Dishonored PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 808 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 808
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Loved the game, kept me involved for many days, great game play and story. If you enjoy being a part of the game and making important descions you will like the game.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    10
    I'm gonna say this...it's a love it or hate it game. Personally I loved it but I also didn't over hype it. In fact, I ended up loving it so much that this is the first game on the PS3 that I actually played through twice. I wanted to see the dark ending and the light ending and I also wanted to prove to myself that I could make it through without killing anyone! If you like stealth itsI'm gonna say this...it's a love it or hate it game. Personally I loved it but I also didn't over hype it. In fact, I ended up loving it so much that this is the first game on the PS3 that I actually played through twice. I wanted to see the dark ending and the light ending and I also wanted to prove to myself that I could make it through without killing anyone! If you like stealth its great! I also loved how you can change the future of the game...example, kill lots of people, more weepers later in the game. Kill nobody, barely any weepers and the later game becomes a whole different story. Expand
  3. Jan 13, 2013
    10
    You can and have to play it and then replay it and then replay it .... until you are sick of it. Amazing game. This is a classic example of a developer who does right by the gamers. Dishonored is primarily a stealth based experience but it does promote experimentation. The number of possibilities to approach a specific situation in the game is just remarkable. The developers have seriouslyYou can and have to play it and then replay it and then replay it .... until you are sick of it. Amazing game. This is a classic example of a developer who does right by the gamers. Dishonored is primarily a stealth based experience but it does promote experimentation. The number of possibilities to approach a specific situation in the game is just remarkable. The developers have seriously put some thought into this. It is one of those gems for which I'd say I hope they do not make a sequel. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    The game is great with all those powers that Corvo used but the graphic were bad . The story it was good but were there was something that is missing that is not making to love the game.
  5. Feb 23, 2013
    9
    A great game in my honest opinion that tries to do new things, which are all well implemented. The characters are all likeable, the story is decent enough, and the world is simply amazing. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of any New Game+ mode, but other than that, lots of replay value due to multiple endings and different approaches to each objective. Also, even though IA great game in my honest opinion that tries to do new things, which are all well implemented. The characters are all likeable, the story is decent enough, and the world is simply amazing. The only thing that bugs me is the lack of any New Game+ mode, but other than that, lots of replay value due to multiple endings and different approaches to each objective. Also, even though I acknowledge that the graphics are supposed to represent an artistic style, I think that the character models could be a lot better, and there were some autosaving problems but those were quite rare. However, these are all small issues in an otherwise great game. Expand
  6. Mar 15, 2013
    10
    A true gem. Freedom to move, to play the game, good story, nice art. Worth every minute of my time. My only grime is that the RPG-lik element are so few that it might have been a better option to simply use a chest approach then going back to buy stuff.
  7. Nov 9, 2013
    9
    On my top five of games!
    If you want a rewarding and fun, first person, action adventure, stealth game then Dishonored is a game for you!
    You are the royal protector of the Empress, when she is killed and her daughter Emily is kidnapped, you get accused of the murder and kidnapping. After 6 moths in prison you break free and seek revenge upon those who have dishonored you. You'll get
    On my top five of games!
    If you want a rewarding and fun, first person, action adventure, stealth game then Dishonored is a game for you!
    You are the royal protector of the Empress, when she is killed and her daughter Emily is kidnapped, you get accused of the murder and kidnapping. After 6 moths in prison you break free and seek revenge upon those who have dishonored you. You'll get cool gadgets and pretty awesome powers to destroy or not even touch your enemies, you choose whether or not you want to kill everybody or nobody! It's a great game!
    Expand
  8. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Dishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on theDishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on the storyline. The gameplay mainly involves traveling from your base (where you can upgrade your tools and abilities) to mission levels. There are some clever consequences put into play depending how how tackled previous missions. The more guards you kill on your first visit to one of the districts of Dunwall, results in more Weepers (zombies) and rats appearing on your next visit to that region. If you were to takedown guards using non-lethal methods, then this can be avoided. This is only a couple of examples of the action/consequence elements of the gameplay.

