Dishonored PlayStation 3

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 805 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 88 out of 805
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 4, 2014
    8
    The most important quality of Dishonored is that it doesn't treat you like a tool. Instead it offers a toolbox of techniques and powers that you can apply as you prefer on each mission. The second most important quality of Dishonored is that it is FUN. It is a game, not an interactive movie or a tech showcase. It is game design refined for the highest possible amount of fun inside theThe most important quality of Dishonored is that it doesn't treat you like a tool. Instead it offers a toolbox of techniques and powers that you can apply as you prefer on each mission. The second most important quality of Dishonored is that it is FUN. It is a game, not an interactive movie or a tech showcase. It is game design refined for the highest possible amount of fun inside the otherwise rather grim game environment.

    These qualities combine with an ambitious storyline and an exceptionally well realized game world, and the result is a rare mix of fun and immersion.

    The graphics are more cartoony than the title or cover-art, but with PS3s capabilities, the art fits the constrictions and set the bar low enough to stay outside of uncanny valley and out of the ordinary. It is thus one of the best looking games I've played on PS3.

    It has no multiplayer, no alternative game modes (unnecessary since it already can be played in many ways), and the ending is abruptly anti-climatic. I was overall satisfied with the story, but it could have built up the gameplay setups more rather than reiterate on the same basic challenges.

    I kind of want to give it 7/10, but it's rare that you play a game and have to figure out your own way through each challenge. For that, it deserves recognition.
    Expand
  2. Oct 18, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game... graphics are very nice, decent music, memorable cast.
    I dislike how killing is frowned upon... is seeking vengeance really that bad?
    PS If you want people to not kill you should give them more abilities... choke, dark vision, blink, and poisoned arrow... you give the killers more... nades, mines, etc
    PSS Possession is just goofy, its length should be massively buffed so it has a use for the ghost runners.
    Expand
  3. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    Dishonored was a really fun experience. It's a different game, both in looks and gameplay. I love the art style, almost like a painting rather than a cell shaded cartoon. The city of Dunwall is beautifully detailed and alive. The different sections are well designed to explore for runes and bone charms; or sneaking around for stealth kills. I love the controls myself and found them easy toDishonored was a really fun experience. It's a different game, both in looks and gameplay. I love the art style, almost like a painting rather than a cell shaded cartoon. The city of Dunwall is beautifully detailed and alive. The different sections are well designed to explore for runes and bone charms; or sneaking around for stealth kills. I love the controls myself and found them easy to use. Once you start unlocking all the awesome powers there is no limit to how you can dispatch enemies. The game is more centered on using stealth, but the real fun is had when using your imagination and abilities in brutal ways! However, the more people you kill and bodies you leave in your wake, the more the plague spreads and rats swarms increase. It has an effect on the ending you get also. The story is pretty good, revenge is always the best motive to go on a killing spree and take bad people out of power. You always have choices to make in this game; whether it's deciding to assassinate a target or expose him, or sneak around the levels choosing your own path to an objective. This game gives you one of the best feelings of choosing your own way to accomplish things. There are some minor complaints as there are with any game, but they can be overlooked. The good things about this game far outweigh the bad. Expand
  4. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    I love this game, the controls, graphics, and story are all well done. On a side note, I dont know who the children are that are creating multiple accounts on Metacritic just to drag down game scores but do not be fooled by those morons, Dishonored is an excellent game and deserves at least an 8.
  5. Feb 2, 2013
    8
    Fun to an extent. That's what Dishonored truly is. For the first few hours, you will be amazed at what Arkane Studios has done. It's an amazing stealth game...then the game goes on. Sure the stealth is still amazing but the game continues to linger on with just a decent story. The art style is different, but it just doesn't look right in many situations. All games repeat themselves, and ifFun to an extent. That's what Dishonored truly is. For the first few hours, you will be amazed at what Arkane Studios has done. It's an amazing stealth game...then the game goes on. Sure the stealth is still amazing but the game continues to linger on with just a decent story. The art style is different, but it just doesn't look right in many situations. All games repeat themselves, and if done correctly, it works fine. But Dishonored truly gets dull in some areas and then it gets amazing all of a sudden. Dishonored is a great game, but it is definitely flawed and maybe Arkane can make a masterpiece next time because I know they have the potential. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    8
    Put Metal Gear Solid, Skyrim, and Bioshock in a blender and you get this game. Its really fun and has a million side quests that you feel compelled to do because the story is so great. I also enjoyed the fact there are mulitple ways to achieve your goal for every situation. The AI seems mentally challenged at times but other than that good game. Wish there was an addition of a SolitonPut Metal Gear Solid, Skyrim, and Bioshock in a blender and you get this game. Its really fun and has a million side quests that you feel compelled to do because the story is so great. I also enjoyed the fact there are mulitple ways to achieve your goal for every situation. The AI seems mentally challenged at times but other than that good game. Wish there was an addition of a Soliton radar or something though. 8/10 Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2012
    8
    Dishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on theDishonered is a easily one of Bethesda's best games in recent years and it seems more polished then one of their last games, Skyrim. Although there are some simular game play elements to Skyrim (the sneaking and the sword fighting), Dishonered can be quite linear. The open world game play of Bethseda's previous games has pretty much been put on the back burner to concentrate on the storyline. The gameplay mainly involves traveling from your base (where you can upgrade your tools and abilities) to mission levels. There are some clever consequences put into play depending how how tackled previous missions. The more guards you kill on your first visit to one of the districts of Dunwall, results in more Weepers (zombies) and rats appearing on your next visit to that region. If you were to takedown guards using non-lethal methods, then this can be avoided. This is only a couple of examples of the action/consequence elements of the gameplay.

