a more creative approach than most video games and I really like how it has all these different choices you can decide on. Say you are entering a building where you're target is, you can decide which way to enter such as the front door (well duh!) a window or even through a sewer by possessing a fish. If you want, you can just find a non lethal approach to the whole game and kill no one which is highly unlikely to happen but still adds to the fun that you know you can kill or spare anyone you want. The ending of the game depends on how you play so if you just run an kill everyone, people will react differently, you might be betrayed and even the dialogue of the game changes. So if you choose that kind of approach than I can tell you the ending won't be pretty. I also love how it doesn't just have to be a stealth game as it's supposed to but can also be a normal killing game mixed with cool powers. These are some of the many things that make Dishonoured unique from other games. Something I dislike in Dishonoured is probably the lack of powers you actually get in this game compared to the variety there is. One of things I was most exited about when Dishonoured was announced was all those supernatural powers you could have in the game but then was heavily disappointed when I found out you can only choose slightly less than half of the breath-taking abilities. I found the powers as one of the most attracting things that brought me towards this game and am very disappointed with this. What's the point of bragging about all these powers you can use when you can only choose not even half of them? I also don't like it how there is no free roam as free roam with abilities like those could have unlimited potential. Just imagine being able to do ANYTHING you want with powers like those, if the whole thing was just free roam I still wouldn't hesitate a second giving it 100/100. Alias you can only imagine these excitement.

    Overall:
    +Freedom of choice
    +Can be several types of genres depending on how you play
    + Different endings to the game
    +People reacting differently depending on how you play as well as the environment changing
    +Supernatural powers
    -Limited amount of powers available per a game
    - No free roam

    In conclusion, Dishonoured is great game for people who like deciding how the game moves towards the conclusion and also for people who don't . I highly recommend this game.
    Expand
  74. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    I have not played a better game than Dishonored. I loved the freedom to do as you wish. It has beautiful graphics that give it an arty feel. Not a very long story but i played through it about 4 times and didn't get bored. It has an interesting story that you get to decide the outcome. The powers you acquire are really cool and give you even more ways to approach levels.
  75. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. dishonored is a stealth-action game based around stabbing folks in the eyeballs, choking them out or using your super magical powers of death to explode them. the story in dishonored is generic but interesting and the two endings are also good, after one playthrough you will more than likely want to play through it again to get the other ending, the game follows corvo attano the former body-guard of dunwall's empress. The empress gets assassinated and her daughter kidnapped and you are blamed,
    you escape from prison with help from a small group who help you track down and kill those who are to blame for the assassination of the empress and her daughters kidnapping (eventually you find her daughter). the gameplay in dishonored is fantastic, some of the best I have ever seen, in your right hand you have a short sword/dagger and in your left you have a gun, crossbow or magical powers and they all work perfectly in combat and/or stealth situations.
    Final verdict:
    Great gameplay, interesting story, interesting powers and interesting locations 9/10
    Expand
  76. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  77. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Never been a big fan of first person but Dishonored has been truly one of the more unique games I have ever played. Very happy I picked this game up and already looking forward to my second play through. Lots of different choices you can make during the game that will affect your story. So awesome.
  78. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! crazy gamplay, really enjoyable game that provides a challenge without taking away from the fun of it. many different ways to play and paths to take really adds to the replay value
  79. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I cant believe anyone would review this game poorly, it's the nailed on PS3 game of the year. The story is fantastic, it had me gripped the whole way through. I went for the good ending first of all and it was a joy to play through again to get the darker ending. The game is much better suited being played stealthily, however the sheer variety of ways to kill people makes it a joy to play as an evil bastard. The graphics are great and the city of Dunwall is a fantastic little sandbox. I cant rate this game highly enough, it's better than Deus Ex: Human Revolution and can sit happily alongside MGS4 in my collection. Overall a brilliant game that should not be overlooked by anyone. Expand
  80. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Pros
    +Great artistic graphics
    +Fun to use powers
    +Strong stealth/combat/strategy gameplay.
    + Decent story, many possible endings
    Cons
    - Slightly weak swordfighting
    - Could be a little longer
  81. Oct 28, 2012
    0
    This game is amazing. Unique world with unique approaches to the lore. Branching and multiple pathways for every level and the terrain between levels makes it highly interesting to try and find the best routes. Initial reviews I read of this game mainly had issue with the length of the game, given the fact there are multiple endings and completely customizable play-styles, this game will have you running through multiple times, each play-through will present itself slightly different and unique outcomes. Collapse
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.