    As a fan of games like Fallout 3, Fallout: Las Vegas, Skyrim and the Deus Ex games, I really enjoyed this game, but I felt that the game itself was not long enough and that the "Blink" ability (teleportation skill) was a little unprecise to use. In the heat of battle, trying to teleport to a rooftop to escape combat can sometimes result in you mis-targeting the rooftop and teleporting into a crowd of enemy guards etc. Highly recommended, but don't expect a long journey.
    Expand
  9. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    This game is a brilliant breath of fresh air! The art style is unique and beautiful. The world is masterfully crafted and immersing, the city of dunwall is a treat to explore. Oh and amidst this fascinating world is a damn good action game too. This is the new IP i've been waiting for .
  10. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    Intense , that's the word i'd use to describe this game . First of all, this game redefines the concept of nowadays blockbusters . It's a single player experience , it doesn't focus mainly on the graphics , althought they good , and the gameplay isn't all about short , intense moments against hordes of enemies. There's no open world , but this game is all about freedom . For me it's likeIntense , that's the word i'd use to describe this game . First of all, this game redefines the concept of nowadays blockbusters . It's a single player experience , it doesn't focus mainly on the graphics , althought they good , and the gameplay isn't all about short , intense moments against hordes of enemies. There's no open world , but this game is all about freedom . For me it's like if bioshock , skyrim , deus ex and sly cooper had an orgy and this was the result . This game is all about the journey . If your task is to go from point A to B , you'll end up spending a couple of hours exploring point C or D . And how you handle things in point C or D is entirely up to you. You can be super gory or you can be invisible like a ninja ( this has consequences in the end of the game ). The storyline is poor , the characters are an excuse for the story to go on , but don't you dare ignoring this game . You'll love it once you give it a try Expand
  11. Oct 15, 2012
    9
    Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play,Dishonored the latest game from Bethesda but developed by Arcane Studios is here offering gamers a number of choices on how to carry out a number of different missions. First of all Bethesda and Arcane are not attempting to create a Mass Effect style game with multiple dialogue choices which influence the world around you. The choices in Dishonored are very much centered around game play, will you use stealth to assassinate your targets, ghost into a level killing no one and finding an alternative non-lethal method to dispose of your target, use poison or the environment to make your assassination look like an accident or go in guns, crossbows and swords blazing and kill everyone you see. The way you play is how Dishonored offers choice and this is not only in whether you sneak or fight, kill or spare. You can use various different pathways and methods to reach your destination including possessing a rat or a fish to swim or crawl through an entrance, use Blink (the first supernatural power the player gains) to teleport up to and around the rooftops, Possess a guard and walk through the front door as well as many others. So choice is most definitely a core theme in Dishonored, it does require some imagination to find different paths but finding a path and getting to your target without any NPC knowing your there is a definite rush. The gameplay in Dishonored mostly resembles Deus Ex: Human Revolution, you are encouraged to use stealth where ever possible and this is without doubt the best way to play the game, going in and trying to fight your way through is much more difficult and this is one of Dishonored's faults. When fighting enemies who use regular swords Dishonored's combat shines, however when an enemy wields a gun they never miss a shot and bullets take a huge amount of player health. It is not only gun wielding enemies, some foes can breath fire which is unblockable and completely prevents the player from seeing anything in front of them. Also when guards are alerted to your presence every other guard in the area knows exactly where the player character is and come running. In short this means Dishonored is not for players who do not enjoy stealth. The story is Dishonored starts strong, begins to lose its way in the middle and then comes back with a brilliant 3rd act which rounds off the plot nicely. The well publicised different endings are little more than 30-60 second clips showing how the players actions affected the world of Dunwall, however they are vey well narrated and do a fairly good job of making the player realise that there actions had consequences. Overall Dishonored is one of the most unique and inspired games in years with an incredible art style, an intriguing world and thrilling stealth game play. For anybody who has enjoyed Deus Ex, Thief or Splinter Cell pick Dishonored up. You wont be disappointed. Expand
  12. Dec 19, 2012
    9
    Dishonoured takes a more creative approach than most video games and I really like how it has all these different choices you can decide on. Say you are entering a building where you're target is, you can decide which way to enter such as the front door (well duh!) a window or even through a sewer by possessing a fish. If you want, you can just find a non lethal approach to the whole gameDishonoured takes a more creative approach than most video games and I really like how it has all these different choices you can decide on. Say you are entering a building where you're target is, you can decide which way to enter such as the front door (well duh!) a window or even through a sewer by possessing a fish. If you want, you can just find a non lethal approach to the whole game and kill no one which is highly unlikely to happen but still adds to the fun that you know you can kill or spare anyone you want. The ending of the game depends on how you play so if you just run an kill everyone, people will react differently, you might be betrayed and even the dialogue of the game changes. So if you choose that kind of approach than I can tell you the ending won't be pretty. I also love how it doesn't just have to be a stealth game as it's supposed to but can also be a normal killing game mixed with cool powers. These are some of the many things that make Dishonoured unique from other games. Something I dislike in Dishonoured is probably the lack of powers you actually get in this game compared to the variety there is. One of things I was most exited about when Dishonoured was announced was all those supernatural powers you could have in the game but then was heavily disappointed when I found out you can only choose slightly less than half of the breath-taking abilities. I found the powers as one of the most attracting things that brought me towards this game and am very disappointed with this. What's the point of bragging about all these powers you can use when you can only choose not even half of them? I also don't like it how there is no free roam as free roam with abilities like those could have unlimited potential. Just imagine being able to do ANYTHING you want with powers like those, if the whole thing was just free roam I still wouldn't hesitate a second giving it 100/100. Alias you can only imagine these excitement.