    As a fan of games like Fallout 3, Fallout: Las Vegas, Skyrim and the Deus Ex games, I really enjoyed this game, but I felt that the game itself was not long enough and that the "Blink" ability (teleportation skill) was a little unprecise to use. In the heat of battle, trying to teleport to a rooftop to escape combat can sometimes result in you mis-targeting the rooftop and teleporting into a crowd of enemy guards etc. Highly recommended, but don't expect a long journey.
    Expand
  8. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    Intense , that's the word i'd use to describe this game . First of all, this game redefines the concept of nowadays blockbusters . It's a single player experience , it doesn't focus mainly on the graphics , althought they good , and the gameplay isn't all about short , intense moments against hordes of enemies. There's no open world , but this game is all about freedom . For me it's likeIntense , that's the word i'd use to describe this game . First of all, this game redefines the concept of nowadays blockbusters . It's a single player experience , it doesn't focus mainly on the graphics , althought they good , and the gameplay isn't all about short , intense moments against hordes of enemies. There's no open world , but this game is all about freedom . For me it's like if bioshock , skyrim , deus ex and sly cooper had an orgy and this was the result . This game is all about the journey . If your task is to go from point A to B , you'll end up spending a couple of hours exploring point C or D . And how you handle things in point C or D is entirely up to you. You can be super gory or you can be invisible like a ninja ( this has consequences in the end of the game ). The storyline is poor , the characters are an excuse for the story to go on , but don't you dare ignoring this game . You'll love it once you give it a try Expand
  9. Oct 26, 2012
    8
    The game controls very nicely and the stealth is nearly masterful. The atmosphere fits the game's theme and helps the player feel like they are a part of Dunwall. Menus and upgrades are easy to navigate and the player is heavily rewarded for exploring. Where Dishonored falls is the story. The game follows a straightforward mission system with levels that feel decidedly smaller the secondThe game controls very nicely and the stealth is nearly masterful. The atmosphere fits the game's theme and helps the player feel like they are a part of Dunwall. Menus and upgrades are easy to navigate and the player is heavily rewarded for exploring. Where Dishonored falls is the story. The game follows a straightforward mission system with levels that feel decidedly smaller the second time around. The morality choices are somewhat ridiculous in context and levels barely change based on your decision.
    Overall, you should play Dishonored for the gameplay and feel of the world, not the story.
    Expand
  10. Nov 29, 2012
    8
    An amazing game! The city of Dunwall and is beautifully crafted and feels so alive. (Well, aside from the plague victims, that is) But like I said, the setting is interesting, and the game itself is a lot of fun to play. The various ways to get to and kill (or not kill) a target are fun to play out. And although the story is a bit of a cliché with the whole "Get revenge andAn amazing game! The city of Dunwall and is beautifully crafted and feels so alive. (Well, aside from the plague victims, that is) But like I said, the setting is interesting, and the game itself is a lot of fun to play. The various ways to get to and kill (or not kill) a target are fun to play out. And although the story is a bit of a cliché with the whole "Get revenge and everything will fix itself." it still kept me interested. And the reason I didn't give this game a 10? Well, it's for petty and small reasons for the most part. I mean, the game felt...short. I would have loved to explore more of Dunwall and meet or have more targets to hunt after. I also would've loved to know more about the city and its people, and not just through books. And honestly the "character" I liked the most was the Heart that told you about the city, I didn't feel all that connected to anyone else. And finally, the lights. Why couldn't you destroy them? Or at least pull a switch or destroy a whale oil tank to make them go out. It is a small thing, I know. But I kind feel that something like that belongs in a stealth game. Expand
  11. Nov 8, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It took me some time to get used to the controls of the ps3, especially because the game is in ego-perspective. All in all it's a very good and solid game. It's just a little bit too short if you ask me. I finished almost every chapter in stealth mode to get a different ending. I guess it takes longer if you play it that way than just rushing through every quest. But it has a great replay value. I enjoyed playing it Expand
  12. Dec 4, 2012
    8
    creo que este juego es prometedor como para una segunda versión de verdad que me a dejado con la boca abierta con la historia que presenta y como la plantean tiene muy buenos gráfico sonido y una mezcla extraña de tecnologías de diferentes épocas lo cual le da ese toque lujubre al juego no sabes que año ni en que época se desarrolla por quecreo que este juego es prometedor como para una segunda versión de verdad que me a dejado con la boca abierta con la historia que presenta y como la plantean tiene muy buenos gráfico sonido y una mezcla extraña de tecnologías de diferentes épocas lo cual le da ese toque lujubre al juego no sabes que año ni en que época se desarrolla por que todo esta mezclado eso es genial te hace pensar e inmaginar que sera esta historia ?! aun estoy esperando a ver que cosas van a sacar para comprar en la tienda por que es muy curioso ver como seria una descarga de contenido adicional... este juego sin duda a mi y unos cuantos amigos nos a gustado mucho pero lo que no me gusta es que el personaje tiene poderes que dices y te sientes como un dios pero en el mapa creo que le falto mas algo de accesibilidad a zonas como para generar mas tácticas y aparte el modo mas difícil no es tan difícil de resto sin mas nada que decir que buen juego!! Expand
  13. Mar 24, 2013
    8
    I wrote an incredibly stupid review of this game before, so I'll just write a new one now. I have now beaten the game and I thought that it was really a decent game, it did get frustrating as I went on though. Gameplay wise the game is good, it feels great to pull off a perfect assassination without detection. Unfortunately the stealth mechanics weren't impressive and limited that fromI wrote an incredibly stupid review of this game before, so I'll just write a new one now. I have now beaten the game and I thought that it was really a decent game, it did get frustrating as I went on though. Gameplay wise the game is good, it feels great to pull off a perfect assassination without detection. Unfortunately the stealth mechanics weren't impressive and limited that from happening. I loved the steampunk environment of the city of Dunwall, but besides environmental design the rest of the graphics are just awful, like it should be in a game released in 2006. Graphics aren't really important, but I just felt like saying that since so many people seem to think that they are. I was disappointed by the story, mainly because it kind of sucks. Great stories should have great characters we care about, no single likable character with any sort of depth whatsoever is present. If you play games for the story, I would never recommend this game to you. I gave it an 8 because it's an original concept and I thought it was an engaging experience. Overall, it's a decent game, but it doesn't have enough content to be worth a full priced, $60 game in my opinion. Wait till it gets a price drop or buy it used. Expand
  14. Jan 25, 2013
    8
    The game is great with all those powers that Corvo used but the graphic were bad . The story it was good but were there was something that is missing that is not making to love the game.
  15. May 9, 2013
    8
    Good game! I do think that more attention should have been payed to the story and the characters, but the awesomely brutal combat and the numerous ways to assassinate each target definitely makes up for the stories shortcomings and some underdeveloped characters!
  16. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    I got this game because of how much the critics loved it and in its moments this game delivers some of the best gameplay that I've experienced but unfortunately its not always like this. The first couple of levels are a bit dull story-wise but it picks up and has a couple of very interesting plot twists, the ending was a bit weak though but that could have been due to my high chaosI got this game because of how much the critics loved it and in its moments this game delivers some of the best gameplay that I've experienced but unfortunately its not always like this. The first couple of levels are a bit dull story-wise but it picks up and has a couple of very interesting plot twists, the ending was a bit weak though but that could have been due to my high chaos playthrough. I definately recommend a stealthy play style for this game because that is when the gameplay is at its best. Combat is alright but gets quite repetitive. I should definitely do a low chaos replay of the game because I have a feeling it will be more fun and challenging. Overall the game is mostly good but has its up and down moments, it is still highly recommended though if you like stealth, action games Expand