    Overall:
    +Freedom of choice
    +Can be several types of genres depending on how you play
    + Different endings to the game
    +People reacting differently depending on how you play as well as the environment changing
    +Supernatural powers
    -Limited amount of powers available per a game
    - No free roam

    In conclusion, Dishonoured is great game for people who like deciding how the game moves towards the conclusion and also for people who don't . I highly recommend this game.
    Expand
  13. Jul 24, 2013
    10
    I have not played a better game than Dishonored. I loved the freedom to do as you wish. It has beautiful graphics that give it an arty feel. Not a very long story but i played through it about 4 times and didn't get bored. It has an interesting story that you get to decide the outcome. The powers you acquire are really cool and give you even more ways to approach levels.
  14. Oct 10, 2013
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. dishonored is a stealth-action game based around stabbing folks in the eyeballs, choking them out or using your super magical powers of death to explode them. the story in dishonored is generic but interesting and the two endings are also good, after one playthrough you will more than likely want to play through it again to get the other ending, the game follows corvo attano the former body-guard of dunwall's empress. The empress gets assassinated and her daughter kidnapped and you are blamed,
    you escape from prison with help from a small group who help you track down and kill those who are to blame for the assassination of the empress and her daughters kidnapping (eventually you find her daughter). the gameplay in dishonored is fantastic, some of the best I have ever seen, in your right hand you have a short sword/dagger and in your left you have a gun, crossbow or magical powers and they all work perfectly in combat and/or stealth situations.
    Final verdict:
    Great gameplay, interesting story, interesting powers and interesting locations 9/10
    Expand
  15. Apr 17, 2014
    9
    Pros
    +Great artistic graphics
    +Fun to use powers
    +Strong stealth/combat/strategy gameplay.
    + Decent story, many possible endings
    Cons
    - Slightly weak swordfighting
    - Could be a little longer
  16. Oct 13, 2012
    10
    Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless,Own it, love it. I actually mainly wanted to write this review to comment on the obviously bogus amount of negative User Ratings. The other versions of this game only have between 200-300 total ratings, and even a controversial game like Mass Effect 3 only has 2900 or so total ratings after 7 months. Obviously, some shenanigans are afoot. This proves my point: User Ratings are useless, just look at the critic scores (and I'm still waiting for someone to provide some proof to the overused accusation that game publishers "buy" their reviews from major outlets). Expand
  17. Oct 10, 2012
    10
    Never been a big fan of first person but Dishonored has been truly one of the more unique games I have ever played. Very happy I picked this game up and already looking forward to my second play through. Lots of different choices you can make during the game that will affect your story. So awesome.
  18. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! crazy gamplay, really enjoyable game that provides a challenge without taking away from the fun of it. many different ways to play and paths to take really adds to the replay value