  17. Jun 12, 2014
    8
    As to near Ahnk Morpork as I've seen in a videogame that isn't a discworld game and that's coming from someone who lives in Gloucester where they filmed one of the Discworld live action series. Dunwall is an amazing place in terms of the way it incorporates elements of steampunk with a victorian feel and setting a pace that wouldn't normally suit a 1st person action game but it justAs to near Ahnk Morpork as I've seen in a videogame that isn't a discworld game and that's coming from someone who lives in Gloucester where they filmed one of the Discworld live action series. Dunwall is an amazing place in terms of the way it incorporates elements of steampunk with a victorian feel and setting a pace that wouldn't normally suit a 1st person action game but it just flows so well and the artwork on the characters is stunning but sadly let down by a bit of collision detection which is hard to ignore, combine all this with a satisfying story you get a really decent game with plenty to get stuck into. Expand
  18. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Dishonored is so close to becoming a memorable game. Instead, only months after playing, it starts to fade into the other games. But this game is not bad by any means. Dishonored is fearless, it has a great story and a great stealth engine which is surprisingly hard to come by these days. Dishonored feels and plays a lot like Bioshock Infinite, which I believe is the game of the year, butDishonored is so close to becoming a memorable game. Instead, only months after playing, it starts to fade into the other games. But this game is not bad by any means. Dishonored is fearless, it has a great story and a great stealth engine which is surprisingly hard to come by these days. Dishonored feels and plays a lot like Bioshock Infinite, which I believe is the game of the year, but the difference between the two is simple; while Dishonored starts beautifully and has a great core, the ending is short and not that interesting. The game seems to drop off out of nowhere. The story itself, besides the ending, is solid. It's a bit slow until you make it to the big twist, and then it gets fun. The game pulls you in and give you loads of options and ways to complete the level. Bioshock Infinite, even if it did seem a bit dull through the middle portion, was awe-inspiring and beautiful, the engine was near flawless and the twists were mind-blowing. In the end, I wish Dishonored was a bit more like Bioshock in the sense that it spent more time developing its ending and story. Expand
  19. Mar 12, 2015
    8
    the greatest strength of this game is its art design and the options it gives you to complete your missions. this is not a completely open world game but definitely gives you lots of room to explore and it is far from linear and is one of the best stealth games I have played in a while, if you choose to play it stealthily. the only problem with that is that there are definitely some partsthe greatest strength of this game is its art design and the options it gives you to complete your missions. this is not a completely open world game but definitely gives you lots of room to explore and it is far from linear and is one of the best stealth games I have played in a while, if you choose to play it stealthily. the only problem with that is that there are definitely some parts where stealth or fighting were a much better option but for the most part both options were even. being stealthy is harder but is much more rewarding while fighting is easier but has consequences. I like that dynamic and it is done excellently. the few problems I have were with the characters and dialogue, they were good but you could tell that they had so much potential to be soooo much better which keeps this game from reaching its potential. the game is also to short, not like it feels like it ruins the game in any way, but by the end of the game you are really wanting more unfortuently. I feel like it could have been atleast another 4 hours longer but at least there is a lot of replayability. I think if they were to make a sequel these complaints would be solved and we would have a nearly perfect game. Expand
  20. Feb 8, 2015
    8
    Dishonored

    Game-play:The game-play is solid and the game give you the ability to play head on attack or stealth or you just can combine this two.Also if you are good you can finish the game without killing nobody not even bosses.You have also something like spells but you are not force to use them of even unlock them. Story:I really like the story of this game and really enjoy it but
    Dishonored

    Game-play:The game-play is solid and the game give you the ability to play head on attack or stealth or you just can combine this two.Also if you are good you can finish the game without killing nobody not even bosses.You have also something like spells but you are not force to use them of even unlock them.

    Story:I really like the story of this game and really enjoy it but the problem is that is so short it took me 5 to 6 hours in the hard mode.

    Graphics:The graphics did not impress me much.

    Notes:The level design in very good except the last level it could hav some improvements.This game is great worth full price.
    Expand
  21. Sep 16, 2016
    8
    Dishonored
    Untapped Potential
    Dishonored is a first person action stealth game where you play as an assassin... the bodyguard of an empress who gets murdered and her daughter gets kidnapped within the first 10 minutes of the game… Naturally you’re framed as others are hungry for power… So the game really starts with you in a jail cell on a rescue mission… You’ll spend the game
    Dishonored
    Untapped Potential
    Dishonored is a first person action stealth game where you play as an assassin... the bodyguard of an empress who gets murdered and her daughter gets kidnapped within the first 10 minutes of the game…
    Naturally you’re framed as others are hungry for power…
    So the game really starts with you in a jail cell on a rescue mission…
    You’ll spend the game crawling through sewers and small cities going after a target in each of the 9 total missions…
    These missions last about an hour long highly dependent on your gameplay style which is such a great thing…
    Dishonored offers ultimate freedom in the way other assassin games like hitman and assassins creed have lost sight of with their highly suggested stealth design…
    Here you get a blade and a pistol… how you get to the end is up to you…
    From how you deal with situation to how you infiltrate areas…
    There’s multiple passage ways into every section…
    You can sneak up behind enemies to assassinate them or put them to sleep…
    You can straight up go in guns and swords blazing…
    There’s a catch though… the way you play effects the story. The ending and how other characters portray you… You can literally beat the entire game without killing anyone...
    While at the same time you can kill almost anyone you want at any time you want
    while again you can play anyway you like... I played as an aggressive assassin opposed to a ninja assassin… and I found that this game was definitely designed more for the patient type as the combat feels just a tad bit awkward…
    Its bearable, but the rag doll physics, awkward weapon wheel, occasional lack of hit detection, and unrealistic blocking abilities of guards made it apparent combat while an option was an afterthought…
    The most annoying thing that stuck out time after time was enemies that are about to shoot you, naturally you’d assume when they are readying their pistol, it’s the perfect opportunity to strike…
    But the guards would always.. And I mean always. Instantly block me when I took such a natural and realistic opportunity to deal damage…
    That single bit alone hurts hand to hand combat the most as the rest is pretty decent, you can block and parry, dual weald crossbows, guns, and swords…
    And if you feel more like going in stealthy, you can also use magic in your ranged weapon hand
    all of which can be swapped on the fly
    The magic is where the potential shines..
    Every mission has runes hidden as well as bone charms… these charms are stat boosts and the runes unlock magic skills of your choice…
    You can unlock a dash attack… unlock a skill to see through walls.. Summon rats to eat enemies… just to name a few...
    These skills could’ve been used for side quests in the city or platforming sections, but they weren’t... they were just there... much like everything else, optional...
    The optional with the magic though is a letdown as there so much imbalance in game progression and this could have helped it
    Its constant sneaking around or fighting…
    There are no puzzles, no adventure sections to give you a chance to breathe…
    It’s a constant walking on eggs shells which ultimately makes this rescue mission feel more like a chore than an immersive duty, despite a handful of side missions actually showing great promise of what this series can become…
    Dishonored definitely has its flaws, but it also has potential and is a must play for any fan of the stealth genre
    I give Dishonored an 8.0/10
    Expand
  22. Jan 3, 2015
    8
    Story:
    Dunwall has a great atmosphere and the world of Dishonored has great potential. It's sad that this game doesn't explain it's background. Moreover, the story is pretty common and Corvo doesn't say a single word, which takes away his sympathy.
    5/10 Gameplay: The gameplay is just great. You have many options, there is a moral system (a pretty easy one, though) and you can unlock
    Story:
    Dunwall has a great atmosphere and the world of Dishonored has great potential. It's sad that this game doesn't explain it's background. Moreover, the story is pretty common and Corvo doesn't say a single word, which takes away his sympathy.
    5/10