  19. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    I cant believe anyone would review this game poorly, it's the nailed on PS3 game of the year. The story is fantastic, it had me gripped the whole way through. I went for the good ending first of all and it was a joy to play through again to get the darker ending. The game is much better suited being played stealthily, however the sheer variety of ways to kill people makes it a joy toI cant believe anyone would review this game poorly, it's the nailed on PS3 game of the year. The story is fantastic, it had me gripped the whole way through. I went for the good ending first of all and it was a joy to play through again to get the darker ending. The game is much better suited being played stealthily, however the sheer variety of ways to kill people makes it a joy to play as an evil bastard. The graphics are great and the city of Dunwall is a fantastic little sandbox. I cant rate this game highly enough, it's better than Deus Ex: Human Revolution and can sit happily alongside MGS4 in my collection. Overall a brilliant game that should not be overlooked by anyone. Expand
  20. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It took me some time to get used to the controls of the ps3, especially because the game is in ego-perspective. All in all it's a very good and solid game. It's just a little bit too short if you ask me. I finished almost every chapter in stealth mode to get a different ending. I guess it takes longer if you play it that way than just rushing through every quest. But it has a great replay value. I enjoyed playing it Expand
  21. Jun 23, 2016
    9
    Dishonored, a game which really intrigued and sucked me into it's gaming content. Let's start by with the gameplay: it's exquisite!. Dishonored has a smooth and seamless gameplay of jumping and walking and using different sorts of powers you oriented with the game that also include of hand to hand combat and using these powers according to your specific conditions in the game. There is noDishonored, a game which really intrigued and sucked me into it's gaming content. Let's start by with the gameplay: it's exquisite!. Dishonored has a smooth and seamless gameplay of jumping and walking and using different sorts of powers you oriented with the game that also include of hand to hand combat and using these powers according to your specific conditions in the game. There is no open world gameplay here. There are specific maps and levels designed for a certain task or mission you are assigned to but the levels are beautifully crafted and made where each section of it is tailored to give the player a scare of unexpected enemies and/or side task that you can complete. Each mission specifically the main story one have extensive amount of ways to complete. You can infiltrate a specific building by possessing guards or animals, by approaching it with pure stealth, by thinking of a creative way of using your specials powers such as stopping time (Yes! stopping time!!), by going through the roofs, sewers, a specific room which requires a key (can be obtained by completing side tasks) and many more actually. So, you get the picture when I say "extensive". You're main tasks are to Assassinate, abduct, subdue or to not do any of those, meaning you have a choice. Onto another aspect, graphics: they're gorgeous!. The only thing that made me give this game a 9 was it's story wrap up at the end. The story is great don't get me wrong on that. It's just the wrap up at the end which made me deduct a point out of it. Expand
  22. Apr 25, 2017
    8
    My overall verdict is that I have absolutely loved Dishonored. Just like any game it has some pros and cons that need to be pointed out and that ultimately have made me unable to give it a 9,5, which is the score I'd like to stamp above my review.

    Pros: 1- The game's immersion is brilliant. The ambience, the environment, the design of the spaces and the city itself are really pretty.
    My overall verdict is that I have absolutely loved Dishonored. Just like any game it has some pros and cons that need to be pointed out and that ultimately have made me unable to give it a 9,5, which is the score I'd like to stamp above my review.