    Gameplay:
    The gameplay is just great. You have many options, there is a moral system (a pretty easy one, though) and you can unlock super powers to get better in the way you want to play. You have so much freedom in this game!
    9/10

    Technical:
    Dishonored looks dark and dirty which causes a good atmosphere, but the textures, the character's faces etc. are pretty poor designed.
    6,5/10

    Overall:
    Dishonored has some problems. however, it is a great experience to play it.
    8,5/10
    Expand
  23. Mar 30, 2016
    8
    Loved this game, especially the stealth, this game allows you to fully experience what it would be like to be an assassin during a alternate reality set during the plague.
    Very gory. Loved it.
  24. Apr 25, 2017
    8
    My overall verdict is that I have absolutely loved Dishonored. Just like any game it has some pros and cons that need to be pointed out and that ultimately have made me unable to give it a 9,5, which is the score I'd like to stamp above my review.

    Pros: 1- The game's immersion is brilliant. The ambience, the environment, the design of the spaces and the city itself are really pretty.
    My overall verdict is that I have absolutely loved Dishonored. Just like any game it has some pros and cons that need to be pointed out and that ultimately have made me unable to give it a 9,5, which is the score I'd like to stamp above my review.

    Pros:

    1- The game's immersion is brilliant. The ambience, the environment, the design of the spaces and the city itself are really pretty. You find yourself completely devoted to the atmosphere of horror, despair and vital hopelessness from minute 1. The way stealth and mystery are put in this game is magnificent, not only does it make sense but it makes you feel like you really do belong in this place.
    2- The story is engaging and the gameplay is suspenseful. The lore is rich and well put across, it really does make the game very interesting. You feel that you really do care about the moral and personal implications of the character, even though there's little chance to develop him and get to know him better. You feel yourself in tension during the 90% of this game.
    3- I love the fact that you can choose how you want to set up your walkthrough and the way you want to confront the action.
    4- I played in normal and the fights against enemies were of adequate difficulty. I think it's good that a game makes you feel like you can be killed at any time and that for that reason you have to respect the environment and present a strategy.
    5- Sometimes we fail to review games for what really matters: entertainment value. Dishonored is interesting, entertaining and fun to play. It was almost impossible to put it down and I found myself enjoying its lore and secondary objectives.

    Cons:

    1- First person makes the game feel awkward at times. I feel like a third person option would've rounded up the gameplay. Controlling powers, weapons and map/enemies at the same time without messing up is difficult. When you're damaged and build up frenzy the screen effect is more annoying than engaging.
    2- The game lags usually when there's fire onscreen. If you add the annoying frenzied screen, the difficult first person control and the more than probable chance of you messing up with controls, you get a confusing demise that will usually get on your nerves.
    3- Even though the game's immersion is brilliant, you lose sight of the real reason why you're fighting very soon. The empress' figure (and the fact that you loved her) dispel quickly in favor of the actual engage in the ambience. The game becomes a challenge in the gameplay section rather than a well crafted meaningful journey.
    4- For some, the fact that the game is very well defined when it comes to structure (you are dropped at a location, must get to point A to point B choosing how you want to do this, then you get back to base) might turn into a chance for boredom. To be honest this didn't happen to me because I was too busy enjoying this game to the max, but I can see how some people could get tired of that mechanic.
    5- The game is too short. It ends when you're familiar with mechanics and have grown fond of the lore. If Corvo's character had been more explored it could've had two or three more missions which would have made the game a much richer experience.

    Like I said at the start I have loved this game so much, but that's not incompatible with pointing out some of its flaws. Still, I totally recommend it. Due to its age you'll be able to find it at a very good price, so go buy it.
    Expand
  25. Oct 30, 2012
    7
    I rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mileI rarely actually do user reviews but I just finished Dishonored an hour before writing this and I'm simply left with some odd feeling of incompletion. I mean I did like the game world, I liked the story and concept, powers and stealth mechanics (felt pretty awesome by the end) but the entire game just seemed sort of awkward to me. It was as if the game didn't try to go that extra mile with the acting and the way the whole thing ended just seemed unfinished. I did read before release that there wouldn't be an actual boss encounter in the end but the way it all ended still sort of disappointed me because the last target was like the main antagonist and you just kill him like all the others, done and roll the credits...

    I liked the game overall but really just feel like something is missing from the experience as a whole : / I don't know if all the mainstream blockbuster games have spoiled me over the years or what, though it surely seems that most critics adore this game... I don't know how I feel about it, probably a 7,5 :S
    Expand
  26. Oct 12, 2012
    7
    The game fails to grab my attention. I'm many hours in and am still underwhelmed by the atmosphere / story / gameplay variation. The game is fun when you're in the thick of it on a mission, but as an overall experience Dishonored is disjointed and stiff. It's a very stop-and-go experience, which doesn't allow for much momentum. Games like Bioshock and Arkham City get it right by beingThe game fails to grab my attention. I'm many hours in and am still underwhelmed by the atmosphere / story / gameplay variation. The game is fun when you're in the thick of it on a mission, but as an overall experience Dishonored is disjointed and stiff. It's a very stop-and-go experience, which doesn't allow for much momentum. Games like Bioshock and Arkham City get it right by being "dungeon based" but working hard to disguise the seams between levels (Batman does it best by far). The world feels very dead too. I wish there were more NPC's or detail to the world. The mechanics of the game are great, and I enjoy it in small doses. But it doesn't approach the genre's high water marks like System Shock 2. Or even is most direct influence Bioshock. The game basically feels like a poor man's Bioshock. I say: RENT IT. Expand
  27. Dec 1, 2012
    7
    This game is great and its universe too! It's a pleasure to see a studio creating a brand new IP, this must be encouraged :)
    First hours in the game were a (really) great experience, but as long as I progressed in the game, things just went harder and harder but the gameplay, enemies and environments remain (almost) the same. It become repetitive and - I'm sorry to say that -... boring.
  28. Oct 20, 2012
    7
    I'll be honest; I've never particularly liked stealth games, but there's no getting away from them now so I suppose it's just something I'll have to get used to.

    However, I do like first-person games, adventures and possessing rats, so I thought I'd give Dishonored a go. This game has very slick presentation, but reminds of me of one of the few other games I've reviewed on
    I'll be honest; I've never particularly liked stealth games, but there's no getting away from them now so I suppose it's just something I'll have to get used to.

    However, I do like first-person games, adventures and possessing rats, so I thought I'd give Dishonored a go.

    This game has very slick presentation, but reminds of me of one of the few other games I've reviewed on Metacritic; Rage. A game that I didn't think was very good.

    Dishonored seems to promise a lot more than it delivers. There are large amounts of boring exposition, the enemy AI is worryingly bad and mistakes seem harshly punished. The beginning spends a lot of time setting up your various special abilities, but never competently demonstrates the best way to use them. Combat is clunky, the 'Blink' ability is rather annoying and there seems to be no rhyme nor reason to being spotted by patrolling guards.

    On the plus side, it looks lovely, the missions have a brilliant open-endedness to them (completists will go mad at the amount of plot forks and side-missions) and when things go well, it can be satisfying to sneak your way through a mission.

    I wouldn't go ahead and say Dishonored is a poor game, but just not a very enjoyable one. Not for me at least.
    Expand
  29. Nov 15, 2012
    7
    There's no doubt that Dishonored (Dishonoured as it should be in the UK - I think) is a very well designed, highly polished and extremely playable game.

    However I was disappointed with it, the world has been beautifully designed and almost as many features regarding the environments have popped up in games mags as have reviews of the actual game but this isn't a sandbox world and you as
    There's no doubt that Dishonored (Dishonoured as it should be in the UK - I think) is a very well designed, highly polished and extremely playable game.

    However I was disappointed with it, the world has been beautifully designed and almost as many features regarding the environments have popped up in games mags as have reviews of the actual game but this isn't a sandbox world and you as the player character are funnelled back and forth between an implausible hub area by a small man on a boat who seems ready to collapse from apathy to everything in existence, so all you end up doing is ploughing on from one enemy infested area to the next - much like the original Metal Gear Solid.