    Pros:

    1- The game's immersion is brilliant. The ambience, the environment, the design of the spaces and the city itself are really pretty. You find yourself completely devoted to the atmosphere of horror, despair and vital hopelessness from minute 1. The way stealth and mystery are put in this game is magnificent, not only does it make sense but it makes you feel like you really do belong in this place.
    2- The story is engaging and the gameplay is suspenseful. The lore is rich and well put across, it really does make the game very interesting. You feel that you really do care about the moral and personal implications of the character, even though there's little chance to develop him and get to know him better. You feel yourself in tension during the 90% of this game.
    3- I love the fact that you can choose how you want to set up your walkthrough and the way you want to confront the action.
    4- I played in normal and the fights against enemies were of adequate difficulty. I think it's good that a game makes you feel like you can be killed at any time and that for that reason you have to respect the environment and present a strategy.
    5- Sometimes we fail to review games for what really matters: entertainment value. Dishonored is interesting, entertaining and fun to play. It was almost impossible to put it down and I found myself enjoying its lore and secondary objectives.

    Cons:

    1- First person makes the game feel awkward at times. I feel like a third person option would've rounded up the gameplay. Controlling powers, weapons and map/enemies at the same time without messing up is difficult. When you're damaged and build up frenzy the screen effect is more annoying than engaging.
    2- The game lags usually when there's fire onscreen. If you add the annoying frenzied screen, the difficult first person control and the more than probable chance of you messing up with controls, you get a confusing demise that will usually get on your nerves.
    3- Even though the game's immersion is brilliant, you lose sight of the real reason why you're fighting very soon. The empress' figure (and the fact that you loved her) dispel quickly in favor of the actual engage in the ambience. The game becomes a challenge in the gameplay section rather than a well crafted meaningful journey.
    4- For some, the fact that the game is very well defined when it comes to structure (you are dropped at a location, must get to point A to point B choosing how you want to do this, then you get back to base) might turn into a chance for boredom. To be honest this didn't happen to me because I was too busy enjoying this game to the max, but I can see how some people could get tired of that mechanic.
    5- The game is too short. It ends when you're familiar with mechanics and have grown fond of the lore. If Corvo's character had been more explored it could've had two or three more missions which would have made the game a much richer experience.

    Like I said at the start I have loved this game so much, but that's not incompatible with pointing out some of its flaws. Still, I totally recommend it. Due to its age you'll be able to find it at a very good price, so go buy it.
    Expand
  23. Jun 19, 2017
    10
    This is my first time writing a review, and im doing so, because I really think this game deserves it.

    The game overall is great. Really great. The gameplay, lore and music makes it really really good. I've played videogames for many years, and I don't remember a game recently that made wish to come home soon to play it - and Dishonored did it. I'm seeing some reviews saying how the
    This is my first time writing a review, and im doing so, because I really think this game deserves it.

    The game overall is great. Really great. The gameplay, lore and music makes it really really good. I've played videogames for many years, and I don't remember a game recently that made wish to come home soon to play it - and Dishonored did it.

    I'm seeing some reviews saying how the ''kiling path'' has more abilities and therefore its easier. How theres a lack of skills to have a more stealthier way. This isn't true. In fact, both ways are good as they are. Is it easier to enter a zone killing all guards? Undoubtedly yes. The non-lethal way is harder of course, but it's not because the lack of skills. It's because is way more interesting and fun. Do you imagine a great stealth game, like Metal Gear Solid for example, where you can pass all enemies easily undetected? Where would the fun of it be? Players must understand that games are meant to offer us a challenge too.

    Another great point on this game is how the city changes depending on your approach. More kills will lead to a more darker and rainy weather and more plague rats. There will be some enviroments where if you read the books or notes in there, will provide some interesting backstory. The main story overall is really great too!

    If you ever come across an opportunity to play or either buy Dishonored, do it because you wont be dissapointed!
    Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Nov 1, 2012
    90
    You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.