    I give the game world special mention over say, the story or the weapons, because the game and the studio behind it seem to demand, without mercy, that you fall in love with this 'steampunk-inspired-neo-Victorian' cesspit and whilst it's obvious that some love has gone into the design of the rotten town of Dunwall it utterly fails to make you really feel anything for the characters, the mission or even the wretched poor who are to be found all over the place either dead, dying or mere seconds away from being brutalised to death by one of the City Watch (God, I hope they didn't use Terry Pratchett's character Sam Vimes for inspiration) or else standing around just waiting to mug you off to the guards (who'll probably kill you both for the trouble) so the morality fails in utterance.

    I'm told it's possible to complete the game without killing anyone, though why you'd make/buy an FPS with that in mind is beyond my humble intellect, but the reasons for opting to do this rather than carve a bloody path from credits to ending scene are scant and confusing.

    We're perhaps supposed to believe that the City Watch are just working joe's duped by the plutocrats into believing that your character (Corvo - bloody stupid name - the former chief of guards for the former empress) murdered the Empire's figurehead and are supposed to avoid shooting them because ignorance isn't punishable by death (unlike standing, walking, talking, trying to eat, wanting food, standing in the shadows, standing in the light, standing near the water, standing in the water, standing looking at the sky, standing looking at the ground or just generally having the nerve to be alive and not super wealthy if I'm understanding the C.W.'s own criteria for what's punishable by death) yet we'll often see them taking bribes off businessmen, trying to shake down civilians for medicine which is meant for babies and children and even defending mad **** who purposefully infect people with a fatal plague.....so when the guard fells me and shouts "I'll have a drink tonight for all the good men you've killed." I'm not searching my soul to check if my gaming morals are intact, I'm searching my recent memory to see which 'good men' he could possibly be referring to.

    The weapons are a mark of their design-inspired time, single shot and slow to reload but lethal if aimed right, the magic elements are ok and make stealthing from the first person perspective just short of tolerable rather than totally maddening and the story is awful, really awful.

    The design team at Arkane have really done a great job designing an interesting world, it's what they've populated it with that's the problem.
    It's a common motif throughout that the rich live by exploiting the poor and the whole thing stinks of an attempt at a "1%" criticism. yet if you stare out at the horizon of this port town you'll see what looks like a residential area that's totally intact - no columns of smoke, no piles of corpses and no noticeable signs that indusry has even stopped - so the themes of opulence and pestilence don't quite seem to work out and the real enemy seems to be the unquestioning stupidity of the City Watch and the glee with which they pursue their morally unambiguous duties.

    A naive tool was on the throne, now a bald masochist is on the throne and your going through the motions to put a poorly behaved brat on the throne instead - is the basic thread of the story line.....oh and most rich people are bad, disease affects only the poor and whale oil is wonderful!!!
    Expand
  30. Dec 21, 2012
    7
    Well, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That beingWell, here is the just of it. The game had something to do with Bethesda but, it did not deliver like a game completely created by them. I expected an open world experience and honestly that is what the game should have been. There is just not much reason to play it more than once and even then, the story really didn't make me care about death of the empress or my imprisonment. That being said, it is not a bad game. I just would not pay full price for it. To be so linear in today's marketplace in gaming is absurd to say the least. Expand
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 35
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 35
  3. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Nov 27, 2012
    95
    Well, Arkane, you did what so few games have done this generation: you got me to want to come back to play Dishonored annually. Very, very few games have that honor, but I just can't imagine ever getting tried of Dunwall. What a wonderful game.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Nov 1, 2012
    90
    You can combine Corvos weapons and superpowers in an almost infinite of ways, which can result in some pretty satisfying outcomes. Throw a proximity mine, called a spring razor, on a rat. Then take possession of the rat and walk up to the nearest guard. Then watch the limbs fly. [November 2012, p.66]
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    90
    It is a major accomplishment and for all its ambition it succeeds where it counts, by transporting you to a world and empowering you to do with it you wish, creating unscripted and unexpected moments that feel unique to you. It is at these times that it becomes more than just an enjoyable stealth action game, but something truly special.